View Full Version : R11 FaceOff - Adelaide vs Richmond

Vader
3 Jun 2008, 21:00
Many thanks to Realistic Tiger for getting the ball rolling:
Well I have been asked to do this and after sitting through last weeks game it is very hard to do this with any sort of enthusiasm but I'll give it my best shot.

Richmond vs Adelaide:

Head to Head:
All time - Richmond 8 Adelaide 15
Last 5 games - Richmond 1 Adelaide 4
Last Time They Met - Adelaide def Richmond 99-90 at AAMI Stadium Round 8 2007

Recent Form:
Before the debacle against the Swans, Richmond had been showing some reasonably good form against quality sides but all that looks as if it has gone to waste if Richmond can't turn things around this weekend against the Crows.

Before the Game:
Wallace will have made it clear to the players that a repeat performance will not be tolerated, especially in front of the Richmond faithful at the MCG. Richmond have lost Captain and former Crow Kane Johnson for 3-4 weeks with a knee injury. Apart from that they are pretty much at full strength. However, I do expect there to be more than one change for this game with players like Edwards, Hyde, Pattison & White in danger of losing their places. Raines is a possible inclusion along with Tivendale, Polak and Morton.

3 Players to Watch:
Deledio - averaging just under 25 possessions per game in 10 games this season and had a career best 32 touches against the Swans last week. The only problem is that most of his possessions are in the form of handballs instead of hurting sides with run and carry.

Richardson - averaging 19 possessions and 11 marks per game, is currently in career best form and one of the favourites for the Brownlow medal at the moment. The question is have opposition teams worked out that Richo playing on the wing is not really going to hurt them as much as it was a few weeks back now that they use Richo's opponent as a loose man in defense? Will be interesting to see how the Crows tackle the Richo dilemma this week?

McMahon - averaging 22 possessions and 6 marks playing Bowdens old role as the quarterback across the half back line. Sets up a lot of the counter attacking play from our back half and is either lurking around the back of the player with the ball for a hand ball or will camp out on the opposing flank to get the switch of play started.

Line Up:
Will provide this on Thursday when teams are announced.

Gameplan:
Richmond will try and get back to what made the competitive against sides like the Dogs, Saints, Hawks, Cats & Freo which was hard running football and winning contested posessions. It will be interesting to see how that goes against the 3rd best defensive unit in the game in Adelaide who allow only 12 goals per game kicking 14 themselves. The problem is the last 2 weeks the Crows have not exactly been in that sort of form which does give Richmond some hope. The Bombers were able to push the Crows last week and if Richmond can get back to how they were playing before the Swans game it could make for an interesting game on Saturday afternoon.

One thing Wallace will need to do though is get someone to sit on Thompson who has been in rare form the last 2 weeks. I think that job will go to Tuck this week who was able to shut down Joel Corey to a degree a few weeks back and could do the same sort of job this week on ST.

The other headache we would have had in Burton, has been removed due to the softness of the AFL's MRP, and thank God that he is missing is all I can say.

Result:
While it would be easy for me to just pick the Crows, I just think that Richmond have a very good chance this week and with Burton missing from the forward line I think we're a better chance than what we were Sunday afternoon around 4pm. Despite that I think I'm going to have to say the Crows will get up but only by 1-2 goals as I think any team that can have 22 & 29 scoring shots 2 weeks running obviously isn't having problems getting the ball inside their F50. For Richmond to get up they are going to have to make the most of the chances the Crows do give them up forward.

macca23
3 Jun 2008, 21:35
This one is a dead-set danger game for us.

We are only just travelling at the moment and our interstate form is not good so far this year.

Richmond were shit-house last week but can play very good footy on their day.

If Richmond hit us with the intensity that West coast and Essendon did, we will struggle.

I'd settle for a win by 1 to 2 goals.

IddyBiddy
3 Jun 2008, 21:50
This one is a dead-set danger game for us.

We are only just travelling at the moment and our interstate form is not good so far this year.

Richmond were shit-house last week but can play very good footy on their day.

If Richmond hit us with the intensity that West coast and Essendon did, we will struggle.

I'd settle for a win by 1 to 2 goals.

Agree. I've felt this as a real danger game since the draw. The loss of Burton is huge, we'll need to look at our HF line and hope Tippett gets some slack from the umps and has some glue on his hands.

Crows by 9

Chief Crow
3 Jun 2008, 22:19
Will be interesting if NC line Bocky on Richo. Think that could be a big win for us if he does. Bocky will continually set up from the back running the ball into our forward line as Richo will not be accountable

Valentino Dmitri
3 Jun 2008, 22:35
I'm really excited about this game. We REALLY need to perform if we want to keep our spot in the top 4, this should be a good test for us. At the very least we'll see where we're at.

Baron Winds
4 Jun 2008, 01:37
Good write up RT. Been worried about this game for a few weeks now.. With Johnson gone and the form the tiges showed last week I was given a little hope until it was announced Birdman got 2 weeks :( I am hoping Gill comes in and plays a blinder. Like Burton, Gill has alot of x factor and is hard to match up on so imo is a pretty good replacement but we shall see on thursday i guess...

F*** i hope the Crows win.. My son is turning 3 on that Saturday and we are taking him to his first ever AFL game for his birthday. On top of that i am pretty sure i am sitting pretty close to the tiges cheers squad as the crows usually take the Ponsford end.. He has his crows gurnsey, beanie, scarf, raincoat etc and has been dying to wear them much to the missus displeasure (collingwood supporter).

Crows by 9 points in a thriller

PCORF
4 Jun 2008, 02:10
This is a must win game for us. Its win or go home.

PCORF
4 Jun 2008, 02:13
Good write up RT. Been worried about this game for a few weeks now.. With Johnson gone and the form the tiges showed last week I was given a little hope until it was announced Birdman got 2 weeks :( I am hoping Gill comes in and plays a blinder. Like Burton, Gill has alot of x factor and is hard to match up on so imo is a pretty good replacement but we shall see on thursday i guess...

F*** i hope the Crows win.. My son is turning 3 on that Saturday and we are taking him to his first ever AFL game for his birthday. On top of that i am pretty sure i am sitting pretty close to the tiges cheers squad as the crows usually take the Ponsford end.. He has his crows gurnsey, beanie, scarf, raincoat etc and has been dying to wear them much to the missus displeasure (collingwood supporter).

Crows by 9 points in a thriller

Maybe at home they'll win by 9 points. Its much harder to win a road game by that margain.

NSWCROW
4 Jun 2008, 02:19
Mini-Final

jenny61_99
4 Jun 2008, 10:24
Will be interesting if NC line Bocky on Richo. Think that could be a big win for us if he does. Bocky will continually set up from the back running the ball into our forward line as Richo will not be accountable

Richardson has been lining up on the wing. Would you still put Bocky there?

James_37
4 Jun 2008, 11:23

Last weekend against the swans, he was put against Lewis Roberts-Thompson, where LRT basically let him roam relatively free along the wings and just cut off all Richmonds attacking forays from half back, going on the theory that he probably won't hurt teams terribly much up on the wing. I think Bocky is a smart enough player to play on Richo as he would know when to zone off and when to man up, he will also put pressure on Richo to be accountable. I doubt Bock would have too many problems running with Richo, maybe a few years ago it would have been different, but Bock should be able to keep up no worries.

Vic Crow
4 Jun 2008, 13:13
I've got this week for the Crows, right? I'll be on it this afternoon.

cmndstab
4 Jun 2008, 13:18
Awesome, I love Vic Crow's writeups :)

Great work Realistic Tiger, good luck this weekend but I feel that this could be the game the Crows finally start firing on all cylinders again. I get the feeling I'm pushing against the norm with that opinion though.

Dandy_GO
4 Jun 2008, 13:22
I've got this week for the Crows, right? I'll be on it this afternoon.

Naw, It's me again, VC (sorry to dissappoint, stabby).
I'll admit I completely forgot, though, and failed to even notice Vader's reminder PM thanks to the new layout.
But yeah, just did a bit of work towards it and should be back a couple of hours after lunch to finish it off.

cmndstab
4 Jun 2008, 14:43
You've got big shoes to fill Dandy!! ;)

Looking forward to it!

Chief Crow
4 Jun 2008, 17:37

Yeah he is can let Richo get cheap kicks on the wing and just sit back and chop off forward entrys, then run it out. Richo wont man him up which will work better for us

cwebb(go_fish#14)
4 Jun 2008, 17:43
is Andy Otten close to a game???

IddyBiddy
4 Jun 2008, 17:47

He was an emergency last week. He's close, but it's hard to see who he could replace at the moment. Burton may be the only out and it's unlikely he'll score that spot.

Chief Crow
4 Jun 2008, 17:54

I want him to debut this week. He has been in great form playing in a crap team. I think he deserves it

topjars
4 Jun 2008, 17:57
http://news.realfooty.com.au/sport/tigers-loss-to-swans-questionable-20080603-2l7s.html

This article is setting the Tigers up to be ferocious; I hope we are up to it:confused:
This is the consumate danger game particularly without Burton who has provided us with a heartbeat.

itsintheblood
4 Jun 2008, 18:09
I think adelaides fitness and bigger bodies will be telling in the end although the one player I was afraid could rip us a new one, Burton, is fortunately for us not there. If I was asked to pick one crows player to stand out this week it would have been the birdman. He's a freak and we really have no one who could contain him apart from probably Thursfield.

