Dogwatcher
22 Aug 2002, 17:25
At this point:
carter usm, Blur, Nick Cave, The Strokes, Avalanches, Rocket Science

Captain Sensible
23 Aug 2002, 15:29
Originally posted by clucas91
The Housemartins.

Great band. One of my favourites of all time.

carneagles
23 Aug 2002, 15:31
Originally posted by localyokel

Great band. Agreed.

Stocka
23 Aug 2002, 15:51
I generally like a lot of bands, and I'm always interested to hear what others like, or listen to, so I could have a rather extensive list, if I were to name them all. Likewise, there are quite a number of 'older' bands, not from my time which I also like (ie: Pink Floyd, The Beatles, Velvet Underground, Lou Reed, etc. etc.).

I tend to think there are bands who you 'like' and then there are bands that you really get into, and almost become 'fanatical' about.

Out of my CD collection, I'd say that I'm an avid fan of the following bands:

Augie March
The Verve
Smashing Pumpkins
Doves
R.E.M.
Radiohead
Joy Division/New Order
Even
Pearl Jam

Ah, I'm still not satisfied with that list! :mad: ;)

CowboyFromHell
23 Aug 2002, 16:08
Pantera.... are we all surprised?? ;)

Squeak
23 Aug 2002, 16:15
Reel Big Fish. You may know something about that Suzi. :eek:

Dogwatcher
23 Aug 2002, 17:07
Originally posted by clucas91
The Housemartins.

I think that those in the now are "all together now" on that one.

coxon
23 Aug 2002, 18:41
hmm..
have interests and likes in sh*tloads of bands... but to cut it down... i couldnt live without my cd's from:

blur
supergrass
radiohead
pulp
eels

Hoggy
23 Aug 2002, 20:02
U2
Blink 182
Red Hot Chili Peppers
AC/DC
Moby

and plenty more.....

catattack
23 Aug 2002, 22:46
My favourite bands are Powderfinger and The Living End.

PrincessPark
23 Aug 2002, 22:57
I'm so trapped in the 90's. Favourite bands:

Absolute Favourite Desert Island Discs:
Oasis
Everclear
Green Day
Mordi
Blur
Beastie Boys

Other Favourites:
Foo Fighters
Red Hot Chilli Peppers
Smashing Pumpkins
Pearl Jam
The Beatles
AC/DC
Hole
Brassy

jod23
24 Aug 2002, 07:53
JEBEDIAH!

Pieman7
24 Aug 2002, 10:06
A good mix of Punk and Metal -

Pennywise,
Bad Religion
Mid Youth Crisis
Guttermouth
Fear Factory
Slipknot
Drowning Pool
Rage Against the Machine

LionsForever
24 Aug 2002, 21:18
Red Hot Chili Peppers
Blink 182
U2
Live
the Wallflowers
Fuel

BomberGal
24 Aug 2002, 21:23
Lifehouse, obviously

Along with...
-Matchbox 20
-Incubus
-Motor Ace
-Nickelback
-Train
-Goo Goo Dolls
-Powderfinger
-U2
-Live
-Creed
-The Calling

LionsForever
24 Aug 2002, 21:41
you've got very good taste in music.

Possumisagun
24 Aug 2002, 23:08
Powderfinger
Elephant Gun
Something for Kate
Pink Floyd
The Strokes
Jebediah
Everclear
Smashing Pumpkins
Chili Peppers

jod23
25 Aug 2002, 08:31
Originally posted by Possumisagun

Jebediah

Your a legend! :D

PrideofSA
25 Aug 2002, 21:34
Red Hot Chili Peppers
Incubus
Lenny Kravitz
Green Day
Hoobastank
Blink182
U2
Living End
Goo Goo Dolls

vanders
25 Aug 2002, 22:08
I dont have any favourite bands, but it aint half obvious who my favourite artist is. :D

Theres also one song that i have really taken to and i love, and its called 'Being Followed' by Rocket Science, saw it on channel V and im a fan of the song.

