View Full Version : Murray Football League - Part 2
Pages :
[
3]
jameshirdy
17 Jul 2008, 16:43
Just wondering what everyones thoughts are on this issue!!
Cobram's Simon Rudd was reported against Mulwala (3 weeks ago now) but still hasn't had his case heard.
Apparently the first friday night it was to be heard important peoples were unavailable
this was repeated last friday night also.
2 weeks in a row at the last minute it has been postponed.
This probably wont have any bearing on the Cobram sides year but certainly is cause for concern if it were to happen down the track come finals times.
Rudd has made himself available on both occassions - so its been out off his hands.
If he had of decided not to be available two weeks in succession what would have been the outcome for him -
If a player is reported a week before a final or during the finals and due to circumstances can't appear to have his charge heard, does he get to play in the finals till its heard. Cant have clubs deciding when they want the charges heard can we!! On the whole the league doing a great job but his is a
SHAMBLES
bystanding backman
17 Jul 2008, 17:51
Cobram's Simon Rudd was reported against Mulwala (3 weeks ago now) but still hasn't had his case heard.
Apparently the first friday night it was to be heard important peoples were unavailable
This probably wont have any bearing on the Cobram sides year but certainly is cause for concern if it were to happen down the track come finals times.
Rudd has made himself available on both occassions - so its been out off his hands.
If he had of decided not to be available two weeks in succession what would have been the outcome for him -
If a player is reported a week before a final or during the finals and due to circumstances can't appear to have his charge heard, does he get to play in the finals till its heard. Cant have clubs deciding when they want the charges heard can we!! On the whole the league doing a great job but his is a
SHAMBLES
its pretty poor on the tribunals behalf, your appointed on it for a reason to hear cases it should be a priority cause if it is something bad he should be rubbed out, if he had of been a match winner in a game that had decided whether cobram got in to the finals or not its hard on the other side who may have had to miss finals cause the case couldn't be heard quick enough.
backpocketer
18 Jul 2008, 15:48
SHAMBLES
I think you're being a bit kind to the league there. The way the Murray League is run is nothing short of a disgrace. Look at the draw for one. Some clubs had three byes (including interleague) within the first 7 weeks. The way the ladder looks at the moment with clubs having played two more games than others is a joke.
I realise it would be hard to get good people on the league board because those good people want to help their local clubs survive so we're going to be stuck with having inept, egotistical and clueless people running the show.
How a bloke (and it's not Rudd's fault) can not have his tribunal case heard for three weeks is laughable. Would it happen in the O&M or GV? Actually something so stupid would never even happen in G Grade Ammos. This actually might be a first in footy? That's something for the Murray League to hang their hats on.
It's a blight on the competition!!!
Purplesaint29
18 Jul 2008, 16:11
I think you're being a bit kind to the league there. The way the Murray League is run is nothing short of a disgrace. Look at the draw for one. Some clubs had three byes (including interleague) within the first 7 weeks. The way the ladder looks at the moment with clubs having played two more games than others is a joke.
I realise it would be hard to get good people on the league board because those good people want to help their local clubs survive so we're going to be stuck with having inept, egotistical and clueless people running the show.
How a bloke (and it's not Rudd's fault) can not have his tribunal case heard for three weeks is laughable. Would it happen in the O&M or GV? Actually something so stupid would never even happen in G Grade Ammos. This actually might be a first in footy? That's something for the Murray League to hang their hats on.
Well said mate.
down the middle
18 Jul 2008, 16:13
2008 FINALS & VENUES
Greenham - MFL FINALS 2008
1st Elimination Final
Saturday 30th August at Congupna
3rd Vs 6th
2nd Elimination Final
Sunday 31st August at Nathalia
4th Vs 5th
1st Semi Final
Sunday 7th Sept. at Tongala
Winners Of Elimination Finals.
2nd Semi Final
Saturday 6th Sept. at Tocumwal
1st Vs 2nd
Preliminary Final
Saturday 13th Sept. at Cobram
Loser of 2nd Semi Vs Winner of 1st Semi
Grand Final
Saturday 20th Sept. at Tocumwal
Winner 2nd Semi Final Vs Winner Preliminary Final
I can understand clubs wanting the chance to have a go at holding finals at their home grounds,but surely ground facilities and parking space have to come into the equation. The MFL must'nt think a huge crowd will turn up to Congupna & Tongala's finals! They would have the least amount of space for parking and tiny changerooms. With the cost of petrol thru the roof surely centralising the finals will help with crowd sizes. The grounds also have to cater for food & drinks etc to a crowd a lot larger than a normal home and away,I think these two grounds would struggle.
Footy followers with no club interest on a given final day will not travel to a ground miles from home or want to park the car way outside the ground,they will go else were or stay at home.I thought the League would have learnt this lesson,I can remember traveling to a final once at Deni to be able to park my car on the fence when the seniors ran out to start the game!!!
wayne burrows and co like fining clubs $110 a pop for little admin errors. maybe all clubs should be seeking compensation from the league for there little stuff up's? or better still, have a major overhaul of the league board and full time employees and make them all reapply again :).
jameshirdy
18 Jul 2008, 22:49
wayne burrows and co like fining clubs $110 a pop for little admin errors. maybe all clubs should be seeking compensation from the league for there little stuff up's? or better still, have a major overhaul of the league board and full time employees and make them all reapply again :).
good point, i know we got fined the mandatory $110 because our reserves card was ineligible, it was raining on the day plus we haven't got many people that are litterate (how do u spell that ringo and big hawk) helping the two's. So instead of just ringing up and saying guys lets gets this right next time - they sling us for the fine.
The clubs have to cop it on the chin, the league tend to do what suits them.
Interested to hear if any other clubs have been slung fines for petty crap that could be tidied up with a bit of public relations.?
good point, i know we got fined the mandatory $110 because our reserves card was ineligible, it was raining on the day plus we haven't got many people that are litterate (how do u spell that ringo and big hawk) helping the two's. So instead of just ringing up and saying guys lets gets this right next time - they sling us for the fine.
The clubs have to cop it on the chin, the league tend to do what suits them.
Interested to hear if any other clubs have been slung fines for petty crap that could be tidied up with a bit of public relations.?
Dear Hirdy, I carried you through yr 12 and now need to help you with your literacy skills yet again! Illegible might be the word that you are after. Ineligible is actually not authorised to enter! Anyway I think you are right. Footy clubs find it hard enough to keep clubs running and then Big Brother comes in and dishes this trivial crap out!! Try explaining these fines to the volunteers that put in numerous unpaid hours of work. Very Poor public relations:confused:
PS, How is the body holding up?
jameshirdy
18 Jul 2008, 23:48
Dear Hirdy, I carried you through yr 12 and now need to help you with your literacy skills yet again! Illegible might be the word that you are after. Ineligible is actually not authorised to enter! Anyway I think you are right. Footy clubs find it hard enough to keep clubs running and then Big Brother comes in and dishes this trivial crap out!! Try explaining these fines to the volunteers that put in numerous unpaid hours of work. Very Poor public relations:confused:
PS, How is the body holding up?
I knew you would help me out mate,
body not to bad got a bit of osteo old stuff at the moment
more to the point haven't seen your name
you better send me the slab
ps. good to see hanks boys kicking on since you left (just a coincidence im sure)
I knew you would help me out mate,
body not to bad got a bit of osteo old stuff at the moment
more to the point haven't seen your name
you better send me the slab
ps. good to see hanks boys kicking on since you left (just a coincidence im sure)
See he is still slipping in for an emergency gig every now and then hirdy, not sure what he would be telling his 3rds boys when he does get out there and have a gallop, DO AS I SAY NOT AS I DO!!
Ha ha =gee who writes the material for you two blokes??? :):):thumbsu:Yeah just plodding along but slab still up for grabs. On a serious note-great to see Tonny in the mix and I think that you have changed the culture into a winning one out there. When you get a spare day or two pop into the Lexus centre and get the pies on track!!!!
big hawk
20 Jul 2008, 16:04
Just would like to air my thoughts on the crap served up by the Toc scribe in this week's issue of the Weekender. Love how everyone is always willing to have a sook and carry on about paying coin to obtain players so as to stay viable in the comp. Yes the Hawks are in the very fortunate position to be able to do this but for the Toc scribe to come out publicly and calling us "Money spinners" is a bit rich considering they outbid us to gain the services of one A. Mellington!!!!! Ohh and if they went out and bought some quality then they wouldn't be slinging the mud around as much. It is one of the unfortunate blights on the game and is wrecking country footy as was discussed many moons ago in this forum.:thumbsd::thumbsd: I don't condone it but at the same time if a small community like ourselves is to stay competitive it is a necessity. Maybe a salary cap or points system could stem the tide????
I was also interested to read the suggestion in the reserves section, when talking about their 2nd quarter efforts (which were very good), that "amazing what hardness does to some sides"!!! Well I'll tell you what it did d?ckhead, it stung us into action and your blokes didn't score again!!!!! Ooooopps, there I went again... not counting to 10 and taking a deep breath!:eek:
Just would like to air my thoughts on the crap served up by the Toc scribe in this week's issue of the Weekender. Love how everyone is always willing to have a sook and carry on about paying coin to obtain players so as to stay viable in the comp. Yes the Hawks are in the very fortunate position to be able to do this but for the Toc scribe to come out publicly and calling us "Money spinners" is a bit rich considering they outbid us to gain the services of one A. Mellington!!!!! Ohh and if they went out and bought some quality then they wouldn't be slinging the mud around as much. It is one of the unfortunate blights on the game and is wrecking country footy as was discussed many moons ago in this forum.:thumbsd::thumbsd: I don't condone it but at the same time if a small community like ourselves is to stay competitive it is a necessity. Maybe a salary cap or points system could stem the tide????
I was also interested to read the suggestion in the reserves section, when talking about their 2nd quarter efforts (which were very good), that "amazing what hardness does to some sides"!!! Well I'll tell you what it did d?ckhead, it stung us into action and your blokes didn't score again!!!!! Ooooopps, there I went again... not counting to 10 and taking a deep breath!:eek:
Totally agree bh, I read it and thought it was uncalled for, its certainly not the place to air anything like that, it should have been edited before it was published.
I am responsible for our senior report in the weekender and will only write about positives for both ourselves and the teams we play and its not the place to have an opinion where other teams cannot defend themselves.
Deni v Moama
No doubt the best game of footy i have seen this year and in front of a very good crowd, it was even applauded by the umpires who were also probably the best we have had all year.
Both teams had noticable players out but everyone had a red hot go.
Moama were at times a little undiciplined in giving away 50mtr penalties and will have to look at that going in to the finals.
We were a couple of goals up all day until Moama found top gear and kicked 7 goals in the last quarter after only having 6 up until 3/4 time and won by 14pts, it was a big chance for us to move into 6th place on the ladder and we gave it all we had but were not good enough on the day.
Good luck in the finals :thumbsu:.
Deni v Moama
No doubt the best game of footy i have seen this year and in front of a very good crowd, it was even applauded by the umpires who were also probably the best we have had all year.
Both teams had noticable players out but everyone had a red hot go.
Moama were at times a little undiciplined in giving away 50mtr penalties and will have to look at that going in to the finals.
We were a couple of goals up all day until Moama found top gear and kicked 7 goals in the last quarter after only having 6 up until 3/4 time and won by 14pts, it was a big chance for us to move into 6th place on the ladder and we gave it all we had but were not good enough on the day.
Good luck in the finals :thumbsu:.
Homer it would be fair to say you blokes will re-emerge as a real force in the next couple of years. personally I can't see Moama winning it and although they might beat Nathalia on the small moama oval this weekend I think the Purples will make it 4 in a row. Perhaps the monetary issues at moama are going to have an impact.
It may happen this week but really can't see Nathalia losing another game for the year. If Moama lose this week they must beat Barooga the week after or they will miss the double chance.
[QUOTE=big hawk;11772660]Just would like to air my thoughts on the crap served up by the Toc scribe in this week's issue of the Weekender. Love how everyone is always willing to have a sook and carry on about paying coin to obtain players so as to stay viable in the comp. Yes the Hawks are in the very fortunate position to be able to do this but for the Toc scribe to come out publicly and calling us "Money spinners" is a bit rich considering they outbid us to gain the services of one A. Mellington!!!!! Ohh and if they went out and bought some quality then they wouldn't be slinging the mud around as much. It is one of the unfortunate blights on the game and is wrecking country footy as was discussed many moons ago in this forum.:thumbsd::thumbsd: I don't condone it but at the same time if a small community like ourselves is to stay competitive it is a necessity. Maybe a salary cap or points system could stem the tide????
QUOTE]
Is an interesting one big hawk, Toc would be right up there on the ladder in the money spending stakes, sometimes that doesn't equate to the onfield ladder though.
See they have got Robertson from Kilmore even though they can't play finals and he is no doubt on good coin, and as you have already said it was commmon knowledge that they outbid Barooga for Mellington so you would think they might be best to keep out of a slanging match there. The other three they got from Shepp aren't travelling out there for a pie and coke either.
Jarman03
20 Jul 2008, 21:58
Just wondering what the independent views are on how a good mate of mine Cam McCabe is going at Moama this year. Absolute Gun footballer, plays it down when I talk to him so wondering what those that have only seen him for the first time this year think!
The Maroubra Stomp
20 Jul 2008, 22:52
Nice reply to a foolish statement Big Hawk - that Toc scribe wants a kick up the a#se. Was part of Barooga many years ago and can attest to what a fine club they were, and continue to be. I am hearing rumours Big Hawk that Barooga were going to pull right back on the player payments after this season? Any truth to that?
Travvy43
21 Jul 2008, 00:55
2008 FINALS & VENUES
1st Elimination Final
3rd Vs 6th
2nd Elimination Final
4th Vs 5th
1st Semi Final
2nd Semi Final
1st Vs 2nd
Preliminary Final
Grand Final
Big chance for Tonny to secure a home final should they win through the first week of finals. Handy advantage to have.
