View Full Version : Murray Football League - Part 2

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10

boora
3 Aug 2008, 19:34
went and watched a great game yesterday at purple land against Rumba and boy was it a hard fought contest with our boys coming out on top, It was a great game leading into finals and if we can get a few back in coming weeks look out for the purps.;)

very good game of footy, hard/tough, fast and great skills. i reckon that nathalia will be very hard to beat come finals time and they certainly gave our boys a footballing lesson.

McCool
3 Aug 2008, 23:05
Was reading through Wednesday's Shepp News yesterday and came across this article. Now to get this clear, I'm not putting this on here to cause trouble, but I think this is a great opportunity for people to see Moama FC's General Manager Roger Toll's opinion on the issue.

General manager quashes rumours of Magpies flying the nest

July 30 2008, Shepparton News

Moama general manager Roger Toll has put to bed rumours that a number of players are on the verge of walking out on the Murray Football League club.
"One hundred per cent false," Toll said yesterday when asked about the speculation.
Toll confirmed he has heard a number of rumours relating to Moama this season and said he couldn't believe some of the innuendo generated on football discussion website www.bigfooty.com.au
"For sure I've heard three or four rumours . . . I can't believe what's buzzed around town and on that bigfooty website," he said.
"One that was going around was that someone had given the club $200 000. I'd like that to happen, but it definitely hasn't.
"I think it's just a case of a club being kicked in the guts when it's down and now we're on top people can't stand it."
Up until this season, Moama had won just 16 games between 2004-07 and last played finals in 2003.
The Magpies went about rectifying their lack of success with a heavy recruiting drive at the end of last year, starting with the appointment of Sunbury's Shannon Keam as senior coach.
Keam's signing brought with him Scott Lobb, Cameron McCabe, Ross Sleight and Luke Allen - teammates of Keam's at Sunbury.
The Magpies then picked up arguably the biggest Murray league recruit of the season in former North Melbourne livewire Djaran Whyman.
As a result, Moama is currently on top of the ladder with a 15-1 record this season.
To give an indication of how big an impact Moama's recruits have had on the team this season, six of its current top 10 goal-kickers are new to the club.
Those six players have kicked a total of 238 goals between them which equates to 1428 points - more than what Moama scored in an entire season every year from 2004-07.
McCabe leads the competition goalkicking with 83, while Whyman has kicked 51 and Allen 42. The top-placed Magpies face a tough assignment this week when they travel to meet second-placed Barooga.

now they're calling keamo a sunbury boy too! that's how much everyone knows about what's going on. i think if the shepp news could read properly we all have said keamo and johnny harley came from robinvale......... enough crud, bring on the finals hey!

barnzi71
4 Aug 2008, 07:02
we haven't been up there after a game for a couple of years. i agree our president or someone should have informed opposition teams earlier. normally i would think if you get up there and there is NO moama player in sight you'd wonder if you were in the right place. we all hope everyone involved learns from these misunderstandings and lack of communication.

re: granny! was our sponsors day which was in the social rooms where all the elderly normally go. there was coffee, cake etc outside in the other food outlets. would have been disappointing for her not to go inside but is the only day of the year that we officially thanked the sponsors.

yes your right there is 2 sides to every story. as for your sponsors day, i understand you would like to thank them, but maybe you could take a leaf out of Finely's book, they to had sponsors day when we played them. but that was all over by the half time break and they still managed to have afternoon tea on for us, and it was best afternoon tea for an away game i have been to all season.

Barnzi

McCool
4 Aug 2008, 10:10
yes your right there is 2 sides to every story. as for your sponsors day, i understand you would like to thank them, but maybe you could take a leaf out of Finely's book, they to had sponsors day when we played them. but that was all over by the half time break and they still managed to have afternoon tea on for us, and it was best afternoon tea for an away game i have been to all season.

Barnzi

you sure your not the granny mate going in for arvo tea.......kiddin ;)

tuckylives
4 Aug 2008, 10:24
now they're calling keamo a sunbury boy too! that's how much everyone knows about what's going on. i think if the shepp news could read properly we all have said keamo and johnny harley came from robinvale......... enough crud, bring on the finals hey!
Yes, I did have a bit of a laugh when I read that! Good researching skills shown there.

Purplesaint29
4 Aug 2008, 11:50
I'm not allowed to leave the state of Victoria. Where are we meant to drink? At the back of the change rooms? Club President is Peter 'Ted' Limbrick and the Coach is Marc 'Happy' Quarrell. Just so there is no confusion.

goodgolly24
4 Aug 2008, 15:14
very good game of footy, hard/tough, fast and great skills. i reckon that nathalia will be very hard to beat come finals time and they certainly gave our boys a footballing lesson.

Yes Boora it was a good, tough, hard game of football and it was just a shame both clubs didn't have thier full list to choose from with both teams missing key players. But I don't think there was any sort of lesson handed out. Yes they came away with the points in the end but we had our chances. Don't forget we were 4 goals up in the second quarter and on a roll and then a mallee broke out and of the 16 odd bodies involved the umpire chose to yellow card(1 of about 6 given the whole game) John Jackson.
And i'm sure with Barnes, Gemmil x 2 and who ever else i've missed coming back into that side they'll give any team a shake. But come finals they and any other team that comes up against us will have there work cut out for them.

