View Full Version : Expansion "We'll be bigger than the Titans!"
Sebastian Balboa
3 Jun 2008, 19:11
A new player has emerged for a Gold Coast A-League side; Clive Palmer, estimated by the BRW magazine to be worth $1.5 billion, and he has the little league Titans in his sights.
Here's a few random quotes in italics from the Gold Coast Bulletin today, pages 1 and 4 (can’t find it online):
Queensland's richest man, Clive Palmer, predicted his bling-laden (potential Gold Coast A-League side) creation would surpass the popularity of the NRL Titans within five years of its conception.
"Take rugby league, it's just going round in circles," Palmer said. "The NRL is the same story told over and over. It's not going anywhere.
"Eventually, the public will get sicck of it and crave the sort of international competition only soccer can bring. Soccer is the future of Australian sport.
"We're going to be bigger than the Titans in time and we’'e going to be the team every player is going to want to play for."
Did fat boy Searle and Paul 'I Look Like Death Warmed Up' Broughton try to lure him?
While other codes have courted him, Mr Palmer chose soccer...
I'm sure he has AFL in his sights, but he's big on killing rugby league on the Gold Coast.
Searle, Broughton, you have a new enemy...
ParraEelsNRL
3 Jun 2008, 19:13
lol
:D
for the first time ever, i have to agree with parraeels
lol
Sebastian Balboa
3 Jun 2008, 19:38
<snip>
As much as I despise the 'culture to despise' (rl), I seriously hope for your sakes this bloke is all bluster.
ParraEelsNRL
3 Jun 2008, 19:43
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,23801122-5000940,00.html
We'll be richer than the Brisbane Broncos," Bleiberg boasted
Nothing quite like a rich merkin bringing in a new club with no history blowing his load and putting people off side straight away, nice way to get the fans in mate, keep it up and the new Gold Coast Soccer team will die quicker than any other sport has up there, and everyone knows how the Coast like to play with them for a while before they chew them up. :thumbsu:
stephen_bayne
3 Jun 2008, 20:34
:rolleyes:
I always said the new Gold Coast club would take Sydney FC's glamour club (he has boasted the boys will travel on his private jet) title away but by the looks of it they're also going for the club everyone loves to hate title as well.
Sounds like Nick Tana about 8 years ago.
Seriously.
[ Queensland's richest man, Clive Palmer, predicted his bling-laden (potential Gold Coast A-League side) creation would surpass the popularity of the NRL Titans within five years of its conception.
Correct
"Take rugby league, it's just going round in circles," Palmer said. "The NRL is the same story told over and over. It's not going anywhere.
Correct
"Eventually, the public will get sicck of it and crave the sort of international competition only soccer can bring. Soccer is the future of Australian sport.
Correct
"We're going to be bigger than the Titans in time and we’'e going to be the team every player is going to want to play for."
Correct
There are billionaires lining up left right and centre to buy A league teams on the cheap because they have more potential for growth then any other code. The other codes NRL and AFL will go well no doubt and turn a profit but if this guy gets it right with Gold Coast United the international nature of the game could lead to more increased profits than the other codes with Australian teams competing in Asia now. He is the second billionaire to get involved in the A league Frank Lowy is the other, there is also the Wellington owner who has 350 million and perhaps Gordon with Wollongong who is a billionaire these big businessmen don't get involved in something unless the see something which is appealing money wise or self exposure wise.
Professor Knowall
3 Jun 2008, 23:28
...There are billionaires lining up left right and centre to buy A league teams on the cheap because they have more potential for growth then any other code. The other codes NRL and AFL will go well no doubt and turn a profit but if this guy gets it right with Gold Coast United the international nature of the game could lead to more increased profits than the other codes with Australian teams competing in Asia now. He is the second billionaire to get involved in the A league Frank Lowy is the other, there is also the Wellington owner who has 350 million and perhaps Gordon with Wollongong who is a billionaire these big businessmen don't get involved in something unless the see something which is appealing money wise or self exposure wise.
