View Full Version : Greg Baum article in Age

philhawk
3 Jun 2008, 01:30
Won't quote the article it because it's not even worth that.

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/some-advice-for-clarkson-to-swear-by/2008/06/02/1212258739472.html

All I can say is this, say what you like about Sam Newman and TFS, but i'm now beginning to think that Sam was 100% spot on in his summation of the rag as a whole.

Absolutely disgusting.

#6 Mark Williams
3 Jun 2008, 01:58
Oy Phil are these all tomorrows headlines?

m0nty
3 Jun 2008, 02:24
I just read that myself, I couldn't believe it. Baum is acting like a child. I thought professional journalists were supposed to be above such cheap stunts. Way to take the low road.

The TACHawks
3 Jun 2008, 09:52
Baum will regret writing that...he'll lose a ton of respect in the media circles and the general public. He writes like a 10 year old having a sook???

JRLHAWKS
3 Jun 2008, 09:56
What a load of Crap. He is a F___Wit at best.. Here the media are saying how bad it was AC spoke to them that way, and they this twit does the same thing? Double standards...

I don't know who the media think they are but this Quote from the Article says it all

"Yeah, the media is a pest, and doesn't really matter, and media relations won't win you a premiership. But they might lose you one, if you keep this up. It's a distraction for everyone"

Yeh the media will stop us from winning a premiership!. i have now officially heard it all!..

F__ing Tossers the lot of them!..

Roberiquez
3 Jun 2008, 10:04
What a load of Crap. He is a F___Wit at best.. Here the media are saying how bad it was AC spoke to them that way, and they this twit does the same thing? Double standards...

I don't know who the media think they are but this Quote from the Article says it all

"Yeah, the media is a pest, and doesn't really matter, and media relations won't win you a premiership. But they might lose you one, if you keep this up. It's a distraction for everyone"

Yeh the media will stop us from winning a premiership!. i have now officially heard it all!..

That sounds like hes threatening the club. Be nice to media or we'll cause such a media storm that your club can't focus on winning games.

Greg Baum you are an arseclown

philhawk
3 Jun 2008, 10:05

My gosh, I missed that.

Who does he think he is? "They might lose you one"?

macdaddio
3 Jun 2008, 10:24
it was funny to read. but i think had they spoke to clarko like that in preson he would have knocked them out.........

TylerDurden
3 Jun 2008, 10:28
Worst article i've ever read.

Disgraceful and immature...

JRLHAWKS
3 Jun 2008, 10:29
Agreed Phil.. i can only sit here and shake my head.

To take one from dare i say it Eddie Maguire and his thoughts on collingwood..

The more they hate us, the More they FEAR us!!!

mighty_fighting
3 Jun 2008, 10:42
What an absolute disgrace - what the hell is he playing at?:mad::mad:

Hawks1523
3 Jun 2008, 10:50
Is it possible to call the age and speak to this bloke? Or the editor or somebody? :thumbsd:

MadDawg
3 Jun 2008, 11:08
Has anyone got the email addresses for Baum and Barrett, I would appreciate them.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
3 Jun 2008, 11:29
Has anyone got the email addresses for Baum and Barrett, I would appreciate them.

gbaum@theage.com.au

Have to delve around for Barrett's.

philhawk
3 Jun 2008, 11:38
Found it.

prick@heraldsun.com.au

Boyler_Room
3 Jun 2008, 11:40
Someone needs to come in and teach these media tycoons about news.

They need to create a super league of a newspaper and get all the decent talent in one paper to own all the others.

There are way too many writers for AFL, time for a culling.

garygee
3 Jun 2008, 11:49
First we've got to put up with the Beavis and Butthead show put on by
Sheahan and Walls and their bullsh!t corking accusations, the Craig Hatchetjobs selective reporting on Jeff's comments, add to that the unresearched accusations levelled at Buddy by a couple of fame hunting skanks on talking footy and now this rubbish.

http://about.theage.com.au/userimages/Greg_Baum.jpg
If you see this man, THROW ROCKS AT HIM.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
3 Jun 2008, 11:55
Found it.

prick@heraldsun.com.au

LOL - I did actually.:D

Hey Phil, seeing you quote me nearly makes me feel like a published author.:thumbsu:

In any case - barrettd@heraldsun.com.au

Email and email often, if nothing else fill his inbox so heavily that he has something to do for the day.

