View Full Version : Expansion 22,118-strong crowd @ Gabba

Pages : [1] 2

littleduck
1 Jun 2008, 15:02
If you deduct the large band of non-paying Gabba Trust Members and Cricketers Club Members, what was the real crowd I wonder? Geez.

Rob
1 Jun 2008, 15:03
Wasn't there only a couple of thousand more at the NRL in Brisbane the previous night?

littleduck
1 Jun 2008, 15:08
Wasn't there only a couple of thousand more at the NRL in Brisbane the previous night?

Yeah, 25500 at Lang Park the night before. However, my point is that Lions crowds are artifically inflated by a large band of non-paying Gabba Trust Members and Cricketers Club Members whereas the Broncos don't the luxury of a good crowd before they even get their first paying customer.

fairdinkum
1 Jun 2008, 15:10
I'm sure there were millions watching at home.
That's where all the new AFL income is coming from, right?
Am I right?

Cousin Jed
1 Jun 2008, 15:11
LMAO.

The Trust and cricketers club areas were 70% empty.

Hawkk
1 Jun 2008, 15:13
Pretty poor but not unexpected.

Bris vs. Coll - 33,867
Bris vs. Syd - 29,061
Bris vs. Haw – 30,019
Bris vs. Melb - 22,878
Bris vs. STK - 27,566
Bris vs. NM – 22,118

Still, only 2-3000 less then the Broncos drew on Friday Night against a high drawing NRL team (Parramatta)

A nice comparison crowd wise would be Broncos-Sharks vs. Lions-Kangaroos

catters05
1 Jun 2008, 15:14
Well I feel the Gabba is too expensive.

I won't be walking up, i thought about it last night, but didn't want to be overpriced again.

They charged me $40 and I had already missed a quarter against the Saints. Rip off!!!

Oh yeah that was in unlicensed too.

So F*&K the Gabba!

lions_den
1 Jun 2008, 15:14
Low crowd can be explained by 2 factors:
1) The forcast of heavy rain that didn't eventuate
2) North Melbourne, enough said

Rob
1 Jun 2008, 15:21
I'm sure there were millions watching at home.
That's where all the new AFL income is coming from, right?
Am I right?

Rated reasonably in Brisbane, averaged 139,000 over 3 hours. As a comparison, a few weeks ago the Broncos were on Saturday night and averaged 169,000 in Brisbane over 2 hours.

sumavich
1 Jun 2008, 15:22
Low crowd can be explained by 2 factors:
1) The forcast of heavy rain that didn't eventuate
2) North Melbourne, enough said

I've just come back from Subi Oval, and the only two tickets I could get were for restricted viewing at $25 per seat. Now if they were available, I would have had to cough up $42 each for normal seats. That is a rip off, and I would have to drink mid strength or bourbon & dry for $8.50.
The AFL is coming to you soon, open up your wallet !!!
It will be interesting to see how many people come to today's game, and it is against Pt Adelaide !! I reckon 36k !!

fairdinkum
1 Jun 2008, 15:50
Rated reasonably in Brisbane, averaged 139,000 over 3 hours. As a comparison, a few weeks ago the Broncos were on Saturday night and averaged 169,000 in Brisbane over 2 hours.

Wow! Those are some massive numbers! :eek:

No wonder people believe that this place will be 'paying for itself' with additional TV rights revenue!

I just heard a whisper that Stokes is already writing the $1,000,000,000 cheque having heard the wonderful news!

I mean... Wow! :eek:

Rob
1 Jun 2008, 15:56
Wow! Those are some massive numbers! :eek:

No wonder people believe that this place will be 'paying for itself' with additional TV rights revenue!

I just heard a whisper that Stokes is already writing the $1,000,000,000 cheque having heard the wonderful news!

I mean... Wow! :eek:

Was there really any point to your post, other than to enhance the stereotype of North fans being sad, bitter people?

mediumsizered
1 Jun 2008, 15:58
If you deduct the large band of non-paying Gabba Trust Members and Cricketers Club Members, what was the real crowd I wonder? Geez.

You do realise that when North Melbourne played Melbourne in Melbourne in Round 4, the attendance was only 23,427. Two Melbourne based clubs, playing in Melbourne & only 1309 more people. The fact is, the North Melbourne & Melbourne Football Clubs are a marketer's nightmare & I am sure Brisbane would be happy not to play either of them at the Gabba. Sort of like scheduling games against Souths or Penrith or even the Roosters these days.

MC_Bomba
1 Jun 2008, 15:58
Pretty ordinary crowds, but I think its because MORE people have bought tickets to the socceroos tonight which should be a 50,000 crowd.

Add that its rained a ____load since Wednesday its pretty darn miserable to go.. and what someone else said, its a bit of a rip and the fun police ruin it too!!

Fender
1 Jun 2008, 16:01
22,000 isn't that bad to be fair. Not sure what the actual figure would be but considering everything it wasn't that bad. It wasn't raining like it was on Friday (Broncos v Parra) but it was still looking pretty threatening all day and there was a fair bit of rain in the morning. NRL game would have drawn 30k+ in good conditions and the Lions games would have drawn more aswell if the conditions were better.

However the big question is the GC team ability to draw anything like that. Not sure what the AFL would deem a success if in 10 years it's average crowd figures were? 10k, 15k, 20k+?

Yer Suncorp is sold out for the Australia v Iraq game aswell tonight. However I doubt that would have effected the sales of either to much if at all.

Cousin Jed
1 Jun 2008, 16:07
Broncos played Friday night
Big race day at Eagle Farm yesterday (Oaks day)
Lions last night
Socceroos today.

Not the greatest of scheduling.

catters05
1 Jun 2008, 16:12
Lions last night
Socceroos today.

Wasn't a big race day, weather scared everyone off, but turned out to be a great day.......pity couldn't back a winner all day.

Big weather has scared all the Brisbanites into their homes!

Cousin Jed
1 Jun 2008, 16:14
Wasn't a big race day, weather scared everyone off, but turned out to be a great day.......pity couldn't back a winner all day.

Big weather has scared all the Brisbanites into their homes!

Its still a big race day. All black type races. And yeah couldn't back a winner all day myself.

sumavich
1 Jun 2008, 16:18
Should've backed Scenic Shot in the O'Shea Stakes.
That Danny Morton, he's going to be around the winners circle for a long time to come.

catters05
1 Jun 2008, 16:21
Its still a big race day. All black type races. And yeah couldn't back a winner all day myself.

Gabba has to change the way ticketing is done. It is so pathetic. I am sorry but the Lions are not worth the price they charge, and i believe this is part of the reason why they aren't getting the big crowds.

The Gabba itself is great, but if it the Trust, Lions, AFL or tickmaster dont organise the ticketing allocation and pricing then they will never get over 35K IMO.

In saying that I hope they get a Home Final. :p

I thought the cheaper tickets would of been up in the top tier?

catters05
1 Jun 2008, 16:21
Should've backed Scenic Shot in the O'Shea Stakes.
That Danny Morton, he's going to be around the winners circle for a long time to come.

Yeah and where was that Miss Marlin...........?

catters05
1 Jun 2008, 16:23
Can Gabba members purchase guest passes or receive passes for AFL games?

Professor Knowall
1 Jun 2008, 16:26
OK, so I note this thread was started by a troll crowing over a crowd of 22,118 at the Gabba - against North Melbourne, who as someone noted here, are a marketer's nightmare and in average weather.

Yet thats still 10,000 more than the reigning NRL premiers, the News Ltd Storm 'attracted' in Melbourne, against the high profile Bulldogs in perfect weather conditions.

Memo to NRL trolls - better not to start debates about crowds. You will quickly be shot down.

catters05
1 Jun 2008, 16:31
OK, so I note this thread was started by a troll crowing over a crowd of 22,118 at the Gabba - against North Melbourne, who as someone noted here, are a marketer's nightmare and in average weather.

Yet thats still 10,000 more than the reigning NRL premiers, the News Ltd Storm 'attracted' in Melbourne, against the high profile Bulldogs in perfect weather conditions.

Memo to NRL trolls - better not to start debates about crowds. You will quickly be shot down.

This is still worth a discussion. I think the Lions are a little overpriced and should be wondering why the Gabba Trust Members are not turning up.

Gibbke
1 Jun 2008, 16:40
Lions last night
Socceroos today.

....? It's not the worst either...Soccer's a one-off, and the two footy sides have played countless times on the same weekend up here...not much you can do about that...and the Reds weren't around either...

You non-Brisbanites have to factor in the rain for the low attendance...it's gotten to the point where we've been in a desert-like drought for so long, we're trying to remember exactly what it was like when Brisbane was supposedly sub-tropical! Rain is this week's biggest news item, and the forecast for a bucketting this weekend came last week...I'd back a Gabba crowd no less than the average 27000 if we all knew it would be dry last night...

littleduck
1 Jun 2008, 17:03
Can Gabba members purchase guest passes or receive passes for AFL games?

Guests of a Gabba Trust Member get in for $nil.

fairdinkum
1 Jun 2008, 17:19
Was there really any point to your post, other than to enhance the stereotype of North fans being sad, bitter people?

To highlight the sarcasm in my earlier comment, which you had either totally missed or simply glossed over.

As for North fans, I prefer to use the terminology 'healthily critical' to describe people like me. You, on the other hand, are an example of what I call 'AFL apologists'.

Fender
1 Jun 2008, 17:21
You non-Brisbanites have to factor in the rain for the low attendance...it's gotten to the point where we've been in a desert-like drought for so long, we're trying to remember exactly what it was like when Brisbane was supposedly sub-tropical! Rain is this week's biggest news item, and the forecast for a bucketting this weekend came last week...I'd back a Gabba crowd no less than the average 27000 if we all knew it would be dry last night...

I don't know about 27k. Probally would have got close, but on a dry night the RL would have got 30k+ the races would have got more and then the soccer still would have given the AFL some pretty stiff competition.

ARES
1 Jun 2008, 20:25
With NRL average for all games this week thus far being about 14,000...

I think over 22,000 at the Gabba is :thumbsu:

FFS there was even a crowd of 8,000 odd that watched a game of NRL and I think that may have been the game free tickets were given out...:o

Dan26
1 Jun 2008, 20:49
139,000 watching on TV in Brisbane. The best ratings of the year.

The delayed NRL Friday night game in Brisbane rated only 130,000 and a couple of weeks ago, the second delayed Friday Night NRL in Brissy rated 90,000.

139,000 for AFL on the lowest rating night of the week is excellent for non-heartland.

That is where the AFL has a massive advantage over the NRL. The interest in its non-heartland regions far outstrips the NRL's interest in its non heartland.

Fender
1 Jun 2008, 21:08
With NRL average for all games this week thus far being about 14,000...

I think over 22,000 at the Gabba is :thumbsu:

FFS there was even a crowd of 8,000 odd that watched a game of NRL and I think that may have been the game free tickets were given out...:o

Free tickets were given away for the Lions v NM and are given out every week at local clubs and schools. The NRL does the same for the Titans, team playing in the Titans Cup get free tickets provided it isn't sold out. The Bulls give out free tickets for the year to clubs around QLD.

grayham
1 Jun 2008, 22:05
North Melbourne and poor crowds go together like toast and vegemite.

Gyroscope_182
1 Jun 2008, 22:12
It's amazing that Brisbane fans are happy with this crowd and still believe they are not bandwagoners...pretty pathetic if they are happy with an inflated 22,000 strong crowd.

Every crowd they get is 5,000 less than what is anticipated at minimum...surely 38,000 should've gone into the Friday Night game that they so miss up in the north, but no, pathetic miserable crowd that pretty much stands as an outlier in the Collingwood 2008 Attendances in the bottom area...while it is probably an outlier for Brisbane in the opposite (top) tier.

If the AFL expands...good for them, but Brisbane will struggle for survival if they can't win a premiership before 2011...it is a serious threat, hopefully it doesn't happen, and the AFL can see that one club in will only help make one club (who likes to lose its profits on the stock market?) grow in debt.

Wednesday
1 Jun 2008, 22:23
You do realise that when North Melbourne played Melbourne in Melbourne in Round 4, the attendance was only 23,427. Two Melbourne based clubs, playing in Melbourne & only 1309 more people. The fact is, the North Melbourne & Melbourne Football Clubs are a marketer's nightmare & I am sure Brisbane would be happy not to play either of them at the Gabba. Sort of like scheduling games against Souths or Penrith or even the Roosters these days.

