View Full Version : OK all you optimists...
Mario Speedwagon
7 Jun 2008, 17:50
like sante , tigertroy etc....put a positive spin on that bullshit.....tell us how we're improving... better than last year..why Wallace should see out his contract...how over the hill hacks like Tivendale deserve to be rewarded for VFL performances ....c'mon all you shiny happy people... I and I'm sure all the other "negative nelly's who hate the club" could do with some comedy relief right now...:o
osakabull
7 Jun 2008, 18:05
Im with you.I got bagged relentlessly when i started posting here but turns out i was right along with all the other people that held the same views.Nothing has changed this year.The team doesnt click together and too many hacks.One huge positive though is Cotchin will be a superstar.
It's a pity the poor kid will get ruined at tigerland. I guess we'll hold on to him for a couple of years then he'll go to a winning club.
TigerTroy0055
7 Jun 2008, 19:17
like sante , tigertroy etc....put a positive spin on that bullshit.....tell us how we're improving... better than last year..why Wallace should see out his contract...how over the hill hacks like Tivendale deserve to be rewarded for VFL performances ....c'mon all you shiny happy people... I and I'm sure all the other "negative nelly's who hate the club" could do with some comedy relief right now...:oVery dissappointing result but if you read the last thread I posted and you called me knob for writing it said , we need to play McGuane up forward and I could see no value in Wallace dropping players like Tivendale , Petifer and Bowden back to Coburg only to see them dominate down there promoted again and then they serve up the same poo in seniors that got them dropped the last time. Its a vicious cycle Mario.
Surely Tivendale has joined Hyde in the never to play for our club again crew. That was seriously embarassing for him today. I can't see how the coaching staff thought he could actually contribute at all this year.
Mmmmmm same amount of points as at the end of last year, only halfway through the season. No improvement whatsoever.
It's easy to be negative lads.
I didn't want Tivva in there so leave me outta that one.:D
TigerGlory
7 Jun 2008, 19:31
Problem is, the positive spinners probably believe the same thing as you do regarding Tivendale, Pettifer, McMahon, Schulz etc. None of us want them playing, but theres nothing we can do about it.
The difference is, we stand up for the club when you guys have a crack. You serve up the same shit after every loss. Seriously, its due after games like this, but not when we lose against Geelong being competitive and such.
Threads that some of you idiots post here call for some positive people here. If Richmond dont win 22 games a year then you bastards call for somebodys head.
However, im with you after todays performance. Terrible again from the same terribles. Tivendale, McMahon, Schulz and Pettifer the "Fked Four" :thumbsu:
The darksiders usually watch from the lounge room too.
If we were positive,we would have 40 plus thousand members turning up and roaring hard(no,not sitting up in the stands like Marcel Marceau or yelling at the screen while sipping a beer at home)roaring the team home and give them a massive lift.
Nah ,we have to make things complicated.
TigerTroy0055
7 Jun 2008, 20:17
Problem is, the positive spinners probably believe the same thing as you do regarding Tivendale, Pettifer, McMahon, Schulz etc. None of us want them playing, but theres nothing we can do about it.
The difference is, we stand up for the club when you guys have a crack. You serve up the same shit after every loss. Seriously, its due after games like this, but not when we lose against Geelong being competitive and such.
Threads that some of you idiots post here call for some positive people here. If Richmond dont win 22 games a year then you bastards call for somebodys head.
However, im with you after todays performance. Terrible again from the same terribles. Tivendale, McMahon, Schulz and Pettifer the "Fked Four" :thumbsu:Great post , I still believe we have alot of positives to come this year but surely Terry knows know who can and can't play by now is he slow or something.
The Dice Man
7 Jun 2008, 20:21
Pub actually. But Im sure we see the same bullshit.
whats with all the negativity about Schulz?
I thought he was one of our better players today, with 24 or so possies...
But of course, I am, after all, "one of those optimists" who can never been right when Richmond lose a game, cos we havent improved one iota from last year :rolleyes:.
Mario Speedwagon
7 Jun 2008, 20:27
Mmmmmm same amount of points as at the end of last year, only halfway through the season. No improvement whatsoever.
Really?!?! Awesome...and against such current powerhouses of the comp. to! Yeah at this rate we'll be there in September ....2027....:o
If we actually keep doubling our wins, in 2 years time we will win 24 games, so...2010...GF!!!
How good would that be :eek:
Mario Speedwagon
7 Jun 2008, 20:31
Oh yes the television not only adds 10 pounds to everyone..it makes teams look 10 goals worse.
Yeah , sorry I'll buy a share in an airline with my vast wealth or just move my loungeroom from Sydney to the Punt Road end , shall I , will that make my opinion more valid , snookums?:o
Oh yes the television not only adds 10 pounds to everyone..it makes teams look 10 goals worse.
Yeah , sorry I'll buy a share in an airline with my vast wealth or just move my loungeroom from Sydney to the Punt Road end , shall I , will that make my opinion more valid , snookums?:o
I think that hes saying those that go to the game have more validity to whinge, as they are the ones there "in the outter", getting the whole picture and not just slow motion replays that make things look 100 times better or worse, but I could be wrong...
(Not necessarily my opinion, btw)
See, there's the thing. Pessimists like you who can't possibly see anything positive can't fathom that last year we couldn't beat anybody, and we were the worst team in the comp. Suddenly this year we've beaten three teams (and drawn with a top 3 team), and we are pathetic for not beating top 8 teams. Most people would say we are better than 4 teams this year, and of those we have already beaten all 3 that we have played. As much as it pains you, just accept that we are improving.
Btw, I'd suggest next time you try 'and against such current powerhouses of the comp too!', as opposed to 'of the comp. to!'. Because you aren't. actually meant. to put random full. stops in the middle of. sentences.
The Dice Man
7 Jun 2008, 20:54
See, there's the thing. Pessimists like you who can't possibly see anything positive can't fathom that last year we couldn't beat anybody, and we were the worst team in the comp. Suddenly this year we've beaten three teams (and drawn with a top 3 team), and we are pathetic for not beating top 8 teams. Most people would say we are better than 4 teams this year, and of those we have already beaten all 3 that we have played. As much as it pains you, just accept that we are improving.
Btw, I'd suggest next time you try 'and against such current powerhouses of the comp too!', as opposed to 'of the comp. to!'. Because you aren't. actually meant. to put random full. stops in the middle of. sentences.
So we are the Hare in the Rabbit race?
Oh Joy!
Because this is obviously the last year the AFL exists. If we don't win the flag this year, we never will.:rolleyes:
For ____s sake, maybe consider that we have improved this year, we will improve again next year, and the year after. I know how painful it must be for you to think we could possibly actually be getting better mate, but just try.
TigerHunter
7 Jun 2008, 21:03
In other words... WAAAH WAAAH WAAAH :rolleyes:
The Dice Man
7 Jun 2008, 21:05
Because this is obviously the last year the AFL exists. If we don't win the flag this year, we never will.:rolleyes:
For ____s sake, maybe consider that we have improved this year, we will improve again next year, and the year after. I know how painful it must be for you to think we could possibly actually be getting better mate, but just try.
Yeah while we improve at our 'Hare Rate' other teams improve at the Rabbit rate.
We're improving sure, but so are Hawthorn ;)
Where did you honestly expect us to come this year TDM?
First, of course...otherwise we should sack Wallace, Johnson, Schulz, Tambling, Thursfield, Coughlan, Richo, Brown and Simmonds, because they all wont be around for our next premiership, so they're useless. :P
The Dice Man
7 Jun 2008, 21:22
6-10th. I was prepared to write of the Sydney game as long as we didnt screw up against the Crows.
We kicked 6 goals in a row at one stage and went down by 50 with players like Tivendale, King(as much as I love his attack, he is just too un-disciplined... hello Tim Fleming).
I believe Pettifer offered somethng but sheesh... (1)Can you honestly say you're happy with the development of our players?
(2)Are the opinions of Bulldog supporters beginning to have merit?
Mario Speedwagon
7 Jun 2008, 21:24
Nice try with the grammar police routine..a sure sign of a failing argument when you rely on that shit...In the words of William Shatner "comp."short. for. "competition".full stop.valid.you.... fail.:o
As for your other point...we won 3 1/2 games in half a season last year too...the second half if I recall...and answer me this...have any of this years' performances so far against quality opposition been on a par with last year's victory over Collingwood?
The Dice Man
7 Jun 2008, 21:26
Dear Optimists,
How do you rate our improvements, re: Skills?
^To Mario^
Ok fair point, but that was one game out of 22. As of this season so far we have had 11 games. As you say, we haven't beaten a quality team yet (we have drawn with one though), but give the team another 11 rounds to do it. At this stage last year we hadn't beaten anyone good either. The only team we'd beaten was Melbourne.
6-10th. I was prepared to write of the Sydney game as long as we didnt screw up against the Crows.
We kicked 6 goals in a row at one stage and went down by 50 with players like Tivendale, King(as much as I love his attack, he is just too un-disciplined... hello Tim Fleming).
I believe Pettifer offered somethng but sheesh... (1)Can you honestly say you're happy with the development of our players?
(2)Are the opinions of Bulldog supporters beginning to have merit?
(1) Yes I can honestly say that. Thursfield is still a gun, Deledio has improved markedly, Riewoldt has improved, Cotchin now plays for Richmond, Edwards is getting game time and, while he's been quiet, showed what he's capable of against Essendon. Some will disagree, but I would say Schulz has improved in his new role. People will also disagree that Tambling has improved, but he has. I believe White has improed and is benefeting from game time. Kel Moore's come from nowhere.
(2) I assume you're talking about McMahon. He was shit today, should be playing for Coburg next week. In saying that, he has not been proven useless, and has been pretty good in a majority of our games.
Dear Optimists,
How do you rate our improvements, re: Skills?
Skills are still shit at times, but only at times. These occasions will be fewer and more far between as our boys gain experience.
The Dice Man
7 Jun 2008, 21:48
(1) Yes I can honestly say that. Thursfield is still a gun
Looked very avergae to me this year.
, Deledio has improved markedly,
Agreed.
Riewoldt has improved
Agreed, needs and deserves more game time.
Cotchin now plays for Richmond
No Brainer... the guy is a Rolls Royce!
Edwards is getting game time and, while he's been quiet, showed what he's capable of against Essendon.
Love this guy, has a massive future.
Some will disagree, but I would say Schulz has improved in his new role. People will also disagree that Tambling has improved, but he has.
Agree with that too.
(2) I assume you're talking about McMahon. He was shit today, should be playing for Coburg next week. In saying that, he has not been proven useless, and has been pretty good in a majority of our games.
Nah was talking about Bulldog fans opion on Wallace actually.
If you're saying that Wallace is shit, I would've thought that that post is a bit of an oxymoron.
Exactly. If you can't see the improvement from 2007 then you are blind/dumb or just being a try hard.
Wow, we cannot play 4 quarters with such a young side. That first half was good. Our midfield will be great in a couple of years and when players like Tivendale and Petts (Bowden is fine) are out for good, then we should all be happy and who will all you numnuts bag?
I have a dream.
That Richmond supporters sign on and get this club humming again.
If the players aren't there yet ,we can build this club up.
The more members,the better draws we will get,the more exposure.
The only way is to get this club into a giant again.
I'm sick of the media making excuses when Essendon get pumped then in the same breath ,throw us to the sword.
Let's stick it up the whole lot of em by getting our membership up and making this club big again.
Negativity and throwing in the towel does nothing but hurt to this club.
Yes,I have a dream.
Bojangles17
7 Jun 2008, 23:30
like sante , tigertroy etc....put a positive spin on that bullshit.....
ummm, ok, I guess the result tells us we're not a top 4 side:eek:
The Dice Man
7 Jun 2008, 23:30
I have a dream.
I'm sick of the media making excuses when Essendon get pumped then in the same breath ,throw us to the sword.
Let's stick it up the whole lot of em by getting our membership up and making this club big again.
Yes,I have a dream.
Neville Crowe-1988? :o
deliberate!!
7 Jun 2008, 23:42
Exactly. If you can't see the improvement from 2007 then you are blind/dumb or just being a try hard.
Wow, we cannot play 4 quarters with such a young side. That first half was good. Our midfield will be great in a couple of years and when players like Tivendale and Petts (Bowden is fine) are out for good, then we should all be happy and who will all you numnuts bag?
No......where? Where's the improvement?
You take illicit drugs...right?
