View Full Version : Marc Murphy vs Rhys Palmer
not as interested in who will turn out the better player as i am in finding out a bit moe about palmer when compared to murphy.
obviously i know murphy's game pretty good, but i just want to find out a bit more about how he goes against murphy.
here's some areas of the game and who i rate better at those areas(bearing in mind i didn't see much of palmer as a junior as he's from WA), these are based on at the same stages of their careers:
kicking: murphy
fitness/aerobic capacity: palmer
agility: murphy
tackling: murphy
goal-kicking: par
speed: murphy
hardness: palmer
work rate: palmer
leadership: murphy
footy smarts: murphy
clearance work: murphy
ability to find ball: palmer
am i right in making most of these assumptions?
how would you rate them differently?
all constructive criticism is welcome.
9 games 19 years 3 months
45 games 20 years 10 months
Give Rhys another year, especially when Headland and Hasleby are back in the team to establish his role. Too early to tell.
I might just add that when I watch Freo play the only reason is to watch Palmer, and his footy smarts are very good. Obviously footy smarts would be to find the ball, right?
I would take Palmer ahead of Murphy, could be bias :)
I might just add that when I watch Freo play the only reason is to watch Palmer, and his footy smarts are very good. Obviously footy smarts would be to find the ball, right?
I would take Palmer ahead of Murphy, could be bias :)
lol fair enough, to every supporter who doesn't barrack for the big 4 this is what i have been trying to explain to a few of you over the last week. collingwood, richmond and essendon supporters even if their own team is not involved will look to vote against carlton (maybe subconsciously). anyway, that's not what this thread is about so let this be the end of that.
9 games 19 years 3 months
45 games 20 years 10 months
Give Rhys another year, especially when Headland and Hasleby are back in the team to establish his role. Too early to tell.
that's ok i understand that and it's a credit to palmer that he's being compared against a 3rd year no.1 draft pick. the thing i'm trying to find out in this thread is what the differences between these two players i'm just trying to learn more about palmer as i've seen close to nothing of his junior career.
DTHitman
8 Jun 2008, 14:31
Murphy Just both will be top 8 midfielders in 3years
both had ripper games today.
hendo8888
8 Jun 2008, 23:20
at this point in time
murphy by a fair bit
palmer vs murphy at equal times in the afl (where murphy was at after 11 games)
i'd go for palmer
JKCeagle
8 Jun 2008, 23:29
Murphy is probably a better player at the moment, not that that should be a surprise. As a neutral observer your categories seem pretty accurate, although maybe the winner in kicking should be "neither" right now :cool:
Also, new category -
Ability to handle a tag/close attention: Palmer. He's being worked over every week but is still playing a huge role in a midfield that is being beaten most games, yet Murphy clearly struggled with this last year. Now that he's third in line behind Judd & Stevens he is starting to become more influential.
Murph is moving into the AFL elite midfielder class now. What a talent. :)
bluesforever
8 Jun 2008, 23:38
Not bad is he :D
Murphy is probably a better player at the moment, not that that should be a surprise. As a neutral observer your categories seem pretty accurate, although maybe the winner in kicking should be "neither" right now :cool:
Also, new category -
Ability to handle a tag/close attention: Palmer. He's being worked over every week but is still playing a huge role in a midfield that is being beaten most games, yet Murphy clearly struggled with this last year. Now that he's third in line behind Judd & Stevens he is starting to become more influential.
i think that would come under work rate.
MarkJohnson#1
10 Jun 2008, 05:50
Murphy at the moment based on his sublime skills. If Palmer can rectify his ineffective disposal he could be equally as good if not better. :thumbsu:
Chops_a_must
10 Jun 2008, 06:17
He's basically our on field leader in his first year. Pretty mammoth effort. So, I'd rate his leadership higher.
But what his biggest asset is, is his work rate. Had very bad OP at 16, and has spent most of his time since strengthening his core.
Was also said to be one of the best gut runners ever to come through juniour ranks, and it shows in AFL even. Especially with his ability to take the number one tag.
Will see in coming years whether he becomes that Paul Kelly, Rob Harvey, Ben Cousins type pack horse that requires about 10 bullets in the head to kill.
Oh, and he is our number one clearance player. Not that that means much... but he is effectively carrying our midfield after 10 games. :rolleyes:
Jeremias
10 Jun 2008, 11:27
He's basically our on field leader in his first year. Pretty mammoth effort. So, I'd rate his leadership higher.
Oh, and he is our number one clearance player. Not that that means much... but he is effectively carrying our midfield after 10 games. :rolleyes:
He'll be a gun, there's no doubt about that.
However, I would say that the above reflects less about him, and more on the pathetic state of the Fremantle Football Club who show close to no leadership on the field whatsoever.
Palmer Stoat
10 Jun 2008, 14:28
Murphy for mine. I'm just not sure about Palmer's kicking. He's an excellent prospect, though.
I love DELEDIO
10 Jun 2008, 14:50
Palmers kicking is shocking murphy's kicking is shocking I voted palmer coz he is a gun sorry Murphy i dont like you
Top_4_Tiger
10 Jun 2008, 15:45
Good poll, I'd probably pick Palmer but Murphy is currently better.
Palmer gets the nod purely because he has that gut-running work ethic to his game which is a good influence on those around him. Murphy is more talented.
philhawk
10 Jun 2008, 15:53
not as interested in who will turn out the better player as i am in finding out a bit moe about palmer when compared to murphy.
obviously i know murphy's game pretty good, but i just want to find out a bit more about how he goes against murphy.
here's some areas of the game and who i rate better at those areas(bearing in mind i didn't see much of palmer as a junior as he's from WA):
speed: palmer??
In terms of tackling, they'd be the same, but Palmer has the edge over Murphy in terms of clearances.
I guess it helps that he's the only quality midfielder in his team.
W. Smithers
10 Jun 2008, 17:26
I'd take Palmer, has better skills.
Chops_a_must
10 Jun 2008, 19:06
He'll be a gun, there's no doubt about that.
However, I would say that the above reflects less about him, and more on the pathetic state of the Fremantle Football Club who show close to no leadership on the field whatsoever.
I disagree. For a few reasons.
I don't remember Murphy being an on field captain when Carlton were doing so badly.
And it's a reflection on Rhys that he doesn't fall into the same traps as his team mates, when it comes to on field leadership. You can only do what you can in the context of the circumstances, and Rhys is doing exactly what is needed. You can't ask for much more than that.
walkers a legend
10 Jun 2008, 19:45
Im going to say Murph but i have liked Palmer before he became a AFL young gun so i have seen him dominate.
Joey Bungle
10 Jun 2008, 22:52
Murphy by a mile.
BOG Sunday & Palmer sucked in 4 of his 5 games playing when Freo were favourites.
palmer is definitely much more exciting atm than murphy was in his first year for sure
eagledream
11 Jun 2008, 16:54
forget for a second that i'm a biased eagles supporter but doesn't everyone else just shake their head and laugh at some of the comments parrot makes? Absoultely ridiculous some of the assertions that blokes makes. I'd be embarassed to be a blues supporter knowing that bloke followed the same side.
eagledream
11 Jun 2008, 16:54
For that reason alone i'd vote Palmer.
But seriously, Murphy isn't bad, better than Gibbs :P
stifler's mom
12 Jun 2008, 22:12
Pendlebury
sneakydaycrawler
12 Jun 2008, 22:38
forget for a second that i'm a biased eagles supporter but doesn't everyone else just shake their head and laugh at some of the comments parrot makes? Absoultely ridiculous some of the assertions that blokes makes. I'd be embarassed to be a blues supporter knowing that bloke followed the same side.
He's a she.
Adebayor
12 Jun 2008, 22:58
Murphy easily.
Anyway, Palmer will be Fremantled soon enough.
murph#3
14 Jun 2008, 19:00
palmer is such a frustrating player to have in your supercoach team. you love him cos you get him so cheap and his price rockets up but for the amount of disposals he gets, his points are ridiculously low, it makes you wonder whether any of his kicks ever hit the target. but from what i've seen of him, he's a pretty good kick at goal just not a good field kick.
here's some areas of the game and who i rate better at those areas(bearing in mind i didn't see much of palmer as a junior as he's from WA):
speed: palmer??
