View Full Version : Murray Football League - Part 2
Pages :
[
5]
Seems to be a common element creeping into some of these type of games.
would you like to elaborate some more HOMER?
Tell me that i am reading too much into it if you like, but a lot of these alleged incidents come up against Rumba, WHY?
Purplesaint29
20 Aug 2008, 12:18
Tell me that i am reading too much into it if you like, but a lot of these alleged incidents come up against Rumba, WHY?
There's no need to start arguing over crap like they do on the Picola thread about pace's mob.
Unless you really want to.
BackPocketRocket24
20 Aug 2008, 12:27
I'm with you on this one tucky.
If I had to pick two teams in the grand final I would put my money on a Nathalia / Moama grand final, with the purps to win :). But thats coming from a grandma that hated footy before living in Nathalia.
Go Purps
I'd agree with that, both sides are travelling well.
Just wondering what everyone else thinks. Who else can be considered serious flag contenders?
Purplesaint29
20 Aug 2008, 12:34
Just wondering what everyone else thinks. Who else can be considered serious flag contenders?
Don't rule out the Hawks.
Moama would be red hot favorites now i would think, unless the wheels fall off, i reckon 2 games in 6 weeks will be an advantage for them this late in the year.
They must have done some serious home work on the blokes from Sunbury, they have been outstanding for the Mowers this year.
So far things have gone exactly to plan for them, well done Moama :thumbsu:.
Purplesaint29
20 Aug 2008, 13:31
^ Did they sort out their money problems and are the star recruits staying on for next year.
well name all the alleged incidents then? there has been one this year that we know off and it was against you guys in the 2's and WE didn't dispute that one bit. it was very unfortunate what happened to that young guy on the weekend from united. but it was fair and he had the ball in his posession and the umpire thought so too and he didn't make any reports.
i don't think any other clubs have had a problem with us? we give as good as we get and we are just looking forward to finals footy now.
i reckon nathalia are the team to beat. moama or barooga didn't impress me at all this year and if they get the gemmills back from injury, i reckon watch out for them.
well name all the alleged incidents then? there has been one this year that we know off and it was against you guys in the 2's and WE didn't dispute that one bit. it was very unfortunate what happened to that young guy on the weekend from united. but it was fair and he had the ball in his posession and the umpire thought so too and he didn't make any reports.
i don't think any other clubs have had a problem with us? we give as good as we get and we are just looking forward to finals footy now.
Didnt say we had a problem with you, read the bloody question again, why would we give a sHIt who we play.
"Tell me that i am reading too much into it if you like, but a lot of these alleged incidents come up against Rumba, WHY?"
The last 3 times i have heard of are Echuca Utd, Nathalia and Us, all involve Rumba, i not having a crack simply asking WHY?
Didnt say we had a problem with you, read the bloody question again, why would we give a sHIt who we play.
"Tell me that i am reading too much into it if you like, but a lot of these alleged incidents come up against Rumba, WHY?"
The last 3 times i have heard of are Echuca Utd, Nathalia and Us, all involve Rumba, i not having a crack simply asking WHY?
are you sure that you don't have a problem with rumba? the united incident on the weekend was within the rules of the game simple. the so called nathalia incidents that you refer too would be the reports i assume. our guys (seniors) retaliated and got caught and have know one to blame but themselves for that. the incident with denny, are we talking about the 2's matter or the so called incidents off and on the field and the unsportsmanlike behaviour that was sent into the local rag? by a very irate denny person?
Listen, forget it, i not going down that track again, i was actually meaning whether or not you guys were feeling the pressure of finals footy this year and maybe starting to crack, you totally missing my point.
Purplesaint29
20 Aug 2008, 17:10
Listen, forget it, i not going down that track again, i was actually meaning whether or not you guys were feeling the pressure of finals footy this year and maybe starting to crack, you totally missing my point.
Ha Ha. Well done boys. Don't stop now it's just starting to get entertaining.
Sorry, forgot that I wasn't in TLC. We better stop and start acting mature.:o
Ha Ha. Well done boys. Don't stop now it's just starting to get entertaining.
Sorry, forgot that I wasn't in TLC. We better stop and start acting mature.:o
haha, you idiot :p, yeh all in good fun :thumbsu:.
goodgolly24
20 Aug 2008, 18:01
i reckon nathalia are the team to beat. moama or barooga didn't impress me at all this year and if they get the gemmills back from injury, i reckon watch out for them.
