View Full Version : Game of the Round!

Coons17
9 Jun 2008, 11:41
Dogs Vs Lions on Saturday arvo at the G

Big clash, both teams in great form. Brisbane may be without Bradshaw and a couple other regulars, but promises to be a great clash.

Your thoughts?

Rik E Boy
9 Jun 2008, 11:43
Dogs Vs Lions on Saturday arvo at the G

Big clash, both teams in great form. Brisbane may be without Bradshaw and a couple other regulars, but promises to be a great clash.

Your thoughts?

Calm down it's only Monday ha ha. Nah, good luck to you; the Doggies are on fire at the moment and if Bradshaw does miss that tips the scales in your favour.

regards,

REB

Big Nasty
9 Jun 2008, 11:45
The dogs will win it. They have been pretty bloody good this year. :thumbsu:

Coons17
9 Jun 2008, 11:47
Aker coming up against his old mob is sure to add some spice to the contest.

TheBrownDog
9 Jun 2008, 11:51
Dogs should win. If we play like we did yesterday, Dogs will flog us.

Bradshaw is a massive out.

Jeremias
9 Jun 2008, 11:54
No doubt it will be a great game, but I'd say that Carlton vs Collingwood will be the game of the round.

Can't wait for it!

Red,White and Blue
9 Jun 2008, 11:55
is bradshaw injured????

should be a beauty next week with the class of murph to return.

go dogs

Coons17
9 Jun 2008, 11:58
is bradshaw injured????

should be a beauty next week with the class of murph to return.

go dogs

Hurt his hamstring early in yesterdays game.

Unlucky for the bloke as his form has been sensational, but good news for us Doggies. To be truthful though i would rather him play, therefore we get a good look at how our back line will hold up against the likes of Geelong and Collingwood.

boydsno1
9 Jun 2008, 12:08
if we win people still won't rate us and will say were yet to play geelong and have no big forward so we wont be able to win final matches blah blah blah.

Borgsta
9 Jun 2008, 12:17
To be truthful though i would rather him play, therefore we get a good look at how our back line will hold up against the likes of Geelong and Collingwood.

How so?
Brisbane have 2 gun tall forwards.
Geelong have Mooney.
Collingwood have none as Rocca isn't what he used to be and Cloke hasn't been as good as I was expecting him to be this year.

Fairley
9 Jun 2008, 12:22
Brown & Bradshaw > Geelong forward line >>> Collingwood forward line

TheBrownDog
9 Jun 2008, 12:25
Brown & Bradshaw > Geelong forward line >>> Collingwood forward line

Little good can come from this.

Borgsta
9 Jun 2008, 12:28
Little good can come from this.

Esp. the Brisbane > Geelong comparison. They are completely different forward set ups. Brisbane don't have a Steve Johnson and Geelong don't have a J. Brown.

FFB1
9 Jun 2008, 12:37
Sticking to the topic of the thread please... Yes, promises to be a great game , however if Brownshaw is halved then it does sway in the Dogs favour, esp with Murphy coming back. From a Lions point of view I hope Drummond and Roe come back in. That said, if we play like we did yesterday (wind or no wind) we'll be flogged - I'm sure Lethal will make that known.

doggies
9 Jun 2008, 12:41
Dogs to step up a gear this week against a fellow challenger for a top 4 position. Dogs by 60+ points.

FFB1
9 Jun 2008, 12:47
60+!? Each to their own I guess..

doggies
9 Jun 2008, 12:52
60+!? Each to their own I guess..

If it's dry conditions, yes... AKER to kick 7 this week :)

William C
9 Jun 2008, 12:58
Bloody hamstrings ...

Dont think we can win this as the doggies are red hot atm
We need Mcgrath, Roe, Drummond and bradshaw for this game ... hopefully their hamstrings are only tightness ..

begley and lappin will be back soon?

Our defense definately lacked the offensive rebound against the dockers. We need roe and drummond back otherwise BJ and murphy will destroy us ...
Our midfield looks the goods tho ... S. Black to hopefully continue his Brownlow medal form

We will be the underdogs and im looking forward to this game. Our boys will have to lift from the freo match if we are any chance.

Slash_LP
9 Jun 2008, 12:59
Dogs to step up a gear this week against a fellow challenger for a top 4 position. Dogs by 60+ points.
Don't underate the lions. Even with Bradshaw looking to be out you can expect Brown to kick atleast 5, and looking at the supply he's gonna be hard to stop.

fishbowl
9 Jun 2008, 13:02
Let's see how good Tom Williams is against J.Brown.

doggies
9 Jun 2008, 13:03
Bloody hamstrings ...

Dont think we can win this as the doggies are red hot atm
We need Mcgrath, Roe, Drummond and bradshaw for this game ... hopefully their hamstrings are only tightness ..

begley and lappin will be back soon?

Our defense definately lacked the offensive rebound against the dockers. We need roe and drummond back otherwise BJ and murphy will destroy us ...
Our midfield looks the goods tho ... S. Black to hopefully continue his Brownlow medal form

We will be the underdogs and im looking forward to this game. Our boys will have to lift from the freo match if we are any chance.

I disagree with that - we are only doing enough to win at this stage. Just coasting. We will need to step up a gear this week though to get a 10 goal win.

doggies
9 Jun 2008, 13:04
Let's see how good Tom Williams is against J.Brown.
After already having Buddy as a scalp, I'm sure he's ready to take another one in J. Brown.

Jeremias
9 Jun 2008, 13:29
After already having Buddy as a scalp, I'm sure he's ready to take another one in J. Brown.

Will he play on Browny though?

I would have thought that Lake would be the better match up.

Williams looks like a great prospect, but is he really up to taking Brown?

Masten2McKinley
9 Jun 2008, 14:10
i think wce vs ess will be a great game, they traditionly play good games agaisnt each other and both want RICH:D

Hawkk
9 Jun 2008, 14:19
Couple of good games coming up next round (after a couple of ordinary games this round)

W Bulldogs vs. Brisbane
Adelaide vs. Hawthorn
Geelong vs. Port Adelaide

Dylan12
9 Jun 2008, 14:24
At the this early stage of the week, I think the Dogs will win.

However, I read Lake injured himself...will he miss...if so, coupled with Bradshaw being out, may even itself out.

Secondly, did Murphy miss the game against the Saints? Also, how serious was the incident that Hudson got reported for, I did not see any of your game.

I just can't see us matching the Dogs run especially without our defensive trio of Drummond, McGrath, Roe and the likes of Lappin and Begley out and to a lesser extent Harding.

Dogs by 34 for mine.

CoZi36
9 Jun 2008, 14:31

Are you stupid or arrogant? The game will be very close and can swing either way, you will not beat us by over 60 points. The margin of this game would be 1-12 points I reckon.

BLPC08
9 Jun 2008, 14:31
It will be won and lost in the midfield, expect a high-scoring match. The Lions play the dome well, as do the doggies, but with the form that both teams are in it is near-by impossible to confidently pick a winner.

Gabbatoir
9 Jun 2008, 14:43
It will be won and lost in the midfield, expect a high-scoring match. The Lions play the dome well, as do the doggies, but with the form that both teams are in it is near-by impossible to confidently pick a winner.

Cough cough, it's at the G.

Warwick
9 Jun 2008, 14:58
It will be very difficult without half our backline and now without half our forward line.

Need a couple of Drummond, Roe, and McGrath to come back in, and Clark to have a blinder up forward.

Should be a good open game though.

doggies
9 Jun 2008, 15:05

hahaha u fool.

doggies
9 Jun 2008, 15:07
Are you stupid or arrogant? The game will be very close and can swing either way, you will not beat us by over 60 points. The margin of this game would be 1-12 points I reckon.

Neither. Have a look above, even a Brisbane supporter has picked the Dogs by 6 goals. we have been cruising up until the halfway mark of the season, now we are ready to step it up as we charge towards September.

fishbowl
9 Jun 2008, 15:10

Don't get ahead of yourselves, are you a Bulldogs supporter because you sound like an arrogant Geelong supporter. Akermanis can't kick 6 goals every week. Keep a lid on it and be gracious in defeat or victory. Premierships are won in September. That is 1954 was it not.

Slash_LP
9 Jun 2008, 15:11
At the this early stage of the week, I think the Dogs will win.

However, I read Lake injured himself...will he miss...if so, coupled with Bradshaw being out, may even itself out.

Secondly, did Murphy miss the game against the Saints? Also, how serious was the incident that Hudson got reported for, I did not see any of your game.

I just can't see us matching the Dogs run especially without our defensive trio of Drummond, McGrath, Roe and the likes of Lappin and Begley out and to a lesser extent Harding.

Dogs by 34 for mine.
Lake came off in the opening quater, came back on and looked allright.

Murphy was suspended for a game, will be back.

Didn't see the report sorry.

Borgsta
9 Jun 2008, 15:12

I'd have to go with option A.

This game has either team under 15.5 all over it.

Swan 4 life
10 Jun 2008, 01:22
If it's dry conditions, yes... AKER to kick 7 this week :)

This is not only bold but very very silly. When was the last time Aker kicked 7? The bulldogs will win by attrition as they will run the Lions down to the ground but it wont be a shootout like you think. This will be by less than 5 goals and close for three qtrs. But Doggies win in the 4th and best on ground for WB will be Cooney and for BL will be black. They will trade clearances all day and my prediction is JB to get 3 and thats it. Just making my prediction...Better than saying 60 points though..lol

Tomahawk Worshiper
10 Jun 2008, 13:05
Don't get ahead of yourselves, are you a Bulldogs supporter because you sound like an arrogant Geelong supporter. Akermanis can't kick 6 goals every week. Keep a lid on it and be gracious in defeat or victory. Premierships are won in September. That is 1954 was it not.

Haha...and hawthorn supporters are not arrogant? "Keeping a lid on it" was touted by geelong last year when we had a good run of wins....hawthorn have a good run of wins and are goin nuts like they have won the big one already!
If a geelong supporter does appear arrogant these days - good on them! They deserve to be...

Anyway this game will be a cracker...bradshaw out kills my dreamteam though...Aker to get 25 touches and kick 3 against his old mob

lions_den
10 Jun 2008, 15:40
Neither. Have a look above, even a Brisbane supporter has picked the Dogs by 6 goals. we have been cruising up until the halfway mark of the season, now we are ready to step it up as we charge towards September.Mainly because we have so many quality players missing this week (probably). If both teams had their best 22 it could easily go either way.

Dawn2Dark
10 Jun 2008, 18:12
Really looking forward to kicking back and watching this one at Midday in Perth - hope it's high scoring

Soul_Pie
10 Jun 2008, 21:49
I too hope it's an exciting, high quality match. Both teams are playing great footy at the moment.

fryingpan
11 Jun 2008, 17:26
I'd put this as 3rd best game of the round.

Adelaide vs Hawks
Carlton vs Pies

These 2 games should bring a lot more.

Dogs will win the game by 30+ points.

bo waters for PM
11 Jun 2008, 17:41
Goin to bea ripper i reckon...

Doggies to win this by 28pts

Doggies_2008
11 Jun 2008, 20:33
Doggies to win by 30+.

Campbell's Chunky
11 Jun 2008, 22:57
Woulda thought Adelaide v Hawthorn was the match of the round.

2 higher teams.

kickingoals
12 Jun 2008, 09:39
some good match ups this round , hard punting this week ..

bumbers v eagles should be an ok clash , expect eagles too win.

dogs v lions will be ok too , dogs will win .

freo v roos ,does anyone care ? be an ugly game for sure .

syd v saints , will be closer than many think , no surprise if saints get home .

crows v dawks , dawks should be too good .

cats v port , cats might throw 3 quaters together if seriously challenged .

pies v blues , pies should do it easy .

and the game of the round without doubt is .. the toothless tigers v demons , i expect the toothless tigers too actually win here , only due too the demons giving it everything on monday (thanks boys) $$$$$$$$ .

Truetiger
12 Jun 2008, 18:01
The dogs will win it. They have been pretty bloody good this year. :thumbsu:

Agree 100% and the dogs should win as well. Very much looking forward to being there. Cause if the dogs can win this one then can go all the way this year in my mind.

cosmicr
13 Jun 2008, 10:08
Woulda thought Adelaide v Hawthorn was the match of the round.

2 higher teams.

one higher team - besides the dogs already beat both of those teams.
boring!

bipolarbeaR
14 Jun 2008, 00:19
Carlton V Collingwood.
It has been a while since I have wanted C'wood to win a game.

gs17
14 Jun 2008, 10:41
Just a quick question if anyone can help me out.

A few mates and I were trying to think of when Brisbane last beat the Bulldogs. Was it in 2004? I know it doesn't mean much as Brisbane are completely different to what they have been in the last couple of years, just trying to settle an argument.

Gabbatoir
14 Jun 2008, 11:31
Just a quick question if anyone can help me out.

A few mates and I were trying to think of when Brisbane last beat the Bulldogs. Was it in 2004? I know it doesn't mean much as Brisbane are completely different to what they have been in the last couple of years, just trying to settle an argument.

Sure was.

bradism
14 Jun 2008, 13:15
Sure was.

Unless you want to count the 2007 NAB Cup :)

gs17
14 Jun 2008, 14:28
Rischitelli out Polkinghorne in

William C
14 Jun 2008, 14:39
riska out???

Oh man .. Just watching Totally Footy and a promo about him ...
really important player IMO ... in good form

gs17
14 Jun 2008, 15:06
Bring it on, good luck guys

Charliebrow16
14 Jun 2008, 15:13
I'm not liking the away strip boys...

BWST
14 Jun 2008, 15:20
Bloody Cooney.

Cmon you Lions !!!

