View Full Version : Will Goodes go this time?

Pages : [1] 2

ep2006
7 Jun 2008, 20:46
Or will he get let off again?

RUNVS
7 Jun 2008, 20:47

There was nothing in it.

Spikey
7 Jun 2008, 20:47
Could go either way. Will he have past points added onto it?

Stenglein's a Champ!
7 Jun 2008, 20:48
It'll be an interesting one.

His only intention was to hit Selwood though.

Brasher
If he gets off then Brett Burton should be free to play next week.

delirious1
Looked like nothing in it, but who knows

SaintsPremiers08
7 Jun 2008, 20:49
don't really care as long as he gets at least 1....

:D

we got Sydney next week :thumbsu:

The Saintsational Man
The dirty sniper will go for that.

Finally.....hope he enjoys his time on the sidelines.....it's been a long time coming!!!

Rory
He will get off regardless, I haven't seen the incident.

scottyijoe
7 Jun 2008, 20:50
It was a bit worse than the Murphy incident. But not by much. So he'll get weeks. If he doesn't it will cause an uproar.

ep2006

Collected with Selwood's head. Wasn't going for the ball.

deck
He'll cop a 2-3 weeks anything else and the AFL are sending the message that he can do as he likes.

Belnakor
7 Jun 2008, 20:51
Will get off the if your name is goodes and if you play for sydney sub section.

CharlieG
7 Jun 2008, 20:53
If a player who has played 202 games in a row misses a week because of that, I'll have trouble following this game. Would be very, very hard to take it seriously.

moistie
7 Jun 2008, 20:55
Too bad, CharlieG. You mustn't have heard the AFL edict that the game's gone soft.

SaintsPremiers08
7 Jun 2008, 20:55
If a player who has played 202 games in a row misses a week because of that, I'll have trouble following this game. Would be very, very hard to take it seriously.

So just because he's played '202' games in a row it means he can go round belting blokes?

tool..

Rory
7 Jun 2008, 20:57
Too bad, CharlieG. You mustn't have heard the AFL edict that the game's gone soft.

Who cares. He deserves to be rubbed out after being let off so many times previously.

CharlieG
7 Jun 2008, 21:01
So just because he's played '202' games in a row it means he can go round belting blokes?

tool..

He didn't 'belt' anyone. At worst, he bumped into him.

But I know you Saints fans are prone to holding a grudge, so I'll make allowances.

Cousin Jed
7 Jun 2008, 21:03

That's what the MRP will say too

Coughlan
7 Jun 2008, 21:04

tool..
Well they have let him do it for years now

moistie
7 Jun 2008, 21:05
Who cares. He deserves to be rubbed out after being let off so many times previously.
You're not going to get an argument from me. Goodes is the most protected of protected species in the AFL. But the suspension of Burgoyne, McGlynn, Burton, etc, etc can't be argued against. If Goodes gets off I think other clubs should look at legal action.

Jafa
7 Jun 2008, 21:09
Just saw it. If the AFL are fair dinkum about protecting players putting their heads over the ball then he must go - protected species or not.

rizzo
7 Jun 2008, 21:12
Deserves to go. Would be pissed off if he didnt if i was burton and murphy.

Goodes had no intention of going for the ball.

JUBJUB
7 Jun 2008, 21:14
He had plenty of time to avoid it.It looked as though he might've lined Selwood up.

No1SwansFan
7 Jun 2008, 21:14
YES. I would have thought 50/50 before the last couple of weeks but after the soft suspensions lately he will go.

FFB1
7 Jun 2008, 21:15
I'd be more worried about the quality of disposal and basic skill errors that has significantly assisted WC to lead by as much as they are.

weagles_fan
7 Jun 2008, 21:16
Anyone who says he shouldn't go has no idea. Obviously they mustn't have watched AFL this year and seen other players suspended for similar incidents.

MAG87
7 Jun 2008, 21:16
depends if the panel are in a shitty mood.

