View Full Version : Damian Barrett: "Practise what you preach, Clarkson"
philhawk
2 Jun 2008, 03:46
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23795012-19767,00.html
Practise what you preach, Clarkson
Damian Barrett | June 02, 2008 12:00am
Have your say!Add your comments or read what others are saying
Email article
Share Add to Digg Add to del.icio.us Post to NewsVine Post to Facebook What are these?
Printer friendly
Text size+-
HAWTHORN people who either witnessed Alastair Clarkson's petulance on Saturday night or were made aware of it are not impressed.
A couple even expressed genuine annoyance at the expletive-laden spray directed at a senior Tasmanian journalist at Launceston's Aurora Stadium.
None, though, seemed surprised by it. Which says a lot about the way Clarkson regularly conducts himself.
He likes unloading with profanities at members of the media the moment tape recorders have stopped.
It happened twice last year - once after an early season match and then a few weeks later in a TV studio.
On Saturday he launched again with his favourite swear word beginning with 'F'.
Clarkson's spray, after the Hawks had lost their first game of the year, was by no means his most brutal, but he has "form" for such behaviour, which means it is now a problem for him and the club.
His target on the weekend was Mercury sports reporter Brett Stubbs, who in Clarkson's eyes had committed the sin of accurately recording that Brad Sewell and Jordan Lewis had left Friday's training session early.
But the identity of the person Clarkson attacked does not matter, for the bigger issue is this: Clarkson just has to be better than that in public forums.
It was only two weeks ago, in the same Aurora Stadium room, that Clarkson won massive public support when he berated his player Mark Williams for making a choking gesture late in a match against Port Adelaide.
Clarkson could not have been more direct in his post-match observations about Williams. "The quickest way to find the exit door at our footy club" was one. Also: "(The gesture) was not in line with the way we like to go about our footy." Another: "We like to be humble and gracious in victory and not put on performances like that." And: "We don't accept that sort of behaviour at our club."
Maybe, grace and humility are not Clarkson essentials, merely words he can use if it suits his cause.
Clarkson is a long-time media hater, and that's fine, the media can live with that and his antics. But most professional people in this game raise their so-called concerns in proper forums.
There was reason for Stubbs' focus on Sewell and Lewis.
Twice last year he was assured - by Clarkson and other Hawthorn people - that players whose fitness he had queried before matches at Aurora Stadium would be right to play, and twice they didn't.
On one occasion, a player in doubt for a particular match had not even made the flight to Tasmania.
In other words, he was justified in highlighting injury concerns surrounding Sewell and Lewis.
There was absolutely no reason, as Clarkson demanded on Saturday night, for Stubbs to apologise for the article.
There was certainly no justification for the swearing that followed.
Mark Williams was told his behaviour was not acceptable. Clarkson's, on Saturday, also fitted that category.
What a beat-up from a cruddy journalist.
What does Clarko exactly owe the media?
If journalists are allowed to 'politely' vent their spleen via the media, I see nothing wrong with Clarkson doing the same.
Adelaide Hawk
2 Jun 2008, 07:58
If journalists are allowed to 'politely' vent their spleen via the media, I see nothing wrong with Clarkson doing the same.
To be fair, this "journalist" has been looking for any excuse to get stuck into the Hawks since he made himself look stupid last season, and this is the best he can come up with.
I'm an unabashed media hater, and I've made no bones about that over the years. For my money there are way too many useless leeches in the media bludging from the game, and they make a living out of biting the very hand that feeds them.
They congregate around coaches after the match like a pack of starving beggars hoping for comments so they can write their "articles" because very few of them would be able to fill up a column with their own knowledge.
They talk of accountability from coaches and players, and yet who are they accountable to? Certainly not the game. They seem to able to write any old crap about the game and continue to get away with it.
I'd like to see all coaches boycott the after-match conferences and see how the so-called media cope with it.
Number 24
2 Jun 2008, 08:31
To be fair, this "journalist" has been looking for any excuse to get stuck into the Hawks since he made himself look stupid last season, and this is the best he can come up with.
I'm an unabashed media hater, and I've made no bones about that over the years. For my money there are way too many useless leeches in the media bludging from the game, and they make a living out of biting the very hand that feeds them.
They congregate around coaches after the match like a pack of starving beggars hoping for comments so they can write their "articles" because very few of them would be able to fill up a column with their own knowledge.