Start off by saying you are a friend of North Melbourne, he'll think it is someone emailing to stroke and massage his ego.

Gilbert_Hodge
3 Jun 2008, 11:57
Here's a little bit of guidance for the Hawthorn coach in the way he dished it out to a Tasmanian reporter at the weekend.

Stop reading after this.

On the Boyle
3 Jun 2008, 11:59
An open letter from me to Mr Baum:

Dear Mr Baum,
Oh how the wonders of a moral high-ground give one the vantage point to view things as they truly are. And thank you Mr Baum for enlightening us on an otherwise difficult subject that our, mere mortal, brains may fail to understand.

Of course Alastair Clarkson had no right to verbally attack ANYONE, this is solely the domain of the journalist of which he is not. And for him to be so voracious, but more importantly, OBVIOUS, about his discontent is so unbecoming of a journalist that he has guaranteed that there will be no place for him in the media once his time in the AFL grindhouse is complete.

Any Journalist worth his salt knows that if you dislike or disagree with a public figure that you approach it from the side, rarely criticising the person, but instead picking holes in their actions until the very weight of your accusations act as a rock to drag them under the tsunami of public opinion that you create. You don’t do the honourable thing and attack them head on, for goodness sake that gives someone the right of reply.

I for one will be writing to Mr Clarkson to let him know just how disappointed with him using the F word and the S word twice each. For goodness sake, we’re the family club. Everyone knows that families don’t swear – just look at Gordon Ramsay, he’s got 4 kids and you don’t see him swearing. Or Chris Martin from Coldplay. Or Brendan Nelson. Or Bob Geldof. Or Tony Blair and George Bush

And good on you Mr Baum, you have done the only honourable thing available to you as a journalist – launched a tirade against Mr Clarkson (or El Diablo as he shall now be known in my house) in a forum in which he has no right of reply. Genius. Then, to further add fuel to your credibility fire, you then swear back at him more than he originally did in the first place. Pure Genius. Then, to finish the job and put in an extension at the ivory tower in which you reside, you blanked out the swear words so that we didn’t explicitly see them but knew exactly what you were on about! I almost went into a Mensa Meltdown with that stroke of craftsmanship.

Mr Baum, I applaud you. Your place among such luminaries as Naomi Robson, Mike Munroe and Derryn Hinch are assured. Rest easy Mr Baum, there are plenty of neighbours from hell for you to conduct hard hitting exposés on if the AFL fraternity turn their back.

Kindest Regards,

On the Boyle

philhawk
3 Jun 2008, 12:05
LOL - I did actually.:D

Hey Phil, seeing you quote me nearly makes me feel like a published author.:thumbsu:

In any case - barrettd@heraldsun.com.au

Email and email often, if nothing else fill his inbox so heavily that he has something to do for the day.

Start off by saying you are a friend of North Melbourne, he'll think it is someone emailing to stroke and massage his ego.

LOL, that's GOLD, TWITA! :D :thumbsu:

wolvesjr34
3 Jun 2008, 12:44
An open letter from me to Mr Baum:

Dear Mr Baum,
Oh how the wonders of a moral high-ground give one the vantage point to view things as they truly are. And thank you Mr Baum for enlightening us on an otherwise difficult subject that our, mere mortal, brains may fail to understand.

Of course Alastair Clarkson had no right to verbally attack ANYONE, this is solely the domain of the journalist of which he is not. And for him to be so voracious, but more importantly, OBVIOUS, about his discontent is so unbecoming of a journalist that he has guaranteed that there will be no place for him in the media once his time in the AFL grindhouse is complete.

Any Journalist worth his salt knows that if you dislike or disagree with a public figure that you approach it from the side, rarely criticising the person, but instead picking holes in their actions until the very weight of your accusations act as a rock to drag them under the tsunami of public opinion that you create. You don’t do the honourable thing and attack them head on, for goodness sake that gives someone the right of reply.

I for one will be writing to Mr Clarkson to let him know just how disappointed with him using the F word and the S word twice each. For goodness sake, we’re the family club. Everyone knows that families don’t swear – just look at Gordon Ramsay, he’s got 4 kids and you don’t see him swearing. Or Chris Martin from Coldplay. Or Brendan Nelson. Or Bob Geldof. Or Tony Blair and George Bush

And good on you Mr Baum, you have done the only honourable thing available to you as a journalist – launched a tirade against Mr Clarkson (or El Diablo as he shall now be known in my house) in a forum in which he has no right of reply. Genius. Then, to further add fuel to your credibility fire, you then swear back at him more than he originally did in the first place. Pure Genius. Then, to finish the job and put in an extension at the ivory tower in which you reside, you blanked out the swear words so that we didn’t explicitly see them but knew exactly what you were on about! I almost went into a Mensa Meltdown with that stroke of craftsmanship.

Mr Baum, I applaud you. Your place among such luminaries as Naomi Robson, Mike Munroe and Derryn Hinch are assured. Rest easy Mr Baum, there are plenty of neighbours from hell for you to conduct hard hitting exposés on if the AFL fraternity turn their back.

Kindest Regards,

On the Boyle

I hope you emailed that to him, if not email it to letters to the editor ;)

kirbatron
3 Jun 2008, 12:54
is that article fair dinkum?

christ lol

Mervyn Beasley
3 Jun 2008, 13:14
Imagine you are not a hawk supporter and it is quite funny.
Being a bit precious guys.

On the Boyle
3 Jun 2008, 13:48
I hope you emailed that to him, if not email it to letters to the editor ;)

Don't have his address. Cranny Pete where art thou?

thatswhatimtalkinabout
3 Jun 2008, 13:52
Don't have his address. Cranny Pete where art thou?

I'm not the great man Cranny but happy to help; gbaum@theage.com.au

its just sporn mum
3 Jun 2008, 14:22
fair article. "Clarko the professional" had it coming. not the most mature response from baum but hes just sticking up for his peers

Woodside Hawk
3 Jun 2008, 14:46
My problem is this - Clarko has a problem with someone, so he deals with it face-to-face with the bloke once the cameras/tape recorders have apparently stopped rolling.

The Journo's have a problem with it, so instead of raising it with Clarko, they publish it in national newspapers and on websites.

A bit like at school when you find out someone doesn't like you coz they've told everyone else who'll listen but don't have the guts to confront you.

Seems a bit weak to me.

On the Boyle
3 Jun 2008, 15:10
I'm not the great man Cranny but happy to help; gbaum@theage.com.au

Cheers - it's on the way!

Goldhawk
3 Jun 2008, 16:54
Disgraceful article from a rubbish newspaper,that's why i never buy the Age.

mighty_fighting
3 Jun 2008, 17:10
GREG BAUM on SEN now!!!!!

Pumping him up too

badius
3 Jun 2008, 17:59
Thanks for the Baum email address. This is what I wrote to him...

"Your article today was a disgrace.

You should go and F___ yourself, Mr Baum, if you do indeed have a penis. We know you have an arse, as your entire article reeked of its contents.

That is all."

I'm sure his PA will get a kick out of that one.

philhawk
3 Jun 2008, 18:16
GREG BAUM on SEN now!!!!!

Pumping him up too

What was said?

bungholes_premiers
3 Jun 2008, 18:27
Guys I think one of the biggest problems with this circus is the amount of emotion and discussion it generates - for mine, the best thing to do is not say a bleeding word because that is why this trash is written - it elicits a response ...

Gary Shadforth
3 Jun 2008, 18:38

David Syme (founder of The Age) will be turning in his grave. History teaches us that the great man's newpaper was the pillar of society in ole 'Marvellous Melbourne".

Baum is full of ink ... obviously sat down at the keyboard full of grog.

The first lesson at journo school is given under the assumption a student can wrute a reasonable piece of writing. Now we find Greg Baum is an impostor.

For the cause of decency, the editor of The Age should show him the door, even kick him out into the gutter of Spencer Street - that's where he belongs..

I will e-mail the 5 pages of this thread to him. However, he maybe one of many journos who regularly visit this place. Baum doesn't take lessons from here, that is obvious.

Feathered Friend
3 Jun 2008, 19:42
B(a)um is a Bum! What a load of crap. The Editor and Baum are hiding behind the privilege of the newspaper and calling it professional journalism. Put Clarko in a room with these muppets and sort it out the old fashioned way and see who comes out on top.

All I can say is, take that poor excuse for an article and stick it up his Baum!:D

mighty_fighting
3 Jun 2008, 20:07
I did get interrupted during interview (kids can do that)

but from what I gather he was thinking himself pretty clever. The announcers saying something along the lines of it being a brilliant article and that Clarkson has a long way to go in building his relations with the media. And that Clarko was at fault and premeditated the attack on the Journo.

Pretty much labeled Clarkson as a loose cannon and that his article was genius.

Gave me the shits and tuned out cos of his self gratifying himself so much was sickening.

noosa hawk mad
3 Jun 2008, 20:42
Looked like a Bay 13 article from a 15 year old!
Bloody hell I've read some below par journalism but this is a joke!:thumbsd:

RogerC
3 Jun 2008, 20:51
Actually, I think the most important part of the article was this:

"Pre-season, I wrote a column complaining about the secrecy and paranoia of footy clubs. Yours was one. I was roundly taken to task by some fans for being so precious. Fair enough. Who's bloody well precious now?"

When a columnist starts referring to his previous columns, you know something's up. He's still nursing a hurt ego after his earlier whinge about clubs wanting lock-outs was given the shellacking it deserved. He's been waiting for a chance to get his own back. I reckon that's the one and only reason he wrote this article. He's a thin-skinned man with a vengeful streak.

macdaddio
3 Jun 2008, 21:18

i thought it was funny at 1st but when i heard the skit on sen having the whole article read out loud i was truly offended and felt sick and sorry for the hawthorn football club..

seems when ever our club has risen from dispear it falls back down again.

the only thing that will make all this crap go away and forgton about will be if we win the premiership this year then all the media world can say we won the flag despite all the opsticals than fell our way........

hawks_legends
3 Jun 2008, 22:05
wtf was that all about?

Milkman_Joe
3 Jun 2008, 22:37
I cant believe this man writes for the age.

You will find more class in Bay 13.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
3 Jun 2008, 23:05
I cant believe this man writes for the age.

You will find more class in Bay 13.

Too right you will!:thumbsu:

While it may have a bad rep and you do get some (very short staying) gooses in there, if you want an intelligent and challenging discussion, you will have more joy there than you ever could get on the mainboard which to me seems chock a block with immature people who don't understand the game.

scout
4 Jun 2008, 00:01
Very often the poorest articles in football get the most exposure.

Greg Baum has lowered himself and The Age here.

Best Buddy
4 Jun 2008, 07:54

I'm not going to be popular here but I concur, though only to a point...

Not only are some being a 'bit' precious, but others are being ridiculously so.

Just envisage the 'incident' occured to another team. Now that may never make the article a good one, but hopefully you will gain some perspective that someone responding to innapropriate behavior (my opinion there) from an AFL coach has a right to comment on it (we all have!)... and if that certain someone works as a journo for a newspaper, then one would think that this would be - clearly - the most obvious forum to vent his spleen.

Cheers, and go Hawks.

Adelaide Hawk
4 Jun 2008, 09:01
Greg Baum. Remove the 'a' from his surname and you get an apt description of the man and his writings.

Who is Greg Baum? How many AFL games did he play? How many premiership teams did he play in? Brownlows perhaps? Nope, I poured through the record books and cannot find his name.

Then I found out what he does. He's a journalist, and therefore a waste of life.

Got news for you Greg, if you disappeared off the face of the earth tomorrow, only a handful of people would miss you. The game needs Buddy more than it needs a loser like you.

I've had a gutful of "journalists", they are ruining my enjoyment of the game. I'm sick of turning on the radio, picking up the paper, switching on the telly, logging onto websites and reading pure garbage that has nothing whatsoever to do with the game.

It's time the 16 clubs banded together and made a stance against dwindling standards in the media. What's happening at the moment is gutter journalism and achieving nothing but fuelling the appetites of idiots who thrive on rumours and sensationalism.

Those of us who are just interested in the game no longer belong in the football world. It's a pathetic state of affairs. Instead of rejoicing in the wonderful skills of a talented player, we are reading all this garbage, most of which is total crap.

ENOUGH!!!!!!!!

RRRooocccaaa
4 Jun 2008, 10:21
Heh, you guys need to get a thicker skin!

We've been bagged in the media so long I'm happy the attention's away from us for a bit. As a Pies supporter (and I know Baum is) I was a bit puzzled by the article - it's meant to be a pisstake but it's not written well enough to be funny.

Even so, Clarkson's simply being undisciplined. He knows as well as any that something like that will be reported by the media. It was a simple question from the Tasmanian reporter that he could have laughed off and there would have been no fuss at all. He's got to take some flak on the chin, surely?

The Hawks are an easy media target at the moment, being on top. If you keep playing the way you've been playing so far this year, I don't see much changing - you'll still be on top and the media will still keep trying to knock you off the perch.

(BTW, the worst article of the year goes to Tim Lane for this surreal account of being tackled whilst on a trip to the Fruit + Veggy market...)

MinerBoy
4 Jun 2008, 10:30
Haha. Just read it.

Found it quite amusing too.

Adelaide Hawk
4 Jun 2008, 10:37
Even so, Clarkson's simply being undisciplined. He knows as well as any that something like that will be reported by the media. It was a simple question from the Tasmanian reporter that he could have laughed off and there would have been no fuss at all. He's got to take some flak on the chin, surely?

We'll remember that the next time we see Mick Malthouse fuming over something a journalist just said.

Bill Lawry, Mr. Classy
5 Jun 2008, 00:16
Heh, you guys need to get a thicker skin!

We've been bagged in the media so long I'm happy the attention's away from us for a bit. As a Pies supporter (and I know Baum is) I was a bit puzzled by the article - it's meant to be a pisstake but it's not written well enough to be funny.

The Hawks are an easy media target at the moment, being on top. If you keep playing the way you've been playing so far this year, I don't see much changing - you'll still be on top and the media will still keep trying to knock you off the perch.

(BTW, the worst article of the year goes to Tim Lane for this surreal account of being tackled whilst on a trip to the Fruit + Veggy market...)

Agree almost entirly... Our only diffrence of opinion is that the way I see it, as long as we keep winning I couldn't care what Clarko says.

On the Boyle
5 Jun 2008, 09:02
Greg responded to my letter I sent him with: "Why kindest Regards?"

I think that was the kick in the tail he wasn't expecting.
Still, he read the whole thing!

markr
5 Jun 2008, 09:26
Haven't read all the replies here, but the obvious difference between Clarkson's comments and Baum's article, is that Clarkson never abused Stubbs. He said stuff like "what about that s___ you wrote" and "you need to f___ing find out" or whatever, whereas Baum specifically called Clarkson a "f___" an "a___hole" and told him to "get the f___ out of here". There is a huge difference.

Adelaide Hawk
5 Jun 2008, 09:30
Fantastic, he was spot on.Love it.
Exactly what he is.Great coach but crap everything else.

Yeah, well I guess if anyone would know about crap it's a Western Bulldogs supporter. Looking forwarded to your usual second half of the year fade out?

SammyB
5 Jun 2008, 18:53
Rubbish article from a rubbish writer for a rubbish paper.

Baum< Wilson

philhawk
5 Jun 2008, 18:55
Rubbish article from a rubbish writer for a rubbish paper.

Baum< Wilson

Doesn't say all that much though, to be honest, considering Faeces > Wilson

anon_ehawk
5 Jun 2008, 18:58
They don't call us the might hawks for nothing. Caro just wants her piece of us and so does everyone else.

SammyB
5 Jun 2008, 19:01
Doesn't say all that much though, to be honest, considering Faeces > Wilson

Sounds right

faeces> Wilson > Baum

Davo23
5 Jun 2008, 19:14
Sounds right

faeces = Wilson + Baum

Just a small edit, SammyB !