View Full Version : Round 11 - Port Adelaide Vs Carlton, AAMI Stadium
cheezey2008
6 Jun 2008, 19:54
Should be a good one. Port coming off a good win over Freo but Carlton usually put in a good performance at AAMI.
What are your thoughts?
thomasleary
7 Jun 2008, 10:22
During the week Chad Cornes refered to Carlton as easybeats. I wonder if such a comment will come back to haunt him?
gilbos the best
7 Jun 2008, 10:35
hope carlton win to teach chad cornes a lesson about being cocky
judd and fevola hav to be brilliant if the blues want a chance this week
TIP- power by 30pts
funkyfetlock
7 Jun 2008, 10:59
I think Carlton will pull off an upset in this game. Port's confidence is seriously waning and a win over the woeul Docker's will have done little to regain lost pride.
The Port crowd will expect a win but they will be sadly disappointed. Carlton will put too much scoreboard pressure on the Power and they will crumble. Judd is really starting to find his niche in the side and I think he will prove a match winner.
Carlton by 3 goals
ps I hardly ever tip upsets but I am confident about this one.
quote to me where Chad Cornes said and i quote "Carlton are easybeats" the whole stupid thing is, Calrton have made a mountain out of a molehill and started running their mouths off.
IF they seriously needed to take Chad Cornes words, twist them around into something they need to motivate them, then they should have put a sign up in their changerooms before the game. Instead there hack of a coach and their loudmouth forward haven't been able to keep themselves out of the spotlight and started throwing accusations at Port.
Downhill skiers, harsh coming from someone with the likes of Stevens, Carazzo and Murphy in the side, he suddenly things that now they have Judd they are an inside team, laughable. I also remember the moment when Fev "thinks" he saw Chad shirk the issue, Chad actually copped one in the noggin for actually putting his head over the ball, but hey lets not let the truth get in the way of a good story. The fact the coach and the most senior players combined iq equals that of a gnat, the Port boys will be fired up with plenty to prove, Port by plenty.
BLue_Bloys
7 Jun 2008, 13:05
Bit touchy there Nater....
Carlton line up really well vs Port. I can't split the two sides atm, either of the two by under 12 points :thumbsu:
Chad Cornes must be thanking his stars Bannister aint playing
Bit touchy there Nater....
Carlton line up really well vs Port. I can't split the two sides atm, either of the two by under 12 points :thumbsu:
Chad Cornes must be thanking his stars Bannister aint playing
Lol - Carlton won`t get close.
cheezey2008
7 Jun 2008, 14:18
LOL @ nater calling murphy a downhill skier...maybe he should look at peter burgoyne and rethink his words
Very surprised at Port's public statement that they would beat this young Carlton side easily. I guess that puts the pressure on them. Although the Blues side is a lot younger and less experienced than Port's, the Blues do have a large raw talent advantage, and so anything could happen on the day e.g. like last year at the Telstra Dome. This is a development year for our young side, and playing against these small regional Clubs is a great experience. Midfield battle will be key, and the Blues have the talent edge here. Ratten correctly mentioned that our work outside the contested midfield battles was poor V Cats, and will have to improve this week. Fev's in red hot form, and only needs limited opportunity to post serious bags. Chad Corne's ordinary and pathetic after-game behaviour over the past 12 months will be extra motivation I suspect. Will be a close game, but Blues by about 30 points. :)
ZachPower
7 Jun 2008, 17:44
Chad never said Carlton were easybeats.
He just said We Can Beat Them. Which is what you want to hear from your player, I mean you don't want them to say "Oh I think we will do real bad"
Some people cant take a joke, these are the people who have blown this way out of proportion.
Ratten is just firing up his players.
It will be an O.K. game. Port will lead at half time by 25 only to see Carlton to come back and either narrow the margin or get infront at three quarter time. In the end we will win at home by around 5 goals. :thumbsu:
Murphinator
7 Jun 2008, 18:15
Chad Cornes said that it was good they can get their season back on track this week.
That is making a statement that carlton are easy beats mate, how can you even deny it?
What is the point of defending something so minor til your balls drop off?
Carlton are at huge odds to win in what will be very close...
Shane_Mag
7 Jun 2008, 18:20
Should be a good game. Always get quite a bit of Carlton supporters down at AAMI.
LOL @ nater calling murphy a downhill skier...maybe he should look at peter burgoyne and rethink his words
Hey i got no problem labeling my bunch a group of downhill skiers, because they have yet to prove otherwise. Lets just not see the pot calling the kettle black ey!
We have a good chance to go 5-6 this week and work towards fixing our season, Chad's words have been taken out of context and like i said, if thats what Ratten needs to do to fire up his mob then so be it. He's the tool tho, along with Fev that Port have a point to prove this week. Which works out good for us because unless we have one, we seem to go walkabout for extended periods of play. When we smash the clearances and hardball gets this week, whats Ratten gonna have but egg on his face?
Hey i got no problem labeling my bunch a group of downhill skiers, because they have yet to prove otherwise. Lets just not see the pot calling the kettle black ey!
We have a good chance to go 5-6 this week and work towards fixing our season, Chad's words have been taken out of context and like i said, if thats what Ratten needs to do to fire up his mob then so be it. He's the tool tho, along with Fev that Port have a point to prove this week. Which works out good for us because unless we have one, we seem to go walkabout for extended periods of play. When we smash the clearances and hardball gets this week, whats Ratten gonna have but egg on his face?
Funny watching Port supporters try to downplay Chad's embarrassing comments. He said beating this young Carlton side was a formality, now it's up to him to have the ticka to walk the talk. Chad's not the most courageous player out there, and all Fev did was remind him of that fact during an incident in the last quarter last year when his attack on the ball was a little meek at best. Chad's post-game low-character reaction was embarrassing. Sounds like he still hasn't got over that, hence the recent comments. :)
Very surprised at Port's public statement that they would beat this young Carlton side easily. I guess that puts the pressure on them. Although the Blues side is a lot younger and less experienced than Port's, the Blues do have a large raw talent advantage, and so anything could happen on the day e.g. like last year at the Telstra Dome. This is a development year for our young side, and playing against these small regional Clubs is a great experience. Midfield battle will be key, and the Blues have the talent edge here. Ratten correctly mentioned that our work outside the contested midfield battles was poor V Cats, and will have to improve this week. Fev's in red hot form, and only needs limited opportunity to post serious bags. Chad Corne's ordinary and pathetic after-game behaviour over the past 12 months will be extra motivation I suspect. Will be a close game, but Blues by about 30 points. :)
I thought last year was the "development year" for Carlton. Oh i get it, any year when Carlton aren't entrenched in the top 8 its a "development year", well thats a pretty easy out for a club that should have done a hell of a lot more with their draft picks than they have. I'm actually pretty happy Port has got the "raw talent" that we have. Port is actually taking the long route with developing a list and not using the Carlton method of recruiting through early/number 1/priority picks. Would be interesting to see where Carlton would be now if they were forced to do the same thing :)
... Would be interesting to see where Carlton would be now if they ...
You might not realize this, but the Blues were actually excluded from the draft for several years. Port have actually had FULL access to the draft during those years and have therefore had access to more draft picks recently in fact. Perhaps you should think before bleating out one of Williams trademark incoherent teary eyed media efforts. He's already produced at least 3 of them this year. lol. :)
crackers111taz
8 Jun 2008, 12:33
Port should thank their lucky stars that Carlton have been "tanking" the last few times they have met. The Blues have prved that they are a better team on more than one occasion. Last year was a definate display of that, beating them at Telstra in round 11 quite easily and clearly displaying in the 3rd quarter at Aami in round 19 that they absolutely have Port's measure, before taking their foot off the pedal, as they didn't want the win.....
There will be no such display of "tanking" this time around, and Port realising this have done their "usual" tactic of using the media to try and gain an advantage before the game even starts, but history has proven that as a general rule as soon as "big mouthed" Port players or coaches start shooting their fat traps off before the ball has been bounced, it generally jumps up to bite them square on the ar$e (2007 Grand Final ring any bells?)...
Rest assure Carlton will clearly display to the football world today that they are a team on the way back and Port really are just a side that fluked a grand Final appearance last year and are a club on the slide....
Carlton by 4-6 goals....:thumbsu:
Powerade 08
8 Jun 2008, 12:58
wow. Amazing how you can go off at a player or coach for talking crap when you people are doing the exact same thing.
I must have missed the papers one day this week, because I never heard Cornes call Carlton "easybeats". I also never heard anyone at Port say they were "going to win easily". And I never heard the word "formality" either.
Can someone give me a link because I would like to read the whole article. Make sure its the article with those exact quotes in it please.
the Chad clearly stated that he said the draw had provided him with the toughest start to a season in his football career and is looking forward to getting back to a friendlier part of the draw. We also play Geelong at the cattery next week, i suppose by your logic you think that we think that will be a walk in the park also.
Brett Ratten the obvious intellect that he is has taken this as a slur against his club and proceeded to call his team a group of inside players and Port a group of outside, downhill skiers although we rank 4th in the comp for clearances compared to the Blues what??? 12th.
Fev then starts running his mouth at Chad aswell, yeah im pretty sure we're worried about the fact you guys aren't tanking now.
Port Adelaide by 53 points.
Powerade 08
8 Jun 2008, 13:34
I must have missed the papers one day this week, because I never heard Cornes call Carlton "easybeats". I also never heard anyone at Port say they were "going to win easily". And I never heard the word "formality" either.
Can someone give me a link because I would like to read the whole article. Make sure its the article with those exact quotes in it please.
Oh, you didnt know? "parrot" and "crackers111taz" are bigfooty's jurnos. Talk sh^t and try to get attention.
"parrot" should probably get back to bed and stare at the posters of Caro and Hutchy on the ceiling.
:) .....:rolleyes:
the Chad clearly stated that he said the draw had provided him with the toughest start to a season in his football career and is looking forward to getting back to a friendlier part of the draw.
Well there's nothing so bad about that. So can I assume that the article that had everyone at Port labelling Carlton "easybeats" simply doesn't exist?
Fev then starts running his mouth at Chad aswell.
Actually I did hear Fev saying that Chad didn't put his head over the ball. Come to think of it, I reckon Port have more reason to be upset at the antics of Carlton in the press this week then vice versa.
the Blues do have a large raw talent advantage,
Quite clearly the dumbest comment on Bigfooty EVER.
You have no raw talent advantage over anyone, ever.
...You have no raw talent.....
You might not like it, but the fact is the Blues have the most raw talent in the AFL currently. Developing that talent is another issue though, but our development program is going along nicely this year. Port is basically a bit of a tack-together list - i.e. quite a few oldies, a few younger players and some recycled types. Williams has done well making his list competitive. Not much upside though. :)
Power King
8 Jun 2008, 14:28
^I'd like to see it too please.
I don't know where all of this came from.
Seems as though something was made out of nothing, purely because it's Chad Cornes, who is a showman.
Anyway, I've seen the betting odds for this game. Port have odds of around $1.20 and Carlton are around $5.00, or something ridiculous like that. Unbelievable. If I were a betting man, I'd put some money on the blues as those are pretty good odds.
As for the game, Port should win, no excuses. Carlton are not easy beats, but I think we are a better team overall. Our problem is executing the level that we should be able to play at, for 4 quarters.
crackers111taz
8 Jun 2008, 15:12
Oh, you didnt know? "parrot" and "crackers111taz" are bigfooty's jurnos. Talk sh^t and try to get attention.
"parrot" should probably get back to bed and stare at the posters of Caro and Hutchy on the ceiling.
:) .....:rolleyes:
Is that your "attempt" at an intelligent, factual response....
You say we "talk sh1t", but then fail to provide a valid point to support your opinion...
Seems to me, that you suffer a lack of substance
jonoman89
8 Jun 2008, 15:49
heard a rumour on fan footy that kane cornes may be a late withdrawl?
IsDonIsGoodes
8 Jun 2008, 15:49
i heard kornes is out (but not confirmed)? if that's the case it will closer than everyone thinks.
port by 3-4 goals
IsDonIsGoodes
8 Jun 2008, 15:51
heard a rumour on fan footy that kane cornes may be a late withdrawl?
lol that was my source, from the bris freo game :)
bluesforever
8 Jun 2008, 16:57
Can anyone confirm about Kane Cornes?
XFactor1979
8 Jun 2008, 17:04
what prize does the winner of this game get?
whippersnipper
8 Jun 2008, 17:09
Four points.
crackers111taz
8 Jun 2008, 17:09
4 premiership points......
And bragging rights....
Same as every game, every week....
Ohh and the chance to go an extra 4 points clear of West Coast
Juddrockz
8 Jun 2008, 17:12
quote to me where Chad Cornes said and i quote "Carlton are easybeats" the whole stupid thing is, Calrton have made a mountain out of a molehill and started running their mouths off.
IF they seriously needed to take Chad Cornes words, twist them around into something they need to motivate them, then they should have put a sign up in their changerooms before the game. Instead there hack of a coach and their loudmouth forward haven't been able to keep themselves out of the spotlight and started throwing accusations at Port.
Downhill skiers, harsh coming from someone with the likes of Stevens, Carazzo and Murphy in the side, he suddenly things that now they have Judd they are an inside team, laughable. I also remember the moment when Fev "thinks" he saw Chad shirk the issue, Chad actually copped one in the noggin for actually putting his head over the ball, but hey lets not let the truth get in the way of a good story. The fact the coach and the most senior players combined iq equals that of a gnat, the Port boys will be fired up with plenty to prove, Port by plenty.
Says the "chokers":D
stmookeyj
8 Jun 2008, 17:16
Wet day in Adelaide, still chasing up Cornes situation.
stmookeyj
8 Jun 2008, 17:38
Appears K.Cornes is playing and changes are nil.
bluesforever
8 Jun 2008, 17:39
Good for my supercoach. Bad for Carlton.
stmookeyj
8 Jun 2008, 17:41
First goal to David Rodan
PORT 1.0.6
CARL Trips
stmookeyj
8 Jun 2008, 17:47
Kind bounce/skid for Motlop for their 2nd
PORT 2.0.12
CARL Donuts
stmookeyj
8 Jun 2008, 17:59
Sloppy kick-in misses a falling Setanta and Boak makes them pay.
PORT 3.3.21
CARL 0.2.2
stmookeyj
8 Jun 2008, 18:04
Brogan's attempt at conceding a behind lands in Gibbs' lap. Easy goal for the SA lad in the Navy Blue #4.
PORT 3.3.21
CARL 1.2.8
stmookeyj
8 Jun 2008, 18:09
Tredrea on the siren misses.
QUARTER TIME
PORT ADELAIDE 3.5.23
CARLTON 1.4.10
PORT: Rodan, Motlop, Boak
CARL: Gibbs
THE BRICKMAN
8 Jun 2008, 18:14
good work stmookeyj
Armitage2Riewoldt
8 Jun 2008, 18:14
7/7 if Port win this and 8 when Pies smash Melbourne.
But then everyone else will get 8 as well. :o
4 premiership points......
And bragging rights....
Same as every game, every week....
Ohh and the chance to go an extra 4 points clear of West Coast
Port? Carlton have officially hit the 4 win tanking wall and packed it in for the season.
stmookeyj
8 Jun 2008, 18:25
But then everyone else will get 8 as well. :o
I'm one of those.
stmookeyj
8 Jun 2008, 18:27
A blue error and Salopek nails it from 45.
PORT 4.7.31
CARL 1.5.11
crackers111taz
8 Jun 2008, 18:30
Port? Carlton have officially hit the 4 win tanking wall and packed it in for the season.
Your comdey brilliance astounds me. You are so clever, did it take you long to come up with that one? Come on, surely you have more, that isn't the best you have is it, someone with your ability must surely have a bagful of funnies just like that......
stmookeyj
8 Jun 2008, 18:31
2nd to Rodan, just about over unless Carlton do something quickly.
PORT 5.7.37
CARL 1.6.12
Your comdey brilliance astounds me. You are so clever, did it take you long to come up with that one? Come on, surely you have more, that isn't the best you have is it, someone with your ability must surely have a bagful of funnies just like that......
Thankyou. It`s nice to be complemented.
Cheers.:thumbsu:
That goal to Rodan was class, got through 3 players.
RoosterLad
8 Jun 2008, 18:32
Carlton really are a terrible side. Get rid of them, Freo, Richmond and Melbourne. It will make for a much better comp.
Adelaide Hawk
8 Jun 2008, 18:38
Carlton really are a terrible side.
But they've got ...... CHIRS JUDD!!!!! :)
stmookeyj
8 Jun 2008, 18:41
Goal for Port, Gray on the set shot
PORT 6.8.44
CARL 1.8.14
stmookeyj
8 Jun 2008, 18:42
Fev decks Carlile....
RoosterLad
8 Jun 2008, 18:43
The saviour who won't play another finals match in his career.
And RAW talent. :)
:)
Fevola is an absolute spud.:thumbsd:
If he gets a 1 year offer for $150,000 he should sign tomorrow.
What goes through Fev's brain sometimes?
stmookeyj
8 Jun 2008, 18:44
So we've found Chris' brother.
Meantime Armfield goals, Andrew Jarman gives it the big YEAAAAAHHHHHHHHH!
PORT 6.8.44
CARL 2.8.20
Armitage2Riewoldt
8 Jun 2008, 18:44
And an awesome coach. :)
RoosterLad
8 Jun 2008, 18:45
Calm down parrot :p
Why does one goal post have red padding and the other have white? Or am I seeing things?
stmookeyj
8 Jun 2008, 18:46
Soft free against Lade and Cloke misses to the delight of the Port fans. Not sure how many there are...
stmookeyj
8 Jun 2008, 18:47
HALF TIME
PORT ADELAIDE 6.8.44
CARLTON 2.9.21
PORT: Rodan 2, Motlop, Boak, Salopek, Gray
CARL: Gibbs, Armfield
RoosterLad
8 Jun 2008, 18:47
That was a terrible decision by the ump, you can't even body in the ruck these days. Shocking kick by Cloke as well what an absolute hack he is.
Pridinator
8 Jun 2008, 18:49
C'mon Judd lift.:rolleyes:
PendlePie
8 Jun 2008, 18:52
Kornes is playing an absolute blinder. Good mark by The Chad...he has more courage in his little finger than Carlton's whole list.
Carn the Blues - Lets at least get game number 5 out of the way. You have enough RAW talent.
Burns2008
8 Jun 2008, 19:06
Rodan, Boak, Gray and co are carving up the RAW talent of russell, bentick grigg and so!
jonoman89
8 Jun 2008, 19:06
lol @ the three blokes on fevola. it's working, but slightly sad.
not all over yet - close to it though.
PendlePie
8 Jun 2008, 19:07
Yeah definitely not over yet Carlton are one or two goals away from being right back in the mix.
How's Salopek? Has really come a long way as a player this year.
stmookeyj
8 Jun 2008, 19:08
Easy goal for Westhoff
PORT 7.8.50
CARL 2.9.21
jonoman89
8 Jun 2008, 19:08
____ing lift for ____s sake.
jonoman89
8 Jun 2008, 19:09
cmon fev kick it in ya bugger.
PendlePie
8 Jun 2008, 19:10
Westhoff goals, Port crack the half ton
PendlePie
8 Jun 2008, 19:11
what happened?
jonoman89
8 Jun 2008, 19:12
tredrea hits the post.
one more port goal = game over.
bombersno1
8 Jun 2008, 19:12
Carlton tanking now..I guess Williams was right..it is almost the bye!
jonoman89
8 Jun 2008, 19:14
Carlton tanking now..I guess Williams was right..it is almost the bye!
to be honest, an essendon supporter saying that makes it pretty redundant.
Did Dwayne Russel just say 'he gets a lot of head every week'? I wasn't really listening but my ears perked up when I thought I heard that.
Burns2008
8 Jun 2008, 19:17
is judds groin get better?
Pridinator
8 Jun 2008, 19:17
to be honest, an essendon supporter saying that makes it pretty redundant.
That's why I stay away from the Carltank jibes. We are just too crap at the moment to win a few game sin a row.:(
jonoman89
8 Jun 2008, 19:20
Hey Carlton! I Have A Novel Idea! How About You Kick To Another Forward Instead Of Fevola?
In Fact, How About You Just Kick The Ball?
jonoman89
8 Jun 2008, 19:22
tredrea goals from scotland error. game over.
____ing pathetic.
stmookeyj
8 Jun 2008, 19:23
1st goal to Tredrea after 4 misses
PORT 8.11.59
CARL 2.10.22
Burns2008
8 Jun 2008, 19:23
tredrea you ledgend
Port all over the Blues, like Sampi on turtle meat.
Thanks Carlton.... 7/7 now :D :thumbsu:
Pridinator
8 Jun 2008, 19:26
http://koptalkinsider.files.wordpress.com/2007/04/fat-lady-sings.jpg
stmookeyj
Fev at last gets one back
PORT 8.12.60
CARL 3.10.28
Burns2008
fev gets his 1st LOL..
Thanks Carlton.... 7/7 now :D :thumbsu:
just like everyone else on planet earth....what an easy weeks tips
3 shit umpiring decisions against Carlton in a minute. Deliberate should've been paid, then Fev and Bentick get slammed into the ground after they'd gotten rid of it.
My Blues
8 Jun 2008, 19:31
How is it that Carlton get done for tanking yet when the umpires perform as though they have obviously been paid to cheat in a teams favour (ie: Port tonight) not even an eyebrow is raised?
An investigation into the blatent cheating by umpires should be put into action for this tonight. It's getting pretty tiresome watching them get away with the putting the green in their back pockets week after week.
jonoman89
8 Jun 2008, 19:32
3 shit umpiring decisions against Carlton in a minute. Deliberate should've been paid, then Fev and Bentick get slammed into the ground after they'd gotten rid of it.
umpiring definitely isn't good for us, but i can't blame that. if we were a decent side we'd win without umpire help - this is no excuse.
we have been a bit better the last 5 or so minutes because finally the blues have realised its called FOOTball for a reason.
That was a good option by Cameron Cloke - 7 on 2 in Port's favour in the goal square, better bang it long. He's a top class footballer that bloke.
rdhopkins2
8 Jun 2008, 19:34
Loving the umpiring....they have put the whistle away and its a contest!!!!! Hope Carlton fire up in the last, play some tough footy and steal a win!!
jonoman89
8 Jun 2008, 19:35
That was a good option by Cameron Cloke - 7 on 2 in Port's favour in the goal square, better bang it long. He's a top class footballer that bloke.
it's not his fault, it's our stupid ____ing club telling our players to bomb it to fev at any opportunity. i thought ratten would realise that there are 6 forwards in a team, not 1. i was wrong.