In other words, some filthy rich with lots of $$$ to spare are seeing an opportunity to line their own pockets with revenue taken from the sport (e.g. people like Geoff Lord, who doesn't even follow soccer, but sees it as a golden way of milking money from its supporters - for his own profit)
Funnily enough, it even seems some here somehow think that's a good thing!
Not me. Stuff that!
More than happy that Collingwoods profits all go back to the membership owned club, not making some rich owner even richer.
There are no less than 10 millionaire/billionaires willing to put money into new A League clubs, including three in Melbourne and two in West Sydney.
In comparison, Nick Tana was chicken feed. (Pardon the pun.)
The main attraction is the A League's exposure to the Asian markets, containing half of the world's population.
Australian soccer's acceptance into the Asian soccer federation was a masterstroke. Perhaps we will never know how Lowy swung it, but he managed to change a 180 to 1 vote against Australia into unanimous acceptance.
And now we are feeling the benefits of being part of Asia. Every world cup qualifier held in Australia, like the Australia vs Iraq game, brings in $3 million for the FFA.
Perhaps in future, a soccer rivalry with India will develop out of the Asian connection, in addition to our traditional cricket rivalry.
It wasn't widely reported, but at a recent game against Bayern Munich in Kolkata, 20,000 Indian soccer fans were turned away. The ground only held 120,000.
RussellEbertHandball
4 Jun 2008, 03:05
Sounds like Nick Tana about 8 years ago.
Seriously.
What ever happened to Tana? Run out of money to pump into the Glory or was he given the arse? If so, who owns the Glory these days?
stmookeyj
4 Jun 2008, 05:07
What ever happened to Tana? Run out of money to pump into the Glory or was he given the arse? If so, who owns the Glory these days?
Tana I believe lost interest, and I think the FFA eventually found a consortium in this current off season, but I'm not certain.
littleduck
4 Jun 2008, 09:40
It's a good goal for Mr Billionaire point five to have, but its probably not good publicity, but its warm & fuzzy stuff for the converted.
If the A-League grows into Asia and broadcast rights grow beyond both AFL and NRL, then who knows, maybe the A-League will be able to compete with some other leagues around the world. The EPL will always be unsurpassable, but there are plenty of mid-tier leagues around the world where the best players choose to go because of the money.
In any event, I only see positives for the Gold Coast community if they embrace a winter football team and a summer football team and follow their local footy teams all year round. Oh, and a bit of AFL on the side just to put the icing on the cake.
[ There are billionaires lining up left right and centre to buy A league teams on the cheap because they have more potential for growth then any other code. The other codes NRL and AFL will go well no doubt and turn a profit but if this guy gets it right with Gold Coast United the international nature of the game could lead to more increased profits than the other codes with Australian teams competing in Asia now. He is the second billionaire to get involved in the A league Frank Lowy is the other, there is also the Wellington owner who has 350 million and perhaps Gordon with Wollongong who is a billionaire these big businessmen don't get involved in something unless the see something which is appealing money wise or self exposure wise.
If you're a smart business man - its a no brainer sponsoring soccer - it has a far higher investment return.
The Socceroos Iraq game got more than double the spectators than any other footy code that w\e in brissie all excuses aside (in season for AFL & NRL, mind you), even had tickets twice the price, got viewers in the millions in at least four countries including here, iraq, qatar and a small country called china, and get this, they could probably sponsor the game at far cheaper rtae than the AFL or NRL game!
What would you sponsor?
Now consider sponsoring a new A-league franchise, versus another Melb AFL team or Syd NRL team. For an A-league team, you spend less money and get exposure globally for games in the Asian CHampions League and games like LA Galaxy and Juve. Imagine how happy Samsung were, watching Victory play Gamba Osaka in Japan in front of Japanese and Victorian audience, with Victory having Samsung on their tops with the other team having Panasonic. Compare that to having Samsung on the Carlon tops. And the Melb Victory sposorship is a lot less money!
