View Full Version : Greg Baum of the AGE UNLOADS on clarkson!!!
itsintheblood
3 Jun 2008, 09:31
Holy moley. I dare say the relationship is now somewhat strained.
Giving Clarkson some advice to swear by
Greg Baum | June 3, 2008
The Age
Here's a little bit of guidance for the Hawthorn coach in the way he dished it out to a Tasmanian reporter at the weekend.
CLOSE this paper for a moment, will you? Closed? Good. Now, listen up, you f---ing little prick. You going to apologise now for that crap on Saturday? Are you? Well? WELL?
You f---.
Don't give me any of that s--- about the integrity of the club. And if you say anything about "family club", I'll puke.
You a---hole.
You want me to tell you what this is all about? F--- me: as if you don't know. You turn up in Launceston with two players under injury clouds. One, Jordan Lewis, hardly trains. The other, Brad Sewell, leaves the training track early. The two emergencies train. Remember?
Brett Stubbs writes about this in Hobart's Mercury newspaper. Want me to read it to you again? "Like a secret agent in a paperback novel, Hawthorn coach Alastair Clarkson thrives on cloak and dagger secrecy. Asked if Jordan Lewis was fully fit to return from a thigh injury for today's blockbuster against the Western Bulldogs at Aurora Stadium, Clarkson barked back: 'Well we picked him.' "
The headline read: "Cagey Clarkson".
And so you give him a dirty great gobful. For that? For writing what any reporter worth his salt would have written in the circumstances? For writing exactly what happened?
F---ing hell.
Don't give that look, you piece of s---. Oh, so he was supposed to take you at your word, was he? Like last year, when he took the club at its word that a certain player would play, and he didn't. Then it happened again. "Cagey Clarkson"? More like clueless Clarkson if you ask me. Or crap-artist Clarkson.
No, I'm not done. You've got form, fella. A couple of times at least. What is it with you? Bit hot in the kitchen, is it? Can't handle it? Well I'm telling you: people are watching. People at your own club. And they're not happy.
You've got a bit to learn, you know. It might have been OK once for coaches to carry on like schoolyard bullies. But times have changed. You guys crap on all the time now about professionalism and respect — and then you pull a stunt like that.
F--- me dead.
Frankly, it amazes me that you'd even bother. I would have thought that having lost your first match this season, you'd have lots of other things to worry about than bawling out a reporter on the local paper. Like winning next week.
Pre-season, I wrote a column complaining about the secrecy and paranoia of footy clubs. Yours was one. I was roundly taken to task by some fans for being so precious. Fair enough. Who's bloody well precious now?
And what about the last time you were in Launceston, a few weeks ago, and Mark Williams made that choking gesture. You gave us that little family club speech about being "humble and gracious", how it was "not in line with how we like to go about our footy" and how Williams had better apologise. Looks a bit f---ing sanctimonious now, don't you think?
Or maybe doing the butter-wouldn't-melt-in-your-mouth act while the cameras and tape recorders are on and then tipping a foul-mouthed bucket of invective on a reporter as soon as they're switched off is how you like to go about your footy at the family club?
Just remind me not to be around the next time a reporter actually gets something wrong.
You've got to think about what's at stake here. You've got a good team, and it's going places. It's an exciting time for the club. You want to p--- it all up against the wall? Yeah, the media is a pest, and doesn't really matter, and media relations won't win you a premiership. But they might lose you one, if you keep this up. It's a distraction for everyone.
Now get the f--- out of here. And open that newspaper on your way out.
SPONSORED LINKS
Wow:eek:
Suck shit Clarko.:D
Haha, wow. He really had a crack.
superfreak
3 Jun 2008, 09:38
One of the all time great sprays.
I want more!!
sirlothie
3 Jun 2008, 09:39
Watch this, cracks are starting to form at Glenferrie...
Watch it all turn to shit in the next few weeks and Hawthorn slide firmly back to the middle of the pack. ;)
Agreed, that is a sensational spray.