Moama didn't really do it for me either. I reckon whyman will be checked pretty hard come finals quality footballer he is if you can curb his influence will stumble.
Barooga on the other hand are bigger then moama across the board but they're not as fit. . . . . .
I'm with Borra in that Nathalia is still the team to beat if their midfield is fit and fighting they'll be a hand full. . . .
But after all that, if we get throught the first week of finals i'm tipping us to take it out. Only because were not expected too and because were so unpredictable in the finals:eek::o:eek::eek:
Purplesaint29
20 Aug 2008, 18:04
Moama didn't really do it for me either. I reckon whyman will be checked pretty hard come finals quality footballer he is if you can curb his influence will stumble.
Barooga on the other hand are bigger then moama across the board but they're not as fit. . . . . .
I'm with Borra in that Nathalia is still the team to beat if their midfield is fit and fighting they'll be a hand full. . . .
But after all that, if we get throught the first week of finals i'm tipping us to take it out. Only because were not expected too and because were so unpredictable in the finals:eek::o:eek::eek:
I'm tipping if you guys beat Tonny you'll lose to us.
already forgotten, just ignore me i am in one of those moods (the male equivelant of the monthly's) :eek: i think we have been feeling the presure since we beat nathalia earlier in the year and this has certainly put the boys under the microscope more.
I'm tipping if you guys beat Tonny you'll lose to us.
i think that if we play you guys in the finals, that the winner of this years granny will come from that game. i will be happy with whoever wins it, as long as it ain't moama :eek:
Purplesaint29
20 Aug 2008, 18:22
already forgotten, just ignore me i am in one of those moods (the male equivelant of the monthly's) :eek: i think we have been feeling the presure since we beat nathalia earlier in the year and this has certainly put the boys under the microscope more.
I'm also a women with feelings. Sorry TLC again.:o
Seriously check this out http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=430894, it's gold.
Purplesaint29
20 Aug 2008, 18:25
i think that if we play you guys in the finals, that the winner of this years granny will come from that game. i will be happy with whoever wins it, as long as it ain't moama :eek:
I hope so. Go The Vics!
Great stuff mate, you guys will get through the 1st week easily and if you can hold it together you certainly are good enough to go all the way :thumbsu:.
I hope so. Go The Vics!
ok, so what this then, state v state now is it :p, guess i have to jump on with the Mowers and the Hawks if that the case ;).
thepres
20 Aug 2008, 20:18
Moama would be red hot favorites now i would think, unless the wheels fall off, i reckon 2 games in 6 weeks will be an advantage for them this late in the year.
They must have done some serious home work on the blokes from Sunbury, they have been outstanding for the Mowers this year.
Heard a little whisper that a certain ex MFL GUN forward may be looking to go back to a new home on the banks of the Murray in 2009?........
tuckylives
20 Aug 2008, 20:26
Heard a little whisper that a certain ex MFL GUN forward may be looking to go back to a new home on the banks of the Murray in 2009?........
And that certain ex MFL gun forward looking to return to a new home on the banks of the Murray in 2009 would be........?
BackPocketRocket24
20 Aug 2008, 21:14
Cheers Homer.
How likely would that be though? Seem to be travelling well. They beat Barooga well the other week (12 goals), taking nothing away from Barooga though.
Will be interesting to see what happens come finals! :thumbsu::thumbsu:
Very true in regard to the Sunbury boys. They are also doing well with Whyman, who has played some pretty consistant footy.
Cheers Homer.
How likely would that be though? Seem to be travelling well. They beat Barooga well the other week (12 goals), taking nothing away from Barooga though.
Will be interesting to see what happens come finals! :thumbsu::thumbsu:
Very true in regard to the Sunbury boys. They are also doing well with Whyman, who has played some pretty consistant footy.
Couldnt be happier with the sunbury boys and whyman.. all great blokes and great footballers....everyone knows things change come finals time and you cant rely on your stars to do it for you..everyones gotta give
110 percent to get over the line... ..
go mowers
BackPocketRocket24
20 Aug 2008, 22:07
Couldnt be happier with the sunbury boys and whyman.. all great blokes and great footballers....everyone knows things change come finals time and you cant rely on your stars to do it for you..everyones gotta give
110 percent to get over the line... ..