Docker_Brat
26 Aug 2002, 05:57
TISM
Skulker
Stella One Eleven
George
Abba
28 Days
Brassy
U2
Spiderbait
Happyland
DK
Beatles
Kiss
Kraftwerk

hawkfan5
28 Aug 2002, 18:31
Jebediah
Live
The Living End
Motorace
Green Day
The Offspring
AC/DC

Grimace
28 Aug 2002, 22:36
Incubus
The Vines
The Hives
Hoobastank
RHCP
Pearl Jam
Soundgarden
Deftones
Coldplay
Radiohead
John Butler Trio
And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead
Motorace
Foo Fighters

...more

Carlos
29 Aug 2002, 01:09
The Proclaimers.

CowboyFromHell
29 Aug 2002, 01:57
Originally posted by BomberGal
Lifehouse, obviously

Along with...
-Matchbox 20
-Incubus
-Motor Ace
-Nickelback
-Train
-Goo Goo Dolls
-Powderfinger
-U2
-Live
-Creed
-The Calling

No offence, but you have chosen some of the gayest bands around.....Nickelback, Creed, Goo Goo Dolls? Jesus!

I mean, even Powderfinger, Motor Ace and Matchbox 20 would fit the bill! *sighs*, to each his own I guess.

P.S - I don't mean to offend nor have a go at you, but meh....

PrincessPark
29 Aug 2002, 02:14
Originally posted by Docker_Brat
TISM
Skulker
Stella One Eleven
George
Abba
28 Days
Brassy
U2
Spiderbait
Happyland
DK
Beatles
Kiss
Kraftwerk

Docker_Brat . . . not for the first time, I find myself admiring the cut of your jib.

BomberGal
29 Aug 2002, 09:43
Originally posted by CowboyFromHell

No offence, but you have chosen some of the gayest bands around.....Nickelback, Creed, Goo Goo Dolls? Jesus!

I mean, even Powderfinger, Motor Ace and Matchbox 20 would fit the bill! *sighs*, to each his own I guess.

Umm, yeah, each to their own...:confused: I like what I like, and you can like what you like. (Though I will admit I've gone a bit off Nickelback and Creed.)

P.S - I don't mean to offend nor have a go at you, but meh....

Hmm. That's like saying, "I'm not racist, but I hate those bloody Japs..."

Stocka
29 Aug 2002, 10:21

Not sure about the others, but in all fairness I always thought 'Jesus' could rip a good guitar solo . . .

FIGJAM
29 Aug 2002, 11:03
I always saw Jesus as your extremely laid back, possibly stoned, bass player!

Current bands:

Radiohead
Doves
Tool
Black Rebel Motorcycle Club
and CrashPalace (go Marcus and the boys!).

CowboyFromHell
29 Aug 2002, 15:34

Umm, yeah, each to their own...:confused: I like what I like, and you can like what you like. (Though I will admit I've gone a bit off Nickelback and Creed.)

Hmm. That's like saying, "I'm not racist, but I hate those bloody Japs..."

Yeah, okay, it didn't come out properly, but that's life.

Trendy Top 40 music just doesn't sit well with me, and you seemed to name all the bands that signify what I don't like. It's what you like and I respect that. I do like to think I listen to music outside the stuff I normally listen too (Lenny, Ugly Kid Joe, Mellow Acoustic Stuff....), but this sort of music just seems so gay and all the same.

PrideofSA
29 Aug 2002, 16:06
Originally posted by PrideofSA
Red Hot Chili Peppers
Incubus
Lenny Kravitz
Green Day
Hoobastank
Blink182
U2
Living End
Goo Goo Dolls

no one can deny that RHCP are the ultimate band. been going for 20 years and have the greatest musical chemistry ever seen. They revolutioned rap rock/punk/funk something lesser bands such as Limp Biskit and co. and emulated but haven't had the same effect.

ROCK ON DEC. 3 Hindmarsh Stadium...I'll be there!

