View Full Version : Melbourne vs Collingwood Queen's B'Day
thomasleary
2 Jun 2008, 11:54
After looking at Melbourne's performance yesterday and with Russell Robertson out, Collingwood had better avenge the fact of having not won on Queen's Birthday since 2003. Melbourne always plays above themselves for this game and the boys better come out and physically destroy them with sheer brutallity.
In 2006 Collingwood beat Geelong by close to 100 points and then was thumped by Melbourne the following week in the Queen's Birthday game.
Last year we were sitting 4th and they were 2nd bottom, yet they managed to beat us.
In recent years we haven't been able to put away the bottom sides, it's time to make Melbourne pay......
Helfarch
2 Jun 2008, 12:05
Whats the highest winning margin ever?
That should be Collingwoods objective.
Melbourne ALWAYS lift against us
Soul_Pie
2 Jun 2008, 12:19
This is a real danger match for us. If we're not on our toes then Melbourne could run away with the match, and we waste a real opportunity to consolidate a top spot on the ladder. Granted, the loss of Robbo really helps our chances, as he destroyed us last time, but Melbourne have a knack of rising to the Queen's Birthday occasion.
I'm tipping the pies, but with no real confidence. If we revert back to our old form we will probably lose, whereas if we play like we have the last couple of weeks we will destroy them.
Australia
2 Jun 2008, 12:47
This game every year is why I still see Melbourne vs Collingwood as massive rivals....
They always lift to win and that's what rivalry is about, last season Dees won then later on, Neitas 300th, Collingwood one a brusing affair.
It's always close.
I love the QB game.
Although, this year looks to be the year that Collingwood must beat Melbourne. Usually on QB Neitz, Robbo, T Johnstone, Pickett lifted BIG time.
None of them will be there.
Collingwood are our bitches - history says so.
daics cousin
2 Jun 2008, 12:56
Yeah,but what i love about history is that it can be changed!
Pies by 50 points this week!
We will smash them.
Goodbye 2007 with hardly ever winning games by big margins. We need percentage to compete with the other top sides.
80 points +
It really all depends on what Collingwood side comes out. We should win convincingly, but if you want money on a roughie this week, Melbourne would be the bet.
melbournemartin
2 Jun 2008, 13:38
We will probably play better than we did yesterday, maybe on par with our Hawthorn performance which should see us go close. We'll still struggle to kick enough goals though without Robertson and Neitz. If you were to rank the forwards in this game based on current form you'd pretty much have:
Medhurst
Didak
Davis
Thomas
Cloke
as the top 5 with maybe Davey in there somewhere if he plays. It's possible that one of them will have a bad day but surely at least one will kick a few. It's hard to see where Melbourne can find a multiple goal scorer.
We'll really need to murder you in the midfield for us to have a chance to kick enough goals and prevent too many at the other end. Whilst our midfield isn't miles behind Collingwood's, that is still a very hard task.
Helfarch
2 Jun 2008, 13:44
If Collingwood lose, and it really is theirs to lose (which makes it worse) I'll be punting other peoples children for a week.
Think of the children Melbourne, just forfeit :D
I read in the AGE injury report that Brock McLean may miss this week with a broken nose because he may need surgery.
Has anyone heard anything about this>?
thewhitelama
2 Jun 2008, 16:27
I cannot possibly see a reason to worry about this match. We will smash this mob, regardless of history. It is fact that every side lifts against us, because we are Collingwood. If we dont beat these cats by over 10 goals i'll be pissed right off. The past means bugger all, we could have played Melbourne on saturday night and still won. If i sound cocky, i think we have every right to be. Fair dinkum....danger game my foot. We have them all over the ground. It comes down to fight and heart, and Melbourne have the heart the size of a pea, just like there supporters.
Lockyer24
3 Jun 2008, 22:31
Yze is the only remaining cat who cuts us up.
Johnstone, Robbo, Neitz...gone.
I think they have won the last 4 against us?
Arrogance never seems to pay but stuff it - we will win by 80 + pts.
If the Dees get up they can have our training facilities.
unstable punt
3 Jun 2008, 23:18
This is a real danger match for us. If we're not on our toes then Melbourne could run away with the match, and we waste a real opportunity to consolidate a top spot on the ladder. Granted, the loss of Robbo really helps our chances, as he destroyed us last time, but Melbourne have a knack of rising to the Queen's Birthday occasion.