They talk of accountability from coaches and players, and yet who are they accountable to? Certainly not the game. They seem to able to write any old crap about the game and continue to get away with it.
I'd like to see all coaches boycott the after-match conferences and see how the so-called media cope with it.
Pretty much on the money in my opinion. The leeches of the media think they are the custodians of the game and can moralise to all and sundry.
If Clarko ripped a journalist a new arsehole, then good on him.
As one Carlton captain once (sort of) said......We are Hawthorn and the rest can go and fcuk themselves
I find this an extraordinary attack by Barrett, he has really ripped into Clarkson here and it contains very little impartialness and is written on very much a personal level, I failed to see his relevance or similarities with the Mark Williams choking scenerio
Anthony_
2 Jun 2008, 10:19
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23795012-19767,00.html
What a beat-up from a cruddy journalist.
What does Clarko exactly owe the media?
Agreed a beat up, ____ the media.
Stard Picket
2 Jun 2008, 10:31
Sounds like Clarko is practicing what he preaches by not taking any crap from weak little pussies like this maggot nice work Clarko tell them all to get f*cked I say.
Hawk fans, take no notice of this cretin. He wrote a similarly lazy piece of attempted muckraking against the Bulldogs for the way they handled the Lake going off/Minson kick against Richmond (he didn't actually articulate what exactly was done wrong and how the situation should have been handled in his esteemed eyes :rolleyes:). The guy doesn't even watch clubs train, and he yet is is given valuable newspaper real estate to write unsubstantiated jibberish based on ill-informed opinions and a "vibe" not unlike Dale Kerrigan's solicitor :rolleyes:
Anthony_
2 Jun 2008, 10:43
Hawk fans, take no notice of this cretin. He wrote a similarly lazy piece of attempted muckraking against the Bulldogs for the way they handled the Lake going off/Minson kick against Richmond (he didn't actually articulate what exactly was done wrong and how the situation should have been handled in his esteemed eyes :rolleyes:). The guy doesn't even watch clubs train, and he yet is is given valuable newspaper real estate to write unsubstantiated jibberish based on ill-informed opinions and a "vibe" not unlike Dale Kerrigan's solicitor :rolleyes:
Ahh didn't read the title Damian ____ing Barrett. This guy is a complete tool! As Sedat has said he wrote an un founded gutter trash article about us recently as well.
Neville Bartos
2 Jun 2008, 10:49
Ahh didn't read the title Damian ____ing Barrett. This guy is a complete tool! As Sedat has said he wrote an un founded gutter trash article about us recently as well.
What a toss pot. I enjoyed watching him get torn a new one on meet the press on footy classified
play2win
2 Jun 2008, 10:56
i don't know the full story but it seems to me that clarko needs to pull his head in.
although the media are generally all swine, swearing/ranting at them is not going to help the situation, he can do better.
QFT
I couldn't have put it better, Adelaide Hawk
Davo23
On Saturday he launched again with his favourite swear word beginning with 'F'.Hey, that's mine too!
Clarkson's spray, after the Hawks had lost their first game of the year, was by no means his most brutal, but he has "form" for such behaviour, which means it is now a problem for him and the club.Sounds like you're the one with a problem, precious.
Clarkson just has to be better than that in public forums.
Maybe, grace and humility are not Clarkson essentials, merely words he can use if it suits his cause.But hold on, didn't you say this happened AFTER the cameras and tape recorders had been switched off?
Clarkson is a long-time media hater, and that's fine, the media can live with that and his antics. Obviously :rolleyes:
But most professional people in this game raise their so-called concerns in proper forums.You absolute little bitch - big Al slags off your boyfriend and you start a smear campaign - you petulant little spanker - this article will do wonders for your credibility and "journaistic integrity" - good luck getting that big Buddy Franklin interview.... no doubt when you get knocked back you'll raise your so-called concerns in the proper forums
D**khead
mighty_fighting
2 Jun 2008, 11:24
Spot on AH......:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
would love to see boycott...worked for players last year didn't it!!
noosa hawk mad
2 Jun 2008, 11:45
Well done Clarko! :D
thatswhatimtalkinabout
2 Jun 2008, 11:58
HAWTHORN people who either witnessed Alastair Clarkson's petulance on Saturday night or were made aware of it are not impressed.
A couple even expressed genuine annoyance at the expletive-laden spray directed at a senior Tasmanian journalist at Launceston's Aurora Stadium.