If people want to continually dismiss the power of soccer then that's great, it keeps the sponsorship opportunities attractive.
Tana I believe lost interest, and I think the FFA eventually found a consortium in this current off season, but I'm not certain.
That's pretty much true. Tana got sick of propping the club up year after year and probably saw the writing on the wall.
The Glory are now owned by a consortium led by Tony Sage, a very rich man as well. He was predicting profits after a couple of years, but it would seem highly unlikely that's going to happen - which begs the question as to how many millions are they prepared to pump in.
The thing about rich people is that they generally don't like losing money year after year. It's all well and good to proclaim ambitions of grandeur - but what if crowds aren't what you hoped they'd be, and your sponsors aren't prepared to pump in the dollars you wanted? How many years are they going to fill the shortfall until enough is enough?
stephen_bayne
4 Jun 2008, 13:32
Last season apparently a group of three millionaires bid for and won the licence. Perth Glory are said to now be financially stable but there are always rumours saying they're about to go belly up. Now all they have to do is start winning regular games again.
That's pretty much true. Tana got sick of propping the club up year after year and probably saw the writing on the wall.
Tana was quite open about what he wanted to happen years before he finally moved on. He had three goals, all of which were achieved.
A rectangular stadium for Glory
Frank Lowy as head of soccer in Australia.
The launch of a nationwide league, based on the Glory model of one multicultural club per city.
Tana was one of the main instigators of the push to get rid of the NSL deadwood that was holding soccer back, and to get Frank Lowy on board.
Channels 9 and 7 actually showed Tana handing out pro Lowy leaflets before a grand final at Subi Oval.
Glory has been at the bottom of the ladder for the past three years, but that can be rectified by an injection of new cash, new blood and new players.
Unfortunately, both the Eagles and Dockers have now joined Glory at the bottom of the ladder, so there is very little sporting cheer in WA.
:(
Sebastian Balboa
4 Jun 2008, 19:58
It's a good goal for Mr Billionaire point five to have, but its probably not good publicity, but its warm & fuzzy stuff for the converted.
If the A-League grows into Asia and broadcast rights grow beyond both AFL and NRL, then who knows, maybe the A-League will be able to compete with some other leagues around the world. The EPL will always be unsurpassable, but there are plenty of mid-tier leagues around the world where the best players choose to go because of the money.
In any event, I only see positives for the Gold Coast community if they embrace a winter football team and a summer football team and follow their local footy teams all year round. Oh, and a bit of AFL on the side just to put the icing on the cake.
Very revealing :cool:
Extremely interesting, also, is there is not a word, not a boo, from Messrs Searle and Broughton in today's GC Bulletin in repsonse to Mr Palmer.
Had this been the AFL, they would have been all over this like a rash. Perhaps they're still trying to court Mr Billionaire Point Five...
Holding The Ball
4 Jun 2008, 20:13
This article lacks a source.
I googled it and nothing came up.
What a surprise..
Sebastian Balboa
4 Jun 2008, 20:29
Not everything is Google-able.
Pages 1 and 4 in yesterday's GC Bulletin...
littleduck
5 Jun 2008, 09:47
Very revealing :cool:
Extremely interesting, also, is there is not a word, not a boo, from Messrs Searle and Broughton in today's GC Bulletin in repsonse to Mr Palmer.
Had this been the AFL, they would have been all over this like a rash. Perhaps they're still trying to court Mr Billionaire Point Five...You're right, but I would say its because Mr Billy Point Five remains a "gunner" (gunner do this, & gunnder do that), whereas AFL have gone beyond "gunner" but have not quite reached "done it".
Ice-Wolf
5 Jun 2008, 10:16
You're right, but I would say its because Mr Billy Point Five remains a "gunner" (gunner do this, & gunnder do that), whereas AFL have gone beyond "gunner" but have not quite reached "done it".