go mowers
Couldn't agree with you more Kards. All good to hear. Hoping the mowers have a top finals series to cap off a very good year.:thumbsu:
big hawk
20 Aug 2008, 23:56
Any of you people out there ever played finals footy?????? I think that ALL teams, who have given themselves the OPPORTUNITY to have a crack at winning the comp. are in with a chance! It will come down to the day and who performs the best!! I love how Purple Saint has already booked his blokes into the 2nd week of the finals already!!! The Blues are playing pretty good footy at present and will come in fresh having this week off. Nathalia will come into the finals coming off 13 games straight (injustice in the draw???) and the Mowers, who are the form team of the comp., coming into the finals having played a game in the past month! Bring on September action as this looks as though there are no clear cut winners and it will come down to who can execute their game the best on the day and who wants it the most!!! Good luck to all sides and may footy be the winner!:thumbsu:
pace to freeze
21 Aug 2008, 08:35
Started his career in a local minor league ??? hahah
Heard the same rumour but that same rumour has been about for a few years now, not even sure how long since he played, is he still being mistaken for Richo when attending pubs ? only thing in common is their kicking. Good bloke and would be a good pick-up:D:D:D
Purplesaint29
21 Aug 2008, 11:01
Any of you people out there ever played finals footy?????? I think that ALL teams, who have given themselves the OPPORTUNITY to have a crack at winning the comp. are in with a chance! It will come down to the day and who performs the best!! I love how Purple Saint has already booked his blokes into the 2nd week of the finals already!!! The Blues are playing pretty good footy at present and will come in fresh having this week off. Nathalia will come into the finals coming off 13 games straight (injustice in the draw???) Bring on September action as this looks as though there are no clear cut winners and it will come down to who can execute their game the best on the day and who wants it the most!!! Good luck to all sides and may footy be the winner!:thumbsu:
Don't worry I remember 2000, out in straight sets to the Blues and the Rams after having a fantastic year. I also know how our boys are travelling and the moment and I have faith in them, sorry for sounding cocky, didn't mean it. I agree with your last two sentances.
Purplesaint29
21 Aug 2008, 11:03
Started his career in a local minor league ??? hahah
Heard the same rumour but that same rumour has been about for a few years now, not even sure how long since he played, is he still being mistaken for Richo when attending pubs ? only thing in common is their kicking. Good bloke and would be a good pick-up:D:D:D
Someone just give a freckin' name please, surely his not in witness protection!
Warwick Capper :confused:
OLD DARK NAVY BLUE
21 Aug 2008, 14:44
I read with interest in the Shepp News today, that Rumba were getting Derek Murray and Rex Taylor back this weekend.
Reading the MFL rules Rex Taylor and Corey Wanganeen are not eligible to play MFL finals, as they have played more than half the rostered games in the VFL.
Is this correct??
I read with interest in the Shepp News today, that Rumba were getting Derek Murray and Rex Taylor back this weekend.
Reading the MFL rules Rex Taylor and Corey Wanganeen are not eligible to play MFL finals, as they have played more than half the rostered games in the VFL.
Is this correct??
nah they can't play anymore games for bendigo or otherwise there not eligible. what a stupid rule, any other league have this rule or is it just the mfl?
I'm also a women with feelings. Sorry TLC again.:o
Seriously check this out http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=430894, it's gold.
hahah. well my mrs reckons that i must be, as i am always moody. thats what happens when yo have 5 sisters i surpose :D
tuckylives
21 Aug 2008, 16:16
Latest MFL Premiership betting odds:
Moama $2.40
Nathalia $2.60
Barooga $2.80
Rumbalara $11.00
Tongala $21.00
Numurkah $34.00
Purplesaint29
21 Aug 2008, 16:17
nah they can't play anymore games for bendigo or otherwise there not eligible. what a stupid rule, any other league have this rule or is it just the mfl?
Bloody VCFL probably. Those guys do a really good job, pay rises for them all I say.
Purplesaint29
21 Aug 2008, 16:20
Moama $2.40
Nathalia $2.60
Barooga $2.80
Rumbalara $11.00
Tongala $21.00
Numurkah $34.00
Get on the Blues.
tuckylives
21 Aug 2008, 16:31
Get on the Blues.
Which ones? :D
Purplesaint29
21 Aug 2008, 17:37
Both of them, increase your chances.
I think Numurkah are only just behind Moama as the form side of the comp going into the finals, reckon Nathalia v Numurkah will be an absolute cracker Satdy week.
Purplesaint29
22 Aug 2008, 11:45
I think Numurkah are only just behind Moama as the form side of the comp going into the finals, reckon Nathalia v Numurkah will be an absolute cracker Satdy week.
Agreed.