Il Naso De Gastev
21 Jul 2008, 01:15
2008 FINALS & VENUES
1st Elimination Final
3rd Vs 6th
2nd Elimination Final
4th Vs 5th
1st Semi Final
2nd Semi Final
1st Vs 2nd
Preliminary Final
Grand Final
This is an utter disgrace. A supposed showcase of the MFL, the finals are going to be played on dungheaps like Nathalia, Tongala and Congupna... and worse in recent times like Finley, Deniliquin and Mulwala. The MFL board are succumbing to short term pressure by clubs trying to line their pockets with the added revenue generated by the bigger crowds at finals, rather than a view to showcasing the league using the best facilities available, and growing the competition in the long term.
Only way to appease all clubs vying for a slice of the pie is to work out some method of splitting the gate, food and drink takings, and distribute accordingly. I remember playing a final at Deni one year, two men and their dogs were there to watch, and as a further 'advertisement' for the comp, half of their electronic scoreboard wasn't working... no-one could tell what the score was. Nice going MFL.:thumbsd:
bystanding backman
21 Jul 2008, 10:09
This is an utter disgrace. A supposed showcase of the MFL, the finals are going to be played on dungheaps like Nathalia, Tongala and Congupna... and worse in recent times like Finley, Deniliquin and Mulwala. The MFL board are succumbing to short term pressure by clubs trying to line their pockets with the added revenue generated by the bigger crowds at finals, rather than a view to showcasing the league using the best facilities available, and growing the competition in the long term.
Only way to appease all clubs vying for a slice of the pie is to work out some method of splitting the gate, food and drink takings, and distribute accordingly. I remember playing a final at Deni one year, two men and their dogs were there to watch, and as a further 'advertisement' for the comp, half of their electronic scoreboard wasn't working... no-one could tell what the score was. Nice going MFL.:thumbsd:
Fair go buddy, nathalia have got great facilities at least in the change rooms you can kick a footy some clubs don't have that. heaps of parking
and the ground is in good condition.
the food and drinks plus the raffle are already on a rotational system every year ( not sure about the gate takings ) so that clubs get a chance to have piece of the money out of finals. i think if you did a bit more investigating before shooting your mouth off you'd know a bit more.
Just wondering what the independent views are on how a good mate of mine Cam McCabe is going at Moama this year. Absolute Gun footballer, plays it down when I talk to him so wondering what those that have only seen him for the first time this year think!
very very smart footballer and deadly around goals! like all the sunbury boys, very good footballers and great blokes.
Fair go buddy, nathalia have got great facilities at least in the change rooms you can kick a footy some clubs don't have that. heaps of parking
the food and drinks plus the raffle are already on a rotational system every year ( not sure about the gate takings ) so that clubs get a chance to have piece of the money out of finals. i think if you did a bit more investigating before shooting your mouth off you'd know a bit more.
good call bb, not too much research done on that post :rolleyes:.
bystanding backman
21 Jul 2008, 11:08
Hawk they are probably just a bit shitting that they have spent some money this year and it has got them nowhere, they are probably also jealous of Barooga.
as its common knowledge and has been disscused on here that like most clubs, Barooga have spent some money but you have been able to get some quality players where Toc obviously haven't had the same luck with the players that they are paying. i'm not having a go at Barooga either i'm just saying that when clubs go out and spend money on players i think they may have to do a bit more investigating into the player/s before you hand them money, which Toc may not have done.
banggoalrowsell
21 Jul 2008, 16:00
plays a bit like yourself ts.just wondering what chance your AFL team this year?
Jarman03
21 Jul 2008, 22:51
plays a bit like yourself ts.just wondering what chance your AFL team this year?
HAHA one of the best log in names going around that !! AFL team NONE, never been a big fan of clarko matchday coaching, unites the team but he is no demon power in the coaches box, just no tricks up his sleeve as Cameron would attest to!! It is great to see Keg get himself so fit this year and putting on an absolute display by all reports. We always thought he should have played a higher level than most! Champion bloke. HOpe he gets his premiership.
Il Naso De Gastev
22 Jul 2008, 17:57
Erm, well that's all that matters then... the fact you can kick a ball in the change rooms, and the ground isn't bad, the MFL should play the GF there every year:rolleyes:. What about the fact that it isn't central to anywhere bar Nathalia, takes everyone else ages to travel there, and is a complete dive of a town that no-one wants to go to??
Nice selective reading too... I'm still awaiting your argument to justify finals played this season at Congupna and Tongala, or previously Finley, Deni and Mulwala???... All these clubs have shocking facilities, yet the league has seen fit to let them host some of its showcase finals.
OK, point taken re the takings from gate, canteen, bar, raffle etc... however, the fact that they do have a method of splitting the pie shoots the MFL down even further simply because they do have this system in place, meaning everyone benefits financially, yet they still seem to think that allotting finals to clubs such as those listed above is beneficial for the league.:confused: In what regard, I do not know. It seems to me to be a short-sighted approach that is not concerned with the long-term growth, benefit or prosperity of the competition.
Doesn't take a lot of 'research' to mount an argument against a blatantly wrong system.
Purplesaint29
22 Jul 2008, 18:20
Erm, well that's all that matters then... the fact you can kick a ball in the change rooms, and the ground isn't bad, the MFL should play the GF there every year:rolleyes:. What about the fact that it isn't central to anywhere bar Nathalia, takes everyone else ages to travel there, and is a complete dive of a town that no-one wants to go to??
Nice selective reading too... I'm still awaiting your argument to justify finals played this season at Congupna and Tongala, or previously Finley, Deni and Mulwala???... All these clubs have shocking facilities, yet the league has seen fit to let them host some of its showcase finals.
OK, point taken re the takings from gate, canteen, bar, raffle etc... however, the fact that they do have a method of splitting the pie shoots the MFL down even further simply because they do have this system in place, meaning everyone benefits financially, yet they still seem to think that allotting finals to clubs such as those listed above is beneficial for the league.:confused: In what regard, I do not know. It seems to me to be a short-sighted approach that is not concerned with the long-term growth, benefit or prosperity of the competition.
Doesn't take a lot of 'research' to mount an argument against a blatantly wrong system.
Where are you from? You're talking out your arse/face?
Nathalia is the most central town in the Murray League, look at a map you idiot.
"idiot":a person with a very severe mental retardation (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mental_retardation) or a very low IQ (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intelligence_quotient) level, as a sufferer of cretinism (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cretinism), defining idiots as people whose IQ were below 20 (with a standard deviation of 16).
dropthesirenAcky
22 Jul 2008, 19:31
I think I can see your point Gasy , but I'm sure if we weren't expieriencing the worst drought in recent times all grounds in our league would be upto scratch for finals , You only have to travel a bit west like the Bandit and I did last year and witness the loddon valley League finals on a ground not fit to graise sheep.
It does take money to improve facilities , maybe a few years of finals and gate takings can remedy this problem you have with our leagues choices . It wasn't so long ago that AFL club games were played on lesser quality grounds . I think the murray league is heading in the right direction except for Baroga paying too many players ;)
You failed on the little research you have done.
Maybe we should cut the power to the attic and leave you there, as already mentioned Nathalia is one of if not the most centrally located clubs in the league.
You also talk about facilities and car parking, facilities at the mentioned clubs are all good, changerooms maybe on the smaller side but all sufficient, majority if not all sides warm up outside changerooms these days anyway, both Congupna and Nathalia have other ovals to cater for this, Tongala has beside the tennis courts.