Better than NRL. At least the AFL doesn't rest on it laurels.
Dasher39
5 Jun 2008, 13:03
A Press Conference to announce this new team (Gold Coast United) has been called for tomorrow.
Clive Palmer will arrive at Coolangatta by Private Jet and (if he gets approval) will then fly to Skilled Park for the announcement by Privte Helicopter. This guy doesn't do anything in half measures.
He has also said that his team will fly to all games in a private jet and has targetted Harry Kewell as their first marquee player. This guy is going to be amazing for the Gold Coast.
From today's Bulletin.
Palmer edges closer to A-League licence (http://www.goldcoast.com.au/article/2008/06/04/12054_gold-coast-sport.html)
David Lewis
04 Jun 08
BILLIONAIRE Clive Palmer was on a high in more ways than one last night as he winged his way to Western Australia on his private jet with an A-League licence all but in his grasp.
The mining mogul's Gold Coast United consortium has barged aside the flawed rival bid of the Galaxy and, pending the formality of due diligence checks, will be one of two newcomers in an expanded format for 2009-2010.
With legal documents still to be delivered to Football Federation Australia headquarters, the peak body's CEO Ben Buckley said in a statement that Palmer was now the 'exclusive' bidder from the Coast.
He fell short of the outright licence offer the consortium was expecting, saying he was 'very encouraged by the quality of the bid'.
But FFA insiders insist ratification is a certainty for $2.5 billion man Palmer and his team.
Palmer spoke with FFA chairman, and fellow billionaire, Frank Lowy before the FFA's four-hour board meeting in Sydney to determine the bona-fides of 10 would-be A-League franchises.
Other bids included Wollongong, two from Townsville, Melbourne and two from Western Sydney.
Palmer had planned an official launch at a media conference at Coolangatta airport on Friday. That may be delayed though until the final paperwork is in place.
His whirlwind romance with the FFA began just six days ago.
It was consummated at a meeting featuring Palmer, nominal Gold Coast CEO Geoff Smith, Buckley and FFA commercial operations chief John O'Sullivan in Brisbane over the weekend.
Palmer wrote a cheque for $6 million in start-up costs almost on the spot to underline his ardour for the A-League and to leave the rival Galaxy bid in the cold.
With infinite financial resources at his disposal, Palmer has ordered head coach-elect Miron Bleiberg to put Socceroo skipper Harry Kewell on his shopping list as a maiden marque player.
But that may be a plan too far with the clubless former Liverpool winger committed to at least three more seasons in Europe.
Other big names will be targeted by the team with its own private jet, a pre-season tour to Asia planned for 2009 and a budget and glamorous image straight from a Hollywood movie set.
Fred Taplin, talisman of the gazumped Galaxy bid, last night confirmed his consortium was out of the race.
He said in a statement: "Owing to unexpected events at the end of last week, whereby some key management personnel defected to a rival bid, the Gold Coast Galaxy asked FFA yesterday in advance of their board meeting for extra time to replace elements of the management structure.
"We also advised the FFA that if we could not be given the extra time necessary we would offer to withdraw our submission. It was felt by our consortium that it was not in anyone's interests for there to be two competing bids."
Gold Coast Soccer chairman Peter Gray, who may be recruited as the new team's general manager, is aiming for a synergy between his organisation -- and it's 8000 young players -- and Project Palmer.
"We have our youth development programs and that should be a natural feeder into the new club," said Gray.
"It's always been my dream for an A-League team to take the game forward here and it's coming true. It will help make us the biggest sport on the Coast."So what will Demetriou do tomorrow on the Gold Coast to try and trump this and take away the publicity it will generate? :rolleyes:
stephen_bayne
5 Jun 2008, 13:25
Yeah, all this WE'RE EXPANDING... in 2011 crap is really annoying especially with all the media attention it's getting. I love Aussie Rules but the media really overdoes it with mundane stories getting coverage at the expense of other sports.
Sebastian Balboa
5 Jun 2008, 18:46
You're right, but I would say its because Mr Billy Point Five remains a "gunner" (gunner do this, & gunnder do that), whereas AFL have gone beyond "gunner" but have not quite reached "done it".
Ok, I look forward to your denunciations of Clive Palmer if he wins the A-League licence and restates his desire to overtake the Titans and rugby league on the Gold Coast.
littleduck
6 Jun 2008, 10:06
Ok, I look forward to your denunciations of Clive Palmer if he wins the A-League licence and restates his desire to overtake the Titans and rugby league on the Gold Coast.
Why would I denunciate Clive Palmer when he gets the Gold Coast A-League licence? Of course his desire would be "we are gunner be the biggest and the most popular football team on the Gold Coast". I'd be worried about his motives if his desire was to be second best.
Beaussie
6 Jun 2008, 11:24
Why would I denunciate Clive Palmer when he gets the Gold Coast A-League licence? Of course his desire would be "we are gunner be the biggest and the most popular football team on the Gold Coast". I'd be worried about his motives if his desire was to be second best.
Where is fat guts Searle from the Gold Coast Titans with his usual dribble about the arrogant FFA/A-League and their plans for the Gold Coast? Oh that's right, he only fears and makes comments about the AFL. :rolleyes:
Palmer wrote a cheque for $6 million in start-up costs almost on the spot to underline his ardour for the A-League and to leave the rival Galaxy bid in the cold.
This Palmer sounds like the kind of guy the A League needs more of.
Definently sounds good for Soccer up here on the Goldy. Seriousaly can't wait for this team, will definently be better than going to Brissy every second week.
BTW Why would Searle make comments about a team that may play half a season max in competition with the Titans compared to a team and code that is in direct competition with the Titans?
Definently sounds good for Soccer up here on the Goldy. Seriousaly can't wait for this team, will definently be better than going to Brissy every second week.
BTW Why would Searle make comments about a team that may play half a season max in competition with the Titans compared to a team and code that is in direct competition with the Titans?
So, are you saying that you don't think Soccer is in competition with Rugby League?
Just what is Soccer in competition with then?
Sebastian Balboa
8 Jun 2008, 00:19
Not sure where you learnt comprehension, but here's a tip: Have a look at the thread title.
So? He can sya whatever he wants. It's hard to be bigger than something you don't compete against.
Beaussie
8 Jun 2008, 15:47
Well fat guts Searle has come out in support of the new A-League franchise on the Gold Coast. Compare his comments below regarding the A-League to those about the AFL on the Gold Coast. This fat f%$* hypocrite shits me.
AFL falls behind on the Gold Coast
By Stuart Honeysett
June 07, 2008
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,23824555-23214,00.html
FAR from feeling threatened by having an A-League team on the Gold Coast, Titans managing director Michael Searle believes it could be a fatal blow to the AFL's hopes of establishing a club on the tourist strip.
The prediction came after Football Federation Australia this week all but rubber-stamped the addition of a Gold Coast club for the 2009-2010 season.
With the Titans already well entrenched and supported in the area, Searle believes the AFL may leave its run too late when it arrives in 2011.
"I think what it does is put incredible pressure on the AFL," Searle said of FFA's plans to back a Gold Coast proposal from millionaire property and mining magnate Clive Palmer.
"This manoeuvre would be giving the AFL second thoughts about coming into this market.
"There's a finite amount of revenue here as far as sponsorship and hospitality goes and soccer's clearly got a jump on AFL now in the market."
There has been no love lost between the NRL and AFL as they battle for control of south-east Queensland.
The pair went to war early in 2006 with a dispute over Carrara Stadium. The NRL accused the AFL of running interference on the ground's configuration. In 2007 the AFL scheduled a maximum of 10 games for the Kangaroos over three years while the Titans played their inaugural season at Carrara.
Since then the AFL has committed to establishing a team in the area in 2011 and it wasreported the league will use big salaries to lure untried teenagers from other codes.
While the AFL also has plans to establish a club in western Sydney in 2012, Searle said the real battle will be fought on his doorstep.
"Clearly they've shown their hand in regards to scheduling, they've shown their hand on a number of issues of running interference in our inaugural year," Searle said.
"This is going to be a long, drawn-out battle. I'm still not convinced the war of the codes is going to be based in western Sydney, I still think the battle is for southeast Queensland.
"They've clearly drawn a line. They're going to put $30million into development in this area. We put $600,000 a year.
"We need to be strong and we won't rest until we're as strong as we possibly can be."
Searle decided against biting back at some comments from Palmer, who claimed his A-League club would be more successful than the Titans.
Given Palmer's club wants to play at the Queensland Government-owned Skilled Park, of which the Titans are the main tenant, Searle said he was hopeful the pair could work together.
"To me, soccer feeds off our legacy, which is a brilliant stadium," Searle said.
"I would hope that we would be able to work closely with the soccer franchise in whatever capacity. I'm not sure what sort of relationship we'd have with them, but I would think it would be one we'd work in collaboration together."
The NRL and the A-League have shown they can work in unison with the Newcastle Knights enjoying a close relationship with the Jets.
Knights chief executive Steve Burraston is known to catch up regularly with Jets chief executive John Tsatsimas and chairman Con Constantine while the players have shared training sessions.
The NSW Government owns EnergyAustralia Stadium but leases it to the Knights and they in turn sub-lease it to the Jets.
"We don't see them as a competitor," Burraston said.
"It's a summer sport against a winter sport, it's a different demographic. We attract different audiences and we more than likely attract different sponsorship and corporate supporters as well. I'm quite happy to co-exist with them and we have a pretty cosy relationship."
NRL chief executive David Gallop remains confident in his own product.
"We realise soccer or football is the major international game but we back our game and the people of the Gold Coast to remain loyal to the Titans," Gallop said.
"We were under pressure to put a team at the Gold Coast but waited until the infrastructure was in place and the work had been put into community involvement. On any measure they've been an outstanding success and the other codes must take them on to beat them."
Gotta love it.
Searle knows that an A-league club won't be as big a threat as an AFL one, which is why he spent more time talking about the AFL than the A-league in an A-league related discussion.
Neither is a threat. I'm more baffled as to why he even bothers to enter into these debates...the Titans could just sit back and do nothing, and still stay at the top as long as they send the players around the schools on a whim to sign autographs once in a while...they had this battle won before it even started...
Sebastian Balboa
9 Jun 2008, 10:42
Neither is a threat. I'm more baffled as to why he even bothers to enter into these debates...the Titans could just sit back and do nothing, and still stay at the top as long as they send the players around the schools on a whim to sign autographs once in a while...they had this battle won before it even started...
It's all about agenda and protecting his private plaything ... err, 'club' from that big and nasty 'Victorian' game.
Oh, and the fat ____'s supplies of party pies...
http://images.newsphotos.com.au/images6/Lores/95005018.jpg
Keeping the Gold Coast City Council pro-league is his most taxing job, and it isn't hard. The AFL actually worked out its Carrara contract with the GCCC before the Titans announced they'd need the ground for 2007, and they put the foot down about keeping to the contract and not renovating Carrara to the point where the Kangas couldn't use it, so all that rubbish about the AFL interfering with Carrara and league is wrong - the AFL was there first. But until the AFL got uppity, the councillors were that far (insert phallic member size icon of anyone you don't like here) from going ahead with Searle's wishes...
So there's probably a grudge factor involved, and the typical corporate mentality where you're supposed to call every other product cr @p if you're selling something else...sharing the costs of renting Robina and not sharing timeslots with a summer game must make soccer an attractive partner, but if they were head to head Searle would be onto that too...