View Full Version : SANFL Round 10

Drummond
6 Jun 2008, 01:16
Saturday June 7
Central v South (Elizabeth)

• 2007 draftee Andy Otten will look to continue his stellar form for South. Rookie James Moss’s status is still uncertain but if he lines up it will be in the reserves.

Eagles v Norwood (Woodville) ABC TV

• There will be a host of Crows in action at Woodville Oval. For Norwood Bryce Campbell is named in the centre, promising youngster Kite in the back pocket whilst Walker is named on an extended interchange however is expected to play.

• For the Eagles rookie Jared Petrenko will play his second league game of the season and Trent Hentschel will look to regain further form and fitness.

Monday June 9
Glenelg v Port (Glenelg)

• James Sellar should line-up for Glenelg despite leaving the track early on Wednesday. Rookie Ed Curnow will probably be named in the reserves once again but a recall appears imminent.

Sturt v North (Unley)

• Nick Gill is named at FF for North while Tony Armstrong is once again named on the wing. It’s disappointing that despite his good form he can’t crack a league. He’d want to make his debut before the season is out. Youngster Greg Gallman will continue his comeback trail in the reserves; he's named at FB. For Sturt rookie Brodie Martin will be in action in the reserves.

(West Bye)

Drummond
6 Jun 2008, 01:17
Will be in Melbourne watching the Crows so will miss the Legs. :( Luckily it is the ABC televised game, our first of the season, so that's a bit of good news.

Campbell's Chunky
6 Jun 2008, 01:25
Will be in Melbourne watching the Crows so will miss the Legs. :( Luckily it is the ABC televised game, our first of the season, so that's a bit of good news.
Err, fairly sure its Centrals v South...

Edit: Just checked ABC website. Seems I'm wrong. But I sourced it from here. (http://yourtv.com.au/guide/index.cfm?action=session_info&event_id=22335227&region_id=81&sid=7180217&loc=grid)

cmndstab
6 Jun 2008, 01:31
I'm excited to see how Petrenko, Campbell and Curnow go.

Also crossing my fingers that Sellar has an awesome game :)

crows98
6 Jun 2008, 11:50
Eagles v Norwood (Woodville) ABC TV

• There will be a host of Crows in action at Woodville Oval. For Norwood Bryce Campbell is named in the centre, promising youngster Kite in the back pocket whilst Walker is named on an extended interchange however is expected to play.

Still no Kris Massie?

Didn’t he dropped out of the North Melbourne game (round 7) with a slight twinge and was likely to only miss that week as a precaution not to do anymore damage, I guess he must have torn it and will miss a major amount of footy.

Sturt v North (Unley)

• Nick Gill is named at FF for North while Tony Armstrong is once again named on the wing. It’s disappointing that despite his good form he can’t crack a league. He’d want to make his debut before the season is out. Youngster Greg Gallman will continue his comeback trail in the reserves; he's named at FB. For Sturt rookie Brodie Martin will be in action in the reserves.

(West Bye)

Might pop down to House Brothers Oval on Monday and have a look at this game.

Tails14
6 Jun 2008, 12:04
Texas home in Broken Hill for funeral today as a close family friend knocked off push bike and killed on Tuesday.... will fly back Saturday morning....chance he will play ressies at Norwood and reagin some confidence and form....we are all watching to see the improvement !http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon7.gif

Vic Crow
6 Jun 2008, 12:08
Myke Cook?

IddyBiddy
6 Jun 2008, 12:16
Myke Cook?

Winged Crows suggests he is still out injured.

Drummond
6 Jun 2008, 12:17
Myke Cook?
Retired- hamstring.

Vic Crow
6 Jun 2008, 12:26
Winged Crows suggests he is still out injured.
Ugh. :(

Throughandthrough
6 Jun 2008, 13:10
. Rookie Ed Curnow will probably be named in the reserves once again but a recall appears imminent.

A recall to where?

Vic Crow
6 Jun 2008, 14:03
A recall to where?
I think that's the hockey fan in Drummond coming through. In hockey the term 'recall' means to move from the minors to the big leagues, whether or not the player has played in the NHL before. So recall doesn't necessarily mean 'a return to'.

So that works for hockey (maybe other sports too). Not sure about this context though Drummo. ;) I've never heard it used in this sense for footy.