Can't wait for the first time these two are together again. Would love to hear the conversation.
sirlothie
3 Jun 2008, 09:41
Clarkson made a bad mistake turning the media against him.
They will be honing in on the slightest mistake he or Hawthorn make for a while now... knives out hahaha.
Stupid rookie coaches. :rolleyes:
doodlefeatures
haha - what a massive sook, the journo's really do seem to hate Clarko.
NorthBhoy
I'm sure Al is shaking in his angry little midget boots.
"Frankly, it amazes me that you'd even bother. I would have thought that having lost your first match this season, you'd have lots of other things to worry about than bawling out a reporter on the local paper. Like winning next week".
This kinda sums everything up for Clarko. Maybe he should just stop reading the paper if he cant handle a little criticism.
Its the F*@#ing family club :D
The Old Dark Navy's
3 Jun 2008, 09:42
I'd have different coloured glasses on if it were my coach on the end of it, but for entertainment value from a neutral perspective, it is a sensational spray. I dare say, Clarkson deserved at least part of it.
Lance Uppercut
3 Jun 2008, 09:42
hilarious article, good on him
Toxic Avenger
3 Jun 2008, 09:43
Yes I'm sure Greg Baum is very proud of himself unloading on Clarko that like via his computer. It takes courage to do that you know.:rolleyes:
At least when Clarko has a crack at the media he does it to their face, not hiding behind a desk.
Grow some balls Baum.:thumbsd:
I'd have different coloured glasses on if it were my coach on the end of it, but for entertainment value from a neutral perspective, it is a sensational spray. I dare say, Clarkson deserved at least part of it.
Agreed.
People should just enjoy that for the sensational spray that it was.
Best of the year by a long way.
doofdoof
3 Jun 2008, 09:43
I reckon Clarko might "belt" him next time he asks him a question
Nice work Clarko... So you want the media to write what? Way to get what you want hey!
The Old Dark Navy's
3 Jun 2008, 09:45
Agreed.
People should just enjoy that for the sensational spray that it was.
Best of the year by a long way.Well, we are so used to sterile cliched mudraking where the journo alludes to things but never puts their balls on the line.
After all of the posturing in the media about the unaccountability of forums like BigFooty, Baum has decided that if he can't beat us, he may as well join us. :D
bernie lomax
3 Jun 2008, 09:45
That is gnikcuf GOLD!!:thumbsu:
The real Clarko is finally standing up!!
And Buddy for that matter!!!;)
The Old Dark Navy's
3 Jun 2008, 09:46
I reckon Clarko might "belt" him next time he asks him a questionWell we aren't in London and Baum would be facing him in a press conference. :D
Great stuff.
Most AFL coachces are so precious its beyond belief. If Clarkson did give the Journo a spray in the mannter that Baulm describeshe needs to take a good hard look at himself. Basically he acted like a bully. I guess they need some more interpersoal skills training down at Hawthorn.
Ha ha...Kelly deserved that good and propper!
doodlefeatures
3 Jun 2008, 09:49
Great stuff.
Most AFL coachces are so precious its beyond belief. If Clarkson did give the Journo a spray in the mannter that Baulm describeshe needs to take a good hard look at himself. Basically he acted like a bully. I guess they need some more interpersoal skills training down at Hawthorn.
Have you seen Clarko's 'spray' (or as Parrot put it, 'outburst')? Is it only classified as a spray because he swore? He didn't even raise his voice.
You've got to think about what's at stake here. You've got a good team, and it's going places. It's an exciting time for the club. You want to p--- it all up against the wall? Yeah, the media is a pest, and doesn't really matter, and media relations won't win you a premiership. But they might lose you one, if you keep this up. It's a distraction for everyone.
Says alot about the media.
Stig O'Hara
3 Jun 2008, 09:51
Excellence in journalism.
Walkley Award winning stuff.
I wonder if the other story about Clarkson will come out now this has happened.
At first I thought that line was self serving too. Until I read the next sentence. It makes perfect sense.
He's saying you're coach is taking his eye off the ball.