Anyway, I expect the crows to win by around 4 or 5 goals.

ams4crows
4 Jun 2008, 19:01
scott welsh would be handy he seems to like playing against richmond!!

anyway I'm hoping hentchel gets the call up no wait maybe I do want gill I want Hentchel to play his first at home so we can give him a standing ovation!

sante
4 Jun 2008, 19:11
The last time the opposition got us to do one of these face-offs was the week I did it for the Freo game after we were thumped and I wrote it with no confidence in the Tigers at all (So has Realistic Tiger). That game ended up being a beauty so lets hope history repeats itself. :thumbsu:

footy4ever
4 Jun 2008, 20:28
Awesome, I love Vic Crow's writeups :)

Great work Realistic Tiger, good luck this weekend but I feel that this could be the game the Crows finally start firing on all cylinders again. I get the feeling I'm pushing against the norm with that opinion though.

I'm with you. Think crows can play themselves back into form. Think they will win well, even though I worried about this game a couple of weeks ago. Crows are better than playing three stinkers in a row.

Dandy_GO
4 Jun 2008, 22:26
Sorry about the delay folks. Completely forgot it was my turn again, missed Vader's PM because of the layout change coupled with the fact that I've barely been able to get online at all this week, then had to spend the arvo helping the missus pack for a trip to Sydney. Anyway, sorry again, and here goes!

Head to Head:
Realistic Tiger covered our record, so I'd like to go into a bit more depth, particularly about our game in 2006. We were absolutely flying at that stage, were 6 and 1, and had thumped our previous 3 opponents by an average of 61 points. Richmond were 2 and 5, and were coming off a 118 mauling at the hands of the Swans. Adelaide lost, in what was probably the worst game in the history of sport. While it was ugly, Terry Wallace's team made a mockery of Neil Craig's previously successful gameplan, and Craigy took far too long to make any changes, leading to one of the biggest upsets in history (I believe Adelaide were something like $1.02 for the win). Last year, whilst we weren't quite travelling as well as 2006, Richmond pushed us to the limit, in what was a very exciting game, with the Crows falling over the line by 9 points.

Current form:
We're not going so flash.
In our last 3 games, we've barely beaten ESSENDON, lost to a craphouse West Coast side, and had what was probably the least impressive 12 goal win I've ever seen against Melbourne. Various players have been well down on their best, including a tiring Jon Griffin, pre-seasonless Nathan Bassett, and the ageing Tyson Edwards. All three, and several others, will need to lift if we're to get over the line against a far more competitive Richmond side than we're used to.

One for the superstitious:
Just like in the 2006 debacle, Adelaide are playing Richmond in Melbourne the week after a massive Tigers loss to Sydney.

Matchups and analysis:

HOT TOPIC: Burton, we'll miss you!
Brett Burton has really stepped up to the role of number 1 forward this season. He's been far more consistent than ever before, and is terrorising defences week in, week out. Having kicked 28 goals for the season (8th in the league, overall) and taken 78 marks (9th overall), he's been in red hot form and has really helped us move on since Scott Welsh's departure.
We are going to miss him. Badly.
Who will come in? That's pretty much the big question at the crows this week. McGregor is back in good form, albeit as a defender, in the SANFL. He's been a regular in the WWT best players when not required by Adelaide, but the fact that he's about as mobile as a tree is still a massive downfall, considering we're trying to replace the most mobile guy in our team. Gill is a similar player to Burton (and Richo for that matter) in that he's a great grab, works bloody hard, and regularly goes a bit mental. He's be a great addition, but having seen him the SANFL last round, he's got a lot to prove in terms of fitness. Trent Hentschel is also an option to make a LONG awaited return, but, again, he's still a couple of weeks off peak fitness.
That leaves just one man. Luke Jericho is the frontrunner to replace Burton, and, whilst he's not my favourite player, he's quick on the lead and he may be able to hack away at the Richmond defence, as we'd hope that with his career on the line, his workrate would be up there with Burton's. While Burton's absence (and Jericho's probable inclusion) pretty much makes our forwardline look the worst it has since... last season, Goodwin, Tippett, Douglas and Porplyzia have all proved themselves to be dangerous enough that we SHOULD be able to kick a winning score.

Who gets Richo?
Short answer: Bock.
Long answer: Nathan Bock
Longest answer: Probably Nathan Bock. Last week saw Richo get plenty of touches, but, for the first time this year, fail to score a goal. The incredibly unco-looking Lewis Roberts-Thompson played a superb game on Richardson, allowing him to run up the ground, but not allowing him to have any influence up forward. Bock is more than capable of playing this role, and should be able to provide his brilliant rebound at the same time.

Forwadline:
As forementioned, we're losing a 3 goal forward in Burton, which, in turn, frees up a defender to take Goodwin or Porplyzia, curbing their own influence. Tippett will probably be picked up by the up and coming Will Thursfield, who is more than capable of keeping Tippett out of the game. Whilst our forwardline is pretty crap, however, Richmond's defence is pretty crap itself, conceding an average of 105 points this season. While I do like the look of a couple of their young defenders, I believe we should be able to break even in this area, but I'd hope our players are wary of the rebound coming out of Richmond's defence. Jake King, in particular, has been in hot form this year. Our forwards must not expect an easy game, because they'll all have to work very hard this week.

Midfield:
Johnson is a big blow to Richmond, despite all the flak he cops. He's a very valuable player to them, and they will miss his defensive and ball winning capabilities. Mark Coughlan, who was their best midfielder at one stage, has spent the past 2 seasons on the injury list, and won't be back for a while. Completely irrelevant, I know, but I'm a big fan and wanted to mention him. Good luck on the comeback trail, Cogz!
Anyway, Richmond's Johnson-less (tee hee) midfield, still has plenty of quality, with high draft picks Deledio, Tambling and Cotchin (IMO the best of last years draft from what I've seen) running around in there, with great support from Foley etc. Our midfield is also quite young, with Goodwin and Edwards getting in the guts less frequently. Reilly hasn't been at his best since his return from injury, and Symes is still out, so we're not quite at full strength, but in Thompson, Knights, van Berlo and Vince, we have plenty of quality, and with Goodwin, Porplyzia, Edwards etc all capable of rotating in when needed, we should be able to win the midfield battle quite comfortably. Will need to play a LOT better than the previous two

Defence:
Rock solid. No offence to Richmond, but I don't expect much trouble here.

The accuracy question:
So much talk has been made of our kicking, so I'll leave that to another thread, but I believe that we've been down in many areas in the last few weeks, and our goalkicking (which has been reasonably poor for a while anyway) was made to look worse due to more shots being taken from outside 50 and on ridiculous angles. Still, if our kicking was to improve, this would be the week, after the kick up the arse of last weekend.

Players to watch:
Maric has been in hot form, however Griffin is a better matchup for Simmonds and was excellent (picked up a brownlow vote in just his 8th game) in our game last year. I expect he'll start in ruck again, despite being tired, and hopefully put in a better performance than last week.

Luke Jericho. I'm probably his biggest critic here, although I'm far from alone. I don't think he should be on our list, but IF he plays this week, I'll be hoping for a good game from him. Needs to kick some serious goals to keep his career alive, and hopefully get his hands dirty in the process.

Jason Porplyzia. In brilliant form, and a brilliant player to watch.

Someone get on Pettifer!
He always plays very well against us despite the fact that he looks like he hasn't slept in weeks. Since getting back into the first team, he's been in good form. Expect him to take a mark of the year contender again.

Who will win?
We should, but we'll need to lift a hell of a lot to do it. If we play as we did against West Coast, Richmond will thump us.
We have the cattle to win, but will we translate that into a good performance? ____ knows.
Also, I'm hoping Terry Wallace doesn't somehow upstage Craig again, because last time it made for a really shit game.
11 points, Adelaide's way.
Here's hoping for a ripsnorter!

http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/600/jerichoissoftstillidontbg9.gif
Smiles all round as Crow enforcer "Lethal" Luke Jericho dishes out a massive bump on 3 Richmond players.

Vic Crow
4 Jun 2008, 23:13
Great write up Dandy and even more props for the photoshop. :D

Jake King has been down for the past few weeks, but the rumour going around the traps is that he's been playing hurt. I love him though. He's probably my favourite non-Adelaide player because he's a mangy dog with a touch of added mongrel. King, along with Jordan McMahon could hurt us if our forwards aren't accountable. I also wonder where Joel Bowden is going to play. He came back into the senior side playing as a forward, but I believe he got shifted back last week. :confused:

cmndstab
4 Jun 2008, 23:35
Nice work Dandy :)

Looking at Adelaide and Richmond, the two teams actually match up pretty well with each other. Both midfields are young and relatively classy, the forward-lines are maligned but potent on their day, the defence is fairly solid (though I would have to give the nod to the Crows) and the rucks play similarly.

I'm going to be out fishing this weekend so I'll have to listen to it on the radio but I'll get the tape of it later on and watch it properly. I'm looking forward to the game!

Equus
5 Jun 2008, 01:13
Interesting. I will enjoy this game.
One thing though, Adelaide has reverted back to the crap that they played last year. Not the exciting brand that they established at the beginning of the year.

Why?

Carl Spackler
5 Jun 2008, 01:15
Who gets Nathan Brown? Has been in pretty good form lately, Sydney game aside. Very dangerous player.

Bassett doesn't strike me as the right match up. Johncock? Maybe. Would prefer a purely defense-minded player though. Not McLeod, not Rutten, Bock on Richo... running out of options. Doughty has played more on the rotating midfielders than the genuine forwards.

Will it be van Berlo?

Carl Spackler
5 Jun 2008, 01:17
One thing though, Adelaide has reverted back to the crap that they played last year. Not the exciting brand that they established at the beginning of the year.

Why?
We had a really fast, attacking game plan earlier in the season but we were faking it. We are well and truly back to normal now. Under pressure we have gone back to playing what is safe and familiar.

subaru
5 Jun 2008, 01:18
[quote=ams4crows;11255573]scott welsh would be handy he seems to like playing against richmond!!

Yes - yes, he would - at least he could kick straight -- this is a very dangerous game and I am not feeling very happy about it at all - in fact - can't think of anyone I would like to play this week !

Coach_Required
5 Jun 2008, 01:19
Last weekend against the swans, he was put against Lewis Roberts-Thompson, where LRT basically let him roam relatively free along the wings and just cut off all Richmonds attacking forays from half back, going on the theory that he probably won't hurt teams terribly much up on the wing. I think Bocky is a smart enough player to play on Richo as he would know when to zone off and when to man up, he will also put pressure on Richo to be accountable. I doubt Bock would have too many problems running with Richo, maybe a few years ago it would have been different, but Bock should be able to keep up no worries.

Have you considered that Richo maybe given direct orders this week to start on the wing put push forward more than what he did against Sydney ?

I think you may even find our half forwards will push up and lead to the wings more, leaving Richo to do what he does best and ran back into the space.

In his previous games Richo was not only getting touches around the ground but also kicking a decent score. :thumbsu:

richoatthedisco
5 Jun 2008, 01:33
Yeah he is can let Richo get cheap kicks on the wing and just sit back and chop off forward entrys, then run it out. Richo wont man him up which will work better for us
If Richo plays on the wing and his man plays as loose man in defence, just who is not manning up and getting cheap kicks?

Carl Spackler
5 Jun 2008, 01:36
If Richom plays on the wing and his man plays as loose man in defence, just who is not manning up and getting cheap kicks?
Both are.

But Richo getting kicks up forward (or not getting them) is what will have an impact on the result of the game.

Equus
5 Jun 2008, 01:46
I think we also have a fishing board for trolling but it's not up yet. So intelligent post here and all torlling on that board when Khan gets around to it.

Richmond FC
5 Jun 2008, 01:51
I think we might have you blokes this weekend. One of our issues has been the ruck but i think our rucks are even with your youngsters. You have some dangerous blokes up forward in Porpy but because birdman is out we can put Kel Moore on him who can take him for pace and strength. Kurt Tippet is a big bastard but has completely lost form it seems and i would think Thursfield wouldnt have to many issues getting a fist in. Goodwin if he goes forward however is an issue i think Newman would get the job but how well he does it who knows.

If NC puts McLeod up forward and TW responds by putting King on him get excited crows fans because he will kick some goals quickly and that sort of move may win the game for you.

Shirley where will he go? Deledio or Foley?

I think we have to tag Scott Thompson but i certainly dont want to see Hyde doing that i'd prefer a Polo type as Hyde just keeps getting owned.

Anyway Bock on Richo will be good match up i think Cho will spend more time up forward for this game as he is a bit injured i think and doesnt need to run so much.

Richmond by 17 points.:)

Vonsche
5 Jun 2008, 02:59
Looking foward to this game it should be a good one.

Best of luck Crows but I hope the curse of the red jumper continues for our sake. ;):p

fryingpan
5 Jun 2008, 10:26
I think we might have you blokes this weekend. One of our issues has been the ruck but i think our rucks are even with your youngsters. You have some dangerous blokes up forward in Porpy but because birdman is out we can put Kel Moore on him who can take him for pace and strength. Kurt Tippet is a big bastard but has completely lost form it seems and i would think Thursfield wouldnt have to many issues getting a fist in. Goodwin if he goes forward however is an issue i think Newman would get the job but how well he does it who knows.

If NC puts McLeod up forward and TW responds by putting King on him get excited crows fans because he will kick some goals quickly and that sort of move may win the game for you.

Shirley where will he go? Deledio or Foley?

I think we have to tag Scott Thompson but i certainly dont want to see Hyde doing that i'd prefer a Polo type as Hyde just keeps getting owned.

Anyway Bock on Richo will be good match up i think Cho will spend more time up forward for this game as he is a bit injured i think and doesnt need to run so much.

Richmond by 17 points.:)

Gee a lot of those "thinks" and "ifs" and "buts" need to go your way for you to have a win matey.

I know we are a better team than Richmond. However we have a habit of losing matches we are tipped to win. The only thing stopping Adelaide from winning this match is their own form & goalkicking because we've got the Tigers matched all over the ground.

Adelaide by 35.

SurreyBlue
5 Jun 2008, 14:56
This game will be won in Adelaide's defensive zone. If Adelaide hold the likes of Brown, Petiffer and comp. Adelaide can win. Richmond's backline has enough talent to hold the Adelaide forward's minus Burton. Midfield should be won by Richmond as I feel they have the edge, but can they kick a winning score?

James_37
5 Jun 2008, 15:04
Have you considered that Richo maybe given direct orders this week to start on the wing put push forward more than what he did against Sydney ?

I think you may even find our half forwards will push up and lead to the wings more, leaving Richo to do what he does best and ran back into the space.

In his previous games Richo was not only getting touches around the ground but also kicking a decent score. :thumbsu:

Only going by what I saw against the swans, however I really couldn't care too much, Bock has conquered all-comers this year and has the athletic capacity and strength to conquer Richo. Also if Richo decides to park himself in the goal square, Rutten shouldn't have too many worries moving onto him.

Brown could be the one to do us, we don't seem to have too many decent defensively minded small to medium defenders, they are all very offensive and can be pantsed big time by quality small to medium forwards such as Milne, B. Johnson and probably your N. Brown. This is the loss of Torney, the apparent ailling abilities of Bassent and Massies injuries have hurt us a little at times this year.

Lets Beyblade
5 Jun 2008, 15:17
Only going by what I saw against the swans, however I really couldn't care too much, Bock has conquered all-comers this year and has the athletic capacity and strength to conquer Richo. Also if Richo decides to park himself in the goal square, Rutten shouldn't have too many worries moving onto him.

Brown could be the one to do us, we don't seem to have too many decent defensively minded small to medium defenders, they are all very offensive and can be pantsed big time by quality small to medium forwards such as Milne, B. Johnson and probably your N. Brown. This is the loss of Torney, the apparent ailling abilities of Bassent and Massies injuries have hurt us a little at times this year.

Yeah I was just considering some of the match-ups before and I'm not entirely sure we have a quick fix for Nathan Brown. Will be interesting to see who NC opts for. I think Bock will have Richo covered even when he does push up the ground. Think Goodwin will go back to his permanent forward position to take some of the heat off Tippet who seems to be struggling of late. After having Fletcher last week he will be itching to get out there on Saturday.

Crows by 28 points

James_37
5 Jun 2008, 15:20
Great write up btw Dandy, very entertaining and insightful. If as is probably most likely Jericho gets a guernsey this week, I think it will be his week to stand out and I have a slight feeling he may just do that.

The problem with bringing Jericho in IMO, is that the move doesn't really help Tippet with regards to being the only tall, as Jericho doesn't play tall or command a tall. I would actually like to see us bring Sellar in for a game or 2, just until Gill or Hentschell are ready, as he bring something different to the table than Mcgregor and the outputs from each would probably be similar. Other than this, I wouldn't mind seeing Rutten or Basset moved forward, depending on match ups down back etc.

As for the outcome to the match, I doubt it will be similar to the '06 match in that our form recently has been less than exemplary so our boys have absolutely no right to be over confident as we perhaps were in '06. I actually not too fussed about our form slump, as I think had we gone to 9 and 2 as was predicted without much fuss, I think we would have gotten a rude shock when we come up against Hawthorn and co. Now, however, we've been toiling away a little, any overconfidence should have been shot and we can go in as underdogs. It's pretty much impossible to go through a year peaking the entire way, there is almost always a form slump of some sort, I'm just happy that we've produced it against "lesser teams", rather than arriving in the tougher parts of our season, only to then enter a form slump where we can't get away with poor form at all.

topjars
5 Jun 2008, 16:31
Luke Jericho is the frontrunner to replace Burton, and, whilst he's not my favourite player, he's quick on the lead and he may be able to hack away at the Richmond defence, as we'd hope that with his career on the line, his workrate would be up there with Burton's.

Dunno if Jerichos got a workrate has he? Seems to spectate and amble rather than Burtons levitate and gamble.

Chief Crow
5 Jun 2008, 18:11
If Richo plays on the wing and his man plays as loose man in defence, just who is not manning up and getting cheap kicks?

Both will be getting cheap kicks. Only difference is Bocks will be more damaging. He too if not manned up will push up forward too

Markthirtytwo
5 Jun 2008, 18:14
Two changes to the side to play Richmond.

Jericho comes in for Burton and Kenny replaces Griffin who has a sore hip.

http://afc.com.au

bus24
5 Jun 2008, 18:16
Inspirational changes, those.

Not that there was much else.

Cupboard is pretty bare at present.

Dandy_GO
5 Jun 2008, 18:34
Dunno if Jerichos got a workrate has he? Seems to spectate and amble rather than Burtons levitate and gamble.

I worded that poorly, sorry.
I agree with you completely. My point was that I'd hope that it would improve, given that he's surely pretty much gone at the end of the year if he doesn't turn his career around.

cormick
5 Jun 2008, 19:53
hows van berlo going?
he killed it for my dreamteam last year for a cheap price, and was ever so close to being picked this year.
But i havent heard of him much this year and without the added SC/DT interest factor havent looked for him much.
But im worried about him...hes a gun!
Got a bit of N.Buckley about him, and gets the pill a lot.
Is he in form?

footy4ever
5 Jun 2008, 20:01
hows van berlo going?
he killed it for my dreamteam last year for a cheap price, and was ever so close to being picked this year.
But i havent heard of him much this year and without the added SC/DT interest factor havent looked for him much.
Is he in form?

VB has been going very....VERY nicely, but don't tell Terry....like he wouldn't know already.

THE_GUN
5 Jun 2008, 20:20
expect morton to come into the tiger team this week.
crows have good big defenders but they may struggle with the likes of
pettiffer,morton,brown,edwards.

richmond must go in with a fast team, this is where i think adelaide could be exposed abit.

tigers by 23 points.

Baron Winds
6 Jun 2008, 01:35
hows van berlo going?
Is he in form?

He has been doing alright for SC, i held onto him in my team for 3-4 lean weeks but it's paying off now ;)

Vic Crow
6 Jun 2008, 12:13
Both will be getting cheap kicks. Only difference is Bocks will be more damaging. He too if not manned up will push up forward too
If Richo pushes up to the wing and Bock stays a kick behind play then Richo would be far more damaging than Bock.

Richo is a gun. Giving him cheap kicks on the wing will set Richmond up going forward. He'd be looking at getting 10 Inside 50's if we were to let him loose. If Bock is on him then he'll need to be accountable and only punish him going the other way when he wins contests against Richo.

That's if Richo pushes up though. He's very, very sore at this stage in the season.

Capitalist
6 Jun 2008, 12:17
If Richo pushes up to the wing and Bock stays a kick behind play then Richo would be far more damaging than Bock.

Richo is a gun. Giving him cheap kicks on the wing will set Richmond up going forward. He'd be looking at getting 10 Inside 50's if we were to let him loose. If Bock is on him then he'll need to be accountable and only punish him going the other way when he wins contests against Richo.

That's if Richo pushes up though. He's very, very sore at this stage in the season.

I agree VC - how anyone can under estimate the talent of Richo amazes me
Ok his goal kicking is shite some times but he is clearly the most talented player at Richmond.

Capitalist
6 Jun 2008, 12:19

Not that there was much else.

Cupboard is pretty bare at present.

this kind of thing has been popping up more and more lately on this board

what changes are inspirational ? and who are they meant to be inspirational too ?

People forget that the club makes changes to win games of football, not to give supporters a warm fuzzy feeling inside.

Vic Crow
6 Jun 2008, 12:28

what changes are inspirational ? and who are they meant to be inspirational too ?

People forget that the club makes changes to win games of football, not to give supporters a warm fuzzy feeling inside.
Also, Richmond's changes were far less inspiring. :p

Capitalist
6 Jun 2008, 12:34

yeah but only because there players are shitter than ours

:D

Equus
6 Jun 2008, 12:46
yeah but only because there players are shitter than ours

As if. If you keep playing that type of footy that you played in the last 2 weeks. Expect to be belted.

Or a close match. I hope it's a close match. I like heart-stopping games.