Deepthroat
7 Jun 2008, 21:21
As a staunch WCE supporter I say nothing at all in it.

He should be fine.

Zvim
7 Jun 2008, 21:22
The ground did it.

RevDog
7 Jun 2008, 21:24
I haven't seen it but is it worse than R Murphy's from last week?

Loyal2Port
7 Jun 2008, 21:25
he will get 3 votes and a gift hamper. this man is untouchable, the eagles player may get weeks for making negligent contact with his hip :)

bus24
7 Jun 2008, 21:26
Typical. Gets the hit done without being too obvious. John Terry like he is. Very snide.

Has a real mean streak doesn't he. Just loses the plot and his brain explosions are becoming more and more common.

Visions
7 Jun 2008, 21:26
Going on recent history he should get a game or two.

But it is Goodes and he has immunity every time he plays.

Brasher
7 Jun 2008, 21:27
I haven't seen it but is it worse than R Murphy's from last week?

Well since Murphy's was IMO a legit old fashioned shirt front, then yes!

Selwood over the ball, clear contact to the head by Goodes hip who it didn't look like was going at the ball....

kingcarey18
7 Jun 2008, 21:37
if goodes gets weeks then so will bartel his was the same last night on lindsay thomas 2 brownlow medal chances rubbed out in the same week

doofdoof
7 Jun 2008, 21:54
He changed course in order to hit the head. Should go.

paolo
7 Jun 2008, 22:05
if he dosent go then burton and murphy are entitled to be filthy with the system

SaintsPremiers08
7 Jun 2008, 22:24
He didn't 'belt' anyone. At worst, he bumped into him.

But I know you Saints fans are prone to holding a grudge, so I'll make allowances.

no, but he has in the past and got away with it..

he is a protected species and if you think not, take your rose coloured glasses off.

sedders
7 Jun 2008, 22:28
lined him up, had no intention of going for the ball, his only intention was to lay his hip into selwoods head

will get off

Armitage2Riewoldt
7 Jun 2008, 22:42
Anyone 5 years ago wouldn't have got anything.

Anyone else now 1-3 weeks.

Goodes, gets off.

Smoky
7 Jun 2008, 22:43
According to the rules... Adam Goodes was headbutted... West Coast you should be ashamed of yourselves.

Goodes will get off, and West Coast will be made to apologise to him.

Its an absolute joke what Goodes continually gets away with, he'll get off.

just a line monkey
7 Jun 2008, 22:48
Soft contact, but intentional. Will get 2 plead guilty and recieve 1

erical
7 Jun 2008, 22:48
goodes will get off because he is Goodsie two shoes and the AFL love the aboriginal blokes in Sydney as they promote the game as indigenous in Northern states.Goodes she become a Muslim then he really could attract all the attention and praise.

Adelaide Hawk
7 Jun 2008, 23:02
Nothing in it. Some of the things Goodes gets reported for is ridiculous.

JKCeagle
7 Jun 2008, 23:31
Absolute dog act, needs to go for 4 weeks at least. :mad:

Just kidding. 1-2 weeks...the simple fact is that head-high contact has been consistently suspendable all season, regardless of whether it was intentional/accidental or in play/off the ball.

If he doesn't get suspended....:eek: :eek: :eek:

swanniez1983
7 Jun 2008, 23:33
If he doesn't get suspended....:eek: :eek: :eek:

BF will go into meltdown ;)

potatomasher
7 Jun 2008, 23:39
Nothing in it. Some of the things Goodes gets reported for is ridiculous.

Just what I thought. It's a soft report, but it's come up at a bad time. If he gets weeks it's purely based on the tribunal's angry mid-season mood.