Buy Blood Sugar Sex Magik for the best album of all time! Esp bass players and guitarists but also for drummers!

Macca19
29 Aug 2002, 16:26
I like heaps of bands but these are my favourite

Metal/Alternative/Harcore:
Korn
Incubus
Sevendust
Fear Factory
Pantera
Chimaira
Nine Inch Nails
Skinlab
Downset
Vision Of Disorder
One MInute Silence
System of a Down

Electronic/DJs:
Digweed
Sasha
Nick Sentience
Roni Size
LTJ Bukem
Prodigy
Leftfield
DJ Wag
Andy C
DJ Hype
Timo Maas
Mauro Piccoto

SonOfScray
29 Aug 2002, 19:41
Midnight Oil
Guns n Roses
Ozomatli
Less than JAke
Me First and the Gimme Gimmes
Reel Big Fish
Area 7
Rancid / Operation ivy
King Kapisi

Stocka
29 Aug 2002, 19:45
Originally posted by FIGJAM
I always saw Jesus as your extremely laid back, possibly stoned, bass player!

I'm sure quite a few frontmen have also envisaged themselves as being 'Jesus' at one stage or another as well! ;)

Stocka
29 Aug 2002, 20:07
Trendy Top 40 music just doesn't sit well with me, and you seemed to name all the bands that signify what I don't like. It's what you like and I respect that. I do like to think I listen to music outside the stuff I normally listen too (Lenny, Ugly Kid Joe, Mellow Acoustic Stuff....), but this sort of music just seems so gay and all the same.

What exactly do you mean by "gay"? Are you meaning that the band members are "gay", or that the songs promote "gay" ideals?

There are quite a number of widely respected, well-known and popular musicians who are/were possibly gay or bi-sexual (Lou Reed, Kurt Cobain, Michael Stipe, etc.). While I don't share their sexual orientations (or perhaps their outlook on life, which perhaps is somewhat reflected in their music), I'd hardly say that it downgrades their talent, or my liking for their music.

At any rate, to my knowledge the bands in question don't even fall into this category, so to be describing them as "gay" seems a bit strange to me.

Likewise, for someone who comes across as being a fan of metal and very little else, it seems a bit hypocritical that you'd criticise one person for their tastes in music, saying that it's "all the things you don't like", when there are quite a number of people who could say the same about many of the bands that you'd listen to, basically because they fall under the metal genre.

Surely it's just a case of people prefering different styles of music . . . without having a need for one person to seemingly critique another person's tastes.

jod23
30 Aug 2002, 07:00
Originally posted by hawkfan5
Jebediah

Another legend!

Dogwatcher
30 Aug 2002, 10:05
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Stocka
[B]

What exactly do you mean by "gay"? Are you meaning that the band members are "gay", or that the songs promote "gay" ideals?

Maybe Cowboy From Hell was suggesting that the songs were too happy for him.
Although, that was a very good anti-homophobe speech you presented there.

CowboyFromHell
30 Aug 2002, 15:08
I meant gay as in crap, ****....whatever.

I like most tastes in music. I am a huge metal fan, but I also have tastes elsewhere. Just not in that music (Trendy)

And it's a board Stocka. I can post and critique whatever I like, and I'm terribly sorry if you don't agree.

FIGJAM
30 Aug 2002, 15:22
Yeah, I reckon "gay" can be used to mean "lame".

People get so precious about these things!

CowboyFromHell
30 Aug 2002, 15:24

Your telling me.

You can't reply to anything these days without someone having a rip at you either. I don't like trendy music. I said it, big deal. I got over it not long after I posted it.

Mcchawk
30 Aug 2002, 15:28
Currently I'm listening to Old blues eyes. Frank the man the legend and the looks from chicks when you play him in the car.:cool:

Black Majesty
30 Aug 2002, 15:30
winger

CowboyFromHell
30 Aug 2002, 15:31
Originally posted by Black Majesty
winger

Would it be WHINGING to say you can't spell???