Yes there was 23k at the North v Melbourne game and everyone pointed out what a poor crowd is was. 22,000 last night is just as poor. The difference is that no one is trying to add teams to Melbourne whereas everyone seems to think that a 2nd team in SE Qld will be automatically successfull. Last nights crowd is another example of why the AFL should be very careful about how they proceed with the expansion of the competition.

Your never ending list of excuses and constant snipes at North Melbourne on the other hand are becoming pathetic.

Bonuspoints
1 Jun 2008, 22:50
Just a quick comment aimed at the OP. My parents are Gabba Trust members and thats for the footy. They PAID to be members so they could go to games. Given it was a game against the low drawing Roos and its been a shitty weather weekend I'd say that was a good crowd. Its pretty good to see people say 22k+ is a bad crowd for the Brions.

mediumsizered
1 Jun 2008, 22:52
Yes there was 23k at the North v Melbourne game and everyone pointed out what a poor crowd is was. 22,000 last night is just as poor. The difference is that no one is trying to add teams to Melbourne whereas everyone seems to think that a 2nd team in SE Qld will be automatically successfull. Last nights crowd is another example of why the AFL should be very careful about how they proceed with the expansion of the competition.

Your never ending list of excuses and constant snipes at North Melbourne on the other hand are becoming pathetic.

Is it just coincidence that the 2 smallest crowds at the Gabba have been for Brisbane playing North (22k) & Melbourne (23k)? That is not sniping that is reality. What it does tell us is approximately 20k Brisbane supporters turned up to these games, yet when Melbourne & North clashed in Melbourne, neither team had 20k supporters turn up.

A crowd of 23k in Melbourne, for 2 Melbourne-based teams is a lot worse than a crowd of 22k at the Gabba for a match where Brisbane were playing one of the lowest supported teams in the AFL. Instead of shooting the messenger, North supporters should be voting with their feet & turning up to games in huge numbers & the same goes for Melbourne supporters & this is also not a snipe, but reality. James Brayshaw has given North supporters a life-line & they should be capitalising on it.

sumavich
1 Jun 2008, 22:59
Umpires:Margetts, Ryan, Chamberlain
Official crowd: 34,236 at Subiaco Oval

And if Ray Chamberlain ever umpires at Subi againsthttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon8.gif Freo again I might move to where the players play for their supporters.

fairdinkum
1 Jun 2008, 23:01
Is it just coincidence that the 2 smallest crowds at the Gabba have been for Brisbane playing North (22k) & Melbourne (23k)? That is not sniping that is reality. What it does tell us is approximately 20k Brisbane supporters turned up to these games, yet when Melbourne & North clashed in Melbourne, neither team had 20k supporters turn up.

A crowd of 23k in Melbourne, for 2 Melbourne-based teams is a lot worse than a crowd of 22k at the Gabba for a match where Brisbane were playing one of the lowest supported teams in the AFL. Instead of shooting the messenger, North supporters should be voting with their feet & turning up to games in huge numbers & the same goes for Melbourne supporters & this is also not a snipe, but reality. James Brayshaw has given North supporters a life-line & they should be capitalising on it.

So by your logic, it is okay for Brisbane to get 22,000 to a game against Melbourne, but it is not okay for North Melbourne to do the same?

Bonuspoints
1 Jun 2008, 23:09
Well given its is Melbourne where the bulk of both clubs supporters are you'd expect more. It might be just a home game for one club, but its not like its a two day car trip or plane flight for one club's fans to get there.

Gibbke
1 Jun 2008, 23:28
North's crowds this year:
R1 Essendon Docklands 48100
R2 Richmond M.C.G. 39292
R3 Hawthorn Docklands 39816
R4 Melbourne M.C.G. 23427
R5 Collingwood M.C.G. 51990
R6 Sydney Docklands 28392
R7 Adelaide Football Park 41898
R8 West Coast Carrara 6354
R9 Bulldogs Docklands 34971
R10 Brisbane Gabba 22000

Ok...I'm not really seeing the problem...scrutiny AGAIN shows the North Knockers to be full of $h it, as usual...

1) Carrara v the Eagles. Enough said. The saddest thing about this night was that a great game of footy was wasted on Gold Coasters...
2) North v Melbourne was a transferred Carrara match. Someone enlighten us as to whether this game was on the ticket for North members, and if it wasn't, there's a logical reason as to why few showed up. Before anyone jumps up and down and says they'd show up regardless, history in fact shows that not everyone will. Look at the crowds to the sold Melbourne Gabba games from 2001 before and after the Lions put it in their season ticket - the demarcation point is pretty clear...many other examples over the last decade, including early Dome games, those Optus Oval ones from the 1990's
3) The weather in Brisbane was ragged to say the least. They aren't Victorians - long story, but rain is viewed differently up here!
4) Otherwise, only one other attendance under 30 000 - against an interstater...

Wednesday
1 Jun 2008, 23:41

I think you've missed the point (yet again) so i will repeat it. A 23k crowd in Melbourne is being used as a reason to reduce clubs in Melbourne yet the the area they want to increase clubs in, only has a 22k crowd. No arguement here about 23k being a poor turnout however your attempts to defend the 22k that were there last night are laughable.

Make all the excuses you want about it only being a North Melbourne or a Melbourne game, or the weather, or it was eviction night in the big brother house, but the reality that this is a poor crowd for an area that is meant to be crying out for an 2nd AFL team like you keep telling us it is.

Wednesday
1 Jun 2008, 23:48
North's crowds this year:
R1 Essendon Docklands 48100
R2 Richmond M.C.G. 39292
R3 Hawthorn Docklands 39816
R4 Melbourne M.C.G. 23427
R5 Collingwood M.C.G. 51990
R6 Sydney Docklands 28392
R7 Adelaide Football Park 41898
R8 West Coast Carrara 6354
R9 Bulldogs Docklands 34971
R10 Brisbane Gabba 22000

Ok...I'm not really seeing the problem...scrutiny AGAIN shows the North Knockers to be full of $h it, as usual...

1) Carrara v the Eagles. Enough said. The saddest thing about this night was that a great game of footy was wasted on Gold Coasters...
2) North v Melbourne was a transferred Carrara match. Someone enlighten us as to whether this game was on the ticket for North members, and if it wasn't, there's a logical reason as to why few showed up. Before anyone jumps up and down and says they'd show up regardless, history in fact shows that not everyone will. Look at the crowds to the sold Melbourne Gabba games from 2001 before and after the Lions put it in their season ticket - the demarcation point is pretty clear...many other examples over the last decade, including early Dome games, those Optus Oval ones from the 1990's
3) The weather in Brisbane was ragged to say the least. They aren't Victorians - long story, but rain is viewed differently up here!
4) Otherwise, only one other attendance under 30 000 - against an interstater...

The Melbourne game wasn't part of the original membership package but was added on as a freebie for all North members later on.

Black Falcon
2 Jun 2008, 00:09
Well given its is Melbourne where the bulk of both clubs supporters are you'd expect more. It might be just a home game for one club, but its not like its a two day car trip or plane flight for one club's fans to get there.

Yes, and at a 50k or 100k stadium, both the Melb teams could include nearly all of their members or have room to spare. Unlike Subi where you virtually have to be a member to get a ticket, nearly every member of a Melb club would be able to attend a H/A game in Melb involving their club. Its just a ride to the train station away!

Black Falcon
2 Jun 2008, 00:18
Just a quick comment aimed at the OP. My parents are Gabba Trust members and thats for the footy. They PAID to be members so they could go to games. Given it was a game against the low drawing Roos and its been a shitty weather weekend I'd say that was a good crowd. Its pretty good to see people say 22k+ is a bad crowd for the Brions.

Yes, weather reports all weekend warned of high winds and heavy rain. Under the conditions, I'd say 22k was a solid crowd, just under the core figure of 25k. Added to this is the fact we have 3 games in a row at home. Given that most families will opt for the two sunny Sunday arvo games where all the youngins have a great time afterwards in the kick to kick, instead of a blustery wet cold Sat night, the reasons were obvious for a lower crowd.

What isn't obvious tho, is why Nth Melb v Melbourne would only draw 23k. Any excuses for that one?

fairdinkum
2 Jun 2008, 00:38
Yes, weather reports all weekend warned of high winds and heavy rain. Under the conditions, I'd say 22k was a solid crowd, just under the core figure of 25k. Added to this is the fact we have 3 games in a row at home. Given that most families will opt for the two sunny Sunday arvo games where all the youngins have a great time afterwards in the kick to kick, instead of a blustery wet cold Sat night, the reasons were obvious for a lower crowd.

What isn't obvious tho, is why Nth Melb v Melbourne would only draw 23k. Any excuses for that one?

Not enough of us turned up? :rolleyes:

And yes, you can list all of the excuses you like. I am particularly interested in the bolded one. It doesn't bode well for an area in which the Fonz hopes to play '22 matches per year', does it?

jackmac7
2 Jun 2008, 00:46

FFS LittleDuck, GET A LIFE Dude.

Who honestly gives a F##K anymore. Whats with you trying to undermine the Lions all the time? It's pathetic.

mediumsizered
2 Jun 2008, 00:48
I think you've missed the point (yet again) so i will repeat it. A 23k crowd in Melbourne is being used as a reason to reduce clubs in Melbourne yet the the area they want to increase clubs in, only has a 22k crowd. No arguement here about 23k being a poor turnout however your attempts to defend the 22k that were there last night are laughable.

Make all the excuses you want about it only being a North Melbourne or a Melbourne game, or the weather, or it was eviction night in the big brother house, but the reality that this is a poor crowd for an area that is meant to be crying out for an 2nd AFL team like you keep telling us it is.

No, you are missing the point. A game between 2 Melbourne based teams, in Melbourne draws 23k. That is an average of 11.5k supporters for each team. A game between Brisbane & a non-Qld team at the Gabba draws 22k. Being generous & allowing for 3k North supporters in attendance, that is 19k locals turning up for the game, that, as usual, is shown live into Brisbane & South East Qld.

Now let me spell it out for you. A game involving one local team & one interstate team draws 22k, of which 19k are locals. For the Melbourne v North game to match this, 19k of each team's local supporters should turn up ie 38k in total. Why? Because it was a game between 2 local teams. Just as a comparison, last night's Carlton v Geelong game drew 46k because it was between 2 Victorian based teams. In other words, 23k is a poor turnout for 2 teams who are crying out to maintain 10 teams in Victoria.

cos789
2 Jun 2008, 00:50
FFS LittleDuck, GET A LIFE Dude.

Who honestly gives a F##K anymore. Whats with you trying to undermine the Lions all the time? It's pathetic.

He's trying to deflect attention away from the thread about
20,000 freebies at the SOO .

Oh No . he succeded again .
:(

Black Falcon
2 Jun 2008, 01:07
Quote Posted by Black Falcon and bolded by fairdinkum " weather reports all weekend warned of high winds and heavy rain. Under the conditions, I'd say 22k was a solid crowd, just under the core figure of 25k. Added to this is the fact we have 3 games in a row at home. Given that most families will opt for the two sunny Sunday arvo games where all the youngins have a great time afterwards in the kick to kick, instead of a blustery wet cold Sat night, the reasons were obvious for a lower crowd".

The point...... quiet...... I see a snake slithering in the grass............. is that for three weeks we have a choice of games to go to. Now I'd like some 'Stan the stats man' out there to tell me when was the last time Brisbane had three games at home in a row. (Thats row as in sequence not as in noise or anything to do with boats and canoes).

When people have a choice of games to go to on three consecutive weekends, they probably won't choose the wet, cold rainy one.

Is that simple enough for you? By the way, next weekend is a long weekend up here so perhaps the Freo game may not draw bumper crowds either. But you have been warned, but you'll still slither into view anyway ..............damn that kookaburra just smashed your head against a rock........................

PS I wish Nth Melb and GC17 all the best. Whats your problem?
Mediumsizered, you've said it all beautifully, finally the penny is dropping. I'd love to see a season long breakdown of Melb v Melb crowd figures vs Interstate crowds.

fairdinkum
2 Jun 2008, 01:30
No, you are missing the point. A game between 2 Melbourne based teams, in Melbourne draws 23k. That is an average of 11.5k supporters for each team. A game between Brisbane & a non-Qld team at the Gabba draws 22k. Being generous & allowing for 3k North supporters in attendance, that is 19k locals turning up for the game, that, as usual, is shown live into Brisbane & South East Qld.