If he does get off though, it won't be soft. It'll be a dog act, and Goodes was being a dirty sniper, and he is a protected species, and he shouldn't be allowed to play the game, and he is the biggest drain on society there has ever been.

diesel and dust
7 Jun 2008, 23:41
With everyone calling for his blood he won't get a fair trial :p

He needs Tony Mokbel's lawyers ...ohhh hang on.... their argument didn't work :)

Foreign Legion
7 Jun 2008, 23:44
Anyone who says he shouldn't go has no idea. Obviously they mustn't have watched AFL this year and seen other players suspended for similar incidents.

The Legal Argument will be:

Goodes could have reasonably expected Selwood to not fumble the ball.

Selwood fumbled and Goodes bumped him in the head because of the fumble.

...Clear enough for you now?

0 Weeks.

funkyfetlock
7 Jun 2008, 23:44
I agree that Goodes should have been rubbed out on previous occasions but got lucky.

This time though, if judged properly, he should get off or get 1 week at the most.

Joffaboy
7 Jun 2008, 23:45
Sydney Discount.

WCE57
7 Jun 2008, 23:46
Absolutely no chance of Goodes getting suspended.

Swanstar
7 Jun 2008, 23:48
Really stupid thing to do by Goodes ffs he is so frustrating sometimes, wouldnt be surprised if he gets 1-2 weeks.

ssfc0203
7 Jun 2008, 23:53
I can't decide whether or not it was accidental, but i thought he stepped sideways, so I'm not too sure about accidental..

If he does get rubbed out, hopefully the angry pills will be taken in moderation.

Swanstar
7 Jun 2008, 23:55
I can't decide whether or not it was accidental, but i thought he stepped sideways, so I'm not too sure about accidental..

If he does get rubbed out, hopefully the angry pills will be taken in moderation.

I have taken notice that Goodes has been doing that sort of thing at least once per match, when the opposition player has his head over the the ball he has been careless and going in hard for the head-high bump but has usually missed the target...

The Teflon Dean
7 Jun 2008, 23:57

He HAS to.

"The head is sacrosanct" - Andrew Demetriou.

Of course, the rules have never applied before to the AFL's indigenous pinup boy, so I see no reason why they should this time.

Swanstar
7 Jun 2008, 23:59
He HAS to.

"The head is sacrosanct" - Andrew Demetriou.

Of course, the rules have never applied before to the AFL's indigenous pinup boy, so I see no reason why they should this time.

Did you type that with your tin-foil hat on?

The Teflon Dean
8 Jun 2008, 00:00

LOL.

That is an amazing statement coming from a supporter that follows a club that has dished up the most scrappy defensive uninspiring football in the history of the game.

cheros eagles
8 Jun 2008, 00:01
There was nothing in it.
how can you say that it was the same as beau waters last week and he got 2 weeks

goodes = the protected species

apap
8 Jun 2008, 00:04
He should get 3-4 weeks he had no intention of going for the ball.The AFL are pi$$ weak when it come to goodes getting suspended, its the name .

diesel and dust
8 Jun 2008, 00:05
LOL.

That is an amazing statement coming from a supporter that follows a club that has dished up the most scrappy defensive uninspiring football in the history of the game.

i.e winning football :cool:

Seadog
8 Jun 2008, 00:06
Paul Roos reckons Goodes was more disadvantaged than selwood as he had a corky on his hip caused by Selwoods head.

The Teflon Dean
8 Jun 2008, 00:07
i.e winning football :cool:

......with 19 men on the ground.:rolleyes:

Jafa
8 Jun 2008, 00:08
kGOidQOizuE

XxAUSSIE GUNNERxX
8 Jun 2008, 00:08
LOL.

Bit rich coming from a North supporter. did you even watch tonight?? I thought the comeback was pretty inspiring. Arden St. is uninspiring.

Swanstar
8 Jun 2008, 00:10
LOL.

LOL this coming from a supporter that follows a club that has dished up the most pathetic uninispring football in finals in the history of the game.

The Teflon Dean
8 Jun 2008, 00:12
Bit rich coming from a North supporter. did you even watch tonight?? I thought the comeback was pretty inspiring. Arden St. is uninspiring.