Bit hard to take you seriously when you can't. :rolleyes: :D

FIGJAM
30 Aug 2002, 15:48
Originally posted by Black Majesty
winger
http://www.geocities.com/wingersite/wingerlog.gif

Glad you love Kip Winger, Reb Beach and the boys, Black Majesty!!
http://forums.capitolrecords.com/ubb/eek.gif http://forums.capitolrecords.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

CowboyFromHell
30 Aug 2002, 16:39
Originally posted by hotpie
FIGJAM you are nothing but a lowlife Keith Greig Robbie Flower Ricky Barham!

Coming from you? :rolleyes:

Black Majesty
30 Aug 2002, 18:56
winger - in the heart of the young and pull are fantastic albums..

first one also has its moments

since when have the death metal crowd become authorities on winger anyway..

spose you dont like Rick Springfield either!

Stocka
30 Aug 2002, 22:50

So if I call you a pansy from now on, you won't be upset?

I like most tastes in music. I am a huge metal fan, but I also have tastes elsewhere. Just not in that music (Trendy)

Metal is trendy.

And it's a board Stocka. I can post and critique whatever I like, and I'm terribly sorry if you don't agree.

Same goes for you, pansy.

Stocka
30 Aug 2002, 22:52

Yeah, whatever, ******.

Oh, by the way, I'm using "******" as meaning "mate", just so you know.

Stocka
30 Aug 2002, 22:54

Your telling me.

You can't reply to anything these days without someone having a rip at you either.

Don't you think BomberGal could say that same thing about your comments?

I don't like trendy music. I said it, big deal. I got over it not long after I posted it.

From recollection, you're the one who stuck your neck out criticising someone else's tastes to begin with, so, if you can't handle criticism in return, then don't dish it out in the first place, pansy.

CowboyFromHell
30 Aug 2002, 23:43
Stocka mate, settle down! I'll go grab the tissues to clear up those tears.

Look, I was merely pointing out that those bands are ones I don't like. She likes them, more power to her. I criticised it yes, but in all honesty, I didn't mean to properly get stuck into her. I was going to say my bit, and leave it at that. Sorry you couldn't see it that way.

Saying Metal is trendy goes to show just how far off the mark you are in this area. When was the last time any Metal band got in a Top 40 because of MTV play, radio play and things like that? Never. Many metal fans would take some offence to the fact you pointed out it was trendy......which reminds me, what bands were you talking about.

Pansy - Nice, Original. Please, go on being immature, does bring a wry smile to the face.

CowboyFromHell
30 Aug 2002, 23:45
P.S - Stocka. With the "pansy" part, you must have it mixed up. I said the MUSIC was "gay", no BomberGal. I think you over step the mark with a personal attack, which in fact in the first place had nothing to do with you, but that's okay. I used "gay" so I didn't use other expletives that would get the * out.

Again, I'm really sorry if it didn't sit well with you. No really, I am....

Stocka
30 Aug 2002, 23:57
Stocka mate, settle down! I'll go grab the tissues to clear up those tears.

Look, I was merely pointing out that those bands are ones I don't like. She likes them, more power to her. I criticised it yes, but in all honesty, I didn't mean to properly get stuck into her. I was going to say my bit, and leave it at that. Sorry you couldn't see it that way.

The point is, you stuck your neck out to have a go at someone else, but didn't like it when someone did it back to you. Those who have been on BF long enough know that if you live by the sword you also die by the sword. If you can't stand the heat . . .

Saying Metal is trendy goes to show just how far off the mark you are in this area. When was the last time any Metal band got in a Top 40 because of MTV play, radio play and things like that? Never. Many metal fans would take some offence to the fact you pointed out it was trendy......which reminds me, what bands were you talking about.

In my opinion, metal IS trendy. Everyday, I see mass marketting of some form of bands such as Tool, Metallica, Soulfly, Korn, Slipknot, etc.