The Aint's won ten in a row and have gone nowhere. You have a shot, but until you capitalise on it you have done two fifths of ____ all!
MalceskiFan
3 Jun 2008, 09:55
This kinda sums everything up for Clarko. Maybe he should just stop reading the paper if he cant handle a little criticism.
Exactly.
He really comes across as a bit of a sook.
NorthBhoy
3 Jun 2008, 09:56
At first I thought that line was self serving too. Until I read the next sentence. It makes perfect sense.
I think philihawk was too wound up to actually read the next line. Probably crying. Clarkson's "spray" just made him look like a goose. It wasn't malicious or violent, it was simply petulance.
Meh. Double meh.
I do find it curious that out of the entire AFL, the media has chosen on two occasions to do articles on things that Clarkson has said off-air.
These media types sit back, say nothing, don't defend themselves in person...then retreat to their computers and give "sprays". It literally is like BigFooty.
Another example of the media thinking they are part of the fabric of the game. Characters who need to be protected.
Hawthorn is not even afforded the luxury of establishing itself as an on-field force yet, before the media has taken upon itself to bring down the "tall poppy". Poor form, in my opinion. I look forward to the several weeks in succession where the media rips every facet of the Bulldogs playing style, coaching mentality and off-field arrangements to shreds. Won't happen, but would be nice to see consistency.
Cousin Jed
3 Jun 2008, 09:57
Funny Stuff :thumbsu:
How would it make sense?
Coaches unload on the media all the time. Most people would know that.
He likes unloading with profanities at members of the media the moment tape recorders have stopped.
Or maybe doing the butter-wouldn't-melt-in-your-mouth act while the cameras and tape recorders are on and then tipping a foul-mouthed bucket of invective on a reporter as soon as they're switched off is how you like to go about your footy at the family club?
Say what you like about Clarko's comments to Stubbs, but the fact of the matter is that the tape recorders were indeed off.
I don't see Stubbs kicking up a fuss (even though he'd be the most entitlted too), because he knew that the comments directed at him were off the record.
Publically broadcasting something that was said off the record sets a dangerous precedent.
Yes I'm sure Greg Baum is very proud of himself unloading on Clarko that like via his computer. It takes courage to do that you know.
Oh yeh. Clarkson had the balls to confront the journalist face to face and tell him what he thought.
What does Baum do? Sit behind a desk at The Age and puts his name and his photo in the dictionary under the title, "Internet Hero".
Barry Schneider
3 Jun 2008, 09:58
Yes I'm sure Greg Baum is very proud of himself unloading on Clarko that like via his computer. It takes courage to do that you know.:rolleyes:
At least when Clarko has a crack at the media he does it to their face, not hiding behind a desk.
I can't imagine Baum or anyone being afraid to say anything to the midgets face.But turning their back on Clarkson is not advised.
unstable punt
3 Jun 2008, 10:00
I'm sure Al is shaking in his angry little midget boots.
Clarkson has the typical 'small man syndrome', he king hit when he played, never fought anyone face to face, now he's coaching he thinks he can howl anyone down and use bully tactics. Unlike on the field he won't get hit by anyone bigger than him, they just have to sit and take it.
Grimreepah
3 Jun 2008, 10:01
:eek:
Are journalists allowed to go off their nut like that? Amazing.
I think philihawk was too wound up to actually read the next line. Probably crying. Clarkson's "spray" just made him look like a goose. It wasn't malicious or violent, it was simply petulance.
Meh. Double meh.
Near the start of the article, Baum alludes to footy fans ripping him a new one for an article he wrote earlier this year about the Saints not giving him access to the players he wanted to interview. He alluded to the Hawks being the same way.
If you think this article isn't Baum's way of getting back after his initial whinge (and subsequent treatment by the public), then you're kidding yourself
You said it yourself, AC's comments weren't malicious or violent, just petulant. And off-air. And he gets a broadside from a bitter journalist for it. Bit over the top, I'd say.
NorthBhoy
3 Jun 2008, 10:03
Hawthorn is not even afforded the luxury of establishing itself as an on-field force yet, before the media has taken upon itself to bring down the "tall poppy". Poor form, in my opinion.
Ahh, the old "tall poppy" defence. Utter, utter rubbish.
Understandably that Clarkson feels he is a good chance of being a premiership coach this year with the way the Hawks have gone...so their may be a little pressure.
But seriously what he did was the biggest sooky lala ever. How many Hawks supporters on BF have been bagging Harvey (and Laidley in the past) for their obvious contempt of the media at some stages and told them to smarten up. Now Clarko does the same and perhaps even worse (thinking it would not be filmed/recorded) and a lot of you Hawk ppl have changed your tune.
One thing I've noticed about the hawks is they are loving themselves a bit too much, and I hope that Al is not someone his players look to for social guidance on how to treat the media.
Keep sticking up for your ________ coach Hawk supporters!!!! Cause noone else is going to.
We all know what a wanka the guy is and he deserved every bit and more of what was said in that article! He has little man syndrome and always has and is lucky that he has good talent in his team otherwise he'd be going the way of the dodo!
Can't wait to hear his immature school yard taunting that he tries to unload back onto Baum but the rest of us know that the score is definitely:
Greg Baum: 1
Clarkson: -10
Lance Uppercut
3 Jun 2008, 10:11
How would it make sense?
Coaches unload on the media all the time. Most people would know that.
Say what you like about Clarko's comments to Stubbs, but the fact of the matter is that the tape recorders were indeed off.
I don't see Stubbs kicking up a fuss (even though he'd be the most entitlted too), because he knew that the comments directed at him were off the record.
Publically broadcasting something that was said off the record sets a dangerous precedent.
Oh yeh. Clarkson had the balls to confront the journalist face to face and tell him what he thought.
What does Baum do? Sit behind a desk at The Age and puts his name and his photo in the dictionary under the title, "Internet Hero".
give it a rest :rolleyes:
it's SATIRE you precious diddums!
If Clarkson hadn't a spray off record as he toasted them, Baum wouldn't have said "shut the paper" - did you realise that didn't quite make sense? :rolleyes:
give it a rest :rolleyes:
it's SATIRE you precious diddums!
Er, you realise that Barrett was the one to light, don't you? Or are you calling that 'satire' now as well?
richardnose
3 Jun 2008, 10:15
Have you seen Clarko's 'spray' (or as Parrot put it, 'outburst')? Is it only classified as a spray because he swore? He didn't even raise his voice.
absolutely correct. i saw the footage as well and he said f... twice. big deal.
fair dinkum, what are these people on about. there's 10 times worse than that everyday at work.
i guess this means clarko needs to follow caro's unbelievably vacuous advice to players from last week's footy classified and start fawning all over footy journalists because they owe everything they've got to footy journo's.
can't we just get rid of every one of these pompous self-righteous wankers that call themselves "senior football writers" and put in a bunch of kids straight out of journalism studies at uni. honestly, i reckon we'd all be better off.
actually, that would be one of the best things could happen - if all the journo's went on strike just like the hollywood writer's strike. fair dinkum, no one would miss them. they wouldn't get their jobs back.
itsintheblood
3 Jun 2008, 10:17
:eek:
Are journalists allowed to go off their nut like that? Amazing.
Freedom of speech is alive and well in this country. Gordon Ramsey does it every day on our screens and gets away with it.
hawker11
3 Jun 2008, 10:18
I cannot believe 'The Age' would stoop to publishing such tabloid rubbish.
itsintheblood
3 Jun 2008, 10:21
I cannot believe 'The Age' would stoop to publishing such tabloid rubbish.
Baum's first line is gold. "Listen up you F_____ little prick?" Sensational!!!!
TBoyleSuperstar
3 Jun 2008, 10:25
I loved the article. I thought is was funny and pretty well written. He's had his spray, pretty sure Clarko can take it, and would love to be in the room when he has his chance to return fire.