Sorry mate, I was still a little bit tired from watching my "uninspiring" club take it right up to the reigning premiers, whilst your mob struggled to get up against a struggling bunch of kids on the rebuild that are 13th on the ladder.

Congratulations on posting quite possibly the most stupid statement on BF for 2008.:thumbsu:

diesel and dust
8 Jun 2008, 00:12
......with 19 men on the ground.:rolleyes:

You need 19 against North..... the gun side everyone fears:rolleyes:

The Teflon Dean
8 Jun 2008, 00:13
You need 19 against North..... the gun side everyone fears:rolleyes:

..............and still you couldn't win.;)

Swanstar
8 Jun 2008, 00:14
Sorry mate, I was still a little bit tired from watching my "uninspiring" club take it right up to the reigning premiers, whilst your mob struggled to get up against a struggling bunch of kids on the rebuild that are 13th on the ladder.

Congratulations on posting quite possibly the most stupid statement on BF for 2008.:thumbsu:

Like your mob in round 1

The Teflon Dean
LOL this coming from a supporter that follows a club that has dished up the most pathetic uninispring football in finals in the history of the game.

I don't follow Sydney.:thumbsu:

diesel and dust
..............and still you couldn't win.;)

Fortunately we didn't need the points as much as your mob does ;)

bomberboy5
8 Jun 2008, 00:16

Brayshaw banked the 10 million yet he was saving ya with? or just like the past 10 years and stealing money from the AFL because you have crap all support?

FWIW on Goodes the slow mo looks worse than the normal shot, seeing the AFL protect the head he will probably go but doesn't look that bad to me, the end result was a nothing.

BUT could have been worse injury wise, so I will say 1-2 weeks.

eddiesmith
8 Jun 2008, 00:20
Any other player- 4 weeks as he should have points carry over from last year when they made sure he wouldnt miss a week

But being Goodes they will claim contact was to the back and not reportable

The Teflon Dean
8 Jun 2008, 00:21
I better have a second look.......

kGOidQOizuE

.................GAWN!

Nothing will get him off this time.

Weak dog act.:thumbsd:

Shanii
8 Jun 2008, 00:21
The contact wasn't that hard but the intent was definitely there. It will be interesting to see how this plays out.

wian
8 Jun 2008, 00:24
he will get off as usual as he is the AFL 's Golden Boy ! :mad:

Cheers

SaintsPremiers08
8 Jun 2008, 00:24
they were saying on the 5th Quarter, Goodes has 70 Carry Over points from last time.

should miss 2/3 IMO

XxAUSSIE GUNNERxX
8 Jun 2008, 00:25
He's definately gone. He has 70 carry over points, so the only way he can get off is if the match review panel throw the charge out and that ain't gonna happen. Shame to see his 202 consecutive games finish.

kingyubbo
8 Jun 2008, 00:27
from the replay it looked like he was just running past when selwood popped his head up.

Swanstar
8 Jun 2008, 00:28
from the replay it looked like he was just running past when selwood popped his head up.

Yep was a side-on hit with his carry points will probably get 2 weeks.

Dudley
8 Jun 2008, 00:31
I think he was unlucky, one of his eyebrow hairs just obscured his vision.

It is not easy having a forest on your lower forehead !

Ricardo
8 Jun 2008, 00:31
Didn't really make much contact but it was head high and intentional and with the carry over points he should get 1-2, much like Mooney, silly thing to do and with points already they both will be gone.

Jafa
8 Jun 2008, 00:32

Looked to me he lined him up at the last moment.

BartBart
Should be 2 weeks + carryover pts = 3 weeks.
Minus one week - Sydney factor
Minus one week - Goodes factor
Minus one week - Consecutive game feel good factor
= throw out case

WynyardCat
He's running parallel with Selwood and more than an arm's length away at the point where Selwood bends over to collect the ball. At this point Goodes clearly should be aware of his duty of care to ensure there is no head high contact.