A rather broad and sweeping statement Damien - would you like to add some credibilty by actually putting some names to the article. "Hawthorn people" could be your Hawthorn supporting mates as far as I know.
None, though, seemed surprised by it. Which says a lot about the way Clarkson regularly conducts himself.
Once again who? If they "seem" not surprised - does that make it so? Very subjective journalism.
He likes unloading with profanities at members of the media the moment tape recorders have stopped.
Does he? This is fact? Clarkson LIKES unloading with profanities?
It happened twice last year - once after an early season match and then a few weeks later in a TV studio.
Possibly the only fact in the article. Yes he unloaded on Robinson and Hutchison both well after the event. However, you are suggesting that the freedom of the press is a freedom that can only be enjoyed by the press. Where does Clarkson or any other coach get a right of reply?
Subjective - I'm sure he has a favorite word for you that doesn't start with "F".
Clarkson's spray, after the Hawks had lost their first game of the year, was by no means his most brutal, but he has "form" for such behaviour, which means it is now a problem for him and the club.
What's the problem Damien? You'll boycott the club and not write horseshit articles like this about us? Empty threat - you wont be able to go a week without writing about Buddy. Face it, you are all media tart groupies.
His target on the weekend was Mercury sports reporter Brett Stubbs, who in Clarkson's eyes had committed the sin of accurately recording that Brad Sewell and Jordan Lewis had left Friday's training session early.
Care to disclose that The Mercury is owned by your employer Damian? Do you also want to see these sessions "Closed" to the media & public?
But the identity of the person Clarkson attacked does not matter, for the bigger issue is this: Clarkson just has to be better than that in public forums.
Did you not state yourself that the tape recorders and cameras where off? Is that a public forum? Do you understand the concept of "off the record"?
It was only two weeks ago, in the same Aurora Stadium room, that Clarkson won massive public support when he berated his player Mark Williams for making a choking gesture late in a match against Port Adelaide.
Clarkson could not have been more direct in his post-match observations about Williams. "The quickest way to find the exit door at our footy club" was one. Also: "(The gesture) was not in line with the way we like to go about our footy." Another: "We like to be humble and gracious in victory and not put on performances like that." And: "We don't accept that sort of behaviour at our club."
Relevancy to your rant?
Maybe, grace and humility are not Clarkson essentials, merely words he can use if it suits his cause.
Amongst your skills as a journalist, you should be aware that words are actually used to frame a position and put your case forward. Undoubtably this piece is not a good example on your behalf.
Clarkson is a long-time media hater, and that's fine, the media can live with that and his antics. But most professional people in this game raise their so-called concerns in proper forums.
More presumptions - media hater - pffft. A quote or factual evidence adds credibility Damian. Where are these proper forums Damian? I have never seen an apology in the media because a coach has taken up an issue and the journalist has unreservedly apologised.
Twice last year he was assured - by Clarkson and other Hawthorn people - that players whose fitness he had queried before matches at Aurora Stadium would be right to play, and twice they didn't.
On one occasion, a player in doubt for a particular match had not even made the flight to Tasmania.
In other words, he was justified in highlighting injury concerns surrounding Sewell and Lewis.
Perhaps Clarko just give Rocket a friendly call and tell him who's in and out, who is playing on jabs and a quick run down on tactics for the game. FFS, it's a game of inches Damian and any advantage/disadvantage needs to be fully exploited on the field.
There was absolutely no reason, as Clarkson demanded on Saturday night, for Stubbs to apologise for the article.
Why not? He was trying to redress the situation.
Grow up. Was there women present or some such? Are your virginal ears so lily white that they have never heard language such as used in everyday venacular? Is a profanity or two such an offence to justify an "article" about it?
Mark Williams was told his behaviour was not acceptable. Clarkson's, on Saturday, also fitted that category.
As stated before, the relevance is tenuous at best.
It is always hilarious to observe the hypocrisy emanating from journalists when any scrutiny is placed on them or their personal life - however anyone associated with a footy club is fair game.
Journalists need to understand that by buying the rights - they did not buy the game and nor are they bigger than the game.
Ultimately you are responsible to us. I would stop buying the papers if I hadn't already done so 18 months ago.
Quite frankly I get more informed opinion here on Big Footy.
MisterBean
2 Jun 2008, 12:15
Some members of the media seem to thrive on putting others down.
