View Full Version : ROUND 11: RICHMOND vs ADELAIDE, MCG

Pages : [1] 2 3

stmookeyj
4 Jun 2008, 03:19
Saturday Afternoon's sole match pits Richmond, who are 2 games and 5% out of the 8, against Adelaide who are 2 games and 13% off top spot. The form is the big query with the Tigers utterly pittiful against Sydney save for the latter stages when it was too late, and the Crows terrible against West Coast and woefully inaccurate against Essendon despite getting the cash.

Crows lead 15-8 all time against the Tiges, are 8-4 in Melbourne and 4-3 at the G. They've also won 9 of the last 10 against Richmond (the 10th being a typical Terry Wallace flood that worked at the Dome) but they've lost 3 of their last 3 against all opponents at the MCG. FWIW Richmond's win in the Dreamtime match was their first in 5 on their home turf (even though not all were necessarilly home games).

Richmond will make a few changes, 1 enforced with former crows dual premiership player Kane Johnson to miss at least a month with a knee. Crows will also have to make a change after Brett Burton's suspension. On the surface, Burton's loss is bigger than Johnson's as it gives the Tiger talls one less to worry about, but they'd want to play better as a whole unit as opposed to the one I saw last week.

TIP: Crows by 26, will be tight early but Rutten and Bock I think can cover the Tiger tall forwards, especially if Richo starts on a wing.

gilbos the best
4 Jun 2008, 08:14
I think that both teams will be firing after last week

with the crows just getting ova the line against essendon

and the tigers getting a clinic played on them by the swans

i think this will be a close hame if the tigers can continue their hot form they have been showing this year

if they play scrappy looks like another belting

CROWS by 4 goals

who is going to replace burton

Baron Winds
4 Jun 2008, 09:12
I think that both teams will be firing after last week

with the crows just getting ova the line against essendon

and the tigers getting a clinic played on them by the swans

i think this will be a close hame if the tigers can continue their hot form they have been showing this year

if they play scrappy looks like another belting

CROWS by 4 goals

who is going to replace burton

Probably McGregor or Jericho..But hopefully Gill gets a chance and plays a blinder. Though coming back from injury he hasnt really shown much form in the SANFL for the 1s

deadoralive
4 Jun 2008, 10:43
taking a look at last week and looking at richmond getting killed by sydney doesn't make me think that this is going to be close. adelaide to win hand by at least 7 goals. sydney and adelaide are probably the two most disciplined teams in the league and they will strangle richmond.

beez
4 Jun 2008, 12:57
Whats this I hear about Adelaide wearing the red jumper and fans not liking it? Is it because Adelaide tend to lose when they wear it?

joejoe
5 Jun 2008, 02:18
Whats this I hear about Adelaide wearing the red jumper and fans not liking it? Is it because Adelaide tend to lose when they wear it?

yea terrible win/loss ratio with the dreaded red gurnsy, but that will be the end of it this weekend when we step up a gear from the last 2 weeks and bury the tigers

soapie
5 Jun 2008, 12:10
Don't dismiss the Tigers this week. Genuine the only outsider capable of causing an upset this week. OK Sydney destroyed them but the Swans are a very very good side, (are they playing better without BHall?) Richmond play better when no-one expects and somehow there was a huge tip around about them last week and they put up a typically Richmond display. Adelaide Very good bet I reckon, but I wouldn't back Richmond with Mokbel's money

fryingpan
5 Jun 2008, 14:10

It's been a curse for the last few years :(

I was at the Richmond game last year at TD where we had won 9 of our last 9 against Richmond, were going in red hot favourites and lost by 3 points in the most attrocious game I have ever seen and yes we were wearing the red guernsey. We were also wearing it 2 weeks ago against WCE.

Skystyler
6 Jun 2008, 13:36
Crows are vulnerable. Their recent form has been dreadful. The tigers have played better sides than Adelaide close in Melbourne this year. Forget last weeks game in Sydney. Tigers to win a close one.

warney7
6 Jun 2008, 16:15
Crows have had 2 poor weeks, a lot of which can be contibuted to Burton and his awful kicking.

Now that he's gone for a couple of weeks, and getting a run on the MCG, the Crows will finally get to show how fit they are by running Richmond ragged all day.

Many tip a close one, quite a few taking Richmond, but not me.

Crows by 60.

TigerBabe
6 Jun 2008, 17:43
Tigs by 21 points.

Richo will boot 7 goals, take 16 marks and have 29 touches on a wing.

Philth
6 Jun 2008, 17:56
Crows have had 2 poor weeks, a lot of which can be contibuted to Burton and his awful kicking.

Now that he's gone for a couple of weeks, and getting a run on the MCG, the Crows will finally get to show how fit they are by running Richmond ragged all day.

Many tip a close one, quite a few taking Richmond, but not me.

Crows by 60.

Nothing wrong with the Tiger's fitness, mate

We were beaten by a very good side last weekend, the Crows were very nearly beaten by an ordinary one, at home.

Anything could happen tomorrow, but i think we are a good chance.

popathon
6 Jun 2008, 18:05
Richmond by 4, Foley & Deledio (SP?) a tie in BOG.

Baron Winds
6 Jun 2008, 18:16
We were beaten by a very good side last weekend, the Crows were very nearly beaten by an ordinary one, at home.

Only because of poor kicking. We dominated them in every other facet of the game.

southern star
6 Jun 2008, 19:57
crows by 24 pts richo wont play

Equus
6 Jun 2008, 22:53
Tiges by 3 points. Tight match.

WazzaAC
7 Jun 2008, 11:25

It's a witch! Burn it! :D

Nah, but seriuosly, Adelaide should be able to win this match fairly comprehensively. But if they play like they have the last couple of weeks, we could be in some serious trouble.

fryingpan
7 Jun 2008, 11:30
If Adelaide are playing the way that we all know they can, this will be an easy victory.

If Adelaide have played the way they've played the last 2 weeks, Richmond will win.

Adelaide are a better team than Richmond so it's just a matter of whether we can start winning the contested ball and better our accuracy.

The only way Richmond will win is if Adelaide lose it.

fightingdreamer88
7 Jun 2008, 12:36
The Crows are apparently 1W 7L in the clash guersney which they're wearing today, and that one win was thanks to a Davey goal that was ruled to be touched on the line. Could well have been a draw which would leave the crows winless in this guernsey.

lynchy23
7 Jun 2008, 12:50
any rumours of late exlusions?

tigers_of_old_08
7 Jun 2008, 13:42
Saturday Afternoon's sole match pits Richmond, who are 2 games and 5% out of the 8, against Adelaide who are 2 games and 13% off top spot. The form is the big query with the Tigers utterly pittiful against Sydney save for the latter stages when it was too late, and the Crows terrible against West Coast and woefully inaccurate against Essendon despite getting the cash.

Crows lead 15-8 all time against the Tiges, are 8-4 in Melbourne and 4-3 at the G. They've also won 9 of the last 10 against Richmond (the 10th being a typical Terry Wallace flood that worked at the Dome) but they've lost 3 of their last 3 against all opponents at the MCG. FWIW Richmond's win in the Dreamtime match was their first in 5 on their home turf (even though not all were necessarilly home games).

Richmond will make a few changes, 1 enforced with former crows dual premiership player Kane Johnson to miss at least a month with a knee. Crows will also have to make a change after Brett Burton's suspension. On the surface, Burton's loss is bigger than Johnson's as it gives the Tiger talls one less to worry about, but they'd want to play better as a whole unit as opposed to the one I saw last week.

TIP: Crows by 26, will be tight early but Rutten and Bock I think can cover the Tiger tall forwards, especially if Richo starts on a wing.

You have written well, but..the tigers are an enigma, and you just dont know which game their going to bring at any given match.

And to add to this, Wallace is an even bigger enigma..

So, will they be sulking over the Swans loss? Can Wallace convince them to play their 'other' game? My concern is that Tivs, Petts and Bowden are back, and that the CHO is carrying an injury he hasnt fully recovered from.

So..
Crows by 32
or
Tigers by 17

Go Tigers

Tristagi
7 Jun 2008, 13:52
I'm heading in with Richmond supporters so they better bloody win, nothing worse than a ride home with sooky Richmond supporters, it always the umpires fault, even if its 157 points!

Tigers by 11 or Crows by 25

Sir Vlado
7 Jun 2008, 14:03
Tigs by 21 points.

Richo will boot 7 goals, take 16 marks and have 29 touches on a wing.

You are kidding me.

No way in hell will that happen against our defence

Jafa
7 Jun 2008, 14:07
Have picked the Tigers for this one. Hoping to take one back in the tipping comp.

Vitalogy
7 Jun 2008, 14:46
http://thefulleffect.files.wordpress.com/2008/03/stlouisblueswr6xu5.jpg

Is this the jumper there wearing?

GFC29
7 Jun 2008, 14:48
Looking forward to this one, expecting a real contest.

About to grab some food and relax on the couch for what should be a good game. :thumbsu:

Mr Magoo
7 Jun 2008, 14:49
I just can't see Richmond winning, i can see them being competitive for up to half the game but thats about it. $100 on Adelaide -12.5 ($2.15), $20 on THOMPSON Scott (ADEL) ($3.00).

lynchy23
7 Jun 2008, 14:54
any late exlusions?

Freo1995
7 Jun 2008, 14:55
Crows by 20

johnnyhoward
7 Jun 2008, 14:58
Is this game on Foxtel? I think Crows by a goal.

Freo1995
7 Jun 2008, 15:01
Is this game on Foxtel? I think Crows by a goal.

Yes, it's live on fox.

Freo1995
7 Jun 2008, 15:14
Rich 0
Adel 6

fightingdreamer88
7 Jun 2008, 15:15
Bernie gun!!

TheTrav
Ok so we are officially playing under netball rules? how the hell was that 50?

hoss
Whoa :eek: That was close to the softest 50m penalty i've ever seen. hope the umpies are consistent on that. Goal to the Crows.

Capitalist
7 Jun 2008, 15:16
hate to admit it, but we have got the umps so far...

get scared for the rest of the game though

fightingdreamer88
7 Jun 2008, 15:16
YEAHHHHH!!!!!! Hoodoo please break!!!

Capitalist
7 Jun 2008, 15:18
YEAHHHHH!!!!!! Hoodoo please break!!!

you almost stuffed it up :mad:

starskyCrow87
7 Jun 2008, 15:19
Very soft fifty against the richmond for our first goal! The holding the ball one was sort of there... still probably a bit iffy ill admit tho

Freo1995
RICHOmond 7
Adel 12

Capitalist
well done umps, they have evened it up with that Richo free kick :thumbsu:

Vonsche
7 Jun 2008, 15:20
Goal to Richo!

Tigers 1.1
Crows 2.0

Eagle87
7 Jun 2008, 15:20
The softest 50m penalty AND the softest down field free kick in AFL history in the first 5 minutes - doesnt bode well .... :(

hoss
7 Jun 2008, 15:21
well done umps, they have evened it up with that Richo free kick :thumbsu:

No it was paid down the ground for the push in the back after disposal. A little soft but incomparable to the Vince 50m penalty.

fightingdreamer88
7 Jun 2008, 15:22
Damnit MAN UP!!

joejoe
7 Jun 2008, 15:24
bloody useless umps

Capitalist
7 Jun 2008, 15:25
umps trying to even up the ledger

TheTrav
Umpiring keeps getting worse every week.

RichosGuns
Trent Cotchin is a gun....will be a star

Ryder Is God
Cotchin is a gun.

joejoe
7 Jun 2008, 15:27
come on adelaide:mad:

Capitalist
7 Jun 2008, 15:28
we have gone from the umps friends to their worst enemy in the space of 10 minutes

oh well, we are in melbourne wearing a red gurnsey

Vonsche
Tigers with the last 4

Tigers 4.1
Crows 2.1

Freo1995
Rich 25
Adel 13
10 min remaining

lions_den
MMM commentary is very biased towards Richmond. Brian even said he wants Richmond to win.

Pridinator
7 Jun 2008, 15:30
Bugger we should have got Cotchin sets up a goal for Foley.

hoss
Carn the Crows!!! Another 50????

Capitalist
____ Jericho knows how to not cover himself if glory......

____ me the umps are trying to kill us, we really need to learn the fine art of bribes

Freo1995
7 Jun 2008, 15:31
Richo man with his 2nd goal
Rich 31
Adel 14

Rascally
7 Jun 2008, 15:31
Jesus, these umpires out do themselves every week... w@nkers

Choota
7 Jun 2008, 15:33
Terrible umpiring. But what's going on with the Crows? Looking very ordinary.

Cotchin is a gun. Hope this bloke can get himself traded in a year or two because he has enormous potential.

Rascally
7 Jun 2008, 15:33
Seriously, they are f***** cheats.

Freo1995
7 Jun 2008, 15:34
Rich 38
Adel 14
6 min remaining

Capitalist
so the score so far, Crows 1 goal 2
to Richmond 3-1

umps have kicked 4

PowerKop
Seriously, they are f***** cheats.
Crows got their first goal from the softest 50 ever, and second goal from a questionable holding the ball.

RichosGuns
7 Jun 2008, 15:35
3 or 4 50's already....not good umpiring

Richmond have kicked 6 in about 10 playing minutes

Richmond's pressure is difference

Thompson kicks one, but mistake by McMohan

Capitalist
Richi douglas you star.

Rascally
Even with Richmonds extra 3 players.. Crows still manage to get a goal.

Capitalist
7 Jun 2008, 15:36
Crows got their first goal from the softest 50 ever, and second goal from a questionable holding the ball.

go back under your rock you drop kick

Rascally

Vince 50 was rubbish, but if you didnt think the second was holding the ball, then you know very little about footy.

Freo1995
Thompson goal
Rich 38
Adel 20
5 min remaining

Eagle87
7 Jun 2008, 15:38
We shouldve traded Judd to Richmond :o ;)

Rascally
7 Jun 2008, 15:39
Good goal to Douglas.

Capitalist
Dougie is starting to show us why he is better than you average bear.

Freo1995
great goal douglas
Rich 38
Adel 26

Link_Wray
Richmond getting the benefit in the last half of the quarter of umpiring, but got alot of rubbish at the start.

Rubbish for all!

PowerKop
7 Jun 2008, 15:40
go back under your rock you drop kick

Go the Tigers:thumbsu:

Hawks1523
7 Jun 2008, 15:41
Just switched on. Richmond up?!

Richmond good?
Crows bad?
Umpires? :confused::eek:

Rascally
7 Jun 2008, 15:41
Gee's Umpires love Bassett. These guys are absolute tools.

Capitalist
7 Jun 2008, 15:42
Go the Tigers:thumbsu:

*cough* 116 points *cough*

:rolleyes:

Freo1995
7 Jun 2008, 15:43
Rich 38
Adel 27
1 min remaining

PowerKop
nice kick Maric ...................Hack:thumbsu:

Capitalist
Maric burns us with a shite kick

saying that i'm not sure the holding the ball was actually holding the ball

Tippet the gets another free kick ? an another equalizer ?

TheTrav
7 Jun 2008, 15:44
I didn't even realise Tambling was playing

Freo1995
7 Jun 2008, 15:44
Tippett goal
Rich 38
Adel 33

Rascally
7 Jun 2008, 15:45

Dont you belong in bay13, not this thread?

Capitalist

thats what happens when a player gets left with the Port Magpies i suppose, damn that mini draft :(

RichosGuns
Tigers by 5 at quater time

Luke McGuan shoulder injury

jko'neal
All Adelaide goals from Richmond turnovers or umpiring decisions. Good to see the Tiges staying true to form:thumbsu:

Vitalogy
7 Jun 2008, 15:46
Hear them rapping the adelaide players on fox when they do 1 good thing? what about cotchins 12 possesions in the first quarter!!! ____en biased ____s!

lions_den
7 Jun 2008, 15:47
Vince 50 was rubbish, but if you didnt think the second was holding the ball, then you know very little about footy.
The blokes in MMM said it wasn't holding the ball and the decisioin was a disgrace.

hoss
7 Jun 2008, 15:47
Geez the momentum of that quarter really changed after Pettifer got himself all muddled up and lost on the wing.

TheTrav
7 Jun 2008, 15:48
The umpiring is ridiculous, both ways. You don't even have to drag the ball in now to be done holding the ball, other players can drag it into you and then you get done, umpires are f$@ken dumb

TheTrav
Geez the momentum of that quarter really changed after Pettifer got himself all muddled up and lost on the wing.

Pettifer shouldn't even be playing. Well I don't think he should be.

joejoe
we started off very flat again, hitting back now, richmonds skills are shocking luckily for them they have the umps on there side

jko'neal
7 Jun 2008, 15:49

Yep, yet the club continues to play guys like him and Tivendale, it's a joke.

Capitalist
7 Jun 2008, 15:52
Richo goals but another confusing free kick to the tigers

Freo1995
7 Jun 2008, 15:54
Simmons goal
Rich 50
Adel 33

Capitalist
7 Jun 2008, 15:55
Crows have the switch in the off position at the moment.

can we change jumpers at half time ?

Eagle87
7 Jun 2008, 15:55
Hey... Tamblings playing!

Buddy, buddy, buddy .. ;)