Nasma
14 Jun 2008, 15:21
one higher team - besides the dogs already beat both of those teams.
boring!

Two higher teams (on the ladder):

Hawthorn > Bulldogs
Adelaide > BL

BWST
14 Jun 2008, 15:22
In the back......Browny to warm up.

PHX
14 Jun 2008, 15:22
lol that was stupid, Lake.

BWST
14 Jun 2008, 15:34
Lions looking good early. They can sniff the " G "

BWST
14 Jun 2008, 15:35
Aker turns it over against his Bigger Brother :D

gs17
14 Jun 2008, 15:36
Lions looking good early. They can sniff the " G "

They've lost 4 of their last 5 at the G

BWST
14 Jun 2008, 15:39
They've lost 4 of their last 5 at the G

Talking finals here matey.......check their finals record.

gs17
14 Jun 2008, 15:40
Lions flooding back and getting Dogs on the rebound.

Dogs killing Lions on every stat except the one that counts.

gs17
14 Jun 2008, 15:41
Talking finals here matey.......check their finals record.

Talking Finals? I never knew finals started in Rd 12?

Cousin Jed
14 Jun 2008, 15:43
Skill level suggests its 13th vs 15th out there so far.

gs17
14 Jun 2008, 15:44
Skill level suggests its 13th vs 15th out there so far.

Hasn't been good, just so much congestion, should start to open up a bit more as the game goes on.

TheBrownDog
14 Jun 2008, 15:45
I'm not liking the away strip boys...

Blame the AFL... we hate the piss strip more than you do. It will be gone next year.

Gabbatoir
14 Jun 2008, 15:45
Cheynee is killing it.

Kid A
14 Jun 2008, 15:59
Griffen should come back on, correct?

gs17
14 Jun 2008, 16:01
Griffen should come back on, correct?

He is on the bike at the moment, a corky so it is a bit hard to tell.

gs17
14 Jun 2008, 16:12
Griffen's back on

gs17
14 Jun 2008, 16:20
Boyd 23 touches to half time

Vipertooth
14 Jun 2008, 16:25
Our underated defence and a few accurate goals is the only thing keeping us in this game.

I expect Brown to inspire the boys at half time, "this is my 150th game" yadda yadda. And the lions to come out for a big 3rd quarter :D

GO LIONS :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Barry Schneider
14 Jun 2008, 16:31
I reckon Travis Johnstone is copping the mother of all tongue lashings from Matthews .No impact and doesn't even look interested.

gs17
14 Jun 2008, 16:34
I reckon Travis Johnstone is copping the mother of all tongue lashings from Matthews .No impact and doesn't even look interested.

As he should be, shocking half of footy. Brown the only Brissy forward having a dip at the moment.

Barry Schneider
14 Jun 2008, 16:37
As he should be, shocking half of footy. Brown the only Brissy forward having a dip at the moment.

Only problem is that he is getting his marks outside kicking distance.

Vipertooth
14 Jun 2008, 17:10
Me being to total optimist: Lets do what we did to port :thumbsu::)

40 someting points behind port and won by 20

GO LIONS :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Cousin Jed
14 Jun 2008, 17:21
How the ball can stay in the air for 8 hours and the smallest man ont he field takes it is beyond me/

Ryder Is God
14 Jun 2008, 17:42
Cooney is ____ing amazing

37 touches
84% disposal efficiency
2 goals
7 clearances
5 tackles
13 contested posesssions

arads
14 Jun 2008, 17:51
What a game of the round that was:rolleyes:

detox
14 Jun 2008, 17:54
Cooney is ____ing amazing

37 touches
84% disposal efficiency
2 goals
7 clearances
5 tackles
13 contested posesssions

mate my thoughts exactly, what a freak.

lions_den
14 Jun 2008, 18:15
At least Freo look like winning by more than 12.5+, that will ease the pain:(

bradism
14 Jun 2008, 19:11

Quoting this.

Doggies_2008
14 Jun 2008, 20:00

Lol what you say?

MeestaNob
15 Jun 2008, 16:15
Hilarity ensues.

Rise_up_Stiffy
17 Jun 2008, 00:00
This was never going to be the match of the round. Was always Hawks Crows. Didn't get to watch much footy this weekend, but I'm sure that was probably one of the best games, and much better than this game was.
PS Cooney for brownlow

patto_man
18 Jun 2008, 12:18
was a great game carn doggies

fiddy9
18 Jun 2008, 12:24
carlton v collingwood close game and good to see carlton run away with it in the dying minutes

bipolarbeaR
19 Jun 2008, 21:38
yeah, it reminded me of the round 3 match between Essendon and Carlton.