I'm tipping the pies, but with no real confidence. If we revert back to our old form we will probably lose, whereas if we play like we have the last couple of weeks we will destroy them.
listen mate, lf you cannot beat us by at least 50 points well you shouldn't be thinking about flags. l was there on Sunday and IMO opinion and been watching the Demons for 40 years, l reckon that was one of the most pathetic efforts we have ever put in. That is saying something because l was a kid watching them get thrashed week in week out in the 70's and early 80's
deadoralive
4 Jun 2008, 10:38
collingwood will win by plenty, that's obvious and to make matters worse, robertson, mclean and another melbourne player that's slipped my mind is injured from the weekend. play youth and see how they go, find out which kids can play and which can't and make your decisions from there.
The game is live on 10HD on Monday I believe :thumbsu:
this could get very ugly...
We punished them in 2002 IIRC and I wrote Melbourne off in my mind. Overall it was a fair enough call, they haven't yelped since as a footy club. However I suspect our players did too, and if you don't show respect as often as not you'll get burned badly. They really taught us a lesson last year about guts and risk taking. You can say "oh we had a down day" well good sides shouldn't do that against clubs in trouble.
If we come out hard and show them respect I feel confident we can win. If we come out arrogant and try to kick a cricket score, or crack open the champagne and expect them to lay down then they might just embarrass us again.
This game is a "Buddy" moment for us. Melbourne have sidled up to us in a bar and they look cheap and a bit trashy. We can do the hard yards and score properly or we can stupidly blow the deal and end up getting our arses bared for all to see on national TV.
I hope our boys have matured and choose the right option.
The game is live on 10HD on Monday I believe :thumbsu:
Yep, an anomaly if ever I've seen one.
jakson68
4 Jun 2008, 17:30
On paper Collingwood should flog them but some teams match up well against others. We do with Geelong and unfortunatly Melbourne do with us. Robertson is a big loss for them though
collingwood will win by plenty, that's obvious and to make matters worse, robertson, mclean and another melbourne player that's slipped my mind is injured from the weekend. play youth and see how they go, find out which kids can play and which can't and make your decisions from there.
McLean will play this week, it will be an interesting game to say the least.
Yeah sure Collingwood should flog us however this Queen's Birthday game always seems to play tricks on us.
Demons to show the same fight and spirit as they did against the Hawks just pulling up short.
Pies by 3 goals.
PieLebo87
4 Jun 2008, 18:02
Collingwood by between 75 and 85 points.
If the team that lost to carlton show up, we'll lose. If the team that showed up to Hawthorn turn up, we lose.
Any other Pie team this year and we win.
We've lost 4 QB games in a row. This is Melbournes 1 and only blockbuster game for the year and they won't play finals.
I'm sure we'll at least see a spirited Dees team.
Pat Magroine
4 Jun 2008, 22:07
WHITELAMA
your a half back flanker and the reason why so many people hate the filth...
I am more worried about this than i ever was about the training drill we had last weekend.
Dees will lift, of that i have no doubt. At this stage i'll be happy with a win, the margin doesn't bother me.
Pat Magroine
4 Jun 2008, 22:18
What's with the half smart, semi realist pie fans. Must be a part of the new generation. Perhaps they barrack for collingwood as opposed colinwood and talk of there old hero as Nathan instead of nafan. You cannot shine sh%t..
melbourne150
4 Jun 2008, 22:26
McLean will play, And so will Matty Bate. And Davey is coming back in.
If Collingwood play at there best they will beat us quit easily, But if there a little bit off and we come out fired up and play like we did against the hawks then it could get interesting.
There's one thing i'm looking forward to seeing and that's all the small forwards, They obviously have the best group of small forwards going around in Didak, Davis, Medhurst and Thomas, And we have Davey, Wonaeamirri and hopefully Addam Maric comes in to make his debut.:thumbsu:
WHITELAMA
your a half back flanker and the reason why so many people hate the filth...
You mean BJ?
he didnt intentionally trya nd kill that melbourne boy it just turned out that.
