View Full Version : Fire Up Lads!!!
Jacobs08
2 Jun 2008, 21:53
We are playing our greatest enemy this week... yet it feels like just another round... is that because we are a much superior team atm???
I hope we smash the bombers.... and make it 6 in a row !!!
http://www.smh.com.au/articles/2004/06/08/1086460298011.html
http://afl.allthestats.com/teams/teamvteam.php?t1=5&t2=9
http://www.theage.com.au/articles/2004/06/10/1086749836838.html?from=storylhs
Is there anywhere we can watch the brawls over the years?
superstar
2 Jun 2008, 22:01
the only footage of it on youtube has gay music over the top.
Would love to get footage with MMMs commentary. IT was brilliant.
DynamoUltra
2 Jun 2008, 22:10
Meh. It's only Essendon.
philhawk
2 Jun 2008, 22:42
Meh. It's only Essendon.
Used to feel a dislike towards them when they were up the top, but since they've become crap, it's more apathy now.
Have more of a dislike towards Geelong, tbh.
TylerDurden
2 Jun 2008, 22:44
Who?
byronben
2 Jun 2008, 23:02
wont be satisfied unless we touch them up by at least 50 points.
BigAl3001
2 Jun 2008, 23:14
Remember just a few years ago when they were on top and we were the minnows did they ever feel sorry for us or hate us less. Hell no they gave it too us big time and rubbed our noses in it. It's there turn for years of pain and suffering and we should feast on bomber blood........
the only footage of it on youtube has gay music over the top.
Would love to get footage with MMMs commentary. IT was brilliant.
its still good but
http://youtube.com/watch?v=1AbugTv3FzY
hawks forever
3 Jun 2008, 00:30
ohh the memories, music adds to it haa. should be played on the scoreboard at the td before the game as a memorable match.
ps who was no. 20 throwing the jabs in the middle.At leaST I THINK IT WAS 20.
hawks_time
3 Jun 2008, 00:40
mental blank for his name but I'm 90% sure it's the guy we got from Carlton.
Simon Beaumont, that's him yeah? And if I remember correctly the no. 28 for Essendon there was also at Carlton at the same time SB was?
gollytas
3 Jun 2008, 01:04
Does anyone have the footage of a couple of years ago when Campbell Brown punched the shit out of Lloyd, I think was when we were wearing that red. blue and white heritage jumper.
muldercs
3 Jun 2008, 01:30
Great memories :D
macdaddio
3 Jun 2008, 16:07
now sheeds and hird have gone, the only ones that are left are loyyde, johnsons are gone, pevrils gone, macfee and macviey and fletcher are only ones still there..
so my hatred has some what gone since they have gone, but i rather see hawthorn smash the poos or geelong.........
hawkette14
3 Jun 2008, 16:43
Any team that has Matthew Lloyd in it I despise, especially with what he did to Campbell Brown before Browny retaliated!
My hatred for Essendon has not waivered in any way, shape or form, EVER! If Hawthorn were having a shocking year, and only won two games, as long as those two games were against Essendon, I would be somewhat satisfied.
I will not forget any of the 15 odd straight games that they not only beat us, but made us look silly. Times like when Dean Solomon claimed a goal at the 'G, when Johnny Hay was the one to put it through, the line in the sand game. 2001 prelim. 2001, round 9. All of which make me have nothing but hatred for the Bombers...
I love nothing more then beating the Bombers. The sight of Williams in the wet kicking a goal at the 'G to get up. The sight of a Hodge handball to a running Changa at the Dome, The sight of Buddy kicking 9 against them last year, including five in quarter. All highlights that I will remember for a long time.
The aforementioned game in the wet, with Williams kicking a goal late to give us the win, me and a few mates saw two elderly little grandmothers walking out with their Essendon scarfs, we gave them an absolute mouthful, why? just because for the last 10 years, they had done the same to us.
As clear as day follows night, If they are Essendon, they are HATED! Nothing is more clear in my mind!
My hatred for Essendon has not waivered in any way, shape or form, EVER! If Hawthorn were having a shocking year, and only won two games, as long as those two games were against Essendon, I would be somewhat satisfied.
I will not forget any of the 15 odd straight games that they not only beat us, but made us look silly. Times like when Dean Solomon claimed a goal at the 'G, when Johnny Hay was the one to put it through, the line in the sand game. 2001 prelim. 2001, round 9. All of which make me have nothing but hatred for the Bombers...
I love nothing more then beating the Bombers. The sight of Williams in the wet kicking a goal at the 'G to get up. The sight of a Hodge handball to a running Changa at the Dome, The sight of Buddy kicking 9 against them last year, including five in quarter. All highlights that I will remember for a long time.
The aforementioned game in the wet, with Williams kicking a goal late to give us the win, me and a few mates saw two elderly little grandmothers walking out with their Essendon scarfs, we gave them an absolute mouthful, why? just because for the last 10 years, they had done the same to us.
As clear as day follows night, If they are Essendon, they are HATED! Nothing is more clear in my mind!
Beautiful.
ScottMaginness
3 Jun 2008, 19:01
My hatred for Essendon still burns brightly. Ever since they broke my heart in the 84 Grand Final and then putting up with years of thuggish behaviour by their players and sheer bad luck we seemed to endure when playing them.
Great Year = Winning Grand Final
Awesome Year = Making Grand Final
Successful Year = Beating Essendon - final ladder position irrelevant.
Alas, I wasn't able to sustain my hatred for Tim Watson. I met him as kid and he talked to my father and he seemed like an ok bloke.
Noneedforaname
4 Jun 2008, 01:47
Thats the stuff KEBAB!
Growing up in the 80s, they are the side I hate. Its never waned. As long as any in our team remember playing in that line in the sand game, they ought remember what playing Essendon is all about.
Put the foot on their throat I say, and go for percentage, we've dipped to almost 130%
bipolarbeaR
4 Jun 2008, 15:24
You guys are going to devour us! You don't need to Fire up!
I swear not once in my life have I given crap to a non-Collingwood/Carlton/Brisbane supporter. I like Hawthorn.. I guess its because im not in VIctoria so I don't see the rivalry.
Goldhawk
4 Jun 2008, 15:43
You guys are going to devour us! You don't need to Fire up!
I swear not once in my life have I given crap to a non-Collingwood/Carlton/Brisbane supporter. I like Hawthorn.. I guess its because im not in VIctoria so I don't see the rivalry.
Thanks for your nice coments,I've noticed that you live in Hobart....maybe you should become a Tassie Hawk LOL
MilhouseVanJohn
4 Jun 2008, 16:05
All of the reasons you provide for hating Essendon, come from the inferiorty complex you had of us for so long.
At least my reasons for hating Hawthorn so much are valid...one of the main reasons is because hawthorn have so many supporters like you.
I love how hawthorn look back at the line in the sand game with pride...it highlights what scum you are.
There's nothing tough about throwing punches at someone who can't fight back...we were a good side and actually had aspirations of success rather than tanking, and had much bigger fish to fry than the pathetic hawks. Therefore lengthy suspensions were not worth it just to beat up on a team of losers.
And have you all forgotten that we ABSOLUTELY THRASHED YOU AFTER THAT FIGHT?
And i've NEVER at any level, seen a footy side throw that many punches, and only mildly hurt one or 2 blokes...weak and pathetic.
Hawthorns recruiting and Essendon lack of it is the reason you have been winning since you dribbling idiot!
spare me.
bipolarbeaR
4 Jun 2008, 16:22
Thanks for your nice coments,I've noticed that you live in Hobart....maybe you should become a Tassie Hawk LOL
Hehe! become a Tassie Hawk! they make us sound like 7 year old children aspiring to be AFL players! :P
But I do go to watch the games.
All of the reasons you provide for hating Essendon, come from the inferiorty complex you had of us for so long.
At least my reasons for hating Hawthorn so much are valid...one of the main reasons is because hawthorn have so many supporters like you.
I love how hawthorn look back at the line in the sand game with pride...it highlights what scum you are.
There's nothing tough about throwing punches at someone who can't fight back...we were a good side and actually had aspirations of success rather than tanking, and had much bigger fish to fry than the pathetic hawks. Therefore lengthy suspensions were not worth it just to beat up on a team of losers.
And have you all forgotten that we ABSOLUTELY THRASHED YOU AFTER THAT FIGHT?
And i've NEVER at any level, seen a footy side throw that many punches, and only mildly hurt one or 2 blokes...weak and pathetic.
Hawthorns recruiting and Essendon lack of it is the reason you have been winning since you dribbling idiot!
spare me.
Where exactly did I say I take pride in the line in the sand game. I actually said i would never forget it, and yes I remember the outcome and margin in that game, as I said, i will never forget it, but love the upper case writing emphasis your point...
What exactly are your reasons for your Hawthorn hatred? Other then 'supporters like you'
Mate, the quicker you leave and not come back, the quicker you will be spared. It's in your hands.
MilhouseVanJohn
4 Jun 2008, 16:55
Where exactly did I say I take pride in the line in the sand game. I actually said i would never forget it, and yes I remember the outcome and margin in that game, as I said, i will never forget it, but love the upper case writing emphasis your point...
What exactly are your reasons for your Hawthorn hatred? Other then 'supporters like you'
Mate, the quicker you leave and not come back, the quicker you will be spared. It's in your hands.
a lot of those weak as piss players are still there and that's part of it...and that fact that hawthorn supporters dribble so much shit is also part of it.
Supporters like you...saying they hate Essendon, yeah, that's part of it too!
So players and supporters...isn't that usually what rivalry's about?
But don't cry...it's good for the game kebab boy...this is hardly a mouth watering contest, but a lot of supporters are hanging for it nonetheless.
I've heard that many hawks supporters bragging over the line in the sand game, as if that cowardly crap and a football lesson was something to be proud of!
the rivalry began obviously when both teams were awaesome and continued from there...not too hard to for you to work out is it?
Roughouse
4 Jun 2008, 17:46
I've heard that many hawks supporters bragging over the line in the sand game, as if that cowardly crap and a football lesson was something to be proud of!
Well Milhouse let me explain something to you about supporting the Hawthorn Football Club.
Aside from being one of the greatest modern day sides in terms of success and premierships, following the Hawks is a passion and a joy. Yes we endured lengthy years in the football wilderness, but we never lost the faith.
That game represented more than a brawl. It heralded the renaissance of the greatest footy club in the land. Yes we lost the battle, but mate, who's laughing now?
You may have considered us a triviality in the decade just gone, but let me tell you the sleeping giant has awoken and will smash your awful club and talentless, ________ players for the next ten years.
All those years of loosing and losing badly have left a bad taste in our mouths and as a club we have not forgotten it. This is why the Club, not just the supporters HATE the Scum.
It is Essendon now who are the inconsequential laughing stocks of the competition. Hawks have outstripped you by any measure.
Membership: Hawks have more paid up ticketed members
Players: Hawks list the most exciting in the comp
Facilities Waverley far superior to that awful monstrosity of yours at Flatulence Hill.
So stick your gratuitous advice up your backside and piss off back to own forum.
:thumbsu:
Couldn't have said it better myself Roughouse...
MilhouseVanJohn
4 Jun 2008, 18:31
:thumbsu:
Couldn't have said it better myself Roughouse...
you did try kebab boy, but you're right...you couldn't.
Maybe if you're lucky, this saturday you might find those little old ladies you bragged about abusing, and give them another serve big man.
Milhouse 1, Kebab girl 0.
MilhouseVanJohn
4 Jun 2008, 19:07
That game represented more than a brawl. It heralded the renaissance of the greatest footy club in the land. Yes we lost the battle, but mate, who's laughing now?
What exactly have you done to deserve that title? What success have you had since the line in the sand game? Please explain it to me because i don't recall you having ANY!
That is exactly the kind of shit talking that i refferred to earlier...you came what? 5th last year? and all of a sudden you're the greatest footy club in the land, hahahaha! That's gold...could you look any more stupid if you tried! aaaaaaaaahahahahhahahahahaha!
Essendon are one of the 3 powerhouse victorian clubs, and the most successful ever.
And even while we're down, we still, out rate, and out draw, the hawks.
But according to you Einstien, Essendon are an inconsequential club...again you shatter your own credibility.
We have the youngest 22 in the comp (or thereabouts), are years from success, and still have over 40,000 members.
When you guys were rebuilding, did you have 40,000? No.
And i think you'll find that Essendon have spent a mint on Windy Hill and have some of the best facilities of all Victorian clubs. Waverly and Lexus i understand to be the best, and Princes Park and Windy the next best...starting to wonder if you got anything right?
And at least we are still at our spiritual home. What are you guys? The Waverly, Hawthorn, Tasmanian Hawks. We are Essendon.
I never thought of Hawthorn as a triviallity just because they were rebuilding, and although i hate losing to you, and love it when we win, i largely respect a lot of things about the club. Certainly not the line in the sand cowardice though!
But don't kid yourself into thinking any of your current form and talented list is a result of one piss weak brawl in which your players showed they'd have trouble hurting the local netball club...it was a result of your rebuilding you muppet.
Carn Dons!
Roughouse
5 Jun 2008, 09:08
What exactly have you done to deserve that title? What success have you had since the line in the sand game? Please explain it to me because i don't recall you having ANY!
That is exactly the kind of shit talking that i refferred to earlier...you came what? 5th last year? and all of a sudden you're the greatest footy club in the land, hahahaha! That's gold...could you look any more stupid if you tried! aaaaaaaaahahahahhahahahahaha!
Essendon are one of the 3 powerhouse victorian clubs, and the most successful ever.
And even while we're down, we still, out rate, and out draw, the hawks.
But according to you Einstien, Essendon are an inconsequential club...again you shatter your own credibility.
We have the youngest 22 in the comp (or thereabouts), are years from success, and still have over 40,000 members.
When you guys were rebuilding, did you have 40,000? No.
And i think you'll find that Essendon have spent a mint on Windy Hill and have some of the best facilities of all Victorian clubs. Waverly and Lexus i understand to be the best, and Princes Park and Windy the next best...starting to wonder if you got anything right?
And at least we are still at our spiritual home. What are you guys? The Waverly, Hawthorn, Tasmanian Hawks. We are Essendon.
I never thought of Hawthorn as a triviallity just because they were rebuilding, and although i hate losing to you, and love it when we win, i largely respect a lot of things about the club. Certainly not the line in the sand cowardice though!
But don't kid yourself into thinking any of your current form and talented list is a result of one piss weak brawl in which your players showed they'd have trouble hurting the local netball club...it was a result of your rebuilding you muppet.
Carn Dons!
Did you in fact read anything I said in the post?
The LITS game Bomber fans deride beacuse:
You claim it was cowardice on our Club's behalf
We lost (badly) the game
Fair enough, although some of us hold another view. It was more about taking a stand, physically and mentally, against a far superior (at the time) opponant who had ridden all over us for years.
To me the game signalled a change of ethos within the club which had endured years of mediocre performances and questionable heart. That day brought about a loss yes, but it also changed the mindset of a lot of people to bring about the changes required to bring success in the future.
As far as Hawthorn's record is concerned 8 Flags in 21 years in my book is a pretty good return. Probably one of the greatest and most prolonged eras of success ever seen in the VFL/AFL. I don't see why you choose to ignore this fact. Essendon had won a lot of flags (6) before the Hawks had even entered the competition.
The Bombers are now the also-rans of the competition, and there is nothing you can say to deny it. Be prepared for a long time in the cellar buddy, the honeymoon your club has enjoyed with the media is about to come to a grinding halt. As such I suggest if you want to see your team play regularly from next season you invest in Foxtel.
Now please go away and head back to your "Spiritual Home."
MilhouseVanJohn
5 Jun 2008, 18:49
Did you in fact read anything I said in the post?
The LITS game Bomber fans deride beacuse:
You claim it was cowardice on our Club's behalf
We lost (badly) the game
Fair enough, although some of us hold another view. It was more about taking a stand, physically and mentally, against a far superior (at the time) opponant who had ridden all over us for years.
To me the game signalled a change of ethos within the club which had endured years of mediocre performances and questionable heart. That day brought about a loss yes, but it also changed the mindset of a lot of people to bring about the changes required to bring success in the future.
As far as Hawthorn's record is concerned 8 Flags in 21 years in my book is a pretty good return. Probably one of the greatest and most prolonged eras of success ever seen in the VFL/AFL. I don't see why you choose to ignore this fact. Essendon had won a lot of flags (6) before the Hawks had even entered the competition.
The Bombers are now the also-rans of the competition, and there is nothing you can say to deny it. Be prepared for a long time in the cellar buddy, the honeymoon your club has enjoyed with the media is about to come to a grinding halt. As such I suggest if you want to see your team play regularly from next season you invest in Foxtel.
Now please go away and head back to your "Spiritual Home."
Well maybe you're right. Maybe Clarkson and the football department have been taking way too much credit for turning things around.
And Essendon in a honymoon period with the media? Wrong term there buddy.
We are currently down and still out rate you...you're on the verge of success and we still out rate you...don't think there's much chance of me watching too many Essendon games on Fox or any other non prime slot.
Hawthorn on the other hand will have to rebuild at some stage, and when you do I guarantee you won't be prime time.
You had what, 7 free to air games last year?
So yeah, bring that up. Smart!
MilhouseVanJohn
5 Jun 2008, 18:52
And Roughie, i'm still waiting for you to explain to me what success you've had to be known as "the greatest footy club in the land",
Aaaaaaarrrrrrrrrhahahahahahhha!
Roughouse
6 Jun 2008, 10:53
And Roughie, i'm still waiting for you to explain to me what success you've had to be known as "the greatest footy club in the land",
Aaaaaaarrrrrrrrrhahahahahahhha!
Milhouse are you still here?
Quite honestly I really dont think I need to repeat myself for a third time.