Likewise, doesn't metal have its own radio-slots and specialist shows devoted to it? If so, I certainly think this is enough indication that the genre is trendy, just by the mere fact alone that there is obviously a mass-market out there for it.

Pansy - Nice, Original. Please, go on being immature, does bring a wry smile to the face.

Hahah, nice to see you pulling a "Suzi Olsen" on us here! :p

By calling you a pansy (and you being upset by it), is just pointing out your hypocrisy in using the term "gay" to begin with. By your OWN definition this just proves that you are immature (by your own stanards). Live by the sword, die by the sword . . .

:p

You're not too quick, are you mate? hahahah.

Stocka
31 Aug 2002, 00:03
P.S - Stocka. With the "pansy" part, you must have it mixed up. I said the MUSIC was "gay", no BomberGal.

The point that I was raising is the fact that you used the term "gay" at all, not who or what you were directing it towards.

I think you over step the mark with a personal attack,

As opposed to your homophobic sentiments, hey? If you can't take the heat mate . . .

which in fact in the first place had nothing to do with you, but that's okay.

Mate, if you post something on a site in which other people can read, expect people to comment on it. There's an eye-opener for you . . .

I used "gay" so I didn't use other expletives that would get the * out.

And "gay" just happened to be the most appropriate word that you could think of? Likewise, the word "gay" is a term that you use to put something down? Says a lot about what you must think of "gay" people then . . . .

CowboyFromHell
31 Aug 2002, 00:08
The bands you put there are hardly metal, bar Soulfly and Slipknot, and you hardly hear them on the radio now do you? And the Metal programs devoted are once a week and on VERY late at night. Hardly at a time when people will be listening most. I mean real metal bands mate. Pantera, Slayer, Morbid Angel and these types, not the stuff mentioned above. I mean, Korn? Yeah, you know just what you are talking about.... :rolleyes:

Stocka
31 Aug 2002, 00:10
By the way "CowboyFromHell", I do have to mention that avatar of yours tends to display quite a homosexual theme. In fact, I'd have to say it looks like he's being rodgered quite rigourously from behind . . .

Then again, you know what they say about 'cowboys' . . .

CowboyFromHell
31 Aug 2002, 00:11
You seem to be the one hung up on the gay part Stocka. Look,
I didn't even give it a second thought. Get over it, it's just a three letter word.

And what's this take the heat stuff?? It's just a messageboard mate, I post here for fun, not for what other people think.

CowboyFromHell
31 Aug 2002, 00:13
Originally posted by Stocka
By the way "CowboyFromHell", I do have to mention that avatar of yours tends to display quite a homosexual theme. In fact, I'd have to say it looks like he's being rodgered quite rigourously from behind . . .

Then again, you know what they say about 'cowboys' . . .

If you think that displays a homosexual theme, then I'm afraid your the one with the problem. Mate, it's one simple word, Get WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY over it now, it's done.

You have quite a morbid fascination with it to say the least! I think you should be the one a little worried.....

Stocka
31 Aug 2002, 00:17
The bands you put there are hardly metal, bar Soulfly and Slipknot,

In your opinion. Most people would agree that the bands that I have mentioned would be classified as metal, of one form or another.

and you hardly hear them on the radio now do you? And the Metal programs devoted are once a week and on VERY late at night. Hardly at a time when people will be listening most.

The fact that there are specialist radio programs (as well as TV programs on Pay TV), for metal suggests that there is a large enough market out there for the genre to be classified as trendy.

It's surely more trendy than polka dancing, at least.

I mean real metal bands mate. Pantera, Slayer, Morbid Angel and these types, not the stuff mentioned above. I mean, Korn? Yeah, you know just what you are talking about.... :rolleyes:

And you know what you're talking about? I'd say it comes down to a matter of opinion.

Compared to the bands which you say you "hate", the bands which I have mentioned ARE metal, and most would agree.

