View Full Version : Expansion Who would now be looking towards the Gold Coast?
Which players do you think are starting to think "F- me, it's about time to get out of this joint."
Any chance Reiwoldt or Pavlich has rung the other and said "how about it mate, you full forward, me centre half?"
SAINTS 4 07 FLAG
8 Jun 2008, 21:18
Nah Budd..the GC will be all youth and will take a while to get going. There'll be some champions like Riewoldt (god forbid) that will leave the club to go there..but no more than 3 i reckon.
As an overall topic, I would have assumed this would have been more at home on the main board.
Anyways...
Which players do you think are starting to think "F- me, it's about time to get out of this joint."
Any chance Reiwoldt or Pavlich has rung the other and said "how about it mate, you full forward, me centre half?"
The whole AFL competition will be eroded as a result of the Gold Coast team, the competition cannot maintain its current standard with a new team, THERE IS NOT ANOTHER 40 PLAYERS today out there that has the capacity to play AFL standard footy.
There is now a huge gap between the top teams and the teams near the bottom, and it is going to be sad for teams like Melbourne and Essendon that require some high draft selections to improve their list, they are going to be denied this right.
Football fans are being bluffed by this decision, the overall standard will only decline and will impact some of this bottom teams very significantly as the AFL give the new team a airchair ride .
melbdocker
10 Jun 2008, 23:49
Jarred Roughead will have massive cash thrown at him by the new sides, he is a star, buddy will come 1st and how are they going to fit sam mitchell, luke hodge buddy and roughy in the same cap
finders
11 Jun 2008, 00:04
Depends on how much money the AFL allows them to spend on quality players.
Capitalist
11 Jun 2008, 17:18
The whole AFL competition will be eroded as a result of the Gold Coast team, the competition cannot maintain its current standard with a new team, THERE IS NOT ANOTHER 40 PLAYERS today out there that has the capacity to play AFL standard footy.
There is now a huge gap between the top teams and the teams near the bottom, and it is going to be sad for teams like Melbourne and Essendon that require some high draft selections to improve their list, they are going to be denied this right.
Football fans are being bluffed by this decision, the overall standard will only decline and will impact some of this bottom teams very significantly as the AFL give the new team a airchair ride .
its a myth that you need top draft picks
Professor Knowall
11 Jun 2008, 19:05
its a myth that you need top draft picks
Exactly - but look who mac25 supports - The Carlton Tankers.
The new Gold Coast and West Sydney clubs will be a vast improvement on what that filthy, criminal, cheating rabble from Princess Park have produced over the last half dozen years.
THERE IS NOT ANOTHER 40 PLAYERS today out there that has the capacity to play AFL standard footy.
Spot on there.
It's a good question to ask, how far would you need to trim the comp to lift the standard.
Alberton_Magpie
11 Jun 2008, 20:09
Roughead will probably go to Gold Coast as he is really good himself and has to put up with being called Robin.
stmookeyj
12 Jun 2008, 02:15
If players are looking towards playing for a team that doesn't exist as yet then they shouldn't be playing FULL STOP.