View Full Version : How does Adam Thomson compare to our current midfield?
SpringChoke
4 Jun 2008, 21:52
It seems everyone rates this kid except Chocco. I have been a big fan since the first time I saw him play. I have only ever seen him beaten once and that was when he was standing the great man Chris Knights in a SANFL game a few years ago.
Just wondering how he compares to our current midfield players (25 or under):
Better than Thomson:
S Thompson
C Knights
Thomson COULD at least be the equal of:
Porp
Douglas
Van Berlo
Thomson COULD be a better player than:
Symes
Vince
McKay
Reilly
I really do hope we have a crack at him but I wouldn't pay anything less than pick 30+. Like Rodan has been for Port Power, this kid could be an absolute steal. He also has much needed aggression with is a rare commodity at the AFC.
He may not ever reach 1st tier status but he will at worst be a top 2nd tier midfielder.
Ive wanted this bloke at our club for the last 2 years.
Feel he is a crows type player, whereby not much flair but tough in and under, gets the job done.
Not enough flair in him to be a port type player.
Funny thing is everyone at port thinks they need to recruit tough players if they are to win a premiership, and yet they have this boy and dont even give him a chance.
As i said i think he would do more good for our team then Symes will.
I say tell him to go into the PSD, place a 4 yr contract minimum on his head, that would scare most clubs away, then we can pick him up for nothing.
I would also look at picking lower up from Port to, think he can become a good tagger.
Thomson is at least the equal of:
Porp
Douglas
Van Berlo
Thomson is a better player than:
Symes
Vince
McKay
Reilly
that's a fairly arguable list you got there springy.
BunjiMac
4 Jun 2008, 22:42
Sorry I have never seen him play, but if he is as good or better than the mentioned players, surely he would be playing AFL? Or are you saying he COULD be better?
Freddy Bassett
4 Jun 2008, 22:55
Off topic as I dont know enough about Thomson to comment, how do you lads rate our u25 midfielders. Looking at springchokes as a guideline I have a totally different pecking order and would be interested to see how others rate them. For me Thompson, Reilly, VB and Porps unsplittable, Knights, Vince, Douglas, Symes, Mackay......
SpringChoke
4 Jun 2008, 23:00
that's a fairly arguable list you got there springy.
argue away mate. Based solely on SANFL I have seen him play some fantastic football. IMO he has all the attributes to be a gun.
SpringChoke
4 Jun 2008, 23:04
Off topic as I dont know enough about Thomson to comment, how do you lads rate our u25 midfielders. Looking at springchokes as a guideline I have a totally different pecking order and would be interested to see how others rate them. For me Thompson, Reilly, VB and Porps unsplittable, Knights, Vince, Douglas, Symes, Mackay......
Currently 1st tier:
S Thompson
Will be 1st tier:
C Knights.
Most likely of the 2nd tier players to take their game to 1st tier level:
Porp
Douglas
Quality second tier midfielders (flashes of 1st tier):
Reilly
Van Berlo
Vince
2nd Tier:
Symes
McKay is still an unknown, too early to call.
argue away mate. Based solely on SANFL I have seen him play some fantastic football. IMO he has all the attributes to be a gun.
I think you just made the argument against ;)
but if you think he's a better player than Reilly or as good as Porps you're crazy.
SpringChoke
4 Jun 2008, 23:10
Feel he is a crows type player, whereby not much flair but tough in and under, gets the job done.
Funny thing is everyone at port thinks they need to recruit tough players if they are to win a premiership, and yet they have this boy and dont even give him a chance.
I say tell him to go into the PSD, place a 4 yr contract minimum on his head, that would scare most clubs away, then we can pick him up for nothing.
I would also look at picking lower up from Port to, think he can become a good tagger.
I haven't come across any Port supporters who don't think he will be a gun - its only the powers that be at Alberton who don't think he is quality.
SpringChoke
4 Jun 2008, 23:12
I think you just made the argument against ;)
but if you think he's a better player than Reilly or as good as Porps you're crazy.