We are shit.....You are deluded........as usual.
No......where? Where's the improvement?
You take illicit drugs...right?
We are shit.....You are deluded........as usual.
And you're a fat feral Richmond man who enjoys being a negative ____wit, just like all the other negative wankers on this board. I hope we don't win a premiership while you old farts are still living because you don't deserve to see one.
Seriously, do you believe we are no better than 2007?
Sausage roll
7 Jun 2008, 23:53
And you're a fat feral Richmond man who enjoys being a negative ____wit, just like all the other negative wankers on this board. I hope we don't win a premiership while you old farts are still living because you don't deserve to see one.
Seriously, do you believe we are no better than 2007?
NO!
We have gone backwards when you consider we have hardly had an injury( unlike last year!) and have beaton three really poor sides with our full strength list.
No , we have gone backwards!
NO!
We have gone backwards when you consider we have hardly had an injury( unlike last year!) and have beaton three really poor sides with our full strength list.
No , we have gone backwards!
What a crap opinion you have. :thumbsu:
For ____s sake. When will people realise: last year, nobody was worse than us. NOBODY. Now, we can 'only beat the shit teams'. Make up your minds, if we won the premiership this year you'd say it was down to all other 15 teams having injuries or some bullshit.
I'd love to know what they want to see us as a club do?
The Dice Man
8 Jun 2008, 00:06
I hope we don't win a premiership while you old farts are still living because you don't deserve to see one.
And you think other supporters are being negative??? :eek:
____ that... Us older supporters deserve one far more than you young upstarts... We beeen putting up with 3 decaeds of this bullshit... THREEE ____ING DECADES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Seriously, do you believe we are no better than 2007?Not really. Other teams have got worse. We havent improved any more than Carlton (Excuse me while I throw up), but thats the truth.
Our skills are simply embarrassing.
like sante , tigertroy etc....put a positive spin on that bullshit.....tell us how we're improving... better than last year..why Wallace should see out his contract...how over the hill hacks like Tivendale deserve to be rewarded for VFL performances ....c'mon all you shiny happy people... I and I'm sure all the other "negative nelly's who hate the club" could do with some comedy relief right now...:o
I would say that today was a defining moment in our season. that's it for me, it is 2008 and we still have no credibility as a competitive AFL side.
We are a little better than last year, that is obvious but we are only better because we have no injuries and we are getting some improvement from a few of the younger guys.
The major issue is that we need to improve at a much greater rate. The "experienced" players that are in the 22 do not offer a rate of improvement that will get us anywhere near being a credible top 8 side.
We know what we will get from McMahon, Tivendale, Simmonds, Bowden, Petts, Polak etc etc.
What we don't know is where the huge spike in improvement will come from Connors, Hughes, Polo, Meyer, Casserly, Graham etc etc
Now maybe these kids cannot play - but we just don't know yet but the Hawks, the Bulldogs, Magpies and even Roos and Crows do because their kids are taking them into the top half dozen sides in the AFL.
I'm not saying we drop our decent senior players - we all know who needs to be stamped with "Never to play again" on their AFL passport.
Get them out now, admit your mistakes and move on. From this point forward, we need to find out what young, inexperienced players will be on our list in 3 years time.
So I agree - today showed enough is enough at some point everyone has to face up to the reality - the club and the supporters.
My issue with is your attack on our own supporters - to be frank I think it is a scumbag who behaves like that.
Say what you think, man it is a free country - disagree with what people have to say - but stop playing the man, to quote the Hawk coach, it ain't sociable football.
Not really. Other teams have got worse. We havent improved any more than Carlton (Excuse me while I throw up), but thats the truth.
Our skills are simply embarrassing.
Thats the negative attitude again. Like JSFish or someone said before, when we win a flag, it'll be because everyone else was injury hit etc. :rolleyes:
richcogs
8 Jun 2008, 00:29
I enjoy every week I sit till thee end, I wait for the play, I look for hope...it can always be found. But I feel I'm wasting too much time, I love all too much. Richmond has sucked me in hook, line and sinker. It's getting painful, they only ever show glimpses of potential. I don't believe Terry is that great a coach. The main thing a good coach achieves is always getting the best out of his players and it's fair to say after 4 YEARS he doesn't do that. I don't think he's a bad tactitician of the game, but he doesn't get it out of them like a Roo's or Mathews. A great coach equals some sought of success.
And in the end our list management has not been all that good. We don't ever have a great proportion of talls, smalls and mids.
I hope..
we play the kids..and thats all a man can hope for!
The Dice Man
8 Jun 2008, 00:30
Thats the negative attitude again. Like JSFish or someone said before, when we win a flag, it'll be because everyone else was injury hit etc. :rolleyes:
When we win a flag... WHEN WE WIN A FLAG???
WHEN WE WIN A FLAG???
Are you ____ing kidding?
What is this 'When crap?
Terry Tan
8 Jun 2008, 00:31
what Flag are you envisioning????? We are eons away from Finals footy let alone contending for a Flag.
Can you ever imagine Tivendale, Pettifer, McMahon, Bowden, Pattison, Tuck being premiership players?????!
deliberate!!
8 Jun 2008, 00:34
Hey Sante.....
A positive attitude NEVER, EVER won a flag.
Skill, Hard Work, Team Work, A Decent Coach and RESULTS did.
I know you're slow and stupid but try reading the bold text until it sinks into your tiny mind.
Have patience, you will understand it one day....probably the same day your nads drop!!
:rolleyes:
lmao
tigers_of_old_08
8 Jun 2008, 00:36
I have a dream.
Yes,I have a dream.
Good post :thumbsu: - I LMAO at muppets like mario and the sausage who consistently bag the club and the players - we are ground level supporters and we should show the type of support expected from us!
Go Tigers
When we win a flag... WHEN WE WIN A FLAG???
WHEN WE WIN A FLAG???
Are you ____ing kidding?
What is this 'When crap?
what Flag are you envisioning????? We are eons away from Finals footy let alone contending for a Flag.
Can you ever imagine Tivendale, Pettifer, McMahon, Bowden, Pattison, Tuck being premiership players?????!
Hey Sante.....
A positive attitude NEVER, EVER won a flag.
Skill, Hard Work, Team Work, A Decent Coach and RESULTS did.
I know you're slow and stupid but try reading the bold text until it sinks into your tiny mind.
Have patience, you will understand it one day....probably the same day your nads drop!!
lmao
G'day boys, how are we all?
Now, are you three suggesting that in the rest of this football club's history, another premiership will never be won? Ever? Because, right now you guys are pissed because our team has played shit two weeks running, the club will never, ever win a flag again?
Mario Speedwagon
8 Jun 2008, 02:34
Now, are you three suggesting that in the rest of this football club's history, another premiership will never be won? Ever? Because, right now you guys are pissed because our team has played shit two weeks running, the club will never, ever win a flag again?
I'd like us to win one or two before Hawthorn win their 10th & 11th...and right now it's looking pretty grim. Imagine those pricks when they equal us ...or worse overtake us...that's one reason why , for the sake of this club's pride and history and standing in the competition , I don't believe we have "all the time in the world".
deliberate!!
8 Jun 2008, 02:45
Our team has played shit for 28 years !!!
Welcome to Earth JSFish.
TigerTroy0055
8 Jun 2008, 05:14
Nice try with the grammar police routine..a sure sign of a failing argument when you rely on that shit...In the words of William Shatner "comp."short. for. "competition".full stop.valid.you.... fail.:o
As for your other point...we won 3 1/2 games in half a season last year too...the second half if I recall...and answer me this...have any of this years' performances so far against quality opposition been on a par with last year's victory over Collingwood?
Last years win and it was a great win against Collingwood was in about round 19 Mario , I have the faith in the Tigers because of round 17- 22 in 2007 , you should too. Didn't any one notice we have next to no injury's this year. Its called a football season.
TigerTroy0055
8 Jun 2008, 05:16
I'd like us to win one or two before Hawthorn win their 10th & 11th...and right now it's looking pretty grim. Imagine those pricks when they equal us ...or worse overtake us...that's one reason why , for the sake of this club's pride and history and standing in the competition , I don't believe we have "all the time in the world".
You watch Armageddon again dick head! Its only a movie
Our team has played shit for 28 years !!!
Welcome to Earth JSFish.
So in your view, will this club ever, in it's history, win another flag?