View Full Version : Expansion Sheedy - Its time to put Tasmania on the map
It's time to put Tassie on the map
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23828753-19742,00.html
DOES Hawthorn's deal with Tasmania put the state's AFL prospects in jeopardy or keep the dream alive? To me it's a win for the Hawks and for Tassie.
Hawthorn has secured its future and Tasmanians have a link to the game at the highest level.
It was only a decade or so ago a merger was mooted between Hawthorn and Melbourne.
Now the Hawks have taken over Tasmania and, through their facility at Waverley Park, have claimed the eastern belt of Melbourne as well.
Tasmanians should be looking to capitalise on the popularity the Hawks have brought the game and invest in their future.
If it had been my call I would have put a Tasmanian team in the competition instead of Port Adelaide in 1997.
At that time Tassie was probably considered to be not quite ready but with more non-footy people waiting to be converted than Adelaide I would have thought Tasmania was viable.
In effect, a suburb got the nod ahead of a state and that irked Tasmanians. Port is a great club and has got a great history but we can't overlook our island friends.
They do an enormous amount of work in national development and have produced plenty of top-line players.
But you need money in the bank. It's an important bargaining tool when you come to the table in five to 10 years' time.
As it stands, we technically don't have a national competition.
To achieve that we need a team in Tassie and to do that we need to think outside the box. I know it sounds crazy, but they need to start getting memberships now for a club that doesn't exist.
By that I mean having a system whereby Tasmanian people buy memberships and put the money away in a trust.
Then it can never be said Tasmanians can't or won't support their state financially.
Over the next five years there could be $100,000 gathering interest in the bank.
You could build up to 85,000 members and blow the rest of the clubs out of the water.
If I was living in Tasmania and I wanted a team in by 2015 or 2025 I wouldn't hesitate buying a membership every year from now until then.
At least people will know they have tried and fought for what they believe in - what they want.
That they have pledged to make it whether the AFL likes it or not. That they are serious about forging their own identity.
And the first bloke you would get on board is Ian Dicker, because he was the one who turned it around while president at Hawthorn.
Dicker sealed the deal for Waverley and the current administration has continued the good work with the Tasmania deal.
I would also be contacting those involved with the Green Bay Packers in the NFL.
A mere 150,000 people live in the Green Bay area and who would have thought the team could be financially viable, make it to a Superbowl and actually win three.
Despite having a ridiculously small local fan base, the Packers have attracted a cult following across the US and further afield.
I would suck out all the knowledge from them because they have defied the odds to succeed.
We found out through Sydney and the Brisbane Bears that private ownership wasn't the answer.
Gold Coast and West Sydney teams are coming. The problem is going to be finding quality players, filling lists and financing these operations.
We are a freakish sporting nation with four strong football codes. But no matter who is in government we are going to get there with Tasmania one day.
It's our most beautiful state and we need to start locking it in with some forward planning.
Don't hesitate, get the ball rolling now.
The Teflon Dean
8 Jun 2008, 02:28
Go Sheeds, GO TASSIE!
Capitalist
8 Jun 2008, 11:34
shit i hope Power fans don't see that article.....
Cool Cat
8 Jun 2008, 12:03
Lived in Hobart for seven years in the 90s. Coming from a town of similar size (Geelong) I have always been convinced that Tassie could support a club successfully.
However, I found that the biggest thing standing in the way of this happening were the locals. Tasmanians have a bit of an inferiority complex when it comes to things like this and most of my mates just didn't believe that there was the money for it down there. Last time I checked your sponsors don't have to be locally based and a town like Hobart could easily produce 40000+ members (not to mention the north coast if they played games out of Lonny also). God knows there's not a lot else to do down there on a winter's weekend and Tasmanians do love their footy.
Anyway, it seems like whilst they are finally galvanising a little support for the coincept locally the afl is now looking at bigger markets and is content to take Tasmanian support for granted (after all, its not like rugby or soccer are likely to move in there). This is a disgraceful situation as footy is and should be the people's game. Its all very well to grow the brand but if we are denying footy lovers the chance to follow their own club (if it is possible for such a club to be viable) we really have lost sight of what a game of football is all about.