Now let me spell it out for you. A game involving one local team & one interstate team draws 22k, of which 19k are locals. For the Melbourne v North game to match this, 19k of each team's local supporters should turn up ie 38k in total. Why? Because it was a game between 2 local teams. Just as a comparison, last night's Carlton v Geelong game drew 46k because it was between 2 Victorian based teams. In other words, 23k is a poor turnout for 2 teams who are crying out to maintain 10 teams in Victoria.

Yes and this is a valid point. North members would be the first to put their hands up and say 'Hey, we didn't do well enough there, we should have gotten more to that game'. Every other game this year has been much better, thankfully.

BUT you are arguing past us. The point we are making is this: Is there really enough demand to warrant another team in SEQ? 22,000 suggests that maybe there isn't. Particularly when they only get about 15 games a year up there. If people were seriously enthusiastic about our game, you'd think Brisbane would muster more than 22,000.

However, I take the points re: weather and so on on board. We will see how Brisbane's crowds pan out over the rest of the year.

fairdinkum
2 Jun 2008, 01:34
unintelligible rant

So you are defending the poor crowd on the fact that these footy fans will only go to one or maybe two of the three games on offer because... well... they have better things to do than to watch footy.

Okay. Fair enough. But my point still remains: If it's hard to get good crowds to 11 matches a year (because every now and then there are a few in a row) how are you going to go when there is a game there every freakn week?

PS I wish Nth Melb and GC17 all the best

So do I.

royboy2
2 Jun 2008, 01:49
It's amazing that Brisbane fans are happy with this crowd and still believe they are not bandwagoners...pretty pathetic if they are happy with an inflated 22,000 strong crowd.

Every crowd they get is 5,000 less than what is anticipated at minimum...surely 38,000 should've gone into the Friday Night game that they so miss up in the north, but no, pathetic miserable crowd that pretty much stands as an outlier in the Collingwood 2008 Attendances in the bottom area...while it is probably an outlier for Brisbane in the opposite (top) tier.

If the AFL expands...good for them, but Brisbane will struggle for survival if they can't win a premiership before 2011...it is a serious threat, hopefully it doesn't happen, and the AFL can see that one club in will only help make one club (who likes to lose its profits on the stock market?) grow in debt.

I prefer to watch us at the MCG belting Collingwood on GF day, Remember that Of Course you do that's why you are so bitter!!

ParraEelsNRL
2 Jun 2008, 02:08
I don't know why all the knowalls here thought Parramatta would be a big drawing club in Brisbane, they haven't had over 30,000 watch them up there for years, the 25,000 is what they have got for about 5 years straight.

Yes they use to get around 50,000, I have no idea why it has dropped off, I guess it will pop up in time again.

Other clubs who were getting around 25,000 a few years ago are now getting bigger crowds to see them up there while some of the others clubs who use to get big crowds are going down, must be some sort of weird QLD thing.

Doesn't help that Parra are playing shithouse and have all season.

Wednesday
2 Jun 2008, 09:54

Hey i've said it twice and i'll say it a third time for you as. 23k for the North v Melb game is not good enough. I agree. And neither is 22k no matter how you spin it which raises valid concerns for the viability of a second team in SE Qld.

littleduck
2 Jun 2008, 12:19
Just a quick comment aimed at the OP. My parents are Gabba Trust members and thats for the footy. They PAID to be members so they could go to games. Fair enough, but they PAID the Gabba Trust and $nil goes to the Lions and/or AFL. As far as the Lions and AFL are concerned you contribute absolutely nothing financially so you're officially a "contribute nothing" supporter of the Lions/AFL in Brisbane. All they do is boost the crowd to make it look good on television and give the game extra atmosphere.

Gyroscope_182
2 Jun 2008, 12:32
Lol at lions people going on about the crowd of 22,000 being strong due to weather...considering it was a picture perfect night that had a bit of rain days before...seriously, I am laughing at that EXCUSE.

Rain doesn't turn people from the footy....it's a ____ing winter game! Just shows the difference between loyal and unloyal.

And once again, if Lions members are happy with 22,000, can't wait to see you on the news in the next 5 years trying to keep the club alive at the town hall...because thats what is going to happen.

Ricardo
2 Jun 2008, 12:34
Fair enough, but they PAID the Gabba Trust and $nil goes to the Lions and/or AFL. As far as the Lions and AFL are concerned you contribute absolutely nothing financially so you're officially a "contribute nothing" supporter of the Lions/AFL in Brisbane. All they do is boost the crowd to make it look good on television and give the game extra atmosphere.

Do they really include those members in the official attendance?

Subprime
2 Jun 2008, 12:40
Fair enough, but they PAID the Gabba Trust and $nil goes to the Lions and/or AFL. As far as the Lions and AFL are concerned you contribute absolutely nothing financially so you're officially a "contribute nothing" supporter of the Lions/AFL in Brisbane. All they do is boost the crowd to make it look good on television and give the game extra atmosphere.

So your concern is with the financial viability of the Lions littleduck?

I dare say it stacks up fairly well. Figures have been posted on these boards previously that show that the Lions have accumulated profits of over $6m over that last 10 years or so.

Not that profits matter that much to a member-owned club. They would generally prefer to hire extra coaches to help them win games rather than make extra profits.

Subprime
2 Jun 2008, 12:41
Do they really include those members in the official attendance?

Why wouldn't they?

MCC members get counted at the MCG don't they?

genghiskhan
2 Jun 2008, 12:50
Hey i've said it twice and i'll say it a third time for you as. 23k for the North v Melb game is not good enough. I agree. And neither is 22k no matter how you spin it which raises valid concerns for the viability of a second team in SE Qld.

Rightly or wrongly, decisions are always made on potential rather than what is delivered, or has been delivered in the past. For example, if a 28-year-old fielder averages 10 possessions a game, he will be cut and fans will be angry that so much time has been wasted with him or that he is past his best. If an 18-year-old midfielder averages 10 possessions a game, fans will be excited and perhaps buy a membership.

