View Full Version : Predict a margain - Collingwood vs Melbourne
I'm going to say 134 point win to Collingwood.
Demons to be goalless in the second half.
magpies10
5 Jun 2008, 15:56
Reckon it won't be as big a hiding as people think. Probably about 40 points in the pies favour.
dutchy12
5 Jun 2008, 15:58
whenever were predicted to get thrashed we actually do alright. aka geelong and the hawks this year. but when were considered a chance we put in a poor performance. .
Less than the Pies / Eagles margin.
hellfire
5 Jun 2008, 16:01
24 points. Wouldn't be surprised if we lost, given our recent QB history.
Danger Mouse
5 Jun 2008, 16:01
Demons have no forward line, ie. Neitz, Robbo and Davey all out who in turn face one of the best backlines in the league.
Collingwoods midfield is as good as the demons midfield.
Collingwood has many scoring options up forward against a verymediocre defense.
Melbourne will be lucky to score more then 6 goals the entire match.
Collingwood by 150 points you would think...
Collingwood by an even 10 goals.
The fab 4 combined will kick a bigger score than Melbourne
TheBrownDog
5 Jun 2008, 16:06
Demons always lift for this one, but just cant see them getting close this year.
Pies by 68.
Bring-Back-Powell
5 Jun 2008, 16:07
Melbourne with a leg in the air.
Seriously, don't we do this every week, and Melbourne end up making it a contest against the top teams.
Plus we play the MCG 155% better than the TD.
And we've won the past 4 of 5 games V Collingwood.
Salty Malty
5 Jun 2008, 16:09
I hate these sort of threads. Too arrogant, and karma always comes back to bite you on the bum. Personally, I will be happy with the 4 points.
Blueinblood
5 Jun 2008, 16:10
64521452145415851225511818156000000 points
stiza_007
5 Jun 2008, 16:11
Melbourne by 13, bookmark it
Ricketts
5 Jun 2008, 16:12
You thought this last year. :o
Abba Lonie
5 Jun 2008, 16:15
87 points. We couldn't possibly beat Melbourne by less than we beat Geelong.
Bolty1991
5 Jun 2008, 16:15
Collingwood by 10 goals but expect Melbourne to fight
Nathan Jones the next superstar!
wotdude25
5 Jun 2008, 16:17
Collingwood by 23 pts. Melbourne always save thier best for collingwood, collingwood could even lose if they get cocky, but will win. It should be close for most of the game.
TheBrownDog
5 Jun 2008, 16:18
Nathan Jones the next superstar!
His disposal is pretty ordinary.
AngelEyes
5 Jun 2008, 16:20
I think Collingwood are massively over rated.
They had a good win against a Geelong side that didn't give a stuff. Good on them, they took it very seriously and took a lazy Geelong side by surprise. Are they a better side than Geelong? HAHA not even close. I don't think anyone thinks they are and on that basis you could consider the result an abnormality. Its hard to draw alot into results such as that. I don't think anyone at their best is 86 points better than a Geelong side that turns up and even puts in average effort. I think really it is almost a nothing result except for Collingwood fans.
Then they belted West Coast in Melbourne. Wow! Thats huge. How many teams would expect a Vic bottom 4 team to go to Subiaco and beat a finals team in WA a couple of years ago? Pretty much no one. A belting is a reasonable result and is what is expected. One hundred points is alot but so what? Its another nothing game that was over very early. In games where the result is determined early on, the difference between a ten goal and a hundred point belting is most of the time whether the team in control can be bothered continuing. Collingwood kept going. I don't see why Collingwood is so good from this game either.
I don't doubt Collingwood has been good but seriously they have smashed two teams that didn't give a stuff when their will to win and continue to play hard was high. They played finals type footy in May. I don't see how much can really be drawn into last weeks win or even the Geelong.
Collingwood aren't as good as people are making out. Sure they aren't poor but lets put it in perspective. Soon they will be handing out flags for belting Melbourne.