Im sure he doesnt give two shits what you think anyway
What's with the half smart, semi realist pie fans. Must be a part of the new generation. Perhaps they barrack for collingwood as opposed colinwood and talk of there old hero as Nathan instead of nafan. You cannot shine sh%t..
Im surprised there is this many semi interested Melborune fans, its snow season and about this stage land rovers or those new cheaper Kruegers go in for services isnt it?
You cant shine shit, but you can always prove those that think they are class above that they really are useless spineless dreamers.
Pies to win couldnt care less how much
I'm looking forwards to Holland running rings around Rocca again
davey_magik
4 Jun 2008, 23:36
Collingwood really should win this and win by heaps.
We usually lift for the QB, but I'm not sure this year. Last year I went in very confident, this year I think the Pies will treat it as a big game and belt us.
Happy to be proven wrong though :thumbsu: .
bradrowe#32
4 Jun 2008, 23:38
You mean rape him when the ball is within 50 metres of them?
You cannot shine sh%t..
"... but you can roll it in glitter."
http://www.realfooty.com.au/ffximage/2007/06/01/wbFOOTYjoffa_wideweb__470x314,0.jpg
davey_magik
4 Jun 2008, 23:54
Rocca is shit scared that Benny is coming for him yet again :D .
Rocca the dud, the flat track bully who can't even kick goals against our shit defence :D .
whelan=legend
4 Jun 2008, 23:58
CARN DEES!
We'll prob lose though :o
i can see the macano man strolling down to CHB to pick up Rocca and the big 23 shaking in his boots through fear of not touching the ball.
actually i cant holland being able to do it AGAIN although i would start him on Rocca and if he gets murdered then move him forward and warnock or someone play on Rocca.
garland should take cloke while i would like to see melbourne throw caution to the wind and play a medium sized forward line against the pies.
it has worked against collingwood for ages, our small/medium forwards love collingwood. yze robertson and even all the way back to jeff farmer kicked bags on QB.
HF: Davey Bate Yze
F: Bruce Green Wona
if they need a big target maybe plonk holland, miller or big paul johnson in the goal square. bruce may have to play defence though to stop their midsized forward.
all in all should be interesting... melbourne will either win or get belted i reckon but i always love queens birthday.
unstable punt
5 Jun 2008, 04:29
"... but you can roll it in glitter."
http://www.realfooty.com.au/ffximage/2007/06/01/wbFOOTYjoffa_wideweb__470x314,0.jpg
not the sharpest tool in the shed but definately a tool;)
yeah is basically what he meant
Rocca the dud, the flat track bully who can't even kick goals against our shit defence :D .
why would rocca be shit scared, it would be holland worried about being hurt or dont you rember hollands shoulder sticking out the wrong side last time we played you?
after that i dont think ben would want to try and bear hug pebbles again
KissStephanie
5 Jun 2008, 18:20
In 2006 Collingwood beat Geelong by close to 100 points and then was thumped by Melbourne the following week in the Queen's Birthday game.That's not right. :confused: Firstly, Collingwood did not beat Geelong by close to 100 points, but by 102 points, in Round 8, 2006, and secondly, they followed it up with a 34 points win over the Western Bulldogs in Round 9, and then a 26 points win over Brisbane when Tim Notting slid into Blake Caracella and broke his neck in Round 10.Whats the highest winning margin ever? That should be Collingwoods objective.Collingwood's objective will be to play a full four quarters as they have for the past two weeks, and for most of the match against St.Kilda. Melbourne will definitely lift after last weeks poor performance against a struggling team, and they don't get many chances to have a match played on the centre stage. They also have a 150 year function on Saturday night, so I'm sure they'll put in more effort this week.
I'm sure that Collingwood are aware of this though, and are keen to continue the recent four quarter performances, and to turn recent Queen's Birthday results around. Any team can beat any team if they don't come to play, but I'm sure that Collingwood will be ready to get on with their aim for a top-4 spot.Collingwood are our bitches - history says so.Is that right? Let's have a look at history then...
Played: 220
Collingwood: 137
Melbourne 79
Drawn: 4
Last eight matches played...
Collingwood: 4
Melbourne: 4
Let's have a look at history then...
Played: 220
Collingwood: 137
Melbourne 79
Drawn: 4
So Barrisi to line up on Tuddenham you reckon?
