View Full Version : Trade Targets
Who should we target to get as a trade for this year
i think in terms of key position players were fine with
gardiner, gaspar, cox, glass, mcdouggall, lynch and the two younger guys in seaby and hansen, We should delist sierra and wilson or sierra and carrol and leave wilson or carrol as backup
i think the #1 target should be T Longmuir, the shorter brother, i think he would be a great half back flanker of the guy mckenna type, hes got good height, athleticism, pace and as was reported earlier trmendous strength, ch 7/9 reported that he wasnt likely to be offered a contract, which means we could get him cheap, i think hes the sort of player that could play on those forwards that have been so damaging to us like brown johnson etc, and hes till young and would come cheap. He's not in the afl but thats because of injuries, i think with just a bit of luck and guidence he could be an awesome player, also it may mean his brother would want to come along but i rate troy just as highly
des hedland, but nothierng more needs to be said about why, wce give it your best shot,
daddy_4_eyes
24 Aug 2002, 13:03
Chick. According to Hawks fans on talkback radio, he's as good as gone. And rumours in Vic are that hawthorn are getting tired of him, and won't stand in his way if he wants to go home.
J.Lo. According to the Herald Sun, Carlton will be trying to secure his services for next year. Which means in Carltons opinion, there's a good chance J.Lo may be available. Have a shot at picking him up.
Headland and J.Lo (dont think he'll leave Freo)
Also, ive been a fan of Chicks ever since we tried to get him 2 years ago and i still think he'll be valuable to our team
GoEagles
24 Aug 2002, 18:40
Wouldn't mind to see Simon Black wearing the blue and gold next year too. Surely Brisbane's cap will be getting quite full, having to pay their superstars.
Have my concerns about Chick, seems to be getting into some good form after an ordinary start to the season.
bunsen burner
24 Aug 2002, 19:05
Headland
J.Longmuir
Chick
Pickett
Forget delisting Carroll. He should stay unless he is part of a trade.
Dont delist Carroll. I recokn get rid of Prior, Harding, Taylor and Merenda.
Only trade if we're going to get a readymade but still young key position back (ie, Nicholson or Hay) or we're going to get a really good trade for someone else.
In the draft, look at getting a tall backmen, another running halfback, a ruckmen, and someone else.
But i dont think we need to feature to heavily in the trade area.
I think we all agree that Headland should be top of the list. If there is any chance, no matter how small, we should go after him. Chick is apparently as good as home which could be good. I still think he is valuble, he's pretty good up forward and can rotate through the midfield.
Dont bother with either of the Longmuir boys. J.LO will stay will Freo and his brother is a hack. Carroll should not be delisted, he is pulling a Wooden and saving himself from the cull late in the year. Played well today. I would lose Merenda, Harding, Prior and Taylor before Carroll.
Firstly, my opinion on Carroll is that he is a big hearted hack. Delist him asap. Players of his age should be approaching their peaks, not making mistakes 16 year olds would be ashamed of.
Delist: Taylor, Harding, Merenda, Siera (Prior needs a good pre~season after his recon)
Trade for Headland, JL (Not Troy, he is a real Hack) and maybe Hay if a trade can be worked out. Go for Chick with a second round draft choice only.
If Milli is staying he cannot be our No1 FB. He should be used sparingly off the bench as a utility.
Originally posted by Frodo
Firstly, my opinion on Carroll is that he is a big hearted hack. Delist him asap. Players of his age should be approaching their peaks, not making mistakes 16 year olds would be ashamed of.
If Milli is staying he cannot be our No1 FB. He should be used sparingly off the bench as a utility.
The only 16 year old mistake i saw made on sunday was Embly's absolute shocker. Firstly he drops an easy mark then fumbles about with the thing, get bumped off the ball, then does the worst thing possible...loses his feet. Burgoyne picks up the ball and strolls into goal.
I would seriously rather have Carroll playing than Embly.
McIntosh used sparingly? Why he is still our best defender with Jako. If he goes on he should be our number one FB, i see no other person who is half as good as Milli in that position.
theBlueCardinal
26 Aug 2002, 07:48
I had a lot of respect for you Frodo but after hearing this comment I think you may come from the same planet as Milo at Shockerland. When Carroll finally got a chance he deserved, he showed his worth!
I guess you were also one of those ignorant people that always thought the Eagles had a chance against Port, the interstate team who seem to have a lot of success at the so-called "Fortress Subi".
WAKE UP AND SMELL THE COFFEE...the Eagles were never ever going to have any chance to knock off Port on the weekend!!!
The best thing about Pavlich re-signing with Freo, is that the margin on their Salary cap must be stretched razor thin - especially after last years debacle.
If Headland & Chick want to come home, then the Eagles are really their only option.
I don't think either Lo is worth trading for.
Originally posted by Jabber
The best thing about Pavlich re-signing with Freo, is that the margin on their Salary cap must be stretched razor thin - especially after last years debacle.
If Headland & Chick want to come home, then the Eagles are really their only option.
I don't think either Lo is worth trading for.
Thank you freo :D
depends on the price for JLo
Uncle Tony
26 Aug 2002, 14:18
IN:
Headland
Pickett
Chick
Any potential FB
OUT:
Munro
Merenda
Taylor
Either (Siera or Wilson)
I think with Brissie getting another $800,000 allowable in their salary cap for next year, they'll probably be able to hold on to Headland.
Don't know if there's enough room for both Siera and Willow in the forward line with the young guns waiting in the wings.
I see next year as one of consolidation with Woosha building a team with recruits of his choosing and giving more of a shot to more of the younger guys in the squad. We'd probably end up with a win loss ratio and position similar to this year.
I would love to see Pickett playing in an Eagles jumper, he is a great player with a lot of heart.
Delisting Wilson is the stupidest thing I've heard this week, no more will be said about that.
There are a lot of boys which we should be shopping for, but only if the right deal comes up, that means I don't think we should give up too much for players who aren't as good as they seem (Chick).
daddy_4_eyes
26 Aug 2002, 23:13
Who here would be dissapointed if the eagles were not involved in trades this year?
I know I wouldn't!
eagleskickass
26 Aug 2002, 23:26
Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
Who here would be dissapointed if the eagles were not involved in trades this year?
I know I wouldn't!
I would be
I honestly think we have some players that we either do not need, or could get better players for
I really would not object to one or two of braun williams and embly being traded if we could get say headland pickett or perhaps chick. I really think we have some players worth trading which could be win win for both teams.
bunsen burner
27 Aug 2002, 00:03
I probably wouldn't be too disappointed, but I would be if they didn't have a good look at Headland, Pickett, Chick, or Hay, I would be upset.
I would like the Eagles to have a look at who may be available and make a deal if the conditions are right. Headland is the only player worth giving up a 1st round pick. Chick has been over rated, but this could work in the Eagles favour - he will be cheaper than he was last year. Hay and Gaspar haven't had a great year and he may be obtainable.
It has to be taken into mind that some of the Eagles players may be at the peak of their market value, and could yield a good trade.
Targets:
Headland
Chick
Hay
J. Longmuir
Gaspar
Tradeable:
Embley
Williams
Braun
Fletcher
If we could get just one of the targets and keep some early draft picks, I would be happy.
I wouldnt be disappointed at all if we sat out the trading period. Im pretty happy with our squad at the moment. I hope the club has a look at some trades though, in particular Headland but if nothing happens then ill still be pretty happy.
eagleskickass
27 Aug 2002, 11:06
Oh yeah i would only be dissapointed if we could get one of those 3/4, but i don't wanna see us get some hack just to be part of the trades, just target those 3/4
ps definately don't think we should trade fletch, WA boy and really going pretty good imo
bunsen burner
27 Aug 2002, 11:14
Originally posted by eagleskickass
ps definately don't think we should trade fletch, WA boy and really going pretty good imo He is doing well, but you have to take into mind that if we want one of those top rung players, we have to be prepared to give away a good player or high draft pick - particularly for Headland.
I would say that if Brisbane will only release him if he really wants to go. I would say the least that they would want from him would be our #1 pick plus Embley, and they may possibly want as much as the #1 pick and Fletcher.
Fletcher has been good, but he is tradeable if the right deal comes. There would only be a handful of untouchables at the Eagles.
Untouchables:
Cousins
Gardiner (assuming Woosha doesn't think he has an adverse attitude)
Judd
Kerr
Wirra
Jako
now that woosha has had a year to view our list from the inside i would be surprised if there wasn't some kind of shake up.
we've got a good team but what we need is an excellent team.
Originally posted by noodle
I think if we get Morrison and Read back we will have an excellent team. We'll have 2 small defenders- our problem area all year. Once that is rectified we will have a team that could be premiers in 2004
now that woosha has had a year to view our list from the inside i would be surprised if there wasn't some kind of shake up.
Yep I agree. I think Woosha will have a clean up, getting rid of players he doesn't want and going after players he does.
Should be a fairly interesting off season.
Originally posted by carlyp
I think if we get Morrison and Read back we will have an excellent team. We'll have 2 small defenders- our problem area all year. Once that is rectified we will have a team that could be premiers in 2004
yup we have been spanked by the small forwards this year but while our midfield is good it's not a premiership midfield. we need to either trade for some good players or persist with what we have.
we have a potential superstar midfield with the likes of cousins, kerr and judd (these 3 will defiantly only get better) but we need more players to stand up and make the grade.
our forward line is another area of potential. we were red hot at the start of the year but of late our best options for goals have been to scrap it forward.
I think our forward line just needs a good preseason and some time over the summer to gell together. Suma will have a nice structure set up for us by the start of 2003
Voice of Reason
27 Aug 2002, 13:00
Spot on IMO. That ABC interview Woosha did at half time in the WAFL the other week pretty much confirmed that. Woosha believes we have some players who have done a serviceable job, but are pretty much playing at the limit of their potential (which is a credit to the players and the coaching staff) so we need to trade or draft better replacements for them.
I have high hopes for some of the younger players on the list (like Lynch, Gaspar, McDougall & Seaby) but we do need some better smaller players in midfield and at the back.
I would like us to get Chick. I believe he has a good attitude and (although he's had a poor season) could get a new lease of life, particularly in a younger side like the Eagles. Wouldn't pay too much for him though.
sabre_ac
27 Aug 2002, 13:27
My opinion is that Headland and Chick are certainties to come home next season.
The question is which club they end up at, as I cant see them both going to one club.
Justin Longmuir wont be going anywhere, if you want a dockers player start looking past the big 3.
As they will be signed at all costs.
Personally I woudl prefer Headland at the dockers, but with the signing of Pavlich I dont think we can afford him.And personaly I would prefer Pavlich.
So that leaves chick to the dockers for a 2nd round pick
And headland to teh eagles.
Doesnt sound too bad for the west aussie clubs.
carneagles
27 Aug 2002, 13:35
Chick to the Dockers? Are they going to trim the squad to 17 players?
Originally posted by sabre_ac
i'm not sure on hedland. last year i would have agreed with you but now....
...So that leaves chick to the dockers for a 2nd round pick...
Trading a pick is all very well, but what are you going to pay him with - beads????
Ok I'll put my two cents in here, read into it what you like.
The midfield is ok, do you get more to bolster this area?.
Forward line has potential with lot's of youngsters groomed to play here.
Backline, ah I see this as an area that needs alot of thought.
As good as Slapper and Mcintosh have been, can you still expect to get 100% out of them each game next year?. They need some back up (under studies) for their positions. I understand that Slapper has played some time in the forward line this year, but it would appear he is still needed down back.
Glass has started to show some form but do you really think he can hold down CHB or FB?. He looks like he will be a very capable flanker or pocket player, but does he have the build, speed or agility to play regularly in the spine.
I have watched Gaspar at East Freo and he looks to have built up his body, but have his skills matured enough?.
Some people have mentioned that Lynch could play back, would be a question of mobility.
I really think that this area is the number one priority, as Slapper and McIntosh will be gone within two years and good backmen take time to mature.
In summary, how about chasing key position backs, rather than expensive midfield / forward types?.
Any thoughts on this matter?.
carneagles
27 Aug 2002, 16:37
Our forward situation is pretty much covered, and all this talk about drafting Chick and Headland is only because they're out of contract and doing the usual trick of telling the clubs how much they love mum's cooking. Believe it when I see it.
We need good backmen - that sticks out like dog's balls.
The Eagles have been bagged in the past for not taking the best player in the draft, and trying to pick for weaknesses in the side. For mine, if Chick comes up at a decent price - forget Headland, he simply won't - sure, get him. But if he doesn't, no dramas - draft the best bloke in the draft and trade like crazy.
Monkey^Magic
27 Aug 2002, 16:58
Chick to the Dockers? Are they going to trim the squad to 17 players?
Ya think:D
I wouldn't believe in everthing to come out of the West Australian, all this talk of fitting guys in & reducing the playing list gets worse & shorter everytime I hear it told.
I think both Hedland & Chick will be playing in WA next season & I dont think for the same club.
eagleskickass
27 Aug 2002, 19:00
Originally posted by Monkey^Magic
I think both Hedland & Chick will be playing in WA next season & I dont think for the same club.
Well you can have chick and we will have headland:)
Originally posted by masai
I have watched Gaspar at East Freo and he looks to have built up his body, but have his skills matured enough?.
You may find that you've been looking at Travis's brother!!!!!!!!!
freo must be in a hell of a salary cap bind. That's why I can't see them affording Haselby and JL.
But WCE potentialy has a lot of room to bring in a top player. By my calculations we lose :-
Taylor $225K
Merenda $150K
Harding $150K
Half of Milli $150K (I think he's on around $300K but it may be more. Anyhow, as a Vet only half counts)
So that would leave at least $675K free for new players. And we have to spend a minimum of 95% of the cap (stupid rule), I think, then, that we will be trading and picking up Headland and Chick if not JL or Haselby.
Yep, Damien Gaspar plays for East Freo.
The Gaspar on the WC list is Travis Gaspar who plays for South Freo when playing WAFL.
On Gaspar becoming full back, is he quick and agile enough? Better find out soon I reckon...
/EDIT:
Damien Gaspar is the oldest of the three Gaspar brothers that I know of. Damien played for Melbourne but I'm not sure when he was cut and for how long he played for.
Anyway, both of the older brothers reckon that Travis is the most talented of all. If he could just get over all his bloody leg injuries!
I will be writing, I am a dill 200 times.
Yes you are correct, I just saw him in passing on the TV last Saturday. Big brother makes more sense.
Should have known better, as I didn't think baby bruv was all that strong.
bunsen burner
28 Aug 2002, 04:36
Taylor $225K
Merenda $150K
Harding $150K
Half of Milli $150K (I think he's on around $300K but it may be more. Anyhow, as a Vet only half counts)
You mean that chump Taylor is getting in the vicinity of 225k? That's just criminal - he should be charged with defrauding the WCEFC.
There is no way Headland will be coming home next season...but thats just my opinion. A lot of guys are bringing up the fact that we need back pockets and key defenders but we can only really trade for these sort of players. In the draft we have to pick the best talent available, it worked last year with Judd.
Goldenblue
28 Aug 2002, 13:01
Originally posted by carlyp
We'll have 2 small defenders- our problem area all year. Once that is rectified we will have a team that could be premiers in 2004
Problem areas:
Center half forward
Full forward
Back pockets.
Not sure I agree about the CHF & FF.
Wilson, Lynch & Gardiner are good enough, & we are kicking big enough scores to win games (more than we used to under Malthouse), but the backline is a sieve.
Priority should be a tall defender as cover and eventual replacement for McIntosh, and maybe a back pocket if Read and Morrison don't get back on track after their injuries.
Voice of Reason
28 Aug 2002, 13:22
Originally posted by Goldenblue
Problem areas:
Center half forward
Full forward
Back pockets.
We don't defend properly across the HF line or in the midfield when we don't get first use of the football. This can be taught, but my thinking behind getting Chick (at a fair price) is to get some more experienced grunt in those areas quickly.
We do have young players on the list who can play - I've seen McDougall, Seaby, Humm in the WAFL and Lynch to me is a CHB to follow Jako. It'll take two years or so to get these up and firing at AFL level.
GoEagles
28 Aug 2002, 18:54
Harding $150K
I can't believe we paid Harding $150K to pose for a team photo at the start of each season!
Originally posted by GoEagles
I can't believe we paid Harding $150K to pose for a team photo at the start of each season!
Didn't you know? He was the star attraction of the shoot...:o
I'll pose in the team photo for 50K, and im better looking than him (yes, im very modest) ;)
Originally posted by Voice of Reason
We don't defend properly across the HF line or in the midfield when we don't get first use of the football. This can be taught, but my thinking behind getting Chick (at a fair price) is to get some more experienced grunt in those areas quickly.
Very good point. If anything Chick would add some hardness to our midfield. His tackling and pressure has always being very good and something our midfield lacks.
Originally posted by jod23
Very good point. If anything Chick would add some hardness to our midfield. His tackling and pressure has always being very good and something our midfield lacks.
Agreed... Chick would see use as a midfielder/HF flanker, mainly for his toughness and ability to be dangerous without giving his opponent free rain- However, exactly the same thing could be said for Headland, and he is much younger, and probably a lot more promising. I say, go all out for Headland, and if he isn't forthcoming, then take a snap at Chick.
Imagine this midfield division:
C: Judd Headland Wirrpunda
RR: Gardiner Cousins Kerr
That lineup would be more godly than Brisbane's current setup- indeed, they'd complement each other extremely well, with guys like Fletcher, Wooden, Chambers, Braun, Matera, Banfield and Rowan Jones providing the depth, and some extra grunt.
The thing which is awesome about those six is that they fit so well together- Kerr is the hard ball getter, Cousins the receiver and distributor, whilst Judd, Headland and Wirrpunda are all lethally quick, skilled, attacking players capable of ripping oppositions to shreds- Headland also is a midfielder more than capable of taking an overhead mark.
I don't think there would be a pacier outfit in the league- Judd and Wirrpunda are both bottled lightning, ditto Headland, Cousins runs till he drops, and Kerr's skills and decisionmaking on the move are par excellence. Add to this Gardiner, who could probably make a case for being the most mobile ruckman in the league, and you havea midfield which pretty much every team in the league would struggle to keep up with. Brisbane can keep their fab four, this would give us a super six.
Finally, what is awesome about that lineup is they are all young, with Cousins being the oldest player in that midfield, at only 24, this lineup would come of age together in about 2004 leaving us with what could be the best midfield in the AFL in a few years time- And midfields win premierships.
My point? well, erm, I think I'm going to be practically orgasmic if we get Headland for a reasonable price!
Originally posted by Mead
Agreed... Chick would see use as a midfielder/HF flanker, mainly for his toughness and ability to be dangerous without giving his opponent free rain- However, exactly the same thing could be said for Headland, and he is much younger, and probably a lot more promising. I say, go all out for Headland, and if he isn't forthcoming, then take a snap at Chick.
That lineup would be more godly than Brisbane's current setup- indeed, they'd complement each other extremely well, with guys like Fletcher, Wooden, Chambers, Braun, Matera, Banfield and Rowan Jones providing the depth, and some extra grunt.
The thing which is awesome about those six is that they fit so well together- Kerr is the hard ball getter, Cousins the receiver and distributor, whilst Judd, Headland and Wirrpunda are all lethally quick, skilled, attacking players capable of ripping oppositions to shreds- Headland also is a midfielder more than capable of taking an overhead mark.
I don't think there would be a pacier outfit in the league- Judd and Wirrpunda are both bottled lightning, ditto Headland, Cousins runs till he drops, and Kerr's skills and decisionmaking on the move are par excellence. Add to this Gardiner, who could probably make a case for being the most mobile ruckman in the league, and you havea midfield which pretty much every team in the league would struggle to keep up with. Brisbane can keep their fab four, this would give us a super six.
Finally, what is awesome about that lineup is they are all young, with Cousins being the oldest player in that midfield, at only 24, this lineup would come of age together in about 2004 leaving us with what could be the best midfield in the AFL in a few years time- And midfields win premierships.
My point? well, erm, I think I'm going to be practically orgasmic if we get Headland for a reasonable price!
Sounds preety exciting doesnt it?? Even if we dont get Chick we still have a preety good group dont we? Chick would be the icing on the cake..something to add a little bit more bite but not neccesarily a must have!
Simon Black was on 6PR tonight, and he said a couple of years ago both he and Des were homesick and wanting to come home to WA. He also said they were both Eagles supporters before being drafting. Bad news to those purple fools who are trying to tell people that Des is a Docker supporter. I would hope that the club does all it can to get Des over. Not so Chick - is we got him for very little then I would say OK but I wouldn't trade a lot for him. Hawthorn obviously need a ruckman now that Rehn has retired and we have a few extra talls - so maybe we can arrange something.
I agree. I believe we are one really good midfielder away from having one of the best midfields in the country. Cousins is already one of the best in the business and Judd and Kerr are going to be absolute stars. Wirrpunda is an enigma, could be the number 4 if he ever gets going like he did at the start of 2000. Either way he is still very good. With Braun, Fletcher, Banners, Matera, Jones, Wooden etc providing depth then i believe we are one guy away from an amazing midfield.
If we can get Headland...well i'll be laughing all the way to the bank. Somehow though i dont think it will happen.
On one of the channels in Melbourne, it showed Sheedy & Schwab joking around about Chick & trades, and Sheedy half jokingly (I hope) mentioned a 3 way deal involving Gardiner.
:mad:
carneagles
30 Aug 2002, 12:58
On one of the channels in Melbourne, it showed Sheedy & Schwab joking around about Chick & trades, and Sheedy half jokingly (I hope) mentioned a 3 way deal involving Gardiner.Yeah, with Lloyd to Hawthorn. Laugh that off, you old twat.
On one of the channels in Melbourne, it showed Sheedy & Schwab joking around about Chick & trades, and Sheedy half jokingly (I hope) mentioned a 3 way deal involving Gardiner.
:mad:
with the dons slide down the ladder this year sheedy has resorted to out and out lies. well done you wacky old fool.
GoEagles
30 Aug 2002, 18:55
Originally posted by vicki
Simon Black was on 6PR tonight, and he said a couple of years ago both he and Des were homesick and wanting to come home to WA. He also said they were both Eagles supporters before being drafting. Bad news to those purple fools who are trying to tell people that Des is a Docker supporter. I would hope that the club does all it can to get Des over. Not so Chick - is we got him for very little then I would say OK but I wouldn't trade a lot for him. Hawthorn obviously need a ruckman now that Rehn has retired and we have a few extra talls - so maybe we can arrange something.
Heard that interview. I have always been hoping that Black would return back to WA and play AFL with his best mate Ben Cousins (they went to the same high school and came up through the East Freo system). Maybe there is still hope after his next contract expires.
As for Des, I think we're in with a chance. Black didn't seem too convinced Des was going to stay put in Brisbane, and it was very reassuring to hear that we were the club Headland had followed (which makes sense since he played for Subiaco in the WAFL)
Thrawn666
30 Aug 2002, 20:34
Heard that interview. I have always been hoping that Black would return back to WA and play AFL with his best mate Ben Cousins (they went to the same high school and came up through the East Freo system).
Not true
Cousins went to Wesley, Black to Corpus Christi.
They both played at the same junior club, Bullcreek-Leeming, though I doubt they ever played together there.
GoEagles
30 Aug 2002, 20:41
Originally posted by Thrawn666
Not true
Cousins went to Wesley, Black to Corpus Christi.
They both played at the same junior club, Bullcreek-Leeming, though I doubt they ever played together there.
My bad, did they ever play against each other, perhaps Channel 7 Cup or any other high school football competition?
Thrawn666
30 Aug 2002, 20:57
My bad, did they ever play against each other, perhaps Channel 7 Cup or any other high school football competition?
Not too sure but its not unlikely, there's only a year or so difference between them age wise I think.
Maybe there is still hope after his next contract expires.
Maybe by the time his next contract expires...Brissie are on the downward slide and were on the up....so why wouldnt he wanna come home :D
Not likely ... but hey, i can dream.
On the footy last night, Eddie came out and said that Chick had played his last game for the Hawks and will be moving to WA next season to play with the Eagles; all thats left is for a deal to be struck
Hmmm.... if it were true id be happy by why do i keep feeling that with the retirement of Rehn, the Hawks will want Gardiner??
Originally posted by iceman
On the footy last night, Eddie came out and said that Chick had played his last game for the Hawks and will be moving to WA next season to play with the Eagles; all thats left is for a deal to be struck
Hmmm.... if it were true id be happy by why do i keep feeling that with the retirement of Rehn, the Hawks will want Gardiner??
Call me an idiot (lord knows, you wouldn't be the first), but I'm sort of a little cold on the idea of getting Chick if we have to give up something substantial. Yes he is a very good player, no doubt about that, but his age worries me a little- realistically, we're going to peak with this current group of players in about 2-3 years. If it came down to pursuing Chick or someone in the same agegroup has Headland, I'd go for the latter every time, to get somebody who will develop on the same scale as the young stars we already have. It's poor trade practice to pick up a guy who might only have 3-4 seasons left in him, no matter how good he is.. and Chick for Gardiner?! not unless Headland comes west *as well*
I see where youre coming from and i agree that Chick isnt exactly a long term player (he's 26 isnt he??)
He would no doubt be very handy and i think that if we were to give up a mid range player for someone of his ability it would be a smart move and would relieve some of the pressure that the youngsters have had on them this season. (ie: Kerr, Judd)
The Chick for Gardiner *hypothetical* trade should never happen in my opinion and would be a major loss for us should it come to pass.
Headland should be top priority and i think that at his age would fit very nicely into the clubs future plans
Thrawn666
31 Aug 2002, 20:46
If Chick for Gardiner were to occur I think we'd be getting more than just Chick.
Chick for Gardiner would never happen, the club wouldnt be that stupid. A 23 year old key position player who will be an AA in the future fo a good midfielder who is 3 years older??
Good midfielders are a dime a dozen and Chick isnt even among the best like Black, Voss, Cuz, Bucks etc....he is more on the second line of midfielders in the comp. There is no way we would give up Gardy for Chick.
mattyc2422
1 Sep 2002, 17:12
As a Hawk fan, I'd be interested to see what you would send over IF Chicky is to return home.
I'm not a big fan of Gardiner. Dean Cox impresses me though.
I'd like Kerr or Wirrapunda...but that's just a dream. As said, they are fairly untouchable.
If Gardiner is even mentioned in trade talks after todays game then the club is plain stupid.
He showed again today how good a player he'll be in the future after holding his own and beating Porter/Burton when Cox went off injured
Originally posted by iceman
If Gardiner is even mentioned in trade talks after todays game then the club is plain stupid.
He showed again today how good a player he'll be in the future after holding his own and beating Porter/Burton when Cox went off injured
Yeah he really lifted in the second half and his running goal from outside 50 was beautiful to watch!!! :) I think it's safe to say he will be in the blue and gold next season.