Abba Lonie
5 Jun 2008, 16:23
Cool
TheBrownDog
5 Jun 2008, 16:23
They had a good win against a Geelong side that didn't give a stuff. Good on them, they took it very seriously and took a lazy Geelong side by surprise. Are they a better side than Geelong? HAHA not even close. I don't think anyone thinks they are and on that basis you could consider the result an abnormality. Its hard to draw alot into results such as that. I don't think anyone at their best is 86 points better than a Geelong side that turns up and even puts in average effort. I think really it is almost a nothing result except for Collingwood fans.
Then they belted West Coast in Melbourne. Wow! Thats huge. How many teams would expect a Vic bottom 4 team to go to Subiaco and beat a finals team in WA a couple of years ago? Pretty much no one. A belting is a reasonable result and is what is expected. One hundred points is alot but so what? Its another nothing game that was over very early. In games where the result is determined early on, the difference between a ten goal and a hundred point belting is most of the time whether the team in control can be bothered continuing. Collingwood kept going. I don't see why Collingwood is so good from this game either.
I don't doubt Collingwood has been good but seriously they have smashed two teams that didn't give a stuff when their will to win and continue to play hard was high. They played finals type footy in May. I don't see how much can really be drawn into last weeks win or even the Geelong.
Collingwood aren't as good as people are making out. Sure they aren't poor but lets put it in perspective. Soon they will be handing out flags for belting Melbourne.
You can only beat who turns up, and Collingwood have massacred two sides in the last 2 weeks.
They ARE the form side of the competition.
AngelEyes
5 Jun 2008, 16:27
You can only beat who turns up, and Collingwood have massacred two sides in the last 2 weeks.
They ARE the form side of the competition.
Of course you can only beat who turns up but it doesn't make you a good side. If they didn't beat WCE or WCE got close, the newspapers would say that Collingwood's season is over and they were in poor form. A belting is expected and is a sign of what should happen not of any great form.
They have been fairly ordinary outside of these couple of games.
Form side? LOL. Surely that has to take into account who you have played etc.
steveo79
5 Jun 2008, 16:27
I hate these sort of threads. Too arrogant, and karma always comes back to bite you on the bum. Personally, I will be happy with the 4 points.
Fully agree :thumbsu:. I'll just be happy with a solid win, wether it be by 1 point or 100.
Why do people always go so off topic?
While you are entitled to your opinion (which is neither right nor wrong but an opinion) why even bother posting such garbage???:confused:
Cassius_Clay
5 Jun 2008, 16:31
You thought this last year. :o
You twat.
Doubt we'll beat em more than the smashing we gave your flogs 2 weeks back.
Bolty1991
5 Jun 2008, 16:31
His disposal is pretty ordinary.
He's the next superstar, its only his third year
give him some time
Only as good as your last game.
Cassius_Clay
5 Jun 2008, 16:33
Of course you can only beat who turns up but it doesn't make you a good side. If they didn't beat WCE or WCE got close, the newspapers would say that Collingwood's season is over and they were in poor form. A belting is expected and is a sign of what should happen not of any great form.
Yeah exactly. Only played Geelong.
They're shit.
The last two weeks we have beaten the teams we played in the semi final and the preliminary final (reigning premier) last year by a combined 186 points.
Tragic goose.
NMFC ALWAYS
5 Jun 2008, 16:36
Melbourne by 11 points . Don't get ahead of yourself Collingwood .
West Coast had a will to win, after flogging your mob, they had a sniff for the first time in the season. Unless of course you're suggesting Adelaide shouldn't even be a top 8 side.
On topic, i just want the 4 points, that being said, i'll go with 40 points.
McLean_4_Captain
5 Jun 2008, 16:39
Demons have no forward line, ie. Neitz, Robbo and Davey all out who in turn face one of the best backlines in the league.
Collingwoods midfield is as good as the demons midfield.
Collingwood has many scoring options up forward against a verymediocre defense.
Melbourne will be lucky to score more then 6 goals the entire match.
Collingwood by 150 points you would think...
You started with a reasonable summation of each team, and then you pick a ridiculous margin. Makes no sense, if you said a margin about half that it would suit your argument. To win by 150 collingwood would need to annihilate melbourne all over the ground, which you didn't predict.
melbourne's very mediocre defence? Who kept Buddy and Roughead to 4 goals, their lowest combined total for the year. I know collingwood have a wide spread of goal kickers, but credit where credit is due. Defenders can only do so much, if the ball is in there 60 times a game lots of goals will be scored which is almost irrelevant to your defenders.
I expect collingwood to win and win easily, but i wouldn't be surprise to see melbourne put up a good fight and keep the margin respectable.
Dave The Man
5 Jun 2008, 16:40
You could say the same thing about the Crows. Just Beating the Bombers:rolleyes:
Bolty1991
5 Jun 2008, 16:40
The last two weeks we have beaten the teams we played in the semi final and the preliminary final (reigning premier) last year by a combined 186 points.
Tragic goose.
Geelong were and still aren't at there best and everybody knows West Coast is a shell of its former self.
Never get ahead of yourself.
Dave The Man
5 Jun 2008, 16:42
Trust me they won't be this year
Danger Mouse
5 Jun 2008, 16:44
You started with a reasonable summation of each team, and then you pick a ridiculous margin. Makes no sense, if you said a margin about half that it would suit your argument. To win by 150 collingwood would need to annihilate melbourne all over the ground, which you didn't predict.
melbourne's very mediocre defence? Who kept Buddy and Roughead to 4 goals, their lowest combined total for the year. I know collingwood have a wide spread of goal kickers, but credit where credit is due. Defenders can only do so much, if the ball is in there 60 times a game lots of goals will be scored which is almost irrelevant to your defenders.
I expect collingwood to win and win easily, but i wouldn't be surprise to see melbourne put up a good fight and keep the margin respectable.
I guess i'm going on last weeks effort. Saints were just blundering around in your backline for large spaces of the game. Wasn't much pressure going on. Collingwood will slaughter you guys if you put up the same perormance. Guys like Davis, Medhurst, Didak and Thomas won't miss like we did.
On other news, Sportsbet are offering EVEN MONEY on the pies to win at 51+ points. Gee that looks good value, win or lose, i can't resist that offering.
hellfire
5 Jun 2008, 16:45
You mean Geelong? By 86 points? Regardless of how unfocused they were... it's 86 points.
We're not better than them, but on our day, we can beat anyone. Sure that goes for a few teams... but hey, we're the ones that beat Geelong, we won by 100 points last week, we are the in-form side. Given the top 3 have all lost in the last two weeks.
In saying that, this form won't last long. It never does. I just hope it lasts til after round 12. :mad:
hellfire
5 Jun 2008, 16:48
Tell me about it. These predictions of over 100 points are absolute crap. Melbourne will come to play, and we'll be in for a rude shock if we don't take them seriously. Of course, it comes down to the players' attitude... not ours.
dale_mighty_pies
5 Jun 2008, 16:49
Then they belted West Coast in Melbourne. Wow! Thats huge. How many teams would expect a Vic bottom 4 team to go to Subiaco and beat a finals team in WA a couple of years ago?
What? The same Eagles team that thrashed your club the week before????
NMFC ALWAYS
5 Jun 2008, 17:00
Tell me about it. These predictions of over 100 points are absolute crap. Melbourne will come to play, and we'll be in for a rude shock if we don't take them seriously. Of course, it comes down to the players' attitude... not ours.
I'm not exactly sure of the stats , but don't Melbourne usually do alright in the Queens Birthday fixtures ?
Whiskers
5 Jun 2008, 17:00
Collingwood fans on here compared to the real world do not seem to be getting to far ahead of themselves, 80-90% of them anyway.
Seriously you got every right to think your gonna belt them by about 100 though. Why play it down? Going great at the mo and the Dees have 3 of the most importAnt players missing from an already ordinary squad.
captain peanut
5 Jun 2008, 17:03
collingwood clearly aren't as good as geelong. geelong have 28 wins from their last 30 encounters, incl a flag, to prove how good they are. and the 2 losses have been on occasions when they were ripe for the picking. however bear in mind that 3 times in those 30 games the pies have either got within 16 pts or belted them, incl getting within 5pts in a prelim final when the cats were in their hottest form of 2007 and which was squeezed in between 20 goal maulings of 2 other top 4 sides
the cats are clearly still the flag fave. coll are the clear danger and syd are the smokey because they play the right style of footy to win finals. geel will destroy the dogs in a final and will also beat haw pretty comfortably.
wallyt99
5 Jun 2008, 17:11
melbourne's very mediocre defence? Who kept Buddy and Roughead to 4 goals, their lowest combined total for the year.
This is true, but you doubleteamed them BOTH all day - This resulted in 3 goals each to Mark Williams and Cyril Rioli......
Despite what people say our forward line does have more than 2 players.
Chase the Ace
5 Jun 2008, 17:17
53 points
cougar000
5 Jun 2008, 17:25
They had one of these threads about Melbourne when they played Geelong & Hawthorn looked what happend so could be game on! Pies to choak!
magpies10
5 Jun 2008, 17:30
They had one of these threads about Melbourne when they played Geelong & Hawthorn looked what happend so could be game on! Pies to choak!
I take it you meant choke. You still lost against Melbourne and Geelong so as long as we get the 4 points we will be happy.
Chase the Ace
5 Jun 2008, 17:32
Isn't that some sort of vegetable?
thewhitelama
5 Jun 2008, 17:34
54 Points. Melbourne will be competitive, but will drop off towards the end. Perhaps see what sportsbet is offering for the quarter by quarter leader: Melb/Coll/Coll/Coll
you would doubt Collingwood would take the game too seriously so the winning margin may be restricted to about 45 points.
steveo79
5 Jun 2008, 17:44
you would doubt Collingwood would take the game too seriously so the winning margin may be restricted to about 45 points.
What a dumb thing to say!! Any team who "doesn't take another team seriously" is kidding themselves. There is no way Mick will let ANYONE be a passenger on monday.
They'll take the game seriously, but it sure as hell won't be a blow out.
Lets not get too far ahead of ourselves. We havn't won Queens birthday for a while, and really, we should have won it last year and we almost got smashed. Melbourne play Queens birthday like a final, we have to do the same or we may lose. Don't get too cocky Pies fans, it always comes back to bite you.
Could be a close game or it could be a blowout, I don't want to say either way, thats the beauty of this game. I just don't know.
johncitizen
5 Jun 2008, 19:21
Pies by plenty. Mick has just made this team click. Best footy by the Pies i've seen in a long time. They've won the last 8 quarters of football played convincingly. :D
Bomber57
5 Jun 2008, 19:29
Pies by a shit load, could score more than eighty times, LOL :D
Monkeyboy
5 Jun 2008, 19:34
Could be closer than what many think. Not one genuine star will be out there. Plenty of rock solid workhorses...Shaw, Burns, MacDonald, McLean and plenty of flashy types...Didak, Thomas, the aboriginal kid i can't pronounce from Melb.
When you have teams like these it just takes 1 or 2 to stand up and anything can happen.
Pies by 2-3 goals for me.
johncitizen
5 Jun 2008, 19:45
Could be closer than what many think. Not one genuine star will be out there. Plenty of rock solid workhorses...Shaw, Burns, MacDonald, McLean and plenty of flashy types...Didak, Thomas, the aboriginal kid i can't pronounce from Melb.
When you have teams like these it just takes 1 or 2 to stand up and anything can happen.
Pies by 2-3 goals for me.
Didak is a star > Flashy too :p
melbournemartin
5 Jun 2008, 20:13
Whenever a thumping is predicted, we come out firing. Look at the Geelong and Hawthorn games.
kingy_08
5 Jun 2008, 20:32
Melbourne will get alot closer than collingwood supporters think. Pies by 35 points running away with it in the second half
de_LICA_ish18
5 Jun 2008, 20:34
Melbourne by 86
smiddaz123
5 Jun 2008, 20:37
Melbourne by over 9000
THEBLOODS85
5 Jun 2008, 20:37
Typical, arrogant, Mugpies thread!
Who cares as long as Melbourne wins!
CowboyFromHell
5 Jun 2008, 20:41
Pies by about 6 goals. We play well, even very well, on QB but I just don't think we have it in us this year. The Pies will be able to keep us at arms length all day, but I do think we will have a crack.
takeabowtredders
5 Jun 2008, 21:02
whenever were predicted to get thrashed we actually do alright. aka geelong and the hawks this year. but when were considered a chance we put in a poor performance. .
Agreed. This match reeks of upset, remember what happened last Queen's Birthday?
MACDAICOS
5 Jun 2008, 21:08
20 14 - 7 10 :)
#1 Dogs Fan
5 Jun 2008, 21:59
Pies by 47 points
MightyHawks
5 Jun 2008, 22:00
good to see the pies peeking in May/June
PIES_MAGIC
5 Jun 2008, 22:13
hey hawks fellar we are not the one with one loss.
i reckon bring in toovey i reckon he could even get a couple of goals on monday
im with you :thumbsu:
Bomber32
5 Jun 2008, 22:25
Collingwood by 73 points.
I take it you meant choke. You still lost against Melbourne and Geelong so as long as we get the 4 points we will be happy.
Yeah we just couldn't beat those Demons. :o
Karma doesn't exist, kids.
I'm sure the players won't be reading this and thinking "Oh, we don't have to try this weekend" and the other mob won't be thinking "yeah, we can win this now".
Get real!
TheWiseOne
5 Jun 2008, 22:56
Draw
Pie 4 Life
5 Jun 2008, 23:00
So Geelong's premiership win last year shouldn't be counted as a good win because Port just didn't turn up?
Bring-Back-Powell
6 Jun 2008, 00:53
Pies by 61pts.
But the real belting will take place at the DOme on Friday night, between Geelong and North. Geelong by 139pts!
Chaz Pendlebury
6 Jun 2008, 06:07
thats just so easy you wouldn't bother
Agreed although I really want to see the Pies smash them to show they are hungry and kill inferior teams. It is what true threats for the flag do. We have not done it for many a year.
I agree with that, same for my team, I'll be a bit dissapointed, if we dont give the eagles a hiding!
Just like the Hawks peaked in April.
Cara_Cougar #16
6 Jun 2008, 09:41
I honestly reckon that is a very realistic estimate. People are saying "the
190 point record margin is in danger" (Fitzroy d. Melbourne 1979)
We have had this problem for a number of years. Even beating the tiges and freo at the beginning of the year by those margins is better than what we have done in recent years. So the last two weeks have got us all pretty excited.
However Melbourne on QB and then Carlton the following week should be two wins for us and Melbourne should be by quite a margin. But in past years these have been the games we have lost. So if we can get by these two I think we have improved significantly on last year.
Chaz Pendlebury
6 Jun 2008, 10:13
Just like the Hawks peaked in April.
each to their own i guess....
Christ_JM
6 Jun 2008, 10:49
I think that Adelaide along with North Melbourne have the most average playing list in the afl.
The reason they are up there is cos they play to what the coaches ask them to do.
Neil Craig and Dean Laidley are very good coaches.
THey must be if both those teams are in the 8.
Collingwood will probably be a bit flat in this one.
Will take a 2 goal lead into half time, and run out winners by 48.
Shane_Mag
6 Jun 2008, 16:27
67 point win to the pies.
conodie05
6 Jun 2008, 17:15
My friend, that was posted by a staunch Brisbane supporter who is very anti-Pie. What does that tell you? We are the form side at the moment. along with Sydney. Maybe take the blinkers off and realise that for a team to kick 51 goals in 2 games it is a sign.
We WILL lose the unloseable again this year like we always do, but at least we have played top 8 sides this year.
ZachPower
6 Jun 2008, 17:16
I think Melbourne will do good.
WCE smashed yous the week before by 50 points
?¿
thomasleary
7 Jun 2008, 10:20
I agree with the karma post. I'm not going to post a margin. I'll be happy with any win. But, if we lose I will be more angry than I would be with most other losses.
kickingoals
7 Jun 2008, 17:22
pies by 148