Murphy's quicker than Palmer for sure. Murph runs a sub 3s 20m time, Palmer runs a 3s+. Clearance work would be about equal. Agree with all the other assessments. Overall I'd rate Murphy higher, mainly because of his cleaner use, although I'm a big fan of Palmer.
murph#3
14 Jun 2008, 19:14
Murphy's quicker than Palmer for sure. Murph runs a sub 3s 20m time, Palmer runs a 3s+. Clearance work would be about equal. Agree with all the other assessments. Overall I'd rate Murphy higher, mainly because of his cleaner use.
yeah thanks i wasn't sure how quick palmer was, murphy is really good at the clearnaces i'm not sure about palmer but you seem to know a bit about him, as for their agility murphy was 6th?? IIRC at draft camp in the agility test i don't know how palmer rates in that either. and you're right about the cleaner use, it's a real problem for palmer but he should be able to improve it.
Correct about Murphy ranking high for agility at DC. Both are very good at clearances, I can't put either ahead with conviction (both have similar numbers in that area too - Murphy 31, Palmer 30). Can't remember how Palmer went at DC for agility, but on-field he's got a very nice sidestep (and he loves to use it). The consistency of kicking is Palmer's main query for most, bit of a mixed bag, can produce some really good ones where he nails a short target on the lead and also some really bad ones where he turns it over directly to the opposition when in the clear.
sens_bombers
14 Jun 2008, 19:34
at this point in time
murphy by a fair bit
i'd go for palmer
I agree
mattdwyer
15 Jun 2008, 00:15
to bad, YOUR STILL the only one that thinks that :D
patto_man
16 Jun 2008, 21:21
murphy my favorite non richmond player in the afl
murphy is a better player now but in the future the both of them will be ledgends
murph#3
20 Jun 2008, 22:17
aarrrgggh palmer is driving me up the wall. he has 19 disposals and only 34 supercoach points, the game is delaye don the telly but i'm already seeing some of the woeful kicks he makes. the worst part is sometimes he does an amazing pass and you think is this guy the same guy that just turned the ball over when he had 2 loose options?? once he gets this part of his game mroe consistent the rest of the teams are going to be in major trouble, until then he isn't going to be causing too many headaches.
Heater39
21 Jun 2008, 00:27
Murph is the more complete player at this stage, one of my favourite non collingwood, however this is expected as he has been in the system longer. Two of the best young midfielders in the league, both will be guns.
Murphinator
21 Jun 2008, 11:16
Both definitely will be elite players for a long time.
Murphy has the edge ATM, as expected by a 3rd year player.
One great asset Murphy has is his strength in the bottom half of his body.
I think Walls or someone pointed it out on commentary, the strength he has in the lower half of his body is astonishing, making him pretty hard to tackle.
I'm not sure about Palmer being better at finding the ball? Look at Murph's stats this year.
Murphy had the number one tagger for 19 games last year, massive learning curve, no doubt assisted him this year and will when teams focus on him more.
Murphy for me and not because I am a Blues supporter either.
melbournemartin
21 Jun 2008, 12:40
Palmer tends to get more Dream Team points than Super Coach points. Weird. I never thought that his kicking was THAT bad.
Oh well, luckily I do Dream Team :)
murph#3
21 Jun 2008, 13:51
Both definitely will be elite players for a long time.
Murphy has the edge ATM, as expected by a 3rd year player.
One great asset Murphy has is his strength in the bottom half of his body.
I think Walls or someone pointed it out on commentary, the strength he has in the lower half of his body is astonishing, making him pretty hard to tackle.
I'm not sure about Palmer being better at finding the ball? Look at Murph's stats this year.
Murphy had the number one tagger for 19 games last year, massive learning curve, no doubt assisted him this year and will when teams focus on him more.
i was trying to compare palmer with murphy at the same stage of his career. obviously atm it goes without saying that murphy is better at finding the ball but while murphy was also realy good at doing this in his first season, i think palmer has been a little better.
Over the past 2 weeks Murph has taken his game to a new level because of the way he has stepped up the intensity and output when the game was in the balance and needed to be won (e.g. last 1/4's V Pies and Port). Judd and Ben Cousins have/had this attribute. i.e. gut-running when everyone is fatigued and falling behind. This is the reason Murph has joined the AFL elite midfielder class. No doubt Judd has been an influence on Murph's progress this year. The other midfielder progressing rapidly, and going under the radar a bit, is Jordon Russell. This guy will be a star. :)
Murphinator
21 Jun 2008, 15:38
Spot on Parrot.
Yes Murph#3, perhaps Palmer found it more than Murph did in the first 12 rounds - I'd like to know who was more effective however?
Murphy was voted the best first yr player by the aflpa i believe? from only 12/13 games.
murph#3
21 Jun 2008, 15:44
Spot on Parrot.
