View Full Version : If Melbourne lost it all....
Do you think they would merge with Richmond? Surely, they wouldn't fold as they are the AFL's 1st club and hold alot of history. So if they goes to the dumps and they can't climb back up.... what do you think?
Keithy George
9 Jun 2008, 11:57
I think I've read this post three times and it still doesnt fully make sense.
But no, we wont merge with Richmond, OK?
Neville Bartos
9 Jun 2008, 13:25
Keithy? Long time no speak mate. I thought you were dead from your time in H-division?
Keithy George
9 Jun 2008, 14:27
Keithy? Long time no speak mate. I thought you were dead from your time in H-division?
Nev. As you may well know, that element of Chopper was fictional. The real Keithy is alive and well...and posts on BF. :D
Hows the leg anyway Nev?
I know you're just having a stir, but i'll answer anyway. No, Richmond will not merge with anyone. Ever. We are big enough to survive on our own.
Not really having a stir.
Melbounre FC= 150 years of failure.
Paddy_Mac
9 Jun 2008, 17:34
Do you think they would merge with Richmond? Surely, they wouldn't fold as they are the AFL's 1st club and hold alot of history. So if they goes to the dumps and they can't climb back up.... what do you think?
Well you know that wouldn't work out. Why would you have two Melbourne Tigers teams?
If hypothetically they were in strife Melbourne wouldn't merge because if all other 9 teams were financially stable they wouldn't need to merge.
Unless they relocated to another state, but I seriously doubt that will happen.
Personally I reckon there'll still be 10 Victorian teams in the next 15 - 20 years.
Demonic_Inferno
9 Jun 2008, 18:35
Melbounre FC= 150 years of failure.
Lol I guess that would be offensive....if your opinion meant something :)
Well you know that wouldn't work out. Why would you have two Melbourne Tigers teams?
If hypothetically they were in strife Melbourne wouldn't merge because if all other 9 teams were financially stable they wouldn't need to merge.
Unless they relocated to another state, but I seriously doubt that will happen.
Personally I reckon there'll still be 10 Victorian teams in the next 15 - 20 years.
Yer thats what i said, about the Melbourne Tigers.
Just put it out there...
Teak_Pies
9 Jun 2008, 20:14
Melbourne have lost it all.
How the hell did they last 150 years what a joke.
Mitchell Madness
9 Jun 2008, 21:07
Melbourne have lost it all.
How the hell did they last 150 years what a joke.
the first 25 years they only had to play one match per year though dont forget
They'd want to turn it around pretty quickly - Gutnick kept them afloat previously, they have mounting debts that are growing ($5mill I believe), a shrinking group of financial members/supporters and no tangiable plans to turn it around other than a "please get on board". If North were a financial basket case, all reports are that Melbourne is just as bad, if not worse. Does not bode well for the future unless they can stop the rot pronto.
Lol I guess that would be offensive....if your opinion meant something :)
Up at the snow yet mate??
davey_magik
9 Jun 2008, 21:46
At least we can afford the snow mate. Can you? No, now piss off back to the hole you crawled out of.
This would never happen. Even if we did lose it all, Richmond are strong enough to survive on their own.
We won't be going down anyway, I have faith Jimmy if elected can turn things around :thumbsu: .
Mitchell Madness
9 Jun 2008, 22:16
At least we can afford the snow mate. Can you? No, now piss off back to the hole you crawled out of.
This would never happen. Even if we did lose it all, Richmond are strong enough to survive on their own.
We won't be going down anyway, I have faith Jimmy if elected can turn things around :thumbsu: .
see, if melbourne supporters got the money together they would spend at the snow and spent it on their club, the MFC would not be in their current position
davey_magik
9 Jun 2008, 23:31
see, if melbourne supporters got the money together they would spend at the snow and spent it on their club, the MFC would not be in their current position
I'm a poor uni student actually :o .
super_phaser
9 Jun 2008, 23:36
- Best young list in the game, which will soon include Natanui.
- Great coach who knows footy back to front.
- About to add a guy who will become the most powerful President in the AFL.
- The best CEO in the business.
- About to move into a state-of-the-art training facility in the heart of OUR great city.
- The only true tenant of the MCG, the greatest stadium in the world.
Me thinks the mighty Demons wont be going anywhere :thumbsu:
super_phaser
9 Jun 2008, 23:39
...4 million in debt
truth hurts buddy
Two finals series since 1980.
A fighting fury indeed.
darcytiger
9 Jun 2008, 23:45
yet our supporters still show up.
you lot were in the finals a couple of years ago and already the fans have crawled back up to the high country, watching the news, just waiting, waiting for melbourne to win a game or 2
stabler
10 Jun 2008, 03:08
you lot were in the finals a couple of years ago
yep. Do you remember what that feels like?