Any of you people out there ever played finals footy?????? I think that ALL teams, who have given themselves the OPPORTUNITY to have a crack at winning the comp. are in with a chance! It will come down to the day and who performs the best!! I love how Purple Saint has already booked his blokes into the 2nd week of the finals already!!! The Blues are playing pretty good footy at present and will come in fresh having this week off. Nathalia will come into the finals coming off 13 games straight (injustice in the draw???) and the Mowers, who are the form team of the comp., coming into the finals having played a game in the past month! Bring on September action as this looks as though there are no clear cut winners and it will come down to who can execute their game the best on the day and who wants it the most!!! Good luck to all sides and may footy be the winner!:thumbsu:
the 2's looks a one sided show hawk, might aswell give all you guys a medal and not play the finals series! :rolleyes:
banggoalrowsell
22 Aug 2008, 15:36
^ Did they sort out their money problems and are the star recruits staying on for next year.
all bar luke allen are heading with mark power at either riddell or gisborne.but you better ask greenman!
TimBurr
22 Aug 2008, 17:58
Moama $2.40
Nathalia $2.60
Barooga $2.80
Rumbalara $11.00
Tongala $21.00
Numurkah $34.00
Tongala should be 50/1 and i still wouldnt back them, if Numurkah can get over Nathalia look out!!!!!!!
after watching numurkah first hand 2 weeks ago, i think they will beat nathalia. have hit top gear at the right time of the season!
big hawk
23 Aug 2008, 09:00
the 2's looks a one sided show hawk, might aswell give all you guys a medal and not play the finals series! :rolleyes:
Ahh McCool, I love people who can look into the future!! Unfortunately I disagree with it. We have put ourselves in a very strong position but thats where the buck stops! Funnier things have happened in footy and many a time those sides who have gone through home and away seasons undefeated (and we still have to get over Finley today to achieve that) have fallen flat on their faces in the big ones! To our advantage, we have a good blend of youth and experience, and are playing some good footy. I will be only able to answer your statement if, and only if, we get there firstly and when the final siren is rang!!!!;)
intheguts
23 Aug 2008, 10:57
can anyone tell me how toquick has gone at toc this year? its scared pretenders like him that are why toc find themselves where they are. paying a joke like him is just stupid
Why should we be 50/1?
Not being biased we would have to be even money against Rumba next week, and a home final would be waiting if we could get over them, would still go in as rank underdogs against either Nathalia or Numurkah but we would give it a fair crack.
Looking forward to Rumba @ Nathalia next weekend. Hopefully we can still be alive after that.
goodgolly24
24 Aug 2008, 21:54
Why should we be 50/1?
Not being biased we would have to be even money against Rumba next week, and a home final would be waiting if we could get over them, would still go in as rank underdogs against either Nathalia or Numurkah but we would give it a fair crack.
Looking forward to Rumba @ Nathalia next weekend. Hopefully we can still be alive after that.
Saw you at our game on Saturday Hank, doing a little last minute recon maybe?? what did you think of the umpiring??
Just wondering if you'd be confident enough to lay all of your cards on the table?? I'm interested to know you think there's any particular weakness in our side/structure your gonna try to expose or if your just gonna roll the dice??
roader_4
24 Aug 2008, 22:06
Do players not understand that if you abuse an umpire all day he will start to be less likely to give your team a free kick?
Saw you at our game on Saturday Hank, doing a little last minute recon maybe?? what did you think of the umpiring??
Just wondering if you'd be confident enough to lay all of your cards on the table?? I'm interested to know you think there's any particular weakness in our side/structure your gonna try to expose or if your just gonna roll the dice??
How did u pull up mate, be right to get up for next Sunday?
Yeah was there to have a look, obviously you had a few out last time we played so wanted to have a look at them, watched Derek and Corey jog around in the twos, so would expect a few changes for next week, Jacko will obviously be a welcome inclusion, also Leighten Briggs if he comes up.
Your side/structure is one of your advantages in that you can throw blokes forward or back.
DT - been playing forward of late, but got back into form from a back flank
Jamie A - played well at CHF against us, been playing FB of late.
Jono - played CHB on Perc, but can play key forward or even in the Ruck.
You can push Morgs and/or Edwards forward if needed.
So you can change your structure around a fair bit in that you can go very tall up forward, but you also have some very good quick smalls who can do a lot of damage through the midfield and forward such as Jason A, young Terlich, Peter Harrison. Then you also have Josh Wanganeen and Jacko who can both push forward and kick goals.
Obviously Guthrie will be a big loss if he is out as it didnt look too good, but very inocuous as a few of us know most ACL injuries are(if that is what it was), but in saying that you only had him for a handful of games.
Didn't take a lot of notice of the umpiring, left at half-time also so can't really comment too much.
GREENMAN
24 Aug 2008, 22:38
all bar luke allen are heading with mark power at either riddell or gisborne.but you better ask greenman!
Now Scooter........you know something about all this that I dont. You know Im not welcome at either club, from what I hear they will be all staying.....Serge hasnt even got a job next year yet, and as you know Im the Lepar of local footy....so no point asking me
Ahh McCool, I love people who can look into the future!! Unfortunately I disagree with it. We have put ourselves in a very strong position but thats where the buck stops! Funnier things have happened in footy and many a time those sides who have gone through home and away seasons undefeated (and we still have to get over Finley today to achieve that) have fallen flat on their faces in the big ones! To our advantage, we have a good blend of youth and experience, and are playing some good footy. I will be only able to answer your statement if, and only if, we get there firstly and when the final siren is rang!!!!;)
haha nice, sounds like something a coach would say & a confident one. good luck!
Albert Park
25 Aug 2008, 10:39
How did u pull up mate, be right to get up for next Sunday?
Yeah was there to have a look, obviously you had a few out last time we played so wanted to have a look at them, watched Derek and Corey jog around in the twos, so would expect a few changes for next week, Jacko will obviously be a welcome inclusion, also Leighten Briggs if he comes up.
Your side/structure is one of your advantages in that you can throw blokes forward or back.
DT - been playing forward of late, but got back into form from a back flank
Jamie A - played well at CHF against us, been playing FB of late.
Jono - played CHB on Perc, but can play key forward or even in the Ruck.
You can push Morgs and/or Edwards forward if needed.
So you can change your structure around a fair bit in that you can go very tall up forward, but you also have some very good quick smalls who can do a lot of damage through the midfield and forward such as Jason A, young Terlich, Peter Harrison. Then you also have Josh Wanganeen and Jacko who can both push forward and kick goals.
Obviously Guthrie will be a big loss if he is out as it didnt look too good, but very inocuous as a few of us know most ACL injuries are(if that is what it was), but in saying that you only had him for a handful of games.
Didn't take a lot of notice of the umpiring, left at half-time also so can't really comment too much.
What has been wrong with Derek Murray, I noticed he hasn't played for a while and resumed in the 2's on the weekend ?
Sippawitz
25 Aug 2008, 12:09
Also Corey Wanganeen played pretty well in the 1's the week before against United and he suited up for the Midday Show this week.
Pretty much a dead rubber in the seniors - they weren't going to move up or down, win or lose, and the two's needed to win and win well to keep their spot in the six. Maybe Rumba was just making certain they got both teams into the finals??
toquick
25 Aug 2008, 15:43
Lee Warnett took out Toc's best and fairest count yesterday, Scott Baldwin finished 2nd and Luke Chapman 3rd.
Tonny also had there vote count yesterday which Adam Brunt won in a close count from Daryl Harrison with Michael Roberts finishing third!
BackPocketRocket24
25 Aug 2008, 18:37
Tonny also had there vote count yesterday which Adam Brunt won in a close count from Daryl Harrison with Michael Roberts finishing third!
Lee Warnett took out Toc's best and fairest count yesterday, Scott Baldwin finished 2nd and Luke Chapman 3rd.
Well done to all!:thumbsu:
goodgolly24
27 Aug 2008, 11:22
What has been wrong with Derek Murray, I noticed he hasn't played for a while and resumed in the 2's on the weekend ?
He's been too busy to play, but he played in the res's because he was finally able to play but he didn't train. . . . He should be back into the one's this weekend. . . .A Fairly handy inclusions for the finals
goodgolly24
27 Aug 2008, 11:30
John Jackson won Rumba's B+F, With D.T. finishing second and i'm not sure who was third. . .
TrainerNo1
27 Aug 2008, 13:21
Just a question for any Numurkah people on here or to anyone who might know.
Is there any truth to the rumour that Liam Gledhill will be coaching Picola in the PDFL next year.
oldstyle
28 Aug 2008, 15:29
My tips for this weekend is as follows, Purps to get the job done sat and as for sunday i cant split them so went with the toss of the coin and it came down Tonny to win.:rolleyes:
Good luck to all for the weekend.:thumbsu:
toquick
28 Aug 2008, 16:31
Nathalia and Tongala are my tips for this weekend.
barnzi71
28 Aug 2008, 19:34
Nathalia and Tongala are my tips for this weekend.:thumbsu:
Any big outs from competing sides this weekend, see no Nath Gemmill, Ryan Butler, Marc Quarrell, Jarrod Maskell or Brendan Parker on Nathalia's team list as yet, is the same side as last week though so will probably be updated.
Numurkah look to be just about full strength, no Sam Robertson.
Rumba have named Guthrie after looking like he did his knee last Satdy, I did the same thing when I did mine trained during the week then lasted 30 seconds come Satdy so will be interesting to see whether he comes up. Derek Murray and Corey Wanganeen named in both the twos and ones, so will have to keep guessing there, Derek also runner in the ones:confused:. John Jackson and Rex Taylor two big ins.
Tongala: Tom Wyatt, Andrew Reid and Adam Nunn return.
goodgolly24
29 Aug 2008, 10:27
Phil carries him self fairly professionally as a footballer. He put him self through the ringer last night and woldn't have put his hand up if he wasn't sure, that's just the sort of bloke he is. I would expect Nathalia to be full strength, perhaps some little mind games on show there? although if those guys are out i'd have to jump on the Numurkah band wagon for that final.
We find out tonight if D.T. is going to be available (tribunal) and Corey W and Derik M will both line up in the One's.
Only 2 sleeps to go Hanky poo. . . . . . . Getting nervous??:D:eek::D
Phil carries him self fairly professionally as a footballer. He put him self through the ringer last night and woldn't have put his hand up if he wasn't sure, that's just the sort of bloke he is. I would expect Nathalia to be full strength, perhaps some little mind games on show there? although if those guys are out i'd have to jump on the Numurkah band wagon for that final.
We find out tonight if D.T. is going to be available (tribunal) and Corey W and Derik M will both line up in the One's.
Only 2 sleeps to go Hanky poo. . . . . . . Getting nervous??:D:eek::D
Nah mate, more excitement, I'm sure there will be some nerves there come Sunday.
I honestly do hope Phil's knee is fine, wouldnt wish that sort of injury upon anyone.
morgs01
30 Aug 2008, 00:19
Darren Turner Cleared to play against Tonny.
There may be some interesting tribunal verdicts handed out this week after Nathalia/Numurkah game today. Anyone else there think it may be lucky for some high profile players that there are no cameras in the Murray league. Pretty physical game considering the final score. Also a little controversy involving the interchange in the last quarter. The best team definetly won on the day though.
big hawk
31 Aug 2008, 09:56
There may be some interesting tribunal verdicts handed out this week after Nathalia/Numurkah game today. Anyone else there think it may be lucky for some high profile players that there are no cameras in the Murray league. Pretty physical game considering the final score. Also a little controversy involving the interchange in the last quarter. The best team definetly won on the day though.
Please elaborate Grunt for those who weren't there, like who and what took place????:confused:
Yeah left at half-time but a lot of punches thrown in that time, they weren't melees these were red hot fisticuffs. Atleast half a dozen reports should have been handed out, don't know if any were in the end. Umpire had his book out writing down a couple and then more punches were thrown and I think he may have just given up after that. No one was sent off so everyone may have got away with it. Was exciting to watch and seemed no-one was too concerned about what they had to lose individually in the week/s ahead.
roader_4
31 Aug 2008, 12:14
A Nathalia player was sent off the ground and another player replaced him, numukah didn't realise in time to call a head count. if they called a head count at that time my guess is they would have got the win.
backpocketer
31 Aug 2008, 18:25
It was a case of either throw them or cop them with the Nathalia-Numurkah game. As you would expect Numurkah were never going to let Nathalia just walk into the second week of finals without trying to take a few casualties. It would have been exactly the same if Numurkah were going into the next round and Nathalia were going out.
barnzi71
31 Aug 2008, 21:57
Nathalia and Tongala are my tips for this weekend.
well toquick, we were right in both seniors and 2nds. I cant be there next sunday, but i think its gunna be a cracker to watch.
Yeah left at half-time but a lot of punches thrown in that time, they weren't melees these were red hot fisticuffs. Atleast half a dozen reports should have been handed out, don't know if any were in the end. Umpire had his book out writing down a couple and then more punches were thrown and I think he may have just given up after that. No one was sent off so everyone may have got away with it. Was exciting to watch and seemed no-one was too concerned about what they had to lose individually in the week/s ahead.
Have to agree Hank. There was a lot more at stake than a couple of weeks off at the start of the year. There was a few more "red hot fisticuffs" after half time by the way. May only be three players reported during the game I believe, but could easily have been six or seven. Damn exciting stuff to watch though. Best team on the day still won the footy though, and I guess thats what counts ultimately.
oldstyle
1 Sep 2008, 09:47
Have to agree Hank. There was a lot more at stake than a couple of weeks off at the start of the year. There was a few more "red hot fisticuffs" after half time by the way. May only be three players reported during the game I believe, but could easily have been six or seven. Damn exciting stuff to watch though. Best team on the day still won the footy though, and I guess thats what counts ultimately.
Only 1 report out of the game and i dont no how that works as we all saw it was pretty willing, Maybe the sun was in the umpires eyes.:D:D:D
haha, yeah well the sun must have been in their eyes all game. umpiring had no impact on the result as the purps were miles better however would have been good to see a player who kicks another player while he is on the ground get sent off at least and the umpire was busying writing down names when he should have been handing out yellow cards to keep control of the game.
Natahlia are looking very good to make it 4 in a row as the fight was the only time the Blues looked close to winning haha and we lost it to
bx bandit
1 Sep 2008, 13:12
congrats hank on the win! only watched the first qtr and it looked like rumba were dicking around with the footy a bit (not ideal conditions for that) where as you guys were far more direct.
how did you see the game?
big test next up, will have to keep stepping up as you go!
bystanding backman
1 Sep 2008, 14:52
Congrats on the win hank, how have the boys pulled up? no injuries
congrats hank on the win! only watched the first qtr and it looked like rumba were dicking around with the footy a bit (not ideal conditions for that) where as you guys were far more direct.
how did you see the game?
big test next up, will have to keep stepping up as you go!
Yeah thought both sides took a bit to adapt to the conditions, we settled a bit better towards the end of the 1st which gave us the 3 goal buffer we held for the rest of the game. Was disappointed that we kept overusing the footy especially by hand in the middle part of the game as we could have really put them away, but come finals any win is a good win.
The 3 goal advantage that we held at 1/4 time really put the pressure on Rumba and meant that a handful of their players were arguing a lot with each other which took their concentration and energy off us and winning the footy.
Obviously a huge challenge this week against Nathalia, the twos have them as well and its at home so that can only help. I don't think we have got within 15 goals of them in the 3 years we have been in the league, so it will be time for that to change.
Congrats on the win hank, how have the boys pulled up? no injuries
No injuries, no excuses, you blokes will just about have a full list also wouldn't you? Nath should come up with his hammy, Buts I'd expect to miss again, and obviously see what happens with Maskell, he would have to think that he was very unlucky to be reported after so many great punches being thrown thoughout the game and no one getting booked.
Yeah thought both sides took a bit to adapt to the conditions, we settled a bit better towards the end of the 1st which gave us the 3 goal buffer we held for the rest of the game. Was disappointed that we kept overusing the footy especially by hand in the middle part of the game as we could have really put them away, but come finals any win is a good win.
The 3 goal advantage that we held at 1/4 time really put the pressure on Rumba and meant that a handful of their players were arguing a lot with each other which took their concentration and energy off us and winning the footy.
Obviously a huge challenge this week against Nathalia, the twos have them as well and its at home so that can only help. I don't think we have got within 15 goals of them in the 3 years we have been in the league, so it will be time for that to change.
Thats the way, keep the lid on it Hank, no doubt a few more adjectives would be used around the boys. Gotta love it, u there we aint, enjoy :thumbsu:
bystanding backman
1 Sep 2008, 16:20
No injuries, no excuses, you blokes will just about have a full list also wouldn't you? Nath should come up with his hammy, Buts I'd expect to miss again, and obviously see what happens with Maskell, he would have to think that he was very unlucky to be reported after so many great punches being thrown thoughout the game and no one getting booked.
not sure on nath i thought he was right to go on the weekend, will be a good inclusion for us when he does get up. Masky was bloody unlucky there probably should have been about 6 -7 reports as grunt1 said, was a good firey game just like the old days against numurkah.
could have been half the players from both sides reported however maskell landed a punch which could be heard and seen from the crowd so was no suprise he got reported.
ark n go
2 Sep 2008, 11:35
just letting everyone know that there is now also a bigcricket forum in which a murray valley forum has just been started!!
Not much been said about the 2nd semi this week with all the focus on Nathalia, everyone very cautious about the Purps, but i reckon this weeks game Moama v Barooga will be a cracker and i tipping Moama, with a superior pecentage throughout the year, they are well rested and will be primed for this Saturday.
Moama by 40pts for me.
tuckylives
2 Sep 2008, 20:19
Not much been said about the 2nd semi this week with all the focus on Nathalia, everyone very cautious about the Purps, but i reckon this weeks game Moama v Barooga will be a cracker and i tipping Moama, with a superior pecentage throughout the year, they are well rested and will be primed for this Saturday.
Moama by 40pts for me.
I would have to agree with you there, Homer.
Apparently coach Shannon Keam has been training his blokes three nights a week and has been including plenty of game-style practice to keep his boys on their toes. I don't think his side will be too affected not having played much football within the last month, so I would say Moama will win their way through to the Grand Final by around 32 points.
Moama by 40pts for me.
Moama by 10 goals.
KDL KINGS
2 Sep 2008, 22:51
Moama by 10 goals.
well done on the weekend hanky boy u blokes look to be goin alright. All the best this week
haha nice, sounds like something a coach would say & a confident one. good luck!
Hi , is big hawk john o'dwyer who played for sydney uni back in the early 90's, if so its jason anderson ex finley player, just popping in to say hello, at 37 just finished my career with a senior premiership at yass in the canberra districts comp, first flag for yass , we went through undefeated untill first final then recovered to win gf by 45 points, not many posts from any finley supporters, i bumped into tony scooter scoullar in west wyalong a few weeks ago and nuts coventry at the mcg, go larry ryan and the strathmerton twos, also a big hello to brendan parker, who i happened to beat for 3rds murray league goalkicking many years ago, i think he has probably kicked a few more goals than me now but probably not as many hard ball gets. Have nathalia changed their ugly purple and yellow jumpers yet, if not maybe they should, change is sometimes a good thing, and i think violet crumble sales are not as big as they used to be, to anyone else who remembers me hello and go the hawthorn hawks
oldstyle
3 Sep 2008, 09:37
Moama by 10 goals.
Barooga by 5 goals for me, I think there experience will get them over the line.:)
bystanding backman
3 Sep 2008, 11:53
Barooga by 5 goals for me, I think there experience will get them over the line.:)
i'm with you oldstyle i think with last years defeat in the granny the hawks will carry this as determination to get to another to prove they can do it.
moama may struggle on the bigger ground i think that moama have smash teams at their home ground but when they have played on bigger grounds they've found it harder to put the better teams away as easily, this is just my opinion could be wrong
finchythegreat
3 Sep 2008, 13:29
i'm with you oldstyle i think with last years defeat in the granny the hawks will carry this as determination to get to another to prove they can do it.
moama may struggle on the bigger ground i think that moama have smash teams at their home ground but when they have played on bigger grounds they've found it harder to put the better teams away as easily, this is just my opinion could be wrong
It will be interesting to see how the Sunbury boys go this weekend. Lots of finals experience between them. We can finally see if Luke Allen can step up and payback some of the money that he stole from the club this year. Rumour has it he has already signed with an Essendon club for next year.
Bit harsh to bag the Sunbury boys, Moama picked them up so they could be exactly where they are now, great recruiting in my book.
Im tipping the Hawks to get rolled this year in straight sets, Moama vs Nathalia grandfinal for me.
Me too.
What color hair this week toquick, went and watched you blokes play Numurkah, hoping you would beat em, you played well, they just to good on the day :thumbsu:.
Yes, I'll agree too. However I think all the top three sides are capable though on their day. I think Baroogas best chance is to catch Moama unaware on the large Toc ground this saturday. Will be interested to watch how both sides step up for the finals campaign, considering Nathalias skill level in the slippery conditions last week. Correct me if I'm wrong but seemed like they simply didn't turn the ball over as much, and made the most of every opportunity that came their way. Anyone who has played plenty of finals footy will tell you that it is a trade not easily learned, but a very valuable one in a tight situation. All three sides have players with finals experience, but how will the bottom ends of their list deal with the pressure. Really looking forward to it.
I did read it somewhere but i've forgotten, are cars banned from Toc oval this week or just the GF? :confused:
Me too.
What color hair this week toquick, went and watched you blokes play Numurkah, hoping you would beat em, you played well, they just to good on the day :thumbsu:.
Still got the blonde locks mate, Numurkah were very polished against us, they rarely wasted the footy into the forward line which was the opposite to us on that day.
How did your boys celebrate the year? im guessing it would have been a solid 3 days drinking... are you heading up to Darwin for the trip away?