By the way, Trolling thread on the Richmond Board is up. So have a go at us over at the Richmond Board and we'll have a go at your troglodyte team.

KingsCrow
6 Jun 2008, 12:47
So are we wearing the red jumpers or not?

If we are I am putting ten bucks on the tige's

Capitalist
6 Jun 2008, 12:53
As if. If you keep playing that type of footy that you played in the last 2 weeks. Expect to be belted.

Or a close match. I hope it's a close match. I like heart-stopping games.

By the way, Trolling thread on the Richmond Board is up. So have a go at us over at the Richmond Board and we'll have a go at your troglodyte team.

can't wait

to be honest Richmond are pretty much my 2nd side in the AFL so I haven't got too much shit to hang on you.

TigerHunter
6 Jun 2008, 15:26

Yep, back to the old school marshmallows we go :(

bus24
6 Jun 2008, 15:53

They don't inspire much confidence in our depth. Pretty much the obvious replacements due to (injuries, lack of form (Gill) and a whole bunch of kids that aren't close to being ready (perhaps Otten aside).

But if that's the best we've got, we're going to be in real trouble if we get an injury crisis, akin to latter half of 06 and the whole 2007 season. Hell, one half as bad as that would finish us.

Jericho, in his 6th year on the list, having shown minimal (if any) improvement, and still plagued by obvious effort/intensity issues, and McGregor, who moves like a house on wheels don't inspire much confidence in our depth. Not for me anyway.

How McGregor managed to get himself a 2 year deal I'll never know. Anyone who watched him in the SANFL finals last year, would know just how truly awful he was. Perhaps the (founded) concerns over Gill's ability to stay fit, were a factor, in fact I'm sure they were. But no way in hell he should've been offered a 2 year deal.

But back to the original point, they were the 2 obvious replacements, but we certainly wouldn't want anymore injuries.

Chief Crow
6 Jun 2008, 18:10

The only way it will hurt us if no one covers him while he plays up the field. this will be done through NC zones he likes to have. One erant forward delivery by Richo and Bock is off with Macca and Stiff as his running partners. I dont see Richos foot skills good enough to hurt us that way. Just The Way I See It

Carl Spackler
6 Jun 2008, 19:52
In: Pittman
Out: Ormond-Allen

KingsCrow
6 Jun 2008, 22:04
I thought at the start of the year, '____ i hope Gill doesn't play this year'.

But with Burton out, we need that sort of an X factor player. Gill is just that. Kinda devo that he isn't playing now. Even though he hasn't been in form...

Lets Beyblade
6 Jun 2008, 23:16
I thought at the start of the year, '____ i hope Gill doesn't play this year'.

But with Burton out, we need that sort of an X factor player. Gill is just that. Kinda devo that he isn't playing now. Even though he hasn't been in form...

Hopefully Goodwin can be that player if he plays up forward. He has the ability to do something inspirational to fire up the troops just as Burton does. Or maybe Jericho can kick 3 in the opening quarter this time :thumbsu:

chickawah
6 Jun 2008, 23:25
If we lose in that effin' red guernsey again, who votes we get a petition going to burn it? I'm sure we could get every crows fan with a computer to sign it, and then we can send it to the club and be done with the bloody red thing.

Sir Vlado
7 Jun 2008, 14:48
That is a great idea :thumbsu:

PCORF
7 Jun 2008, 15:46
Looks like Maric did a Richo, but a good first quarter. We just have to play harder over the next 3 quarters of the game, its not easy winning an away game when you're behind. We MUST get the lead at the halftime break.

PrideOf
7 Jun 2008, 15:52
R Shirley 7 first quarter tackles.

OMG, that's world record pace.

King Elvis
7 Jun 2008, 15:55
We need to figure out how to free up Macca and Stiffy; they're getting tagged so heavily we're losing almost all of our drive from the backlines.

The commentators are right - our work-rate is way down.

Put Macca to FF, and put Johncock onto N Brown.

King Elvis
7 Jun 2008, 16:11
Scott Thommo starring, again.

McGregor doing nothing.
Haven't seen much of Jericho?

I love Douglas.

Capitalist
7 Jun 2008, 16:16
Scott Thommo starring, again.

McGregor doing nothing.
Haven't seen much of Jericho?

I love Douglas.

its a bizarre match, its almost like we have noone in the forward line who know how to crumb

our kicking into the forward 50 has been terrible

but we aren't far enough down to be that concerned

Ratto
7 Jun 2008, 16:18
This game is ________________________________________________ me off, so I just can't watch it.

And people say we're a boring side.

HOW ABOUT EVERY RICHMOND PLAYER IN DEFENCE??????????????????????/