Biffinator
10 Jun 2008, 06:10
Poidacat - behold, you have an apprentice - TUBE 22.
Here is someone who can actually learn something from you - and strewth, that really is saying something.
Even with his one sentence responses, I can detect the sweat.
Insofar as there are any spots still left at the Poidacat College of Repetitive and Unimaginative Posting, could you please put Tube 22 through induction and then boot-camp?
I also suspect that Tube 22 is as challenged in the trouser-department as he is in terms of intellectual firepower.
While a pair of Explorer socks might address the former category in a cosmetic sense, Poidacat, can you please share your copy of Jim & Jan with him to mitigate the latter, insofar as that is intrinsically possible?
You might want to read it together, in a mutual voyage of discovery.
Biffinator.
Biffinator
10 Jun 2008, 06:16
Scotty D, I would just like to thank you for sharing an extract of your doctoral dissertation with us.
I presume Stanford University is OK with the copyright.
It is also clear that you have lost none of your cognitive power.
If you could air a few more chapters, we'd be further indebted to you.
Biffinator.
Mitchell Madness
10 Jun 2008, 14:50
- Best young list in the game, which will soon include Natanui.
- Great coach who knows footy back to front.
- About to add a guy who will become the most powerful President in the AFL.
- The best CEO in the business.
- About to move into a state-of-the-art training facility in the heart of OUR great city.
- The only true tenant of the MCG, the greatest stadium in the world.
Me thinks the mighty Demons wont be going anywhere :thumbsu:
Richmond could still get him where they are now. only 3.5 wins... they might just lose the next 11
super_phaser
10 Jun 2008, 14:55
HAHAHAHAHAHAHH THATS SO FUNY HHHAHAHAAA :D:D
HAHAHHAH I AM DYING HERE HAHAHAHAAHHAHAAHAHAHAAHHAHAAHAHA
HHAHAAHAHAHAAHHAHAAHHAHAAHAHAHAAHHAHAAHHAHAAHAHAHAAHHAHAA
HHAHAAHAHAHAAHHAHAAHHAHAAHAHAHAAHHAHAA :D:thumbsu:
CHAMPAGNE COMEDY HAHAHAHAAHAHAHAA AHAHA WOW
HAHAHHAHH CLASSICCCCCCCC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D:D
Barry Zuckercorn QC
10 Jun 2008, 15:17
I hate Richmond but they are a great, traditional club with lots of history and passionate supporters. So I wouldnt merge Melbourne FC with them.
A more suitable merger target for the Melbourne FC would be Melbourne Victory and Melbourne Storm, a trifecta of irrelevant Melbourne Clubs.
Mind you, the Melbourne Demons, sorry, the Melbourne FC would benefit significantly more than the other 2 as they could claim to have won back-to-back in 06 (A League) and 07 (NRL).
Carna Melbourne Victorm FC!
darcytiger
10 Jun 2008, 15:24
Maybe the demons would do better playing rugby or soccer
surely they couldnt do any worse than what they are dishing up now
super_phaser
10 Jun 2008, 15:27
How can we take what you say seriously if you rate Cotchin higher than Morton?
I think its time you stopped embarrassing yourself and left Bigfooty. For the sake of your dignity.
Keithy George
10 Jun 2008, 16:33
I hate Richmond but they are a great, traditional club with lots of history and passionate supporters. So I wouldnt merge Melbourne FC with them.
A more suitable merger target for the Melbourne FC would be Melbourne Victory and Melbourne Storm, a trifecta of irrelevant Melbourne Clubs.
Mind you, the Melbourne Demons, sorry, the Melbourne FC would benefit significantly more than the other 2 as they could claim to have won back-to-back in 06 (A League) and 07 (NRL).
Carna Melbourne Victorm FC!
Carlton...*shakes head* have brought the game into disrepute. 100 years of proud histroy - wrecked in five years. :o
Biffinator
10 Jun 2008, 19:58
Darcytiger, a question for you: do you think that McMahon is a good chance for the 2008 Jack Dyer Medal?
Biffinator
darcytiger
10 Jun 2008, 20:29
no I don't, outside recieving, average skilled, mexicans rarely win Jack Dyer Medals.
It will come down to a handfull of players
Matthew (I am 10 times better than Nietz ever was) Richardson
Brett (Sylvia LOL) Deledio
Nathan (I have made more money from T-Shirts than in ALL of Melbourne's history) Brown
Outside chance could be Trent (Should we pick Morton?) Cotchin
The Frederick
11 Jun 2008, 03:21
Irrelevant? Well, let's go to the scoreboard...
Intercontinental competitions played:
Melbourne Victory: One
AFL clubs: ____ing ZERO
Realistic international exposure:
Melbourne Victory: Some
Foreign players with senior international caps:
Melbourne Victory: One, with World Cup experience
Biffinator
11 Jun 2008, 07:46
no I don't, outside recieving, average skilled, mexicans rarely win Jack Dyer Medals.
It will come down to a handfull of players
Matthew (I am 10 times better than Nietz ever was) Richardson
Brett (Sylvia LOL) Deledio
Nathan (I have made more money from T-Shirts than in ALL of Melbourne's history) Brown
Outside chance could be Trent (Should we pick Morton?) Cotchin
OK.
All clubs have Nazis. Their frequency depends upon how recently they tasted premiership success, or their likelihood of achieving one in the near future.
For whatever reason, this same set of circumstances produces Zombies rather than Nazis down at Kardinia Park, but that is another matter.
Irrespective of what jumper they wear, Nazis are characterised by their lack of humour or levity, their general state of nastiness, and their refusal to see any good in another club. By nature they are also highly strung (in more ways than one !!!). Their irises also roll up inside their skulls in the heat of a match.
Richmond Nazis are particularly virulent, as they also bring to bear the streak of self-loathing that lies at the heart of every Tiger supporter - that is why is it always such fun to see them turn on one another.
What we have here with Darcy Tiger is the last SS-Obersturmbannfuhrer of the SS Grosse Richmond Division.
This once feared regiment failed in its final push on Moscow after half time in the 82 Grand Final.
Since then, its ranks have been decimated by one Stalingrad after another in both the VFL and the AFL.
Darcy, you could possibly be the last Richmond Nazi standing. Richmond uber alles indeed. In some ways, mere survival is a victory in itself.
Even so, as you contemplate your wider inadequacies and as your tattered Richmond Nazi standard with its frayed edges flutters about in the gale, let us go back in Terry's time-machine to 2004.
"Richmond?" "Brett Deledio and Richard Tambling."
"Hawthorn?" "Jarryd Roughhead and Lance Franklin."
What is Hitler's decision to invade Russia compared with this monumentally asinine call ???
What are all the mistakes made by the Fremantle Recruiting team over time compared with these decisions ???
Make no mistake, two of these players - like it or not - are going to drive their club deep into September repeatedly over the next decade if they stay on their feet.
The other two, well, they might as well pack up their gear and open up a Car Wash where, as Bruce Springsteen says, all it ever does is rain.
Actually, the "Tiger's Roar Car-Wash" has a nice ring to it. Dicky Tambling - go easy on the suds !!!
Darcy you could drive your pock-marked Panzer I (and what a fearsome fighting machine that is) through it after surviving yet another Cherkassy Pocket.
What a crucifix is to a vampire, Buddy is to Richmond - a dagger right through the heart.
Suck on that for the next decade Darcy.
Your equivalent of Mein Kampf - the 1980 GF DVD, is only going to provide so much cold comfort as the Player of his Generation prances around in a jumper that is not your own - and it could so easily have been.
Biffinator.
Melbourne Victory: blah blah soccer soccer blah
No one gives a f___ about soccer mate, the sooner you learn to accept that and get on with life, the calmer and happier your life will be.
darcytiger
11 Jun 2008, 10:51
Thanks for that insightful history of Nazi germany, it was actually quite funny, albiet a little irrelevant. Bravo Biff
and their refusal to see any good in another club.
This bit, however, was untrue, just Melbourne that I struggle to find anything good about.
unstable punt
11 Jun 2008, 11:00
only if you merge with Carlton
The Frederick
11 Jun 2008, 19:01
No one gives a f___ about soccer mate, the sooner you learn to accept that and get on with life, the calmer and happier your life will be.
No. EVERYBODY gives a ____ about soccer. It's AUSTRALIA that's nobody.
darcytiger
11 Jun 2008, 23:12
well piss off wherever your 'heritage' bought you from. Soccer is a mugs game, ever put a round ball on the ground and kicked it, not very hard is it. Worst. game. ever
The Frederick
11 Jun 2008, 23:42
well piss off wherever your 'heritage' bought you from. Soccer is a mugs game, ever put a round ball on the ground and kicked it, not very hard is it. Worst. game. ever
What, as opposed to kicking and catching an eggball? Assoc. football has more skill in it's pinky finger than AFL has in it's entire body.
QESsAwSZOgU
What does AFL have like that? Every time somebody kicks a goal from an angle in AFL, everybody calls it the greatest thing ever, because that the only real skill in AFL.
darcytiger
12 Jun 2008, 00:48
That shit is few and far between. People in the crowd get chubby's over near misses. You can get a just as impressive video of AFL highlights. Nick Riewolt's mark agaisnt sydney is better than any piece of fancy footwork in that soccer video
Game of soccer...
Near miss
dive
huge miss
goal
kicking it around for a while
near miss
near miss
near miss
dive
goal
penalty shoot out - lets keep kicking it at the goals till one of us misses
scottyD
12 Jun 2008, 00:57
Other Teams: Blackburn FC????
:confused::thumbsu:
The Frederick
12 Jun 2008, 01:29
That shit is few and far between. People in the crowd get chubby's over near misses. You can get a just as impressive video of AFL highlights. Nick Riewolt's mark agaisnt sydney is better than any piece of fancy footwork in that soccer video
Game of soccer...
Near miss
dive
huge miss
goal
kicking it around for a while
near miss
near miss
near miss
dive
goal
penalty shoot out - lets keep kicking it at the goals till one of us misses
Netherlands 3-0 Italy
Spain 4-1 Russia
Yeah, those were real uneventful.
And unlike AFL fans, who need a goal every two seconds to keep their attention, we can appreciate skill, close calls and intelligent play.
darcytiger
12 Jun 2008, 10:56
Other Teams: Blackburn FC????
:confused::thumbsu:
My Local Club, EFL. We use an oval shaped ball and we don't fall over every 5 seconds.
OK.
All clubs have Nazis. Their frequency depends upon how recently they tasted premiership success, or their likelihood of achieving one in the near future.
For whatever reason, this same set of circumstances produces Zombies rather than Nazis down at Kardinia Park, but that is another matter.
Irrespective of what jumper they wear, Nazis are characterised by their lack of humour or levity, their general state of nastiness, and their refusal to see any good in another club. By nature they are also highly strung (in more ways than one !!!). Their irises also roll up inside their skulls in the heat of a match.
Richmond Nazis are particularly virulent, as they also bring to bear the streak of self-loathing that lies at the heart of every Tiger supporter - that is why is it always such fun to see them turn on one another.
What we have here with Darcy Tiger is the last SS-Obersturmbannfuhrer of the SS Grosse Richmond Division.
This once feared regiment failed in its final push on Moscow after half time in the 82 Grand Final.
Since then, its ranks have been decimated by one Stalingrad after another in both the VFL and the AFL.
Darcy, you could possibly be the last Richmond Nazi standing. Richmond uber alles indeed. In some ways, mere survival is a victory in itself.
Even so, as you contemplate your wider inadequacies and as your tattered Richmond Nazi standard with its frayed edges flutters about in the gale, let us go back in Terry's time-machine to 2004.
"Richmond?" "Brett Deledio and Richard Tambling."
"Hawthorn?" "Jarryd Roughhead and Lance Franklin."
What is Hitler's decision to invade Russia compared with this monumentally asinine call ???
What are all the mistakes made by the Fremantle Recruiting team over time compared with these decisions ???
Make no mistake, two of these players - like it or not - are going to drive their club deep into September repeatedly over the next decade if they stay on their feet.
The other two, well, they might as well pack up their gear and open up a Car Wash where, as Bruce Springsteen says, all it ever does is rain.
Actually, the "Tiger's Roar Car-Wash" has a nice ring to it. Dicky Tambling - go easy on the suds !!!
Darcy you could drive your pock-marked Panzer I (and what a fearsome fighting machine that is) through it after surviving yet another Cherkassy Pocket.
What a crucifix is to a vampire, Buddy is to Richmond - a dagger right through the heart.
Suck on that for the next decade Darcy.
Your equivalent of Mein Kampf - the 1980 GF DVD, is only going to provide so much cold comfort as the Player of his Generation prances around in a jumper that is not your own - and it could so easily have been.
Biffinator.
Gott in Himmell! The Biffinator has Stuka'd us!! We even have a player called Schulz!! for the coach to yell at, Hogan's Heroes style.
Great post mate. I'll send you a postcard from the Eastern Front. :thumbsu:
TigerHunter
12 Jun 2008, 15:32
No. EVERYBODY gives a ____ about soccer. It's AUSTRALIA that's nobody.
Leave the country then, you are no loss to this beautiful place.
davey_magik
12 Jun 2008, 19:47
Netherlands 3-0 Italy
Spain 4-1 Russia
Yeah, those were real uneventful.
And unlike AFL fans, who need a goal every two seconds to keep their attention, we can appreciate skill, close calls and intelligent play.
Why join an AFL forum if you hate it?
Idiot.
The Frederick
12 Jun 2008, 20:02
Why join an AFL forum if you hate it?
Idiot.
Zuckercorn started it.
Barry Zuckercorn QC
12 Jun 2008, 20:03
Intercontinental competitions played:
Melbourne Victory: One
Realistic international exposure:
Melbourne Victory: Some
Foreign players with senior international caps:
Melbourne Victory: One, with World Cup experience
That's sick mate!
SweetLeftFoot
12 Jun 2008, 20:03
Nev. As you may well know, that element of Chopper was fictional. The real Keithy is alive and well...and posts on BF. :D
I didn't think they had Internet access in Acacia mate.