View Full Version : Who are you backing in the nba playoffs best of 7 series?
NMFC4LIFE
9 Jun 2008, 20:04
Celtics or the Lakers
I like the celtics in this one myself already 2-0 up in the series and firing on all cylinders ,Pierce and Garnett both had ripper games 28 and 17 poinys respectively:thumbsu: Altho next 3 games of the series are in lA so the lakers are still in with a good show i think;)
The Filth Wizard
9 Jun 2008, 20:11
Celtics or the Lakers???
Is it 1990 already?
But really, who knocked out the Globetrotters?
Celtics for me.
Roos4eva
9 Jun 2008, 20:25
Celtics for sure, mainly because I support Celtic in the SPL.
When I was right into NBA, I supported the Lakers but I don't follow it so much anymore.
Manbearpig
10 Jun 2008, 09:18
This time yesterday I would have said the Lakers.
Celtics were all over them like a cheap suit yesterday. Hard to see the Celtics lose it from here.
I'm a Lakers fan though, so my fingers are crossed.
my Carlton BF mate Nutcase & I have endured a heap of painful years waiting to see the mights C's back where they belong. Despite both of us not being overly pleased with GM Ainge's big buy up of vets in the off season, its paid off in spades, so far.
2 down and two to go, time to paint Bean Town green again. Come on Sweet 17. :thumbsu:
my Carlton BF mate Nutcase & I have endured a heap of painful years waiting to see the mights C's back where they belong. Despite both of us not being overly pleased with Boston GM Ainge's big buy up of vets in the off season, its paid off in spades, so far.
2 down and two to go, time to paint Bean Town green again. Come on Sweet 17. :thumbsu:
Celtics.
Buit how they f*** they almost let 20 something point lead slip and almost lose in Game 2 would be cause for concern.
Celtics.
Buit how they f*** they almost let 20 something point lead slip and almost lose in Game 2 would be cause for concern.
I watched most of the game and then took the kids out as we were smoking them in the last quarter only to get a text from my mate saying the Lakers (appropriate name for a californian team. ;)) got within 2 with under a minute to go.
Combo of LA shooting the lights out and the C's taking the foot off the pedal. They wouldn't want to continue to do that against Kobe, Gasol and the gang.
The Other Dean
10 Jun 2008, 17:40
I'm a Pistons fan, but to answer the OP.....
Go Celtics !!
Chadwiko
10 Jun 2008, 18:07
Yeah, I associate myself with New Hampshire/Boston/the whole New England area of the States, therefore i'm a celtics man.
But on a side note; the NBA is currently in the midst of perhaps one of the simplest yet most effective advertising campaigns i've ever seen in sport.
The latest ad;
PWHEv5yH2qU
And a few other examples;
2k-pNx3hynY
qP62iTvjSa4
NMFC4LIFE
10 Jun 2008, 18:24
Yeah, I associate myself with New Hampshire/Boston/the whole New England area of the States, therefore i'm a celtics man.
But on a side note; the NBA is currently in the midst of perhaps one of the simplest yet most effective advertising campaigns i've ever seen in sport.
The latest ad;
PWHEv5yH2qU
And a few other examples;
2k-pNx3hynY
qP62iTvjSa4
Simple yet effective I like it :thumbsu:
Woodson
10 Jun 2008, 21:27
Thanx for the heads up on those RIVALS ads. Wait a couple years for the AFL to copy. Next 3 in LA. If the Celtics can't take one back from the LA here..
**yikes**
Billy Joel's famous tune will be back in the charts!!
or maybe this one..
d-xVb1qsPCw&hl
I'm off to watch Game 3 now, hard to watch when the Spurs got so close to the finals themselves :(
Manbearpig
11 Jun 2008, 12:17
I'm off to watch Game 3 now, hard to watch when the Spurs got so close to the finals themselves :(
Listening to it online now.
I like the "M.. V.. P.." chants when Kobe gets the ball.
Listening to it online now.
I like the "M.. V.. P.." chants when Kobe gets the ball.
I don't :p
Anyway, only got to watch the first half before heading off to Tafe, and having read a summary of the rest of the game, I figure it can be taken one of two ways:
Either Boston can be happy that they played so shite and got so close to effectively sealing the series, or;
The Lakers can be happy that they managed to sneak a win with a lot of upside to come from the team (sans Kobe) in the next couple of home games.
Or have I completely missed the mark? :p
Manbearpig
11 Jun 2008, 18:29
I don't :p
Anyway, only got to watch the first half before heading off to Tafe, and having read a summary of the rest of the game, I figure it can be taken one of two ways:
Either Boston can be happy that they played so shite and got so close to effectively sealing the series, or;
The Lakers can be happy that they managed to sneak a win with a lot of upside to come from the team (sans Kobe) in the next couple of home games.
Or have I completely missed the mark? :p
I read it the other way, the Lakers should be happy that they played so badly and still won. Apart from Kobe and Vujacic, they were terrible.
Its hard to tell how the series is going until someone loses at home. And keep in mind the fact that the Celtics are a bunch of chokers who haven't known success like Kobe and Phil Jackson have.
DarwinRoo
11 Jun 2008, 22:48
I picked the Lakers to win in 5 but that prediction has been blown out of the water.
Im a Bulls fan so Id like to see the Celtics win. I hate Western Conference teams.
I read it the other way, the Lakers should be happy that they played so badly and still won. Apart from Kobe and Vujacic, they were terrible.
Its hard to tell how the series is going until someone loses at home. And keep in mind the fact that the Celtics are a bunch of chokers who haven't known success like Kobe and Phil Jackson have.
Or you could take it that PP & KG shot a combined 5 of 29 until late in the game, finished with 8 of 34 IIRC. Don't think there is not much upside there. ;)
As for the claims of the C's being chokers, not sure where there is a shred of evidence for that claim. lol Celts have Red and Doc is about to slay the Big Phil to make it a most sweet 17. :p
Manbearpig
12 Jun 2008, 08:46
As for the claims of the C's being chokers, not sure where there is a shred of evidence for that claim. lol Celts have Red and Doc is about to slay the Big Phil to make it a most sweet 17. :p
OK, their big players are chokers then.
Garnett, Allen and Pierce all have a shocking record of performing badly in play-offs.
OK, their big players are chokers then.
Garnett, Allen and Pierce all have a shocking record of performing badly in play-offs.
actually that is a complete fallacy.
Garnett averages nearly 2 points a game better in the post season, Allen is slightly above in p.s while Pierce is about half a point behind his normal season ave. This post season is statistically his worst ever so far, but those stats coincides with the past regular season where his return has dropped off to as you would expect with the arrival of RA & KG.
All in all, you couldn't wish for a better Final series matchup. The two greatest franchises battling off to see who will own the most pennents outright & Jackson vs Boston's Auerbach for most titles as a coach ever.
Absolutely crucial game 4 coming up, a Boston win will have the Lakers right on the ropes and rady to be KO'ed while a Laker win would turn the heat right on the C's with another Sthn Cali game to go.
Salad dodger
13 Jun 2008, 17:21
Im a Celtics fan from the Larry Bird days and its great to see them back in the finals, the big three have the weapons to win this and I hope they do as Kobe is a bell end IMO, its all about him, he bags team mate for mistakes but nothings said when he shoots 9 for 26, there is a difference between confidence and arrogence.
Garnett and Ray Allen have both dropped the ego to be part of a better team and Rondo and Perkins fill the other spots with reasonable effectiveness.
I do feel that the Celtic have to win one in LA just to ensure that break the lakers
GO CELTICS
Judging by the outcome of Game 4, I reckon the Doc must have shown the team our game against Sydney from 2004.
....got the feeling you may just be right Ryz. :thumbsu: That was a heck of a comeback in any sporting terms. Will be interesting to see how the Lakers respond to it. These two games with the big comebacks, ours today and the one we just held on for in game 2 look like they could well decide the series.
Damn straight.
If the Lakers somehow make it to game 7, (and it goes without saying) Big Phil will be remembered as one of the greatest ever.
Hopefully LA can pull something out of the bag and do a Port Adelaide. :p
Manbearpig
13 Jun 2008, 18:11
Towel in.
No coming back from that.
Damn straight.
If the Lakers somehow make it to game 7, (and it goes without saying) Big Phil will be remembered as one of the greatest ever.
Hopefully LA can pull something out of the bag and do a Port Adelaide. :p
....:D Lets hope so. :thumbsu:
Not sure how we got back into that, especially when we were in that 24 point hole shooting at under .200 and the Lakers were going at nearly .700 i couldn't see how we would dig ourselves out. Will be a game remembered for a long time, especially the Mean Green.
Have to finish the job though, but Kobe, Phil and the gang won't make it easy.
NMFC4LIFE
16 Jun 2008, 15:14
Interesting game 5 we say today the lakers should have well and truly buried the celtics in the first half and I'd say that would be the reason why boston will easily take game 6, even with a commanding lead and kobe and gasol on fire LA were still unable to look completely in control and in the end boston were more or less unlucky to lose it, the celts still had their chances to pinch it in the last however pierce and kg were wastefull from the field and in d they were turning the ball over way 2 easily and frequently but yet i cant see them doing that 2 games in a row so im gonna say celts comfortably in game 6 back in boston:thumbsu:
What a shit contest it turned out to be. :thumbsd:
Chadwiko
19 Jun 2008, 01:42
What a shit contest it turned out to be. :thumbsd:
Whilst Game 6 wasn't the most entertaining, on the whole this final series was great! :thumbsu:
H0Dj-mIbNYg
KG's post match interview was one of the funniest things I have ever seen.
By the end of it he was hitting on the reporter! :D
Talk about an emphatic game 6 victory. When the Big 3 fire all together its a scarey prospect. Been a long time between drinks for the C's, was surprised there was only 30 arrests in celebrations in Bean Town. :p
They might be partied out with the Red Sox & Patriots wins this decade.