Car parking is a croc, Deakin hosts all major finals in the GV and you could probably get 40 cars into the ground and none on the fence.
Il Naso De Gastev
23 Jul 2008, 01:19
You failed on the little research you have done.
Maybe we should cut the power to the attic and leave you there, as already mentioned Nathalia is one of if not the most centrally located clubs in the league.
You also talk about facilities and car parking, facilities at the mentioned clubs are all good, changerooms maybe on the smaller side but all sufficient, majority if not all sides warm up outside changerooms these days anyway, both Congupna and Nathalia have other ovals to cater for this, Tongala has beside the tennis courts.
Car parking is a croc, Deakin hosts all major finals in the GV and you could probably get 40 cars into the ground and none on the fence.
I can't help but get the impression that you lot are standing by the MFL's finals venue selection process. Nathalia, Tongala and Congupna's grounds are terrible. Full stop. Should not even be thought of as finals material, let alone actually hosting one. The MFL should be hanging its head in shame.
Care to highlight where I bought up car parking?? I agree with your point that it's really irrelevant, as people will go to see a good footy match, played on a good surface, with good atmosphere that is well presented by a professional outfit.... all of which are not applicable to Nathalia, Numurkah, Tongala, Congupna, Finley, Mulwala, Deniliquin, Echuca or Moama. People will not go and watch a game that is played at a place that is lacking in atmosphere that looks like a cow-paddock. And why is it necessary that cars park on the fence?? Isn't it better to have people lining the field rather than a few cars tooting their horns after a goal?? Doesn't do a lot for the image of the competition in my book... cue Deakin Reserve, a good atmosphere... no cars!!
Clearly the 3 best grounds from all perspectives are located at Barooga, Tocumwal and Cobram. The fact that finals are not able to be played at Barooga is an absolute joke. This is to the comps financial and image detriment to the league and could have significant long-run effects... and the fact that people are stepping in to defend the MFL for choosing inadequate grounds for finals shows that the MFL could be in a bit of strife. Whoever is responsible at board level for marketing the competition has a lot to answer for.
I see nobody here is willing to mount any sort of case for supporting the MFL's decision to give Tongala and Congupna finals this year.
The League is trying to position itself as a powerful competition in the VCFL, yet plays its finals on grounds that aren't fit for grazing cattle, when other, better grounds are available. Embarrassing.
jameshirdy
23 Jul 2008, 09:35
I can't help but get the impression that you lot are standing by the MFL's finals venue selection process. Nathalia, Tongala and Congupna's grounds are terrible. Full stop. Should not even be thought of as finals material, let alone actually hosting one. The MFL should be hanging its head in shame.
Care to highlight where I bought up car parking?? I agree with your point that it's really irrelevant, as people will go to see a good footy match, played on a good surface, with good atmosphere that is well presented by a professional outfit.... all of which are not applicable to Nathalia, Numurkah, Tongala, Congupna, Finley, Mulwala, Deniliquin, Echuca or Moama. People will not go and watch a game that is played at a place that is lacking in atmosphere that looks like a cow-paddock. And why is it necessary that cars park on the fence?? Isn't it better to have people lining the field rather than a few cars tooting their horns after a goal?? Doesn't do a lot for the image of the competition in my book... cue Deakin Reserve, a good atmosphere... no cars!!
Clearly the 3 best grounds from all perspectives are located at Barooga, Tocumwal and Cobram. The fact that finals are not able to be played at Barooga is an absolute joke. This is to the comps financial and image detriment to the league and could have significant long-run effects... and the fact that people are stepping in to defend the MFL for choosing inadequate grounds for finals shows that the MFL could be in a bit of strife. Whoever is responsible at board level for marketing the competition has a lot to answer for.
I see nobody here is willing to mount any sort of case for supporting the MFL's decision to give Tongala and Congupna finals this year.
The League is trying to position itself as a powerful competition in the VCFL, yet plays its finals on grounds that aren't fit for grazing cattle, when other, better grounds are available. Embarrassing.
Think you will find that Numurkah, Barooga and Finley grounds were not made available for finals due to repairs or reconstruction. I suppose this does minimize the options for finals.
tuckylives
23 Jul 2008, 12:47
I know this has already been spoken about on here, but it has come to my attention that the rumours regarding Moama's money situation are gathering momentum and a fair bit of weight.
I have no intention of stiring the pot here, but I have heard from a number of very reliable sources that things are going pear shaped pretty quickly for the Magpies.
McCool, you pointed out a short while back that a number of big name sponsors pulled out prior to the start of the season which would obviously make it hard for the club, but I am led to believe the real problem here is the individual who put up the large sum of money to fund the recruitment of the Sunbury players. The very strong rumour circulating is that this person promised a large sum of money and supplied part of it, but has since failed to come to the party with the remainder.
Now it is quite obvious that the senior team is performing very well coming into the business end of the season, but looking at the result from the weekend, they were lucky to get home against the Deniliquin Rams.
From what has been said regarding the situation, is there a chance the players have started to revolt againsed the football club?
Obviously it would be a great shame that these players have come all this way, been lured by the Moama FC to play and have, quite clearly, experienced some great success thus far, to throw it all away when there is a huge chance of playing in Grand Final and a possible premiership.
I am also very interested in how the football club and those running it see the long-term jeopardy of the club. Do they believe that a money-driven premiership will boost sponsorship in coming seasons? One would think that if there is no finals success this season, then sponsors would be hesitant to sign on with the club in the future.
I call upon the thoughts and constructive input from the readers of this forum as to how they see this situation, because it is becoming increasingly evident that the success could be short lived at the Moama Football Club.
mockery
23 Jul 2008, 13:00
How's John Harley been going at Moama this year? Gun player, even better bloke.....
tuckylives
23 Jul 2008, 13:17
How's John Harley been going at Moama this year? Gun player, even better bloke.....
He has been going very well from the games I have seen him play. He's consistently in the best players and as I have stated on here a few times before, is a very switched on player despite his size.
And why is it necessary that cars park on the fence?? Isn't it better to have people lining the field rather than a few cars tooting their horns after a goal?? Doesn't do a lot for the image of the competition in my book... cue Deakin Reserve, a good atmosphere... no cars!!
As stated in my last post yes car parking around a ground is not necessary.
And as stated by the great man Hirdy, Barooga's ground is not available (nothing to do with the league) and although it might normally be the best surface in the comp, when I was running around on it a few weeks ago it was the worst surface i have played/trained on this season.
I know this has already been spoken about on here, but it has come to my attention that the rumours regarding Moama's money situation are gathering momentum and a fair bit of weight.
I have no intention of stiring the pot here, but I have heard from a number of very reliable sources that things are going pear shaped pretty quickly for the Magpies.
McCool, you pointed out a short while back that a number of big name sponsors pulled out prior to the start of the season which would obviously make it hard for the club, but I am led to believe the real problem here is the individual who put up the large sum of money to fund the recruitment of the Sunbury players. The very strong rumour circulating is that this person promised a large sum of money and supplied part of it, but has since failed to come to the party with the remainder.
Now it is quite obvious that the senior team is performing very well coming into the business end of the season, but looking at the result from the weekend, they were lucky to get home against the Deniliquin Rams.
From what has been said regarding the situation, is there a chance the players have started to revolt againsed the football club?
Obviously it would be a great shame that these players have come all this way, been lured by the Moama FC to play and have, quite clearly, experienced some great success thus far, to throw it all away when there is a huge chance of playing in Grand Final and a possible premiership.
I am also very interested in how the football club and those running it see the long-term jeopardy of the club. Do they believe that a money-driven premiership will boost sponsorship in coming seasons? One would think that if there is no finals success this season, then sponsors would be hesitant to sign on with the club in the future.
I call upon the thoughts and constructive input from the readers of this forum as to how they see this situation, because it is becoming increasingly evident that the success could be short lived at the Moama Football Club.
Very interesting Tucky, they did have a very big supporter base up here on saturday, however, i think they did have some issues amongst themselves (the players) at half time. Hopefully nothing negative and maybe they were just being open and honest as a group, must have worked as they won the game.
big hawk
23 Jul 2008, 16:44
As stated in my last post yes car parking around a ground is not necessary.
And as stated by the great man Hirdy, Barooga's ground is not available (nothing to do with the league) and although it might normally be the best surface in the comp, when I was running around on it a few weeks ago it was the worst surface i have played/trained on this season.
Yes Hank, the surface is in pretty poor shape at present. This due to the type of grass. The powers to be are looking to ripe up the whole playing surface ASAP and replanting with a more water tolerant grass. So for all those cricketers out there, who were looking forward to playing on the ground, won't be happening this coming season. Hopefully when laid, the new surface will be alot more solid under foot.
What is wrong with the tongala ground?
Deni Rams 3RDS
23 Jul 2008, 19:04
What is wrong with the tongala ground?
Not much room for the fans souts
Round 18 Starting Date: 26/7/2008
Tocumwal v Congupna
Numurkah v Echuca United
Cobram v Barooga
Moama v Nathalia
Rumbalara v Deniliquin Rams
Mulwala v Finley
Tongala Bye
Dream on Homer! :o
tuckylives
24 Jul 2008, 14:19
Tocumwal v Congupna
Numurkah v Echuca United
Cobram v Barooga
Moama v Nathalia
Mulwala v Finley
Tongala Bye
Never say never, with Rumbalara having their two biggest goal-scorers John Jackson and Darren Turner out, as well as Rex Taylor and Corey Wanganeen, the game may be closer than you think.
morgs01
24 Jul 2008, 14:27
Never say never, with Rumbalara having their two biggest goal-scorers John Jackson and Darren Turner out, as well as Rex Taylor and Corey Wanganeen, the game may be closer than you think.
I think you will find that Corey and Darren will line up for Rumba and with Phil Gutherie and Rupert Betheras to make there long awaited return to the senior team the Rams will still have to bring there A Game to Mercury Drive.
tuckylives
24 Jul 2008, 14:45
Tocumwal v Congupna - 44 points
Numurkah v Echuca United - 14 points
Cobram v Barooga - 51 points
Moama v Nathalia - 11 points
Rumbalara v Deniliquin Rams - 39 points
Mulwala v Finley - 65 points
Tongala Bye
There are going to be a couple of red-hot games this weekend. On the smaller ground, I think Moama will sneak home against Nathalia.
tuckylives
24 Jul 2008, 14:46
I think you will find that Corey and Darren will line up for Rumba and with Phil Gutherie and Rupert Betheras to make there long awaited return to the senior team the Rams will still have to bring there A Game to Mercury Drive.
Oh fair enough. Hope Phil goes well!!
Certainly wont be our A Game, hav'nt had that luxury all year through injuries, but we'll have 21 on the park and they will do their best ;) .
Purplesaint29
24 Jul 2008, 15:12
Tocumwal v Congupna
Numurkah v Echuca United
Cobram v Barooga
Moama v Nathalia
Mulwala v Finley
Tongala Bye
Tocumwal v Congupna - 44 points
Numurkah v Echuca United - 14 points
Cobram v Barooga - 51 points
Moama v Nathalia - 11 points
Rumbalara v Deniliquin Rams - 39 points
Mulwala v Finley - 65 points
Tongala Bye
There are going to be a couple of red-hot games this weekend. On the smaller ground, I think Moama will sneak home against Nathalia.
Numurkah should beat United, the four points are too valuable.
Not much room for the fans souts
not much room for what? as hank touched on before parking isnt an issue, altho there is heaps of car parks, the car park at the front gate and once you are in the ground! also there are plenty of good places to watch the game from. this will be tonnys third year in the league, i think there faculties are worthy of having a final played there!
Deni Rams 3RDS
24 Jul 2008, 17:21
not much room for what? as hank touched on before parking isnt an issue, altho there is heaps of car parks, the car park at the front gate and once you are in the ground! also there are plenty of good places to watch the game from. this will be tonnys third year in the league, i think there faculties are worthy of having a final played there!
how long since deni have had a final?
Tonny is OK for finals, only issue i have is the scoreboard, numbers are too small and hard to see from the other end of the ground, good atmosphere there.
tuckylives
25 Jul 2008, 10:15
Tonny is OK for finals, only issue i have is the scoreboard, numbers are too small and hard to see from the other end of the ground, good atmosphere there.
That's the time when you need to put your glasses back on Homer. ;)
But I do agree, if I had to find something to criticise, it would probably be that.
Purplesaint29
25 Jul 2008, 12:19
Nathalia Seniors Gemmill free for the fist time since 1966. Good effort by the boys: three sons Graeme, Noel & Barry and five grandsons Marc, Ashley, Shane, Nathan & Kyle.
Young Brodie Ross carries the tradition on though, his mum Christine is one of Dot & George's five kids.:thumbsu:
:Dnot much room for what? as hank touched on before parking isnt an issue, altho there is heaps of car parks, the car park at the front gate and once you are in the ground! also there are plenty of good places to watch the game from. this will be tonnys third year in the league, i think there faculties are worthy of having a final played there!
The only problem about the tonny ground is that u never get a kick on it Souts:D:D:D
tuckylives
26 Jul 2008, 19:09
Todays Results:
Tocumwal 11.12 (78) v Congupna 15.8 (98)
Numurkah 17.11 (113) v Echuca United 10.8 (68)
Cobram 9.8 (62) v Barooga 23.15 (153)
Moama 19.16 (130) v Nathalia 12.9 (81)
Rumbalara 12.16 (88) v Deniliquin Rams 15.7 (97)
Mulwala 12.21 (93) v Finley 7.7 (49)
A couple of shock wins this week with Congupna too good for the Bloods on their home deck, while the Rams have given Rumbalara a fright coming into the finals with a good win.
I would say Moama have just about locked themselves in as premership favorite after easily accounting for Nathalia.
Just a side note, I see Luke Teasdale booted 7 goals for the Moama reserves today... He certainly earnt his dim-sims this week!:thumbsu:
Todays Results:
Tocumwal 11.12 (78) v Congupna 15.8 (98)
Numurkah 17.11 (113) v Echuca United 10.8 (68)
Cobram 9.8 (62) v Barooga 23.15 (153)
Moama 19.16 (130) v Nathalia 12.9 (81)
Rumbalara 12.16 (88) v Deniliquin Rams 15.7 (97)
Mulwala 12.21 (93) v Finley 7.7 (49)
A couple of shock wins this week with Congupna too good for the Bloods on their home deck, while the Rams have given Rumbalara a fright coming into the finals with a good win.
I would say Moama have just about locked themselves in as premership favorite after easily accounting for Nathalia.
Just a side note, I see Luke Teasdale booted 7 goals for the Moama reserves today... He certainly earnt his dim-sims this week!:thumbsu:
Yes agree, but would back Nathalia come finals with the two best on ballers not just for Nathalia but in the comp to come back, in Drew Barnes and Nath Gemmill.
Did anyone else of note miss from each side Tucky?
tuckylives
27 Jul 2008, 11:11
Yes agree, but would back Nathalia come finals with the two best on ballers not just for Nathalia but in the comp to come back, in Drew Barnes and Nath Gemmill.
Did anyone else of note miss from each side Tucky?
I would have to agree with you there. Finals is a totally different ball game, but it should make for an interesting finals series.
Other than Nathan Gemmill and Drew Barnes missing from the Purple's line-up, I think they were at full strength, while Moama were without coach Shannon Keam who has re-injured the hamstring injury he suffered during interleague.
Yes you are right about the sponsors who have yet to pay there full commitment of money. As everyone would agree it does make it very tough on the whole club when this happens. VERY ordinary effort from the people (businesses) concerned.
All paid players are aware of this situation and as far as I know (which I do) there has been no talk of revolt or dis-satisfaction by anyone. If anything it has brought everyone closer together.
To be totally honest at the start of the season we weren't even talking premierships. Making the finals was our only aim. As it has turned out and as I have mentioned before our recruitment (led by Roger Toll) of quality players/blokes and who don't think with there pockets has been first rate!!
Nathalia clearly had a few of there best players out Saturday so you can't read too much into the game apart from us beating the best 21 players they had available. Will be very interesting to see how playing 2 games in 6 weeks (barooga, bye, congupna, bye, bye (if finish top 2), 2nd semi) will affect anything come the business end. Time will tell.
The canteen staff had to buy 2 more 60 packs of dim sims after Luke Teas effort satdy!
nesko_25
28 Jul 2008, 16:39
Hey Hank, how do you Josh Walter?
QUOTE=nesko_25;11865208]Hey Hank, how do you Josh Walter?[/QUOTE]
:confused: not sure what you're asking there Nesko?
tuckylives
28 Jul 2008, 22:59
Hey Hank, how do you (rate) Josh Walter?
;):thumbsu:
;):thumbsu:
that was more along the lines of what I was thinking, so we will go with that.
Very good skills, and uses them well under pressure, probably didnt see the best of him because he didnt have the time/commitment to train and do the hard yards so never got the opportunities that his ability should have. Would expect him to be a solid senior minor league player.
banggoalrowsell
29 Jul 2008, 09:11
Yes you are right about the sponsors who have yet to pay there full commitment of money. As everyone would agree it does make it very tough on the whole club when this happens. VERY ordinary effort from the people (businesses) concerned.
All paid players are aware of this situation and as far as I know (which I do) there has been no talk of revolt or dis-satisfaction by anyone. If anything it has brought everyone closer together.
To be totally honest at the start of the season we weren't even talking premierships. Making the finals was our only aim. As it has turned out and as I have mentioned before our recruitment (led by Roger Toll) of quality players/blokes and who don't think with there pockets has been first rate!!
Nathalia clearly had a few of there best players out Saturday so you can't read too much into the game apart from us beating the best 21 players they had available. Will be very interesting to see how playing 2 games in 6 weeks (barooga, bye, congupna, bye, bye (if finish top 2), 2nd semi) will affect anything come the business end. Time will tell.
The canteen staff had to buy 2 more 60 packs of dim sims after Luke Teas effort satdy!spoke with the sunbury boys on the weekend,and all are heading back next year,promises have been broken.maybe greenman can shed some light.
Kwik_as
29 Jul 2008, 17:17
spoke with the sunbury boys on the weekend,and all are heading back next year,promises have been broken.maybe greenman can shed some light.
rowsell been watching the sunbury boys closely and have been great for the mfc, when you say heading back next year is that here to moama or back to melbourne??
Purplesaint29
29 Jul 2008, 18:01
rowsell been watching the sunbury boys closely and have been great for the mfc, when you say heading back next year is that here to moama or back to melbourne??
Guessing Sunbury.
:D
The only problem about the tonny ground is that u never get a kick on it Souts:D:D:D
you are always getting kicks ringo even when the ball's not around!!!!:p:thumbsu:;)
Round 19 Starting Date: 2/8/2008
Congupna v Numurkah
Echuca United v Cobram
Barooga v Moama
Nathalia v Rumbalara
Deniliquin Rams v Mulwala
Tongala v Tocumwal
Finley Bye
All home team victories.....please :p
Purplesaint29
30 Jul 2008, 15:13
Round 19 Starting Date: 2/8/2008
Congupna v Numurkah
Echuca United v Cobram
Barooga v Moama
Nathalia v Rumbalara
Tongala v Tocumwal
Finley Bye
All home team victories.....please :p
Keep dreaming Homer.
Congupna v Numurkah
Echuca United v Cobram
Barooga v Moama
Nathalia v Rumbalara
Tongala v Tocumwal
Finley Bye
Numurkah to stay one in front of you guys.
keep Dreaming Homer.
Congupna V numurkah
Echuca United V cobram
barooga V Moama
nathalia V Rumbalara
deniliquin Rams V Mulwala
tongala V Tocumwal
Finley Bye
Numurkah To Stay One In Front Of You Guys.
Doh!
barnzi71
30 Jul 2008, 21:35
Congupna v Numurkah
Echuca United v Cobram
Barooga v Moama
Nathalia v Rumbalara
Tongala v Tocumwal
Finley Bye
I think Moama is stronger than Barooga.
toquick
31 Jul 2008, 09:14
Congupna v Numurkah
Echuca United v Cobram
Barooga v Moama
Nathalia v Rumbalara
Finley Bye
Not a bad round of footy with 4 out of the top 6 sides playing each other.
tuckylives
31 Jul 2008, 10:01
Congupna v Numurkah - 21 points
Echuca United v Cobram - 15 points
Barooga v Moama - Draw
Nathalia v Rumbalara - 32 points
Deniliquin Rams v Mulwala - 39 points
Tongala v Tocumwal - 51 points
Finley Bye
As toquick said, it should be a great round of games. Although it's not likely to happen, I would love to see Barooga and Moama have a draw just to spice things up a little more and so we can really see which side has more hunger to win the flag this year.
Purplesaint29
31 Jul 2008, 10:57
I've gone Barooga because of the home ground advantage.
Nathalia won at home to Moama.
Rumba won at home to Nathalia.
Moama won at home to Barooga.
Barooga won at home to Rumba.
Barooga won at home to Nathalia.
Moama won at home to Nathalia.
tuckylives
31 Jul 2008, 11:21
I've gone Barooga because of the home ground advantage.
Nathalia won at home to Moama.