It is no different with clubs. Nth and Melbourne are as popular as they are going to get. If either were cut, there are another 9 other clubs ready to step in to fill the void. Even if a Queensland club has less fans and draws lower crowds, there is always potential to grow. Furthermore, any void caused by its non-existence will be filled by a rival football code.

a4brianp
2 Jun 2008, 12:58
Im a North Melbourne member and quoting from a letter from club .Your membership gets you free addmission to this game however the round 10 match is fully ticketed and all members must purchase a reserved seat.Was going to go wih family but the fact we had to buy reserved seats and also forcast rain put us off as it would have most Sunshine coast people as we we told to buckle down for extreme weather.Never arrived but has now:mad:

Chasing the Dream
2 Jun 2008, 16:25
Whilst the weather was OK Saturday night, the forecast was terrible. Strong winds and 200mm rain was supposed to be the treat served up to those who were to attend. True, it did not happen, but weather turns qucik up here and with that sort of forecast, I can understand why some might have thought it better to watch it on television instead.

It will be interesting to see how many turn up on Sunday. Fremantle and live against the gate, it will probably be 28 degrees as well:o. I would suggest to you that 22,000 might be a decent turnout for that one.

Hotel 6
2 Jun 2008, 16:39
I would also think that most Brisbane games would get quite a few supporters coming up from Melbourne to watch their team play. I reckon this would be the last game a North supporter from Melbourne would have gone to though as we play three other games in the region. I know when I looked at the fixture to decide which game I would go to in QLD I did not even look at the Brisbane game at the Gabba. I just looked at our three games on the Coast.

dtm06
2 Jun 2008, 16:47
Lol at lions people going on about the crowd of 22,000 being strong due to weather...considering it was a picture perfect night that had a bit of rain days before...seriously, I am laughing at that EXCUSE.

Rain doesn't turn people from the footy....it's a ____ing winter game! Just shows the difference between loyal and unloyal.

And once again, if Lions members are happy with 22,000, can't wait to see you on the news in the next 5 years trying to keep the club alive at the town hall...because thats what is going to happen.

Gyroscope, we all know you have a chip on your shoulder concerning the Lions, but you have to understand a few things.
1) The forecast was terrible. ie flash flooding possibilities and non stop rain til monday/ tuesday. I went to the game as I have for all bar one gabba game for the past 2 seasons but even i was contemplating doing something else when i heard the forecast on friday night. Also note that it was the highest rating game in Brisbane this year suggesting that there were a few people watching at home who would've gone to the game otherwise.

2) Rain does turn people away from games. I think you'd find that attendances are lower if it's raining. Also i think you may be confused with the Brisbane climate as Summer is our wet season, not winter.

3) North Melbourne aren't the greatest drawing side in the comp although personally that wouldn't affect if i went to see a game or not.

4) Surely it does not matter if Lions members think 22000 is ok for a game. I don't think you'll find a club will go bust just because lions members are happy 22000 ppl went to a game. Ps. as if the afl would let us fold ffs. get real.

Now having said that, 22000 imo is not a good crowd figure in any scenario but i can see why it was so low.

Ricardo
2 Jun 2008, 16:49
Why wouldn't they?

MCC members get counted at the MCG don't they?

I must've read it wrong, i thought the members were counted even if they weren't there (??)

Sorry my mistake.

Fender
2 Jun 2008, 16:54
Were is cos with it's on his list with all these weather excuses. Only AFL supporters can say the weather was shit.

Ricardo
2 Jun 2008, 16:59
Were is cos with it's on his list with all these weather excuses. Only AFL supporters can say the weather was shit.

Shitty Wok take order preeze :p

Capitalist
2 Jun 2008, 17:09
Yeah, 25500 at Lang Park the night before. However, my point is that Lions crowds are artifically inflated by a large band of non-paying Gabba Trust Members and Cricketers Club Members whereas the Broncos don't the luxury of a good crowd before they even get their first paying customer.

yeah, but the people still rock up right ?

erpel9999
2 Jun 2008, 18:22
It is no different with clubs. Nth and Melbourne are as popular as they are going to get. If either were cut, there are another 9 other clubs ready to step in to fill the void. Even if a Queensland club has less fans and draws lower crowds, there is always potential to grow. Furthermore, any void caused by its non-existence will be filled by a rival football code.

Maybe, maybe not.
Hawthorn was a basket case just 10 years ago. Everyone paid out on their pet memberships, but now they are one of the stronger clubs.

There is nothing to say that North's levels will not stay at these levels, just like hawthorns did. Maybe it was the kick in the pants that north fans needed.

Melbourne suffers from having the largest number of mcc members of any club. Maybe the mcc should look at a contribution to it's members clubs like the afl membership has. would probably add 15,000 members and 2 mil to melbourne's bottom line.

Ricardo
2 Jun 2008, 19:13
Melbourne suffers from having the largest number of mcc members of any club. Maybe the mcc should look at a contribution to it's members clubs like the afl membership has. would probably add 15,000 members and 2 mil to melbourne's bottom line.

It would be good if Melbournes MCC members were counted in their membership tally like AFL memberships have but i don't think the MCC would like it.

As far as i am aware Melbourne do have a $40-50 membership for MCC members to purchase so they are counted in the membership tally, it boosted Melbournes membership figure up last year (total 27,000+), if only more would do it.

erpel9999
2 Jun 2008, 20:32
It would be good if Melbournes MCC members were counted in their membership tally like AFL memberships have but i don't think the MCC would like it.

As far as i am aware Melbourne do have a $40-50 membership for MCC members to purchase so they are counted in the membership tally, it boosted Melbournes membership figure up last year (total 27,000+), if only more would do it.

I'm sure there is some type of membership like that, but when you have already paid however many hundreds of bucks in mcc subs, it is understandable that you you don't want to throw another $50 to the dees for no reason than to feel better about yourself.

It's a massive issue for the dees.
It will only become more of an issue for the pies, hawks and other mcg tenants, as people get through the waiting list.

Chuq
3 Jun 2008, 00:55
Brisbane - population 1.8 million, crowd 22k
Launceston - population 0.1 million, crowd 19k

Paddy_Mac
3 Jun 2008, 11:47
Excuse my ignorance but which ground is Lang Park.

dtm06
3 Jun 2008, 13:05
Excuse my ignorance but which ground is Lang Park.