I think he COULD be (not there yet) better player than Reilly and as good as a MIDFIELDER as Porp. Porp will be a better all round player.
jarmanagic
4 Jun 2008, 23:20
I think he could be a good player and can't understand how he cannot break into a Port midfield that is just not going (Kane Cornes and S Burgoyne excepted) but no way better than Porps. That bloke has rare skills. Douglas and Reilly both well ahead also. After all he is in his 4th year and barely played a good AFL game
Can't judge a bloke on SANFL form. Otherwise Brett Chalmers would have been an all time great and Scotty Hodges would have kicked 1000 goals
Kane McGoodwin
4 Jun 2008, 23:48
Reckon you have the order about right:
Thompson is probably #1 at the moment, but I think Reilly & Porps will pass him for the hurt factor if they stay fit. I On the other hand Knights needs to improve his hurt factor to become top tier. However, a good thing about the current crop, is they bring different strengths & the future looks great. :thumbsu:
kamikaze krow
4 Jun 2008, 23:50
I think he COULD be (not there yet) better player than Reilly and as good as a MIDFIELDER as Porp. Porp will be a better all round player.
He cant even get a game at 22 what a ridiculous thing to say.
RoosterLad
4 Jun 2008, 23:57
Just because he can't get a game at Port doesn't mean he's useless.
Chocko loves his flashy players who don't like to get "in and under", and he obviously doesn't like Thomson for whatever reason. He could go to another club and really blossom (and I ____ing hate that word), hopefully that club is the AFC.
Port Power supporters love him, even Adelaide supporters love him, surely that says something? Look at punters like DT and Macca, they know their footy and Macca said he would vomit directly on to DT if he was ever traded (or something like that). Choco is a fool for not playing him, and an even bigger fool for telling him so early in the season that he won't get a game unless there are mass injuries.
kamikaze krow
5 Jun 2008, 00:00
Just because he can't get a game at Port doesn't mean he's useless.
Chocko loves his flashy players who don't like to get "in and under", and he obviously doesn't like Thomson for whatever reason. He could go to another club and really blossom (and I ____ing hate that word), hopefully that club is the AFC.
Port Power supporters love him, even Adelaide supporters love him, surely that says something? Look at punters like DT and Macca, they know their footy and Macca said he would vomit directly on to DT if he was ever traded (or something like that). Choco is a fool for not playing him, and an even bigger fool for telling him so early in the season that he won't get a game unless there are mass injuries.
Yes you're right bigfooty posters are better judges of talent than choco.
kamikaze krow
5 Jun 2008, 00:01
I haven't come across any Port supporters who don't think he will be a gun
I'm still waiting on salopek and damon white to deliver!
Pretty sure i remember russell ebert giving Ackland the big tick of approval for quite a while too. :D
BunjiMac
5 Jun 2008, 00:29
Salopek looks like he's almost there... never rated White though.
RoosterLad
5 Jun 2008, 00:33
You regularly make stupid posts don't you?
I'm guessing you hate Symes and don't think he has any talent too.
Vince Van Mackay
5 Jun 2008, 00:34
White is a Dud with a capital D.
Everyone on Adelaide's list is better than White.
kamikaze krow
5 Jun 2008, 00:41
just an slightly above average player who has been protected for a long time, still waiting to see if he can perform in the midfield with some hurt factor.
reCOGnise
5 Jun 2008, 00:49
bah ____ing ha
dyertribe
5 Jun 2008, 00:54
Within the past three years he's recruited Aaron Shattock and Nathan Lonie and Toby Thurstans picks up his Life Membership at the end of the year.
I take your point, but let's not make the mistake of thinking he's some sort of infallible genius when it comes to talent identification and man management.
Within the past three years he's recruited Aaron Shattock and Nathan Lonie and Toby Thurstans picks up his Life Membership at the end of the year.
I take your point, but let's not make the mistake of thinking he's some sort of infallible genius when it comes to talent identification and man management.
We'll take you back at the Crows, dyertribe.
Just say three hail modras as your penance and you can rejoin the flock.
But i would say better than most of the current crop.
Rodan is a prime example of one who was given a new lease of life & has definately thrived under the guidance of your coach.
There must be something in Adam Thomson's make-up that is stopping him from becoming another top notch SANFL player who fails to step up to AFL level, maybe another club/coach would make a difference but who knows for sure.
