View Full Version : Expansion New teams draft strategy
Ok , time for some serious discussion .
You're in charge of recruiting for one of the new teams
Do you -
Keep all of the new recruits to starve the opposition guarenteeing a GF in 5 years .
Keep most of the new recruits and pick a few of the best mature players .
Trade and organise a balanced side to be competitive
Trade most of the new recruits to be successful immediately .
Porps is a star!!
5 Jun 2008, 16:27
Very interesting topic!
I think the key for these clubs is to be competitive from the start as they will need to gain supporters as they go & lets face it noone would want to jump on a team that doesn't win.
If it was me i'd try and get some big names to create some buzz, but have most of your team based around a view to the future.
The other thing is that they will have mainly the same squad for a couple years if they are going to play in the TAC cup (that was in another thread) so by the time it comes to the big time they will have players that are used to playing with each other and also an abundance of top draft picks for the first season so i'd be wanting to use that to bait clubs into handing over some big names, as they will already have 18 year olds that everyone else is chasing so they won't need those picks unless there is a real standout that they want??!! ;)
lloydbraun
5 Jun 2008, 16:53
I think they should try and get good players and avoid getting bad players.
CamWallace16
5 Jun 2008, 16:58
Man there gonna be a great team once the players have matured.
definitely trade, but in a limited way, and certainly not for anyone over 25
your aim is finals year 3 and premiership year 5, so you want a mix of players in their prime at that time.
genghiskhan
5 Jun 2008, 17:12
Do you -
Keep all of the new recruits to starve the opposition guarenteeing a GF in 5 years .
Keep your top ten picks. Trade all other picks for established players.
1) You need mature bodies and experienced heads around the kids
2) Draft picks can be over-rated. Most draft picks turn out to be useless. If you can get a likely 100 game player via a trade for a draft pick above 10, its definitely worthwhile taking it.
I think Port Adelaide used the best model for starting a new team, closely followed by West Coast.
The main problem is that Port and WCE both recruited from the local comp. The players around both these regions are no where near that of the SANFL and WAFL.
So you would need to keep you top 30 picks and trade away the other picks for YOUNG discards. Don't recruit anyone over the age of 26.
AngelEyes
5 Jun 2008, 17:35
I would draft the best available for the years when they are playing TAC Cup and just try get some home grown talent. Home grown talent is important for the new team in gaining respect. You don't want to be like the Melbourne Storm and 6 or 7 of Queensland's State of Origin starting side being Storm players. It ruins the credibility of the product. People want their team and players.
I would in the trading period/draft the season before the come in go after experienced Key Position Players - whether old or young. Key position players take longer to develop and this team needs success as soon as possible. Its alot easier to get a decent young midfielder early on. I would definitely go after Reiwoldt and Buddy Franklin. I would want the following senior players: two quality key forwards, two quality key backs, two midfielders and a quality ruckman (even if old) to base my side around. Once you have that core, you can slot alot of players around that alot more easily. I would not compromise that these players would come via the uncontracted player selections.
Use draft picks and trades to get anything else. A couple of rejects that do okay, a couple of high draft pick kids, a couple of zoned players from the previous few years and the side looks at least competitive.
Bonuspoints
5 Jun 2008, 18:58
Agree that local players are critical to winning over the people of the GC. Ideally you'd have a couple of players worthy of being a top ten pick in the draft and lure some experienced ones back. Even if they've only been in the system for a couple of years they'd be worth chasing. So lets say you're targeting Riewoldt, Armitage, Tippet, Urquhart, etc.
You're probably right on the talls as a draft priority. But I really think they should look at small forwards that have that "freak" about them. I'm looking at the Collingwood freak forwards and the excitement they generate. They really get the fans excited and these sort of players pull people through the gate. Ideally you'd have a high flying forward, but given the spekky is a bit of a rarity these days its probably easier to go for freakish small forwards.
Mature player targets should be guys that have a good five years left in them. I'm surprised that Cornes got thrown in the mix as I woulda thought he'd be too old. You want a player that can lead a young group and be a part of the future. Going after superstars is probably unrealistic So I would looking at blokes that are good solid players that aren't quiet superstars, but aren't too far off being one. Guys that might be superstars if they didn't play in a team with a number of superstars. You're more likely to lure them up with increased wages that are on the superstar level. Chance Bateman, Priddis, Joel Corey, etc are the sort of guys I have in mind.
I really think the Gold Coast is going to need to get a heap of kids, some experienced afl players but they may need to supplement their list for the short term with the absolute cream of state league footy, great opportunity to recruit 4-8 guys between the ages of 21 and 28 to supplement the depth required in a team. For example if it was happening next year the gold coast could target
C.Alleway- Recent best on ground for SA against Vic
P.Shelton-Reigning Coburg Best and Fairest
B.Backwell- Liston Medal Winner and one of the absolute elite SANFL Players
S.Kenna- Sa and vic representative
These are just some names, but these blokes that are mature bodied would be better to play as your 19, 20, 21 and 22 player than having a team of kids. They would also relish the opportunity
philhawk
5 Jun 2008, 23:27
Under no circumstances should the club trade for 'marquee' players in its first few years.
Why?
Because it's putting too much onus on one player to come good and carry the weight of expectations for the new team.
What happens if he gets injured and misses half of the year?
Instead, go for youth, youth, youth.
The new team is going to have a stack of top ten draft picks anyway - and even if most of them turn out duds, you will get that couple of picks that turn into genuine superstars.
Then after a few years in the competition, if need be, trade for established players.
Porps is a star!!
6 Jun 2008, 09:17
On the Today show this morning they were going through the top sports articles from the papers & the Herald Sun had an article which said that the new GC team would offer some of the kids up to 100k per year to try and secure them!!!
Under no circumstances should the club trade for 'marquee' players in its first few years.
Why?
A quality player loses his effectiveness if the ball is not delivered in a quality
manner or the midfield can't deliver at all. Maybe a quality defender is always worthwhile for a startup club through to premiership .
Another option i could have put as someonesuggested is -
"buy back the farm " -trading for established QLD/NSW players .
Capitalist
6 Jun 2008, 12:45
Why?
Because it's putting too much onus on one player to come good and carry the weight of expectations for the new team.
What happens if he gets injured and misses half of the year?
Instead, go for youth, youth, youth.
The new team is going to have a stack of top ten draft picks anyway - and even if most of them turn out duds, you will get that couple of picks that turn into genuine superstars.
Then after a few years in the competition, if need be, trade for established players.
I think your right Phil, however you would think that the club would go after atleast 1 "high profile" player
not just for the on field stuff but for the off field stuff which is going to be massively important for the
new club up their.
They need players like Aka, Fev Crawford, Matthews (the coach) Paul Roos or Mark Roo over here in SA, someone that is either
charasmatic or appeals to the locals and draws them to the games despite the results.
In Victoria they do this with "selling the dream" of high draft picks and young players- and despite it not working
well it still draws the crowds and gives them someting to dream about.
I don't think that is going to work in the Gold coast because there is not that established group of
supporters that can remember the good times - because there are none...
The early sucess of the GC is important, which is why the AFL are giving them the concessions, they will be
able to get a "team" of youngsters hopefully majority born and bred QLders and the odd NT player and then bring in a couple
of marquee players to help sell the dream. I also hope they get some PNG players to add to the gimmick.
philhawk
6 Jun 2008, 12:54
I think your right Phil, however you would think that the club would go after atleast 1 "high profile" player
not just for the on field stuff but for the off field stuff which is going to be massively important for the
new club up their.
They need players like Aka, Fev Crawford, Matthews (the coach) Paul Roos or Mark Roo over here in SA, someone that is either
charasmatic or appeals to the locals and draws them to the games despite the results.
In Victoria they do this with "selling the dream" of high draft picks and young players- and despite it not working
well it still draws the crowds and gives them someting to dream about.
I don't think that is going to work in the Gold coast because there is not that established group of
supporters that can remember the good times - because there are none...
The early sucess of the GC is important, which is why the AFL are giving them the concessions, they will be
able to get a "team" of youngsters hopefully majority born and bred QLders and the odd NT player and then bring in a couple
of marquee players to help sell the dream. I also hope they get some PNG players to add to the gimmick.
Very true.
On that note, I know it may seem impossible, but it wouldn't suprise me if Natanui was headhunted to be the marquee player for the new club.
Why impossible ?
Is he aviaiable next draft and GC not ?
He would be ideal an ideal pick .
Capitalist
6 Jun 2008, 13:05
Very true.
woudn't suprise me either however it maybe seen by other clubs as too interfering considering what the GC are already getting.
Bonuspoints
6 Jun 2008, 21:31
I really think Sheeds or Voss are the ideal coaches. Both have a great profile and an ability to connect with fans. Sheeds has a massive footy profile and brings cred and lets face it - he's the promotion king. No one can sell a club like sheeds and his media skills are almost peerless. I think a coach like Sheeds buys the playing list time as he can be the face of the club and take the pressure from the players.
Voss appears to have the job locked up and he'll do well at connecting with the locals being a QLD footy hero/champion. He's also been in the media for a few years now so his skills are improving. He's got the profile to be the face of the club in QLD, but I don't think he can match sheeds.
Agree that the focus should be on using the picks to build the side with the goal of 3-5 years of development. But its hard to say just go for picks. I reckon its worth looking at trading picks to get high quality young players who are not older than 25 years, but I would not trade the first five picks you have. Whether those picks are 1-5 or 2,4,6,8,10 you keep them. If you look at some of the trades this year there have been some good success stories. Hudson and Matner have been top notch for their respective clubs and neither is a household name so I reckon that they should be looking at players at that level who they can pick up while holding onto their high picks.
stmookeyj
7 Jun 2008, 00:16
First up I would make sure that the key elements of the side are in place. Ideally experienced players would be necessary.
THE KEY ELEMENTS ARE:
- 2 reliable key defenders
- A Centre Half Forward
- Ball winning inside mid
- quality mature ruckman
- Playmaking half-back type.
Now in getting these players, if a new side has Pick 1 then under NO circumstances should they even consider trading it unless J.Brown AND G.Ablett were offered for it. Should they have 5 picks in the first 10, then use say a mid top 10 pick as a hook to secure the quality midfielder. Use later picks if need be to get some top-ups with the AFL experience who would do a job for the team rather than picking them for the sake of picking a wise head, or else use what Scott Clayton does and take the best available.
1. Dont draft according your game style but draft the best available and develop a game style according to your picks.
2. Go best available with high draft picks.
3. Dont trade top 10 picks.
4. Go for workmanlike uncontacted players.
5. Only Trade for players who have a least 5 years in them and not superstars. Develop the superstars from the draft picks.
6. Get some cheap mature players with preseason and late.
7. Take some risks with delist players eg Rodan, Bradley with late picks
Capitalist
10 Jun 2008, 16:23
1. Dont draft according your game style but draft the best available and develop a game style according to your picks.
2. Go best available with high draft picks.
3. Dont trade top 10 picks.
4. Go for workmanlike uncontacted players.
5. Only Trade for players who have a least 5 years in them and not superstars. Develop the superstars from the draft picks.
6. Get some cheap mature players with preseason and late.
7. Take some risks with delist players eg Rodan, Bradley with late picks
6 and 7 will be the key
Jason Torney Ian Perrie and Matty Bode would be great examples from Adelaide
well torney is the best, would have served the club well over the next 1-2 years whilst they are developing and would have moved on without problem.
The Maleman
13 Jun 2008, 11:21
I really think the Gold Coast is going to need to get a heap of kids, some experienced afl players but they may need to supplement their list for the short term with the absolute cream of state league footy, great opportunity to recruit 4-8 guys between the ages of 21 and 28 to supplement the depth required in a team. For example if it was happening next year the gold coast could target
C.Alleway- Recent best on ground for SA against Vic
P.Shelton-Reigning Coburg Best and Fairest
B.Backwell- Liston Medal Winner and one of the absolute elite SANFL Players
S.Kenna- Sa and vic representative
These are just some names, but these blokes that are mature bodied would be better to play as your 19, 20, 21 and 22 player than having a team of kids. They would also relish the opportunity
Your kidding mate - these two blokes were average at best for Carlton in the early to mid 2000's. Kenna is no taller than 168cm & battled really badly at Calrton after playing for Box Hill & up in Queensland.
Keep all the kids, get 2 big name players (preferably key position/ruck) & let them go from there. Realistically its similar ot the plan that Carlton is following right now.............but I suppose that is yet to be proven as a winning formula!
philhawk
13 Jun 2008, 13:09
Keep all the kids, get 2 big name players (preferably key position/ruck) & let them go from there. Realistically its similar ot the plan that Carlton is following right now.............but I suppose that is yet to be proven as a winning formula!
The problem is, I doubt GC fans would be willing to go throgh 4 years of pain like Carlton have gone through.
It's another code, but the GC17 team should look at what the Titans have done, both on and off the field.
Not only have they got a wonderful stadium and training facility, but their performances this year (in only their second year), have been terrific for a 'new' club.
I guess it's a different system in League, but early success WILL be vital for the new club.
It's another code, but the GC17 team should look at what the Titans have done, both on and off the field.
Not only have they got a wonderful stadium and training facility, but their performances this year (in only their second year), have been terrific for a 'new' club.
I guess it's a different system in League, but early success WILL be vital for the new club.
And wtf are you bringing it up for ?
This was a straight forward football question .
Had nothing to do with any other codes what so ever .
Now you go in that direction and yet another thread is open
to be hijacked by rl trolls and you're a mod :(
You're suppopsed to be reducing the incidence of trolling
not increasing the likelyhood .
If you're going to make comparisons shouldn't an AFL side in a similar postion be the obvious choice ? Why not not make with a comparison with Mc Donalds
They're hiring staff too .have competition too in new areas expanding ....
If you cannot bring anything useful other than Buddy is god to the thread
then go and see Buddy .
philhawk
14 Jun 2008, 00:03
And wtf are you bringing it up for ?
This was a straight forward football question .
Had nothing to do with any other codes what so ever .
Try again.
The Gold Coast is a new market for all sporting codes, with 3 new codes putting teams up there in the past couple of years.
The AFL is trying to get a majority of the pie in this region, so how is it not relevant to compare them to other codes that have been successful in the region? :rolleyes:
Now you go in that direction and yet another thread is open
to be hijacked by rl trolls and you're a mod :(
You're suppopsed to be reducing the incidence of trolling
not increasing the likelyhood .
Again, your insecurity is bordering on manical. It's a comparison - there's no need to get so wound up about it. Either that or it's just bad monthy timing.
If you're going to make comparisons shouldn't an AFL side in a similar postion be the obvious choice ?
Point me to an AFL team who was recently in the past couple of years put in a non-AFL state and i'll be happy to compare them to the GC17 team.
... wait.
Why not not make with a comparison with Mc Donalds
They're hiring staff too .have competition too in new areas expanding ....
Do you even realise how idiotic that sounds?
If you cannot bring anything useful other than Buddy is god to the thread
then go and see Buddy .
http://img183.imageshack.us/img183/7573/wtfcatjpgw300h371heottjqx8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Come again?
You're losing it, champ.
Try again.
No , you try again , It's very , very simple
thread is about drafting what type of player .
Do you -
About being mindful of success is already an option .