Yes Murph#3, perhaps Palmer found it more than Murph did in the first 12 rounds - I'd like to know who was more effective however?
Murphy was voted the best first yr player by the aflpa i believe? from only 12/13 games.
yes, murphy definitely was a much better kick in his first season and that's why i wrote murphy's name next to kicking. murphy was the best first year player, he had twice as many votes as thomas despite missing half the season. palmer will get that award too but he'll probably play a full season to get it.
speed: murphy
This is close to the most ridiculously biased statements I have ever read.
McManus2Waterhouse
22 Jun 2008, 01:46
neither can hit a target to save their life unfortunately
sneakydaycrawler
22 Jun 2008, 14:58
^agreed
murph#3
22 Jun 2008, 20:18
This is close to the most ridiculously biased statements I have ever read.
i think you're the one who is biased with your hatred against carlton mate. get your collingwood glasses off and take another look. every other person who has quoted my post has said that they either entirely or mostly agree with my assessments and some even said there were some areas i should have given to murphy instead of palmer. so why don't you tell me which part you don't agree with and we'll discuss it rather than taking cheap shots.
So comparing a player who has barely played a handful of games, and gets the no1 tagger each week, to a player who has played for almost three years, and gets tagged only after Judd and Stevens isn't taking a cheap shot?
That's exactly why its a biased statement.
Pull your head in mate.
By the way I voted for Murph, and only think that ur statement is ridiculously biased, so if u think that i am biased with hatred against carlton, you've got your head in the sand.
I'd choose Murphy because he's shown more, as he should, he's had a two year head start.
Andrew Maher
22 Jun 2008, 21:59
Hard to say.
murph#3
22 Jun 2008, 22:00
So comparing a player who has barely played a handful of games, and gets the no1 tagger each week, to a player who has played for almost three years, and gets tagged only after Judd and Stevens isn't taking a cheap shot?
Pull your head in mate.
By the way I voted for Murph, and only think that ur statement is ridiculously biased, so if u think that i am biased with hatred against carlton, you've got your head in the sand.
I'd choose Murphy because he's shown more, as he should, he's had a two year head start.
you've just proven that you haven't read through this thread. i've already said it's comparing them at the same stages in their careers, not right now.
Andrew Maher
22 Jun 2008, 22:01
Pull your head in mate.
Sorry Murph, but I tend to agree.
you've just proven that you haven't read through this thread. i've already said it's comparing them at the same stages in their careers, not right now.
No, I have read that, but you cannot go into so much detail about who's better in that aspect. Most people wouldn't even remember what Murphy's first ten games were like, and many are likely to compare their current standings.
But you're smarter than that aren't you. You don't mention that fact in your OP for what reason? Taking a "cheap shot" is what it's called.
Good to see it's obvious I'm not biased against Carlton, I'd hate to let the team I support cloud my judgement as some do.:rolleyes:
murph#3
22 Jun 2008, 22:10
earlier in this thread i wrote:
"i was trying to compare palmer with murphy at the same stage of his career. obviously atm it goes without saying that murphy is better at finding the ball but while murphy was also realy good at doing this in his first season, i think palmer has been a little better."
"yes, murphy definitely was a much better kick in his first season and that's why i wrote murphy's name next to kicking."
"it's comparing them at the same stages in their careers, not right now."
that's 3 separate occasions before you made your post that i said it's comparing them at the same stages of their career, not right now. i'm not trying to compare them right now, or else everyone would agree murphy is the better player. also, i wrote in my opening post that this thread wasn't so much to find out who is the better player but just more finding out a bit more about palmer as i hadn't seen much of his junior career.
"i was trying to compare palmer with murphy at the same stage of his career. obviously atm it goes without saying that murphy is better at finding the ball but while murphy was also realy good at doing this in his first season, i think palmer has been a little better."
"yes, murphy definitely was a much better kick in his first season and that's why i wrote murphy's name next to kicking."
that's 3 separate occasions before you made your post that i said it's comparing them at the same stages of their career, not right now. i'm not trying to compare them right now, or else everyone would agree murphy is the better player. also, i wrote in my opening post that this thread wasn't so much to find out who is the better player but just more finding out a bit more about palmer as i hadn't seen much of his junior career.
People are either going to vote, or read the OP then vote. Hardly anyone reads furthur into the thread and then votes. Agreed?
Nowhere in the title or in the OP did you even mention "at the same stage in their careers". In fact the title of this thread is simply Marc Murphy vs Rhys Palmer.
Seems pretty complacent to be honest, doesn't it?
It's be like a Fremantle supporter starting a thread titled " Aaron Sandilands Vs Matthew Kreuzer", I'm sure you'd have a bit to say about that one, huh?
murph#3
22 Jun 2008, 22:19
People are either going to vote, or read the OP then vote. Hardly anyone reads furthur into the thread and then votes. Agreed?
yes, agreed. i should have written it in my opening post (and i will now) but i did write that it wasn't so much about comparing who is the better player but trying to work out the differences. i'm not here to pump up murph's tyres and make him look good. it doesn't matter what stage of tehir careers they are at, they will always have strengths, weaknesses and different styles, which are all i wanted to know when making this thread.
and you called my somparisons ridiculous biased. how about you tell me what parts of my comparisons were biased instead of just having a crack. like i said, everyone else who quoted me said they either entirely or mostly agree and some even said i should have chosen murphy over palmer in certain areas.
yes, agreed. i should have written it in my opening post (and i will now) but i did write that it wasn't so much about comparing who is the better player but trying to work out the differences. i'm not here to pump up murph's tyres and make him look good. it doesn't matter what stage of tehir careers they are at, they will always have strengths, weaknesses and different styles, which are all i wanted to know when making this thread.
and you called my somparisons ridiculous biased. how about you tell me what parts of my comparisons were biased instead of just having a crack. like i said, everyone else who quoted me said they either entirely or mostly agree and some even said i should have chosen murphy over palmer in certain areas.
Good to see we agree on something, by the way, I just realised that you left it to post 42 on page three to mention the fact that you're comparing them at the same stage in their careers.
Anyway, perhaps biased was the wrong word to use. I would have been better off using the word unfair. What I meant to say is that it is impossible to identify weaknesses and strenghts in palmer that are so specific at such an early stage in his career. Especially things as vague as hardness, workrate, and leadership.
Most people would agree that 10 games are nowhere near enough to decide who has better leadership skills. Murphy seems to have great leadership skills, and will captain the navy blue one day no doubt. But is it really fair to say that he was a better leader than Palmer in his first ten games?
Workrate is so subjective. Do you really know how much Palmer is puffing after a game compared to how much Murphy was in his first ten games?
But if you really think you have that stuff covered, it's a credit to you. You must have done a hell of a lot of research though.
If that's the case then you're doing murphy just as much injustice as you're doing palmer. History is riddled with examples of kids playing a great first ten games and turning out to be ordinary players, and the opposite applies. But it's your thread, and your poll, so fair enough.
that's ok i understand that and it's a credit to palmer that he's being compared against a 3rd year no.1 draft pick. the thing i'm trying to find out in this thread is what the differences between these two players i'm just trying to learn more about palmer as i've seen close to nothing of his junior career.
Hmmm:rolleyes:.
murph#3
22 Jun 2008, 22:44
Good to see we agree on something, by the way, I just realised that you left it to post 42 on page three to mention the fact that you're comparing them at the same stage in their careers.
Anyway, perhaps biased was the wrong word to use. I would have been better off using the word unfair. What I meant to say is that it is impossible to identify weaknesses and strenghts in palmer that are so specific at such an early stage in his career. Especially things as vague as hardness, workrate, and leadership.
Most people would agree that 10 games are nowhere near enough to decide who has better leadership skills. Murphy seems to have great leadership skills, and will captain the navy blue one day no doubt. But is it really fair to say that he was a better leader than Palmer in his first ten games?
Workrate is so subjective. Do you really know how much Palmer is puffing after a game compared to how much Murphy was in his first ten games?
But if you really think you have that stuff covered, it's a credit to you. You must have done a hell of a lot of research though.
If that's the case then you're doing murphy just as much injustice as you're doing palmer. History is riddled with examples of kids playing a great first ten games and turning out to be ordinary players, and the opposite applies. But it's your thread, and your poll, so fair enough.
Hmmm:rolleyes:.
the reason i made the thread in the first place was to get an idea of other peoples' impressions of how they rated palmer's game when compared to murphy's. i said i wasn't too sure about palmer and asked whether people agreed with how i rated the two when compared against each other.
as i said, it does not matter if murphy's in his 10th year and palmer is in his 10th game, i just want to know what areas either one is better at without taking into consideration the improvement or lack thereof shown by the more experienced player.
Benchwarmer77
23 Jun 2008, 12:38
Im thinking the way Murph has been kicking the tigers should just stay off him this week and let him set up our attacks with turn overs :)
murph#3
23 Jun 2008, 14:54
Im thinking the way Murph has been kicking the tigers should just stay off him this week and let him set up our attacks with turn overs :)
funny, cos we had the same thing planned for tuck.
Benchwarmer77
23 Jun 2008, 15:14
funny, cos we had the same thing planned for tuck.
Fair enough :thumbsu:
W. Smithers
23 Jun 2008, 16:21
How are Carlton going to stop players like Deledio, Cotchin, Foley, Carrazzo and Murphy hitting Richmond players on the chest and setting up attack after attack?
murph#3
23 Jun 2008, 22:48
the criticism of murphy's kicking is unwarranted imo. i've always thought he was one of the better kicks at carlton and definitely the best kick to a lead. i think the reason why some people think he can't kick well is because occasionally he doesn't really make sweet contact with the ball and it ends up looking really really ugly and people just judge him on that. most of the time, he's a very reliable kick.
and i think this bloke knows it better than anyone else int he world:
"Murphy is the complete player. He's an amazing kick and defensively he's getting much better," Fevola said.
Andrew Maher
23 Jun 2008, 22:49
How are Carlton going to stop players like Deledio, Cotchin, Foley, Carrazzo and Murphy hitting Richmond players on the chest and setting up attack after attack?
This is the polls board, not Bay 13 you w@__er
Benchwarmer77
24 Jun 2008, 12:40
I reckon Murph is a good player just has the Yips with his kicking at the moment you could tell when he was running in at an open goal on the weekend and didnt want to kick it and ended up hand balling and turned it over.... this guy will be a good player for years to come but he just does not seem to hit targets other than the easy kicks at the moment
But in saying that he kicked at good goal from 50 out so i just dont get it with him at the moment...
murph#3
24 Jun 2008, 14:33
I reckon Murph is a good player just has the Yips with his kicking at the moment you could tell when he was running in at an open goal on the weekend and didnt want to kick it and ended up hand balling and turned it over.... this guy will be a good player for years to come but he just does not seem to hit targets other than the easy kicks at the moment
But in saying that he kicked at good goal from 50 out so i just dont get it with him at the moment...
yeah he's leading the club in assists but those are all easy kicks, but you were spot on when you said you just don't get it with hi at the moment, maybe youll get a better idea after you actually watch him tear up your mob this week. then you can tell us all about the easy kicks he gets.
The Grover
24 Jun 2008, 14:58
These 2 players have a lot of similarities in physique & style of play.
I can see them being matched-up on each other in future Blues/Freo clashes.
Benchwarmer77
24 Jun 2008, 15:46
then you can tell us all about the easy kicks he gets.
No worries will see how many poss he gets sheep dogging out the back :D
and you can not honestly say he was kicking well on the weekend can u ?
murph#3
24 Jun 2008, 15:52
No worries will see how many poss he gets sheep dogging out the back :D
and you can not honestly say he was kicking well on the weekend can u ?
no but it's obvious he has lost all confidence in his kicking atm. nothing like a bit of richmond to get you back into form. tbh he is probably top 3 at the club in terms of best kick to a lead. and you say he gets easy kicks, well let me tell you now you he wouldn't be leading the comp for inside 50s and the club for assists (equal 6th in the league) if he got easy kicks not to mention he's kicked 9 goals for the year. to me that indicates he gets his possessions in dangerous areas.
oh and considering this poll is between him and palmer, murphy is 44th in hardball gets and i don't know where palmer is because he isn't in the top 50.
at this point in time
murphy by a fair bit
i'd go for palmer
Good point, I will put forward this argument however, against WC in what was I think Murphs 12th game (the week before he did his shoulder and lost the Rising Star) he got 28 touches against WC, who actually had to send Stenglein to him to curb his influence. Very different players, but both will be stars, Murph may be one already.
FWIW I reckon Cotchin and Palmer easily the best midfield talents to come out of last years draft.
Mike_blues
27 Jun 2008, 21:21
both gonna be guns
if murphy can work on his kicking then murphy mite be the better play in 5 years time
to early to tell but murphy slightly ahead
but palmer is a talent alright
only reason freo arnt worse
palmers kicking>murphys at this stage