View Full Version : Round 11: St Kilda vs Western Bulldogs
Red,White and Blue
3 Jun 2008, 11:40
Sunday 2.10 Telstra dome
Last time we met (round 3 2008):
WESTERN BULLDOGS 1.2 6.6 11.9 19.11 (125)
ST KILDA 7.3 9.6 10.8 13.9 (87)
GOALS - Western Bulldogs: Akermanis 3, Griffen 3, Hahn 3, Cooney 2, Hill 2, Harbrow 2, Murphy, Wight, Welsh, Minson.
St Kilda: Koschitzke 3, Riewoldt 2, Milne 2, Ball 2, Gehrig, Schneider, Montagna, Gram.
BEST - Western Bulldogs: Cooney, Cross, Griffen, Giansiracusa, Murphy, Morris, Akermanis. St Kilda: Fisher, Dal Santo, Fiora, Koschitzke, Gram, Montagna.
REPORTS Nil.
INJURIES Nil.
UMPIRES C Donlon, H Kennedy, B Rosebury
CROWD 38,667 at the Telstra Dome.
We will go in favourites St kilda wont have the big forwards that are meant to kill us :rolleyes:. We probably have the better midfield and were the top scoring team in the comp.
dogs by 31
ShinSplints
3 Jun 2008, 12:06
yeah the dogs should win on recent form HOWEVER if the saints win what would that mean??
huge game, game of the round EASILY!!
Coolangatta
3 Jun 2008, 14:02
This game has an upset vibe about it.
- Bulldogs coming back from a big win in Tassie.
- Saints looking to get back into the 8.
- Saints have had a good record against the Bullies over the last few years.
Bodicifer
3 Jun 2008, 14:05
This game has an upset vibe about it.
- Bulldogs coming back from a big win in Tassie.
- Saints looking to get back into the 8.
- Saints have had a good record against the Bullies over the last few years.
I agree with you, aespecially with Murphy out. However, it will come down to our effort again...if we put in the effort and tackle and run we will win. Simple equation for mine.
Coolangatta
3 Jun 2008, 14:10
Agreed. Do you know how the Bulldogs have faired coming back from Tassie games? Does anyone know?
SaintsPremiers08
3 Jun 2008, 15:40
Sunday 2.10 Telstra dome
Last time we met (round 3 2008):
WESTERN BULLDOGS 1.2 6.6 11.9 19.11 (125)
ST KILDA 7.3 9.6 10.8 13.9 (87)
GOALS - Western Bulldogs: Akermanis 3, Griffen 3, Hahn 3, Cooney 2, Hill 2, Harbrow 2, Murphy, Wight, Welsh, Minson.
St Kilda: Koschitzke 3, Riewoldt 2, Milne 2, Ball 2, Gehrig, Schneider, Montagna, Gram.
BEST - Western Bulldogs: Cooney, Cross, Griffen, Giansiracusa, Murphy, Morris, Akermanis. St Kilda: Fisher, Dal Santo, Fiora, Koschitzke, Gram, Montagna.
REPORTS Nil.
INJURIES Nil.
UMPIRES C Donlon, H Kennedy, B Rosebury
CROWD 38,667 at the Telstra Dome.
We will go in favourites St kilda wont have the big forwards that are meant to kill us :rolleyes:. We probably have the better midfield and were the top scoring team in the comp.
dogs by 31
rightttttttt........:rolleyes:
Why the debate.
Its blatantly obvious the Dogs have the better midfield, at least form wise
Agreed. Do you know how the Bulldogs have faired coming back from Tassie games? Does anyone know?
We have only played in Tasmania once before last Sunday, and it was against St Kilda in 2003 I'm pretty sure, can't really remember how we did the week after though.
Going into this game we have a 8 day break so we should be fine in that sense. I hope we can apply the pressure we did to Hawthorn last week, cause if we can I think we will win by about 4 or 5 goals.
Why the debate.
Its blatantly obvious the Dogs have the better midfield, at least form wise
exactly.
I hope doggies absolutely belt the saint.
Traffic Light
3 Jun 2008, 16:29
Yes, clearly the last time we played the Saints midfield were all over us....and our record this season is terrible.
scooter600x
3 Jun 2008, 17:12
The problem with St. Kilda's midfield is the rotations. Hayes, Del Santo, Ball, Montagna and old man Harvey are an adequate (not fantastic, but adequate) group but when they need to rest there's no-one to pick up the slack.
ChrisL#12
3 Jun 2008, 17:17
It's amazing how cocky supporters get after a good start to the season. The Dogs really aren't that good, they'll trail off soon. Hopefully for us it's this week. Saints by 18.
KardiniaPark
3 Jun 2008, 17:23
It's amazing how cocky supporters get after a good start to the season. The Dogs really aren't that good, they'll trail off soon. Hopefully for us it's this week. Saints by 18.
Its amazing how confident middle of the road teams are about their chances of beating the form team of the comp. You will get SMASHED.
Bodicifer
3 Jun 2008, 17:30
There was another Saints supporter on last week, Schneiderman, who was telling us all how overrated the Dogs were. I am sure the Hawks supporters would be really happy to hear how the Dogs "aren't that good", espeically when you play them in Round 16...I would hate to see what Buddy and co. will do to the Saints. Where do you rate your own team ChrisL#12?
The only way St Kilda can beat the dogs this week is if we don't put the effort in. If our effort and run is up again this week then you will not have a chance, even with Murphy out.
Traffic Light
3 Jun 2008, 17:42
I love that everyone refuses to rate us, because it makes you all the more upset when you get trounced :)
Traffic Light
3 Jun 2008, 17:45
The problem with St. Kilda's midfield is the rotations. Hayes, Del Santo, Ball, Montagna and old man Harvey are an adequate (not fantastic, but adequate) group but when they need to rest there's no-one to pick up the slack.
But clearly the slow, one dimensional midfield of St Kilda far exceeds anything we can muster.
ShinSplints
3 Jun 2008, 17:56
geez lets not get crazy here....
The dogs are far superior in 2008 than the saints in almost every way.
On paper its possible, on form its not possible.
Murphy is out and johnson seems to have had a few hard weeks at the office... anyway im hopin.
UM the biggest point is that in round 3, the saints were favs had the pressure on them HERE in round 11 (nice fixturing AFL :rolleyes:) the DOGS are massive favs and have ALL the pressure. That to me will be an interesting point and the only one if any to get th saints accross the line on sunday.
Bulldog Joe
3 Jun 2008, 18:20
We have only played in Tasmania once before last Sunday, and it was against St Kilda in 2003 I'm pretty sure, can't really remember how we did the week after though.
Anything that occurred in 2003 is irrelevant. Our form was way down the Rhode. I think we were allowing the coaches box to be under the control of Peter PotHole.
gilbos the best
3 Jun 2008, 18:26
what do u think will be key matchups
cooney vs ........
johnson vs .......
harris vs riewoldt
dal santo vs ........
Anything that occurred in 2003 is irrelevant. Our form was way down the Rhode. I think we were allowing the coaches box to be under the control of Peter PotHole.
I know it's irrelevant mate, another member just asked about Bulldogs in Tasmania so I was explaining. :thumbsu: I agree our form was down the toilet under Rhode.
EDIT: I think Morris should get first crack at Riewoldt, he has shown he can do it in the past.
SaintsPremiers08
3 Jun 2008, 19:02
what do u think will be key matchups
cooney vs ........
johnson vs .......
harris vs riewoldt
dal santo vs ........
Riewoldt would murder Harris on the lead.
Cooney Vs. Montagna I reckon.
Johnson Vs. Hudghton/S.Fisher.
ShinSplints
3 Jun 2008, 19:27
dogs should be way too fast we'd have to knock out a few players by 1/4 time to win this one.
Would love to see Max run through cross and cooney
Red,White and Blue
3 Jun 2008, 19:59
yeh morris will go to roo and lakey to kos. callan/hargrave??? to get job on milne/schneider
Look2Me4Guidance
3 Jun 2008, 23:29
yeh morris will go to roo and lakey to kos. callan/hargrave??? to get job on milne/schneider
Callan won't play this week as far I understand.
No doubt the Dogs are faves and rightfully so. I think the Saints are capable of defeating them and they showed some positive signs against Melbourne. The loss of Murphy is massive for the dogs as he is a matchup nightmare and will allow Sam Fisher to man up another dog forward, Hahn if he plays.
Defensive pressure is a massive KPI for mine for the Saints. Has been dreadful all year but showed some good signs against the Dees.
Lake will interesting this week as he is so used to taking on Gehrig. Kosi will present a different matchup for him.
All in all, a cracker of a game. I'm tipping the Saints to get the chocolates aided by some much improved conversion in front of goal.
Bulldog Joe
4 Jun 2008, 00:24
Tommy Gun Williams will take Riewoldt without the slightest doubt which leaves Lake on Kosi and Morris and Hargrave to cover Milne/Schneider.
Expect ex Dog Shane Birss to play the defensive forward on Gilbee.
Armitage2Riewoldt
4 Jun 2008, 00:40
How do you guys think your small defenders will go on Schneider and Milney?
With Kosi in bad form, and Roo unlikely to be damaging in front of goal (as usual) we could rely on these two (again) to get us over the line. They didn't do much last time IIRC but both have hit form lately. And Milney is leading our goal kicking lol.
Hopefully it'll be close, I'll be surprised if we win.
gilbos the best
4 Jun 2008, 08:11
who will williams go on
ShinSplints
4 Jun 2008, 13:08
Callan won't play this week as far I understand.
No doubt the Dogs are faves and rightfully so. I think the Saints are capable of defeating them and they showed some positive signs against Melbourne. The loss of Murphy is massive for the dogs as he is a matchup nightmare and will allow Sam Fisher to man up another dog forward, Hahn if he plays.
Defensive pressure is a massive KPI for mine for the Saints. Has been dreadful all year but showed some good signs against the Dees.
Lake will interesting this week as he is so used to taking on Gehrig. Kosi will present a different matchup for him.
All in all, a cracker of a game. I'm tipping the Saints to get the chocolates aided by some much improved conversion in front of goal.
have to be a MAJOR MAJOR OVERHAUL IN CONVERSION. We are terrible NO IDEA how to kick a goal if it wasnt for sydney player schnieder we'd be worse.
Shouldve beaten melbourne by 120+ but bad kicking was only 80.
Your right we will win IF we can kick straight but guess what?? WE CANT and will lose because of it. Worst kick for goal in the league is reiwoldt and Kosi.
tigers_of_old_08
7 Jun 2008, 13:55
Cant see Sainters wining. Eade has their measure and the Doggies have the depth to win it even without Murphy.
What can the Sainters do differently to what they have been doing all year?
Joffaboy
8 Jun 2008, 12:51
Cant see Sainters wining. Eade has their measure and the Doggies have the depth to win it even without Murphy.
Where do you pull that from?
Apart from that silliness, Dogs seem to strong quick confident and accurate for the struggling Saints.
Last real chance for the Saints today. A win would mean that they can go forward with confidence, a loss will mean cue in the rack for the remainder of the year and build toward 2009.
Harvey and King late exclusions.
I think its Leigh Fisher and Gwilt in.
Monkster
8 Jun 2008, 15:05
arg not on TV up here so listening to MMM and yay we get Nathan Brown
That'll endear him to you.
Dogs_R_Us
8 Jun 2008, 15:12
Try Rex on 3AW.
Monkster
8 Jun 2008, 15:13
That'll endear him to you.
Yeah just changed to AW after Brown said he wanted Saints to win because "the bulldogs are going alright" :rolleyes:
Seeing Harvey as a late exclusion I did not want to see
Monkster
8 Jun 2008, 15:16
Oh god a choice between Robert Walls and Nathan Brown, whos on 774?
ARG and Tony Shaw!
Oh god a choice between Robert Walls and Nathan Brown, whos on 774?
Brown has spoken once - you're safe.
Saints with all the play early.
Monkster
8 Jun 2008, 15:18
Gia Goal!
Giansiracusa kicks the first.
1.0.6 to 0.1.1
Lake gone up the race with a knee injury. :(
Monkster
8 Jun 2008, 15:19
crap Lake off injured :( had his knees taken out
Gram kicks the Saints first.
lions_den
8 Jun 2008, 15:21
The dogs by 16.5+ please:)
Oh dear - sounds like a shocker.
Fisher gets a piece of the ball but not called touched. Ray goals?
Monkster
8 Jun 2008, 15:24
LOL Rex stuck his head out of the commentary box to yell at the umpire :P
swanniez1983
8 Jun 2008, 15:24
I hope 7 realises that there was an ad break after the last goal. It would be nice to see what happened :rolleyes:
Anyone else having trouble with the AFL radio stream?
Monkster
8 Jun 2008, 15:27
*touch wood* AW is going ok
I'm listening to it on ABC on AFL without any problems at all.
Dal santo getting a fair bit of it early, according to gameday lol
No probs here.
Riewoldt has to learn how to kick, seriously it kills us
Danger Mouse
8 Jun 2008, 15:32
Riewoldts kicking is aweful... got worse and worse over his career. What's up with that? :(
Triple MMM keep calling Cam Wight, doing well for a bloke that isn't playing
Monkster
8 Jun 2008, 15:33
Lake apparantly ok
Monkster
8 Jun 2008, 15:37
Where is the dogs run??
Left in the rooms
PoidaCat
8 Jun 2008, 15:37
Riewoldts kicking is aweful... got worse and worse over his career. What's up with that? :(
I remember a match against Geelong in 2002 when I said "He is a really good kick"...was nailing them fluently from 50...
now he can't drop the ball properly nor make proper contact... :(:thumbsd:
Thanks for letting me know the stream is working well for you but the whole website is screwed all fo a sudden for me.
Score update please?
Mr Magoo
8 Jun 2008, 15:38
Quarter time
Saints 3 - 6 : 24
Bdogs 2 - 0 : 12
goals
Saints
Birss, Gram, Hayes
Dogs
Ray, Daniel G ;)
At least we are 26 points better off at this stage than the last time we played them
Monkster
8 Jun 2008, 15:39
Thanks for letting me know the stream is working well for you but the whole website is screwed all fo a sudden for me.
Score update please?
You using Iexplore? I don't bother trying to get afl website working on firefox
Triple MMM keep calling Cam Wight, doing well for a bloke that isn't playing
AW mentioned him earlier too - have been trawling this site to find out if there was some change/injury pre-game.
Gladly it seems not.
Danger Mouse
8 Jun 2008, 15:40
Quarter time summary for most valuable player
Saints - Dal Santo
Bulldogs - Riewoldt
PoidaCat
8 Jun 2008, 15:41
Pathetic St Kilda...
should be up be 5 Goals minimum! :thumbsd:
A good first quarter usually means a big fat failure for the rest of the game..
You using Iexplore? I don't bother trying to get afl website working on firefoxOnly reason I keep IE. Everything was working fine, including the radio stream, then the radio stream stopped all of a sudden, and I can access everything except for the AFL website. Figures.
Monkster
8 Jun 2008, 15:42
AW mentioned him earlier too - have been trawling this site to find out if there was some change/injury pre-game.
Gladly it seems not.
Yeah I think AW were talking about Williams, they mentioned huge talent and injuries
At least we are 26 points better off at this stage than the last time we played them
Yeh I am not looking at it that way today lol, trying not to.
roguless54
8 Jun 2008, 15:44
Sounds like were playing like shit again in the first qtr.
Hope we put in a much better performance for the rest of the game, happy to be only 12 points down at qtr time really
Only reason I keep IE. Everything was working fine, including the radio stream, then the radio stream stopped all of a sudden, and I can access everything except for the AFL website. Figures.
