View Full Version : Queensland Country Football

chaddles
2nd June 2008, 11:46
We all know that Cairns is the best league in country Qld by far, but I was hoping to get comparisons on the other leagues mainly:
Mackay
Townsville
Capricornia
Wide Bay

Jobs have came up in Cairns, Townsville and Rocky within the company and I was considering taking one up and going up there for a couple of years to check things out and maybe take up an assistant playing coach role.

Any information would be fantastic such as: best clubs and clubs to avoid, recruiting, paid players, venues and facilities ie lighting licensed club rooms.

Just want to know how each league compares (and any comparison to Vic Metro comps would be helpful).

Navy2005
3rd June 2008, 23:52
We all know that Cairns is the best league in country Qld by far, but I was hoping to get comparisons on the other leagues mainly:
Mackay
Townsville
Capricornia
Wide Bay

Jobs have came up in Cairns, Townsville and Rocky within the company and I was considering taking one up and going up there for a couple of years to check things out and maybe take up an assistant playing coach role.

Any information would be fantastic such as: best clubs and clubs to avoid, recruiting, paid players, venues and facilities ie lighting licensed club rooms.

Just want to know how each league compares (and any comparison to Vic Metro comps would be helpful).

G'day Chaddles mate the Townsville league might be of a better standard than you might expect I have played in leagues all over Australia in SA, WA, Vic, NSW and QLD and while it is far from being the best league it is quite good and I would compare the standard with DIV 2 Southern Football League in Melb (pretty good standard).
Townsville has also just had built the Riverway Stadium(Tony Ireland Stadium) which cost 16.2 million excellent facility that at least 1 match a week is played there.
As for a club Twin City Lions are a good bunch of blokes that are struggling at the moment and need some help I am sure you'd be warmly welcomed there.
Hope that helped.

stmookeyj
4th June 2008, 00:45
Capricornia have beaten Wide Bay in the last 4 years, Mackay's standard is improving but is dominated really by North Mackay.

As for Rocky, we'd love to have you at Brothers, all players most welcome here (and it's coming from the 2's captain).

Herbs
4th June 2008, 10:26
Capricornia have beaten Wide Bay in the last 4 years, Mackay's standard is improving but is dominated really by North Mackay.

As for Rocky, we'd love to have you at Brothers, all players most welcome here (and it's coming from the 2's captain).

And the Capricornia team was missing a lot of players that were originally selected this year. The Capricornia league is pretty good, 6 clubs to choose from:

-Yeppoon Swans
-Glenmore Bulls
-Rockhampton Panthers (The team that I play ressies for)
-Brothers
That's the teams based in the Rockhampton area, then there's
-Gladstone Mudcrabs
-Boyne Island/Tannum Sands Saints (BITS)

Boyne have traditionally been a very strong team, winning shiteloads of premierships but the comp has really evened up now, Panthers won the premiership last year, unbeaten all year, but now you can throw a blanket over most of the teams. Panthers, being at the Rocky Cricket Grounds, have good lights and twilight/night games are a possibility in the early part of the season, but day games are mostly the go. There's a thread on the Capricornia eague in this section of the forum if you're interested.:)

thedaz47
9th June 2008, 19:47
yeah brothers ground is a bee's dick away from the airport chaddles so hopefully you just pick the first club you see if you come to rocky ;) or even the club with the best coach (though i am slightly biased)

roaring tiger
10th June 2008, 19:55
Mackay
Townsville
Capricornia
Wide Bay

I play in the Mackay league and there are 2 standout teams out of 6 at the moment in North mackay and Whitsunday's. I play for the moranbah bulldogs who have only recently rejoined the league. We struggle with numbers and depth due to many of our players working in the mines which requires shift work. We only pay players that travel. We do get good support from sponsors and are looking into the possiablity of getting new lights that will allow us to play night games for next season.

i have played in SA and Vic country comps before and the overall standard would be just under district league. The biggest difference is the depth of talent in teams. Most teams best 8-10 players are very good.

There are some night games and twilight games. All ground surfaces are very good but facilities lack a fair bit.

We played Townsville in interleague a few weeks ago and went down by 9 points. I would say our standard would be simliar to there's.

stitty11
13th June 2008, 13:46
Yeah come to rocky!!!! I play for brothers as well. Great club full of great people. Have had a rough past year and a half but are really coming together nicely.

check out www.footy.castitt.com for our club forum (thedaz and i run it).

Hope to hear from ya!