This does not mean that our coach should be ungracious in defeat. Quite removed from the actions of others, Clarkson needs to manage his anger better.
Hey Barrett! Clarkson says "f*ck you, as well"
Bodicifer
2 Jun 2008, 12:29
It was Barrett's perfect game on the weekend because whoever lost the match he was always going to find something to have a go at because he hates us both for some reason. Barrett gives me the shizenhausens. He shouldn't be allowed to write on Hawthorn or Bulldogs games ever again.
doodlefeatures
2 Jun 2008, 12:31
It was Barrett's perfect game on the weekend because whoever lost the match he was always going to find something to have a go at because he hates us both for some reason. Barrett gives me the shizenhausens. He shouldn't be allowed to write on Hawthorn or Bulldogs games ever again.
His beloved Roos got a bit of a touch up too so he needed to divert attention away from that as well.
Was it Barrett who announced on MMM on friday that there would be a late change for the Hawks?
Woodside Hawk
2 Jun 2008, 13:37
So, we can presume that Barrett thinks the Herald Sun is a 'proper forum' for him to raise personal issues he has with coaches.
What would be the 'proper forum' for a coach to raise their concerns with members of the media?
Personally, I'd have thought face-to-face would qualify as a 'proper forum', but then, I'm not a journo, so what do I know?
Gageless
2 Jun 2008, 14:55
Rather than focusing on Barrett, this highlights the direction of journalism en masse in this country. The journalist is no longer the news-breaker but the opiner; certainly, the term 'reporter' is entirely incorrect, given the steady rise in op-ed articles written by guys who should be reporting the news.
The mistake that such organisations like the Herald Sun make is that they think we actually want the 30 opinions of their football staff each monday. We don't. We want facts - and good, tight newsworthy journalism.
A rather broad and sweeping statement Damien - would you like to add some credibilty by actually putting some names to the article. "Hawthorn people" could be your Hawthorn supporting mates as far as I know.
Once again who? If they "seem" not surprised - does that make it so? Very subjective journalism.
Possibly the only fact in the article. Yes he unloaded on Robinson and Hutchison both well after the event. However, you are suggesting that the freedom of the press is a freedom that can only be enjoyed by the press. Where does Clarkson or any other coach get a right of reply?
Subjective - I'm sure he has a favorite word for you that doesn't start with "F".
What's the problem Damien? You'll boycott the club and not write horseshit articles like this about us? Empty threat - you wont be able to go a week without writing about Buddy. Face it, you are all media tart groupies.
Care to disclose that The Mercury is owned by your employer Damian? Do you also want to see these sessions "Closed" to the media & public?
Did you not state yourself that the tape recorders and cameras where off? Is that a public forum? Do you understand the concept of "off the record"?
Relevancy to your rant?
Amongst your skills as a journalist, you should be aware that words are actually used to frame a position and put your case forward. Undoubtably this piece is not a good example on your behalf.
More presumptions - media hater - pffft. A quote or factual evidence adds credibility Damian. Where are these proper forums Damian? I have never seen an apology in the media because a coach has taken up an issue and the journalist has unreservedly apologised.
Perhaps Clarko just give Rocket a friendly call and tell him who's in and out, who is playing on jabs and a quick run down on tactics for the game. FFS, it's a game of inches Damian and any advantage/disadvantage needs to be fully exploited on the field.
Grow up. Was there women present or some such? Are your virginal ears so lily white that they have never heard language such as used in everyday venacular? Is a profanity or two such an offence to justify an "article" about it?
It is always hilarious to observe the hypocrisy emanating from journalists when any scrutiny is placed on them or their personal life - however anyone associated with a footy club is fair game.
Journalists need to understand that by buying the rights - they did not buy the game and nor are they bigger than the game.
Ultimately you are responsible to us. I would stop buying the papers if I hadn't already done so 18 months ago.
F***ing great response mate! :p
Should seriously be sent straight to Barret's office! The little girl would probably just ignore any form of negative feedback. Even when its actually 'credible' unlike his stuff. (I say 'stuff' as surely what he does cannot be called 'work')
hawks_legends
2 Jun 2008, 16:56
Damian Barrett is probably the biggest idiot in the paper.
Clarko does the right thing I reckon.