Clarko is a passionate guy and flys off the handle occasionally. Who cares, so many clowns on bigfooty saying he has small mans syndrome and the like, he had a crack at a journalist, big deal. Get over it.
Mick Malthouse sooks and whinges any chance someone puts a microphone in his face, yet it is Clarko that gets caned for having a crack at a journalist when it was meant to be off the record. Grow up people, for f$%k sake.
hawks_time
3 Jun 2008, 10:56
Please, I swear at my Grandma more. Now I don't care too much as I'm sure Clarko can take it but you neutral fans have to admit, it's pretty tabloid-esque and just shit-stirring, hardly worthy of a place in the sport section.
The Old Dark Navy's
3 Jun 2008, 11:05
Please, I swear at my Grandma more. Grandma, why did you say I wasn't going to eat my ____ing lamingtons?
Well dear, you went to your room and left the lamingtons on the bench where I put them, I just assumed ....
I ____ing ate them didn't I?
Well yes, but I didn't know that at the time.
People leave food on the ____ing bench all the time but they still end up eating it. Shall I expect an apology bitch?
Grandma, why did you say I wasn't going to eat my ____ing lamingtons?
Well dear, you went to your room and left the lamingtons on the bench where I put them, I just assumed ....
I ____ing ate them didn't I?
Well yes, but I didn't know that at the time.
People leave food on the ____ing bench all the time but they still end up eating it. Shall I expect an apology bitch?
:D:thumbsu:
JKCeagle
3 Jun 2008, 11:14
Pretty funny article :thumbsu:
NorthBhoy, I know you've got a problem with the Hawks. Fair enough, I have an issue with Bombers that I can't usually explain rationally.
In what capacity would you explain the recent press flood about how to stop Buddy Franklin, monitoring every rumour in the street about something Buddy's been involved in, attacking the coach's off the record antics, attacking the Hawks onfield tactics by Hodge and Mitchell (whilst providing scant evidence), the monotonous discussion of unsociable football, and so on.
Tall poppy syndrome sounds arrogant to you, I'd imagine. Fair enough. What would you call it then? I'm happy to edit my comments earlier to suit your description, but frankly, stating "utter rubbish" and providing no other counter argument really doesn't add any value.
numchuks
3 Jun 2008, 11:44
Nah, Clarko just has cracks at people when the Cameras are turned off. Showing real courage there.
At least when Greg has a crack at Clarkson, he does it in an open forum so everyone can see it.
Grow some balls Clarko.
itsintheblood
3 Jun 2008, 11:58
Same could be said about clarkson unloading on the media when the cameras are off over issues which are factual. He needs to get off his high horse after pretending to be Mr nice guy re the mark williams incident and then verbally abusing journos for simply doing their job. Lots of ex players and coaches now earn a very good living in the media. Clarkson might need to one day also.
LongBomb
3 Jun 2008, 12:52
Top spray.
The dwarf would have blown a fuse reading it this morning.
NorthBhoy
3 Jun 2008, 14:01
NorthBhoy, I know you've got a problem with the Hawks.
No, I don't.
Fair enough, I have an issue with Bombers that I can't usually explain rationally.
Entirely healthy.
In what capacity would you explain the recent press flood about how to stop Buddy Franklin, monitoring every rumour in the street about something Buddy's been involved in, attacking the coach's off the record antics, attacking the Hawks onfield tactics by Hodge and Mitchell (whilst providing scant evidence), the monotonous discussion of unsociable football, and so on.
He sells papers. He dominates games, he is flamboyant, confident and exciting. Hawthorn are talked about because they are winning. For every negative article, there are 10 gushing articles proclaiming them to be grand final certs, highlighting their form, praising the recruiting, the coaching and the administration. The focus this brings leads journo's to look harder.
But it is not a campaign to drag them down, as the term 'tall poppy syndrome' used in this context would infer. They are everywhere, so it just cannot be all positive. Colin Sylvia kicking his missus was small time because he is ordinary and his club even moreso. Buddy Franklin doing the same would be front, back and middle page copy. That's how it goes.
