View Full Version : Rd. 10: Brisbane Vs. North Melbourne, Sat Night (G)
wells is god
28 May 2008, 20:32
Brisbane will go in favourites at home and in red-hot form but should pan out to be a cracker. North will miss Wells, but this gives yet more young kids a chance to prove their worth against an in form top 8 side.
Thoughts?
GO ROOS!
lion4life
28 May 2008, 21:09
lions by 8 in a thriller
taekwondo
28 May 2008, 21:19
Big game for us.. VERY BIG. Our next 4 weeks are
Brisbane (Gabba) Sat night
Geelong (MCG) Fri night
Freo (Subiaco)
Hawthorn MCG I think
Will be tough but I think if we get 2 wins out of 4, we will be fine considering our injuries and travelling in and out of melbourne for about 8 weeks in a row
Soul_Pie
29 May 2008, 01:31
Should be a cracker of a match. Two sides who have performed very well this season, with both posting important wins last week. I think the key to this match will be Brisbane's forwardline and whether the kangas can stop the likes of Brown and Bradshaw.
Lions by 5 points.
Cruiser23
29 May 2008, 03:07
Just looked at the odds tonight, how the hell is North Melbourne $4.20? I'm not a betting man but i considered putting money on that tonight. The Lions should definately start favourites but $4.20?
This should be ripper of a game but i think Wells out is a fair loss and probably gets the Lions over the line for mine.
Lions by 10 points.
wells is god
30 May 2008, 00:35
Just looked at the odds tonight, how the hell is North Melbourne $4.20? I'm not a betting man but i considered putting money on that tonight. The Lions should definately start favourites but $4.20?
This should be ripper of a game but i think Wells out is a fair loss and probably gets the Lions over the line for mine.
Lions by 10 points.
These are seemingly long odds, but North being underrated by the media/general public, what's new? Get on it if you have faith in our blokes. If not, the bet that Brisbane will win by under 29.5 would probably have decent odds also considering North winning is as high as $4.20.
Prove 'em wrong North!
BTW, Urquhart will hopefully have a big say for a first-gamer :thumbsu:.
stainedclass
30 May 2008, 08:21
I rate the lions quite highly, should be a close one. Kangas by a point:D
LIONOFZION
30 May 2008, 08:30
Rain has been pissing down in Brisbane for the last 24 hours - if it keeps up until the first bounce it's going to be the side with the best swimmers who comes out on top :D
The Footy Gods have made a mockery of the betting odds already.
sherrinorburley
30 May 2008, 08:39
The game Brisbane played against Port in Adelaide when it poured with rain proved Brisbane like the wet conditions. Hoping for a North win. Wells was good last week until he got injured but we still won without him in the second half.
As mentioned i like the inclusion of Urquhart.
The Teflon Dean
30 May 2008, 09:46
Rain has been pissing down in Brisbane for the last 24 hours - if it keeps up until the first bounce it's going to be the side with the best swimmers who comes out on top :D
The Footy Gods have made a mockery of the betting odds already.
Very nice.
Two teams renowned for giving no quarter.
This promises to be a brutal affair.
That $4.20 is looking tempting.
Leuenberger was largely responsible for swinging the game against Port in the downpour, I expect him to come in to the side.
now into $3.85.....so the roos are getting some money
Really big game for both teams. Really looking forward to some tough footy between two teams who tackle and hit the packs hard. I'm tipping brisbane by 15 pts but not with much confidence.
jonoman89
31 May 2008, 16:02
Lions by 10 points.
i put $5 on the dogs and roos to win by under 20 points. $25 odds. stand to win about $120 - looking good so far :)
The Teflon Dean
31 May 2008, 18:17
The Lions have an edge in class in the midfield and our lack of quality tall defenders will cause us problems with the powerful Brisbane forwards.
Lions by 24.
Bigeasy
31 May 2008, 18:25
The heart says North by 10 points, the head says Lions by 30 points. Their midfield kill us so many times.
__aria__
31 May 2008, 19:25
Good luck to Gavin Urquhart in his first game.
Hopefully takes a few kick ins like we saw in the nab cup match.
Hopefully it's a nice close game, either team under 15.5 is paying $3.25.
Brisbane will be hard to beat, but North are a pretty good chance, and their odds are way higher than they should be.
LeFtBehinD
31 May 2008, 20:05
If we can contain the Big B's we should put on a show. Looking forward to it :D
notting18
31 May 2008, 20:06
You can never be confident about a game against North Melbourne, but if we want to be a finals contender this year these 50/50 games are the ones we need to win. Hopefully we can keep up the intensity we have had in recent weeks and finish with a win in 2 hours time.
is it very wet up there notting?
notting18
31 May 2008, 20:16
is it very wet up there notting?
Not raining but the word is that it has been raining a lot in the days preceding.
wells is god
31 May 2008, 20:18
First goal to McMahon :thumbsu:
NM 1 . 2 . 8
Bris 0 . 1 . 1
notting18
31 May 2008, 20:20
First goal to McMahon :thumbsu:
From a very undisciplined free kick from Corrie:mad:
Kangaroos have started a lot beter in the first 8 or so minutes.