The point that you are arguing, is based more around what "type" of metal they are, as opposed to whether they are metal to begin with or not. Likewise, whether you consider a band to be a "real" metal band or not, is related more to whether you consider their music to be of any quality, rather than whether it fits the metal genre.

Stocka
31 Aug 2002, 00:23

If you think that displays a homosexual theme, then I'm afraid your the one with the problem.

A problem? What, with you being gay you, mean? No, not at all mate! I'm quite comfortable with other people's sexuality, and it's your choice, after all. You should be quite proud of yourself for coming out in the manner that you have.

Mate, it's one simple word, Get WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY over it now, it's done.

No, it's not quite done yet, I'm afraid. I'm happy to go all night, if that's what you want. And all next week too . . .

You have quite a morbid fascination with it to say the least! I think you should be the one a little worried.....

No, I'm not worried at all mate. Don't flatter yourself.

I just think it's fun to make fun out of people like yourself. Don't take it to heart. Take it on the chin, mate . . . err, it looks as though you have something dribbling down your chin, come to mention it . . .

M29
31 Aug 2002, 00:30
Take it on the chin, mate . . . err, it looks as though you have something dribbling down your chin, come to mention it . . .

UGH! DUDE! :eek:

Black Majesty
31 Aug 2002, 09:27
quit while youre behind Cowboy

BomberGal
2 Sep 2002, 16:38

Don't you think BomberGal could say that same thing about your comments?

Yes, I could.

But hey. Let's get over it. He doesn't like my music. I'm over it!

CowboyFromHell
2 Sep 2002, 16:56

Yes, I could.

But hey. Let's get over it. He doesn't like my music. I'm over it!

Bomber Gal - this may sound silly, but I do apologise for my comments, they were out of line. We all have different tastes, and I do respect everyone's. Sorry if I offended you.

Macca19
2 Sep 2002, 18:02
I mean real metal bands mate. I mean, Korn? Yeah, you know just what you are talking about....

Korn isnt a metal band

CowboyFromHell
3 Sep 2002, 00:46
Originally posted by Macca19

Korn isnt a metal band

That's what I meant Macca. I meant to say Korn?? They are not metal....but it didn't come out right!

BomberGal
3 Sep 2002, 09:59

Bomber Gal - this may sound silly, but I do apologise for my comments, they were out of line. We all have different tastes, and I do respect everyone's. Sorry if I offended you.

Pfft - forget it! You really did not offend me. I've copped plenty more than that! :D

by the way, everyone. NO SPACE BETWEEN BOMBER and GAL :D

doug thomas
1 Oct 2002, 12:39
Hard Ons
Exploding White Mice
Superchunk
And you shall know us...etc.
Bluebottle Kiss
Happy Hate Me Nots
Husker Du
Pavement
Deathcab For Cutie
Cosmic Psychos

to name but a few.

SonOfScray
1 Oct 2002, 13:52
I just bought Dropkick Murphy's "sing loud, sing proud" after hearing their live album at a mates place and they have rocketed to no. 1 on my list.

These lads are awesome, make me want to break out into a mosh styled skank-jig.:D

Leaping Lindner
1 Oct 2002, 22:56
Originally posted by doug thomas
Hard Ons
Exploding White Mice
Superchunk
And you shall know us...etc.
Bluebottle Kiss
Happy Hate Me Nots
Husker Du
Pavement
Deathcab For Cutie
Cosmic Psychos

to name but a few.

Your name is Doug Thomas and you like The Mice? Ah now I understand you are not the General manager of the West Adelaide Football Club but the guy who use to own Greasy Pop and was in The Spikes!:D

Great bands by the way!

Santos L Helper
2 Oct 2002, 12:45
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner

Your name is Doug Thomas and you like The Mice? Ah now I understand you are not the General manager of the West Adelaide Football Club but the guy who use to own Greasy Pop and was in The Spikes!:D

Great bands by the way!