Drummond
6 Jun 2008, 14:07
I think that's the hockey fan in Drummond coming through. In hockey the term 'recall' means to move from the minors to the big leagues, whether or not the player has played in the NHL before. So recall doesn't necessarily mean 'a return to'.

So that works for hockey (maybe other sports too). Not sure about this context though Drummo. ;) I've never heard it used in this sense for footy.
Spot on mate. It's all hockey right now, haven't stopped smiling for 24 hours. :D

Vic Crow
6 Jun 2008, 15:14
Spot on mate. It's all hockey right now, haven't stopped smiling for 24 hours. :D
____ you. Plain and simple. :p

Capitalist
6 Jun 2008, 15:24
I watched a few NHL games on fox the other day for the first time

a I tell you what, if I had foxtel myself I reckon i'd be into that sport in a big way its awesome

however as with my passion for Rugby League its a "when on TV" thing living in SA

magtrev
6 Jun 2008, 15:40

a I tell you what, if I had foxtel myself I reckon i'd be into that sport in a big way its awesome

however as with my passion for Rugby League its a "when on TV" thing living in SA

It'd be a better spectator sport if you could actually see the puck. Unfortunately hockey games get most of their interest from goons in badly choreographed fights.

MickyCrow
6 Jun 2008, 21:13

Pfft... never mind when on tv http://www.adelaideavalanche.com/

Get on em:thumbsu:

Capitalist
6 Jun 2008, 21:39
i've always wanted to go, but no-one wants to go with me

doiler
7 Jun 2008, 12:13
Sturt v North (Unley)

The only trouble with Armstrong so far is his consistency. He will play 1 or 2 great games, then be below par for the next 1 or 2. If he can string some good games together in the ressies I think he will get a spot in the league team, although he has some tough competition in Ivens who will probably be competing for the same spot in the side.
Personally I'd drop Lonie and give Armstrong a go on the wing, but that won't happen.

a1118374
7 Jun 2008, 12:28
Prepare for a big one from gill guys, and when mcgregor kicks 1.3 and two that dont make the distance, he will be in. Always kills us (sturt).

how many weeks has he been back from injury? (calf was it?)

whitey_1975
7 Jun 2008, 13:47
bloody communist red wings:mad::p

whitey_1975
7 Jun 2008, 13:58
It'd be a better spectator sport if you could actually see the puck. Unfortunately hockey games get most of their interest from goons in badly choreographed fights.
After AFL NHL is the greatest sporting contest in the world IMO and if you think they are just thugs, get off your arse fly to canada and watch a game live or try playing, these guys are incredibly skilled and dedicated. The puck gets easier to see the more you watch- took me about 3 games to get used to it. The only reason you only get to see the "goons" fighting is because oz broadcasters dont appreciate the game. (in america in 1996 the tv broadcasters used a trailing tail in blue to help viewers get used to following the puck so your not the only one)

RoosterLad
7 Jun 2008, 14:04
Still no Kris Massie?

Didn’t he dropped out of the North Melbourne game (round 7) with a slight twinge and was likely to only miss that week as a precaution not to do anymore damage, I guess he must have torn it and will miss a major amount of footy.

Might pop down to House Brothers Oval on Monday and have a look at this game.

hahaha what a gay name for an oval

should be a good game though, what better way to celebrate Her Majesty's birthday by getting sloshed and watching footy

Thunderstruck
7 Jun 2008, 17:20
Walker is KILLING THEM!!!! Absolutely marking everything, strong clean grabs, and long straight kicking. Has 12 touches 9 marks and 6 goals I think midway through the 3rd term.

bus24
7 Jun 2008, 17:21
Walker is KILLING THEM!!!! Absolutely marking everything, strong clean grabs, and long straight kicking. Has 12 touches 9 marks and 6 goals I think midway through the 3rd term.

That makes me very, very happy. :)

Punchy Bassett
7 Jun 2008, 17:46
Walkers up to seven now.

Punchy Bassett
7 Jun 2008, 17:52
Taylor Walker count 9

fightingdreamer88
7 Jun 2008, 17:54
Walker 9 goals?!?!?

fantastic_crows
7 Jun 2008, 17:56
9 goals?!?!? That's extremely impressive.

Must admit I did flick over a few times during the Crows game and he was involved heavily.

Some extremely strong overhead marks and some very strong leads.

Looks the goods, get him in for McGregor :thumbsu:

Thunderstruck
7 Jun 2008, 18:00
Has 8 atm on TV anyways, 11 marks as well. I've watched every minute. He hasn't just been awesome offensively, his defensive work has been first rate. Plus his spring leap and pack busting, he split two eagles and left them sprawled across the turf all lifeless. Amazing performance, this reminds me of Tredrea V Carlton in 1998 before his popped his kneecap out. Maybe not quite as powerful pack marking as that but nearly as good.

Thunderstruck
7 Jun 2008, 18:05
Now on TV has 9 goals 12 marks 19 touches. Freak.

I await Drummond's report, his keyboard will be stuck together so expect typos.

Punchy Bassett
7 Jun 2008, 18:07
Walker ends up nine goals for the game. Kite looks bloody quick!

Thunderstruck
7 Jun 2008, 18:08
Puopulo has also been extremely impressive. Watched him a lot through the juniors during my scouting days along with Donohue, those two stood out to me. Love his workrate, and he backs himself very well. Solid body and good pace and skills. Cross between Houli and Giansircusa.

fantastic_crows
7 Jun 2008, 18:16
Now on TV has 9 goals 12 marks 19 touches. Freak.

I await Drummond's report, his keyboard will be stuck together so expect typos.

He's in Melbourne for the weekend so you wont get one.

hey shorty
7 Jun 2008, 18:47
Now let this be known, I dislike almost everything about the Norwood Football Club but today I found myself cheering for them. Why you ask ?? Because I wanted them to keep kicking the ball to Tex so he could get 10+. As the commentators said he did have a slice of luck but IMO you make youre own and he was simply brilliant. Sticky hands, great kicking and his chasing and second efforts were right up there.

HawksRadar
7 Jun 2008, 18:48
Retired- hamstring.

Cook hasn't had a break since joining the club. his injured hammy has made it tough. All very easy to put the boots in, but let the kid get right. Don't expect too much to earlier as he will be playing catch up. I'm confident that he will be a good player.

bus24
7 Jun 2008, 18:49
Cook hasn't had a break since joining the club. his injured hammy has made it tough. All very easy to put the boots in, but let the kid get right. Don't expect too much to earlier as he will be playing catch up. I'm confident that he will be a good player.

Don't think anyones putting the boots in.

We just want to see him play a game :D

aNty
7 Jun 2008, 19:19
Kite looks bloody quick!

He does too, when he was running from defence I almost thought he was a taller Dale Thomas :confused: I reckon he looks pretty special but I also noticed that he tended to not really commit his body that often. I reckon if he developed more hardness he could be something very special.

Campbell's Chunky
7 Jun 2008, 20:28
Petrenko looks like a REAL player.

Can kick the ball 60 metres and can run like the wind.

Can tuck the ball under his arms and take bounces weaving through traffic, sort of like Gary Ablett.

Didn't get 40 disposals, but the talent is all there. One bit of play where he basically took it from the back pocket to inside his own 50. Grabbed it inside defensive 50, bounced it about 3 times while weaving in and out of blokes, and then chucked it on his long boot and it ended up inside forward 50.

hey shorty
7 Jun 2008, 20:35
Petrenko looks like a REAL player.

Can kick the ball 60 metres and can run like the wind.

Can tuck the ball under his arms and take bounces weaving through traffic, sort of like Gary Ablett.

Didn't get 40 disposals, but the talent is all there. One bit of play where he basically took it from the back pocket to inside his own 50. Grabbed it inside defensive 50, bounced it about 3 times while weaving in and out of blokes, and then chucked it on his long boot and it ended up inside forward 50.

All that is true but if I didnt read the teamsheet I wouldnt have known he was playing for the first half. He was nowhere to be seen. He does have the talent and I know its early days but he simply has to do more.

Did love the pace the kid has though !!! Along with Kite and Dangermouse we really did well in those stakes during the draft/rookie selection.

Campbell's Chunky
7 Jun 2008, 20:39
All that is true but if I didnt read the teamsheet I wouldnt have known he was playing for the first half. He was nowhere to be seen. He does have the talent and I know its early days but he simply has to do more.

Did love the pace the kid has though !!! Along with Kite and Dangermouse we really did well in those stakes during the draft/rookie selection.
Yeh, well 2nd game back, he will get better.

He's a long termer, and I reckon he will play in the mid/forward line for the Crows anyway.

hey shorty
7 Jun 2008, 21:43
Yeh, well 2nd game back, he will get better.

He's a long termer, and I reckon he will play in the mid/forward line for the Crows anyway.

Oh for sure but I was commenting on what I saw today.

He does have that certain something about him.

fightingdreamer88
7 Jun 2008, 21:46
Yep Petrenko certainly is a prospect. The most likely of the rookies to get promoted.

starskyCrow87
7 Jun 2008, 21:54
Just on Kite... looks like he's put on a fair bit of size too which is great to see!:thumbsu:

Campbell's Chunky
8 Jun 2008, 00:22
Anyone know what happened to Djarrhan 'Jarman' Jacky?

Or Mr Football (Andy Otten) for that matter?

Capitalist
8 Jun 2008, 11:56
Anyone know what happened to Djarrhan 'Jarman' Jacky?

Or Mr Football (Andy Otten) for that matter?

the newspaper has Otten in the best again

Jacky was an emergency with the crows ?

Stiffy_18
8 Jun 2008, 12:26
Jacky played in the reserves according to the SANFL ABC coverage yesterday.

KingsCrow
8 Jun 2008, 19:36
Jacky played in the reserves according to the SANFL ABC coverage yesterday.

Yeah he did, as I predicted.

The Eagles do not rate him, and apparently he didn't do that well in Reserves (not 100% on this though).

Hentschel won't play for the Crows for another 2-3 min as well. Doesn't have the leg speed/game speed just yet.

James_37
8 Jun 2008, 20:39
Yeah he did, as I predicted.

The Eagles do not rate him, and apparently he didn't do that well in Reserves (not 100% on this though).

Hentschel won't play for the Crows for another 2-3 min as well. Doesn't have the leg speed/game speed just yet.

Thats alright we don't play till saturday, so I think we can last without him for a couple of mins:p:D

Redline
8 Jun 2008, 22:14
Just on Kite... looks like he's put on a fair bit of size too which is great to see!:thumbsu:

I don't think I have seen a player put on so much size in a short period of time. Looked like a school kid in his first trials but has really bulked up.

Gets!
8 Jun 2008, 22:16
BF is going go go into meltdown when Drummond gets home ;)

Vic Crow
8 Jun 2008, 22:22
BF is going go go into meltdown when Drummond gets home ;)
Ivanovic won the French Open. Detroit won the Stanley Cup. He won't know what to do with himself. :D

macca23
8 Jun 2008, 22:35
Ivanovic won the French Open. Detroit won the Stanley Cup. He won't know what to do with himself. :D

True. :D

But I think he would know what he'd like to do with Ivanovic!! :D

hey shorty
8 Jun 2008, 22:39
True. :D

But I think he would know what he'd like to do with Ivanovic!! :D

Get in line !!! :D

Vic Crow
8 Jun 2008, 22:45
Get in line !!! :D
Not so fast! ;)

crows98
9 Jun 2008, 01:04
Does anyone know if i can park my car on the boundary line at House Brothers Oval or is that just down South?

____ me if i am going to sit in the rain tommorrow but if i can stay in the car (yes i am soft) it will be a good game.

hey shorty
9 Jun 2008, 01:26
Does anyone know if i can park my car on the boundary line at House Brothers Oval or is that just down South?

____ me if i am going to sit in the rain tommorrow but if i can stay in the car (yes i am soft) it will be a good game.

You could park next to the playground ??:p

Nah South is the only place in the SANFL you can sit in the car and watch. Gonna be a cold one down there at Unley tomorrow. Cant wait its my first game for the year.

crows98
9 Jun 2008, 01:32
You could park next to the playground ??:p

Nah South is the only place in the SANFL you can sit in the car and watch. Gonna be a cold one down there at Unley tomorrow. Cant wait its my first game for the year.

Ta - I guess i will wait and see what it's like in the morning. If it's that cold, Collingwood Vs the Dees will be the better option.

Drummond
9 Jun 2008, 02:37
Ivanovic. Oh my, I was unbelievably tired lying on my hotel bed but I managed to stay awake and watch that thing of beauty win her first Slam. New world #1, first Slam, about a million more to come, that topped off what had been a brilliant day. At the G to see Thommo the absolute machine that he is kick 6. Jericho kicked 5. What. The. Heck. Good on him. Then I see that Walker had kicked 6, then 7, then 8 then 9. I almost collapsed. Then I almost collapsed again at the thought of sitting there against Glenelg when we kicked 1 goal, to the next outing where Walker alone kicked 9. Thanks Norwood, very considerate.

Then at the Dome today watching Akermanis on his way to another Brownlow. Then get home and see Federer destroyed. I’m telling you, this has been the perfect week. And I won $50 on the Ivanovic/Nadal double. I wanted to put money down when it was at $11 but being who I am for whatever reason I didn’t. I knew it would happen but I didn’t have any money on me at the time so I let it slip. Then I went to put a bet down and betting was suspended. Whatever the heck that means. So I finally put it down when it’s $5. Better than nothing.

So to summarise. Detroit, Ivanovic, Thompson, Adelaide, Walker, Nadal, $50. Life’s good. :D :thumbsu:

Blue Red and Gold
9 Jun 2008, 19:07
enjoyable game down at the Bay today. Glenelg went about it the hard way with poor kicking but managed to make it 8 in a row.

I thought Sellar played well, dont think he kicked any but took some good grabs and worked his arse off. Some great work in the ruck too.

Matty Bode was great too. Love the bloke.

RoosterLad
9 Jun 2008, 19:08
was there footy on today?

RoosterLad
9 Jun 2008, 19:09
Ta - I guess i will wait and see what it's like in the morning. If it's that cold, Collingwood Vs the Dees will be the better option.

soft

cmndstab
9 Jun 2008, 19:19
Some stats from the SANFL.com.au website. Walker's stats differ slightly with those given here. Campbell looks like he was a bit down this week, 6 FA? Ouch. Only the first two games have stats up so no Sellar or Gill yet.

Otten - 24 Disposals (14K, 10H), 8 Marks, 2 FF, 1 FA, 1 Hitout, 1 Tackle, no score
Campbell - 13 Disposals (9K, 4H), 3 Marks, 2 FF, 6 FA, 2 Tackles, no score
Kite - 11 Disposals (6K, 5H), 5 Marks, 0 FF, 2 FA, 1 Tackle, no score
Walker - 19 disposals (15K, 4H), 13 Marks, 1 FF, 0 FA, scored 9.0, 0 Tackles
Petrenko - 16 Disposals (10K, 6H), 2 Marks, 1 FF, 2 FA, 0 Tackles, no score
Hentschel - 11 Disposals (7K, 4H), 5 Marks, 1 FF, 0 FA, 0 Tackles, scored 2.0

Stiffy_18
9 Jun 2008, 19:43
enjoyable game down at the Bay today. Glenelg went about it the hard way with poor kicking but managed to make it 8 in a row.

I thought Sellar played well, dont think he kicked any but took some good grabs and worked his arse off. Some great work in the ruck too.

Matty Bode was great too. Love the bloke.
Thanks champ :thumbsu:

Did Sellar get much of the footy?!

JR made a comment on 5AA a while ago that Jimmy needs to get more of the ball.

RooDog
9 Jun 2008, 20:06
was there footy on today?
apparently there was a bunch of blokes mascarading in a north jumper at house brothers oval today:@

went down to watch north play and was bitterly disappointed i must say.

Adam Thomson is a star, if port dont want him we should.

crows98
9 Jun 2008, 21:14
soft

Yeah i know, just like North Adelaide today.

However at least i turned up, the same could not be said for Jarman and his merry men.

Wade Thompson kicked 2 goals - one good goal on the run where he showed plenty of pace and the second was a goal from the goal square.

Groove
9 Jun 2008, 22:31

From what i saw, he had about 5 possesions. Kicked for goal twice from the same spot and sent them both across the face.
Not trolling, but he looked very unimpressive.

cmndstab
9 Jun 2008, 22:41
The rest of the SANFL stats are up:

Sellar: 8 Disposals (4K, 4H), 3 Marks, 0 FF, 1 FA, 2 Hitouts, 3 Tackles, no score
Gill: 7 Disposals (3K, 4H), 3 Marks, 1 FF, 1 FA, 4 Hitouts, 5 Tackles, scored 1.0

fightingdreamer88
9 Jun 2008, 22:49
The rest of the SANFL stats are up:

Sellar: 8 Disposals (4K, 4H), 3 Marks, 0 FF, 1 FA, 2 Hitouts, 3 Tackles, no score
Gill: 7 Disposals (3K, 4H), 3 Marks, 1 FF, 1 FA, 4 Hitouts, 5 Tackles, scored 1.0

Sounds like Gill is applying some good defensive pressure which is a positive sign. Lets hope he and Sellar can continue building.

hey shorty
9 Jun 2008, 23:01
Well one of his team had to....... But no one could stop big Mikey Coad !!!!

Campbell's Chunky
10 Jun 2008, 07:23
Just looking around the club websites.

Petrenko named 6th best, Hentschel 8th best for eagles.

Jacky named 2nd best in the reserves for Norwood.

Walker named 2nd best.

Joel (??) Aish booted 6 for the Norwood u17's.

Otto named in the best, and here he is ripping a bloke down.

http://safc.com.au/images/games/round_10/r10-37.jpg

Drummond
10 Jun 2008, 18:19
Just looking around the club websites.

Petrenko named 6th best, Hentschel 8th best for eagles.

Jacky named 2nd best in the reserves for Norwood.

Walker named 2nd best.

Joel (??) Aish booted 6 for the Norwood u17's.

Otto named in the best, and here he is ripping a bloke down.
That's what you call ripping a bloke down? :confused: ;)

Sellar had another stellar game by the looks of it, but BR&G did say he thought he played okay.

For Norwood Walker was obviously a star. But even better than kicking 9 goals, some of those contested marks he took were brilliant. Had a few goal assists too which was good. Kite had about a dozen touches and was pretty much flawless in defence. Stood Power rookie Nick Salter for patches of the game and kept him out of the game. Took a nice mark on the wing in the first term and had a good run in the defensive fifty in the last term. Had clean hands, didn't fumble and stayed very close to his man whenever the ball came in his area. Continues to develop nicely.

Campbell credited for 2 tackles? I've come to the summation that you triple whatever tackle count they credit you for. Although Nick Gill probably wouldn't have had 15 tackles. ;) But still, there's no way Rocket only had 2 tackles; he would've had at least 5. There’s no doubt he did give away a few free kicks, not 5 though. He stood the mark about 3 times after a teammate gave away a free and I assume the Advertiser believed he was the culprit. He was relatively quiet but did set up a few goals, one in the third and one in the last. Worked hard around the packs and threw himself at countless contests. Don't think he's anywhere near 100% fit which is a shame but he contributed each week.

Petrenko was great for the Eagles and was one of their better players. He took a fantastic contested mark in the last quarter running back into a big pack which highlighted his courage. Was exceptionally clean with his handling of he ball and he broke away from congestion about 3 times. Really backed himself to break tackles and rebound from his defensive fifty. Hentschel wasn’t too bad, certainly in the better half for the Eagles but he didn’t do anything to suggest he’s ready for an AFL comeback.

Good to see Martin have a great game, I doubt it means anything in the long run but if he can keep up that form there's always hope. Interesting there was no mention of Curnow...

Campbell's Chunky
10 Jun 2008, 18:27
That's what you call ripping a bloke down? :confused: ;)*Takes rose coloured glasses off*.

No.

Blue Red and Gold
10 Jun 2008, 18:36

Definately needs to get more of it, when he does get the ball he looks good. He had one of the first shots on goal in the game after a good contested grab on the lead. As mentioned above he fluffed the kick, and then did exactly the same.

I was suprised to see today he only had 8-10 touches, he seemed to of done better than that. His defensive pressure was really good, chased hard. Did a nice bit of play right in front of me, chased the bloke, caused the ball to spill to ground, he then dived to ground to then knock it to a free bays player.

One thing I did notice, gave a contest everytime, with Grima out he seemed to be used a bit more and if he didnt grab it it would generally come to ground.

He is a frustraying player to watch because he will look a million dollars, like with his first grab only to then fluff the kick.

I maybe being a tad generous as I am only seeing the upside, but yes he does need to grab a game by the balls soon, just for his own confidence because once I feel he believes he can do it, he will be a very good player.

Stiffy_18
10 Jun 2008, 19:03
Definately needs to get more of it, when he does get the ball he looks good. I had one of the first shots on goal in the game after a good contested grab on the lead. As mentioned above he fluffed the kick, and then did exactly the same.

I was suprised to see today he only had 8-10 touches, he seemed to of done better than that. His defensive pressure was really good, chased hard. Did a nice bit of play right in front of me, chased the bloke, caused the ball to spill to ground, he then dived to ground to then knock it to a free bays player.

One thing I did notice, gave a contest everytime, with Grima out he seemed to be used a bit more and if he didnt grab it it would generally come to ground.

He is a frustraying player to watch because he will look a million dollars, like with his first grab only to then fluff the kick.

I maybe being a tad generous as I am only seeing the upside, but yes he does need to grab a game by the balls soon, just for his own confidence because once I feel he believes he can do it, he will be a very good player.
Thanks champ!

Much appreciated :thumbsu:

Campbell's Chunky
11 Jun 2008, 02:24
A video if Jared Petrenko and Aaron Kite from the weekend. Couple of mini highlights...

PgpiI-GVDHk

cmndstab
11 Jun 2008, 02:37
You little beauty CC :) I love these highlights videos. Petrenko looks like a real likely type, doesn't he!

jo172
11 Jun 2008, 11:03
Good vid CC, but Drummond is going to be spewing about the lack of Campbell highlights:p

Drummond
11 Jun 2008, 11:16
Can we make CC an admin? Superb stuff.

Look at what happens when Norwood are the televised game, this board goes off with excitement.

21knights
11 Jun 2008, 11:54
Thanks CC. Would be great if we could get some more of that for the dangerzone appearance this weekend! :thumbsu:

Dandy_GO
11 Jun 2008, 12:09
"Geat day for flying Kites."
Oh god.

Cheers for the videos, CC!

James_37
11 Jun 2008, 12:17
Cheers again CC:thumbsu:Petrenko definitely looks like a decent player, definitely looks comfortable at SANFL level, which is a good start.

vlbl
11 Jun 2008, 13:39
Thanks heaps CC. Just wondering those of you who have seen Petrenko, is he better suited to a small rebounding defender role or a quick elusive small forward ala, alwyn davey/matthew stokes type? He looks damn good in the highlights, and i was also just wondering how his disposal is like? Thanks to anyone to those who reply.

By the way did anyone have a look at curnow this week? Really like the sound and look of this kid.

hippyhippy
11 Jun 2008, 13:53
thats the first i've seen of petrenko ... its hard to judge how fast he is ... can anyone comment on a comparison of any of the crows on his speed? and what position is he playing? midfielder?

IddyBiddy
11 Jun 2008, 14:21
You rock CC.

Patrenko looks the goods for sure and Kite is much more solid than what i thought.

macca23
11 Jun 2008, 18:45
thats the first i've seen of petrenko ... its hard to judge how fast he is ... can anyone comment on a comparison of any of the crows on his speed? and what position is he playing? midfielder?

Has played mostly as a small defender at SANFL level.

However he's that tpe of player who IMO could be a mid-fielder or play the small forward role as well.

He has blistering pace and is very elusive. A certainty to be upgraded at year's end IMO.

Crowman32
11 Jun 2008, 21:22
Ed Curnow had a good game on the weekend in the reserves for Glenelg. Apparently had 28 possessions and played on the wing where he had more freedom compared to previous weeks where he has been stuck on the half back flank or back pocket.

fightingdreamer88
11 Jun 2008, 21:52
Yep, every time I see Petrenko I see gunnage in its purest sense. We have an absolute ripper here. What a ****ing get for the AFC!! :thumbsu:

Campbell's Chunky
11 Jun 2008, 22:00
Yep, every time I see Petrenko I see gunnage in its purest sense. We have an absolute ripper here. What a ****ing get for the AFC!! :thumbsu:
Dare I say it....milX??????

fightingdreamer88
11 Jun 2008, 22:02
Dare I say it....milX??????

No milX until he is promoted. Sorry Chunkworth, I've got to be conservative here. Not sure I can even hand out ^5s just yet. :(

Vader
11 Jun 2008, 22:08
http://www.afc.com.au/tabid/4417/Default.aspx?newsid=61044
Walker bags nine: update
10:37 AM Sun 08 June, 2008

Taylor Walker, the youngest player on Adelaide’s list, booted nine goals for Norwood in the SANFL on Saturday.

The promising forward, who turned 18 in April, starred in Norwood’s 51-point win over the Eagles at Woodville Oval. He collected 19 possessions and 13 marks while kicking 9.0 in his sixth league game.

Walker, signed as Adelaide’s first New South Wales scholarship player in 2006, made the All-Australian under 18 team last season and then kicked seven goals for North Broken Hill in its senior premiership win before he was upgraded to the Crows’ primary list late last year.

Several other players were involved in SANFL games on Saturday. In the game at Woodville, Bryce Campbell (13 possessions) and Aaron Kite (11 possessions) played for the winners while Trent Hentschel (11 possessions, two goals) and rookie Jared Petrenko (16 possessions) were in action with the Eagles.

Jarrhan Jacky played a standout game for Eagles reserves, he was named in the best and collected 28 possessions.

In the other Saturday league game, midfielder Andy Otten (28 possessions and nine marks) was among South’s best in its loss to Central District.

Rookie James Moss won plenty of the ball for Central District reserves with 12 kicks, nine handballs and seven marks.

In a bad day for the Roosters at Unley Nick Gill gathered eight possessions and one goal for the away side as they went down by 106 points.

Rookie Brodie Martin was the standout on Monday, named best on ground for Sturt reserves gathering 29 possessions, 10 marks and three goals in their 36 point win.

In the same game Tony Armstrong was a good contributer for North with 14 possessions and two goals and Greg Gallman picked up 11 possessions and two marks.

Ed Curnow produced another standout game for Glenelg reserves with 10 kicks and 15 handballs on a wing and club observers had him in the Tigers' best.

In the league game James Sellar collected eight possessions and three marks in Glenelg's win over Port Adelaide.

Round 10 Statistics

Taylor Walker
Kicks: 15
Handballs: 4
Marks: 13
Goals: 9

Bryce Campbell
Kicks: 9
Marks: 3

Aaron Kite
Kicks: 6
Handballs: 5
Marks: 5

Trent Hentschel
Kicks: 7
Marks: 5
Goals: 2

Jared Petrenko
Kicks: 10
Handballs: 6
Marks: 2

Brodie Martin
Kicks: 19
Handballs: 10
Marks: 10
Goals: 3

Andy Otten
Kicks: 15
Handballs: 13
Marks: 9

James Moss
Kicks: 12
Handballs: 9
Marks: 7

Tony Armstrong
Kicks: 9
Goals: 2

Greg Gallman
Kicks: 4
Handballs: 7

Nick Gill
Kicks: 3
Goals: 1

James Sellar
Kicks: 4

Ed Curnow
Kicks: 10
Handballs: 15

Round 10 Results

Norwood 6.3 10.5 14.9 19.12 (126)
Eagles 3.2 6.4 9.6 11.9 (75)

Central5.2 9.3 16.7 18.11 (119)
South 4.2 6.5 10.7 13.10 (88)

Sturt8.3 15.5 21.9 27.12 (174)
North 1.3 6.5 9.5 10.8 (68)

Glenelg 3.1 5.11 11.16 15.21 (111)
Port 4.4 9.6 10.7 14.9 (93)
afc.com.au

cmndstab
11 Jun 2008, 23:47
That's a pretty exceptional game for Brodie Martin, nice to see him rack u some stats worth a damn :)

McLeodMagic
12 Jun 2008, 00:09
Awesome stuff CC. I'll love it if you are able to do this weekly. ;)

crowman_23
12 Jun 2008, 00:37
Good to see Martin nd Curnow get a bit of the pill.

Otten just continues to rack up the numbers. From someone who can only judge from reading others reports and seeing stats he looks like we could have landed a good one there.

bigman
12 Jun 2008, 00:45
Get on the badwagon because its wagons ho with Curnow and Petrenko all likely to be in line for upgrading by seaons end.

We have another two class runners here and both can play defensively as well.

Throw in the cream of Otten, Dangerfield and Walker and the likes of Jacky, Cooke, Armstrong and Kite and we are flying high.

Vince Van Mackay
12 Jun 2008, 00:55
Good to see some of the Rookies finally getting into the swing of things.

Gets!
12 Jun 2008, 01:01
All our young lads doing awesome :)