Dr Pea P.I
31 May 2008, 20:20
Does anybody have an audio stream link for the game as the audio on the AFL website is not working for me?
Thanks in advance
notting18
31 May 2008, 20:22
Brown gets our first!:thumbsu:
wells is god
31 May 2008, 20:24
Does anybody have an audio stream link for the game as the audio on the AFL website is not working for me?
Thanks in advance
http://xml.afl.com.au/swf/live_stats.htm
That is the link for gameday live, you should be able to click and load one of the radio stations on there like I'm doing. :thumbsu:
wells is god
31 May 2008, 20:26
Commentators talking up Riggio's efforts so far :thumbsu:
Edit: Hale puts it through :thumbsu:
NM 2-2-14
Bris 1-2-8
Kangas supporters, Riggio seems to be a decent player, seen hime for the first time last week and was impressed by his work ethic.
__aria__
31 May 2008, 20:27
Has exceptional skills which we lack a bit in the midfield.
Freo1995
31 May 2008, 20:27
Thanks in advance
This is a handy site: http://1radio.com.au/
notting18
31 May 2008, 20:29
Brown has two posters for the first term....bugger!
Love the spoil from TJ there. Leigh would be pleased.
__aria__
31 May 2008, 20:34
Can we get Rawlings onto Black?
notting18
31 May 2008, 20:37
I would love to know the stats for every time Notting hits Brown up inside 50. Too bad Brown doesn't convert again from a tough spot.
William C
31 May 2008, 20:38
Lions are dominating ...
ffs .. bradshaw kick this!!!!
btw ... get on black for the brownlow ..
YESSSSSS!!! 30 - 14
I'd love to know how many BOGs Black has so far this year
William C
31 May 2008, 20:40
QT
miss by notting
Lions 4.7 31 Kangaroos 2.2 14
this could be all over already
wells is god
31 May 2008, 20:41
Quarter Time:
Bris 4-7-31
NM 2-2-14
notting18
31 May 2008, 20:42
I'd love to know how many BOGs Black has so far this year
Around 4 from 8 games IMO
Should be 6 goals in it already. Lions are too hard for the KFC.
William C
31 May 2008, 20:44
this could be all over already
Nah not yet, only If we are 5+ goals up at 3QT ... our 4th quarters have been simply pathetic.
William C
31 May 2008, 20:45
Some QT stats
Contested Possessions, Lions 33 - Kangaroos 19
Inside 50s, Lions 15 - kangaroos 6
Should be 6 goals in it already. Lions are too hard for the KFC.
Don't tell me this is going to be another thread like the Bulldogs Hawks game today, which turned out to be a slang fest between Hawks and Kangas supporters
William C
31 May 2008, 20:47
wow ... mcgrath splits the middle corridor
early goal to bradshaw in the 2nd
notting18
31 May 2008, 20:48
Chris Johnson to Lynchy on the lead, oh yeah!!:thumbsu:.
Edit - wait a minute was that McGrath and Bradshaw and it is 2008, I apologise.
William C
31 May 2008, 20:49
Goal to Brown ...
The kangas midfield are being smashed ..
43 - 14
LeFtBehinD
31 May 2008, 20:50
We better start playing soon or this is going to be St Kilda all over again.
William C
31 May 2008, 20:52
poster from bradshaw ...
lions have the last 11 scoring shots
poster from bradshaw ...
lions have the last 11 scoring shots
Wow, how many posters?
chris86
31 May 2008, 20:54
Geez our skills are terrible. Seem to have no plan at all.
notting18
31 May 2008, 20:55
Wow, how many posters?
3 in about 30 minutes of football...
Excuse my ignorance, but do Brisbane have a good record against North?
It's unusual for North to be getting done like this.
William C
31 May 2008, 21:01
Hooper sends a bullet into the umpire
LOL
good way to get 2 stats
William C
31 May 2008, 21:02
Campbell kicks a goal
breaks the streak of 13 consecutive brisbane scores
51 - 20
notting18
31 May 2008, 21:02
Brisbane certainly are making a lot of errors, the Kangaroos are just making us look a lot better than we are at the moment. eg. Kicking to Brown 4 on 1:rolleyes:
William C
31 May 2008, 21:03
again the midfield ...
quick reply in just 30 secs from sherman
aussieicon91
31 May 2008, 21:04
Where are all of the North Melbourne supporters who were trolling the Hawks game today?
51 - 20
Geez, what a bunch of hacks. You beat the Bulldogs & then you dish out this crap. Youse criticise the Hawks but remember, we beat Brisbane in Brisbane. :rolleyes:
ApplecrossWC
31 May 2008, 21:06
Geez, what a bunch of hacks. You beat the Bulldogs & then you dish out this crap. Youse criticise the Hawks but remember, we beat Brisbane in Brisbane. :rolleyes:
That's one good way to make yourself sound like an idiot... but it's not like you need much help.
William C
31 May 2008, 21:07
Clearly a mark from roe IMO not paid
kangas get a lucky goal
harvey* slots another ... 57 - 32 mini comeback here
notting18
31 May 2008, 21:08
What happened to that theory about the home side getting the run with the umpires?
Edite - I retract that statement....
That's one good way to make yourself sound like an idiot... but it's not like you need much help.
Lol Whats wrong with youse blokes
William C
31 May 2008, 21:13
Boomer harvey is a star ....
super midfielder and slots another goal
69 - 38 4.30 on the clock
wells is god
31 May 2008, 21:15
What happened to that theory about the home side getting the run with the umpires?
Edite - I retract that statement....
I'd be retracting it as well :mad:
William C
31 May 2008, 21:16
rischitelli's face got re arranged by hale .. ouch
definately unintentional
bugger ... miss by TJ
mark to Brown 40 out
William C
31 May 2008, 21:16
WTF BROWNY .... STOP HITTING THE POST!!! 3 now
notting18
31 May 2008, 21:17
Another bloody poster there! If we had kicked straight I'd feel a lot more comfortable.
William C
31 May 2008, 21:18
Goal to bradshaw
Lions forward line is really potent and troubling the kangas backs
77 - 38
notting18
31 May 2008, 21:20
Harding has to be Brown's worst enemy at the club, never lets him have an easy mark inside 50.
WTF BROWNY .... STOP HITTING THE POST!!! 3 now
Didn't he hit the post a few times last week as well?
William C
31 May 2008, 21:21
HT ..
that quarter was all the lions
Lions 11.12 78 - Kangaroos 6.2 38
so...are the kangas done?
kangas paying $10..im jumping on ;)
notting18
31 May 2008, 21:27
so...are the kangas done?
Not even rare in my book!
PasionateRoo
31 May 2008, 21:34
North disappoint so much. One great win, then one great loss. They are not the real deal. Adelaide, Brisbane, Sydney, Perth- cant win unless its MCG or Dome.
Laidley ____ing do something
SA HAWK
31 May 2008, 21:36
HT ..
that quarter was all the lions
Lions 11.12 78 - Kangaroos 6.2 38Bit like our game today poor kicking for goals by the lions making the margin look better than it really is.
Should be at least 10 goals up and playing super football.
William C
31 May 2008, 21:42
15 seconds in the third and another overhead mark to brown 40m right in front
misses
William C
31 May 2008, 21:44
Daniel Pratt nails a supergoal 60m out ...
79 - 44
notting18
31 May 2008, 21:45
____! Bad signs early in this half...
and now Patfull is injured. Double ____!:mad:
William C
31 May 2008, 21:48
Petrie goals, kangas have come out firing 3 in a row
79 - 56
notting18
31 May 2008, 21:49
Brown needs to kick this desperately!
Edit - the power of prayer
William C
31 May 2008, 21:50
Brown marks again 40m out slight angle..
and goals
patful limps off ... calf?
William C
31 May 2008, 21:53
drummond kicks out on the full
harvey slots his third from the boundary
85 - 62
William C
31 May 2008, 21:56
how many marks have brown taken inside the 50 ...?
40m out again .... and kicks his 300th career goal
Here comes the rain
William C
31 May 2008, 21:58
BROWN is limping off with the trainers OMG
grabbing the front of his shin
Bigeasy
31 May 2008, 22:00
Watt Caught...what a dud.
notting18
31 May 2008, 22:04
We will not win this game! Mark it done...
William C
31 May 2008, 22:05
28 scoring shots to 14 yet 19 point lead
Brown going back into the sheds ... not good signs
EDIT: WTF ... good signs .. browns back on the field in 10 secs LOL
Bigeasy
31 May 2008, 22:07
29 scoring shots to 14 and only 20 points down. Shees lucky.
William C
31 May 2008, 22:07
notting misses
Lions 13.16 94
kangaroos 12.2 74
wells is god
31 May 2008, 22:10
I dunno about that, playing woefully, lifted a bit this quarter but i don't reckon enough to win from here, unless we go up another level for last quarter.
William C
31 May 2008, 22:10
Dont worry, expect Leigh Matthews to give em a spray
surely we can win a 4th quarter for once
.. Bradshaw 2 goals in 2 mins
William C
31 May 2008, 22:16
Brown 2 seconds short for another shot on goal
3QT
Lions 15.17 107 , Kangaroos 12.3 75
William C
31 May 2008, 22:30
kangas are hanging in there
Lions 16.18 114 , kangaroos 14.4 88
Gabbatoir
31 May 2008, 22:31
By God I respect North Melbourne.
RoosterLad
Matty Campbell is a ____ing gun
RoosterLad
By God I respect North Melbourne.
Why? Because of their "Shinboner spirit" which has proven to be a myth?
wells is god
31 May 2008, 22:35
Why? Because of their "Shinboner spirit" which has proven to be a myth?
He respects us so it has to be to do with a media-infused excuse for us playing good footy? Piss off flog.
Gabbatoir
31 May 2008, 22:42
Always competitive.
He respects us so it has to be to do with a media-infused excuse for us playing good footy? Piss off flog.
I don't know anyone who doesn't respect NM. Any sane, reasonable football-appreciating person would have to respect them.