souts
4 Aug 2008, 18:15
Yes Boora it was a good, tough, hard game of football and it was just a shame both clubs didn't have thier full list to choose from with both teams missing key players. But I don't think there was any sort of lesson handed out. Yes they came away with the points in the end but we had our chances. Don't forget we were 4 goals up in the second quarter and on a roll and then a mallee broke out and of the 16 odd bodies involved the umpire chose to yellow card(1 of about 6 given the whole game) John Jackson.
And i'm sure with Barnes, Gemmil x 2 and who ever else i've missed coming back into that side they'll give any team a shake. But come finals they and any other team that comes up against us will have there work cut out for them.

i was speaking to the umpire of that match and he said that 1 purp and 3 rumba boys had been reported! any chance of the rumba boys getting 3?;)

barnzi71
4 Aug 2008, 19:00
you sure your not the granny mate going in for arvo tea.......kiddin ;)

Well yes I am a nana, but I dont see what that has to do with it.........laughing. (You thought I was a bloke).

boora
4 Aug 2008, 19:56
i was speaking to the umpire of that match and he said that 1 purp and 3 rumba boys had been reported! any chance of the rumba boys getting 3?;)
who knows with the tribunal, they probably will get life:eek: john jackson will be the one that hurts us the most, but he will be back for the first final. we get derek murray, leighthen briggs, corey wanganeen, rex taylor and ronny dunbar back after the break so we will more than cover them boys.

Homer1
4 Aug 2008, 19:58
Hey hank1

Need a big big favor this weekend mate, u guys gotta knock off Numurkah for us, we let u beat us by 1pt :p, now u owe us one, this weekend would be ideal :D.

ringo1
4 Aug 2008, 21:30
Hey hank1

Need a big big favor this weekend mate, u guys gotta knock off Numurkah for us, we let u beat us by 1pt :p, now u owe us one, this weekend would be ideal :D.

Yeah a huge game and players don't get reported if they stay away from the 'action' in reference to Nathalia/Rumba game

oldstyle
4 Aug 2008, 21:31
Hey Big Hawk i hear you guys copped a few injurys to key players, Was this late or early in the game and did it have any bearing on the out come?

big hawk
5 Aug 2008, 07:54
Hey Big Hawk i hear you guys copped a few injurys to key players, Was this late or early in the game and did it have any bearing on the out come?
Oldstyle, I wish I could say that injuries were the reason for our poor showing but the team was totally outplayed. We lost Hazza (Sean Harrap) early, which definitely hurt as he found some great form at the Country championships and we were looking forward to him bringing that form back to club level. The only other major injury was Dylan Brooks, who twinged the hammy well into the last. Other than that, I think the 7 game stretch had finally caught up with the boys!!! Looking forward to a week off before the last couple of rounds and then finals!:)

hank1
5 Aug 2008, 10:11
Hey hank1

We will be doing our best for you Homer1.

oldstyle
5 Aug 2008, 12:38
Yeah a huge game and players don't get reported if they stay away from the 'action' in reference to Nathalia/Rumba game
Would you like to elaborate!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:confused:

Homer1
5 Aug 2008, 20:29
Wot going on here, censorship?
Posts have been removed :(

Please explain, i got my info from Aunty.

I didnt realise Nathalia were protected, sorry.

jameshirdy
5 Aug 2008, 21:00
Im confused
I thought a forum was a meeting place to discuss issues of public interest?
The issue I raised this afternoon on this thread
was discussed this morning on ABC radio in length
can someone please explain why comments concerning this subject have been sent into cyber space.

cheers

tuckylives
5 Aug 2008, 21:40
BigFooty users and readers. Please note that the alleged incident is under investigation, and until an outcome is reached, there is to be no discussion regarding the alleged incident or persons involved on the Murray Football League forum.
This is a legal issue, and speculation, such as what can and will take place on this website can have a strong effect on the outcome.

If you have any questions or need further explanation, please do not hesitate to contact me via PM.

Thank you for your co-operation.

boora
5 Aug 2008, 23:11
what has been going on? have i missed something? :confused:

ringo1
5 Aug 2008, 23:19
what has been going on? have i missed something? :confused:

Boora I must of had my head in the same sand!!! WHAT IS GOING ON ???:confused::confused:

boora
5 Aug 2008, 23:29
Boora I must of had my head in the same sand!!! WHAT IS GOING ON ???:confused::confused:
i must be having a blonde moment :p as i am totally clueless and confused :confused:

boora
5 Aug 2008, 23:34

i must be having a blonde moment, as i am totally confused about things. so has there been deleted posts :confused: :confused:

tuckylives
5 Aug 2008, 23:37
BigFooty users and readers. Please note that the alleged incident is under investigation, and until an outcome is reached, there is to be no discussion regarding the alleged incident or persons involved on the Murray Football League forum.
This is a legal issue, and speculation, such as what can and will take place on this website can have a strong effect on the outcome.

If you have any questions or need further explanation, please do not hesitate to contact me via PM.

Thank you for your co-operation.

:):thumbsu:

Homer1
6 Aug 2008, 13:19
Round 20 Starting Date: 9/8/2008
Cobram v Congupna
Mulwala v Nathalia
Finley v Deniliquin Rams
Numurkah v Tongala
Tocumwal Bye
Moama Bye
Echuca United Bye
Rumbalara Bye
Barooga Bye

Com'n Tonny, time to step up and turn it on :thumbsu:

tuckylives
6 Aug 2008, 13:24
Round 20 Starting Date: 9/8/2008
Cobram v Congupna
Mulwala v Nathalia
Finley v Deniliquin Rams
Numurkah v Tongala
Tocumwal Bye
Moama Bye
Echuca United Bye
Rumbalara Bye
Barooga Bye