Suncorp stadium

AuckMel
3 Jun 2008, 17:07

Looks like he's in hiding, Fender.

THRILLHO
3 Jun 2008, 17:51
It's more a case of the AFL needing a second team in Queensland, than Queensland wanting a second team. If the AFL had a choice, I'm sure they'd rather wait until thirty to thirty five thousand people consistently rock up to Lions games, but they dont.

catters05
3 Jun 2008, 19:02
It's more a case of the AFL needing a second team in Queensland, than Queensland wanting a second team. If the AFL had a choice, I'm sure they'd rather wait until thirty to thirty five thousand people consistently rock up to Lions games, but they dont.

Yep i agree with you. The AFL need to have a 2nd team in Queensland to create more interest.......if they dont they will fall behind.

Not too sure about West Sydney as I can't see it taking off.

Professor Knowall
3 Jun 2008, 19:04
This is just another stupid thread by the ultimate troll LD (similar to the similar thread he started on the Swans crowds)

Despite LD's claim that the Lions have never sold out since the Gabba expansion was completed, the truth is that every time Collingwood play at the Gabba the game quickly sells out (I've twice not been quick enough to book). Its only the Gabba members area that hasn't filled for teh Pies games.

Despite the Lions very poor form for the previous two years, crowds remained fairly solid at an average of just under 29,000, and with improved form this year, could well increase for the remainder of this season and rise into the 30,000's again in the very near future.

Meanwhile, the reigning NRL premiers, News Ltd Storm's crowds remain as miniscule as the general interest in the News Ltd franchise in Melbourne.

Bonuspoints
3 Jun 2008, 19:15
I'd be interested to see what the crowd average for the Brions are in 2008 vs their average in 1998. Is it up or is it down? I think given the RL game got around 25k that the Brions got above 22K is quiet good. If the Brions are drawing around the same as the Broncos then its a pretty good result. Ideally we'd all have sell out games, but thats not a reality.

The Brions have got the Dockers for their next home game so it will be interesting to see how low that one dips given the Dockers aren't the most marketable team outside of WA. I think one of Connolly's strength was that he got people wound up for a game of footy for the Dockers...even if it was just a little bit.

Professor Knowall
3 Jun 2008, 20:03
I'd be interested to see what the crowd average for the Brions are in 2008 vs their average in 1998. Is it up or is it down? ...
http://stats.rleague.com/afl/crowds/brisbanel.html

1998 - 16,675
2008 - 27,585

boncer34
3 Jun 2008, 22:10
So just let me make sure I understand.

When the AFL gets 22,000 at the Gabba against a poor drawing Vic side its a shit figure.
BUT when 2 Sydney teams can't draw 20000 in the NRL it's all ok?

Gibbke
3 Jun 2008, 23:01

It rained all day here in Brisbane on Saturday. It cleared in the early evening, but by 10pm it was wet again. As for a "bit of rain" days before, my school had two major events lined up Thursday and Friday which were cancelled because we were FLOODED! The school also put in two massive circular water tanks only the week before (not sure of the capacity, but both are 20 metres in diameter and 10 feet high, work that out using Pi, kids), and both were completely full in two days...

Try again, Melbournite...

Gibbke
3 Jun 2008, 23:03
http://stats.rleague.com/afl/crowds/brisbanel.html

1998 - 16,675
2008 - 27,585

Don't forget that the capacity of the ground was only 20 000 due to the construction going on, which didn't finish until 2001, and that the Lions also were spooners in 1998...

fairdinkum
4 Jun 2008, 00:13
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/f/f0/Lions_membership_and_crowd.GIF

This graph is from Wikipedia. It should be noted that the graph only goes to about 2006.

littleduck
4 Jun 2008, 10:15
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/f/f0/Lions_membership_and_crowd.GIF

This graph is from Wikipedia. It should be noted that the graph only goes to about 2006.
It would have continued going down after 2006, but you would probably see it bottoming out in 2008 and the worm is probably now trending upwards again ever so slowly.

Warwick
4 Jun 2008, 10:36

Funny to see old bitter Gyroscope in here. :D

Some people are so thick. When Brisbane play at the Gabba, 95% of the crowd are Lions' supporters (98% when we play Melbourne, Fremantle, or the Kangaroos).

Yet 2 Melbourne clubs playing in Melbourne often get less than 40 000 people. You are aware opposition supporters are counted in the total?

Funkalicous
5 Jun 2008, 09:35

The second team won't be in Brisbane though...

Gibbke
5 Jun 2008, 22:00
The second team won't be in Brisbane though...

If the AFL can't get the Qld Government in a headlock, give them a massive swirly, and convince them that they should cut back on the Gabba deal, GC17 most certainly will be playing in Brisbane for a few years yet...and after last year's stadium deal efforts, I wouldn't be betting on the AFL...

A Living God
5 Jun 2008, 22:15
If the AFL can't get the Qld Government in a headlock, give them a massive swirly, and convince them that they should cut back on the Gabba deal, GC17 most certainly will be playing in Brisbane for a few years yet...and after last year's stadium deal efforts, I wouldn't be betting on the AFL...
They don't have to. Having the team splitting home games 4 - 8 between Bris and the GC for the first 7 years or so is better than the nothing, as the alterative is nothing it’s clearly the better option.

Scenario 1.
Queensland Government refuses to budge on original agreement, GC entry delayed until 2015. Everybody loses

Scenario 2
AFL and QLD government agree for the GC team to play 30 games at the Gabba over the next 7-8 years. Everybody wins

Clown
6 Jun 2008, 00:56
They don't have to. Having the team splitting home games 4 - 8 between Bris and the GC for the first 7 years or so is better than the nothing, as the alterative is nothing it’s clearly the better option.

Scenario 1.
Queensland Government refuses to budge on original agreement, GC entry delayed until 2015. Everybody loses

Scenario 2
AFL and QLD government agree for the GC team to play 30 games at the Gabba over the next 7-8 years. Everybody wins

Not so fast. Who says that the QLD Government will let the AFL break the contract? They forked out some good coinage to upgrade the Gabba, and part of the deal was that any future teams in the area would utilise the upgraded Gabba until at least 2015.

A Living God
6 Jun 2008, 09:35
Not so fast. Who says that the QLD Government will let the AFL break the contract? They forked out some good coinage to upgrade the Gabba, and part of the deal was that any future teams in the area would utilise the upgraded Gabba until at least 2015.
By not agreeing to let the AFL break the contract they would be basically shooting themselves in the foot. From the QLD government prespective what is better, not getting their $40m back and not getting any additional games at the Gabba or no getting their $40m back but getting an extra 20-30 games at the Gabba. The money spent on the upgrading Gabba is gone and they will never get it back.

fairdinkum
6 Jun 2008, 12:55
By not agreeing to let the AFL break the contract they would be basically shooting themselves in the foot. From the QLD government prespective what is better, not getting their $40m back and not getting any additional games at the Gabba or no getting their $40m back but getting an extra 20-30 games at the Gabba. The money spent on the upgrading Gabba is gone and they will never get it back.

You make it sound as though the AFL is in control. It isn't. The AFL have forged ahead with plans for a new team by 2012 and the Queensland government knows it. The Gabba is the only option for Brisbane games, so it will continue to get at least 11 per year regardless of what happens with the GC side. Then, the new Carrara stadium (if it ever gets built) will only be able to cater for 25,000-30,000 people - not enough for the GC's annual home game against Brisbane, and (hypothetically) probably not enough for big-drawing games like Collingwood, Essendon etc. So the AFL can either play these games at the Gabba, or (out of spite to the QLD Government) play them at Carrara anyway but in doing so ensure that some fans miss out. The QLD Government has all of the Aces in the deck, and the AFL have foolishly shown that they have nothing higher than a Jack.

cos789
6 Jun 2008, 13:13
You make it sound as though the AFL is in control. It isn't. The AFL have forged ahead with plans for a new team by 2012 and the Queensland government knows it.

So any sensible government would be about helping and assisting
any new business to the state of QLD .

The Gabba is the only option for Brisbane games.

Not the only option . .

Beaussie
6 Jun 2008, 13:50
You make it sound as though the AFL is in control. It isn't. The AFL have forged ahead with plans for a new team by 2012 and the Queensland government knows it. The Gabba is the only option for Brisbane games, so it will continue to get at least 11 per year regardless of what happens with the GC side. Then, the new Carrara stadium (if it ever gets built) will only be able to cater for 25,000-30,000 people - not enough for the GC's annual home game against Brisbane, and (hypothetically) probably not enough for big-drawing games like Collingwood, Essendon etc. So the AFL can either play these games at the Gabba, or (out of spite to the QLD Government) play them at Carrara anyway but in doing so ensure that some fans miss out. The QLD Government has all of the Aces in the deck, and the AFL have foolishly shown that they have nothing higher than a Jack.

I'm still confused about all this contract talk between the AFL and the QLD government with regards to the Gabba redevelopment. Did the cricket authorities contribute anything to the redevelopment of the Gabba and is there such restrictions on cricket playing games away from the Gabba in QLD? Cricket surely benefitted big time out of the redevelopment of the Gabba too, yeah?

fairdinkum
6 Jun 2008, 14:59
So any sensible government would be about helping and assisting any new business to the state of QLD .

You really are an idiot, aren't you?

Any sensible government would do exactly what the QLD gov is doing - telling the AFL to get ____ed. You want a new stadium? Fine - you build it. You want to break a contract we signed years ago? Fine - you hand over the dough.

Not the only option . .

Where else are they going to play?

fairdinkum
6 Jun 2008, 15:01
I'm still confused about all this contract talk between the AFL and the QLD government with regards to the Gabba redevelopment. Did the cricket authorities contribute anything to the redevelopment of the Gabba and is there such restrictions on cricket playing games away from the Gabba in QLD? Cricket surely benefitted big time out of the redevelopment of the Gabba too, yeah?

I'm sure REH will be here shortly to answer this for you. The guy is a guru.

But it is essentially irrelevant to the discussion about the AFL and QLD gov's contract re: the Gabba. The AFL made a deal, now they have to abide by it or cough up the cash.

Doctor Jolly
6 Jun 2008, 15:33

Any sensible government would do exactly what the QLD gov is doing - telling the AFL to get ____ed. You want a new stadium? Fine - you build it. You want to break a contract we signed years ago? Fine - you hand over the dough.

You hatred of the AFL is blinding you.

[quote]
Since the gabba upgrade, the QLD government have completely rebuild Lang Park, and Build the GC titans home ground. All without any funding from the NRL, Soccer or Rugby. Not to mention whatever they put into Dairy Farmers stadium up in Townsville.

That seems a disproportionate allocations of resources against AFL and cricket.

The QLD government have also received a $5b windfall from the minning boom.

joshhem
6 Jun 2008, 16:13
I don't understand why the Brisbane crowd gets highlighted every time it is low 20's? This is quite a typical number for Port, Sydney and the Roos. We all know that the lions average 5k more than this, so why bother highlighting a one off that was less than this. There will always be peaks and troughs.

As for the trust boosting the numbers. I know a lot of trust members and the only reason they buy their membership is for the footy. How is that artificially bumping the numbers?

littleduck
6 Jun 2008, 16:18
I don't understand why the Brisbane crowd gets highlighted every time it is low 20's? This is quite a typical number for Port, Sydney and the Roos. We all know that the lions average 5k more than this, so why bother highlighting a one off that was less than this. There will always be peaks and troughs. True.

As for the trust boosting the numbers. I know a lot of trust members and the only reason they buy their membership is for the footy. How is that artificially bumping the numbers?Trust Members have been around for years are now getting their moneys worth from their Trust Memberships by attending Lions home games. Trust Members contribute $nil as far as the Lions and AFL are concerned, but obviously the Gabba Trust receive annual membership subscriptions.

cos789
6 Jun 2008, 16:22
Since the gabba upgrade, the QLD government have completely rebuild Lang Park, and Build the GC titans home ground. All without any funding from the NRL, Soccer or Rugby. Not to mention whatever they put into Dairy Farmers stadium up in Townsville.

That seems a disproportionate allocations of resources against AFL and cricket.

The QLD government have also received a $5b windfall from the minning .

Similar story in other states .

:(