If that's really you Doug..........where's my money?

doug thomas
2 Oct 2002, 13:13
I'll have a wild guess and say......................................................... .probably in your handbag/wallet.
Am I right, do I win anything?

Leaping Lindner
2 Oct 2002, 15:19
Originally posted by Santos L Helper

If that's really you Doug..........where's my money?

Probably got spent on WTP's rider!;)

McAlmanac
2 Oct 2002, 16:30

Probably got spent on WTP's rider!;)
I assume you mean Where's The Pope?

Being an old Adelaidean, and continuing the Greasy Pop theme, I often go to see Chuck Jenkins' band Icecream Hands. Vastly underrated.

Santos L Helper
2 Oct 2002, 16:41
Originally posted by McAlmanac

Being an old Adelaidean, and continuing the Greasy Pop theme, I often go to see Chuck Jenkins' band Icecream Hands. Vastly underrated.

He certainly does Mac. *self indugent crap to follow*

I used to sing in WTP?

Blues_Brat
2 Oct 2002, 16:42

He certainly does Mac. *self indugent crap to follow*

I used to sing in WTP?
You did? I thought it was the Zep Boys.

:D

Santos L Helper
2 Oct 2002, 16:44
Originally posted by Blues_Brat

You did? I thought it was the Zep Boys.
:D

Haha, the Zep Boys............Warwick Cheattle. :D :D

He was always trying to make local music a corporate gig.

Blues_Brat
2 Oct 2002, 16:47

Haha, the Zep Boys............Warwick Cheattle. :D :D

He was always trying to make local music a corporate gig.
They headlined a show with a few bands at Cartoons when Sturt were in trouble as a fundraiser for the club, found out about it after the fact! Sheesh, great way to make money if you don't tell people.

Zombie
2 Oct 2002, 16:47
The bands you put there are hardly metal, bar Soulfly and Slipknot, and you hardly hear them on the radio now do you? And the Metal programs devoted are once a week and on VERY late at night. Hardly at a time when people will be listening most. I mean real metal bands mate. Pantera, Slayer, Morbid Angel and these types, not the stuff mentioned above. I mean, Korn? Yeah, you know just what you are talking about.... :rolleyes:

Shows how much you know, Metallica wouldn't be metal by any chance would they?

Santos L Helper
2 Oct 2002, 16:49
Originally posted by Zombie

Metallica stopped being metal years ago.

Blues_Brat
2 Oct 2002, 16:51

Alternica

Have they even been metal since the 80s?

Zombie
2 Oct 2002, 16:51

Metallica were pioneers of metal, these new bands are just crap trying to copy them.

Blues_Brat
2 Oct 2002, 16:53

Next you'll be telling us that Bon Jovi are metal. :D

Blues_Brat
2 Oct 2002, 16:54

Metallica were pioneers of metal, these new bands are just crap trying to copy them.
I don't claim to be knowlegable about metal, but weren't Black Sabbath around years before Lars and his cronies?

Santos L Helper
2 Oct 2002, 16:57

I'll hand you another shovel junior.
Ever heard of Black Sabbath? I think they were playing metal before Metallica came about.

I'm betting that you are guessing that these bands are copying Metallica because you probably haven't even heard much of the stuff the CFH mentioned, or stuff like Earth Crisis, Downset, Strife, Sodom and DRI......just to name a few.

Zombie
2 Oct 2002, 16:58
Originally posted by Blues_Brat

I don't claim to be knowlegable about metal, but weren't Black Sabbath around years before Lars and his cronies?

Yeah, but IMO Metallica can still be counted as pioneers. Modern metal sounds much more like Metallica than Sabbathe, not that I'm an expert either.

McAlmanac
2 Oct 2002, 17:03
I must admit I did like Metallica doing that Bob Seger number (Turn the Page) with the full orchestra. :)

Blues_Brat
2 Oct 2002, 17:05

Yeah, but IMO Metallica can still be counted as pioneers. Modern metal sounds much more like Metallica than Sabbathe, not that I'm an expert either.