Come on, we always beat you on QB, just accept it.
So Barrisi to line up on Tuddenham you reckon?
Come on, we always beat you on QB, just accept it.
We'll see, no Holland no Davey, no roberston, no Neitz, no Johnstone.
So basically the main ones missing from your team are the ones that usually beat us.
But we will all see come monday
CaptainDavey
5 Jun 2008, 19:01
So basically the main ones missing from your team are the ones that usually beat us.
Yeah but Yze is still there! Hopefully Mick will play Dane Swan on him again...:p
But yes, the fact of the matter is that Collingwood should win and in all likelihood will. Hope it's a cracking contest though
Bartram_Class
5 Jun 2008, 19:41
Its always someone different mate.
? in 2008.
Robertson in 2007.
Pickett/Davey in 2006.
Yze in 2005.
Neitz in 2004.
My money is on one Colin Sylvia.
MACDAICOS
5 Jun 2008, 19:47
Are you still going to the game :o
Quite seriously Pies by 40 - 60 points :)
? in 2008.
Robertson in 2007.
Pickett/Davey in 2006.
Yze in 2005.
Neitz in 2004.
If he plays HBF (like last week) he will have thomas/medhurst/didak/davis to deal with good luck to him.
He plays forward he will have Heath and harry to deal with i say again good luck to him.
You will find apart from pickett every year all of the playesr i named belt us with oen of them standing out more so, this year we have yze with the track record against us and then no one.
He hasn't been named has he? That might be a bit hard.
Coolangatta
5 Jun 2008, 20:56
It'll be a close game I reckon, with Collingwood surely coming out on top this time.
Australia
6 Jun 2008, 12:25
Im still pumped for this game.
Love the QB game, just cause no matter how crap either team is travelling they deliver on this day.
Id say the forwards of Collingwood are going to be dangerous, with Holland not playing there is no one to take Rocca.
The main issue for Collingwood will be stopping Mclean, Jones and Bate. All really good players, and for anyone thats watched Melbourne this year, Sylvia is playing really well and at FF could definately have an impact.
Im tipping a good game but Collingwood will win by 5 goals.
dale_mighty_pies
6 Jun 2008, 17:43
Yes Hugh... you must be loving the big up and coming forwards your club has coming through... wait a sec???
CaptainDavey
6 Jun 2008, 18:01
I wonder if Benny Johnson is gonna cop any treatment from the players or fans
it wouldnt be heard even if you tried to abuse him.:p
Id expect him to get a bit of treatment from your hard man, do you have a hard man?
thomasleary
6 Jun 2008, 18:40
Collingwood have played Melbourne 220 times.
Collingwood has won 137 times, Melbourne has won 79 times, there have been 4 draws.
thomasleary
6 Jun 2008, 18:57
? in 2008.
Robertson in 2007.
Pickett/Davey in 2006.
Yze in 2005.
Neitz in 2004.
ooh...Colin Sylvia. Now were shaking in our boots. Hey pies fans Colin Sylvia's playing I don't think we should turn up now.
And I noticed a lot of people talking about how Anthony Rocca's going to be taken out of the game. Well one thing last week and ANZAC day showed is that we can quite easily win without him.
There are a lot of guys you should be worried about before Rocca: Dane Swan, Alan Didak, Paul Medhurst, Scott Pendlebury, Tarkyn Lockyer, Scott Burns, Leon Davis, Ben Johnson, Dale Thomas, Marty Clarke...
CaptainDavey
6 Jun 2008, 21:01
it wouldnt be heard even if you tried to abuse him.:p
Id expect him to get a bit of treatment from your hard man, do you have a hard man?
Well no. We don't have one specific player who goes out and gives away moronic free kicks for trying to be 'tough' but certainly Jones, McLean, Moloney and Miller might have something to say to young Ben
CaptainDavey
6 Jun 2008, 21:03
Collingwood have played Melbourne 220 times.
Collingwood has won 137 times, Melbourne has won 79 times, there have been 4 draws.
We have to thank Collingwood for supplying us with 50% of our Premiership wins
thomasleary
7 Jun 2008, 14:54
Anyway, see you Monday, hope you can make it. Otherwise, Demitriou says we won't be playing you on Queen's Birthday again.