Rumba won at home to Nathalia.
Moama won at home to Barooga.
Barooga won at home to Rumba.
Barooga won at home to Nathalia.
Moama won at home to Nathalia.
Good logic there mate, both Moama and Barooga play their home grounds very well but.... C'mon the draw!!!!:D:p:D
tuckylives
31 Jul 2008, 12:56
LATEST WWW.SPORTSBET.COM.AU MFL PREMERISHIP ODDS
Barooga $2.50
Moama $2.80
Nathalia $3.50
Tongala $8.00
Rumbalara $9.00
Deniliquin Rams $34.00
Numurkah $67.00
Cobram $126.00
Tocumwal $251.00
Mulwala $1,001.00
Echuca United $1,501.00
Barooga still lead the charge by a small margin, but depending on this weekend's result, that could change. Tongala have overtaken Rumbalara while there is a big step back to the Rams (ahead of Numurkah) who are still in finals contention, just.
LATEST WWW.SPORTSBET.COM.AU MFL PREMERISHIP ODDS
Barooga $2.50
Moama $2.80
Nathalia $3.50
Tongala $8.00
Rumbalara $9.00
Deniliquin Rams $34.00
Numurkah $67.00
Cobram $126.00
Tocumwal $251.00
Mulwala $1,001.00
Echuca United $1,501.00
Barooga still lead the charge by a small margin, but depending on this weekend's result, that could change. Tongala have overtaken Rumbalara while there is a big step back to the Rams (ahead of Numurkah) who are still in finals contention, just.
Very interesting one with Numurkah that far out and Deni half there quota, even though it seems fairly certain that Numurkah will finish 6th and Deni will just miss out.
Laughable, Echuca United bigger odds than Mulwala hahaha, niether can make the top 6.
Is the weight of money suggesting Rams will make the finals and Numurkah miss out?
Must be some punters out there that know something i dont.
tuckylives
31 Jul 2008, 13:24
Exactly what I was thinking Hank, having a look at what the odds have been throughout the season, I'm not sure how they come up with them.
I don't even know why they have United, Mulwala and Tocumwal still in the mix. Unless something extraordinary happened where all of the top teams lost their points and all of a sudden the bottom teams become the top teams and the $10 I put on each of those bottom teams turn into many thousands of dollars and I become a very happy man. But that will never happen.:rolleyes:
tuckylives
31 Jul 2008, 13:25
Laughable, Echuca United bigger odds than Mulwala hahaha, niether can make the top 6.
Is the weight of money suggesting Rams will make the finals and Numurkah miss out?
Must be some punters out there that know something i dont.
Be afraid Homer, be very afraid. Or happy? Which ever way you see it! :D
Maybe its the Congupna boys and the Tongala boys plonking it on the Rams after the packages they all should have recieved by now (oops did i say that) for knockin off Numurkah this week and next :rolleyes: :p.
you are always getting kicks ringo even when the ball's not around!!!!:p:thumbsu:;)
Ha Ha-I see u've got smarter-it only took you ten days to reply!! Keep working on it Souts it will all come together one day-By the way how are things out WEST???:D:D:D
Simmy #18
31 Jul 2008, 22:24
Ha Ha-I see u've got smarter-it only took you ten days to reply!! Keep working on it Souts it will all come together one day-By the way how are things out WEST???:D:D:D
You might have to ask Tigger that one now haha
tuckylives
1 Aug 2008, 10:55
MFL Ground Sizes:
Tocumwal Rec. Reserve - 179m x 112m
Deniliquin Oval - 177m x 122m
Cobram (Scotts Reserve) - 176m x 130m
Nathalia Rec. Reserve - 176m x 128m
Numurkah Showgrounds - 172m x 129m
Barooga Rec. Reserve - 168m x 120m
Echuca United Rec. Reserve - 165m x 135m
Finley Rec. Reserve - 161m x 137m
Moama Rec. Reserve - 160m x 111m
Congupna Rec. Reserve - 159m x 135m
Mulwala (Lonsdale Reserve) - 159m x 128m
Tongala Rec. Reserve - 159 x 128m
Rumbalara (Mercury Drive Res) - Unknown
hey purplesaint, what was the reasoning behind the whole nathalia playing group, committee & supporter base drinking up at the sporties after the game last week? it is particulary disappointing when one of our committee members approaches your coach & president mentioning that we don't drink up there and your all welcome to come down and have a drink at our rooms. the response was a 'oh well'. i can vouch for pretty much all of us staying for a drink when we played you blokes. very disappointing to say the least by the 2 blokes at the top of your club! it was similar with finley a few weeks ago and when mentioned to them about drinking down at the rooms. BUT the president rounded up everyone and came over for a drink.
tuckylives
1 Aug 2008, 13:00
hey purplesaint, what was the reasoning behind the whole nathalia playing group, committee & supporter base drinking up at the sporties after the game last week? it is particulary disappointing when one of our committee members approaches your coach & president mentioning that we don't drink up there and your all welcome to come down and have a drink at our rooms. the response was a 'oh well'. i can vouch for pretty much all of us staying for a drink when we played you blokes. very disappointing to say the least by the 2 blokes at the top of your club! it was similar with finley a few weeks ago and when mentioned to them about drinking down at the rooms. BUT the president rounded up everyone and came over for a drink.
That's a fair call McCool and I can understand where your football club is coming from. Perhaps prior to every home game, someone from your club could inform the president of the visiting team that drinks are in the club rooms, not the Sports Club after the game. I can see how visiting clubs would find it confusing, with the Moama FC having your changerooms underneith the Sporties.
totally understand tucky but when one of our committee members receives a response like that from the COACH & PRESIDENT then that is another thing. anyway........
tuckylives
1 Aug 2008, 13:23
totally understand tucky but when one of our committee members receives a response like that from the COACH & PRESIDENT then that is another thing. anyway........
Yes very true, and I reckon it was pretty uncalled for.
I believe Daryl Harrison was re-appointed as Tongala coach for another 12 months last night! A good decision and will give the club even more momentum to give the flag a shake. Hank can you confirm this??:thumbsu:
You've still got the finger on the pulse Ringo! Yes going around again, looking forward to finishing this year off well, and then rolling straight into next season as has been the case over the past two years.
jameshirdy
1 Aug 2008, 21:23
You've still got the finger on the pulse Ringo! Yes going around again, looking forward to finishing this year off well, and then rolling straight into next season as has been the case over the past two years.
i assume ringos reappointment will follow in the near future. Ringo your boys must be going all right, you may have found your spot in the coaching ranks!!
ps. pity my boys gave u a touch up last weekend. no cattle what a crock of &^%%*.
:thumbsu:
barnzi71
1 Aug 2008, 22:09
Is your committee member sure it was the coach and the president they were talking to? I only ask as someone said they were talking to the president during the seconds game and it wasnt him, it was the runner. and what makes you think purple saint would have the answers your looking for, maybe you should go straight to the coach and president to find out.
bystanding backman
2 Aug 2008, 10:27
i can't comment on what was said cause i wasn't there. McCool is it possibe they thought you were taking the piss, i mean every year we have played at Moama it has always been up to the sporties afterwards for a drink its just a bit odd that your club would wait until we were upstairs to tell us.
Just on another note, had a mate at the footy who had his 85 year old grandma with him, half time in the crappy conditions decides to wheel her round for some afternoon tea only to be told when they got there sorry can't help don't have arvo tea today. whats the go with that McCool arvo tea is what a lot of the older supporters look forward to on a cold crappy day a nice hot cuppa and some cake.
Good morning guys,
Very new to this site but heard from a very reliable source today that Whymann has re-signed with Moama for next year. Finally one piece of good news (apart from still being on top of the ladder) for them in the forum this week.
Cheers, have a good weekend!
big hawk
2 Aug 2008, 22:34
Credit where credit is due............the Mowers are the real deal and will go into the finals series as favourites to take out this year's premiership. Totally outplayed our blokes, barring the 3rd quarter, and looked the goods!!! Well played.:thumbsu:
i assume ringos reappointment will follow in the near future. Ringo your boys must be going all right, you may have found your spot in the coaching ranks!!
ps. pity my boys gave u a touch up last weekend. no cattle what a crock of &^%%*.
:thumbsu:
Dropped 3 in a row so in a slump but had 5 in ones and a couple out with Pioneers but we have'nt been playing well but confident that we can be in the mix, Pies r the worst side in AFL @ the moment. Are u getting a kick? and more importantly-IS THE SLAB STILL UP FOR GRABS??:thumbsu:
i can't comment on what was said cause i wasn't there. McCool is it possibe they thought you were taking the piss, i mean every year we have played at Moama it has always been up to the sporties afterwards for a drink its just a bit odd that your club would wait until we were upstairs to tell us.
Just on another note, had a mate at the footy who had his 85 year old grandma with him, half time in the crappy conditions decides to wheel her round for some afternoon tea only to be told when they got there sorry can't help don't have arvo tea today. whats the go with that McCool arvo tea is what a lot of the older supporters look forward to on a cold crappy day a nice hot cuppa and some cake.
we haven't been up there after a game for a couple of years. i agree our president or someone should have informed opposition teams earlier. normally i would think if you get up there and there is NO moama player in sight you'd wonder if you were in the right place. we all hope everyone involved learns from these misunderstandings and lack of communication.
re: granny! was our sponsors day which was in the social rooms where all the elderly normally go. there was coffee, cake etc outside in the other food outlets. would have been disappointing for her not to go inside but is the only day of the year that we officially thanked the sponsors.
Is your committee member sure it was the coach and the president they were talking to? I only ask as someone said they were talking to the president during the seconds game and it wasnt him, it was the runner. and what makes you think purple saint would have the answers your looking for, maybe you should go straight to the coach and president to find out.
yes barnzi was the president who the committee member dealt with a few times during the day. don't worry i did ask twice if she (yes was a female committee member) was sure it was the president.
i only asked purplesaint as i know he's a nathalia boy and may know something. there is as always 2 sides to a story.
oldstyle
3 Aug 2008, 10:31
went and watched a great game yesterday at purple land against Rumba and boy was it a hard fought contest with our boys coming out on top, It was a great game leading into finals and if we can get a few back in coming weeks look out for the purps.;)
tuckylives
3 Aug 2008, 12:29
Was reading through Wednesday's Shepp News yesterday and came across this article. Now to get this clear, I'm not putting this on here to cause trouble, but I think this is a great opportunity for people to see Moama FC's General Manager Roger Toll's opinion on the issue.
General manager quashes rumours of Magpies flying the nest
July 30 2008, Shepparton News
Moama general manager Roger Toll has put to bed rumours that a number of players are on the verge of walking out on the Murray Football League club.
"One hundred per cent false," Toll said yesterday when asked about the speculation.
Toll confirmed he has heard a number of rumours relating to Moama this season and said he couldn't believe some of the innuendo generated on football discussion website www.bigfooty.com.au
"For sure I've heard three or four rumours . . . I can't believe what's buzzed around town and on that bigfooty website," he said.
"One that was going around was that someone had given the club $200 000. I'd like that to happen, but it definitely hasn't.
"I think it's just a case of a club being kicked in the guts when it's down and now we're on top people can't stand it."
Up until this season, Moama had won just 16 games between 2004-07 and last played finals in 2003.
The Magpies went about rectifying their lack of success with a heavy recruiting drive at the end of last year, starting with the appointment of Sunbury's Shannon Keam as senior coach.
Keam's signing brought with him Scott Lobb, Cameron McCabe, Ross Sleight and Luke Allen - teammates of Keam's at Sunbury.
The Magpies then picked up arguably the biggest Murray league recruit of the season in former North Melbourne livewire Djaran Whyman.
As a result, Moama is currently on top of the ladder with a 15-1 record this season.
To give an indication of how big an impact Moama's recruits have had on the team this season, six of its current top 10 goal-kickers are new to the club.
Those six players have kicked a total of 238 goals between them which equates to 1428 points - more than what Moama scored in an entire season every year from 2004-07.
McCabe leads the competition goalkicking with 83, while Whyman has kicked 51 and Allen 42. The top-placed Magpies face a tough assignment this week when they travel to meet second-placed Barooga.
dropthesirenAcky
3 Aug 2008, 14:07
Was reading through Wednesday's Shepp News yesterday and came across this article. Now to get this clear, I'm not putting this on here to cause trouble, but I think this is a great opportunity for people to see Moama FC's General Manager Roger Toll's opinion on the issue.
General manager quashes rumours of Magpies flying the nest
July 30 2008, Shepparton News
Moama general manager Roger Toll has put to bed rumours that a number of players are on the verge of walking out on the Murray Football League club.
"One hundred per cent false," Toll said yesterday when asked about the speculation.
Toll confirmed he has heard a number of rumours relating to Moama this season and said he couldn't believe some of the innuendo generated on football discussion website www.bigfooty.com.au (http://www.bigfooty.com.au)
"For sure I've heard three or four rumours . . . I can't believe what's buzzed around town and on that bigfooty website," he said.
"One that was going around was that someone had given the club $200 000. I'd like that to happen, but it definitely hasn't.
"I think it's just a case of a club being kicked in the guts when it's down and now we're on top people can't stand it."
Up until this season, Moama had won just 16 games between 2004-07 and last played finals in 2003.
The Magpies went about rectifying their lack of success with a heavy recruiting drive at the end of last year, starting with the appointment of Sunbury's Shannon Keam as senior coach.
Keam's signing brought with him Scott Lobb, Cameron McCabe, Ross Sleight and Luke Allen - teammates of Keam's at Sunbury.
The Magpies then picked up arguably the biggest Murray league recruit of the season in former North Melbourne livewire Djaran Whyman.
As a result, Moama is currently on top of the ladder with a 15-1 record this season.
To give an indication of how big an impact Moama's recruits have had on the team this season, six of its current top 10 goal-kickers are new to the club.
Those six players have kicked a total of 238 goals between them which equates to 1428 points - more than what Moama scored in an entire season every year from 2004-07.
McCabe leads the competition goalkicking with 83, while Whyman has kicked 51 and Allen 42. The top-placed Magpies face a tough assignment this week when they travel to meet second-placed Barooga.
so it was less than $200k ? $199k ;)