Perhaps you are thinking of so called nu-metal.. your Korn, Limp Biskit and Linkin Park crud.

Leaping Lindner
2 Oct 2002, 20:00

Steve Jenkins - Chuck Skatt (one in the same). Did you ever see the Mad Turks(the band B4 Ice Cream hands) Mac they were great. I'm a little out of loop these days but aren't Chuck Skatt's Ice Cream Hands still gigging around this berg?

SPUNKY_MONKEY45
2 Oct 2002, 20:14
The*Ataris

happy_in_hell
2 Oct 2002, 20:27
Jebediah
AC/DC
The Cruel Sea
Something For Kate
Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds

Does anyone sense a theme here?:D

McAlmanac
3 Oct 2002, 16:29

Steve Jenkins - Chuck Skatt (one in the same). Did you ever see the Mad Turks(the band B4 Ice Cream hands) Mac they were great. I'm a little out of loop these days but aren't Chuck Skatt's Ice Cream Hands still gigging around this berg?
They certainly are - Friday October 11 at the Corner. He goes by Charles Jenkins now - I thought Charles was his real name. He manages Gaslight Music in Bourke Street.

Wasn't a big alternative fan in my younger days (I was too mainstream then), but I did see a Mad Turks/Screaming Believers/Garden Path bill one NYE at the Woodmans Inn on Grenfell Street. Good show. Mate of mine was mates with Chuck and Dom out of Mad Turks and Paul Hughes from the Bellies. I must admit by this stage I had gotten into Hoodoo Gurus, Lime Spiders, Huxton Creepers.

powergirlluv17
3 Oct 2002, 22:29
Some of my favs:

* Living End
* Incubus
* Powderfinger
* 28 days
* Sum 41
* Blink 182
* Motor Ace
* Grinspoon
* Red Hot Chilli Peppers
there's more just can't remember them all!!

here's some people in the music industry that i REALLY hate
* Nikki Webster!!! URGH don't get me started that that thing!
* Backstreet Boys, oh my god, please put us out of our miserys
* Michael Jackson, he's got two noses, and his face looks like white porclein

Deestroy
3 Oct 2002, 23:40
A few of my fav bands;
Pennywise
28 Days
Slipknot
Mudvayne
Frenzal Rhomb
Bad Religion
Grinspoon
Bodyjar
Sum 41
Sunk Loto
Superheist
System of a Down
Unwritten Law

Leaping Lindner
4 Oct 2002, 00:15

They certainly are - Friday October 11 at the Corner. He goes by Charles Jenkins now - I thought Charles was his real name. He manages Gaslight Music in Bourke Street.

Wasn't a big alternative fan in my younger days (I was too mainstream then), but I did see a Mad Turks/Screaming Believers/Garden Path bill one NYE at the Woodmans Inn on Grenfell Street. Good show. Mate of mine was mates with Chuck and Dom out of Mad Turks and Paul Hughes from the Bellies. I must admit by this stage I had gotten into Hoodoo Gurus, Lime Spiders, Huxton Creepers.

So we eventually got you over to the dark side!!!:D

Dave Lokan the guitarist in Garden Path is the brother of Bill Lokan who played league for North Adelaide and Fitzroy!Dave himself played some reserves footy with North and is a top bloke!

I use to go see the Screaming Believers when they were The Shreds at the Union Hotel in the VERY early 1980's(Christ where has my life gone:( )

WoD
4 Oct 2002, 17:10
nirvana
silverchair
korn
ratm
slipknot
deftones
the vines
grinspoon
foo fighters
pearl jam
sunk loto
led zeppelin
ben harper

danzy_rocks
4 Oct 2002, 17:17
U2
Cold Chisel
Mudvayne
RHCP
Kittie
Nirvana
INXS
The Eagles
Beatles
Slipknot

Macca19
4 Oct 2002, 17:57

Id say their are many more Metal bands around these days which are highly influenced by the likes of Sabbath and even Zeppelin before Metallica.