Com'n Tonny, time to step up and turn it on :thumbsu:
Cobram v Congupna - 49 points
Mulwala v Nathalia - 91 points
Finley v Deniliquin Rams - 42 points
Numurkah v Tongala - 38 points
Tocumwal Bye
Moama Bye
Echuca United Bye
Rumbalara Bye
Barooga Bye

barnzi71
6 Aug 2008, 19:53
Cobram v Congupna
Mulwala v Nathalia
Finley v Deniliquin Rams
Numurkah v Tongala
Tocumwal Bye
Moama Bye
Echuca United Bye
Rumbalara Bye
Barooga Bye

Lots of byes this week

oldstyle
6 Aug 2008, 20:51
Cobram v Congupna
Mulwala v Nathalia
Finley v Deniliquin Rams
Numurkah v Tongala
Tocumwal Bye
Moama Bye
Echuca United Bye
Rumbalara Bye
Barooga Bye

Lots of byes this week
I agree with your tips barnzi71 but also i see Moama only has 2 games in 6 weeks which is not ideal going into finals but the form they are in i think it will take that plus a good team to stop them.

barnzi71
6 Aug 2008, 21:12
I agree with your tips barnzi71 but also i see Moama only has 2 games in 6 weeks which is not ideal going into finals but the form they are in i think it will take that plus a good team to stop them.

Yeah it is a bit strange the way the draw turned out this year, but your right they are up there.

Homer1
7 Aug 2008, 09:05
Suprisingly everyone has tipped Tongala so far, i only tipped Tonny with wishful thinking so that we still have a chance at playing finals footy this year :D.

Realistically i would have thought that Numurkah playing at home would be very firm favorites to beat Tongala comfortably and cement their place in the six.

So why everyone tipping Tongala away from home :confused: ?

tuckylives
7 Aug 2008, 10:18
Suprisingly everyone has tipped Tongala so far, i only tipped Tonny with wishful thinking so that we still have a chance at playing finals footy this year :D.

Realistically i would have thought that Numurkah playing at home would be very firm favorites to beat Tongala comfortably and cement their place in the six.

So why everyone tipping Tongala away from home :confused: ?
Because we're all scared that if we don't, Hank will hunt us down and kill us...

But on a more serious note, Tongala are better. Their consistency over the last 4-5 weeks has been good and they're really hitting their straps. Numurkah on the other hand have been a little up and down in recent weeks. Both teams enter the game like this:
Numurkah: W L L W L
Tongala: L W W B W
Both sides played Barooga around four weeks ago, Numurkah going down by 39 points, while Tongala only fell short by 11 points.

Homer1
7 Aug 2008, 10:51
Because we're all scared that if we don't, Hank will hunt us down and kill us...

But on a more serious note, Tongala are better. Their consistency over the last 4-5 weeks has been good and they're really hitting their straps. Numurkah on the other hand have been a little up and down in recent weeks. Both teams enter the game like this:
Numurkah: W L L W L
Tongala: L W W B W
Both sides played Barooga around four weeks ago, Numurkah going down by 39 points, while Tongala only fell short by 11 points.

OK then, i thinking a few weeks ahead here and have my home team at heart and we desperatly need Tonny to beat Numurkah.

If and only if, i started a rumour on here and said that there is word going around that Tonny might be a bit softer than Numurkah and Numurkah will whip Tongala's asre, would Hank read it and give his boys a bigger incentive to beat Numurkah????

tuckylives
7 Aug 2008, 11:42
OK then, i thinking a few weeks ahead here and have my home team at heart and we desperatly need Tonny to beat Numurkah.

If and only if, i started a rumour on here and said that there is word going around that Tonny might be a bit softer than Numurkah and Numurkah will whip Tongala's asre, would Hank read it and give his boys a bigger incentive to beat Numurkah????
Perhaps it would! But I don't think they need it. Although I bet Hank is printing off this page as we speak and photocopying it so every one of his players have a copy to read over and over and over again, generating bigger incentive to win.. :D

Homer1
7 Aug 2008, 12:12
Perhaps it would! But I don't think they need it. Although I bet Hank is printing off this page as we speak and photocopying it so every one of his players have a copy to read over and over and over again, generating bigger incentive to win.. :D

WOOHOOOO :p

jameshirdy
7 Aug 2008, 16:21
Appears more problems for our tribunal
wednesday nights hearing of some reports didn't go ahead due to the unavailabilty of players again!!

Will be interesting to see what transpires seeing the MFL heavies passed a motion on Monday night at their meeting that players that fail to appear will be suspended until another tribunal is scheduled.

In this case not like rudds/parker (cob - mul)
the clubs involved are involved in finals!

Makes for interesting viewing in the coming weeks i'd think

tuckylives
7 Aug 2008, 16:38
Appears more problems for our tribunal
wednesday nights hearing of some reports didn't go ahead due to the unavailabilty of players again!!

Will be interesting to see what transpires seeing the MFL heavies passed a motion on Monday night at their meeting that players that fail to appear will be suspended until another tribunal is scheduled.

In this case not like rudds/parker (cob - mul)
the clubs involved are involved in finals!

Makes for interesting viewing in the coming weeks i'd think
Good. If players do not make themselves available to attend the tribunal for something they have done wrong, then good on the MFL for taking a stance and suspending them until another hearing can be scheduled.
It's about time the MFL stand up and stop allowing the clubs to dictate their terms. The MFL have been too soft for too long, so perhaps this could signal the start of a change for the league.

down the middle
7 Aug 2008, 17:35
Good. If players do not make themselves available to attend the tribunal for something they have done wrong, then good on the MFL for taking a stance and suspending them until another hearing can be scheduled.
It's about time the MFL stand up and stop allowing the clubs to dictate their terms. The MFL have been too soft for too long, so perhaps this could signal the start of a change for the league.

Think you will find the boys will face the music this Friday night.

tuckylives
7 Aug 2008, 17:54
Think you will find the boys will face the music this Friday night.
Friday night tribunal hearings are a joke.

Purplesaint29
7 Aug 2008, 18:19

Friday night tribunal hearings are a joke.

You sound a bit grumpy Clark.

tuckylives
7 Aug 2008, 18:27
You sound a bit grumpy Clark.
Yeah, big day mate. :D

hank1
7 Aug 2008, 22:23
WOOHOOOO :p

Only just read it Homer1 so the boys missed out on it tonight, will have it plastered on the walls come Saturday for you. By the way has anyone else tried to squash that ant of Tucky's?

tuckylives
7 Aug 2008, 22:26
Only just read it Homer1 so the boys missed out on it tonight, will have it plastered on the walls come Saturday for you. By the way has anyone else tried to squash that ant of Tucky's?
Don't even think about it!! If you squash him, I'll squash you! :p

Homer1
8 Aug 2008, 06:24

Have a mate, who's mothers boyfriends sons sister goes out with a guy whos cousin is linked with Numurkah and his mate played with Numurkah and they are very confident of handing Tongala a football lession, very very confident they are, apparently believe they are too strong and skillful for Tonny and they dont believe Tonny are worthy final contenders. :confused: :D

Good Luck mate, we'll be rootin for ya :thumbsu:

dropthesirenAcky
8 Aug 2008, 08:31
Have a mate, who's mothers boyfriends sons sister goes out with a guy whos cousin is linked with Numurkah and his mate played with Numurkah and they are very confident of handing Tongala a football lession, very very confident they are, apparently believe they are too strong and skillful for Tonny and they dont believe Tonny are worthy final contenders. :confused: :D

Good Luck mate, we'll be rootin for ya :thumbsu:

I heard the same thing , and like you I too send hank words of encouragement . I did run into Big Lurch the tonny ruckman through the week and he was an angry man , look out blues:D:thumbsu:

goodgolly24
8 Aug 2008, 14:26
G'day boys,
Just a question concerning the tribunal. We expected a hearing for one of our boys this week but for what ever reason was defered to next week. Now although we're not playing this week if we were would our reported player be able to play, or is there an automatic suspention layed out??
And if he is able to play, (thinking back to Cobrams Rudd's case before mentioned on here) I assume his case still needs to be heard evetually but coming into finals can a suspention still be handed out even though the hearings been supressed and originally would not have interfered with our finals campaign????
Interested to know everyones thoughts?

Homer1
8 Aug 2008, 15:08
G'day boys,
Just a question concerning the tribunal. We expected a hearing for one of our boys this week but for what ever reason was defered to next week. Now although we're not playing this week if we were would our reported player be able to play, or is there an automatic suspention layed out??
And if he is able to play, (thinking back to Cobrams Rudd's case before mentioned on here) I assume his case still needs to be heard evetually but coming into finals can a suspention still be handed out even though the hearings been supressed and originally would not have interfered with our finals campaign????
Interested to know everyones thoughts?

The way i read it is if the reported player is unavailable to front then he can not play until his hearing is heard, as of Monday nights meeting, otherwise if the MFL cant arrange a sitting for whatever reason, then he should be able to play.

Homer1
8 Aug 2008, 18:22
Hey hank1
Talking to a bloke from Numurkah today who was at training Thursdy nite and he rekons that Numurkah are that cocky, they rekon they have the 4pts already, they just gotta turn up on Satdy :eek: :D :thumbsu:

oldstyle
8 Aug 2008, 20:13
Hey hank1
Talking to a bloke from Numurkah today who was at training Thursdy nite and he rekons that Numurkah are that cocky, they rekon they have the 4pts already, they just gotta turn up on Satdy :eek: :D :thumbsu:
Homer i give you an A for trying to fire the Tonny boys up but i dont think they need it as they should beat Numurkah as they are a team showing consistency and a hunger so hopefully they can get the job done.:thumbsu:

banggoalrowsell
10 Aug 2008, 01:08
Was reading through Wednesday's Shepp News yesterday and came across this article. Now to get this clear, I'm not putting this on here to cause trouble, but I think this is a great opportunity for people to see Moama FC's General Manager Roger Toll's opinion on the issue.

General manager quashes rumours of Magpies flying the nest

July 30 2008, Shepparton News

Moama general manager Roger Toll has put to bed rumours that a number of players are on the verge of walking out on the Murray Football League club.
"One hundred per cent false," Toll said yesterday when asked about the speculation.
Toll confirmed he has heard a number of rumours relating to Moama this season and said he couldn't believe some of the innuendo generated on football discussion website www.bigfooty.com.au (http://www.bigfooty.com.au)
"For sure I've heard three or four rumours . . . I can't believe what's buzzed around town and on that bigfooty website," he said.
"One that was going around was that someone had given the club $200 000. I'd like that to happen, but it definitely hasn't.
"I think it's just a case of a club being kicked in the guts when it's down and now we're on top people can't stand it."
Up until this season, Moama had won just 16 games between 2004-07 and last played finals in 2003.
The Magpies went about rectifying their lack of success with a heavy recruiting drive at the end of last year, starting with the appointment of Sunbury's Shannon Keam as senior coach.
Keam's signing brought with him Scott Lobb, Cameron McCabe, Ross Sleight and Luke Allen - teammates of Keam's at Sunbury.
The Magpies then picked up arguably the biggest Murray league recruit of the season in former North Melbourne livewire Djaran Whyman.
As a result, Moama is currently on top of the ladder with a 15-1 record this season.
To give an indication of how big an impact Moama's recruits have had on the team this season, six of its current top 10 goal-kickers are new to the club.
Those six players have kicked a total of 238 goals between them which equates to 1428 points - more than what Moama scored in an entire season every year from 2004-07.
McCabe leads the competition goalkicking with 83, while Whyman has kicked 51 and Allen 42. The top-placed Magpies face a tough assignment this week when they travel to meet second-placed Barooga.
I think Roger should get his facts right ,Shannon Keams wasn't recruited from Sunbury,as General Manager he should know this!!
Maybe next time he should get his press spokesperson "greenman" or Greg Allen to speak on his behalf!!

hank1
10 Aug 2008, 10:38
I think Roger should get his facts right ,Shannon Keams wasn't recruited from Sunbury,as General Manager he should know this!!
Maybe next time he should get his press spokesperson "greenman" or Greg Allen to speak on his behalf!!

I am sure Roger wouldn't have said that, it would have been a stuff up on the journalists behalf.

tuckylives
10 Aug 2008, 11:37
I am sure Roger wouldn't have said that, it would have been a stuff up on the journalists behalf.
I second that. Toll wasn't quoted as saying that Keam is from Sunbury. Clearly an error on the Shepparton News' behalf, as hank said.

Homer1
11 Aug 2008, 07:29
What the hell happened at Numurkah on Saturday :eek: :eek: ??

hank1
11 Aug 2008, 08:24
What the hell happened at Numurkah on Saturday :eek: :eek: ??

Only one side turned up to play!!

goodgolly24
11 Aug 2008, 15:37

I'll SAY!. . .. 20 odd goals is a floggin in anyones book. What happened hank did you shoot half the squad?? No seriously where did you'se come undone? too soft? too slow? undermanned? too short??? I mean there's gotta be more then just not focused, considering you'se will be playing finals coz that sort of effort could mean out in straight sets for you. I'm kinda shattered coz i tipped you'se to win, but that score line say's you weren't even in the same ball park.:eek::eek:

BackPocketRocket24
11 Aug 2008, 15:53
Another stellar performance from the young Rob Jewell yesturday in Finley's thumping at the hands of Deni. The boy go's alright!:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Nick Howe did a few good things in the 2nd half for Deni as well. Still playing 3rds footy.

hank1
11 Aug 2008, 19:54
I'll SAY!. . .. 20 odd goals is a floggin in anyones book. What happened hank did you shoot half the squad?? No seriously where did you'se come undone? too soft? too slow? undermanned? too short??? I mean there's gotta be more then just not focused, considering you'se will be playing finals coz that sort of effort could mean out in straight sets for you. I'm kinda shattered coz i tipped you'se to win, but that score line say's you weren't even in the same ball park.:eek::eek:

A lot had to do with the mindset, from that too soft, no workrate, no accountability and just no real desire to try and stop the rut after it all unfolded was even more disappointing.
A fair bit of soul searching to be done to get ourselves back on track for this week against Cobram, which started by watching the game Sunday morning.

Deni Rams 3RDS
11 Aug 2008, 20:57
Another stellar performance from the young Rob Jewell yesturday in Finley's thumping at the hands of Deni. The boy go's alright!:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Nick Howe did a few good things in the 2nd half for Deni as well. Still playing 3rds footy.

nick was very very good. well done to the kid. played one of his best games in the 3s to.

Footy2
11 Aug 2008, 21:08

absolote champion footballer isn't he? he'd be finleys best player and he's only 17.. has some good blood in him though, related to the hawkins.

Homer1
12 Aug 2008, 10:51
Hey hank1

Looks like my information was spot on.

Homer1
12 Aug 2008, 14:36
Round 21 Starting Date: 16/8/2008
Congupna v Moama
Echuca United v Rumbalara
Barooga v Mulwala
Nathalia v Finley
Tongala v Cobram
Tocumwal v Numurkah :eek:
Deniliquin Rams Bye

Purplesaint29
12 Aug 2008, 18:14
Congupna v Moama
Barooga v Mulwala
Nathalia v Finley
Tongala v Cobram
Tocumwal v Numurkah :eek:
Deniliquin Rams Bye

Even if Numurkah lost this week, you guy's still wouldn't make it.
Same tips, except Numurkah to win.

Deni Rams 3RDS
12 Aug 2008, 19:29
absolote champion footballer isn't he? he'd be finleys best player and he's only 17.. has some good blood in him though, related to the hawkins.

Robs old man as a gun!
also i saw a in the sun on sunday that rodney trezanga could beat suttoms record

barnzi71
12 Aug 2008, 20:13
Congupna v Moama
Barooga v Mulwala
Nathalia v Finley
Tongala v Cobram
Tocumwal v Numurkah
Deniliquin Rams Bye

:)

Homer1
12 Aug 2008, 20:20
Purples: home winners since 29/5/04 :confused:

Purplesaint29, Better go back and check Rd11 2006.

bystanding backman
13 Aug 2008, 10:21

We played Rumba that day, we won the game but later had the points taken off us due to playing a player who didn't have the proper authorisation to come back from the bullants. So technically your right Homer.

Purplesaint29
13 Aug 2008, 11:47

26 goals to ten.

Everyone knows who really won that day.

I thought you would have been happy to be the last team to beat us on our home deck.

Homer1
13 Aug 2008, 13:18
26 goals to ten.

Everyone knows who really won that day.

I thought you would have been happy to be the last team to beat us on our home deck.

Yeh we were mate, still a bloody sensational effort :thumbsu:.

dropthesirenAcky
15 Aug 2008, 08:18
How are the Rumba boy's shaping up ? looking forward to a bit closer affair this time round . Is chichen pulling on the boot's ? see ya satdy :thumbsu:

Homer1
15 Aug 2008, 18:55

yes, very intersesting :rolleyes:.

very quiet this week on here.

tuckylives
15 Aug 2008, 21:28
yes, very intersesting :rolleyes:.

very quiet this week on here.
So true Homer. Considering finals are just around the corner, there is bugger all talk on here. But we're not the only ones. The GVFL and PDFL forums are both very quiet at the moment.

dropthesirenAcky
15 Aug 2008, 21:48
yeah how boring Tucky ? you'd even listen to cellar dwellar's sh1t as opposed to this . the silence is deafening .

How do you reckon the tough cookie Ben Ridge will fair this week Tucky?

tuckylives
15 Aug 2008, 22:31
yeah how boring Tucky ? you'd even listen to cellar dwellar's sh1t as opposed to this . the silence is deafening .

How do you reckon the tough cookie Ben Ridge will fair this week Tucky?
Very true, and even that is scraping the barrel!
As for Glen Ridge, I would say he is well suited to the Rochester oval. Could very well witness some goals even more spectacular than those of last weekend. It's going to be a tough task for his boys to recover after last weekend's shock loss, but if the big man can fire away and slot a few through in between the two big ones, I reckon he'll be hitting the Tigers with his best shot.

big hawk
16 Aug 2008, 08:26
Hey you blokes! Talking about not much happening, are we allowed to talk about the Nathalia blow up from a couple of weeks ago or is that still being kept under wraps???????? Hearing lots of rumours still as to what happened! That is definitely a topic worth talking about and would get them back in the droves!!!!!!!!!

dropthesirenAcky
16 Aug 2008, 09:24
Hey you blokes! Talking about not much happening, are we allowed to talk about the Nathalia blow up from a couple of weeks ago or is that still being kept under wraps???????? Hearing lots of rumours still as to what happened! That is definitely a topic worth talking about and would get them back in the droves!!!!!!!!!

I don't think so hawk , a mate gave me the run down on it the other day . trying to be careful here but it is the hands of the federali's and anything we right would be deemed a trial by media . but apart from their ability to kick a footy it had nothing to do with footy , i'm told .

how's your drug problem , on top of it ;)

tuckylives
16 Aug 2008, 11:57
Lets just keep it at that boys. I'll let you all know when we have the all clear.

Homer1
16 Aug 2008, 19:54
Ist week Nathalia v Numurkah and Rumbalara v Tongala

Dont put away the gloves just yet, looks like another Nathalia v Rumbalara game coming up again, Sunday 7th Sept at Tongala, should be a beauty after the efforts of a few weeks ago.

tuckylives
17 Aug 2008, 15:43
There is one issue that has become increasingly evident to me throughout the season, and that is Congupna's defensive tactics when playing some of the top sides.

Whilst playing Moama at the weekend, at any one time, they had at least half of their team inside their defensive 50, and at times, almost the whole side, which of course, made it near impossible for Moama to score.
They implementd the same tactics against Nathalia in round 13.

My question is, what is Congupna's and coach Travis Hampshire's logic behind this ridiculous tactic. They have a very young side with a number of promising kids running around for them, yet when they play the top sides, they have to resort to loading up their backline to clog up the avenues to goals for their opposition.

Although being on the receiving end of a 15+ goal pumping really isn't fun, I tend to think that a young, developing side would learn more from trying to challenge a classy side one on one, rather than using this crap.

At this standard of football, I don't think it's really acceptable.

I am interested to hear people's thoughts and comments on the issue.

Homer1
17 Aug 2008, 19:17
There is one issue that has become increasingly evident to me throughout the season, and that is Congupna's defensive tactics when playing some of the top sides.

Whilst playing Moama at the weekend, at any one time, they had at least half of their team inside their defensive 50, and at times, almost the whole side, which of course, made it near impossible for Moama to score.
They implementd the same tactics against Nathalia in round 13.

My question is, what is Congupna's and coach Travis Hampshire's logic behind this ridiculous tactic. They have a very young side with a number of promising kids running around for them, yet when they play the top sides, they have to resort to loading up their backline to clog up the avenues to goals for their opposition.

Although being on the receiving end of a 15+ goal pumping really isn't fun, I tend to think that a young, developing side would learn more from trying to challenge a classy side one on one, rather than using this crap.

At this standard of football, I don't think it's really acceptable.

I am interested to hear people's thoughts and comments on the issue.

Yeh horses for courses i think Tucky and you have to work to your own advantages. Good on the coach for trying something different, they may not be good enough to go one on one therefore get flogged when they play that way, sometimes you have to slow opponents scoring down somehow by flooding back then run forward creating space. We found we had the same problem this year, the fact that our fitness was excellent but we were not a tall side, therefore one on one was not going to work for us, and we were much more competitive when the opposing teams ran forward we were able to block holes in the forward fifty and when the turnover occured we were able to run forward creating space.

yeh not very attractive but you just have to work to your own advantages and play to your strengths sometimes to win against better teams otherwise you get rolled by 20+ goals.

tuckylives
17 Aug 2008, 19:21
Yeh horses for courses i think Tucky and you have to work to your own advantages. Good on the coach for trying something different, they may not be good enough to go one on one therefore get flogged when they play that way, sometimes you have to slow opponents scoring down somehow by flooding back then run forward creating space. We found we had the same problem this year, the fact that our fitness was excellent but we were not a tall side, therefore one on one was not going to work for us, and we were much more competitive when the opposing teams ran forward we were able to block holes in the forward fifty and when the turnover occured we were able to run forward creating space.

yeh not very attractive but you just have to work to your own advantages and play to your strengths sometimes to win against better teams otherwise you get rolled by 20+ goals.
Did you block the holes with 18 men, though?

Homer1
17 Aug 2008, 19:55
Did you block the holes with 18 men, though?

Um no, 2 or 3 maybe.

inside out
17 Aug 2008, 20:09
It would be interesting now that the season is comming to the end for alot of teams to hear a wrap up from some clubs. I would think that there would have to be some serious soul searching from some clubs that finished last year looking ahead at this year to a good year. Some of the sides that are at the bottom half like Mulwala, Congupna, Echuca Utd, Finley were sides that made the six last year and didn't even fire a shot this year?
I Think Tocumwal would have to be one of the most disapointed sides, I watched a there game yesterday for the second time this year... If they are paying the Shep Blokes anything they are wasting there money... Heard from one of there players yesterday they have spent 70k + thats alot of money to finish 3rd or 4th last...

Any word of any coaches been re appointed?

Any changes to the league that might be on the cards? Surely it will have to happen sooner rather than latter..... Is the VCFL just waiting for clubs to fold before they jump in??

Now is the time for some ideas to be floated and maybe Mr O'Donoghue can get moving before it is to late for some of these clubs!!

hank1
17 Aug 2008, 20:45
It would be interesting now that the season is comming to the end for alot of teams to hear a wrap up from some clubs. I would think that there would have to be some serious soul searching from some clubs that finished last year looking ahead at this year to a good year. Some of the sides that are at the bottom half like Mulwala, Congupna, Echuca Utd, Finley were sides that made the six last year and didn't even fire a shot this year?
I Think Tocumwal would have to be one of the most disapointed sides, I watched a there game yesterday for the second time this year... If they are paying the Shep Blokes anything they are wasting there money... Heard from one of there players yesterday they have spent 70k + thats alot of money to finish 3rd or 4th last...

Any changes to the league that might be on the cards? Surely it will have to happen sooner rather than latter..... Is the VCFL just waiting for clubs to fold before they jump in??

Now is the time for some ideas to be floated and maybe Mr O'Donoghue can get moving before it is to late for some of these clubs!!

As u mentioned the 4 bottom sides this year finished 3rd to 6th last year, that was not to anyones surprise and I think the majority of people picked that before the season started. No time to panic on any of those sides folding or the like just yet. Only 12 months ago playing finals I am sure they will all bounce back, obviously Finley is a worry but don't know too much about the inner workings of the club and what they may or may not have in place for the future.
Toc have definately been the biggest disappointment of the year but if as you say they spent 70+ grand this year then all they need to do is spend that money a bit more wisely and they will be back playing finals football very shortly.
Nathalia and Barooga are both there again, can't see them getting any better (or worse), certainly hope not anyway.
All other sides seem to be on the move further forward.

jameshirdy
17 Aug 2008, 20:55
Tucky
I reckon if i ever got the chance to coach a side i would adopt the same tactics as Trav, with young sides there is a time and a place to play different styles of games, let them take them on against the middle of the road sides but against the top sides you need to be careful to protect their confidence i think the tactic he employs are reasonable.
Until we have actually coached and been in that situation Tucky bit hard to be to critical

Inside Out
the four clubs you mentioned were all predicted to fall back into the pack
Toc have probably been a touch disappointing, but your damned if you do and damned if u dont, spend too much money and your buying a flag, spend some money and your not successful and your wasting your money.
only one side can win it.
:D

tuckylives
17 Aug 2008, 21:46
Tucky
I reckon if i ever got the chance to coach a side i would adopt the same tactics as Trav, with young sides there is a time and a place to play different styles of games, let them take them on against the middle of the road sides but against the top sides you need to be careful to protect their confidence i think the tactic he employs are reasonable.
Until we have actually coached and been in that situation Tucky bit hard to be to critical

Thanks for your input mate. As I said, I wanted to hear other people's opinions and it's great that you and Homer have shared.
It's easy to be critical and criticise coaches, especially when I haven't been one myself, but from an outsider's perspective, the tactics used just seemed a little too over the top.

I don't see any problems with dropping a couple of extra men back to try and stem the flow of an opposition side, but from all reports, Congupna have been sitting more than a handfull back there.

I have always respected Trav as a coach, so don't see this as a personal attack on the bloke. A couple of years ago he took the side from a bottom four side, into finals and he really grew and developed the side.

Unfortunately (like a number of other sides), the long term jeopardy hasn't been sustained, but I'm sure they'll be back up there soon.

tuckylives
17 Aug 2008, 21:48

Daryl Harrison - Tongala
Duane Hueston - Echuca United

oldstyle
18 Aug 2008, 11:48
I have been reading a few comments on here about recruiting and i think as usual where clubs go wrong is they try to buy 1 or 2 guns that they think will get them over the line but correct me if i am wrong, If you look at the last 9 flag winners 99,2000 was numurkah,Deni01,02,03,04 and the purps 05,06,07 there is a trend and that is they got all there locals back first. I dont care what anyone says if you have a connection to the club you give that little bit more to get over the line.

tuckylives
18 Aug 2008, 12:15
I have been reading a few comments on here about recruiting and i think as usual where clubs go wrong is they try to buy 1 or 2 guns that they think will get them over the line but correct me if i am wrong, If you look at the last 9 flag winners 99,2000 was numurkah,Deni01,02,03,04 and the purps 05,06,07 there is a trend and that is they got all there locals back first. I dont care what anyone says if you have a connection to the club you give that little bit more to get over the line.
I thought about that a few weeks ago. Absolutely spot on oldstyle.

TimBurr
18 Aug 2008, 12:48
I thought about that a few weeks ago. Absolutely spot on oldstyle.

building a good side usually takes a few years with good local players, will be interesting to see how Moama go though come finals time as the Sunbury boys have plenty of finals experience.
good to see on saturday Toc's new rooms currently being built and work has started at Numurkah. will be some great new club rooms next yr in the Murray league which will hopefully attract better players to the league.

Homer1
18 Aug 2008, 13:13

That is correct, the flag has not been "bought" in the last nine years.

big hawk
18 Aug 2008, 20:39
That is correct, the flag has not been "bought" in the last nine years.

But surely you would of had to be paying those "locals" a fair quid, who had gone off and played at a higher level and then come back to play for the local club. Names such as Marshall, Parker, Brown, Gemmill and the like wouldn't have just come back to their home clubs for the "love"!!!! The local content is very important and its not the top 6 that get you over the line, but your bottom half dozen. Barooga 92,93 and 94 definitely had that "local" content and still got bagged for "buying" premierships. No matter what you do, you're damned if you do and you're damned if you don't!!!

The Maroubra Stomp
18 Aug 2008, 21:15
But surely you would of had to be paying those "locals" a fair quid, who had gone off and played at a higher level and then come back to play for the local club. Names such as Marshall, Parker, Brown, Gemmill and the like wouldn't have just come back to their home clubs for the "love"!!!! The local content is very important and its not the top 6 that get you over the line, but your bottom half dozen. Barooga 92,93 and 94 definitely had that "local" content and still got bagged for "buying" premierships. No matter what you do, you're damned if you do and you're damned if you don't!!!

Spot on Hawk. Barooga probably had fewer recruits than many other clubs those years. It's just that they went out and got some quality players to top them up. A lot of their boys were local though. They didn't deserve the baggings they copped back then. A good club then and now.

oldstyle
18 Aug 2008, 21:52
Spot on Hawk. Barooga probably had fewer recruits than many other clubs those years. It's just that they went out and got some quality players to top them up. A lot of their boys were local though. They didn't deserve the baggings they copped back then. A good club then and now.
I just think your locals will play for less but you get more out of them, Yr they go and get big money if they want but it means so much more at your home club. We all have stories of people chasing money and at the end of the day if clubs are going to pay it good luck to them but i would be looking after the locals first.
Ok lets get of the fence and have ago at picking the premiers. :o

tuckylives
18 Aug 2008, 22:07
I just think your locals will play for less but you get more out of them, Yr they go and get big money if they want but it means so much more at your home club. We all have stories of people chasing money and at the end of the day if clubs are going to pay it good luck to them but i would be looking after the locals first.
Ok lets get of the fence and have ago at picking the premiers. :o
Amen.

Well with Moama only having dropped one game for the whole season, it is obvious that most would say that they're red hot favorites.

But for some reason, I feel that both Nathalia and Barooga should most definitely not be ruled out. They both had key players missing from their games against Moama, who almost all of, are back in their respective sides.

Whichever way it goes, the top three teams are going to make for a very competitive finals series, but again, don't rule out Rumbalara, Tongala and Numurkah.

All three have have shown on a number of occasions throughout the season that they are more than capable of pushing some of the top sides, and even defeating them.

I guess it will come down to consistency and how much each of the teams want it.

goodgolly24
19 Aug 2008, 14:35
Amen.

Well with Moama only having dropped one game for the whole season, it is obvious that most would say that they're red hot favorites.

But for some reason, I feel that both Nathalia and Barooga should most definitely not be ruled out. They both had key players missing from their games against Moama, who almost all of, are back in their respective sides.

Whichever way it goes, the top three teams are going to make for a very competitive finals series, but again, don't rule out Rumbalara, Tongalan and Numurkah.

All three have have shown on a number of occasions throughout the season that they are more than capable of pushing some of the top sides, and even defeating them.

I guess it will come down to consistency and how much each of the teams want it.

Who does everyone think will have the toughest run in the finals??

Purplesaint29
19 Aug 2008, 16:09

If Numurkah are to win it they deserve it, coming from 6th.

Homer1
19 Aug 2008, 19:13

I would have thought Numurkah will have the toughest run, unless i've missed something.

barnzi71
19 Aug 2008, 21:23
Amen.

Whichever way it goes, the top three teams are going to make for a very competitive finals series, but again, don't rule out Rumbalara, Tongala and Numurkah.

I'm with you on this one tucky.

If I had to pick two teams in the grand final I would put my money on a Nathalia / Moama grand final, with the purps to win :). But thats coming from a grandma that hated footy before living in Nathalia.

Go Purps

tuckylives
20 Aug 2008, 10:30
Goodgolly, Are you able to shed some light on the brawl which took place during the Rumbalara v Echuca United game on the weekend? I heard that a kid from United received a broken jaw in three places in his first senior game.

Homer1
20 Aug 2008, 10:38
Goodgolly, Are you able to shed some light on the brawl which took place during the Rumbalara v Echuca United game on the weekend? I heard that a kid from United received a broken jaw in three places in his first senior game.

Seems to be a common element creeping into some of these type of games.

boora
20 Aug 2008, 12:00
there wasn't a brawl in the game. it was some family members from echuca having a disagreement and they ain't apart of the club. the kid who got hurt from united, was a FAIR shirt front, no elbows raised or forearms or fists. the umpire was right in front and only awarded a free kick and didn't think it was reportable.