You are NUTS not to put SCOTT PENDLEBURY in the top 5
Collingwood supporters really under estimate scott pendleburys talent... seriously there is no doubt that he is in collingwoods top 5 players
thomasleary
7 Jun 2008, 17:30
Collingwood supporters really under estimate scott pendleburys talent... seriously there is no doubt that he is in collingwoods top 5 players
what do you mean dude? Earlier in this thread I wrote that we don't need Rocca, continuing to say our most dangerous players right now are Dane Swan, Alan Didak, Paul Medhurst, Scott Pendlebury, Tarkyn Lockyer.
A lot of Collingwood supporters love and adore Pendles...I don't know what you're on about?
toorakbum
7 Jun 2008, 21:42
Rubbish. Just because we don't collectively masturbate over him like we do with Daisy Thomas doesn't mean we don't love and appreciate him as much.
As a matter of fact I'd say Pendles is going to fill the gap left by Bucks over the next decade. Not saying he'll be as good, but he is the silky skilled, smart footballer the great one was.
Anyway not really worried about this game. I just cannot see how we are going to lose given the way we've been playing. And Melbourne just don't have any winners. It's Carlton next week I'm worried about.
Pies to win, comfortably.
thomasleary
8 Jun 2008, 12:14
I can still remember Shane Woewodin heart broken and close to tears at Victoria Park in 2003 after Collingwood lost the Grand Final. He told the crowd that after he'd played in the 2000 Grand Final for Melbourne close to no one turned up to Juntion oval afterwards and the few people there wern't exactly welcoming. That day at Victoria Park there was 40,000 on hand to welcome a losing team and they cheered and clapped him.
I now hate Melbourne more than any other club by a long way, mainly because most Melbourne supporters I know are bitter a__holes.
I never had any hatred for Melbourne, until I worked at Cabrini Malvern, where 70% of the surgeons I work for are Melbourne supporters...and how they love to trash talk Collingwood and it's supporters. They don't often say a lot about the actual Collingwood team, they mostly comment on how filthy Collingwood supporters are, how we have no teeth and that we're all criminals. I have actually been treated worse and looked down apon for supporting Collingwood, and not in a tounge and cheek way either, this was real bitterness.
This is why I don't hope we kick Melbourne when their down, I want to metaphorically run over you all with a steam roller. Actually a steam roller would be too loud, It'd be nice to hear every one of your ribs break. I want to hold your hearts in the palm of my hand and squeeze as hard as I possibly can. I can think of a lot worse but I'd better keep a degree of politeness.
whelan=legend
8 Jun 2008, 12:58
^^ thats what i like to hear
Well no. We don't have one specific player who goes out and gives away moronic free kicks for trying to be 'tough' but certainly Jones, McLean, Moloney and Miller might have something to say to young Ben
Oh please. Those 4 give away ridiculous amounts of free kicks.
Just watched last years Queens Birthday game. It was like the Collingwood players knew they were gonna lose from the first bounce. The Queen must be a Demon worshipper.
Magpieee
9 Jun 2008, 07:30
Go Pies!! I Need to tip 8.
kickingoals
9 Jun 2008, 09:32
the demons should lift big time for this clash , but the pies good form should continue and get home , the pies under 39.5 points .
MACDAICOS
9 Jun 2008, 12:32
Just watched last years Queens Birthday game. It was like the Collingwood players knew they were gonna lose from the first bounce. The Queen must be a Demon worshipper.
Get a life.
Bartram_Class
9 Jun 2008, 12:33
It would fit our supporter demographic.
Be handy if she could send over a few bob though.
MC_Bomba
9 Jun 2008, 12:36
It would fit our supporter demographic.
Be handy if she could send over a few bob though.
Notice how Melbourne players with the first name Clint are terrible plaerss.
Bartram and Bizzell:mad: Terrible players.
Demonheart
9 Jun 2008, 12:53
Yeah,but what i love about history is that it can be changed!
Pies by 50 points this week!
err.....ok :confused:
Demonheart
9 Jun 2008, 12:55
I can still remember Shane Woewodin heart broken and close to tears at Victoria Park in 2003 after Collingwood lost the Grand Final. He told the crowd that after he'd played in the 2000 Grand Final for Melbourne close to no one turned up to Juntion oval afterwards and the few people there wern't exactly welcoming. That day at Victoria Park there was 40,000 on hand to welcome a losing team and they cheered and clapped him.
