View Full Version : Malthouse Press-Conference Post QB

LordNelson
9 Jun 2008, 19:42
Don't know if there's mention of it anywhere else-so if there is my apologies

Said that coll don't look at QB as a big game (no different than any other week for them) and made the point that we were up and about today.
Basically had a sly crack at us i.e. that only a big game will get the MFC players 'up'.

In poor form I thought (Coache's should only comment on their own club).. BUT
Completely true I hate to say it.

Last week vs. St Kilda we gave nothing. Today pretty good.. AND next week?
Wait & see but I hope they can start putting weeks together of basic requirements for a footy match (spirit, intensity and the rest) and start to prove mm (douchebag) wrong

master bate
9 Jun 2008, 20:06
It's a bit like that, but we have a young side and they just might struggle to know how to get up and about every week. That said we are yet to play 2 ok or better games in a row (classing Freo, Geelong, Hawthorn and Collingwood as ok) so the Richmond game will be a massive test to prove we can be more than competitive. Thinking about it we have Richmond and Essedon in not to long, I really hope we can give a good effort in those games.

stickman11
9 Jun 2008, 20:19
It's a bit like that, but we have a young side and they just might struggle to know how to get up and about every week. That said we are yet to play 2 ok or better games in a row (classing Freo, Geelong, Hawthorn and Collingwood as ok) so the Richmond game will be a massive test to prove we can be more than competitive. Thinking about it we have Richmond and Essedon in not to long, I really hope we can give a good effort in those games.

A young team will always be up and down. Malthouse should know that. Toolish. We are building a new side. Our young players a learning and showing more each week. We won't be down the bottom for long.

Bartram_Class
9 Jun 2008, 20:20
The precedent is there for next week.

Up to the boys to do it all again against the Tigers, losing Moloney and Rivers won't help.

D mon
9 Jun 2008, 20:22
it's as if we need something to fire us up to play our best... against the hawks was it neita's farewell? today was it the queen's birthday rivalry and the 150 year celebrations that got us going? i wish we could see 100% efforts every week, regardless of it being a special occasion.

LordNelson
9 Jun 2008, 20:25

I reckon it's a massive worry.
I acknowledge we have a young group but let's look at the past few weeks.

Freo a great win, followed by the break, then a really disappointing performance against adelaide IIRC

Then good performance against hawks using Neitz's retirement as the impetus.

Followed by a disgraceful outing last week.

Then a good performance this week using the 150 heroes/past greats/QB fixture as impetus.

Pattern anybody?

If they don't have a fair dinkum crack against the tigers this week (not in the result but in the effort) I think it's fair to declare a major problem in the 'psyche' of our group.

FWIW F()ck malthouse as well

PS. stole the above poster's thunder a bit.. internet speed not good on my end

Pie eyed
9 Jun 2008, 20:52
Don't know if there's mention of it anywhere else-so if there is my apologies

Said that coll don't look at QB as a big game (no different than any other week for them) and made the point that we were up and about today.
Basically had a sly crack at us i.e. that only a big game will get the MFC players 'up'.

In poor form I thought (Coache's should only comment on their own club).. BUT
Completely true I hate to say it.

Last week vs. St Kilda we gave nothing. Today pretty good.. AND next week?
Wait & see but I hope they can start putting weeks together of basic requirements for a footy match (spirit, intensity and the rest) and start to prove mm (douchebag) wrong

I think you will find Malthouse was talking more about the fact that Melbourne had a very big build up to this match from a Club point of view.
You were celebrating your 150th birthday, honoring 150 of the clubs legends, ushering a new era regarding the club president and desperate for a win which has threatened for a while.
You can't deny that your boys would have been at a fever pitch entering into this game and I don't blame them.
Malthouse prides himself on not overplaying the importance of any one match simply because it is seen as a special occasion. He, and I think most coach's, like to see a team treat each game as as important as the next and the last. The focus is not on the event but the result. I think our boys appeared to be very much too relaxed early.

Our boys were a fair bit off today and your boys were keen to take advantage of any weakness.
In the end we got home with a fair bit of luck I think.

LordNelson
9 Jun 2008, 21:04
[quote=Pie eyed;11316572]I think you will find Malthouse was talking more about the fact that Melbourne had a very big build up to this match from a Club point of view.

Might just be two supporters from two different club putting a different flavour over his words but I couldn't help feel the whole "We're Collingwood, we play in front of 60K every week, QB doesn't mean crappola to us" attitude coming through his words.

Obviously there was also an element of his trying to account for what he perceived as the reason why the match was closer than many expected, that being that we were fired up and coll weren't (since this is just a normal game to them)

Pie 4 Life
9 Jun 2008, 22:01
Melbourne will beat Richmond. Bookmark it now.

tcnthat
9 Jun 2008, 23:50

Spot on. Redlegs have twice the heart of Richmond.

And dont take anything MM says in a press conference seriously. Ever.

Supermercado
10 Jun 2008, 00:40

If we back up like we did the last time after a good game against a top 4 contender we'll lose by ten goals.

Heapoie
10 Jun 2008, 09:01
What Malthouse said annoyed me massively!
Collingwood want to have the best of both worlds, they get all the big games that every other team would love to play and then come out and whinge about what a great sacrifice they are making on behalf of their players fatigue!
Also, a bit rich coming from a club that come out like madmen against Geelong and make 80+ tackles. Why doesn't Collingwood play like that every week?
Congrats on yesterdays effort Melbourne, really wanted you guys to get up!

LordNelson
10 Jun 2008, 14:46
What Malthouse said annoyed me massively!
Collingwood want to have the best of both worlds, they get all the big games that every other team would love to play and then come out and whinge about what a great sacrifice they are making on behalf of their players fatigue!
Also, a bit rich coming from a club that come out like madmen against Geelong and make 80+ tackles. Why doesn't Collingwood play like that every week?
Congrats on yesterdays effort Melbourne, really wanted you guys to get up!

They had around the 70+ mark for tackles yesterday - So they obviously weren't 'down' and he was doing some spin. Really just pissed me off that he cheaped out by belittling our fixture on the QB and basically used Melbourne as something of a scapegoat for what he must have thought was a frighteningly close game for his mob.

favourites
10 Jun 2008, 15:30
Just on a quick aside, what were the average ages of the two sides that played yest. I think you maybe surprised at how young Collingwood's team is (ave ~24). Melbourne prob had a greater portion of older (>26) players than Collingwood. So why would you be saying that we are a young side and we will be inconsistant... players like White, Yze, Bruce, Green, Mcdonald, Wheatley have been in the system long enough. They should be performing every week.

I was frustrated for the demons supporters around me because they were all saying why dont they have this endever every week... which is pretty much what MM has spelt out. Hopefully it gives you a spark to smash who ever you play next week, because you deserve some consistancy in output.

You were pretty good yesterday BTW.

the russian40
10 Jun 2008, 15:52
Just on a quick aside, what were the average ages of the two sides that played yest. I think you maybe surprised at how young Collingwood's team is (ave ~24). Melbourne prob had a greater portion of older (>26) players than Collingwood. So why would you be saying that we are a young side and we will be inconsistant... players like White, Yze, Bruce, Green, Mcdonald, Wheatley have been in the system long enough. They should be performing every week.

I was frustrated for the demons supporters around me because they were all saying why dont they have this endever every week... which is pretty much what MM has spelt out. Hopefully it gives you a spark to smash who ever you play next week, because you deserve some consistancy in output.

You were pretty good yesterday BTW.

We have younger players in terms of games played I think..Collingwood is pretty young, but you blooded a lot of those guys, which is what we are doing now. I think it showed with composure under pressure, you guys hit targets while we just put it on the boot.

eliasd82
10 Jun 2008, 18:40
On Footy Classified Malthouse said that Melbournes attitude was only right when they had something to play for and that we basically have a mental problem...

First of all its not his place to talk about MelbourneFC so in the future he can keep his trap shut... and when he is schdueled to media conferences keep it Collingwood or zip that constantly wynging mouth...

Garry Lyon very nice also put that remark to rest, when he said "I saw collingwood play one of the most amazing games of footy against Geelong and today against melbourne you said that you were a bit flat" Malthouse was stumbling from that comment and garry didn't push it but it was really good to see Gaz stick up for the club after that stupidity.

But I found it really funny how he was giving melbourne sh!t for with an attitude problem and gaza turned it around and said basically well didn't you just have that today... On ya Garry!!!

master bate
10 Jun 2008, 18:49
Yep, remember Collingwood got beaten by us and Richmond last year, and should have got beaten by Carlton (tanking) and us again (Neitz 300, we had 17 players left). That said we need to be more consistent and it should come this week. Also Malthouse said we didn't play like a bottom side, I thought he might have noticed how close the comp is and how you have to be 100% in any game to win (look to Freo (15th on the ladder!) as an example, and the fact that they smashed Geelong but clearly aren't the top team in the comp).

FOOT OF GOD
11 Jun 2008, 17:29
First Get Over It The Dees Where The Example For A Trend In Footy That Effects All Teams And Mm Said That When Questioned By Gazz.

Second He Is Only Pissed Off Because You Made Us Play Hard To Get Over The Line When You Hand Out Victorys Most Weeks Without A Care.

In Regard To My Second Point It Is Anoying When Teams Tend To Play Harder In Big Games And Most Of Those Big Games Are With The Pies. So It Would Be Nice To Play A Bottem 8 Side When They Dont Care..

Hope You Smash The Tigers//:d:d:d

favourites
11 Jun 2008, 17:38
Wow that was really hard to read, way to many capital letters. The left pinkie must be a bit sore after writing that!

eliasd82
11 Jun 2008, 17:41
First Get Over It The Dees Where The Example For A Trend In Footy That Effects All Teams And Mm Said That When Questioned By Gazz.

I agree with that it is a trend in footy and that it happenes to most teams, esspecially when they are full of youth but I felt he had a dig at MelbourneFC and particularly related those comments to us...

He should concertrate on trying to get a flag for his club instead of opening his trap about his thoughts on melbournes mentality. Simple as that.

FOOT OF GOD
12 Jun 2008, 10:06
Wow that was really hard to read, way to many capital letters. The left pinkie must be a bit sore after writing that!

Yeah it was done all in caps and then came out like that when I posted it ....
Dont know why?

ExTasDeeMan
12 Jun 2008, 11:25
Your profile has been set to enforce capital letters in the answers - just like Warnock enforced Clokes pooness.