CAPTAINCRAWF
2 Jun 2008, 17:18
FFS Damien Barrett, was your little News Limited Bitch too scared to right his own article or is it just a personal agenda you have with Clarko. Coaches have the right of reply and is it the fact Clarko doesn't respect some News Limited journalists enough to give decent info your main problem.
On a broader swipe, most journalist, in general, think they can throw shit at coaches, players etc in an attempt to see them fire back allowing them to write a not so news worthy column. Say what you want about people like Hutchy and Caro but atleast they make an effort to get down to the clubs and actually do some decent background knowledge before their columns enter the rag.
But Hey, lets face it, 50% of people who write on Bigfooty have more knowledge on football and what goes on behind the scenes than Damien Barrett does!:o
Come to think of it, he probably gets most of his stories from this website:rolleyes:
That's deliberate
2 Jun 2008, 17:51
This guy has made it clear on a number of occasions and openly admits that he does not write football pieces and would not know the first thing about football or what happens on the field.
He should be commended for his honesty.
He applied for the job that was advertised as a nothing writer, he got it, and does a fine job.
He writes about nothing , he acknowledges that he knows nothing and he gets paid handsomely for it.
Good luck to the F... wit.
CAPTAINCRAWF
2 Jun 2008, 17:55
This guy has made it clear on a number of occasions and openly admits that he does not write football pieces and would not know the first thing about football or what happens on the field.
He should be commended for his honesty.
He applied for the job that was advertised as a nothing writer, he got it, and does a fine job.
He writes about nothing , he acknowledges that he knows nothing and he gets paid handsomely for it.
Good luck to the F... wit.
So is his role to just dig up and put shit on people then, if so the HS football department need to take a good look at themselves!:mad:
bungholes_premiers
2 Jun 2008, 17:57
oh would u like a hug damien wittle fella ?
how about u and caro have a hug and cry together - i'll buy the kleenex ...
soft ____
CAPTAINCRAWF
2 Jun 2008, 18:11
Is it me or are reporters going the way of field umpires wanting to be as big as the players and attain their own little celebrity status on the backs of others!:thumbsu:
flukeyluke
2 Jun 2008, 18:11
Hey, that's mine too!
Sounds like you're the one with a problem, precious.
But hold on, didn't you say this happened AFTER the cameras and tape recorders had been switched off?
Obviously :rolleyes:
You absolute little bitch - big Al slags off your boyfriend and you start a smear campaign - you petulant little spanker - this article will do wonders for your credibility and "journaistic integrity" - good luck getting that big Buddy Franklin interview.... no doubt when you get knocked back you'll raise your so-called concerns in the proper forums
D**khead
:D:D:D Tell us what you really feel Binxy lol
crawf_legend
2 Jun 2008, 18:24
That journalist should practise what he preaches. Journalists arent there to take the p*ss out people, professional coaches in this situation, they are there to report news and not criticise. The fool, thats the way Clarkson rolls and if he cant respect that then he can go and f*ck himself.
Barrett must want a billboard or something
muldercs
2 Jun 2008, 19:23
This dumbass gibberer really got under my skin the last few days..
This is what I wrote on the Sun/herald SuperFooty page in reply to his story..
Damian..I recall your vitriol against Hawthorn on Friday nights 'Before the Bounce'.when you stated that Mitchell should have been rubbed out and then like a shrew again showed your bias by calling Hawthorn cheats. I think you should take a look at your behaviour Damian
lol Damn, I'm glad they published it..
bungholes_premiers
2 Jun 2008, 19:24
LOL - they just showed a video on nine news - how funny !
he barely said anything - just cos he used the F word ... damian u soft k0ck get a life
kimbopen
2 Jun 2008, 19:37
Barrett really should go and report on another sport where there is no contact allowed ... maybe he should try netball!
If that's too hard for him, he should slowly make his way down the ladder to tennis and swimming.
BacharHouli_43
2 Jun 2008, 19:38
Good to see Clarko have a go at a journo, the media are useless these days, coz they dont tell it like it really is. I reckon Big Footy provides more accurate info for sure.
Btw, Damian Barret's a banker
mighty_fighting
2 Jun 2008, 19:43
I wonder what will be shown on Footy Classifieds tonight....hmmm I smell fear
Barrett is a dumbwitt
Barrett, you are coming across as a vindictive brat who is writing cheap stories based on not getting his own way.
Has Clarko told you off the record that you'll never do an interview with him while your ar*e points to the ground or something???
Did you say to Brett Stubbs "listen, I'll show that bastar* he can't just talk that way....I'm Damien Barrett you know...."
Your recent efforts in bagging the Hawks has rasied your profile from my perspective for all the wrong reasons (not that I suspect you care)...the cheap shots you are taking (probably for something like the reasons above as well as appearing to be a lazy pr*ck) do nothing for your credibility
muldercs
2 Jun 2008, 19:47
Yeah.. just saw it on Fox news..
It was nothing.. Al was controlled in asking.. the reporter Brett Stubbs a question about his reporting on players that didn't train and still play.. and Stubbs answer was..
""I dunno!!.""
what a dufus :D
Muldercs mate I must have seen a different snippett to you. Stubbs responded with 'well they didn't train". This was in response to Clarko wanting an apology because Stubbs questioned whether Lewis and Sewell would play in saturday's paper because they didn't train on Friday. I would've thought a journalist is within their rights to report that players might be in doubt because they didn't train, particularly when we've had a track record in recent times of late withdrawals.
Does not change the fact that Barrett has seemingly blown this right out of proportion.
macdaddio
2 Jun 2008, 21:08
saw some on msn, dam media have a grudge over clarko they make all these lies up and get away with murder i reckon mark harvey will be ringing clarko up and conratulating him.......
clarko is the best coach out there and he loves his club more than the media think......
macdaddio
2 Jun 2008, 21:15
go to msn and click on afl to see clarko give that $@#@##@ a good old fashion tongue shlacking
muldercs
2 Jun 2008, 21:40
Muldercs mate I must have seen a different snippett to you. Stubbs responded with 'well they didn't train". This was in response to Clarko wanting an apology because Stubbs questioned whether Lewis and Sewell would play in saturday's paper because they didn't train on Friday. I would've thought a journalist is within their rights to report that players might be in doubt because they didn't train, particularly when we've had a track record in recent times of late withdrawals.
Does not change the fact that Barrett has seemingly blown this right out of proportion.
Stick old mate, go to ninemsn and watch/listen to the same grab as Fox had.
Stubbs reply to Al's question.. "how many times do blokes not train and still play" ( few expletives there :D )
to which Stubbs relied. "I dont know"
If you want to get a feel as to Barrett's feelings about Hawthorn.. get a copy of the transcript of last Fri 'Before the Bounce' on Fox.. he labels Hawthorn as cheats.
Muldercs
That's fine but Stubbs also did say what I quoted as well. I'm not sure what basis AC had in actually asking for an apology?? What exactly did Stubbs report that warranted this?
play2win
2 Jun 2008, 23:36
what is this all about?
clarko said f**K!! i am going to giggle uncontrollably now.
take your kids to any footy match......guaranteed they will hear worse language at some stage of the game.
ok, clarko shouldn't have said f***K!.....but......what else is there to talk about?
BobbyYeomansBelly
3 Jun 2008, 00:10
Relevancy to your rant?
Firstly - a disclaimer. I work in the media, but not the footy media.
Thatswhatimtalkinabout, your piece is solid gold. You could take both my Journalism class and my Critical Thinking class and you'd get HDs in both. A perfect deconstruction of a terrible piece of journalism which, as you stated, appears to contain one fact. I don't know Barrett as I don't read his column, but there appears to be something personal going on here. I have first year students could write a better story.
bungholes_premiers
3 Jun 2008, 00:19
http://www1.istockphoto.com/file_thumbview_approve/1795210/2/istockphoto_1795210_cry_baby.jpg
thatswhatimtalkinabout
3 Jun 2008, 01:32
Firstly - a disclaimer. I work in the media, but not the footy media.
Thatswhatimtalkinabout, your piece is solid gold. You could take both my Journalism class and my Critical Thinking class and you'd get HDs in both. A perfect deconstruction of a terrible piece of journalism which, as you stated, appears to contain one fact. I don't know Barrett as I don't read his column, but there appears to be something personal going on here. I have first year students could write a better story.
Cheers BYB, I am well read - not well educated - but find myself astonished that this garbage can be considered journalism of any degree.
Unfortunately, I think standards have slipped across the board and I find myself increasingly subjected to spin and opinion rather than fact now more than ever.
Such is life I suppose, but I do find it quite infuriating to have to explain to my elderly in-laws that bringing Johnny Howard back would only proliferate the problems.
Love your username - Hawthorn through and through. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: