View Full Version : Should Port Magpies be thrown out of the SANFL ?
Mardi & Downsborough
9th March 2001, 05:57
Given the Power's $150,000.00 payment to their former coach?
This is money that could have gone to the other SANFL clubs as a dividend.
This also appears to be a conflict of interest as whilst Cahill has served Port Magpies well, the Magpies & Power are seperate legal entities.
carb70
9th March 2001, 06:11
And your reason for throwing them out, would be because http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/confused.gif
mud n blood
9th March 2001, 06:12
Sounds like a tad of jealousy, maybe ?
Macca19
9th March 2001, 06:20
Originally posted by Mardi & Downsborough:
This also appears to be a conflict of interest as whilst Cahill has served Port Magpies well, the Magpies & Power are seperate legal entities.
Excuse my ignorance...but what has the POWER giving Cahill a payout have to do with the MAGPIES??? The fact that your named after the softest ****** footballer ever to grace the football field says something i think. You are a complete and utter tool!!!
Sturt players should be banned from going near umpires, as their current coach once headbutted an umpire. Thats the kind of logic you possess....nil. Get a brain, then come back and discuss subjects that make some sense
Macca19
9th March 2001, 06:25
Also Mardi & Downsbourough (what a stupid name)...the other SANFL teams should learn how to bloody make their own damn money for a change instead of whinging about AFL handouts. They sound just like homeless bums, all nice to ya when asking for a buck but if you dont give it they turn ugly. Its about time SANFL teams got off their arse and made money by themselves for a ****ing change...that would be a miracle
Mardi & Downsborough
9th March 2001, 08:26
Originally posted by carb70:
And your reason for throwing them out, would be because http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/confused.gif
A conflict of interest. Service to the Magpies is not service to the Power. They are seperate legal entities.
Mardi & Downsborough
9th March 2001, 08:30
Originally posted by Macca19:
Also Mardi & Downsbourough (what a stupid name)...the other SANFL teams should learn how to bloody make their own damn money for a change instead of whinging about AFL handouts. They sound just like homeless bums, all nice to ya when asking for a buck but if you dont give it they turn ugly. Its about time SANFL teams got off their arse and made money by themselves for a ****ing change...that would be a miracle
And how do you propose they do this when bandwagoners like you junp off the SANFL competition to follow the AFL. I bet your one of these morons who turns up to Port Magpies games only when Port Power can't make the AFL finals wearing Power gear.
carb70
9th March 2001, 08:39
A conflict of interest. Service to the Magpies is not service to the Power. They are seperate legal entities.
You do understand that Cahill coached the Port Adelaide FC which was in the SANFL until 1996 and joined the AFL in 1997. So he has only ever coached the one Port team. The team in the SANFL is the Port Adelaide Magpies FC which starting operating in the SANFL in 1997 which offically has nothing to do with John Cahill as he has never held a position at that club.
TONY SHAW
9th March 2001, 08:49
I DON'T CARE IF THE PORT FAGPIES ARE KICKED OUT OF THE SANFL, BUT I THINK THE SANFL SHOULD BE KICKED OUT OF AUSTRALIA!
CARN THE VICS!
carb70
9th March 2001, 09:10
Well done Tony Shaw, I'm glad you added your unbias opinion to this topic.
[This message has been edited by carb70 (edited 08 March 2001).]
eastaugh36
9th March 2001, 11:39
if that were to happen TONY SHAW then the crappy vfl would go first
Macca19
9th March 2001, 14:05
And how do you propose they do this when bandwagoners like you junp off the SANFL competition to follow the AFL. I bet your one of these morons who turns up to Port Magpies games only when Port Power can't make the AFL finals wearing Power gear.
you ****wit, dont sprout your mouth out without knowing someone. Ive been to about 95% of the Magpies games played in my lifetime..ive probably missed about 15 games since i started supporting the magpies when i was 5 (im 19 now)...i think i only missed out on 2 magpies games last year, and 2 the year before, other than that its only the odd game here or there, or the ones at elizabeth. So dont tell me ive jumped off the ****ing bandwagon...im one of the remaining few that still trys to go to every sanfl game with the team i support. The only power gear i wear at magpies games is my hat, and maybe my boxer shorts if they are on the sotation at that time
Marma
9th March 2001, 14:20
I think they should stay in but perhaps be made to wear there pink/magenta strip from the late 1800's. It would look fantastic on the Neanderthal they have named captain. Originally posted by Mardi & Downsborough:
Downsborough and Mardi - I ask you what would the future of the SANFL be without Port. Who would be the benchmark ? The reigning premiers only beat a Soft Woodville Eagles outfit so they need to beat a tough side in a GF for credibility. Norwood have hardly dominated in the past few decades. Sturt have more wooden spoons than flags in the past 20 years. Glenelg had a small moment of glory in the 80's but look at them now. Had to go out and recruit 17 players and still unproven for 2001. The rest ?
How about posting intelligent discussion topics !
Mardi & Downsborough
9th March 2001, 16:21
Originally posted by Nod:
Downsborough and Mardi - I ask you what would the future of the SANFL be without Port. Who would be the benchmark ? The reigning premiers only beat a Soft Woodville Eagles outfit so they need to beat a tough side in a GF for credibility. Norwood have hardly dominated in the past few decades. Sturt have more wooden spoons than flags in the past 20 years. Glenelg had a small moment of glory in the 80's but look at them now. Had to go out and recruit 17 players and still unproven for 2001. The rest ?
How about posting intelligent discussion topics !
Centrals beat Port in a Semi Final to get to the GF, I believe this was a record flogging for your club in a final. Are you saying Port were soft in 2000?
Mardi & Downsborough
9th March 2001, 16:25
you ****wit, dont sprout your mouth out without knowing someone. Ive been to about 95% of the Magpies games played in my lifetime..ive probably missed about 15 games since i started supporting the magpies when i was 5 (im 19 now)...i think i only missed out on 2 magpies games last year, and 2 the year before, other than that its only the odd game here or there, or the ones at elizabeth. So dont tell me ive jumped off the ****ing bandwagon...im one of the remaining few that still trys to go to every sanfl game with the team i support. The only power gear i wear at magpies games is my hat, and maybe my boxer shorts if they are on the sotation at that time
What Elizabeth too far for you is it?
Roger
9th March 2001, 16:29
A loud mouth Port supporter, who would have picked it!!!! I bet your one of these clowns who wont go to Elizabeth because the Centrals supporters wont back down to a loud mouth idiot like yourself and there too tough for you.
Macca19
9th March 2001, 16:34
What Elizabeth too far for you is it?
No, when i was 6 i got spat in my face by some loser centrals ****wit just for wearing a port scarf
i didnt appreciate that much being a 6 year old, and i refuse to go to that redneck wank side of town...plus i dont want my wallet nicked and my car broken into either
Macca19
9th March 2001, 16:38
Originally posted by Roger:
A loud mouth Port supporter, who would have picked it!!!! I bet your one of these clowns who wont go to Elizabeth because the Centrals supporters wont back down to a loud mouth idiot like yourself and there too tough for you.
Yup i am a loud mouth port supporter and im proud of it, proud of my club and proud of our success. No centrals supporter is too tough for me...i dont go there because when i was 6 i got spat on in the face by a ****wit centrals clown. I refuse to go back.
Rocky
9th March 2001, 18:18
Port should be axed from the SANFL because of their betrayal of the SANFL and its clubs in 1990. Port turning its back on us all was the ultimate betrayal and was an unforgivable act of ultimate cowardice. Poort proved themselves less trust-worthy than a Indian bookmaker at a Christian fellowship meeting. How any poort supporter can proudly say he's a mugpie fan is beyond me!
Get rid of 'em...NOW.
Macca19
9th March 2001, 18:21
Originally posted by Rocky:
Port should be axed from the SANFL because of their betrayal of the SANFL and its clubs in 1990. Port turning its back on us all was the ultimate betrayal and was an unforgivable act of ultimate cowardice. Poort proved themselves less trust-worthy than a Indian bookmaker at a Christian fellowship meeting. How any poort supporter can proudly say he's a mugpie fan is beyond me!
Get rid of 'em...NOW.
Just another jealous wanker of our success over the years. If you had any knowledge of football in south australia, port did SA a favour in coming out in the OPEN with the AFL bid. Norwood went behind everyones backs then lied about the whole damn thing BEFORE port even spoke to teh AFL...so who is the betrayer. At least port ewre honest about the whole thing
smithy
9th March 2001, 19:26
Although the payment to John Cahill was probably a sweetener as the relationship soured a fair bit after he was sacked, I agree that the Power should give him that payment. Although my club ( Sturt) and the other 8 clubs lose out on a much appreciated $16,000, I dont think anyone can begrudge such a successful, ( and nice bloke to add) coach, a payment of such given his long period of coaching success.
Even if it did mean creating a lot of heartache for the rest of the league.
Smithy
IP: Logged
Roger
10th March 2001, 04:05
Yup i am a loud mouth port supporter and im proud of it, proud of my club and proud of our success. No centrals supporter is too tough for me...i dont go there because when i was 6 i got spat on in the face by a ****wit centrals clown. I refuse to go back.
SOFT
Mardi & Downsborough
10th March 2001, 04:17
{QUOTE]Originally posted by Macca19:
Just another jealous wanker of our success over the years. If you had any knowledge of football in south australia, port did SA a favour in coming out in the OPEN with the AFL bid. Norwood went behind everyones backs then lied about the whole damn thing BEFORE port even spoke to teh AFL...so who is the betrayer. At least port ewre honest about the whole thing[/QUOTE]
Port were honest about the initial bid, once it was made public.
eastaugh36
10th March 2001, 05:37
Just another jealous wanker of our success over the years. If you had any knowledge of football in south australia, port did SA a favour in coming out in the OPEN with the AFL bid. Norwood went behind everyones backs then lied about the whole damn thing BEFORE port even spoke to teh AFL...so who is the betrayer. At least port ewre honest about the whole thing
macca your right, Norwood were the traitors !
Macca19
10th March 2001, 12:39
Originally posted by eastaugh36:
macca your right, Norwood were the traitors !
They were. This is one football subject i can say i know a LOT about...i have connections with someone involved at the time, Norwood spoke to AFL about 2 or 3 months before Port did. Plus M&D, Port came out in the open and announced the bid in a press conference...it wasnt like the sanfl found out by accident, port made the sanfl know EXACTLY what they were doing.
eastaugh36
10th March 2001, 13:26
I hate norwood more than any club !
Uncle Steve
10th March 2001, 17:54
They were. This is one football subject i can say i know a LOT about...i have connections with someone involved at the time, Norwood spoke to AFL about 2 or 3 months before Port did. Plus M&D, Port came out in the open and announced the bid in a press conference...it wasnt like the sanfl found out by accident, port made the sanfl know EXACTLY what they were doing.
Balderdash.
The Port bid was announced in the press (in the now extinct evening paper "The News", IIRC) before Port went public with it.
Whether or not Norwood was discussing with the AFL before Port is largely academic. History shows that Norwood responded to NONE of the advances from the AFL, if any.
Port _DID_ go behind the SANFL's back. It is well documented that a meeting of representatives of the clubs (at Whaler's Cove, Victor Harbor, 1990) UNANIMOUSLY (that means all the clubs, including Port) resolved not to join the AFL until 1992 or 93. Port went it's own way, after assuring the SANFL that it was united with the other clubs against the AFL. The SANFL & other clubs only found out after the bid was exposed in the media. Port did _NOT_ keep the SANFL informed of it's dealings until this point. If you can provide evidence to the contrary, then please post it here.
The facts are - if you believe Bruce Abernethy's book, "From Port to a Power" - that Port acted out of FEAR. Fear that if they did not act swiftly, then Norwood or Glenelg would be approached by the AFL. Port wanted to get in first. If your claim that Norwood was approached first is true, it just condemns the Magpies further - for history shows that Norwood did not accept any AFL overtures, remaining united with the SANFL.
Macca, your willingness to defend your club is admirable. I wish more people would get behing their SANFL clubs with as much passion. But really - Port's position is indefensible. What they did back in 1990 was Just Plain Wrong. Don't make yourself look like an arsehole by siding with them. Admit that what they did was wrong - and move on.
Macca19
10th March 2001, 18:16
Originally posted by Uncle Steve:
<snip>
ok this is some of what i know. I dont side with anyone here. Port did some wrong, the SANFL did some wrong. I dont side with anyone here as there is a lot of variables involved.
You are right, there was a meeting of club representatives somewhere during 1990. Dave BOyd was Ports rep. He was told not to agree to ANYTHING that night. Unfortunatly, he forgot and agreed to the no AFL thing.
That gets that settled.
Port kept everything in the open, port were open about the whole thing. THere was a rumour the afternoon that the Bid was announced that port had held some talks with them, but it was only a rumour at that stage...and it was mostly based on an article by mike sheehan a few days before hand.
After port training that night, the club held a meeting with players and officials and Bruce Weber announced that they will be joining the AFL in 1991. Bruce then held a press conference here, and the AFL held a conference in melbourne to announce of Port joining the AFL. Port came out with it first.
i dont se ehow this makes me look like an asshole, but anyway!!!...
Apparently Norwood were pipped at the post by Port, and they felt burnt that they had lost out on the bid.
I dunno, there is a lot that everyone doesnt know about.
I dont necessarily agree that Port did the right thing, as they did agree to stay with the AFL, even if it was a mistake.
But then again, it was Ports intitative that bought about the Crows, a shit load of money into this state, and a whole new lot of football supporters. If Max Basheer had his way, im sure SANFL players would probably still be playing in knickerbockers and a cap, and there would be no AFL team at all
but that is just my opinion
smithy
10th March 2001, 18:26
Great post Steve,
In an ideal world we would have all 9 /10 ( at the time) SANFL teams all 8 teams from the WAFL and 12 from the VFL competing in a 2 division national competition.
This was the original idea behind the now defunct NFL commitee ( which comprised of 14 voting members, 11 from VFL, 1 SANFL, 1 WAFL, 1 TFL,) which formed the Datsun Cup in 1976/77, where all clubs from those 3 leagues played each other in a pre season cup, which was narrowed down in the early 80's to the Sterling Cup from which all VFL clubs and the top 4 clubs of the previous season from the WAFL & SANFL.
I guess in the long run the VFL which obviously could out-vote anybody got fed up with waiting and needed to prop up some of their over-spending clubs from receivership that they had to extend their own comp and charge huge license fees.
For me, I am disgusted at what has happened at our SANFL comp, refuse to go to an AFL game and no matter who did what in 1990,, the Vics are to blame as they only had their greedy clubs who couldn't manage a piss up in a brewery take in all the dollars and destroy all the other comps around them.
Port Adelaide 1870
10th March 2001, 18:57
Originally posted by smithy:
Great post Steve,
In an ideal world we would have all 9 /10 ( at the time) SANFL teams all 8 teams from the WAFL and 12 from the VFL competing in a 2 division national competition.
This was the original idea behind the now defunct NFL commitee ( which comprised of 14 voting members, 11 from VFL, 1 SANFL, 1 WAFL, 1 TFL,) which formed the Datsun Cup in 1976/77, where all clubs from those 3 leagues played each other in a pre season cup, which was narrowed down in the early 80's to the Sterling Cup from which all VFL clubs and the top 4 clubs of the previous season from the WAFL & SANFL.
I guess in the long run the VFL which obviously could out-vote anybody got fed up with waiting and needed to prop up some of their over-spending clubs from receivership that they had to extend their own comp and charge huge license fees.
For me, I am disgusted at what has happened at our SANFL comp, refuse to go to an AFL game and no matter who did what in 1990,, the Vics are to blame as they only had their greedy clubs who couldn't manage a piss up in a brewery take in all the dollars and destroy all the other comps around them.
Yep....straight as an arrow...mate...they Fuc*ed football forever with their desire to maintain the profile of a melbourne suburban football league at the expense of all others...The filthy scum vomiting dogs.....The former VFL suburban comp...now national AFL comp.
PA1870
PA1870
Nod
11th March 2001, 13:22
Rocky and his mates need to face the reality that Port are in the AFL and not his team (whoever they are).
FACT - The AFL invited Port to consider an AFL entry on the condition that the SANFL were not told in the initial stages as the AFL believed some SANFL clubs would react adversely (as they did). Clearly Port had the forsight which some of the SANFL directors did not (they had previously refused invitations to enter a team). Time to accept it and stop whinging about the past --- get on with it Rocky!.
Stupid comments from people like you just make us more determined and successful !
Rocky
11th March 2001, 19:16
Rocky and his mates need to face the reality that Port are in the AFL and not his team (whoever they are).
FACT - The AFL invited Port to consider an AFL entry on the condition that the SANFL were not told in the initial stages as the AFL believed some SANFL clubs would react adversely (and the AFL knew a shyster like Bruce Webber would sell his mother for a buck!). Clearly Port had the disloyalty which some of the SANFL directors did not (they had previously refused invitations to enter a team). Time to accept that Poort stabbed us all in the back Nod.
Stupid comments from people like you just make us more determined and successful !
Nod - when are Poort going to be successful then?? I bet you weren't even at the North Melbourne game the other night!
Santos L Helper
12th March 2001, 04:18
Nod - when are Poort going to be successful then?? I bet you weren't even at the North Melbourne game the other night!
I don't see the correlation between Nod going to the Kangaroos game and Port being successfull.
Just another Port hater with limited cognitive abilities?
------------------
If ya smell what Santos is cooking!!
Nod
12th March 2001, 15:38
Well said Santos.
Rocky (It doesn't matter what his name is) is hopefully more intelligent than his comments would suggest.
And thats the bottom line !
Its true Its true !
Rocky
13th March 2001, 17:37
Santos L Helper eh. Seems appropriate that a Poort supporter is named after a Simpson's greyhound who couldn't run! Is naming yourself after an illegal credit card also a turn on for you pappies? How's Laddie??
"Eat my shorts Santos"
As for Nod, is it Nod or Nob?
"Do you smell what the Rocky is cookin'"
Macca19
13th March 2001, 18:58
Santos L Helper eh. Seems appropriate that a Poort supporter is named after a Simpson's greyhound who couldn't run! Is naming yourself after an illegal credit card also a turn on for you pappies? How's Laddie??
"Eat my shorts Santos"
As for Nod, is it Nod or Nob?
"Do you smell what the Rocky is cookin'"
Hows Jars going?? Hows Goodwin as well??
Do you smell what the rocky is cookin...that has to be the LAMEST thing ive ever heard in my entire life
eddie eagle
17th March 2001, 13:29
uncle steve summed it up perfectly.
In 1990, The backstabbers agreed to let the AFL apple ripen on the tree, but port tried to scoff it all to themselves when everyone else was in bed & they got sick as a result
BW - not Bruce weber but Backstabbing W@nker was their hero.
Port magpies should be banished at ethelton forever - let them squeal at the other clubs rightly not letting them back, they should also be kicked out of the AFL with their bid claiming a support of 35,000 every week.lucky to be half that, some of the ones that do normally leave their syringes in the toilets for poor kids to find like last years front page effort.
Kick them out I say!!
Santos L Helper
17th March 2001, 13:58
Rocky, I noticed that you didn't respond to my comments. What was the problem, did I use big words that you couldn't understand?
Mayube you'll understand this; your just another thick as shit, Port hater.
------------------
Mudholian
17th March 2001, 17:54
FACT - The AFL invited Port to consider an AFL entry on the condition that the SANFL were not told in the initial stages as the AFL believed some SANFL clubs would react adversely (as they did). Clearly Port had the forsight which some of the SANFL directors did not (they had previously refused invitations to enter a team). Time to accept it and stop whinging about the past --- get on with it Rocky!.
We should always bring up the facts...The first bid of 1990 came from Norwood, behind the backs of the SANFL, including Port, and to prove it I have the correspondence which Norwood tried to surpress through legal action.
Mud
Rocky
18th March 2001, 08:00
Santos - why would I reply to someone so obviously inane?
So take your misguided ego, shine it up real nice, turn it sideways and STICK IT STRAIGHT UP YOUR CANDY A#@!!!
"It's true, it's true"
Blueboy1
18th March 2001, 08:13
Originally posted by Santos L Helper:
I don't see the correlation between Nod going to the Kangaroos game and Port being successfull.
Just another Port hater with limited cognitive abilities?
The Crows will win the AFL flag this year.
Blueboy1
18th March 2001, 08:17
Well said Santos.
Rocky (It doesn't matter what his name is) is hopefully more intelligent than his comments would suggest.
And thats the bottom line !
Its true Its true !
The Crows will kick arse this year.
And if you want some come and get some,
if you don't like me bite me.
Blueboy1
18th March 2001, 08:23
Originally posted by eddie eagle:
uncle steve summed it up perfectly.
In 1990, The backstabbers agreed to let the AFL apple ripen on the tree, but port tried to scoff it all to themselves when everyone else was in bed & they got sick as a result
BW - not Bruce weber but Backstabbing W@nker was their hero.
Port magpies should be banished at ethelton forever - let them squeal at the other clubs rightly not letting them back, they should also be kicked out of the AFL with their bid claiming a support of 35,000 every week.lucky to be half that, some of the ones that do normally leave their syringes in the toilets for poor kids to find like last years front page effort.
Kick them out I say!!
If their supporters can find jobs, I think part of the problem will be fixed. It is hard to do employ rubbish though. Did you see the footy show last Thursday (particularly street talk)?
Santos L Helper
18th March 2001, 15:39
Santos - why would I reply to someone so obviously inane?
So take your misguided ego, shine it up real nice, turn it sideways and STICK IT STRAIGHT UP YOUR CANDY A#@!!!
Rocky, my ego is huge, but not misguided.
So Rocky, wanna see me pull an opinion out your ass?.......again?!?!?
That trick never works.
I gather this is the rocky you name yourself after?
and please come up with your own signature.
------------------
eddie eagle
18th March 2001, 16:38
Originally posted by Blueboy1:
If their supporters can find jobs, I think part of the problem will be fixed. It is hard to do employ rubbish though. Did you see the footy show last Thursday (particularly street talk)?
street talk was sensational - a stroll down the port mall which was soooooo representative of the power faithful. I particularly liked the group in the car & the motorcycle accident victim. Great to see that next years AFL broadcasting station is painting power in such a great light - It is probably beacuse their matches do not rate & they will be on foxtel where their fans will not be able to afford them.
Have you noticed that last year the power had great support at away matches. It is beacuse their supporters can take all week to get home with no work committments to enforce a speedy return
blueboy1
19th March 2001, 09:21
Originally posted by eddie eagle:
street talk was sensational - a stroll down the port mall which was soooooo representative of the power faithful. I particularly liked the group in the car & the motorcycle accident victim. Great to see that next years AFL broadcasting station is painting power in such a great light - It is probably beacuse their matches do not rate & they will be on foxtel where their fans will not be able to afford them.
Have you noticed that last year the power had great support at away matches. It is beacuse their supporters can take all week to get home with no work committments to enforce a speedy return
Hitchhiking is their usual way of travelling so they have to allow for atleast 1 week. How do they manage it though, if they have to be at the Social Security to sign for their check on the Wednesday? Perhaps 1 of them might be able to tell us.
Rocky
19th March 2001, 18:15
Originally posted by Santos L Helper:
Rocky, my ego is huge, but not misguided.
So Rocky, wanna see me pull an opinion out your ass?.......again?!?!?
That trick never works.
I gather this is the rocky you name yourself after?
and please come up with your own signature.
<blink>Big statement (and rather ironic) coming from a guy who's cioned his nickname from an illegal Simpson's credit card!!</blink>
Bye.
Blues_Brat
30th March 2001, 00:14
Throw Port out of the SANFL? No way!
Throw them out of society!!!
Perhaps the government could fence off the whole Port area and sell tickets at the gates. It'd be like an African safari park, you cant get out of your car though. Your wallets would be stolen and you cant stop cos theyll take your wheels.