Have you tried pasting the link into your media player?
http://xml.afl.com.au/live_audio.htm?mediaurl=rtsp://wm9.streaming.telstra.com/ucs-wh_afl0live5
I hate not being able to see the game. It doesn't come on until 3 in Tassie today.
Pathetic St Kilda...
should be up be 5 Goals minimum! :thumbsd:
A good first quarter usually means a big fat failure for the rest of the game..
Riewoldt missed a easy shot and so did milne, pretty much how we have kicked all season
Monkster
8 Jun 2008, 15:46
I hate not being able to see the game. It doesn't come on until 3 in Tassie today.
Not on at all up here
I don't like all this backwards kicking it sounds like we are doing.
Have you tried pasting the link into your media player?
http://xml.afl.com.au/live_audio.htm?mediaurl=rtsp://wm9.streaming.telstra.com/ucs-wh_afl0live5Yup. Thanks anyway, but I think a higher power just doesn't want me listening to this game right now. Hopefully it'll come good.
However, if the radio stations were able to stream their own stream, I'd be fine.
Any chance of someone putting some pressure on Gram? He only ever looks any good when no body goes anywhere near him.
Not on at all up hereI'll see your not on at all in Queensland and raise you a "I can never watch any delayed or not delayed game (apart from torrents) in Canada" ;)
Sounds like we're getting smashed around the ball, and have nothing at half forward.
Murphy hurts the h/f issue - but what's with our mids? Need to lift big time.
Monkster
8 Jun 2008, 15:54
Aker Goal!
Dogs_R_Us
Akerrrrrr!!!!!!!
kosifantutti
Direct radio links
MMM
mms://wm9.streaming.telstra.com/ucs-wh_afl0live5
ABC
mms://wm9.streaming.telstra.com/ucs-wh_afl0live9
3AW
mms://wm9.streaming.telstra.com/ucs-wh_afl0live11
Monkster
I'll see your not on at all in Queensland and raise you a "I can never watch any delayed or not delayed game (apart from torrents) in Canada" ;)
Hey at least you have the excuse of being in another country, and get to watch Hockey :p
Dogs_R_Us
8 Jun 2008, 15:55
Aker again!!!!!!! Dogs in front!
Monkster
8 Jun 2008, 15:55
Akers Second!
Hey at least you have the excuse of being in another country, and get to watch Hockey :pI certainly get my fair share of Ice Hockey that's for sure ;)
Keep it up boys.
Gee Aker is having a good year.
PoidaCat
8 Jun 2008, 15:57
St Kilda are more of a joke than Freo... :thumbsd:
Monkster
8 Jun 2008, 15:59
I certainly get my fair share of Ice Hockey that's for sure ;)
Get many Rangers games?
Get many Rangers games?I'm not a huge fan of the sport, but I do see a few Rangers games yeah. More often than not they'll be playing a Canadian team.
Gia hits back after Jones goals and its five points.
Huddo on report as well for striking Montanga. Kosi apparently has hurt his knee.
Monkster
8 Jun 2008, 16:08
Huddo on report as well for striking Montanga.
Hows his record?
fryingpan
8 Jun 2008, 16:10
This is the worst game of the year. Absolute shithouse.
How the ____ does Michael Gardiner get a game??? What a hack.
This is the worst game of the year. Absolute shithouse.Yeah, it's not much to watch for those of us constatly clicking refresh either.
This is the worst game of the year. Absolute shithouse.
How the ____ does Michael Gardiner get a game??? What a hack.
Certainly sounds like a shocker of a game at the moment.
Aker gets his third for the quarter - 11 touches in one term!
Dogs_R_Us
8 Jun 2008, 16:11
3 to Aker, Dogs by 11.
Monkster
8 Jun 2008, 16:12
Yeah, it's not much to watch for those of us constatly clicking refresh either.
If you've got an irc client go to #afl_live on Austnet
Monkster
8 Jun 2008, 16:15
GIA GOAL!
Another umpire mistake