A Tassie club would be a great thing for Tasmania and for all lovers of Aussie Rules.
Father Jack
8 Jun 2008, 12:08
I remember Sheedy having an ad on telly in Tassie during the nineties where he said similar stuff, so he has had this opinion for a while (as he says).
A Living God
8 Jun 2008, 12:54
Lived in Hobart for seven years in the 90s. Coming from a town of similar size (Geelong) I have always been convinced that Tassie could support a club successfully.
The difference between Hobart and Geelong is that Hobart doesn't have a city with a population of 3.6 million an hours drive away.
However, I found that the biggest thing standing in the way of this happening were the locals. Tasmanians have a bit of an inferiority complex when it comes to things like this and most of my mates just didn't believe that there was the money for it down there. Last time I checked your sponsors don't have to be locally based and a town like Hobart could easily produce 40000+ members (not to mention the north coast if they played games out of Lonny also). God knows there's not a lot else to do down there on a winter's weekend and Tasmanians do love their footy.
40,000+ members in Hobart? That is over one in every five people being a member by comparison for Melbourne has one in 12, Adelaide one in 15, Perth one in 18. They would be doing well to get 20,000 members in Hobart.
Cool Cat
8 Jun 2008, 13:20
The difference between Hobart and Geelong is that Hobart doesn't have a city with a population of 3.6 million an hours drive away.
40,000+ members in Hobart? That is over one in every five people being a member by comparison for Melbourne has one in 12, Adelaide one in 15, Perth one in 18. They would be doing well to get 20,000 members in Hobart.
Fair call on the first point, but Geelong doesn't have an extremely parochial state of 500 000 people behind it either.
On the second point, Geelong is the same size as Hobart and, due to its proximity to Melbourne, plenty of locals don't support the Cats. Cats currently have about 35 000 members. There is also not a whole helluvalot to do down there (no offence intended to any Tasmanians - not a great deal to do in Geelong either, but Melbourne is just up the road). Anyone who has lived in Tassie knows how popular footy is there and how passionately proud of their state the locals are. They would pack it out every week, of that I have no doubt.
Incidentally, I think a central plank of establishing such a team woulkd be to give it exclusive access to all of the top local talent, perhaps indefinately. Or at least first call on these players. Tasmanians playing for Tasmania, this would be a key to ensuring that passionate support early on.
However, I found that the biggest thing standing in the way of this happening were the locals. Tasmanians have a bit of an inferiority complex when it comes to things like this and most of my mates just didn't believe that there was the money for it down there. Last time I checked your sponsors don't have to be locally based
Actually, they mostly do. Why else would they buy a corporate box and join coterie groups? Major sponsors no, but that's not where most of your corporate income needs to come from.
Adrian Shelton
8 Jun 2008, 19:25
This is the one thing that i think could unite Tassie footy again, Devils sure havent done that. Imagine the AFL now if the Tassie Devils had come in in 87 instead of the Bears(which would have been a relocated Fitzroy in a few yrs in an ideal world)
With all the money having been spent on upgrading York Park, I doubt they would use anywhere else for their home ground, and with The Mercury starting the AFL bid discussion again this year, I would think there would be a pretty big incentive for the team to be based in Hobart - which would pretty much leave York Park unused for major events.
Azzballz Deluxe
8 Jun 2008, 22:18
I'd absolutley love a club from Tassie joining the comp, but not before the new clubs West Sydney and the Gold Coast. But 19 teams probably isn't gonna happen. So i think maybe Tassie should be looking to lure a struggling melbourne club in the demons (imagine banners reading "Van DemonsLand " or some such :)) or the kanga's.
Btw, do any of you reckon new a 40,000 seater in Hobart is feasible? I suppose they could replace Belly and hold cricket internationals, domestic matches, and maybe hold some wallaby and soceroo matches there. I would have the new Tassie club play 8 at the new Hobart stadium and 3 at Auora. What you guys think?
Alberton_Magpie
8 Jun 2008, 22:52
The only reason why he wanted a Tassie team before Port Adelaide was so that Gavin Wanganeen would stay at Essendon :D
AD, you can't have a 40K stadium in a town of 200K. That's 20% of the population.
People from the North will not drive down every week. A 25K-30K stadium would be perfect.
But it will never happen with Tassie's population being split 50/50 Nth/Sth. Just too hard.
You're having a laugh right?
So 20% of all babies, 20% of all elderly people in nursing homes, and 20% of everyone else in the town is going to pay $150+ to be a member of this club!
LOL!
No way mate - have you heard about the petrol price recently - news flash, its skyrocketing!
Life ain't cheap - and it ain't getting any cheaper.
If they really want a team - prove it - have 40,000 Tasmanians put down $200 each - Which equals $8m.
If they can do that, then maybe I'll start believing what you're saying - but I would seriously doubt there's anyone in Tasmania who's even capable of organising a proper campaign to even raise this membership support and money.
If they had anyone with real spirit and guys maybe they could accomplish something like that - but I'm yet to see any evidence of that.
fairdinkum
9 Jun 2008, 01:52
If they really want a team - prove it - have 40,000 Tasmanians put down $200 each - Which equals $8m.
Do you extend such logic through to discussions regarding the Gold Coast?
bzparkes
9 Jun 2008, 02:31
Not viable in my opinion.
I used to be a supporter for a Tasmanian team but after some soul-searching, I realised that it's just not possible for a long time.
Tasmanians, for a start, are very lazy when it comes to travelling the state. A 40 minute drive would be too far for a lot of people, plus if the team was based in Hobart, Lonnie people probably wouldn't go and vice-versa. Why? Because each city would be shitted off that it didn't get the team. If they played games between both cities, then it could help alleviate the problem but most locals wouldn't want to travel the distance every 2 weeks.
Secondly, and probably most importantly, Tasmania is a very very supportive state of the AFL. I don't know too many people, indeed anyone, who would give up supporting their current team to support a Tasmanian one. Most people would love to see a team in Tas but the general consensus would be that it'd be a cold day in hell before they switched teams.
Ask yourselves, would you switch a team you've supported all your life? A bit different for WA and SA where they have/had a very strong local league but most Tasmanians have grown up supporting the VFL and AFL before anything else. Not much hope for a team hear in the near future I'm afraid.
Father Jack
9 Jun 2008, 09:06
Everyone used to ask me why I went for an interstate team. I couldn't help but point out that ALL the teams were interstate teams as far as we were concerned. It seems that when it comes to footy, Tasmania is a part of Victoria.
Do you extend such logic through to discussions regarding the Gold Coast?
I wonder why no-one else asks this question! AFL are willing to spend money in putting teams in places they aren't wanted (WS and GC), but not interested in a place where there already are supporters.
If they can do that, then maybe I'll start believing what you're saying - but I would seriously doubt there's anyone in Tasmania who's even capable of organising a proper campaign to even raise this membership support and money.
If they had anyone with real spirit and guys maybe they could accomplish something like that - but I'm yet to see any evidence of that.
http://www.tassiefootyteam.com.au
Tasmanians, for a start, are very lazy when it comes to travelling the state. A 40 minute drive would be too far for a lot of people, plus if the team was based in Hobart, Lonnie people probably wouldn't go and vice-versa. Why? Because each city would be shitted off that it didn't get the team. If they played games between both cities, then it could help alleviate the problem but most locals wouldn't want to travel the distance every 2 weeks.
Secondly, and probably most importantly, Tasmania is a very very supportive state of the AFL. I don't know too many people, indeed anyone, who would give up supporting their current team to support a Tasmanian one. Most people would love to see a team in Tas but the general consensus would be that it'd be a cold day in hell before they switched teams.