Tall poppy syndrome sounds arrogant to you, I'd imagine. Fair enough. What would you call it then? I'm happy to edit my comments earlier to suit your description, but frankly, stating "utter rubbish" and providing no other counter argument really doesn't add any value.
It doesn't sound arrogant. I take issue with this fanciful 'syndrome' itself. Bluntly, it's a pile of shit. It doesn't exist. People do not dislike individuals or groups because they are successful, they dislike them because they are given reasons to. Wayne Carey ruined his reputation, his fame didn't. Adam Gilchrist is more liked than Ricky Ponting because he is humble, capable of self deprication and humour. Pat Rafter could kill a litter of puppies live on TV and still be more liked than Lleyton Hewitt.
No-one is trying to bring Hawthorn down. If Clarkson didn't tee off at a journo for no reason and Buddy was tucked up in bed a few nights ago, this wouldn't be an issue at all. When you smash Essendon, it will be the love fest it was before.
WorthTheWaite
3 Jun 2008, 14:05
Hahaha, that is brilliant. Hilarious and well-written.
Now, listen up, you f---ing little prick.
Now that's a spray.....all time!
Absolute pither.:D:D
Hodgepodge
3 Jun 2008, 14:25
i'm guessing greg didn't even see the footage of the swearing, it was conversational at best.
Hodgepodge
3 Jun 2008, 14:27
Caroline Wilson didn't have a problem with it, she said it was commonplace and as a reporter she's heard far worse. So i don't know what Greg Baum is writing this for unless he hasn't seen the incident or just has nothing else to write or both.
chelseacarlton
3 Jun 2008, 15:04
"dare i say it":D,"a bit like that,hey toxic avenger":D:thumbsu:
Keep sticking up for your ________ coach Hawk supporters!!!! Cause noone else is going to.
We all know what a wanka the guy is and he deserved every bit and more of what was said in that article! He has little man syndrome and always has and is lucky that he has good talent in his team otherwise he'd be going the way of the dodo!
Can't wait to hear his immature school yard taunting that he tries to unload back onto Baum but the rest of us know that the score is definitely:
Greg Baum: 1
Clarkson: -10
:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Omegaman
3 Jun 2008, 15:28
These media types sit back, say nothing, don't defend themselves in person...then retreat to their computers and give "sprays". It literally is like BigFooty.
When people start posting photo's of themselves in their avatars and advertising their place of work, I'll buy this (unless they already do, in which case I'll have OldDarkNavy's withaspoon too ;-)). It's not like Baum won't run into him again or Clarkson can't get hold of him.
FWIW, the whole thing is a beat up over two fifths of feck all. Play on.
Docker Clint
3 Jun 2008, 15:45
That article is insane.
Neville Bartos
3 Jun 2008, 16:31
It's pretty apparent that most of you here are complete ******* dimwits. Why don't you actually watch what happened at the press conference before making your uneducated opinions known.
http://ninemsn.video.msn.com/v/en-au/v.htm?f=39&g=4749589F-09E6-4D89-A7BE-93C2C4F115A4&p=ausport_ausportsgeneral&t=m167&mediaid=194139
Just sit back and ask yourself, how the hell is this crap newsworthy? Do we read article after article about Movie Stars swearing when they're not on screen? Do we care when Don '____ing' Burke tells someone to '____ off' when he's driving around Melbourne? Do you think Kevin Rudd ever spoke back to a political analyst when the cameras are off?
Greg Baum is a fake tough guy who could probably be beaten to death by Bryce Gibbs
BacharHouli_43
3 Jun 2008, 16:35
f--- me, i actually think that was alrite from a usually shite journo
It's pretty apparent that most of you here are complete ******* dimwits. Why don't you actually watch what happened at the press conference before making your uneducated opinions known.
http://ninemsn.video.msn.com/v/en-au/v.htm?f=39&g=4749589F-09E6-4D89-A7BE-93C2C4F115A4&p=ausport_ausportsgeneral&t=m167&mediaid=194139
Just sit back and ask yourself, how the hell is this crap newsworthy? Do we read article after article about Movie Stars swearing when they're not on screen? Do we care when Don '____ing' Burke tells someone to '____ off' when he's driving around Melbourne? Do you think Kevin Rudd ever spoke back to a political analyst when the cameras are off?
