View Full Version : Selected team vs Adelaide. (Warning: Take a deep breath)

Pages : [1] 2

PHX
5 Jun 2008, 18:06
B: Jake King, Will Thursfield, Chris Newman
HB: Jordan McMahon, Graham Polak, Kelvin Moore
C: Matthew Richardson, Shane Tuck, Matt White
HF: Kayne Pettifer, Joel Bowden, Richard Tambling
F: Shane Edwards, Jay Schulz, Nathan Brown
Foll: Troy Simmonds, Brett Deledio, Nathan Foley
I/C: Trent Cotchin, Greg Tivendale, Adam Pattison, Luke McGuane
EMG: Mitch Morton, Jack Riewoldt, Daniel Connors
In: Graham Polak, Luke McGuane, Greg Tivendale
Out: Kane Johnson (knee), Jack Riewoldt, Chris Hyde

The warning clearly because this is going to become a Tivendale thread. :D :cool:

Meh its ok, good to see McGuane back in the team. Now I just want Morton back. :(

nugget_12
5 Jun 2008, 18:09
swap polak and schulz and im happy with the line up!

Wally Matera
5 Jun 2008, 18:10
Swapping one dud with another... ahhh... the RFC... continuing to baulk the tough issues.

Its like me re-hiring a useless twat that l made redundant only 2 weeks ago. :rolleyes:

I'd be fired if l did that.

Magic17
5 Jun 2008, 18:10
Good to see McGuane & Polak back particularly.

Tivers has earned a recall through good performances at Coburg.

Jack deserved to have been dropped after two poor performances. Given very little up front and is clearly not yet ready to play as a key forward.

Overall I am pretty happy but would ideally liked to have seen Polo, Collins or Connors in.

peejay
5 Jun 2008, 18:14
Ok,

I would say we have seen Chris Hyde play his last game for the yellow and Blacks. Tivendale was always going to come in but will surely now be on his last chance although Adelaide is th etype of team he could well against (not very physical).

Unlike almost everyone else i this board i was disapointed in Riewoldt's game last week and am not surprised to see him at the Burgers. Mcguane is a good in but with Burton not playing him and Polak both in look a little top heavy.

Showers and 14 might suggest Mitch might come in on the day for one of them or maybe Connors for Mcguane.

Final note - we now have Tiv's Bowden and petts in the team.

cormick
5 Jun 2008, 18:15
would have given riewoldt one more shot, but he probably deserved to be dropped. Good to see Polak in...not cos i like him, but he may as well be in the side all year to a) give u some height,
and b) see if hes any good as so as to hold onto him next year.

Good to see Schulz at FF.
And Tivendale deserves his spot...been in coburgs best just about all season.

Tivers
5 Jun 2008, 18:15
Tivers......................!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :thumbsu::)

cormick
5 Jun 2008, 18:18
Tivers......................!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :thumbsu::)
good to see im not the only fan :).
Btw...whos the new Man City manager?

RichosGuns
5 Jun 2008, 18:19
Smart team:thumbsu:

I'm not going to bash Tivdendale. He was put into the ressies and pretty much would have been told he wasn't going to get a game all year and then he played so well the the coach couldn't ignore him anymore. It's probably not going to help the future of our team, but it does reward effort. :thumbsu:

Hyde has been ordinary the last few weeks and had to come out. Jack Riewoldt is a bit of a suprise out, but against Adealide's tall backline, it might be a smart move. He also needs a bit more confidence after that Saints miss. I'm guess they will probably play Polak out of the square.

I would have liked to see Polo in the side for maybe White/Edwards/Tuck/McMuffin but hopefully he will continue to press for selection. Good to see Conners named as an emergency aswell.

Morton did SFA in the VFL 2 weeks ago and didn't deserve a call up, although he was probably still to be dropped for Pettifer in the first place

Great to see McGuane back in team as he never should have been dropped in the first place.

However, bringing in 2 talls and 1 small, for 2 smalls and 1 tall might suggests Morton or Conners comes in for McGuane. Because with Thursty, Schultz, McGuane all playing back, we look pretty tall. Should mean Moore won't have to play above his weight level again

29-little-CHAMP
5 Jun 2008, 18:24

The warning clearly because this is going to become a Tivendale thread. :D :cool:

Meh its ok, good to see McGuane back in the team. Now I just want Morton back. :(

Well I will be there on at the game anyway ....... We need to change.
Tivendale ....... been running around a second level comp and playing ok footy. WOOOOOOOOOOW

I know, why not trade Polo , Connors and Jackson to the Gold Coast .... & Keep Pettifer ... Tivendale and Tuck for our next crack at the 8 .

Is this a Terry call or a Miller call . :mad:

Ok we might win and I said might win ..........wheres the future ?

and dont say Tivendale an older bigger body ...... never seen him get a hard ball yet.

RichosGuns
5 Jun 2008, 18:24

Agree that Hyde won't play another game for the RFC

Not too many changes to the round 1 team really then is there?

Off the top of my head:
Out: Raines, Johnson (injured), Jackson, Hughes, Howatt

In: White, Edwards, McGuane, Cotchin ????

More then I thought actually

Tivers
5 Jun 2008, 18:26
Btw...whos the new Man City manager?Mark Hughes ex rovers manager.
Huge coup........ Giddey Up !!!

lookkg386
5 Jun 2008, 18:28
I tell you what concerns me about Adelaide is there backline, they just run it out so well, I really felt that blokes like Jack and Morton would be the ones that could run with Johncock, Bock, Bassett and co, Our forward line seems a touch slow with Schulz.

Bojangles17
5 Jun 2008, 18:29
not that suprised actually, he'd been dominating at coburg

Wally07
5 Jun 2008, 18:36
Seems a bit backward that team selection.

tugga
5 Jun 2008, 18:36
Btw...whos the new Man City manager?
Mark Hughes.
Jack is stiff to be dropped. Edwards was given more chances than him.
Bowden, Petts and Tivendale in the same team. We haven't learned much have we?

Goldust
5 Jun 2008, 18:38
I tell you what concerns me about Adelaide is there backline, they just run it out so well, I really felt that blokes like Jack and Morton would be the ones that could run with Johncock, Bock, Bassett and co, Our forward line seems a touch slow with Schulz.

:DCan't see the likes of Johncock, Bock, Bassett etc. running too freely out of defence....not with the pressure and hard-running applied by Petts and Bowden.
Their defensive pressure is legendary!

bloodiedtiger
5 Jun 2008, 18:39
oh my god

wallace is delusional and now in panic state

krustyman
5 Jun 2008, 18:44
White and edwards were lucky, the backline is still a worry with king, moore, and jordy being so loose, they need to pull there socks up and concentrate on stopping their opponent.

richoatthedisco
5 Jun 2008, 18:47
Schulz is a better runner than 'up-and-down-in-the-one-spot' Jack. I'm with Peej, JR deserved to be dropped. Has done SFA for weeks now.

RichosGuns
5 Jun 2008, 18:48
Looking at the team, I would say that there would almost defiantly be a late change, probably Polak, Patto or McGuane

Look at all our talls:
Rucks: Simmo, Patto
Backs: McGuane, Thursty, Schultz, Moore, Bowden
Fowards: Richo, Polak

Pretty top heavy :o

Coughlan
5 Jun 2008, 18:58
Connors will be in if it rains at predicted

astro_toby
5 Jun 2008, 18:59
glad to see that wallace isn't as short sighted as most of you - and dropped 3 players who were probably the three worst players over the past 2 weeks, and not the scapegoats pettifer and bowden:thumbsu:

RichosGuns
5 Jun 2008, 19:02
For Adelaide, Burton and Griffen are out, McKreggor and Jericho are in.

For this reason I wouldn't be suprised if Pattison is dropped. The Crows are going into match with one ruckman (maric) and one foward/ruckman (tippet)

However we were killed in the ruck against the cats in which we didn't play patto. Patto would also be pretty useful against Marich who is only 198cm and Tippet who is an inexpirenced ruckman

Top_4_Tiger
5 Jun 2008, 19:13
I almost think that Terry is tanking.

Wally Matera
5 Jun 2008, 19:14
glad to see that wallace isn't as short sighted as most of you - and dropped 3 players who were probably the three worst players over the past 2 weeks, and not the scapegoats pettifer and bowden:thumbsu:

Not worried about the Outs... its the Ins mate. Picking Tivvo is short-sighted, not matter how much you dress it up. :thumbsd:

UpTheGuts
5 Jun 2008, 19:17
I like Tivendale and hope he does well.

Last year for him, but he's still a better run and carry and kick player than most and we're more of a chance to win with him in the side than if Hyde was there.

paolo
5 Jun 2008, 19:19
where the value of dropping jack he needs to be played especially against good teams like adelaide

NQTIGER
5 Jun 2008, 19:19

Dont worry about their backline.....pettifer will provide so much pressure they will burst

Tivers
5 Jun 2008, 19:21
T...T...Tivers........................!!! :thumbsu::)

peggles
5 Jun 2008, 19:23
ok with the team...tho.....naturally wouldn't like to see tivendale back with the team...
sure..he had a few good weeks with coburg getting alot of stats etc but against a well drilled team like adelaide..that's when we know tivendale's disposal falls apart..when the pressure is on....big difference between that and the VFL....getting tivendale in will achieve nothign for us

hence i'd like to see a late change connors in for tivendale...

jeff99_Au
5 Jun 2008, 19:24
TIVVA has play very well in the 2nds an should be recalled.
well done

the changes are good but i wouldn't be surpised if either polak or Mcguane go out looks like rain an without burton playing we are a little tall for i think. maybe morton to come in.

the only out that will hurt in johnson it was a forced one but the rest of the midfield will need to step up he is a good leader.

astro_toby
5 Jun 2008, 19:29
Not worried about the Outs... its the Ins mate. Picking Tivvo is short-sighted, not matter how much you dress it up. :thumbsd:

i guess with johnson, cogs, raines and JON out - there were not many other options. connors, polo and collins need to realise that they actually have to start performing better than tiva to get a spot - tivva has been in the best for coburg nearly every game he has played this season - marshalling the midfield, and kicking goals.

i think they (the selectors) see that with johnson gone, they will sorely lack a mature and experienced head and body in the middle - and tivva is by far the best option to replace him. i tend to agree. this is a very winnable game for us if we can get the right balance in the middle - and as IDGAF has stated in a previous thread - our run is extrememly good after this week.

if we were ever going to get a run on and give these kids the feeling and confidence that they are part of a team which can push for finals - a win this week is of absolute importance.

like it or not (much like petts in the Bombers game ) - tivva will be very useful in getting a win this week - more so than connor and polo

Realistic Tiger
5 Jun 2008, 19:29
Don't mind the side this week and can see why TW has gone the way he has at the selection table. This is a game where we have a decent chance of winning considering the Crows have not played that well outside of SA this year and their last 2 weeks in particular have been rather ordinary.

I believe the reason Wallace has picked the team he has is simply because this is the game that will either keep us alive in the race for the finals or kill our season off. Win this and we're suddenly only 1 game out of the 8 with a string of very winnable game to come: Melbourne, Carlton, WC, Essendon and Brisbane.

However, if we lose this the season is dead. We'll be 2 games out and would need to then beat either, the Cats, Hawks or Crows in SA to make up the difference. So while some believe this is a short sighted option that TW has taken, I believe otherwise and think he has gone this way intentionally. Also, don't forget that TW will turn to the kids when he knows our season is shot, like he did to a degree last year before the Cats game.

So thats it, Saturday 7th June is season on the line time and if we don't stand up then expect to see the kids being given plenty of game time in the next few weeks.

Ancient Tiger
5 Jun 2008, 19:34
I can't stand this "rewarding players in the twos who are doing well" business!

These are the same players that have let us down consistently for 8-10 years! They are often good against weak opposition (and that is why they do well at Coburg) and have shown time and time again, that they do not have what it takes against good opposition.

Their role should now be to tutor the youngsters coming through in the twos. Not taking up their spots in the seniors.

I want us to be bold and pick players who we think will become good with more experience under their belts. I don't think that Roughhead or Franklin or Lewis ever dominated at Box Hill. They were put into the seniors and continually played there untill their experience level meant that they stopped getting flogged (2004-2006) and started flogging other teams (2007-2008). That is the way you do it.

No more Tivendale.
No more Bowden.
No more Pettifer.
No more Johnson.
No more Tuck.
No more Hyde.

None of these palyers will hold up a premiership cup for us, so what is the point of playing them in the seniors taking up valuable space in our team.

How many times can I go and see insipid performances from the same group of individuals? Play the kids. I don't care if they get flogged. If they are good kids, they will start flogging others in a year or two. I can live with that!

telsor
5 Jun 2008, 19:35
Considering the form he's shown in the 2's, not selecting Tiv would have sent the wrong message.

Play the best we have, and make the kids earn their spots rather than giving them a game because of their age.

Richmond FC
5 Jun 2008, 19:38
I think we need to ease up on Pettifer some people have gone nuts that he is back in the side. He has been in our top 10 the last 2 weeks without doubt and top 5 last week for sure. Tivendale on form deserves a go but in the scheme of things he doesnt and we cant continue to play him for mine. He need to have 20 touches and kicked 2 goals to keep his spot imo and still the pressure will be on after that.

AGRESSION
5 Jun 2008, 19:56
What do you think ?
Any chance McGuane and Polak have spent the last 2 weeks practising set shots ? Maybe, just maybe they will be trying McGuane and Polak up forward, rotating with Schulz through CHB to try and mix it up a bit.

Kyusss
5 Jun 2008, 20:05

I think morts will play

paolo
5 Jun 2008, 20:17
[quote=Ancient Tiger;11267364]I can't stand this "rewarding players in the twos who are doing well" business!

These are the same players that have let us down consistently for 8-10 years! They are often good against weak opposition (and that is why they do well at Coburg) and have shown time and time again, that they do not have what it takes against good opposition.

Their role should now be to tutor the youngsters coming through in the twos. Not taking up their spots in the seniors.

I want us to be bold and pick players who we think will become good with more experience under their belts. I don't think that Roughhead or Franklin or Lewis ever dominated at Box Hill. They were put into the seniors and continually played there untill their experience level meant that they stopped getting flogged (2004-2006) and started flogging other teams (2007-2008). That is the way you do it.

No more Tivendale.
No more Bowden.
No more Pettifer.
No more Johnson.
No more Tuck.
No more Hyde.

None of these palyers will hold up a premiership cup for us, so what is the point of playing them in the seniors taking up valuable space in our team.

How many times can I go and see insipid performances from the same group of individuals? Play the kids. I don't care if they get flogged. If they are good kids, they will start flogging others in a year or two. I can live with that

my sentiments exactly if you have a youth policy you stick to it just like hawthorn did dont go dropping blokes because of 2 bad games

boodsyboy
5 Jun 2008, 20:32
:DCan't see the likes of Johncock, Bock, Bassett etc. running too freely out of defence....not with the pressure and hard-running applied by Petts and Bowden.
Their defensive pressure is legendary!
yer they will show go girls:D

YellowandBlackBlood
5 Jun 2008, 20:32

No more Tivendale.
No more Bowden.
No more Pettifer.
No more Johnson.
No more Tuck.
No more Hyde.

How many times can I go and see insipid performances from the same group of individuals? Play the kids. I don't care if they get flogged. If they are good kids, they will start flogging others in a year or two. I can live with that!

Exactly AT!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Rewarding games in the seconds should only be for the younger blokes. The Richmond Football Club has to, at some stage, realize, that it must start picking a side that will challenge for a cup in two to four years time. That means players that have shown repeatedly that they cannot raise themselves to the next level often enough over a period of greater than 5 or 6 years either make up numbers in the magoos (as insurance to many injuries) or are altogether dropped from the club list.

We have finished LAST TW, not just out of contention, but a long way behind. We require major surgery. Not cosmetic surgery. Stop playing not so good ordinary players! Play the kids and see what they have got!

chrisjie
5 Jun 2008, 20:39
Exactly AT!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Rewarding games in the seconds should only be for the younger blokes. The Richmond Football Club has to, at some stage, realize, that it must start picking a side that will challenge for a cup in two to four years time. That means players that have shown repeatedly that they cannot raise themselves to the next level often enough over a period of greater than 5 or 6 years either make up numbers in the magoos (as insurance to many injuries) or are altogether dropped from the club list.

We have finished LAST TW, not just out of contention, but a long way behind. We require major surgery. Not cosmetic surgery. Stop playing not so good ordinary players! Play the kids and see what they have got!

I think playing Schultz instead of Reiwoldt is potentially shopping Schultz to Adelaide before the end of the season. They would be a seriously interested in him me thinks.

richcogs
5 Jun 2008, 20:41
Looking at the team, I would say that there would almost defiantly be a late change, probably Polak, Patto or McGuane

Look at all our talls:
Rucks: Simmo, Patto
Backs: McGuane, Thursty, Schultz, Moore, Bowden
Fowards: Richo, Polak

Pretty top heavy :o

Moore and Bowden aren't really talls, they can both play small.

t_bond_legend
5 Jun 2008, 20:50
Kane Johnson's been in career-best form. You can't drop ALL the senior players. He's the captain and he's shown his poise and leadership on the field; that's what counts.

Shane Tuck's not too bad. He's having an average year, yes, but he goes hard at the ball and does it week in, week out.

Pettifer just came off 2 really good games coming back into the side.

Joel Bowden's played some solid footy up forward in a new position and he's doing what the team needs him to do.

Tivendale's been one of the better kicks at the club and can run and carry the ball and deliver it with accuracy.

Most of you are saying 'play the kids, give them a shot' and I think it's pretty evident that the kids ARE been given a shot. Kids like Cotchin, Edwards, Riewoldt, King, Thursfield, White - they've ALL been given shots.

It's a crunch game for Richmond this Saturday and Terry Wallace wants to swing some momentum back their way after Sydney thrashed them and that means by picking the best team.

Jack Riewoldt's been in poor form so he deserves to get dropped. If Greg Tivendale has been best for Coburg in basically all of his matches, then I reckon it's fair that he gets a game.

King's been down on form this year as compared to last year but he gives the defence some attack and run.

Anyways, on that note, I'll leave it here.

Go Tigers '08 and Brett Deledio's a freak.

tugga
5 Jun 2008, 20:58
ok with the team...tho.....naturally wouldn't like to see tivendale back with the team...
sure..he had a few good weeks with coburg getting alot of stats etc but against a well drilled team like adelaide..that's when we know tivendale's disposal falls apart..when the pressure is on....big difference between that and the VFL....getting tivendale in will achieve nothign for us

hence i'd like to see a late change connors in for tivendale...
Stick around here. You've just nailed it. :thumbsu:

Wallaby
5 Jun 2008, 21:03
Tivendale is in our best 22 ATM - hopefully, he won't be in a year or two, but we have games to win NOW. We can make the finals - but it will take our best team.

JR is coming along nicely - we haven't quite got the balance right yet up forward with the new non-richo structure - Riewoldt will have his ups and downs. I have great faith.

Polak and Bowden are the important guys right now - they are our main forwards and so they have to stand up and produce more. So far they haven't. Pettifer, Edwards and Brown have been OK.

But we're still looking for the post-Richo key forward - we now JR is too young still, Schulz may get another go later, but now Polak has his chance.

YellowandBlackBlood
5 Jun 2008, 21:25
Kane Johnson's been in career-best form. You can't drop ALL the senior players. He's the captain and he's shown his poise and leadership on the field; that's what counts.

Shane Tuck's not too bad. He's having an average year, yes, but he goes hard at the ball and does it week in, week out.

Pettifer just came off 2 really good games coming back into the side.

Joel Bowden's played some solid footy up forward in a new position and he's doing what the team needs him to do.

Tivendale's been one of the better kicks at the club and can run and carry the ball and deliver it with accuracy.

Most of you are saying 'play the kids, give them a shot' and I think it's pretty evident that the kids ARE been given a shot. Kids like Cotchin, Edwards, Riewoldt, King, Thursfield, White - they've ALL been given shots.

It's a crunch game for Richmond this Saturday and Terry Wallace wants to swing some momentum back their way after Sydney thrashed them and that means by picking the best team.

Jack Riewoldt's been in poor form so he deserves to get dropped. If Greg Tivendale has been best for Coburg in basically all of his matches, then I reckon it's fair that he gets a game.

King's been down on form this year as compared to last year but he gives the defence some attack and run.

Anyways, on that note, I'll leave it here.

Go Tigers '08 and Brett Deledio's a freak.

The captain's efficiency is shyte. He turns the ball over or slows forward momentum far too many times.

Tucks not too bad? Yes, but he has not been too good either. Also a turnover specialist.

Pettifer gets many possessions but makes too many wrong decisions with the ball. He is inherently selfish and that will never change. Rarely chases down a man.

Tivendale looks like a good kick but if you look at his efficiency it is very low and he does not have a right foot. That kills us time and time again against good opposition.

I don't care about this year as we are not a legitimate finals threat. We need to be developing all our juniors. That means if we drop a Riewoldt, replace them with another youngster like a Hughes.

I'm looking a the big picture, the long term one, not the short term one you are looking at. Crunch game my ass! Do you seriously think we are good enough to challenge for a flag this year? I unfortunately don't.

78hearts
5 Jun 2008, 21:26
Is there anyone out there who is so deluded that they think bowden, pettifer and tivendale are part of our future?
Yes we were smashed by the bigger bodies of syd HOWEVER it should not then give wallace the supposed right to replace youngsters with these duds.
I am absolutely embarassed and appalled that our emerg list reads Riewoldt, Connors and Morton. We have waited next to three decades for success surely we can give these kids time in the seniors in exchange for some losses like the syd one.
Not just pick has beens and list cloggers to go in to be more competitive against another strong bodied side such as adel.
Add jackson, polo, JON and any other developing player to the list too.
Sure, some or maybe all of these kids wont make it, but we deserve to be the judges of that rather than having to put up with these selection issues of old, underachieveing stains being given one last chance to save their already terrible careers.
The sooner that Greg Miller and TW are given the door the better...these decisions at selection make this exceedingly obvious

Realistic Tiger
5 Jun 2008, 21:40
How about people answer the following questions with a bit of honesty.

Is it worth playing young players in the seniors even if they are out of form and not getting touches?

Is it better to teach the young players that they have to earn a game and then once in the side have to keep performing to hold their position?

or

Is it better to just pick the young kids regardless of form and leave them in the side without having to earn their spots so they can 'learn from the experience'?

If you answer these questions honestly you'll find the reasons why the coaching panel have acted the way they have in recent weeks in terms of dropping the younger players and replacing them with older more experienced players. Hint: it has more to do with the long term future of the list as opposed to the short term vision some of you believe it does.

boodsyboy
5 Jun 2008, 21:42
Ok,

I would say we have seen Chris Hyde play his last game for the yellow and Blacks. Tivendale was always going to come in but will surely now be on his last chance although Adelaide is th etype of team he could well against (not very physical).

Unlike almost everyone else i this board i was disapointed in Riewoldt's game last week and am not surprised to see him at the Burgers. Mcguane is a good in but with Burton not playing him and Polak both in look a little top heavy.

Showers and 14 might suggest Mitch might come in on the day for one of them or maybe Connors for Mcguane.

well time for me to tip the crows oh well i hope i get this tip wrong but with these 3 in the team dont like our chances.

astro_toby
5 Jun 2008, 21:44
:rolleyes:[/B]
well time for me to tip the crows oh well i hope i get this tip wrong but with these 3 in the team dont like our chances.

you're a knob - you have posted two threads in a minute saying "i think we will get flogged, but jeez i hope im wrong":rolleyes:

boodsyboy
5 Jun 2008, 21:53
:rolleyes:

you're a knob - you have posted two threads in a minute saying "i think we will get flogged, but jeez i hope im wrong":rolleyes:
well sorry mr football that you dont like my opinion bud but stiff sh**t.

Tiger08
5 Jun 2008, 22:10
This is a massive game for us and if Terry thinks experienced guys like Polak and Tivendale will get us over the line, I'll back him. If we win this week, the draw flattens out for us and we've got half a chance to sneak back into the eight. It's still early but there would be nothing better for our development than to just sneak into the eight this year, to whet the boys appetite for another big preseason.

For those of you advocating playing the kids and writing off another season for draft picks.. I think we've got enough bloody kids!! One more talented 18 yo midfielder isn't going to make us a great side. If we can't develop the ones we've already got to atleast be a middle of the road, competitive team who might, just, sneak into eight, then we may as well pack up and go home. So, if that means sending JR back to Coburg to slot 5 and get his confidence back, do it....

Don't write the season off because we got smacked around by probably the best drilled, smartest team in the comp playing with a big home ground advantage. .

itsintheblood
5 Jun 2008, 22:19
Everyone just relax. It makes no damn difference who's in or out. The bottom line is we're simply not good enough regardless. Playing finals this year is a pipedream and we'd make fools of ourselves. Sorry to say but for me, the only interest is how low we can finish to get some more quality kids on our list and get rid of some more garbage. Finishing 9-11th is a waste of time.

Wally07
5 Jun 2008, 22:57

No more Tivendale.
No more Bowden.
No more Pettifer.
No more Johnson.
No more Tuck.
No more Hyde.

Great Post. Agree totally. Why do we continue wasting our time with these guys. Yes by playing these guys we may have a better chance of winning this week at the expense of speeding up our rebuild.

Would prefer the board to tell wallace if you play kids for the rest of the year then you are safe, if you play these same hacks then we expect min 10 wins. It is just too short sighted.

Also anyone know why Meyer isnt in the Coburg 1st's. How f*&king long is he going to stay in the seconds for.

polakthetiger
5 Jun 2008, 23:32
Everyone just relax. It makes no damn difference who's in or out. The bottom line is we're simply not good enough regardless. Playing finals this year is a pipedream and we'd make fools of ourselves. Sorry to say but for me, the only interest is how low we can finish to get some more quality kids on our list and get rid of some more garbage. Finishing 9-11th is a waste of time.

Are you suggesting we are likely to get a priority again this year? Because finishing 9th or finishing 14th is not really much of a difference. So you seem to be saying we tank, lose every game from here, and get the priority??

This early in the season and the tankers are setting up shop:thumbsd:

Tiv gets a game on his efforts and pushing his way back into selection contention. I hope he has a good game and snags a couple, regardless of weather he might be delisted in 5 months.

astro_toby
6 Jun 2008, 00:12
Tiv gets a game on his efforts and pushing his way back into selection contention. I hope he has a good game and snags a couple, regardless of weather he might be delisted in 5 months.

i agree.

we all have our :eek: & :confused: &:thumbsu: :rolleyes: & :mad: and etc. about tivva getting back in the side.

at the end of the day, he has really had to work his arse off for well over 5 weeks to earn another go at wearing the yellow sash - he has had to wait for others to get injured or play poorly - he has continued to work his arse off week in week out at VFL level to earn the respect and trust of the coach again - all at 29 years of age - he bite his pride put his head down and arse up and EARNED a game..

i think it will be one of his sweeter moments in his career - cos he fought back against the brink of obscurity and did something many players cannot do at this stage of their careers. he has shown he obvious have pride in his work, and more pride in being an AFL player for the tigers.

good on ya tiv - hope you have a pearler - you have earned it.

no more gaspars, no more sooks:thumbsd:

TigerTroy0055
6 Jun 2008, 00:27
i agree.

we all have our :eek: & :confused: &:thumbsu: :rolleyes: & :mad: and etc. about tivva getting back in the side.

at the end of the day, he has really had to work his arse off for well over 5 weeks to earn another go at wearing the yellow sash - he has had to wait for others to get injured or play poorly - he has continued to work his arse off week in week out at VFL level to earn the respect and trust of the coach again - all at 29 years of age - he bite his pride put his head down and arse up and EARNED a game..

i think it will be one of his sweeter moments in his career - cos he fought back against the brink of obscurity and did something many players cannot do at this stage of their careers. he has shown he obvious have pride in his work, and more pride in being an AFL player for the tigers.

good on ya tiv - hope you have a pearler - you have earned it.

no more gaspars, no more sooks:thumbsd:Well put into context Astro from a pro footballers point of view. I my self think he will not stand up but he keeps earning his spot on 2's form no doubt. I hope he stands up I just want us to win

itsintheblood
6 Jun 2008, 00:40
Are you suggesting we are likely to get a priority again this year? Because finishing 9th or finishing 14th is not really much of a difference. So you seem to be saying we tank, lose every game from here, and get the priority??

This early in the season and the tankers are setting up shop:thumbsd:

We'll win another 3 games and end up in no mans land. Remember, no draft for 2 years after 2009.

BH924
6 Jun 2008, 02:47

No more Tivendale.
No more Bowden.
No more Pettifer.
No more Johnson.
No more Tuck.
No more Hyde.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: u took the words right out of my mouth!!

Roachy8
6 Jun 2008, 09:08
The Riewoldt drop is due.
Though I have liked some of his work this year, (you can tell he has the brain for this game), his simply is not kicking enough goals for someone playing predominantly in the front half.
9 games for 5 goals
2 goals in the last 5 weeks
0 goals in the last 3 weeks

I reckon he has been sent back to the 2's now with some extended big time experience and hopefully been told he has to start kicking bags of goals again.

Polak in is OK but i really want Cleve to come in very soon and be given an extended run like Jack has.
I would be very confident in saying that if Cleve had played 9 games this year like Jack he would have kicked more than 5 goals!

Morton back asap as well please...

froars
6 Jun 2008, 09:28

What has been giving players games who haven't deserved it in the past done for us?
You're kidding aren't you?
Dropping Bowden, was the best thing for this club. It sends a message to players who think they can play lazy like he has for the last couple of years that you have to earn your spot, and we won't put up with that any more.

Best thing they've done in years as far as I'm concerned, whether they're the young ones or seniors. It's the best way to discipline players IMO.

And if it means bringing back the Tivendales in place of a very under-performing Riewoldt so be it. I'm not for giving kids a go one week and dropping the next. But Riewoldt has had a good chance to perform and he's been doing just okay. A spell in the 2s won't hurt him. If he continues the way he is, in two years you'll be begging for Tivendale to come back and saying get rid of Riewoldt lol.

pace to freeze
6 Jun 2008, 09:30
The last 3 weeks is the exact reason the RFC has not been able to progress and build a list good enough to win a flag. The last 3 weeks, the 3 noticeable ins have been Pettifer, Bowden, Tivendale all of which are questionable under pressure and when things aren't going their way. If TW was fair dinkim and was going to show that he was building a premiership side, 3 weeks ago he should have continued on his mission of excluding those that are vunerable under pressure from our senior side McMahon and possibly Hyde. Now where are we ???

Delids
6 Jun 2008, 09:48
Joke of a coach, players & Selection committee.
The coach continues to have a each way bet by playing hacks who have no future for the Richmond Football Club and in the past havent been up to AFL standard!
Coach hasnt got the faith or the skill to promote and develop young talent.
We played our best football with out Petrified, Bowden,& Tivendale.
We need to get 50 games into Jack asap and if it means he isnt playing well for a month big deal We persist with him. Richo is not going to be around forever! If Jack doesnt play you bring in Hughes. We need to see if he can play.

You give young players the opportunity to play when sometimes they dont deserve it or retain there spot if they dont have a good game. You give them a game before someone who is 8 years older than them, that hasnt made it and wil not be there next year. Thats what rebuilding is about. If the kids has got talent you play them.

I am furious to see guys like Connors, Polo Rance play coburg twos and then we have duds like Hyde and Tivendale getting senior games. Disgusted.

When I left the collingwood game I vowed never to return and watch my footy clube while Greg Tivendale is playing seniors for footy club. I am not wasting 5 hours of my day travelling to watch him continually go on his left side, miss targets, miss goals when we need him. I have seen it for years.

And to top it off, again the RFC has an each -way bet. I will be interested to see how Callan Ward plays this week for the Doggies, the talk is all positive on this kid an 18 year old playing seniors in a club that is top 3. We have drafted kids who are playing Coburg twos and cant get a game for a team that has only won 3& half games. Dont forget we traded Jordan MacMahon for this kid.
Just another each way bet, pick up two youngsters in Cotchin and Rance then we trade our PP for Jordan. Too scared to pick up kids and develop them.

We lost by 82 points and then we give Tivers a recall.
Combined this with Jordans inability to hit a target & our future stars that have played coburg twos and the Doggies promoting potentially one of our players =ANother dark day for the footy club.
Lets not forget the only player we traded with any decent trade value was Ottens, but he wanted out it wasnt instigated by us.
Morton should play before Petrified. Petrified should be traded.
I am lost. Shattered.

pace to freeze
6 Jun 2008, 09:58
Rewarding blokes that have played well in reserves football is crap and an embarrassment and evidence of a lack of self confidence from our coaching staff !!! There are players all over the country who are outstanding 2nd grade/reserves/two's players, who once playing with the big boys are sh!t. It's the job of the coaching staff to identify players with the ability to play senior football at the required level, as it is when selecting draftees, ??? maybe that's our club's problem.

froars
6 Jun 2008, 10:06
Bowden won two B&Fs, he's capable of playing senior footy.
Doesn't mean he shouldn't be dropped, and doesn't mean he shouldn't be promoted if he's playing well.
Same for any player on the list.

froars
6 Jun 2008, 10:11
Joke of a coach, players & Selection committee.
The coach continues to have a each way bet by playing hacks who have no future for the Richmond Football Club and in the past havent been up to AFL standard!
Coach hasnt got the faith or the skill to promote and develop young talent.
We played our best football with out Petrified, Bowden,& Tivendale.
We need to get 50 games into Jack asap and if it means he isnt playing well for a month big deal We persist with him. Richo is not going to be around forever! If Jack doesnt play you bring in Hughes. We need to see if he can play.

You give young players the opportunity to play when sometimes they dont deserve it or retain there spot if they dont have a good game. You give them a game before someone who is 8 years older than them, that hasnt made it and wil not be there next year. Thats what rebuilding is about. If the kids has got talent you play them.

I am furious to see guys like Connors, Polo Rance play coburg twos and then we have duds like Hyde and Tivendale getting senior games. Disgusted.

When I left the collingwood game I vowed never to return and watch my footy clube while Greg Tivendale is playing seniors for footy club. I am not wasting 5 hours of my day travelling to watch him continually go on his left side, miss targets, miss goals when we need him. I have seen it for years.

And to top it off, again the RFC has an each -way bet. I will be interested to see how Callan Ward plays this week for the Doggies, the talk is all positive on this kid an 18 year old playing seniors in a club that is top 3. We have drafted kids who are playing Coburg twos and cant get a game for a team that has only won 3& half games. Dont forget we traded Jordan MacMahon for this kid.
Just another each way bet, pick up two youngsters in Cotchin and Rance then we trade our PP for Jordan. Too scared to pick up kids and develop them.

We lost by 82 points and then we give Tivers a recall.
Combined this with Jordans inability to hit a target & our future stars that have played coburg twos and the Doggies promoting potentially one of our players =ANother dark day for the footy club.
Lets not forget the only player we traded with any decent trade value was Ottens, but he wanted out it wasnt instigated by us.
Morton should play before Petrified. Petrified should be traded.
I am lost. Shattered.

What a pathetic post.
We've delisted 35+ players since TW came on board.
What in the hell do you want?
You want to give players who are not playing well games.
And then you'll come on here and say WTF is Wallace on about when we lose.

pace to freeze
6 Jun 2008, 10:19
Bowden won two B&Fs, he's capable of playing senior footy.
Doesn't mean he shouldn't be dropped, and doesn't mean he shouldn't be promoted if he's playing well.
Same for any player on the list.

Has won 2 b & f 's won't win another.

Here's an a thought.

Your in a pub and have two chics wanting to go home with u, one u have taken home before and was the worst shag you've ever had, the other is telling you she's hot in the cot. What would u do ??

:D:D:D

emperor
6 Jun 2008, 10:25

Here's an a thought.

Your in a pub and have two chics wanting to go home with u, one u have taken home before and was the worst shag you've ever had, the other is telling you she's hot in the cot. What would u do ??

don't think that really applies to froars mate;)

but lmao all the same!!:D

froars
6 Jun 2008, 10:45

Here's an a thought.

I would run faster than Deledio.
Err, I'm a girl, dude lol
Sorry, old lady hahaha!

But Riewoldt definitely ain't hot!
Well, not yet.
Going back to Coburg won't hurt him at all.

bigstyletiger
[quote=Wallaby;11268411]Tivendale is in our best 22 ATM - hopefully, he won't be in a year or two, but we have games to win NOW. We can make the finals - but it will take our best team.

JR is coming along nicely - we haven't quite got the balance right yet up forward with the new non-richo structure - Riewoldt will have his ups and downs. I have great faith.

Finals? It would be good but it's not going to happen. 9 wins from the next 12 games would get us there i would think. And i don't think that will happen. Play the kids, get games into them and don't finish 9th!

JR is going to be a quality player but i don't think he will be an out and out key position player. He won't bring the ball to ground in the forward line or split packs. He looks more like a combo between Robert Murhpy and Christ Tarrant. Play him on a flank - get him into the game and don't put the burden of replacing Richo on him. He can use the ball, he has good hands and he doesn't get caught. He would be a good lead up player and I would try him all over the ground. Which Terry did last week by playing him back. Forget finals and think long term. In my 26 years we have only made 2 final series because of short term thinking. I AM OVER IT!

tony_montana
How about people answer the following questions with a bit of honesty.

Is it worth playing young players in the seniors even if they are out of form and not getting touches?

Is it better to teach the young players that they have to earn a game and then once in the side have to keep performing to hold their position?

or

Is it better to just pick the young kids regardless of form and leave them in the side without having to earn their spots so they can 'learn from the experience'?

If you answer these questions honestly you'll find the reasons why the coaching panel have acted the way they have in recent weeks in terms of dropping the younger players and replacing them with older more experienced players. Hint: it has more to do with the long term future of the list as opposed to the short term vision some of you believe it does.

um no...

Look at Hawthorn and brisbane. they played youth even in bad form over and again and are now reaping the rewards while we continue to say earn a game. RUBBISH just get valuable game time into them, we arent a finals team in 08, stop wasting time!

The quicker a young bloke gets to 40-50 games the quicker he settles into the pace of senior agfl footy.

end discussion

CoggaRules
6 Jun 2008, 11:48

believe it or not i like this set up in the FL...now all we need is for Pettifer to make me eat my words..;)

Delids
6 Jun 2008, 12:04
Pathetic post.....
Give players a game who arent playing well...
Well Connors & Morton have been in our emergengy for the last two matches.
Therefore they must be playing well!
So why would you play Tivendale a head of these two guys?
You seem happy in rewarding guys who arent up to playing AFL in front of a kid who is also playing well in the twos and that maybe our future.
As far as delisting - I agree that our list has changed however no Richmond Football Club Supporter can be happy that Chris Hyde & Greg Tivendale are still on our list & playing senior footy after 4 years that Wallet has been in the job.
These two guys should not play senior football this year

sante
6 Jun 2008, 12:28
Tivendale had to be rewarded for his form at Coburg as others have said. This is why those that are bagging the selection prove they have no idea.

Good to see McGuane back unless he is a late withdrawal. Is there a match-up for him though?

Riewoldt was okay against Sydney but he is in the team as a FF and a FF needs to kick goals, he isn't. Polak will be our FF this week up against Rutten though.

froars
6 Jun 2008, 12:34
You give games to kids who don't deserve them and you'll have a team full of Daffys.
Who wants that? Not I.

Shezza
6 Jun 2008, 12:53
Hey lads, long time reader, haven't made many posts.

WHy the hell was Morton dropped in the first place? I am afraid I may have missed why????????

Cheers Boys.

Ancient Tiger
6 Jun 2008, 12:55
You give games to kids who don't deserve them and you'll have a team full of Daffys.
Who wants that? Not I.

How many games did Deledio play in the twos in his first year?:eek:

Just check your facts and let me know.

tony_montana
6 Jun 2008, 13:08
Who wants that? Not I.

or you may just get players who comeon quickly bc they gain confidence that they are rated by the brains trust perfect example Roughead. He was in no way deserving of a spot in the starting 22 in his first 2 years, he averaged something like 5 or 6 possessions, but they persevered and then one day he along with a few of his mates clicked and at 21 is a very prominent part of their side. At Richmond he wouldnt be half the player. You set a goal and focus on it, in their case getting their young guys up to par ASAP and look at them now.

Brisbane did the same and have turned it around quickly blowing us away, while we're still trying to create a new side

froars
6 Jun 2008, 13:16
or you may just get players who comeon quickly bc they gain confidence that they are rated by the brains trust perfect example Roughead. He was in no way deserving of a spot in the starting 22 in his first 2 years, he averaged something like 5 or 6 possessions, but they persevered and then one day he along with a few of his mates clicked and at 21 is a very prominent part of their side. At Richmond he wouldnt be half the player. You set a goal and focus on it, in their case getting their young guys up to par ASAP and look at them now.

Brisbane did the same and have turned it around quickly blowing us away, while we're still trying to create a new side

You don't think giving Riewoldt 8 games so far this year is giving him a go? I think they've given him every chance. They brought Cotchin in after a couple of nice things he did - not match winning stuff, but they're giving him a go. Edwards, White. I saw Connors a couple of weeks ago and thought he was ordinary. Good to see he's got himself up into being being considered. Go through the team again and have a look at the players under 25. I think you'll find they're playing the youth :rolleyes:

tony_montana
6 Jun 2008, 13:36
You don't think giving Riewoldt 8 games so far this year is giving him a go? I think they've given him every chance. They brought Cotchin in after a couple of nice things he did - not match winning stuff, but they're giving him a go. Edwards, White. I saw Connors a couple of weeks ago and thought he was ordinary. Good to see he's got himself up into being being considered. Go through the team again and have a look at the players under 25. I think you'll find they're playing the youth :rolleyes:

and how many are over 30? Too many for where we are at.

when the hawks made the decision on youth they were never going to give holland etc another run and they stuck to that, they kept the kids in there for 20-22 games per season and guess what? nearly all of them have taken the next step together after 40-50 games.

While we play & promote players like tivendale hyde ahead of young competent players like Polo, Connors, we will never be with the likes of hawthorn, brisbane and will continually get left behind.

Reiwoldt hasnt been bad, not as bad as roughead was in plenty of games but they kept him there. Reiwoldt is already too good for the VFL, waste of time for him going back there. Stick it out

Why was McGuane dropped? he was one of our best defenders against geelong and can hold his head up high for his performances.

Tivendale is 29, Polo is 21, FFS Are we going to play finals this year? are we going to be top 4 next year? NO & NO By the time we might tivs will be 31. FFS logic?? :rolleyes:

froars
6 Jun 2008, 13:58
How many games did Deledio play in the twos in his first year?:eek:

Just check your facts and let me know.

He earned those games. We're talking about kids who are developing and getting games without deserving them. What you're talking about, I haven't got a clue :rolleyes:

froars
6 Jun 2008, 14:06
and how many are over 30? Too many for where we are at.

when the hawks made the decision on youth they were never going to give holland etc another run and they stuck to that, they kept the kids in there for 20-22 games per season and guess what? nearly all of them have taken the next step together after 40-50 games.

While we play & promote players like tivendale hyde ahead of young competent players like Polo, Connors, we will never be with the likes of hawthorn, brisbane and will continually get left behind.

Reiwoldt hasnt been bad, not as bad as roughead was in plenty of games but they kept him there. Reiwoldt is already too good for the VFL, waste of time for him going back there. Stick it out

Why was McGuane dropped? he was one of our best defenders against geelong and can hold his head up high for his performances.

Tivendale is 29, Polo is 21, FFS Are we going to play finals this year? are we going to be top 4 next year? NO & NO By the time we might tivs will be 31. FFS logic?? :rolleyes:

Say we do it your way, play all the kids, they get belted every week, what will you be calling for then? Wallace's head and sacking the kids.
Don't tell me people wouldn't. I've been around here far too long to know otherwise. You'd have one dispirited club. You also have to sort out who you're going to get rid of at the end of the year. Remember Rodan. Playing good footy now, but many wanted to get rid of him. You have to give everyone on the list a chance to say I've earned my spot. And if the kids don't make the grade one week, they can still develop at Coburg. Wallace is not going to keep them down there forever if they deserve a spot in the seniors. And he's not a Frawley when kids came in and just sat on the bench, a la Pettifer.

Ancient Tiger
6 Jun 2008, 14:12
He earned those games. We're talking about kids who are developing and getting games without deserving them. What you're talking about, I haven't got a clue :rolleyes:

My recollection is that he didn't play any games in the twos. So how did he earn his spot in the team?

Ancient Tiger
6 Jun 2008, 14:18
Say we do it your way, play all the kids, they get belted every week, what will you be calling for then? Wallace's head and sacking the kids.
Don't tell me people wouldn't. I've been around here far too long to know otherwise. You'd have one dispirited club. You also have to sort out who you're going to get rid of at the end of the year. Remember Rodan. Playing good footy now, but many wanted to get rid of him. You have to give everyone on the list a chance to say I've earned my spot. And if the kids don't make the grade one week, they can still develop at Coburg. Wallace is not going to keep them down there forever if they deserve a spot in the seniors. And he's not a Frawley when kids came in and just sat on the bench, a la Pettifer.

I certainly wouldn't be calling for his head. And I know many tiger supporters who feel the same way as I do. In fact, they sit around me every week at the footy. All I hear is "play the kids", "we don't care if they get smashed as long as they play the kids".

You must be on another planet if you don't hear the same things. People do realize that the suffering then is for a good cause - getting games under the kids belts. The kids will bite back at some stage. The older guys are wearing dentures now and all they can give is a gummy bite!

Mario Speedwagon
6 Jun 2008, 14:41
If players are good enough they're old enough...what do they really learn playing in the magoos with mainly hacks ,has beens & never where's? A whole bunch of bad habits , that's what. Throw 'em in at the deep end I say. Clarkson does it. Malthouse does it. But no , not old Emperor Nero...too busy tuning his fiddle.

Tivers
6 Jun 2008, 14:49
In the case of a last minute change. Which emergency would be more likely to come in - Morton or Reiwoldt ?
(Got one player shy on my dreamteam, so need to make two of Morton, Hawkins or McKinley emergency's, in the hope one comes in to cover my gap).
Am thinking Jack more likely, so may as well go with Hawkins and McKinley. But then again in the mud at the G, changes more likely than at the dome tonight.........?

froars
6 Jun 2008, 16:43
You must be on another planet if you don't hear the same things. People do realize that the suffering then is for a good cause - getting games under the kids belts. The kids will bite back at some stage. The older guys are wearing dentures now and all they can give is a gummy bite!

And you've been here five minutes, it's obvious from that statement. Trying to tell me - the proponent of advocating youth for the last five years on here. Rather amusing.

But to the point, I'll just say one player: Richard Tambling. If you can't remember the amount of threads saying he's a dud, all because Terry played from the outset in the ones. Enough bagging that he suffered psychological problems with the constant comparisons to Buddy Franklin. So I'm afraid people really don't realise at all. There's a lot of weak minded Tiger supporters out there, and when it comes to the crunch, they would care if we were losing every week.

What planet have you been on FFS.

You certainly havne't been on Big Footy lol

froars
6 Jun 2008, 16:49
My recollection is that he didn't play any games in the twos. So how did he earn his spot in the team?

He played well in the pre-season where the youngers are generally tried out :rolleyes:

Not every player is a Deledio if you hadn't noticed.

Mario Speedwagon
6 Jun 2008, 17:01
And you've been here five minutes, it's obvious from that statement. Trying to tell me - the proponent of advocating youth for the last five years on here. Rather amusing.

But to the point, I'll just say one player: Richard Tambling. If you can't remember the amount of threads saying he's a dud, all because Terry played from the outset in the ones. Enough bagging that he suffered psychological problems with the constant comparisons to Buddy Franklin. So I'm afraid people really don't realise at all. There's a lot of weak minded Tiger supporters out there, and when it comes to the crunch, they would care if we were losing every week.

Tambling's problems are , he's been overcoached and people judge him on his draft pick and against a full forward almost literally twice his size....we were never going to pick Franklin with Richo in the side....why would we at that stage have picked another full forward with the same glaring weakness of innaccuracy close to goal? People need to get over it. Franklin would most likely still be up and down like a yo-yo between the seniors and Coburg if he was with us...and probably as result been even more of a dick off field and maybe even delisted by now just for that...if anything Roughhead would've been a better pick-up for us....but not a better one than Deledio.

telsor
6 Jun 2008, 18:14

Thanks for the common sense and logic Froars...all too rare around here.

It's easy to second guess when things are bad and say how it *should* be done, when you wont be held accountable.

Last year we played a lot of kids due to injury to our experienced players, and I somehow doubt those advocating kids 'regardless' now were being hugely supportive of it.

Ancient Tiger
6 Jun 2008, 18:20

Who cares about big footy? I've been going to games since 1965. How long have you?

Tambling is a case in point. I think he has improved markedly this year. Why? Because TW has played him from day 1 in the seniors. I doubt if he would have improved playing at Coburg all this time.

And here is the most important point of all. Leaving our kids play at Coburg for too long does NOT develop them. They get used to the slower pace of the game and eventually cannot step up when they may have been able to earlier on in their development.

I'll say it again. Guys like Tivendale have been tried now for 10 years. If they haven't produced by now, how the hell are they going to change and suddenly become guns. Putting him in the team does nothing when you have Mortons, Casserlys Connors etc who could show considerable improvement if persisted with like Tambling. Show faith in the kids and they more often than not will repay you. You should not wait for them to be BOG at Coburg before they are selected.

You can waste time bragging about how long you have been on BF. Big fu----g deal! It means nothing! Get a life if you think that gives you bragging rights!

froars
6 Jun 2008, 18:21
Thanks for the common sense and logic Froars...all too rare around here.

It's easy to second guess when things are bad and say how it *should* be done, when you wont be held accountable.

Last year we played a lot of kids due to injury to our experienced players, and I somehow doubt those advocating kids 'regardless' now were being hugely supportive of it.

There's also a duty of care issue.
You're sending 17 and 18 year old kids out there with 17 and 18 year old bodies against men.
Sometimes they just need a rest from how full-on footy is.
It won't hurt Riewoldt and if he plays well he'll be back next week refreshed.

Realistic Tiger
6 Jun 2008, 18:30
um no...

Look at Hawthorn and brisbane. they played youth even in bad form over and again and are now reaping the rewards while we continue to say earn a game. RUBBISH just get valuable game time into them, we arent a finals team in 08, stop wasting time!

The quicker a young bloke gets to 40-50 games the quicker he settles into the pace of senior agfl footy.

end discussion
Which Hawk players were played time and again while out of form in the early years? By my count there were 3 Franklin, Lewis and Roughead. All their kids picked since then with the exception of Ellis spend more time in the VFL than our kids do.

Here is a comparison between us and the Hawks:
2004 Picks:
Richmond - Deledio (72), Tambling(63), Meyer(17 injured more often than not), Pattison(44), Polo(26), McGuane(21) & Thursfield(32 missed a season with knee reco)
Hawks - Roughead(68), Franklin (66), Lewis(69), Murphy(18), Little(1), Taylor(58) & Young(54)
Looking at that if not for injuries to players like Meyer and Will the numbers would be very even between these 2 groups in terms of games played.

2005 Picks:
Richmond - JON(7), Hughes(12), Casserly(0), White(26) Graham(2) & Howat(21)
Hawks - Ellis(23), Dowler(3), Birchall(50), Bailey(4 missed a season with knee reco), Muston(0 another knee reco victim this year), Tuck(5), McGlynn(28). Have not included Guerra & Gilham as both had already been drafted previously. Again though not too much difference with the exception of Birchall.

2006 Picks:
Richmond - Riewoldt(15), Edwards(23), Connors(4), Collins(0) & King(29)
Hawks - Thorp(1) Renouf(0), J.Morton(2), Kennedy(2), Moss(1).
So the Hawks just keep putting games into their kids you say. Think this group proves that to be wrong.

The fact of the matter is Wallace plays kids who deserve games through good form and not just because their birthdate was post 1988. So does Clarkson at Hawthorn.

Our problem stems from the fact that players like Jackson, Schulz, Pettifer, Moore, Tuck, Raines, Hyde, Newman & Coughlan, for one reason or another have not developed as well as players like Hodge, Mitchell, Bateman, Sewell, Osborne, Boyle, Ladson Brown, Williams & Campbell have for the Hawks. Only now are some of our players starting to realise their potential and are playing some decent footy but they are starting from a long way back and are trying to make up ground on players who are a mile ahead and are still developing as quick as our player are.

Our time will come but it wont be this year and more likely than not wont be in 2009 either but when it does come it will last for a very long time and we will all be glad that the club went the right way about it this time instead of chasing a quick fix to keep us happy for a little while.

YellowandBlackBlood
6 Jun 2008, 18:52
The difference with the Hawks and Richmond is obvious.

The hawks will play kids if they do not have a good senior option to go to. We do not have good senior options but still select them.

So enough of these smart facts.

Hodge, Mitchell, Croad, and Crawford cannot be compared to Tivendale, Hyde, Tuck and Pettifer. But we still play those guys in place of good junior talent. They don't have to drop their seniors because they are good!

So I agree with AT. And I don't care how long he or I have been on BF!

Bulldog89
6 Jun 2008, 18:59
Well I will be there on at the game anyway ....... We need to change.
Tivendale ....... been running around a second level comp and playing ok footy. WOOOOOOOOOOW

I know, why not trade Polo , Connors and Jackson to the Gold Coast .... & Keep Pettifer ... Tivendale and Tuck for our next crack at the 8 .

Is this a Terry call or a Miller call . :mad:

Ok we might win and I said might win ..........wheres the future ?

and dont say Tivendale an older bigger body ...... never seen him get a hard ball yet.
agree with those comments.let quit baulking at re- building.

Realistic Tiger
6 Jun 2008, 19:17
The difference with the Hawks and Richmond is obvious.

The hawks will play kids if they do not have a good senior option to go to. We do not have good senior options but still select them.

So enough of these smart facts.

Hodge, Mitchell, Croad, and Crawford cannot be compared to Tivendale, Hyde, Tuck and Pettifer. But we still play those guys in place of good junior talent. They don't have to drop their seniors because they are good!

So I agree with AT. And I don't care how long he or I have been on BF!
Hodge Mitchell Croad and Crawford can be compared to our players for the simple fact that our players should be delivering the same for us as those guys are for the Hawks but as I said due to one reason or another they don't.

My post was in response to the claim that the Hawks play their kids no matter what and the figures I posted for the first 3 drafts show that their is little difference between what we have done and what the Hawks have done with their kids.

What seems to be happening here is most of you are overlooking the simple fact that our kids either are not showing the form at lower level that forces Wallace and the selection panel to pick them ahead of players like Bowden, Pettifer, Hyde & Tivendale.

Let me ask you, should we play Riewoldt, Edwards, Hughes, Connors, JON, Graham and co each week simply becasuse they are under 21? OR should these players be expected to force their way into the side through good form and then have to continue to play good footy to keep their spots?

astro_toby
6 Jun 2008, 19:51

on the training track and in the NAB cup and also because we had a terribly unskillful squad - with several delisted - and he was a hughly skilled number one pick - you knob head

cant compare deledio to polo, collin and co - any ____ing fool should see that:rolleyes:

froars
6 Jun 2008, 20:16
[/B]

Who cares about big footy? I've been going to games since 1965. How long have you?

Tambling is a case in point. I think he has improved markedly this year. Why? Because TW has played him from day 1 in the seniors. I doubt if he would have improved playing at Coburg all this time.

And here is the most important point of all. Leaving our kids play at Coburg for too long does NOT develop them. They get used to the slower pace of the game and eventually cannot step up when they may have been able to earlier on in their development.

I'll say it again. Guys like Tivendale have been tried now for 10 years. If they haven't produced by now, how the hell are they going to change and suddenly become guns. Putting him in the team does nothing when you have Mortons, Casserlys Connors etc who could show considerable improvement if persisted with like Tambling. Show faith in the kids and they more often than not will repay you. You should not wait for them to be BOG at Coburg before they are selected.

You can waste time bragging about how long you have been on BF. Big fu----g deal! It means nothing! Get a life if you think that gives you bragging rights!

Real quality post lol.
Been going since '65 myself, so stop your own bragging.
We're talking about shoving kids in the deep end versus developing them. You can still play the kids as much as you want, something I want as well, but they need to be in reasonable form, not just played because they're young. Michael Tuck played a year in the seconds and still managed 400+ games.