Ask yourselves, would you switch a team you've supported all your life? A bit different for WA and SA where they have/had a very strong local league but most Tasmanians have grown up supporting the VFL and AFL before anything else. Not much hope for a team hear in the near future I'm afraid.
Pretty much spot on. Driving to the Sunshine Coast from here is nothing, but going less than a hundred km further when driving from Launceston to Hobart is a major road trip in the eyes of a Tasmanian...I used to drive 1 hour from Launceston to Devonport once for regular work, and it seemed like a major chore making the job less viable!
I'm confident we would eventually back the side as a whole state providing we don't make the stupid parochial decisions the Devils have made in the last few years. The big problem is that the AFL wouldn't give us this time frame to make that happen. It's all very well to be the Gold Coast and know you'll get $100m because you're worth $1b in tv rights negotiations, or you've got the SANFL paying your bills like Port Adelaide, but who would back Tassie? And in a vicious circle, if we were financially backed and we all barracked for the team, what's to say we wouldn't draw on 200 years of history and start getting stupidly parochial again, and manage to completely f### it all up regardless...
Cool Cat
9 Jun 2008, 15:46
Tassie exists in a bit of a vacuum, isolated both physically and culturally from the rest of the country in many ways. This is partly a product of it bbeing Big enough to be self-contained but so small that it really escapes notice on the mainland. It is both a good and a bad thing in some ways.
An AFL team would really drag Tassie into the mainstream of Australian society and put it on the map (and the TV) for millions of Australians. Participating in a national endevour such as the AFL would bring a lot of positives for Tasmanians.
Capitalist
9 Jun 2008, 16:11
Not viable in my opinion.
I used to be a supporter for a Tasmanian team but after some soul-searching, I realised that it's just not possible for a long time.
It would only take a generation to change - some people in SA followed VFL teams prior to the crows, i.e Westies fans followed the Dons etc but if your at tasmanian child getting a tasmania team coming around all the time its only a matter of time before they start getting grass roots support
afterall thats what they want in the GC and WS
jackmac7
9 Jun 2008, 19:04
I'd absolutley love a club from Tassie joining the comp, but not before the new clubs West Sydney and the Gold Coast. But 19 teams probably isn't gonna happen. So i think maybe Tassie should be looking to lure a struggling melbourne club in the demons (imagine banners reading "Van DemonsLand " or some such :)) or the kanga's.
Btw, do any of you reckon new a 40,000 seater in Hobart is feasible? I suppose they could replace Belly and hold cricket internationals, domestic matches, and maybe hold some wallaby and soceroo matches there. I would have the new Tassie club play 8 at the new Hobart stadium and 3 at Auora. What you guys think?
That would be Awesome. A 40,000 seat stadium that would have to be a dome in Hobart because of the cool climate. Tassie Gov would invest in a quality long term indoor stadium in downtown Hobart.
I would be taking the car on the spirit across the ocean to watch my team play in Hobart against Tassie in a hostile environment. Would make for a good away trip.:thumbsu:
Tassie exists in a bit of a vacuum, isolated both physically and culturally from the rest of the country in many ways. This is partly a product of it bbeing Big enough to be self-contained but so small that it really escapes notice on the mainland. It is both a good and a bad thing in some ways.
An AFL team would really drag Tassie into the mainstream of Australian society and put it on the map (and the TV) for millions of Australians. Participating in a national endevour such as the AFL would bring a lot of positives for Tasmanians.
I don't know too much about the details of the Hawthorn thing .
But I see the most logical progression is th upgrading of this relationship .
I don't know too much about the details of the Hawthorn thing .
But I see the most logical progression is th upgrading of this relationship .
We're talking about a partnership that generates 8-10% of the clubs revenue and membership. If and when the mix gets up to 50-60% (40,000 Tasmanian members and 35m in revenue from Tasmania alone) then we can talk about logical progressions :thumbsu:
Until then, representing 4,000 (out of 41,000 members) and $3m (out of 35m+) isnt going to cut the mustard
fishmonger
10 Jun 2008, 10:55
If you catch a plane from Melbourne to Launceston and rent a car, you can get to Aurora Stadium quicker than driving to Kardinia Park in Geelong from Dandenong .... I've timed it.