Greg Baum is a fake tough guy who could probably be beaten to death by Bryce Gibbs
The problem is that the dwarf had a go at a bloke that did nothing wrong, just doing his job. Just as you Hawks supporters are sticking up for your coach (the only ones that are doing it mind you), Baum decided to stick up for a fellow journo who got paid out when he shouldn't have.
Poor form from the midget, obviously upset about the loss and took it out on an unsuspecting journo.
The Old Dark Navy's
3 Jun 2008, 16:55
Why don't you actually watch what happened at the press conference before making your uneducated opinions known.I watched it. A bit of an unnecessary sook by Clarkson. I mean how outlandish is it that coaches might throw a few selection curves now and then. It wasn't as though it was an insulting assumption that Lewis and Sewell not training might be ducks and drakes. Man, it used to be a compliment to Sheedy to call him 'crafty' but Clarkson overreacted completely.
Just sit back and ask yourself, how the hell is this crap newsworthy?It's not newsworthy but now that we have seen it, it is fair game to hold an opinion that Clarkson overreacted to a nothing piece.
Do we read article after article about Movie Stars swearing when they're not on screen? Do we care when Don '____ing' Burke tells someone to '____ off' when he's driving around Melbourne? Do you think Kevin Rudd ever spoke back to a political analyst when the cameras are off? In all cases, yes. We do read about these things whenever they happen. People in the public eye are reported on. If they are anything less than courteous, we will hear about it. They choose to be in the public eye. If Rudd spoke to a political analyst by swearing about something he wrote, you can bet the uproar would be massive and we would definitely hear about it. Goes with the territory.
Journo writes inoffensive but inaccurate article ... check
Clarko has a bit of a sook about it and went overboard ... check
Baum gets his back up on behalf of journos and overreacts ... check
BigFooty posters have a laugh about it .... check
Some Hawks supporters get fired up like Clarko and fire back ... check
If you're not part of the solution, you are part of the problem. ;):)
Yes, Some Hawks supporters are now
howiehowie
3 Jun 2008, 18:39
YES.
Refer to the following articles regarding Tom Cruise after being sprayed with a Water Pistol.
www.msnbc.msn.com/id/8285915 (http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/8285915)
www.moono.com/news/news00880.html (http://www.moono.com/news/news00880.html)
www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,160061,00.html (http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,160061,00.html)
www.mailonsunday.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-353019/Four-bailed-Tom-soaked-premiere.html (http://www.mailonsunday.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-353019/Four-bailed-Tom-soaked-premiere.html)
www.palimpsest.org.uk/forum/archive/index.php/t-1172.html (http://www.palimpsest.org.uk/forum/archive/index.php/t-1172.html)
www.entertainment.timesonline.co.uk/tol/arts_and_entertainment/article535511.ece (http://www.entertainment.timesonline.co.uk/tol/arts_and_entertainment/article535511.ece)
www.thestudentroom.co.uk/showthread.php?t=107878 (http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/showthread.php?t=107878)
Results 1 - 10 of about 62,300 for tom (http://www.google.com/url?sa=X&oi=dict&q=http://www.answers.com/tom%26r%3D67&usg=AFQjCNF2k1H5n6TAvlRUaaS8SJL_iqknjQ) cruise (http://www.google.com/url?sa=X&oi=dict&q=http://www.answers.com/cruise%26r%3D67&usg=AFQjCNHff86m9Dgs23O_WL1XblplVWanxQ) water pistol (http://www.google.com/url?sa=X&oi=dict&q=http://www.answers.com/water%2Bpistol%26r%3D67&usg=AFQjCNGEPnHL0MJTBN0oIedmP8Os_B8ySA). (0.26 seconds)
And he only used the word 'jerk'.
Swanstar
3 Jun 2008, 19:04
What? all this fuss over Clarko saying the F word a few times.. i would of expected all this publicity and attention had the journalist on the receiving end had been a female.
The ironing is delicious :D
southern star
3 Jun 2008, 20:18
I reckon Clarko might "belt" him next time he asks him a question
yeah he might hit him why he his not looking like he did to that carlton player in london 20 years ago ____ern dog i think it was ian aitken
Messenger
3 Jun 2008, 20:22
Journo writes inoffensive but inaccurate article ... check
Clarko has a bit of a sook about it and went overboard ... check
Baum gets his back up on behalf of journos and overreacts ... check
BigFooty posters have a laugh about it .... check
Some Hawks supporters get fired up like Clarko and fire back ... check
If you're not part of the solution, you are part of the problem. ;):)
Yes, Some Hawks supporters are now
Spot on. Between Buddy in CQ and this garbage all we have is two little storms in two little teacups.
Coach of footy club tells a media person to eff off, Clarko just said what the 15 other managers are all thinking. Slow news day, blown out of proportion, get over it.
Does anyone know what Hawthorn or Clarkson's response/reaction to Baum's article has been? (if there has been any response)
By the way, did anyone see the article by Patrick Smith in the Australian in defence of Clarko today. I never thought I' say this about something written by Smith, but it was logical, coherent, sensible and fair. It also manages a shot at the Hawks arch enemy, Caroline Wilson. Go Paddy!
The Old Dark Navy's
4 Jun 2008, 17:04
Hopefully a lawsuit!Oh what grounds?
greennick
4 Jun 2008, 17:58
NorthBhoy, I know you've got a problem with the Hawks. Fair enough, I have an issue with Bombers that I can't usually explain rationally.
You haven't seen anything yet, just wait till it gets to the level it was at WC. People will be out to get the Hawks and their more "sociable" players. There is nothing you can do about it though, than hope your players don't do anything stupid.
Oh what grounds?
Defamation. It's defamatory to hold someone up to public ridicule, hatred and contempt. People have got huge payouts for less than what Baum wrote.
Hodge2Franklin
4 Jun 2008, 20:16
What would a ground crawling plant know about Poppy's?
The Old Dark Navy's
4 Jun 2008, 20:46
Defamation. It's defamatory to hold someone up to public ridicule, hatred and contempt. People have got huge payouts for less than what Baum wrote.
http://www.artslaw.com.au/LegalInformation/Defamation/DefamationLawsAfterJan06.asp
Honest Opinion (Fair Comment)
Previously referred to as the defence of fair comment, the defence of honest opinion requires you to prove that the material communicated was an expression of honest opinion rather than a statement of fact, on a matter of public interest and was based on proper material. To take advantage of this defence you have to be able to prove three things:
a. the communication must, on the face of it, be comment – that is: an opinion, criticism, deduction, judgment, remark, observation, or conclusion;
b. the facts upon which the opinion is based must be stated unless they are widely known. This is required so that the readers/viewers/listeners are able to form their own views on the facts. These facts have to be known to you when you make the communication. It is very important that the comment is clearly distinguishable from the facts upon which it is based; and
c. the communication has to be on a matter of public interest.
The opinion can be extreme, as long as it is honestly held by the communicator. This means that you have to be very careful in responding to an initial complaint. If you say that you ‘didn’t mean it’ this could subsequently make it very difficult to raise the defence of honest opinion.
The defence of honest opinion is obviously very relevant for reviewers and critics, but it can also be useful for satirists, comedians and other artists whose work incorporates an element of social commentary.
The facts of the matter are known, so people can form their own opinion on Baum's article, as a lot of people (mainly Hawks supporters) have here.
Pessimistic
8 Jun 2008, 09:47
Just waiting for the journo in question's article on Gordon Ramsey.
How Ironic the channel which also went in hard has Ramsy as their ratings superstar.
'kin joke
Very, very childish from Mr Baum.
The kind of stuff five year old kids would indulge in.
If that's the best he can write, how the hell did he become a journalist. :rolleyes: