View Full Version : Let the Tank begin
No chance of making the eight now..... lets get a top 3 pick.
Hopefully the ruckman. lol watch the carlton supporters swarm...
wouldnt mind Watts either.
Yep priority pick is looking good right about now. Need some more short term pain for at least some hope of a future.
Coach_Required
7 Jun 2008, 18:37
Have never beleived in this before, always thought we should be trying to win, to instill a winning attitude, well that hasnt worked.
I'm with you Nut as painstaking it is, whats the point in winning this year when it is clear we still have players on our list that will not take us to finals glory, we are better off replacing them with the best available talent instead of almost best talent.
I even admit to knocking Carlton last year, but what the hell they did it to us why dont we do it to Melbourne, West Coast and Freo ??
Natanui or Rich come on down. :thumbsu:
richoatthedisco
7 Jun 2008, 18:38
Turn it up. We've still got games against Melbourne (2), Carlton & Essendon. And West Coast, who are tanking. We'll finish 10-12th.
Coach_Required
7 Jun 2008, 18:39
Turn it up. We've still got games against Melbourne (2), Carlton & Essendon. And West Coast, who are tanking. We'll finish 10-12th.
Play our senior blokes and we will never win.
It's check mate :thumbsu:
Realistic Tiger
7 Jun 2008, 18:39
Only problem with this idea Nut, is you're assuming Richmond is a good team who needs to tank to lose.
richcogs
7 Jun 2008, 18:43
I don't care...but it would be nice having Rich and Natuatui. Just play Collins, Connors, Riewoldt and Hughes. ALso get Collard in there and Morton!
Only problem with this idea Nut, is you're assuming Richmond is a good team who needs to tank to lose.
I think we started tanking today... Foley in the Forward line when we were getting smashed in the middle in the last quarter? ? ?
richcogs
7 Jun 2008, 18:45
If we win 1 more game will we lose the priority pick?
itsintheblood
7 Jun 2008, 18:49
I was howelled down 3 weeks ago when I said we needed more high picks. Funny how everyone has jumped on board now. Apologies accepted.
Coach_Required
7 Jun 2008, 18:51
I was howelled down 3 weeks ago when I said we needed more high picks. Funny how everyone has no jumped on board now. Apologies accepted.
Now worries IITB,
Look at it more like:
You threw a small pebble off the top of a mountain and its now starting to gather momenteum
HobarTiger
7 Jun 2008, 18:53
Exactly! You have hit the nail on the head RT. Returning Tivendale and Pettifer to the line-up has taken us back to the inglorious days of 2007. I hope Wallace has finally woken up and smelt the roses. We can't win whether we play the senior players or the kids so what is better for the Club going forward...play the kids!
Senior games into the kids and possibly the bonus of priority picks at the end of it.
Today was a must win game and yet again the senior players failed to produce. At least the kids have the excuse of lack of experience, smaller bodies and still developing fitness.
Its time to get games or more games into Connors Collins Morton Riewoldt Polo Hughes & Rance. Stuff earning a game in the Burgers, all we will see is the likes of Hyde and Tivendale cycling in and out of the team.
itsintheblood
7 Jun 2008, 18:56
Now worries IITB,
Look at it more like:
You threw a small pebble off the top of a mountain and its now starting to gather momenteum
Proof is in the pudding after today. White, pettifer, tuck, tivendale, hyde, polak, mcmahon, ALL RUBBISH and not up to AFL standard. Tambling is a real worry. Pulled out of a lot of contests today. A bit of a squib im afraid.
Hopefully the ruckman. lol watch the carlton supporters swarm...
wouldnt mind Watts either.
Your form has been pretty good you just haven't had the wins to show it. You have had a bad couple of weeks but it's not all grey skies. Cotchin is a deadset gun :thumbsu:.
Coach_Required
7 Jun 2008, 19:03
Proof is in the pudding after today. White, pettifer, tuck, tivendale, hyde, polak, mcmahon, ALL RUBBISH and not up to AFL standard. Tambling is a real worry. Pulled out of a lot of contests today. A bit of a squib im afraid.
No point preaching to someone who is already converted IITB, I agree 100% on all points.
Tambling is heading down the dare I say it Aaron Fiora road. :mad:
beaver fever
7 Jun 2008, 19:10
Wallace is dead if we do not win more games, so unfortunately we will play pettifer, hyde, tivendale and bowden against the bottom sides and win. At the end of the day its his head or richmond's long term future and I'm pretty sure I know which one he will choose.
If this club is serious about long-term success we need to turn over 10 players minimum and aggressively trade our players.
Delist: Hyde, Tivendale, Johnson, Jackson, Bowden, Pettifer, Howat, Silvestor, Cartledge
Trade: McMahon, Polak, Simmonds, Newman, Brown
I would even look to see what we can get for Edwards, Hughes and Pattison.
beaver fever
7 Jun 2008, 19:11
No tambling is fine, he needs to work on his polish, but he is very good in contested situations.
krustyman
7 Jun 2008, 19:11
Needs athletic KPP like franklin and a ruck, but it wont happen as long as wallace is around. he clearly prefer the 190-192 cm one and the small
flankers.
No use relying on the draft its pot luck, its not often you get one good out of the box and some take too long to develop into a borderline average player. Wallace has had 2 stabs at the draft already.
beaver fever
7 Jun 2008, 19:14
Needs athletic KPP like franklin and a ruck, but it wont happen as long as wallace is around. he clearly prefer the 190-192 cm one and the small
flankers.
No use relying on the draft its pot luck, its not often you get one good out of the box and some take too long to develop into a borderline average player. Wallace has had 2 stabs at the draft already.
Krusty you are an idiot.
thommo_05
7 Jun 2008, 19:23
Wallace is dead if we do not win more games, so unfortunately we will play pettifer, hyde, tivendale and bowden against the bottom sides and win. At the end of the day its his head or richmond's long term future and I'm pretty sure I know which one he will choose.
If this club is serious about long-term success we need to turn over 10 players minimum and aggressively trade our players.
Delist: Hyde, Tivendale, Johnson, Jackson, Bowden, Pettifer, Howat, Silvestor, Cartledge
Some of the delistings are fair enough but looking at the rest of it, I'm glad you have nothing to do with the running of the footy club.
beaver fever
7 Jun 2008, 19:31
Some of the delistings are fair enough but looking at the rest of it, I'm glad you have nothing to do with the running of the footy club.
Really well who of the players that I mentioned should we keep? Perhaps Newman was the most extreme but if you want anything in return you have to trade players with some quality. Duds like pettifer, tivendale, hyde are worth nothing.
Madtiger2006
7 Jun 2008, 20:16
Drop Tivendale, Bowden, Pettifer, Polak and bring in Reiwoldt, Hughes, Polo, Jackson. Time to play for the future and hopefully we lose 10 games in a row by an average losing margin of 2 goals. We need Natanui because Simmonds is nearly finished. I'm all for tanking now. It's the only way we will get somewhere this season :thumbsu:
scarecrow2k1
7 Jun 2008, 20:37
Never tank. Hawthorn showed in...05 I think it was when they had a poor start to the season but tried their hardest at the end and got a few wins, got momentum and the rest is history
beaver fever
7 Jun 2008, 21:49
Never tank. Hawthorn showed in...05 I think it was when they had a poor start to the season but tried their hardest at the end and got a few wins, got momentum and the rest is history
They ended up with 2 of the first 6 picks:confused:
the ranger
7 Jun 2008, 22:35
Don't you dare, Richmond.
After all the crap we gave Carlton supporters, we CAN NOT tank this year. Play out the year, win our 7 or 8 games and keep on improving. We'll still get 6th or 7th pick to add to our team:
2001#8 James Bartel #17 James Kelly
2002 #7 Andrew Mackie
2003 #7 Kane Tenace
2004 Traded picks #12 and #16 for Brad Ottens
2005 #15 Travis Varcoe
2006 #7 Joel Selwood
We don't need top five picks.
Coach_Required
7 Jun 2008, 22:43
After all the crap we gave Carlton supporters, we CAN NOT tank this year. Play out the year, win our 7 or 8 games and keep on improving. We'll still get 6th or 7th pick to add to our team:
2002 #7 Andrew Mackie
2003 #7 Kane Tenace
2005 #15 Travis Varcoe
2006 #7 Joel Selwood
Pick 1 and pick 4/5
I know what I'd prefer :thumbsu:
the ranger
7 Jun 2008, 22:53
Pick 1 and pick 4/5
I know what I'd prefer :thumbsu:
You're a loser.
I'd prefer to earn some respect this season and go into next season with some confidence.
beaver fever
7 Jun 2008, 23:08
You're a loser.
I'd prefer to earn some respect this season and go into next season with some confidence.
Earn respect by beating Melbourne and Essendon? The only way this club can earn respect is to beat good sides and play finals. We can't do that with our list, it is a shambles.
I'd much prefer we drop all the proven hacks that have shown time and time again they are not up to it, and start to play our youngsters and see which of them are AFL footballers. In the process we can get 3 picks in the top 20 and continue to add class players to our list. We may need to say goodbye to our coach to do this because he is more concerned with bringing hacks like mcmahon to our club to win a couple more games then build a list capable of winning a premiership.
the ranger
7 Jun 2008, 23:32
Earn respect by beating Melbourne and Essendon? The only way this club can earn respect is to beat good sides and play finals. We can't do that with our list, it is a shambles.
I'd much prefer we drop all the proven hacks that have shown time and time again they are not up to it, and start to play our youngsters and see which of them are AFL footballers. In the process we can get 3 picks in the top 20 and continue to add class players to our list. We may need to say goodbye to our coach to do this because he is more concerned with bringing hacks like mcmahon to our club to win a couple more games then build a list capable of winning a premiership.
You do realise there are a few steps in between being crap and beating the "good sides". Compare the list to our 2004 list. Is it improving? Is it not vastly better? Really, just compare the lists and tell me that we are not getting somewhere.
scarecrow2k1
7 Jun 2008, 23:36
They ended up with 2 of the first 6 picks:confused:
Got my years wrong. 2006- won their last 4 games to finish in 11th place. Could have tanked for picks but didn't, and they developed a winning culture. We should be trying the same. We've had years and years of bottom place finishes and its gotten us no where, why is it going to help now?
richoatthedisco
7 Jun 2008, 23:45
You do realise there are a few steps in between being crap and beating the "good sides". Compare the list to our 2004 list. Is it improving? Is it not vastly better? Really, just compare the lists and tell me that we are not getting somewhere.
Well, let's see... I don't have the 2004 list to hand but of the 08 mob:
Newman - worse player than he was in 04
Polak - hack
Riewoldt - young, overrated, overhyped, probable hack
Bowden - not as good as 04
McMahon - hack
Polo - who? where is he?
Pettifer - still a girl. still on the list.
McGuane - hack
Johnson - Captain Hack
Tuck - hack
Meyer - injured hack
Jacko - maybe a hack, maybe not
JON - probably a hack
Tambo - Not Franklin
Hyde - hack
Tiv - hack
Hughes - pretty boy hack
White - hack
Casserley - see Meyer
Collins - jockey
Graham - hack
King - see Tim Flemming
So that's 12 confirmed and 3 probable hacks, one jockey, one Tim Flemming, one Not Franklin, a disappearing act, two blokes who have gone backwards and a Pettifer in a pear tree.
Yeah, we're in great shape.
the ranger
7 Jun 2008, 23:47
Polak - hack
McMahon - hack
Polo - who? where is he?
McGuane - hack
Johnson - Captain Hack
Tuck - hack
Meyer - injured hack
JON - probably a hack
Tambo - Not Franklin
Hyde - hack
Tiv - hack
Hughes - pretty boy hack
White - hack
Casserley - see Meyer
Collins - jockey
Graham - hack
King - see Tim Flemming
So that's 12 confirmed and 3 probable hacks, one jockey, one Tim Flemming, one Not Franklin, a disappearing act, two blokes who have gone backwards and a Pettifer in a pear tree.
Tell us what you think about the other half of the list.
richoatthedisco
8 Jun 2008, 00:03
Tell us what you think about the other half of the list.
Righto.
Thursfield - good spoiler but no Scarlett. Hey Will, here's a protein shake. I like him though.
Deledio - getting better, getting tougher. Now run boy run!
Raines - I generously left him off the hack list. He might yet prove me wrong.
Simmo - good
Brown - gun but also not as good as he was a few years ago. Why haven't we sued Telstra Dome?
Cotchin - with Richo and Knights, the best teenager I've seen at Richmond.
Edwards - good but another jockey
Richo - see Samson (except haircuts don't hurt him), Achilles, Atlas, Hercules. Let's hope he's got a bit of Methusala in him too.
Rance - we'll see
Putt - ditto
Morton - better than Pettifer
Cogs - champ, if he ever plays again
Schulz - good
Patto - big lug, big heart
Gourdis - we'll see
Connors - loads of talent
Moore - most improved
Foley - champ
Rookies -
Howat - hack
Sylvester - hack
Cartledge - better than Graham
Collard - we'll see
So what's that? Two champs, one of whom hasn't played since Jack Dyer was in short pants, one Great White Cotchin, Please Please Deledio, a couple or three good players - one of whom rode the winner of the third at Randwick - plenty of wait and see's, a few more hacks and Richo, who's 4 years older than he was 4 years ago.
How'd I do?
the ranger
8 Jun 2008, 00:31
Righto.
Thursfield - good spoiler but no Scarlett. Hey Will, here's a protein shake. I like him though.
Deledio - getting better, getting tougher. Now run boy run!
Raines - I generously left him off the hack list. He might yet prove me wrong.
Simmo - good
Brown - gun but also not as good as he was a few years ago. Why haven't we sued Telstra Dome?
Cotchin - with Richo and Knights, the best teenager I've seen at Richmond.
Edwards - good but another jockey
Richo - see Samson (except haircuts don't hurt him), Achilles, Atlas, Hercules. Let's hope he's got a bit of Methusala in him too.
Rance - we'll see
Putt - ditto
Morton - better than Pettifer
Cogs - champ, if he ever plays again
Schulz - good
Patto - big lug, big heart
Gourdis - we'll see
Connors - loads of talent
Moore - most improved
Foley - champ
Rookies -
Howat - hack
Sylvester - hack
Cartledge - better than Graham
Collard - we'll see
So what's that? Two champs, one of whom hasn't played since Jack Dyer was in short pants, one Great White Cotchin, Please Please Deledio, a couple or three good players - one of whom rode the winner of the third at Randwick - plenty of wait and see's, a few more hacks and Richo, who's 4 years older than he was 4 years ago.
How'd I do?
I dunno. I sense some optimism in that list. What did we have four years ago? Even in your words, there's potential for a pretty good team there. We're not there yet, but surely you agree that we're looking better than we have for a while? Have you had such hope for so many tigers in the last 25 years?
Looking in from outside, the future does not look good. I have criticised tanking in the past but the AFL condones it and I think you should go for it.
You have a great opportunity this year that will not come again for at least 5 years - lose every game and you get pick 1 plus probably 3 or 4, depending on how well Melbourne, Freo and Essendon go (and I bet they will all be tanking).
The biggest problem is Terry Wallace - not smart enough to see the benefit of tanking and probably too selfish to put the club first anyway.
Sack him now - appoint a fill-in who will lose, then get a Sheedy or someone next year to market the club and Natanui and watch the membership numbers soar and the kids develop. Then in two years time you will have hope - which is a lot more than you have now, and a lot more than another 2 or 3 wins this year wil get you.
Losing to Melbourne twice could prove to be very difficult.....
richoatthedisco
8 Jun 2008, 00:46
Have you had such hope for so many tigers in the last 25 years?
Every f__kin year mate.
SolidTiger
8 Jun 2008, 01:14
Polak - hack
McMahon - hack
Polo - who? where is he?
McGuane - hack
Johnson - Captain Hack
Tuck - hack
Meyer - injured hack
JON - probably a hack
Tambo - Not Franklin
Hyde - hack
Tiv - hack
Hughes - pretty boy hack
White - hack
Casserley - see Meyer
Collins - jockey
Graham - hack
King - see Tim Flemming
You forgot the biggest hack of the lot....Wallace.
richoatthedisco
8 Jun 2008, 02:52
You forgot the biggest hack of the lot....Wallace.
Quite right.
I think we started tanking today... Foley in the Forward line when we were getting smashed in the middle in the last quarter? ? ?
WTF was that about?
I couldnt figure that out when i saw it
Fk me
2002 #7 Andrew Mackie
2003 #7 Kane Tenace
2005 #15 Travis Varcoe
2006 #7 Joel Selwood
Yeah, we couldn't use another Cotchin could we?
You've got no clue mate
the ranger
8 Jun 2008, 06:20
Yeah, we couldn't use another Cotchin could we?
You've got no clue mate
We can get a player with whatever first pick we get. Draft smart and we can get a future star at pick #6 or #7. Play out the season and don't even think of tanking. Look at Carlton. I've heard whispers from their fans about giving up on this year and looking at the draft. It's a cancer.
tigers_of_old_08
8 Jun 2008, 07:46
Save your breath Ranger, youre talking to a bunch of muppets. Theyre a flippant bunch of numb nuts who live a McDonalds mentality, children who cry, stomp and panic if they cant have something immediately.
Our club is improving - just not at the speed a certain group of 'supporters' expect.
tigerbelly
8 Jun 2008, 09:30
Exactly! You have hit the nail on the head RT. Returning Tivendale and Pettifer to the line-up has taken us back to the inglorious days of 2007. I hope Wallace has finally woken up and smelt the roses. We can't win whether we play the senior players or the kids so what is better for the Club going forward...play the kids!
Senior games into the kids and possibly the bonus of priority picks at the end of it.
Today was a must win game and yet again the senior players failed to produce. At least the kids have the excuse of lack of experience, smaller bodies and still developing fitness.
Its time to get games or more games into Connors Collins Morton Riewoldt Polo Hughes & Rance. Stuff earning a game in the Burgers, all we will see is the likes of Hyde and Tivendale cycling in and out of the team.
Precisely
richcogs
8 Jun 2008, 10:42
Richoatthedisco I don't think Matt White should be put on hack list, he's got a lot of improvement in him. But otherwise not too bad. Polak mark my words is not an AFL in this day and age. Basically we've wasted potential development there and Selwood > McMahon. We should put a ban on recruiting Dogs and I don't believe trading Brown is such a bad idea if we can get 2 first round picks. I mean he only has another 3 or so years.
t_bond_legend
8 Jun 2008, 12:40
Hold on. What? Simmonds? Newman? Brown?
???
Are you kidding me?
Simmonds has been in excellent form. Yeah, so what if he's been down last couple of weeks; he may not be the best tap ruckman but what he does around the ground is excellent. He can gather the ball at ground level, he's athletic and pop up here and there to kick goals. Sure he's no Dean Cox, but have a look at all the other ruckmen in the competition.
Newman, dare I say it, provides some run from our backline and his decision making is fairly good. Yeah it's kinda irritating how the commentators reckon his decision making is godlike and flawless every time but he's a great defender although he can be loose at times.
Brown; he's a magician. Woulda won the Brownlow if he didn't break his leg. He's coming off a severe injury and is showing signs of returning to his best. Enough said.
But yes, Pettifer's 'handy' if anything and pops up to kick a couple of goals a game but we need more than that. He's lazy at times and doesn't do the team thing e.g. having a shot 50 meters out from the boundary. Even though he nailed it; it just shows he's not disciplined.
Polak... what is there to say? I was optimistic when he came to our club. Another tall that could play in defence AND attack. Hoping he would become like an Adam Hunter. But he hasn't. He can't kick, he's not agile. Only thing he's got going for him is his great set of hands and he's willing to put his body on the line.
Joel Bowden. He's much maligned by the supporters. I mean, he's not the WORST of the lot. Sure, his glory days are over (Dual B&F, Dual All-Australian) but he's still a solid contributor to the team. Provides an option up forward; creates plays etc. He has no way near been the worst out of the 22 players.
Greg Tivdendale - Dropped. For good. He's too slow, turns the ball over too much. Dunno what's happened to his kicking but if you look back in the years, his left foot was renowned for its penetration and accuracy.
Jordan McMahon is an absolute dropkick. They say he was brought over to the Tigers cause he could 'hit targets'. Is TW blind or just a f***ing idiot? I reckon he's hit about HALF his targets this year and if that's acceptable then I don't know what on earth TW is still doing there; along with the whole Richmond board.
Chris Hyde should be delisted or played in an entirely new role altogether. I mean, TW plays him as a tagger. He's tagged Gary Ablett, Adam Goodes etc and he's been absolutely obliterated and can't touch the ball himself as well. I still remember the game against Geelong at Skilled Stadium a couple of years back where he booted 4 goals and had 20 odd touches; the gamebreaker for Richmond. And now, I just dunno what he's been doing or how TW has been developing him but his tagger role is just ridiculous.