So if there are half a million people in Tasmania, that means that the team will be within an hour's drive of 4 million people .... go figure
Of course people down here would drive a few hours to watch their team every second week. I know people who have driven 3 hours for a counter meal then turned around and gone home again. I live an hour northeast of Launceston and quite often drive in for relatively minor reasons, often spending 10 minutes in the shop etc then going home. Our kid goes to school 70km away from home and has to be driven by her mother to the bus which picks her up about half way. The missus does 700km a week just going to the bus stop.
To say Tasmanians won't travel to watch footy is ridiculous.
kenrosewall
10 Jun 2008, 12:56
It would only take a generation to change - some people in SA followed VFL teams prior to the crows, i.e Westies fans followed the Dons etc but if your at tasmanian child getting a tasmania team coming around all the time its only a matter of time before they start getting grass roots support
afterall thats what they want in the GC and WS
That's exactly right. I have heard mentioned that 25% of Auskickers support the Hawks. If Tassie had a team, that would be 100%. While older Tasmanians say they wouldn't switch allegiances if a Tassie team came in, they are just protecting their egos, as they can't see it happening. While I am a mad Dons supporter, I would fully support a Tassie team at the drop of a hat. Doesn't make me any less of a Bombers supporter at present.
A question I would like to know the answer to is how many Tasmanian-based members does each AFL club have at present? It's reported the Hawks now have 4,000, and I wouldn't be surprised if the Tigers, Saints, Dons, Pies & Blues would all have 1,000+, even though most Tasmanians would only go over to Melbourne 1-2 times a year to watch footy. Anyone know the figures?
catters05
10 Jun 2008, 13:19
If they could get 20,000 members in each the North and the SOuth. That would be an awesome effort.
Year 1 = 6 Games in Hobart, 5 in Launceston (Finals to Launceston)
Year 2 = 5 Games in Hobart, 6 in Launceston (Finals to Hobart)
For me, if i was in charge of these sorts of grounds, i would be putting in a lot of small corporate facilities.....
A Living God
10 Jun 2008, 16:12
If you catch a plane from Melbourne to Launceston and rent a car, you can get to Aurora Stadium quicker than driving to Kardinia Park in Geelong from Dandenong .... I've timed it.
So if there are half a million people in Tasmania, that means that the team will be within an hour's drive of 4 million people
For 2 adults and 2 children
From Dandenong - Kardina Park
By Car: $25 - $30
By Train: $53.80
By Car its about one and half to two hours by train it is about two to two and a half hours
From Dandenong - Launceston
Flying Jetsar: $552 + airport parking + petrol + Car hire
Dandenong - Tullamarine Airport: 45 minutes
Check in time: 30 minutes
Flying time: 30 minutes
Launceston Airport - Aurora Stadium: 10 minutes
ust because it may be faster from Dandenong - Launceston than Dandenong - Geelong, which I don't beleive to be and if it is the difference will be insignificant, doesn't make it faster to go from Werribe - Launceston than Werribe - Geelong or from anywhere else in Melbourne for that matter.
medusala
13 Jun 2008, 04:29
If they really want a team - prove it - have 40,000 Tasmanians put down $200 each - Which equals [B]$8m.
A Tas team could survive with far, far less numbers if (as would be likely) they had a Geelong like stadium deal, Tas govt support and a decent major sponsor.
Goat 53
14 Jun 2008, 04:03
If it had been my call I would have put a Tasmanian team in the competition instead of Port Adelaide in 1997.
Excellent call by Sheeds.
This club has done nothing to expand the appeal of the game on a national level. It's merely serviced the needs of a suburban club niche, whose crowds have gone BACKWARDS.
A Tassie team would've been a better option. Adding another STATE instead of a SUBURB would've have been brilliant.
RussellEbertHandball
14 Jun 2008, 05:01
It's all very well to be the Gold Coast and know you'll get $100m because you're worth $1b in tv rights negotiations, or you've got the SANFL paying your bills like Port Adelaide, but who would back Tassie?
Errr what Port bills are the SANFL paying? Examples please.
Bogus...got spotted by the Port supporter...!
Ok, not all of them...there was truth in what I wrote, but even the prettiest flowers need a bit of fertiliser (!)...but I do believe the SANFL controls and paid for the license, and you might find that for the "good of SA footy in general", the SANFL does make the odd contribution to keeping its two AFL teams up and running...
Which was exactly my point anyway - not knocking Port or Adelaide, good for them, and they work hard regardless. I'm just wondering who would have Tassie's back...?
RussellEbertHandball
14 Jun 2008, 22:52
but I do believe the SANFL controls and paid for the license, and you might find that for the "good of SA footy in general", the SANFL does make the odd contribution to keeping its two AFL teams up and running...
Which was exactly my point anyway - not knocking Port or Adelaide, good for them, and they work hard regardless. I'm just wondering who would have Tassie's back...?
The SANFL control both licences correct. The SANFL have never paid for either of Port or the crows licence fees. All 10 x $400k payments made by both clubs were paid by the clubs to the AFL. That's why apart from our first year, we haven't made any mega profits over the period 1997 to 2006. The cheques may have been written to the SANFL who then paid the AFL, but the source of the funds was from the 2 AFL clubs’ bank account!
The SANFL as owner of Footy Park has adjust it's stadium deal with the two clubs over the years, to their benefit, but every stadium does that for it's tenants over time. It has used its influence to lobby the AFL no doubt. I suspect both clubs have taken advantage of the SANFL network, but that doesn't mean they have paid their bills.
If Tassie footy ever got or gets its act together and the 3 leagues actually worked together and didn't squabble over footy politics, the equivalent of the Tassie AFL would have a Tassie teams back.
fairdinkum
15 Jun 2008, 01:15
Bogus...got spotted by the Port supporter...!
You really do add nothing to these discussions, Gibbke. The only thing you have over cos and co is that you can put sentences together. Other than that, you are struggling :thumbsd:
You really do add nothing to these discussions,
So let's talk about North .
Awesome game last night.
Shinboner spirit coming through .
fairdinkum
15 Jun 2008, 14:26
So let's talk about North .
Awesome game last night.
Shinboner spirit coming through .
Another idiotic post from a idiotic poster.
Why hasn't this fool been banned from this board yet?
Another idiotic post from a idiotic poster.
Why hasn't this fool been banned from this board yet?
let's see .
"So let's talk about North "- you are a North supporter through and through .
"Awesome game last night " - from a Dockers perspective .
"Shinboner spirit coming through "- they were still a chance in the final quarter .
What's the problem ?
sportsdarts
15 Jun 2008, 14:53
There is already a team in tassie . Just ring the Hawthorn football club and the receptionist will say TASMIANIAN HAWKS .
You really do add nothing to these discussions, Gibbke. The only thing you have over cos and co is that you can put sentences together. Other than that, you are struggling :thumbsd:
Thank you. I believe in the importance of good grammar and the proper use of syntax.
And you've got me at a disadvantage, because I can't remember anything memorable you've ever said - must have been horse$hit I couldn't be bothered with. So in future I'll take more notice and remember your name, in between writing numerous posts that back your team (if your response above has any validity, you'll know this)...
fairdinkum
16 Jun 2008, 00:32
let's see .
"So let's talk about North "- you are a North supporter through and through .
"Awesome game last night " - from a Dockers perspective .
"Shinboner spirit coming through "- they were still a chance in the final quarter .
What's the problem ?
Look at the title of the thread. Then look at the title of this board. Then have a good, hard thinking session. If necessary, ask Mummy for some help.
fairdinkum
16 Jun 2008, 00:35
And you've got me at a disadvantage, because I can't remember anything memorable you've ever said - must have been horse$hit I couldn't be bothered with. So in future I'll take more notice and remember your name, in between writing numerous posts that back your team (if your response above has any validity, you'll know this)...
The last part of that ramble didn't quite make sense to me. Must be another 'inside joke' with cos and co.
As for memorable posts, I prefer to only post when I have something intelligent/informative to add. Your posts on this thread (and, I'm willing to bet, on many others) have failed to adhere to either of these standards. In the future, just try not to blatantly make things up. That'll be a good start :thumbsu:
As for memorable posts, I prefer to only post when I have something intelligent/informative to add.
ha ha ha ha ha
Can you remotely back up that post
or are you just sore that North lost again . ?
:(
fairdinkum
16 Jun 2008, 00:45
ha ha ha ha ha
Can you remotely back up that post
or are you just sore that North lost again . ?
:(
Another idiotic post from an idiotic poster.
The last part of that ramble didn't quite make sense to me. Must be another 'inside joke' with cos and co.
As for memorable posts, I prefer to only post when I have something intelligent/informative to add. Your posts on this thread (and, I'm willing to bet, on many others) have failed to adhere to either of these standards. In the future, just try not to blatantly make things up. That'll be a good start :thumbsu:
Fine. I'll dumb things down for you then, retard...all my sentence construction talent and Spelling Bee Olympic Gold Medal form is obviously wasted on you...
Your first paragraph indicates stupidity, your second is b u l l s h i t. Many, many times, I've posted here in support of the NMFC and their stand against the pressures put on them to move to the GC. Gibbke does this all by himself, with no help from anyone and no visible agreement I can see for the position I take re tv rights, and all that...whether I'm right or wrong, we'll see, but I'm not arrogantly assuming like you that noone else here has anything of value to add. I'll only say that I keep my eyes open, so my position here on the bottom rung of the footy community ladder (which every idiot here shares with me, by the way) is no better or worse than anyone else's - including yours. I'm sure I wouldn't see your real name on the management board at the AFL...
"You're willing to bet" - ? Do your f###ing research and maybe you'll have an answer - and maybe you'll find yourself understanding "inside jokes"...d!ckhead...god, you almost make me want to see the Kangas get a pole collectively shoved up their @r$es and then stuck outside the front gate at Carrara until they can afford a signwriter to make them a proper cardboard statue announcing their new forced home...(meanwhile I'll try to find somewhere here to stick a comma)...
barrel05
16 Jun 2008, 21:36
How is any of those last posts relevant to tassie joining the AFL
...it's all a rich tapestry...
How is any of those last posts relevant to tassie joining the AFL
Try the "Looks like Tassie are serious" thread , more your style .
Very true. TV coverage would inspire new buisnes. Inspires schools and clubs to set up youth programmes. Especially if they have the same construction as they do in Europe...where the contracting/buying club has to pay a fee towards the football schooling program of where the player enjoyed his footy formative years...hence inciting more youth to start.
As far as travel...Fanclubs would arrange group bus trips, or group plane travel trips from Launceston to Hobart and vice versa. There you have one market allready. Hell ide come over from Holland once a year to see a Tassie team play in the AFL... and if possible against the Hawks...haha..I could never lose. And if...the AFL are so committed to growth as they say they are they would devise a way to pump a % of all tv contracts, merchandising and so in back into the amature/school and youth programmes. Problem with franchising...either you want succes from the word go....what rarely happens, so you have to calculate a time period in where your goals are to be met. But shareholders want succes now. And if the AFL are so keen as to want requirements towards growth met...start 2 18 club conferences. The top 8 conference leaders start the play-offs.....untill you are left with the conference champions. The winners play the GRAND FINAL. Or have the top 7 of both conferences start playing each other until ther are 6 left. Then a knock-out and last 2 standing play the grand final.
You will have more teams with more growth capabilities, more youth that follow and want to play...what gives more choice in the future. More fan based regional and corperate support....and the game can then truely say...THIS IS THE AFL. The buisness shouldn't be sport, sport should be the buisness.