& Springy get real man lol.:D
We'll take you back at the Crows, dyertribe.
Just say three hail modras as your penance and you can rejoin the flock.
I would think a lot more than 3 hail Modras are warrented for mr dyertribe to be allowed back into the fold.
Plus who will put their hand up to perform the cerimony of clear & full fumigation ? :eek:
Freddy Bassett
5 Jun 2008, 10:28
I'm still waiting on salopek and damon white to deliver!
Pretty sure i remember russell ebert giving Ackland the big tick of approval for quite a while too. :D
Yeah Port supporters have a real eye for identifying talent... Bowen Lockwood and Harwood were going to be stars ( only injury stopped Lockwood we have heard that one before;)). John Rombotis was a gun aswell. At least as Crow supporters we have been stung so many times before we are always the pesimists.:D
Glass Houses, folks.
I'd really be surprised if edwards wasn't offered another year.
That said, if he does finish up, I'd rather see him retire, than be delisted.
I'd like a Footy show montage, thanks.
Glass Houses, folks.
Wrong thread?
whitey_1975
5 Jun 2008, 12:49
Glass Houses, folks.
To many Coopers?
johnnypanther
5 Jun 2008, 14:07
Would Thomson improve & complement our midfield? - and we also have up & coming midfielders in Dangerfield, Otten etc
Can he become that tagging player we need who also has an offensive part to his game?
If we gave up a pick in the 30s for him, what are we potentially foregoing in this years draft?
Lets Beyblade
5 Jun 2008, 14:10
Glass Houses, folks.
He makes a compelling point. Edwards has, at times, played in our midfield:D
FishingRick04
5 Jun 2008, 14:18
To say Salopek hasn't stepped up is astonishing.
He is played very well this year. Puts his body on the line top 10 in AFL for kicks I bleive (stand to be corrected), he is progessing very well.
Every club drafts duds.
As for Thomson as it has been stated most of us supporters want to see him in, but who for? He was battling with Logan, Logan played well against Hawthorn, Thomson average, one had to go, Logan kept his spot.
Thomson appears to lack a bit of pace also defensively seems to wander. I reckon Port know his capaibilities, but want him working on that. Some may suggest he goes in for Pearce but who goes onto Pearces wing?
It's a tough squad to crack as would Adelaides at the moment, you could probably liken Thomson to Jehrico, they seem to suffer the same issues, in then out.
I reckon Porp's is a gun, far superior to Thomson however, would even mention the two in the same sentence and if you gusy want to do a swap. Give Choco a call, sure he would accomodate :)
Punchy Bassett
5 Jun 2008, 14:53
bah ____ing ha
White is a spud of highest order. The Grear White Hype has never lived up to Port fans glowing praise of him.
James_37
5 Jun 2008, 15:23
White is a spud of highest order. The Grear White Hype has never lived up to Port fans glowing praise of him.
And to think we were going to give a first rounder for him and port said no:D Unfortunately the bloke we picked didn't last long either, but thats another story.
Wrong thread?
Ummmm.... wtf.
I had a lot of tabs open.
just consider it... Zen, or something. Haiku.
nothing to see here.
IMO VB is not equal to thomo, Reilly, Porps over the course of a whole season.
Punchy Bassett
5 Jun 2008, 16:50
And to think we were going to give a first rounder for him and port said no:D Unfortunately the bloke we picked didn't last long either, but thats another story.
I was furious when I heard we did that and bloody glad Port didn't accept. One of the most hyped up players in this town that has done nothing.
kamikaze krow
5 Jun 2008, 17:38
Taking a punt and recruiting fringe players has nothing to do with the point.............and if you want to go down that road he is actually pretty successful as noddy said hes picked up rodan and logan, so you win some you lose some with those picks.
kamikaze krow
5 Jun 2008, 17:47
He is played very well this year. Puts his body on the line top 10 in AFL for kicks I bleive (stand to be corrected), he is progessing very well.
Every club drafts duds.
As for Thomson as it has been stated most of us supporters want to see him in, but who for? He was battling with Logan, Logan played well against Hawthorn, Thomson average, one had to go, Logan kept his spot.
Thomson appears to lack a bit of pace also defensively seems to wander. I reckon Port know his capaibilities, but want him working on that. Some may suggest he goes in for Pearce but who goes onto Pearces wing?
It's a tough squad to crack as would Adelaides at the moment, you could probably liken Thomson to Jehrico, they seem to suffer the same issues, in then out.
I reckon Porp's is a gun, far superior to Thomson however, would even mention the two in the same sentence and if you gusy want to do a swap. Give Choco a call, sure he would accomodate :)
Thomson also cant kick and lacks footy smarts. He is a poor mans chris kinights. Given our success with mid-round picks of late (tippett, mackay, otten, maybe jacky) we would be wiser to leave him alone and get something better in whats supposed to be a good draft.
birdmanptr
5 Jun 2008, 20:07
:)
Agree he is very good and could easily become one of the comps elite.
As Alan Jeans used to say good driver in heavy traffic
birdmanptr
5 Jun 2008, 20:11
Coaches get a mind set and thats that nothing will change it happens at the elite level right down to the amatures
SpringChoke
5 Jun 2008, 20:21
But i would say better than most of the current crop.
Rodan is a prime example of one who was given a new lease of life & has definately thrived under the guidance of your coach.
I'm not sure whether its Chocco or the the football dept, but Port are second to none when it comes to recuiting/trading for players with genuine talent.
OK. thanks for clarifying.
I used to think he could be a super player, but I do wonder about his disposal somewhat.
I do think he could be a replacement for Shirley. but as an extractor, he needs to be cleaner with the ball. what's the point of putting your head in to be kicked, if you don't handball it out cleanly while dealing with your concussed double vision :D
I'm not sure whether its Chocco or the the football dept, but Port are second to none when it comes to recuiting/trading for players with genuine talent.
run through their first round picks, and get back to me ;)
dyertribe
5 Jun 2008, 22:07
Taking a punt and recruiting fringe players has nothing to do with the point.............and if you want to go down that road he is actually pretty successful as noddy said hes picked up rodan and logan, so you win some you lose some with those picks.
Stephen Gilham? Vic Metro Captain and highly-rated young defender who was taken with a first rounder. Given next to no opportunities by Chocolate and was allowed to walk. Now looking a very decent proposition at the Hawks under Clarkson.
Refusing a first round pick for Damon White not along ago was also dubious.
The secondary point of the post still rings true, you're assuming it's just about talent - which it clearly isn't given what he's shown at AFL level so far - when in all likelihood it could well be to do with man management issues or something else to do with off-field.
Just as an aside, I tend to remember some pretty heavy criticism of Choco's management of Primus, Montgomery and Walsh around the traps in the past - now all of a sudden his decision-making with Thomson is impeccable and the mind of a genius at work. But ya get that, I suppose.
Thomson also cant kick and lacks footy smarts. He is a poor mans chris kinights. Given our success with mid-round picks of late (tippett, mackay, otten, maybe jacky) we would be wiser to leave him alone and get something better in whats supposed to be a good draft.
Lacks footy smarts is a new one. Leading the league in clearances per time on ground in 2007 would suggest he has footy smarts in abundance - his ability to get, give and shepherd effectively in heavy traffic is another highlight.
It's one thing to be a stat accumulator on the outside (see Lonie, Scotland) but it's quite another to be able to get it in close.
Agree that his disposal by foot is below average and needs work, but paradoxically his goalsense is very good (see Cassisi).
I haven't come across any Port supporters who don't think he will be a gun - its only the powers that be at Alberton who don't think he is quality.
And I support which club? :confused: :D
SpringChoke
12 Jun 2008, 22:05
Amazingly, after yet another soft performance by his team, he wasn't selected this week.
Adam Thomson, welcome to the AFC.:thumbsu:
Drummond
12 Jun 2008, 22:15
Amazingly, after yet another soft performance by his team, he wasn't selected this week.
Adam Thomson, welcome to the AFC.:thumbsu:
Please, please, please happen! Cmom Symes, get on the phone mate and start convincing him to come. :thumbsu:
Campbell's Chunky
12 Jun 2008, 22:22
http://img385.imageshack.us/img385/7996/thomilful8.jpg
Drummond
12 Jun 2008, 22:25
:D :thumbsu:
Southerntakeover
12 Jun 2008, 22:35
Anything changed in the last day to bring on this new wave of enthusiasm?
Campbell's Chunky
12 Jun 2008, 22:47
Anything changed in the last day to bring on this new wave of enthusiasm?
Nathan Lonie picked over Adam Thomson. :D
SpringChoke
12 Jun 2008, 23:05
Nice One. I miss the days when we had players with natural aggression ala Adam Thomson.
I think Thomson could end up being a very good player and has a number of good attributes, but ... aggression? :confused:
fightingdreamer88
13 Jun 2008, 00:53
I stopped reading after SC suggested that Thomson could be better than Vince. Vince will be a TOP TIER midfielder in time, right up there. Lock it in.
Campbell's Chunky
13 Jun 2008, 00:55
I stopped reading after SC suggested that Thomson could be better than Vince. Vince will be a TOP TIER midfielder in time, right up there. Lock it in.
Errr...Thomson could be a better footballer than Vince.
dyertribe
13 Jun 2008, 00:56
I think Thomson could end up being a very good player and has a number of good attributes, but ... aggression? :confused:
You sound surprised?
As I said elsewhere, he's averaging more tackles, more contested possessions and more 1%ers in less TOG than Tommy Logan who is considered to be the embodiment of those attributes.
He also didn't shirk a head-on collision with Quinten Lynch at Subiaco in his first game for the year.
He's a jet, no Nathan Lonie granted, but...
fightingdreamer88
13 Jun 2008, 00:58
Errr...Thomson could be a better footballer than Vince.
Insanity. Thomson could be a very good player but you will see in time how ludicrous it is to suggest that he has more potential than Vince. Wait and see. :thumbsu:
Macca19
13 Jun 2008, 01:03
Excuse me, I have something in eye.
:(
fightingdreamer88
13 Jun 2008, 01:07
Of course, please don't get me wrong. Thomson could be a VERY good AFL footballer if given the chance and I hope the Crows seriously consider picking him up.
Campbell's Chunky
13 Jun 2008, 01:16
Insanity. Thomson could be a very good player but you will see in time how ludicrous it is to suggest that he has more potential than Vince. Wait and see. :thumbsu:
I guess you haven't seen Thomilf in action.
Vince probably has slightly better skills, but Thomson could be number 1 in the AFL for clearances, which IMO is where you find the really good midfielders.
fightingdreamer88
13 Jun 2008, 01:21
I guess you haven't seen Thomilf in action.
Vince probably has slightly better skills, but Thomson could be number 1 in the AFL for clearances, which IMO is where you find the really good midfielders.
Of course I've seen him. Watch and see Chunkworth. This is only the beginning. You underestimated Vince in the first place, but you and SC continue to underestimate what more we are to see from Bernie in the future. It's all good for us anyway because Thommo will probably be playing alongside him. :thumbsu:
cmndstab
13 Jun 2008, 01:28
Now this I can get behind!!
fd88, both Vince and Thomson have the potential to be fantastic midfielders. It's a bit hard to tell at this stage who will be better but both have terrific upside.
Campbell's Chunky
13 Jun 2008, 03:23
Of course I've seen him. Watch and see Chunkworth. This is only the beginning. You underestimated Vince in the first place, but you and SC continue to underestimate what more we are to see from Bernie in the future. It's all good for us anyway because Thommo will probably be playing alongside him. :thumbsu:
Posted this on the Pr0t board.
Some food for thought.
With Thomson in the side, Port are 3-1. That 1 was against Hawthorn, his last game before being dropped, where he was only given 40% game time.
With Thomson out of the side, Port are 1-6, with the win being against LOLmantle.
Now I wouldn't say your a one man team with Thomilf in the side, but coincidence? I think not. Your midfield just works SO much better with Thomson feeding it out to them. Ie, a midfield that actually compliments itself.
Anyone else seen the article by Josh Francou in the Advertiser this morning about Thomson? Basically reiterates everything on here, that he should leave Port.
The Crows Truth
13 Jun 2008, 14:54
Anyone else seen the article by Josh Francou in the Advertiser this morning about Thomson? Basically reiterates everything on here, that he should leave Port.
yeah just read it.josh reading bf again :D
Save yourself Adam - quit Port
JOSH FRANCOU | June 13, 2008 09:16am
ADAM Thomson needs to follow Brad Symes out the door at Alberton. One year after Symes was treated so poorly by the Port Adelaide selectors he was forced to seek a trade to resurrect his AFL career - with Adelaide - Thomson finds himself in the same predicament.
Amazingly in a season where Port has flopped, Thomson - one of the club's best in-and-under players - still finds himself out of the side.
So the question has to be asked: If Thomson cannot get a game when things are going so wrong at the Power, when will he?
I'm sure many Port fans are asking this question.
Let me make one point clear. I am an unashamed Thomson fan.
When I was at the Power and was often asked by the media who I considered to be the next "big thing" at Alberton, I said Thomson.
Having seen him up close, Thomson impressed me with his natural ball-winning ability at stoppages. He has a gift of winning the contested ball in heavy traffic while still managing to set up a team-mate with quick, reflex handballs.
Thomson is not a player who catches the eye with silky skills or electrifying play - although his skills are good - but what he does do is give a good contest every time he crosses the white line.
And that is sadly missing at Port at the moment.
Thomson, who is still just 21, is a player who is prepared to put his head over the ball unconditionally and is not intimidated by the opposition. And he makes up for not being the quickest player with genuine football smarts.
Thomson reminds me of Power premiership player Roger James - not quick but having the unique ability to find the ball and dish it out to a team-mate.
I struggle to understand why Thomson has drifted off the radar at Alberton.
After a big pre-season he couldn't make Mark Williams' side at the start of the year.
Then, after a 0-4 start when the club identified the need for in-and-under players, he was brought in and did little wrong in four matches, averaging 16 possessions and three tackles and helping Port to win three of its next four matches. Then, incredibly, he was dropped again.
How the Power could have done with Thomson in the side when things got tough in the last quarter against Carlton on Sunday!
But rather than drop his bottom lip, Thomson showed he was made of stern stuff by dominating for the Double Blues in their 106-point thrashing of finals contender North Adelaide on Monday.
He not only dominated the stats sheet with 21 classy possessions but also kicked four goals in Sturt's romp. It is no surprise the Double Blues are four from four when Thomson has played this year.
Thomson's performance on Monday should surely have earned him selection in the Power side for Sunday's grand final re-match against Geelong at Skilled Stadium - but he is not even in the 25-man squad.
Given what has transpired this year and the fact Thomson has played just 25 games in the four years since he was drafted with pick No. 11 in the 2004 national draft, you'd fancy he is not highly rated in the inner sanctum at Port.
He is too good a player to be stuck in the SANFL. As much as I'd hate to see my old midfield sidekick leave the Power, it is time for him to move on.
Geoffa32
13 Jun 2008, 15:09
I wouldnt want to give up to much for him. We already have similar players of a good quality.
But he would be handy
Lets offer Port Jaren Jacky, as Port (Chocko) seem to like flashy, pacy players. I do rate Jacky but I dont think we need him.
Campbell's Chunky
13 Jun 2008, 15:22
I wouldnt want to give up to much for him. We already have similar players of a good quality.
But he would be handy
Lets offer Port Jaren Jacky, as Port (Chocko) seem to like flashy, pacy players. I do rate Jacky but I dont think we need him.
Why not a draft pick?
Jacky is probably worth more than Thomson at this stage.
Drummond
13 Jun 2008, 17:03
Why not a draft pick?
Jacky is probably worth more than Thomson at this stage.
Either sounds good to me. ;)
wall_ryan
13 Jun 2008, 17:07
4th rounder
3rd MAX
And I really like him. But in this draft, you can't command high picks for players not in the best 22 for a side.
Southerntakeover
13 Jun 2008, 17:23
I dont think you can make that assessment based on needs.
We need to find a fast goalsneak crumbing forward far more than we need another inside midfielder.
You sound surprised?
As I said elsewhere, he's averaging more tackles, more contested possessions and more 1%ers in less TOG than Tommy Logan who is considered to be the embodiment of those attributes.
He also didn't shirk a head-on collision with Quinten Lynch at Subiaco in his first game for the year.
He's a jet, no Nathan Lonie granted, but...
We only have 3 aggressive players in our squad, Wilson, Thomas and Logan.
Wilson is the only one of the three that is highly skilled plus aggressive.
Salopek is too courageous for his own good, but does that also imply he is an aggressive type player? Answer is no.
Thomson will go on to be a brilliant AFL player, unfortunately not likely to be at Port Adelaide.
I have no qualms that Port off-loaded Symes. Not a vital player to the side and I still claim he would be in the same position at Port now than he was last season. Thomson on the other hand is vital and his performances given his gametime speak for itself. That being said the fact we have not played him a lot probably dictate we cannot demand a lot come trade time. Different player to Symes obviously but imo a much much better player and I was happy with the pick Port got for Symes. But would a late 2nd round draft pick be wishful thinking for Thomo? I still think if a club gave this up for him they would end up well ahead in the long run.
WeeBlake
13 Jun 2008, 22:59
choco reckons he's got OP
http://news.realfooty.com.au/sport/port-coach-hits-back-at-francous-column-20080613-2q3s.html
SpringChoke
13 Jun 2008, 23:02
Provided he is given a chance, Thomson will be a better footballer than Symes, much better. I'm a Symes fan but he doesn't have the tricks and pace Thomson has.
Power King
13 Jun 2008, 23:06
I'm sure many of you will find comfort with the notion that this very post, let alone this entire thread, could be enough to make me cry.
:(:thumbsd:
Southerntakeover
13 Jun 2008, 23:07
Provided he is given a chance, Thomson will be a better footballer than Symes, much better. I'm a Symes fan but he doesn't have the tricks and pace Thomson has.
Pace?
I didnt think Thomson was particularly fast....
fightingdreamer88
13 Jun 2008, 23:08
...Thomson ain't quick. But yes, probably faster than Symes given that he is sloth-like.
SpringChoke
13 Jun 2008, 23:10
Pace?
I didnt think Thomson was particularly fast....
As FD said, compared to Symes.
SpringChoke
13 Jun 2008, 23:13
I would love to see him at the AFC but I wouldn't offer Port anything better than pick 25. There's no way Thomson would command a 1st rounder now. Chocco has destroyed any resale value he may have once had.
Geoffa32
14 Jun 2008, 00:03
choco reckons he's got OP
http://news.realfooty.com.au/sport/port-coach-hits-back-at-francous-column-20080613-2q3s.html
yeah he has OP but is carving up the SANFL for Sturt....
King Elvis
14 Jun 2008, 05:41
When asked whether or not Thomson would be let go by the Power, Williams was succinct.
"No way in the world," he said.
Wonder whether that's sincere, or Williams trying to preserve any possible strength Power have should a trade arise.
His non-selection would clearly de-value the above statement.
I would love to see him at the AFC but I wouldn't offer Port anything better than pick 25. There's no way Thomson would command a 1st rounder now. Chocco has destroyed any resale value he may have once had.
Wonder whether that's sincere, or Williams trying to preserve any possible strength Power have should a trade arise.
Did he say something similar about Symes last year?
Elite Crow
14 Jun 2008, 10:10
Why would we bother with Thomson? Would he displace either Vince, Knights, Porplzia, Douglas, Thompson or Reilly? Plus we have Danger in the wings. We have enough good midfielders now what we need are some stars and Thomson isnt that. You can either trade for one, very unlikely, or keep gambling in the draft such as Danger.
He doesn't have to displace any of these players. We have an abundance of "midfield types" who will be departing (retired or delisted) in the next 2 years: Goodwin, Edwards, McLeod, Burton, Shirley, Doughty, Massie, Campbell, Jericho (probably). All bar the last three are in our best 22.
If he's good enough to earn a position ahead of Dangermouse, Otten & co, then we're better off for having him in the team. The opportunities will be there for those who are good enough to seize them.
Kristof
14 Jun 2008, 11:25
He doesn't have to displace any of these players. We have an abundance of "midfield types" who will be departing (retired or delisted) in the next 2 years: Goodwin, Edwards, McLeod, Burton, Shirley, Doughty, Massie, Campbell, Jericho (probably). All bar the last three are in our best 22.
If he's good enough to earn a position ahead of Dangermouse, Otten & co, then we're better off for having him in the team. The opportunities will be there for those who are good enough to seize them.
I think he's certainly worth our second round pick.
Or perhaps Jericho to Richmond, Schulz to Port and Thomson to us?
cmndstab
14 Jun 2008, 11:29
Exactly. It doesn't matter that we have an abundance of midfielder types already. Having another one there just means we have one more player to be in the side and play well if anyone starts to slip to the wayside.
Griffin wouldn't fit in the side when he was recruited either but having him there creates competition for positions and then when we need a ruckman to step in there he is.
Stiffy_18
14 Jun 2008, 12:07
I don't buy Choko's explanation!
If they are managing his groin injury, Thomson wouldn't be playing full games at the SANFL!
If he has groin soreness, he would be rested if the Power are "managing" his injury. He wouldn't be playing 4 quarters of football this week.
Porps_is_HOT_loz
14 Jun 2008, 13:23
Of course, please don't get me wrong. Thomson could be a VERY good AFL footballer if given the chance and I hope the Crows seriously consider picking him up.
Would love to see him in the crows list next year..surly will play all 22 games...all of us here rate him highly.
Another midfielder that we can look at is Prismall?
I think he's certainly worth our second round pick.
I wouldn't offer anything lower than a 3rd round pick, though it may be an early 3rd rounder if we can do another trade to obtain such a pick (eg by trading Jericho as suggested). Choco's refusal to give Thomson any games has significantly reduced his trade value. We gave them a 3rd rounder for Symes, a similar pick for Thomson seems reasonable.
The trade you suggested is not bad at all. Effectively Jericho for Thomson - a trade I'd do in a heartbeat. Not sure if either of the other clubs would be interested though.
The Crows Truth
14 Jun 2008, 14:42
I wouldn't offer anything lower than a 3rd round pick, though it may be an early 3rd rounder if we can do another trade to obtain such a pick (eg by trading Jericho as suggested). Choco's refusal to give Thomson any games has significantly reduced his trade value. We gave them a 3rd rounder for Symes, a similar pick for Thomson seems reasonable.
The trade you suggested is not bad at all. Effectively Jericho for Thomson - a trade I'd do in a heartbeat. Not sure if either of the other clubs would be interested though.
pick 28 iirc
Porps_is_HOT_loz
14 Jun 2008, 18:20
Well explained Vadar.
At the end of this year I wouldnt be suprised to see Bunji go unless he is sick atm?? (He hasnt been dominating ...and playing his best footy)..
I would like to see Campbell be traded or dropped next year along with Massie.
Doughty probably has this year and next year in him..
Burton is fit as ever and Edwards and Goody will last till end of 2009.
Kane McGoodwin
14 Jun 2008, 18:28
Well explained Vadar.
At the end of this year I wouldnt be suprised to see Bunji go unless he is sick atm?? (He hasnt been dominating ...and playing his best footy)..
I would like to see Campbell be traded or dropped next year along with Massie.
Doughty probably has this year and next year in him..
Burton is fit as ever and Edwards and Goody will last till end of 2009.
Why do we have to turn over heaps of players this year as I tink our squad is the best it has ever been. We don't have a need to have a huge turnover of the list next year, as we haven't got much in the way of deadwood that needs to be cut.
Assuming Bassett retires (which I think is likely), then Massie is a must keep IMO. Very versatile player who has played solid footy for AFC.
Agree with Campbell though as we have better midfield options on our list. Would have no issue brokering a "give-away" trade to give him a opportunity at another club who doesn't have the same midfield depth.
Biglands is another who will be delisted.
So if Edwards decides to retire (which is 50/50 at the moment), Thomson would be worth chasing for a 3rd rounder.
dyertribe
14 Jun 2008, 19:47
Haha. Not doubting that's how it would pan out, but that would be the poorest rip-off since The Nation.
A pair of spuds and an elite inside midfielder.