He almost doesn't even seem to be looking at Selwood, more where he's expecting the ball to be instead.

At worst it's deliberate, at best it's careless. I don't know if he'll go or not, but is it going to take someone becoming a quadraplegic live on national television before players are instantly rubbed out for going anywhere near someone's head in this sort of manner?

lazy
8 Jun 2008, 00:33
I hope he goes just to shut all the girly whingers out there. He could do with a couple of weeks to freshen up.

He deserves a break after winning that game for us:thumbsu: Spectacular player. Ran his guts out tonight.

Dudley
8 Jun 2008, 00:34
Should be 2 weeks + carryover pts = 3 weeks.
Minus one week - Sydney factor
Minus one week - Goodes factor
Minus one week - Consecutive game feel good factor
= throw out case

lucky he did not eye gouge then, no Judd factor applicable !!!!

wce_all_da_way
8 Jun 2008, 00:35
lucky he did not eye gouge then, no Judd factor applicable !!!!

Agree, Judd is a dirty player. ;)

XxAUSSIE GUNNERxX
He's running parallel with Selwood and more than an arm's length away at the point where Selwood bends over to collect the ball. At this point Goodes clearly should be aware of his duty of care to ensure there is no head high contact.

He almost doesn't even seem to be looking at Selwood, more where he's expecting the ball to be instead.

At worst it's deliberate, at best it's careless. I don't know if he'll go or not, but is it going to take someone becoming a quadraplegic live on national television before players are instantly rubbed out for going anywhere near someone's head in this sort of manner?

I wouldn't go that far. He will get suspended, but he came in from the side and the contact wasn't as forceful as Water's last week. It was like he was just running past; but I think he lined him up.

Dudley

I reckon the game would be a great wheelchair sport

No chance of any contact then, seriously, its a mans game

bomberboy5
8 Jun 2008, 00:37
I hope he goes just to shut all the girly whingers out there. He could do with a couple of weeks to freshen up.

He deserves a break after winning that game for us:thumbsu: Spectacular player. Ran his guts out tonight.

hehe I like goodsey and I am not anti sydney b ut maybe it's worth him going for 5 weeks to shut the pricks up on this board hahaha

.Shotties.
8 Jun 2008, 00:39

So...another four points to us then? Suits me.:thumbsu:

lazy
8 Jun 2008, 00:39
hehe I like goodsey and I am not anti sydney b ut maybe it's worth him going for 5 weeks to shut the pricks up on this board hahaha

Was thinking just a couple myself:):D

But the BF meltdown if he gets off would be just as fun to watch :D

Dudley
8 Jun 2008, 00:40
Agree, Judd is a dirty player. ;)

Lol they both are, never attempt to create the play.

I hate players like Judd and Goodes, they are a blight on the game

OH the irony

Swanstar
8 Jun 2008, 00:43
So...another four points to us then? Suits me.:thumbsu:

Don't worry about Teflon Dean he must have a short memory considering his side lost by 5 goals to Essendon!!?

Swanny36
8 Jun 2008, 00:46
he should bloody go, he had no other intention than to connect with the head, absolute stupidity...
yes there was barely any impact but his soul intention was to connect with the head. plus he has 70 carry over points from last time.

XxAUSSIE GUNNERxX
8 Jun 2008, 00:46

Haha. your comeback is that you lost to Geelong. Do you even know what inspiring means. Coming back from 40 points down regardless of the opposition.....inspiring.

Congratulations on posting quite possibly the most stupid statement/comeback on BF for 2008.:thumbsu:

BartBart
8 Jun 2008, 00:47
he should bloody go, he had no other intention than to connect with the head, absolute stupidity...
yes there was barely any impact but his soul intention was to connect with the head. plus he has 70 carry over points from last time.

Agreed - not sure why he keeps doing it though.