I now hate Melbourne more than any other club by a long way, mainly because most Melbourne supporters I know are bitter a__holes.
I never had any hatred for Melbourne, until I worked at Cabrini Malvern, where 70% of the surgeons I work for are Melbourne supporters...and how they love to trash talk Collingwood and it's supporters. They don't often say a lot about the actual Collingwood team, they mostly comment on how filthy Collingwood supporters are, how we have no teeth and that we're all criminals. I have actually been treated worse and looked down apon for supporting Collingwood, and not in a tounge and cheek way either, this was real bitterness.
This is why I don't hope we kick Melbourne when their down, I want to metaphorically run over you all with a steam roller. Actually a steam roller would be too loud, It'd be nice to hear every one of your ribs break. I want to hold your hearts in the palm of my hand and squeeze as hard as I possibly can. I can think of a lot worse but I'd better keep a degree of politeness.
I'm guessing those surgeons were spot on with their assessments :thumbsu:
hellfire
9 Jun 2008, 14:29
Rocca and Pendlebury apparently out. Ouch. That, and the weather, have really made me worried.
Keithy George
9 Jun 2008, 14:35
In recent years I've always backed us against Collingwood. Not this time. We don't have the cattle, Pies by 50 points
johnnyhoward
9 Jun 2008, 14:36
This will get ugly I think, anything under a 100 point win will be disappointing for the Pies.
Bartram_Class
9 Jun 2008, 14:36
Rocca and Pendlebury apparently out. Ouch. That, and the weather, have really made me worried.
Disappointed by that.
Just gives you bogans another excuse when we roll you.
This will get ugly I think, anything under a 100 point win will be disappointing for the Pies.
Ugly like our kicking directly in front of goal?
crowd, i have 2 things, one about 40k one 78k... which is correct
whos in?
hendo8888
9 Jun 2008, 14:53
cox and cook
that is does anyone know the crowd... 30-40-50 thousand, mmm just aw just said... so they are handy...
johnnyhoward
9 Jun 2008, 15:05
Ugly like our kicking directly in front of goal?
Don't remind me :(
Isn't this supposed to be live on Ten HD?
I'm getting Raymond as well :confused:
It's not, that was a misprint in the tv guide which hasn't been fixed.
flat game so far lot of skill errors
crowd seems dead lol
DemonAndrew
9 Jun 2008, 15:30
eh? crowd is up and firing from what i can hear via radio and see via tv.
pies should be miles in front, all over dees early. but we're hanging in there, being competitive.
white is finished - toweled up by fraser early.
adamania11
9 Jun 2008, 15:32
Goal to Green...3.1.19 all
Geddy Lee
9 Jun 2008, 15:35
god would I love to roll the filth.
Pancakes
9 Jun 2008, 15:36
Pies are going to get rolled here, they have no idea about the dees forwardline.
frantelle
9 Jun 2008, 15:36
we are playing like shit
SaintsPremiers08
9 Jun 2008, 15:37
lol another Dees Goal..
ZachPower
Melbourne 25
Collingwood 19
ZachPower
Melbourne 25
Collingwood 20
SaintsPremiers08
9 Jun 2008, 15:43
Cmon Siren....
need the dees to be in front at 1/4.
got $130 on Melb/Coll/Coll/Coll @ $8.00
jerry springer
9 Jun 2008, 15:43
slow,slow start to the boys.need a rev from MM
funkyfetlock
9 Jun 2008, 15:44
I think the statement made by a Collingwood supporter about Sydney is much more appropriate in this thread.
- overrated and overexposed
:)
Magpieee
9 Jun 2008, 15:45
Deez rose to the occasion that term. Had a lot of numbers around the ball, not much to aim for up forward. In the meantime Collingwood was playing one of its worst quarters this year.. and are only 1 kick off the pace.
Pies will focus, Deez will tire.
dammit.. queen's birthday makes me nervous every freakin year
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
9 Jun 2008, 15:46
Cmon Siren....
need the dees to be in front at 1/4.
got $130 on Melb/Coll/Coll/Coll @ $8.00
http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/7970/webcamquarterlz6.png