Now as much as I love Jake King, he needs to tighten up on his man AND give away less free kicks. I hate it when I look at games and see him giving away 3 or 4 free kicks in a game; especially in his OWN defensive 50. Sure it's okay to take risks but just don't give away as many free kicks when you do so.
Kelvin Moore is going okay... I guess.
Shane Tuck had a pretty good game I reckon. Won the hard ball, is willing to put his head over the ball and put his body on the line etc. but needs to be a bit more consistent and accountable.
Now on the positive side, Deledio is rolling along nicely but I'd like to see him just sprint through the middle of the ground past 3 players, handball it off, receive it back and kick a goal. Other than that, he's been able to find the ball consistently in the midfield and can go forward and kick a goal or two.
Cotchin; what more can I say? Kid's a freak. Does the hard work, gets his own ball, can kick a goal. He's just an excitement machine and in only his 4th game, dare I say it, has been one of the better players.
Just to end my rant, I don't think Richmond should 'tank'. I mean, we've gotten a young list of players (some very promising; others, not too sure) and it's TW and the board's job to develop them to a level where they are confident enough to perform on the big stage week in, week out.
t_bond_legend
8 Jun 2008, 12:48
Oh and for the record; why was Morton dropped? I rate him as a player, he's been playing solid footy so far this year. I'd like to see Morton have a chance instead of Pettifer.
beaver fever
8 Jun 2008, 13:17
No doubt the list is better, but it is still crap. Crap doesn't win you premierships. The list still has many, many holes in it.
beaver fever
8 Jun 2008, 13:24
t_bond_legend to reply to your queries, those changes I suggested were based upon this club becoming a premiership side. Simmonds, Brown and Bowden won't be around when we are in a position to win a premiership so perhaps trading them can help fix the holes in our list. Only Simmonds really takes away from our list structure, so perhaps we should keep him, but the other two are simply finishers and in a bottom place side, finishers are useless.
On Pettifer, I don't agree, he is a squib.
Notice that you love Cotchin. Wouldn't it be great to add another promising midfielder in Daniel Rich to our side, which can only be achieved through a priority 1st round pick. Means we can't afford to win another game. I'm happy to cop that as long as I see a future, and playing the same old hacks is making me sick.
beaver fever
8 Jun 2008, 13:26
Oh and for the record; why was Morton dropped? I rate him as a player, he's been playing solid footy so far this year. I'd like to see Morton have a chance instead of Pettifer.
Because Pettifer is more experienced and more likely to help us win games. Morton could become better, but we will never know if he is stuck at Coburg, while Pettifer shows off his wonderful circle work.
Mr Illektro
8 Jun 2008, 13:39
The past two weeks the commentators on 3AW have said we have been getting smashed in the ruck. Think about it Greg Miller you gimp.
Coach_Required
8 Jun 2008, 13:50
The past two weeks the commentators on 3AW have said we have been getting smashed in the ruck. Think about it Greg Miller you gimp.
It's doesnt take Einstein to figure it out does it ?
The answer is currently playing Football at a club called Swan Districts.
Mr Illektro
8 Jun 2008, 14:23
It's doesnt take Einstein to figure it out does it ?
The answer is currently playing Football at a club called Swan Districts.
Whether we get Shredder or not, thats the question.
Sausage roll
8 Jun 2008, 15:27
Couldn't agree more.
Let's play our gun top ten draft pick JON centre half back for the rest of the year.
We will be assured of losing and we can dress it up player development!
richoatthedisco
8 Jun 2008, 16:07
Richoatthedisco I don't think Matt White should be put on hack list, he's got a lot of improvement in him.
White is almost certainly a hack. A quick hack who tries his guts out and bleeds for the jumper but a hack nonetheless. No vision, no awareness, average skills. And he's dumb as dogshit.
Madtiger2006
8 Jun 2008, 16:19
White is almost certainly a hack. A quick hack who tries his guts out and bleeds for the jumper but a hack nonetheless. No vision, no awareness, average skills. And he's dumb as dogshit.
He's no hack and he's not dumb. But you would fit that category nicely :)
Where are the people who claimed no-one would bag the kids if we played them. We played White, this is what you get :rolleyes: