View Full Version : Expansion Swans outrate NRL in Sydney
Doctor Jolly
9 Jun 2008, 20:47
The day has finally come.
Last Saturdays game, Saturday evening: 134,000.
NRL game on saturday evening a few weeks ago: 130,000
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=10920422#post10920422
Good stuff swannies.
You can hardly compare the two, one started at 9:30pm and the other at what, 7:30pm?
Swans ratings aren't very good at all, just average at best, and although they get decent attendances they aren't very popular according to the tv ratings, still a long way to go for the Swans.
stmookeyj
9 Jun 2008, 23:21
The day has finally come.
Last Saturdays game, Saturday evening: 134,000.
NRL game on saturday evening a few weeks ago: 130,000
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=10920422#post10920422
Good stuff swannies.
Note the bolded words. Until they beat them on the same night then it's still not good enough.
You can hardly compare the two, one started at 9:30pm and the other at what, 7:30pm?
Swans ratings aren't very good at all, just average at best, and although they get decent attendances they aren't very popular according to the tv ratings, still a long way to go for the Swans.
Swans rate 134K and two NRL teams average only 130k yet the Swans are a looong way off??
Mmmmm....good logic :rolleyes:
Correct me if I'm wrong .
7.30pm program start . half an hour of two guys talking .
8.00pm bouncedown . Swans don't score a goal . 6 goals down .
8.45pm 2nd quarter . Swans get some system but are very inaccurate .
10.00pm 3rd quarter .Swans start to peg the opposition back .
And don't they quote average figures ?
So the peak would have to be much higher to balance the slow intro .
So not so bad over the length of the time span .
:)
Ignoring any comparisons with the NRL, it's actually a half decent audience given it was live on pay TV as well, ad free. I would have thought at least another 30,000 would have been watching on Fox.
Ricardo
10 Jun 2008, 00:10
Swans rate 134K and two NRL teams average only 130k yet the Swans are a looong way off??
Mmmmm....good logic :rolleyes:
Go look at all the NRL tv ratings on FN and Sunday arvo vs Swans ratings in Sydney this season, 134k is a good figure for a Swans match this season but to say the Swans are anywhere near the NRL clubs is amusing.
You cannot look at this isolated ratings result and say the AFL beat the NRL.
AuckMel
10 Jun 2008, 05:22
Go look at all the NRL tv ratings on FN and Sunday arvo vs Swans ratings in Sydney this season, 134k is a good figure for a Swans match this season but to say the Swans are anywhere near the NRL clubs is amusing.
You know you run the risk of being labeled a Rugby league troll don't you, Ricardo?
But alas, here we go again with another Aussie Rules v Rugby League thread on the AFL expansion forum.
ChrisFooty
10 Jun 2008, 07:22
Were the two matches on at the same time? Head to head? That would give a more true comparsion between the two. I do not think they were.
finders
10 Jun 2008, 09:23
Ignoring any comparisons with the NRL, it's actually a half decent audience given it was live on pay TV as well, ad free. I would have thought at least another 30,000 would have been watching on Fox.
Great news for our own Aussie game in thugby media dominated Sincity.
The AFL are slowing grinding RL into the ground on all fronts.
Even their "greatest " their copy of AFL SOO is failing in Sydney with ANZ Stadium less than full even with 20,000 giveaway free tickets at the recent game LOL
The RL trolls will be shocked as TV is the one thing they still rave about.
I didnt say AFL beat anyone, only questioned your post specifically the remarks "Swans ratings aren't very good at all, just average at best...still a long way to go for the Swans"
You'd think 134,000 (and live on pay tv as its suggested) is a very good figure.
Especially when two local RL teams in Sydney averaged less (130,000)
It's all positive :thumbsu:
But alas, here we go again with another Aussie Rules v Rugby League thread on the AFL expansion forum.
Do you know what AuckMel, had it not being for the influx of RL trolls, these threads and many posts would not be as vindictive. Yes they may get some notice, but stating and comparing tv audience in NSW between AFL and NRL games is not a pot shot at RL but stating the facts.
I am sure there are threads by RL trolls stating how AFL is failing at some expansion attempt or how well RL may have done at tv audience, just ask LD or Para or ringleader etc
Doctor Jolly
10 Jun 2008, 10:19
Note the bolded words. Until they beat them on the same night then it's still not good enough.
They never are on the same night, so you'll never get you perfect comparison.
But the saturday night one first posted is as close as we will get to a head to head comparison this year.
littleduck
10 Jun 2008, 11:12
Yeah, the WaArriors out-rated the All Blacks once too.
Doctor Jolly
10 Jun 2008, 11:43
Really ?
Anyway the AFL's 10% jump (roughly) from 120K to 134K to overtake league is not unexpected and in line with long term projections.
And you help flame it by posting here .
Apart from the title which is a flame attempt all we've said it
is an improving result for AFL in Sydney . Another small plus for AFL .
IMO the failing ratings for nrl would be of greater concern
and if I was you I wouldn't do anything to draw attention to the fact .
But you cannot resist having the last word can you .
:o
Hahaha Warriors just simply don't rate
For a Nation only having one NRL team, it's attendance and ratings are :thumbsd:
littleduck
10 Jun 2008, 13:54
Hahaha Warriors just simply don't rate
For a Nation only having one NRL team, it's attendance and ratings are :thumbsd:
Attendance and ratings are 100% better than AFL.
lions_den
10 Jun 2008, 13:58
The OP is deluded. The NRL was on pay tv:rolleyes:
True, always look on the bright side...:)
But got to admit...very dissapointing for one team Nation....:thumbsd:
Beaussie
10 Jun 2008, 14:15
The OP is deluded. The NRL was on pay tv:rolleyes:
The OP I assume is referring to the NRL TV ratings for a Saturday night on Channel 9 recently in Sydney.
What Australia watched, Saturday
Description Total Sydney Melbourne Brisbane Adelaide Perth
1 DOC MARTIN ABC 1,507,000 448,000 409,000 328,000 155,000 168,000
2 SEVEN NEWS - SAT Seven 1,289,000 381,000 346,000 245,000 132,000 186,000
3 AUSTRALIA'S FUNNIEST HOME VIDEO SHOW Nine 1,094,000 274,000 326,000 230,000 126,000 139,000
4 NINE NEWS SATURDAY Nine 1,043,000 283,000 315,000 212,000 136,000 97,000
5 ABC NEWS-SAT ABC 1,001,000 294,000 288,000 204,000 112,000 103,000
6 THE VICAR OF DIBLEY Seven 947,000 282,000 223,000 213,000 83,000 146,000
7 THE GREAT OUTDOORS Seven 935,000 290,000 232,000 174,000 105,000 134,000
11 The BILL ABC 808,000 269,000 218,000 169,000 58,000 94,000
12 FAWLTY TOWERS Seven 775,000 238,000 185,000 160,000 54,000 137,000
13 RACING STRIPES -RPT Nine 758,000 209,000 219,000 149,000 71,000 110,000
14 M-PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN: THE CURSE OF THE BLACK PEARL Seven 733,000 260,000 232,000 157,000 84,000
16 SATURDAY NIGHT AFL Ten 710,000 391,000 51,000 170,000 97,000
17 SATURDAY AFTERNOON AFL Ten 628,000 58,000 294,000 80,000 107,000 89,000
19 TOP GEAR RPT SBS 471,000 146,000 177,000 77,000 52,000 19,000
26 IPL TWENTY20 CRICKET - LIVE/DELAYED Ten 326,000 96,000 117,000 22,000 53,000 37,000
[B]27 NINE'S SATURDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL Nine 324,000 130,000 14,000 169,000 6,000 5,000
87 MY KID'S A STAR Nine 79,000 24,000 34,000 13,000 8,000 Not shown in Perth
http://blogs.sunherald.com.au/whoweare/
Ricardo
10 Jun 2008, 14:23
I didnt say AFL beat anyone, only questioned your post specifically the remarks "Swans ratings aren't very good at all, just average at best...still a long way to go for the Swans"
You'd think 134,000 (and live on pay tv as its suggested) is a very good figure.
Especially when two local RL teams in Sydney averaged less (130,000)
It's all positive :thumbsu:
I see where you are coming from but the reality is this was a one off, don't get me wrong i'd love for Sydney to be averaging at least 200k+ per game but the reality is they are well behind that figure and far behind the NRL for tv ratings.
This is off the top of my head, i will go have a look later at the figures but from memory the tv ratings Sydney have been getting this season are either at or below previous years (even last year when they were going about the same).
It is understandable in one way because they did win the premiership in 2005 and made the GF in '06 so you were bound to get a lull in ratings when they were down but they haven't been down, they made the finals last season and are right in contention for top 4 this season.
I may be an optimist on this subject but i was expecting the Sydney Swans AFL figures to grow to average 170k+ per night match and 120-140k+ per day match.
I would love to see what the AFL actually think of the Swans figures because IMO they haven't reached the levels they probably should have Overall I am disappointed in the recent figures, the important thing though is if the AFL are happy, that is all that matters really.
Edit: 94k for the QB clash is an encouraging figure, and lets hope we see more 134k+ results.
Doctor Jolly
10 Jun 2008, 14:32
I see where you are coming from but the reality is this was a one off, don't get me wrong i'd love for Sydney to be averaging at least 200k+ per game but the reality is they are well behind that figure and far behind the NRL for tv ratings.
No. This thread proves that AFL in Sydney is right up there with NRL and sometimes eclipses it. You've got to compare apples with apples. Sport of Saturday night doesnt rate anywhere near as well as sport on friday night. Doesnt matter what sport. So sat v sat is the only relevant data.
This is off the top of my head, i will go have a look later at the figures but from memory the tv ratings Sydney have been getting this season are either at or below previous years (even last year when they were going about the same).
You should always do research before posting. Sydney have had very few prime time games so far this year. Therefore commulatively they would be down on last year, but over the year they are steady.
I may be an optimist on this subject but i was expecting the Sydney Swans AFL figures to grow to average 170k+ per night match and 120-140k+ per day match.
I would love to see what the AFL actually think of the Swans figures because IMO they haven't reached the levels they probably should have Overall I am disappointed in the recent figures, the important thing though is if the AFL are happy, that is all that matters really.
Edit: 94k for the QB clash is an encouraging figure, and lets hope we see more 134k+ results.
170K+ for a saturday night game would be unheard of. In AFL or League. So I think you are setting the bar too high. I think the AFL would be happy with 130K+ consistantly.
Anyway Ch 10 are happy with 110-120K because they signed on for TV rights twice on that figure, and increased the $.
legend166
10 Jun 2008, 16:09
I wonder if there's any chance of the Swans getting a Friday night game next year.
I know they don't like to go against the NRL, but there's talk of Origin going back to Sunday nights, right? There's 3 weeks that Friday night would be open. Put the Swans vs Collingwood game on a Friday night. Only game of the round. No other sport on. See how it rates.
The NRL game on free to air was a one off, not sure about down in Sydney but it wasn't advertised here on the Gold Coast(atleast I didn't see it, and it was late-ish 9.30 i think, Broncos game?). Still a pretty good figure for the Swanies.
AuckMel
10 Jun 2008, 17:30
Do you know what AuckMel, had it not being for the influx of RL trolls, these threads and many posts would not be as vindictive.
Please mate, spare me the dribble.
Yes they may get some notice, but stating and comparing tv audience in NSW between AFL and NRL games is not a pot shot at RL but stating the facts.
I notice the Saints v Bulldogs game rated only 14000 in NSW on sunday while the NRL game attracted 291000 viewers. Still lots of work to do by the looks of things.
If you are say the attendance and ratings (for rl in NZ)
are 100% better than (the) AFL (in NZ)
then that would be a good result for the AFL .
;)
Doctor Jolly
10 Jun 2008, 17:34
I wonder if there's any chance of the Swans getting a Friday night game next year.
I know they don't like to go against the NRL, but there's talk of Origin going back to Sunday nights, right? There's 3 weeks that Friday night would be open. Put the Swans vs Collingwood game on a Friday night. Only game of the round. No other sport on. See how it rates.
No way NRL will move Origin to a stand alone weekend, for the very reason the other codes would pounce like you said.
I notice the Saints v Bulldogs game rated only 14000 in NSW on sunday while the NRL game attracted 291000 viewers. Still lots of work to do by the looks of things.
You really have improved a lot with ld school of trolling .
If you can't win the debate head to head
pick some stat that you can win .
Yes , there still is along way to go for AFL , but they're improving
from already commanding TV rights deal position.
Whilst your code seems to faltering a bit from a not so commanding
TV rights deal position .
Beaussie
10 Jun 2008, 17:41
Please mate, spare me the dribble.
You do realise that game was broadcast at midnight in Sydney? :rolleyes:
THRILLHO
10 Jun 2008, 18:48
If that statistic is true, then it's pretty promising for the AFL in Sydney. Brisbane and Fremantle was shown on Fox1 and Ch7, so out there somewhere are fourteen thousand very keen St Kilda and Western Bulldog fans!
Is that right ?
I cannot believe some like Auckmal would post a totally misleading
statistic like that . I just can't
.:(
Ice-Wolf
10 Jun 2008, 19:06
Then those are fantastic figures, what does Storm rate in Melbourne?
Ricardo
10 Jun 2008, 19:32
No. This thread proves that AFL in Sydney is right up there with NRL and sometimes eclipses it. You've got to compare apples with apples. Sport of Saturday night doesnt rate anywhere near as well as sport on friday night. Doesnt matter what sport. So sat v sat is the only relevant data.
But you are comparing a (dud) match which aired between 9:30-11:30pm to one shown live or near live with a very close finish, and where is your proof of the AFL in Sydney eclipsing the NRL?? :confused:
When has the AFL ever eclipsed the NRL in Sydney? Remembering your apples v apples argument.
You should always do research before posting. Sydney have had very few prime time games so far this year. Therefore commulatively they would be down on last year, but over the year they are steady.
Yes i should, here are Sydneys figures this season (mediaspy (http://www.mediaspy.org/forum/index.php?showforum=55) has most of the info on this subject):
Saturday night:
Rnd 1 St.k v Syd- 104k
Rnd 3 Brisb v Syd- 112k*
Rnd 4 Syd v WC- 118k
Rnd 9 Port v Syd- 124k*
Rnd 11 WC v Syd- 134k
Sunday
Rnd 6 Nth v Syd- 107k (1pm?)
Rnd 8 Syd v Ess- 109k
Rnd 10 Syd v Rich- 90k* (1pm)
*Foxtel game also
FTA result not given:
Rnd 7 Syd v Foots-177k (nationwide Foxtel game)
Saturday Arvo
Rnd 13 Geel v Syd- 134k
Saturday night
Rnd 1 Syd v WC- 112k
Rnd 4 Adel v Syd- 116k
Rnd 5 Syd v Melb- 136k
Rnd 6 Nth v Syd- 122k*
Rnd 7 St.k v Syd- 122k
Rnd 10 Syd v Ess- 117k
Rnd 16 WC v Syd- 171k (unheard of apparently)
Rnd 17 Syd v Rich- 147k* (112k on Foxtel)
Rnd 20 Brisb v Syd- 169k* (162k on Foxtel)
Rnd 21 Coll v Syd- 182k
Sunday
Rnd 3 Syd v Brisb- 97k* (1pm)
Rnd 8 Syd v Port- 101k* (132k on Foxtel)
Rnd 12 Syd v Coll- 165k
Rnd 14 Syd v Freo- 116k* (1pm)
Rnd 19 Syd v Stk- 156k* (150k on Foxtel)
*Foxtel Game also
FTA Ratings results were not given for:
Rnd 2 Rich v Syd (Foxtel game (FG))
Rnd 9 Foots v Syd (FG- 130k on Foxtel)
Rnd 11 Haw v Syd (FG)
Rnd 15 Syd v Carl (FG- 133k on Foxtel) (1pm)
Rnd 18 Syd v Melb (FG- 118k on Foxtel)
Rnd 22 Syd v Haw (FG- 127k on Foxtel) (1pm)
Make what you will of the figures.
170K+ for a saturday night game would be unheard of. In AFL or League. So I think you are setting the bar too high. I think the AFL would be happy with 130K+ consistantly.
As it is atm 170k is achievable BUT av. is stretching though i must admit. The NRL is hardly ever shown on FTA on Saturday nights so one ratings figure does not suggest it could not rate higher (200k+) if shown live and between two decent teams.
Anyway Ch 10 are happy with 110-120K because they signed on for TV rights twice on that figure, and increased the $.
Got an article for that one?
Who would be happy with this (http://www.mediaspy.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=14931) (except SBS):
SYDNEY - SATURDAY June 7
TEN: 12.1% (SYDNEY AFL GAME) (WC v Syd)
NINE: 29.8%
SEVEN: 25.9%
ABC: 23.6%
SBS: 8.5%
This is with the highest rating Swans game of the season so far.......
AuckMel
10 Jun 2008, 19:36
Is that right ?
Those figures are 100% right and not some lie like you post.
Get over it you sook.
Beaussie
10 Jun 2008, 19:46
Yes i should, here are Sydneys figures this season (mediaspy (http://www.mediaspy.org/forum/index.php?showforum=55) has most of the info on this subject):
Saturday night:
Rnd 1 St.k v Syd- 104k
Rnd 3 Brisb v Syd- 112k*
Rnd 4 Syd v WC- 118k
Rnd 9 Port v Syd- 124k*
Rnd 11 WC v Syd- 134k
So the audience numbers in Sydney are increasing with each Saturday night game. :thumbsu:
Oh and lets not forget the terrible start by the Swans on Saturday night.
AuckMel
10 Jun 2008, 19:52
pick some stat that you can win .
LoL
Poor wittle cossie.
Gman wanted to compare AFL ratings with NRL ratings in NSW. I was happy to oblige. Those stats are true and not lies, although I can understand how you can no longer tell the difference given your continual lying on this forum.
Whilst your code
Yes mate, I had a great day out at Sunbury on sunday watching the very best U12 and 13 year olds from the Essendon District win their respective sections. We've certainly got some great talent out here.
But hey, as much as I'd love to talk about growing the game, there are idiots on this forum who would much rather talk about Rugby league, or troll Rugby league fans with lies and bullshit. This forums downfall will be on their/your heads.
But you are comparing a (dud) match which aired between 9:30-11:30pm to one shown live or near live with a very close finish,
Why post the above when you haven't answered below ?
Originally Posted by Ricardo
Glory and Fame
10 Jun 2008, 21:43
You can use those numbers to prove anything, but here's my take on it:
Assuming a crowd of 26,800 for Sydney v St Kilda at the SCG this Saturday night, 1 in 5 of the people who watched the Eagles v Sydney game on TV last Saturday will make the next step and attend this weekend's match. That's a very high TV viewer to attender conversion rate.
That indicates an audience that, although relatively small in number, are far more committed. Advertisers love a committed audience, and that's why, even though the ratings for AFL on Saturday night aren't great, Ch 10 are more than happy to continue showing it.
Doctor Jolly
10 Jun 2008, 22:05
But you are comparing a (dud) match which aired between 9:30-11:30pm to one shown live or near live with a very close finish, and where is your proof of the AFL in Sydney eclipsing the NRL?? :confused:
When has the AFL ever eclipsed the NRL in Sydney? Remembering your apples v apples argument.
Just check the OP before typing that rubish.
Saturday night:
Rnd 1 St.k v Syd- 104k
Rnd 3 Brisb v Syd- 112k*
Rnd 4 Syd v WC- 118k
Rnd 9 Port v Syd- 124k*
Rnd 11 WC v Syd- 134k
Sunday
Rnd 6 Nth v Syd- 107k (1pm?)
Rnd 8 Syd v Ess- 109k
Rnd 10 Syd v Rich- 90k* (1pm)
*Foxtel game also
FTA result not given:
Rnd 7 Syd v Foots-177k (nationwide Foxtel game)
Saturday Arvo
Rnd 13 Geel v Syd- 134k
Saturday night
Rnd 1 Syd v WC- 112k
Rnd 4 Adel v Syd- 116k
Rnd 5 Syd v Melb- 136k
Rnd 6 Nth v Syd- 122k*
Rnd 7 St.k v Syd- 122k
Rnd 10 Syd v Ess- 117k
Rnd 16 WC v Syd- 171k (unheard of apparently)
Rnd 17 Syd v Rich- 147k* (112k on Foxtel)
Rnd 20 Brisb v Syd- 169k* (162k on Foxtel)
Rnd 21 Coll v Syd- 182k
Sunday
Rnd 3 Syd v Brisb- 97k* (1pm)
Rnd 8 Syd v Port- 101k* (132k on Foxtel)
Rnd 12 Syd v Coll- 165k
Rnd 14 Syd v Freo- 116k* (1pm)
Rnd 19 Syd v Stk- 156k* (150k on Foxtel)
*Foxtel Game also
FTA Ratings results were not given for:
Rnd 2 Rich v Syd (Foxtel game (FG))
Rnd 9 Foots v Syd (FG- 130k on Foxtel)
Rnd 11 Haw v Syd (FG)
Rnd 15 Syd v Carl (FG- 133k on Foxtel) (1pm)
Rnd 18 Syd v Melb (FG- 118k on Foxtel)
Rnd 22 Syd v Haw (FG- 127k on Foxtel) (1pm)
Make what you will of the figures.
Well I have never heard of the swans getting regularly over 150K in Sydney on Saturday nights, and I'm sure it would have been shouted from the rooftops if it did. While I'd like to beleive your figures, I'd need a more credible link than another forum.
As it is atm 170k is achievable BUT av. is stretching though i must admit. The NRL is hardly ever shown on FTA on Saturday nights so one ratings figure does not suggest it could not rate higher (200k+) if shown live and between two decent teams.
The NRL dont show games on Saturday because they dont get good ratings. I have no idea where you got that 200K figure from (link?) but there is no evidence a H&A RL game has ever got that. Wasnt the 130K game between 2 sydney teams ?
Got an article for that one?
Who would be happy with this (http://www.mediaspy.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=14931) (except SBS):
This is with the highest rating Swans game of the season so far.......
Why dont you post the market share for the other time slots. AFL is generally No.1 or No.2 for its daytime coverage. Agenda much?
Channel 10 are happy because:
- Zero cost program. Production costs are covered by the southern state audiences.
- They increased the money they paid for the same rights a year or two back.
Ricardo
10 Jun 2008, 23:46
Just check the OP before typing that rubish.
What rubbish? you create a thread proclaiming the AFL beats the NRL without even taking into account the reasons why they would beat them (incl. the all important start and finish time).
Well I have never heard of the swans getting regularly over 150K in Sydney on Saturday nights, and I'm sure it would have been shouted from the rooftops if it did. While I'd like to beleive your figures, I'd need a more credible link than another forum.
Well how about YOU go do some research on this subject before dismissing the figures that i have compiled.
The NRL dont show games on Saturday because they dont get good ratings. I have no idea where you got that 200K figure from (link?) but there is no evidence a H&A RL game has ever got that. Wasnt the 130K game between 2 sydney teams ?
200k figure is a conservative estimate of mine, sorry if it came out as a fact.
What do you believe a live NRL match would rate between 7:30-9:30pm?
Why dont you post the market share for the other time slots. AFL is generally No.1 or No.2 for its daytime coverage. Agenda much?
I would f__king hope so, with nothing else on it would be embarrassing for the sole AFL club in Sydney to have anything less then a #2 ranking in an afternoon slot.
And do tell me what agenda i do have, i want the AFL to succeed in the northern states just as much as anyone but threads like this just open you up to ridicule.
Channel 10 are happy because:
- Zero cost program. Production costs are covered by the southern state audiences.
- They increased the money they paid for the same rights a year or two back.
So they are seriously happy with these results? Do you have a quote, sorry but i can't see why the Swans figure in Sydney would make Ten happy, the other figures in Melbourne, Adelaide and Perth are good, but Sydneys is pretty low in comparison.
Ricardo
11 Jun 2008, 00:03
http://www.mediaspy.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=14931
1 SEVEN NEWS - SAT Network 7 1,291,000 393,000 338,000 261,000 129,000 169,000
2 NINE NEWS SATURDAY Network 9 1,193,000 307,000 458,000 207,000 137,000 84,000
3 AUSTRALIA'S FUNNIEST HOME VIDEO SHOW Network 9 1,156,000 311,000 361,000 222,000 137,000 125,000
4 THE VICAR OF DIBLEY Network 7 958,000 296,000 262,000 192,000 90,000 118,000
5 THE GREAT OUTDOORS Network 7 952,000 291,000 278,000 184,000 94,000 105,000
6 ABC NEWS-SAT Network ABC1 915,000 292,000 249,000 187,000 86,000 101,000
7 BED OF ROSES Network ABC1 854,000 241,000 253,000 186,000 84,000 91,000
8 THE CAT IN THE HAT -RPT Network 9 854,000 275,000 261,000 151,000 80,000 87,000
10 THE BILL Network ABC1 824,000 258,000 207,000 151,000 98,000 110,000
11 SATURDAY NIGHT AFL Network TEN 814,000 134,000 356,000 60,000 102,000 161,000
16 M-JUST LIKE HEAVEN Network 7 517,000 269,000 97,000 151,000
18 TOP GEAR RPT Network SBS 462,000 165,000 87,000 106,000 57,000 47,000
24 M-UNBREAKABLE Network 7 392,000 223,000 169,000
40 BIG LOVE Network SBS 211,000 74,000 71,000 32,000 19,000 15,000
Source: OzTAM, Tribamind, mediaspy
There you go Doctor Jolly, the only available data for the night...
The AFL goes for 3hrs so it is hard to compare it to other programs as the 134k figure is an average, but from these figures it suggests that quite a number of programs beat it and with the fast finishing Swans coming later in the night viewers may have switched over and boosted the final figure once the primetime shows had finished.
What rubbish? you create a thread proclaiming the AFL beats the NRL without even taking into account the reasons why they would beat them (incl. the all important start and finish time).
Hello ,
hello ,
hello ,anyone home ?
This is third time you've ignored even acknowledging
a possible answer .
AuckMel
11 Jun 2008, 05:38
Trust me when I say this Ricardo, but don't correct one certain poster on this forum when he's wrong.
Doctor Jolly
11 Jun 2008, 09:46
What do you believe a live NRL match would rate between 7:30-9:30pm?
is it beyond your thick head that there is no perfect comparison between a 3 hour coverage and a 2 hour coverage. As it was the particular 3 hour coverage I quoted was very boring from 7:30 to 9:30, with the excitment exactly coinciding with the same time the RL was on.
It is by far the most accurate comparison we have in 2008, and to dismiss it shows you are an NRL aplogisit. Any AFL supporter is proud of that fact, and should shut up any half intellegent NRL supporter who bags AFL ratings in Sydney.
I would f__king hope so, with nothing else on it would be embarrassing for the sole AFL club in Sydney to have anything less then a #2 ranking in an afternoon slot.
Bullshit. You think No.3 would be embarrasing in a non AFL state between teams who arent from Sydney?. Your need to manage your expectations.
And do tell me what agenda i do have, i want the AFL to succeed in the northern states just as much as anyone but threads like this just open you up to ridicule.
Your agenda is not pro AFL in Sydney that is obvious. You seem to bag any good news or progress in NSW/QLD.
So they are seriously happy with these results? Do you have a quote, sorry but i can't see why the Swans figure in Sydney would make Ten happy, the other figures in Melbourne, Adelaide and Perth are good, but Sydneys is pretty low in comparison.
A year or two back, Channel 10 INCREASED the money the paid for AFL, at the same time as DECREASING the amount they get. They did this while maintaining the sat night fixture in Sydney. That says "happy" to me. Money talks louder than words.
So in summary, the only meaningful comparison between RL coverage and AFL coverage in Sydney has shown the AFL can match RL, and the TV networks are happy to show Sat night games because they continue to sign contracts that include them....for more money.
To dispute that makes you look stupid.
Doctor Jolly
11 Jun 2008, 09:50
Source: OzTAM, Tribamind, mediaspy
There you go Doctor Jolly, the only available data for the night...
In case you have trouble reading, I'm not disputing last saturdays 134K. My original post quotes it.
I was querying your 170K figures. I havent seen any indication of those prior to your thread. Oh, and by the way, you may need a more credible source than a free format forum. I'm sure if 170K happened, it would be available from a credible media source as a news story
gostk86
11 Jun 2008, 11:20
swans biggest tv audience in sydney is 906 000 for 2005 GF, that is very good, something like 1 in 4 sydneysiders watched afl.
Did you see a result poll last year in smh.
Die hard afl supporters in west sydney equals about 57 000, and 37 000 of them support swans.
400 000 were casual supporters who mainly support swans (for the sydney aspect) dont goto game basically.
rest were people who support when swans do well.
RL, 1.8 million watched NRL GF in 2005,
support in west sydney equals over 500000 die hard fans, 70 000 casual fans and 12 000 support a team when they do well.
Ricardo
11 Jun 2008, 11:31
In case you have trouble reading, I'm not disputing last saturdays 134K. My original post quotes it.
I was querying your 170K figures. I havent seen any indication of those prior to your thread. Oh, and by the way, you may need a more credible source than a free format forum. I'm sure if 170K happened, it would be available from a credible media source as a news story
Sorry if it came out that way.
I suggest you go have a look at mediaspy as all their information in sourced from highly credible sources such as OzTAM.
http://www.mediaspy.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=12749
RNK Description STN Network Sydney Melbourne Brisbane Adelaide Perth
1 NINE NEWS SATURDAY Nine 1,351,000 415,000 375,000 299,000 172,000 89,000
2 SEVEN NEWS - SAT Seven 1,198,000 328,000 305,000 267,000 145,000 152,000
3 AUSTRALIA'S FUNNIEST HOME VIDEO SHOW Nine 1,140,000 284,000 384,000 199,000 158,000 113,000
4 THE SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION -RPT Nine 1,082,000 311,000 353,000 164,000 115,000 138,000
5 ABC NEWS-SAT ABC 988,000 286,000 329,000 166,000 113,000 94,000
6 THE DAME EDNA TREATMENT Nine 983,000 319,000 279,000 173,000 125,000 86,000
7 SATURDAY NIGHT AFL Ten 922,000 171,000 298,000 61,000 116,000 276,000
8 NEW TRICKS RPT ABC 874,000 295,000 236,000 146,000 90,000 107,000
9 THE BILL ABC 872,000 249,000 280,000 151,000 80,000 113,000
10 DOCTOR WHO ABC 839,000 239,000 229,000 179,000 103,000 89,000
12 SEVEN'S R.U: BLEDISLOE CUP : N Z V AUS Seven 804,000 393,000 100,000 211,000 39,000 61,000
13 TEN NEWS AT FIVE SAT Ten 789,000 191,000 238,000 155,000 205,000
14 SATURDAY AFTERNOON AFL Ten 714,000 64,000 284,000 48,000 117,000 201,000
21 M-PRETTY WOMAN Seven 444,000 247,000 104,000 93,000
22 GREAT COMEDY CLASSICS Seven 442,000 225,000 217,000
26 M-ALONG CAME A SPIDER Seven 305,000 180,000 125,000
(OzTAM preliminary estimates, mainland capitals)
There you go........................
Ricardo
11 Jun 2008, 11:50
is it beyond your thick head that there is no perfect comparison between a 3 hour coverage and a 2 hour coverage. As it was the particular 3 hour coverage I quoted was very boring from 7:30 to 9:30, with the excitment exactly coinciding with the same time the RL was on.
The personal insults, i think i know who won this argument then.
The underlined part is EXACTLY what i have been trying to get across to you, there is NO perfect comparison and to compare the two IMO is not a fair comparison.
Can you at least acknowledge then why some people think your comparison in the OP isn't fair and a reasonable comparison (without the personal insults).
It is by far the most accurate comparison we have in 2008, and to dismiss it shows you are an NRL aplogisit. Any AFL supporter is proud of that fact, and should shut up any half intellegent NRL supporter who bags AFL ratings in Sydney.
Oh dear, i think this explains the very reason why you are on this board, to have arguments with the RL 'trolls'
I am an AFL supporter yet am not proud of the Swans FTA ratings, does this make me an 'NRL apologisit' then i guess i am one, i am open to all sports and do not take a narrow minded view on these types of subjects which you clearly have shown you do.
Bullshit. You think No.3 would be embarrasing in a non AFL state between teams who arent from Sydney?. Your need to manage your expectations.
Fair point, that is your opinion, i'd like to see what the AFL think on this subject.
Your agenda is not pro AFL in Sydney that is obvious. You seem to bag any good news or progress in NSW/QLD.
On this one thread, go find me other threads where i have bagged the progress of Australian Rules Football in the Northern states.
A year or two back, Channel 10 INCREASED the money the paid for AFL, at the same time as DECREASING the amount they get. They did this while maintaining the sat night fixture in Sydney. That says "happy" to me. Money talks louder than words.
Fair point, although i would still like to see a quote where it states Ch.10 are happy to show the games live into Sydney, it must just be me that wouldn't be happy coming 4th for the night <4% in front of SBS.
So in summary, the only meaningful comparison between RL coverage and AFL coverage in Sydney has shown the AFL can match RL, and the TV networks are happy to show Sat night games because they continue to sign contracts that include them....for more money.
To dispute that makes you look stupid.
Once again, your opinion, but i ask you this-
Do you not believe the showing of Sat night games into the Northern States is at least in part AFL driven to show more games ilive into developing markets?
Ricardo
11 Jun 2008, 11:58
And just some clarification on the bolded part.....
Doctor Jolly
11 Jun 2008, 11:59
The personal insults, i think i know who won this argument then.
The underlined part is EXACTLY what i have been trying to get across to you, there is NO perfect comparison and to compare the two IMO is not a fair comparison.
Can you at least acknowledge then why some people think your comparison in the OP isn't fair and a reasonable comparison (without the personal insults).
It is not a perfect comparison, because there isnt any. But it is a fair comparison with a margin of error.
You can compare any sport on saturday night in Sydney, and the AFL comes up favourably. IPL for instance. Terrible ratings.
Oh dear, i think this explains the very reason why you are on this board, to have arguments with the RL 'trolls'
I am an AFL supporter yet am not proud of the Swans FTA ratings, does this make me an 'NRL apologisit' then i guess i am one, i am open to all sports and do not take a narrow minded view on these types of subjects which you clearly have shown you do.
Fair point, that is your opinion, i'd like to see what the AFL think on this subject.
On this one thread, go find me other threads where i have bagged the progress of Australian Rules Football in the Northern states.
Fair point, although i would still like to see a quote where it states Ch.10 are happy to show the games live into Sydney, it must just be me that wouldn't be happy coming 4th for the night <4% in front of SBS.
Where did 10 come before AFL ? Where did 10 come with IPL? (5th)
Once again, your opinion, but i ask you this-
Do you not believe the showing of Sat night games into the Northern States is at least in part AFL driven to show more games ilive into developing markets?
Initially. But now Brisbane prime time is a profitable venture, and Sydney would be close to too. (considering production costs already covered.)
Thats why 10 paid more.
Ricardo
11 Jun 2008, 12:24
It is not a perfect comparison, because there isnt any. But it is a fair comparison with a margin of error.
You can compare any sport on saturday night in Sydney, and the AFL comes up favourably. IPL for instance. Terrible ratings.
And that is where we'll have to agree to disagree because IMO, and it is just my opinion, that it is not a fair comparison, it may be the closest the two (AFL Swans v NRL) can have, but i still don't see it as a fair comparison.
Where did 10 come before AFL ? Where did 10 come with IPL? (5th)
Good point, i will have to see if it can find some ratings results for this but it will be hard to find Sydney specific shares for nights they do not show the Swans.
But once again this is where we have differing opinions, the IPL was on in the later timeslots and is the average over the whole game, which sometimes went from 10:30-1:30pm or thereabouts and is not a fair comparison IMO to the sports shown at earlier times.
Initially. But now Brisbane prime time is a profitable venture, and Sydney would be close to too. (considering production costs already covered.)
Thats why 10 paid more.
I will have to take your word on that, you obviously know more about that subject then me, i wouldn't know whether Ten are happy with the results and this is why i ask for a link because if they were happy then that is GREAT and i would be less critical of the Sydney ratings.
At the end of the day i hope Sydney ratings double or even quadruple, you probably don't believe i but it would be just as happy as you to see the ratings in NSW/Qld beat the NRLs, because that would mean the sport is very popular in those States.
It is annoying for you to say i dislike the AFL succeeding in the northern states because it is the opposite i want the Lions and Swans + the GC and WS teams to flourish, but i am also a realist and I take a step back and look at at the figures for what they are, i debate them and scrutinise them.
And as you can see with the 171k figure why i am a little disappointed in the Swans recent figures, and expect more for them, it may be optimistic but i hope the AFL are setting the bar high because i believe those figures are achievable.
They are beginning to creep up and hopefully they continue in that manner, it is very important for the interest in the AFL to grow as there will be a WS team and GC team in the near future.
Beaussie
13 Jun 2008, 12:03
swans biggest tv audience in sydney is 906 000 for 2005 GF, that is very good, something like 1 in 4 sydneysiders watched afl.
Actually, the biggest tv audience in Sydney was 1.018 million viewers for the 1996 GF.
But Colless points out the 1996 grand final between the Swans and North Melbourne, which attracted 1.018m viewers in Sydney
http://www.smh.com.au/news/afl/swans-finally-have-a-foot-in-sydneys-fickle-front-door/2005/09/20/1126982062219.html
gostk86
13 Jun 2008, 12:04
Actually, the biggest tv audience in Sydney was 1.018 million viewers for the 1996 GF.
oh didnt know they reached the million, not bad. That was a great moment, shame we lost though :mad:
Beaussie
13 Jun 2008, 12:06
the IPL was on in the later timeslots and is the average over the whole game, which sometimes went from 10:30-1:30pm or thereabouts and is not a fair comparison IMO to the sports shown at earlier times.
Not sure about other markets in Australia, but the IPL was shown prime time on many occassions in Sydney.
gostk86
13 Jun 2008, 12:06
good article too, shows swans and RL arent at odds. 2005 GF, John Raper was just one of many RL people that contacted the swans to wish them well.
Swans said it was great for the city, while AFL said it was sign AFL is getting a more following than RL............they just dont get it sometimes.
Beaussie
13 Jun 2008, 12:08
oh didnt know they reached the million, not bad. That was a great moment, shame we lost though :mad:
Yeah true, I've hated North Melbourne ever since. :D
gostk86
13 Jun 2008, 12:09
Yeah true, I've hated North Melbourne ever since. :D
me 2, that got me watching AFL back in 1996, my first game i watched was sydney vs essendon lockett kicking 1 point at end :thumbsu:
Beaussie
13 Jun 2008, 12:12
me 2, that got me watching AFL back in 1996, my first game i watched was sydney vs essendon lockett kicking 1 point at end :thumbsu:
Were you watching on tv or at the game? The SCG was amazing that night. Crowd went berserk. One of my all time favourite games.
gostk86
13 Jun 2008, 12:15
Were you watching on tv or at the game? The SCG was amazing that night. Crowd went berserk. One of my all time favourite games.
at home just moved to gold coast a few weeks before, my old man is a diehard league supporter, but even he was jumping up and down that night :D
Ricardo
13 Jun 2008, 14:21
Not sure about other markets in Australia, but the IPL was shown prime time on many occassions in Sydney.
Ah ok, it was shown here on HD in primetime, as you said Sydney were different, mainly because down here we get the Sat night AFL, which finishes at 10:15 or sometimes later depending on the 7:10 or 7:40pm starting time.
ringleader
13 Jun 2008, 17:59
Ah ok, it was shown here on HD in primetime, as you said Sydney were different, mainly because down here we get the Sat night AFL, which finishes at 10:15 or sometimes later depending on the 7:10 or 7:40pm starting time.
It was only shown two or three times early on normal Ten everywhere. HD showed a few more games earlier. This Beaussie character is off with the fairies as very few games sarted early.
Look at the site http://www.iplt20.com/scores_schedule1.html
Here was Ten's times
April 18: Bangalore v Kolkata at Bangalore
11:30pm (EST starting time - one game) Ten and Ten HD 11:15pm (all centres)
April 19: Mohali v Chennai at Mohali and Delhi v Jaipur at Delhi
7:30pm and 12:30am (two games)
Ten HD: 7:30pm and 12:30am (all centres)
Ten: 7:30pm/1am (Syd), 11:00pm/2am (Mel), 10pm/1am (Bris), midnight/3am (Adel), 10pm/1am (Per)
April 20: Mumbai v Bangalore at Mumbai and Kolkata v Hyderabad at Kolkata.
7:30pm/12:30am
Ten HD: 7:30pm/12:30am (all centres)
Ten: 10:30pm/1:30am (all centres)
April 21: Jaipur v Mohali at Jaipur
11:30pm
Ten and Ten HD: 11:15pm (all centres)
April 22: Hyderabad v Delhi at Hyderabad
April 23: Chennai v Mumbai at Chennai
April 24: Hyderabad v Jaipur at Hyderabad
April 25: Mohali v Mumbai at Mohali
April 26: Bangalore v Jaipur at Bangalore; Chennai v Kolkata at Chennai
Ten: 7:30pm/1am (Syd), 11pm/2am (Mel), 10:30pm/1:30pm (Bris), 10:30pm/1:30am (Adel), 9:30pm/1am (Per)
April 27: Mumbai v Hyderabad at Mumbai; Mohali v Delhi at Mohali
Ten: 12:30am/3:30am (all centres)
April 28: Bangalore v Chennai at Bangalore
April 29: Kolkata v Mumbai at Kolkata
April 30: Delhi v Bangalore at Delhi
May 1: Hyderabad v Mohali at Hyderabad; Jaipur v Kolkata at Jaipur
Ten and Ten HD: 9:30pm/12:30am (all centres)
May 2: Chennai v Delhi at Chennai
10:30pm
Ten and Ten HD: 10:30pm (all centres)
May 3: Hyderabad at Bangalore at Hyderabad; Mohali v Kolkata at Mohali
Ten: 7:30pm/1am (Syd), 11pm/2am (Melb), 10:30pm/1:30am (Bris and Adel), 10pm/1am (Per)
May 4: Mumbai v Delhi at Mumbai; Jaipur v Chennai at Jaipur
May 5: Bangalore v Mohali at Bangalore
May 6: Chennai v Hyderabad at Chennai
May 7: Mumbai v Jaipur at Mumbai
May 8: Delhi v Chennai at Delhi; Kolkata v Bangalore at Kolkata
Ten and Ten HD: 9:30pm/12:30am (all centres)
May 9: Jaipur v Hyderabad at Jaipur
May 10: Bangalore v Mumbai at Bangalore; Chennai v Mohali at Chennai
Ten: 7:30pm/1am (Syd), 11pm/2pm (Mel), 10:30pm/1:30am (Bris), 10pm/1am (Adel), 9:30pm/12:30am (Per)
May 11: Hyderabad v Kolkata at Hyderabad; Jaipur v Delhi at Jaipur
May 12: Mohali v Bangalore at Mohali
Ten HD: 11:15pm (all centres)
Ten: 11:15pm (all centres)
May 13: Kolkata v Delhi at Kolkata
May 14: Mumbai v Chennai at Mumbai; Mohali v Jaipur at Mohali
Ten HD: 9:30pm/12:30am (all centres)
Ten: 9:30pm/12:30am (all centres)
May 15: Delhi v Hyderabad at Delhi
May 16: Mumbai v Kolkata at Mumbai
May 17: Delhi v Mohali at Delhi; Jaipur v Bangalore at Jaipur
Ten: 7:30pm/1am (Syd), 11pm/2am (Mel), 10:30pm/1:30am (Bris), 10pm/1am (Adel), 9:30pm/12:30am (Per)
May 18: Hyderabad v Mumbai at Hyderabad; Kolkata v Chenna at Kolkata.
May 19: Bangalore v Delhi at Bangalore
May 20: Kolkata v Jaipur at Kolkata
May 21: Mumbai v Mohali at Mumbai; Chennai v Bangalore at Chennai
Ten HD: 9:30pm/12:30am (all centres)
Ten: 9:30pm/12:30am (all centres)
May 22: Delhi v Kolkata at Delhi
May 23: Mohali v Hyderabad at Mohali
May 24: Delhi v Mumbai at Delhi; Chennai v Jaipur at Chennai
Ten: 7:30pm/1am (Syd), 11pm/2am (Mel), 10:30pm/1:30am (Bris), 10pm/1am (Adel), 9:30pm/12:30am (Per)
May 25: Bangalore v Hyderabad at Bangalore; Kolkata v Mohali at Kolkata.
May 26: Jaipur v Mumbai at Jaipur
May 27: Hyderabad v Chennai at Hyderabad
elbusto
15 Jun 2008, 12:06
They never are on the same night, so you'll never get you perfect comparison.
But the saturday night one first posted is as close as we will get to a head to head comparison this year.For those here unaware there is no FTA NRL shown in Sydney - this must have been a one off match - probably City v Country which is a glorified trial match.
elbusto
15 Jun 2008, 13:26
For those here unaware there is no FTA NRL shown in Sydney - this must have been a one off match - probably City v Country which is a glorified trial match.and btw the Toyota Under 20s NRL games attract ratings of over 100,000 viewers on Sundays at Lunch times on Pay TV. Just for a bit of perspective about this thread and what it means.
and btw the Toyota Under 20s NRL games attract ratings of over 100,000 viewers on Sundays at Lunch times on Pay TV. Just for a bit of perspective about this thread and what it means.
I dunno if you're looking at old figures, but it certainly hasn't recently. The last 2 weeks it hasn't even made the top 50 (the 50th show in both weeks averaged 70k), and the week before it averaged 88k at a Saturday 5:15pm timeslot. If there was a Sunday game as well then it didn't make the top 50 either.
Doctor Jolly
15 Jun 2008, 21:01
and btw the Toyota Under 20s NRL games attract ratings of over 100,000 viewers on Sundays at Lunch times on Pay TV. Just for a bit of perspective about this thread and what it means.
100,000 viewers...... australia wide.
:rolleyes:
Doctor Jolly
15 Jun 2008, 21:02
For those here unaware there is no FTA NRL shown in Sydney - this must have been a one off match - probably City v Country which is a glorified trial match.
elbusto, location hobart.
:D
No idea.
Doctor Jolly
15 Jun 2008, 21:09
It was only shown two or three times early on normal Ten everywhere. HD showed a few more games earlier. This Beaussie character is off with the fairies as very few games sarted early.
Look at the site http://www.iplt20.com/scores_schedule1.html
Here was Ten's times
You seem to be backing Beaussie. On those times there are at least 8 occations where IPL was shown starting at or before 9:30pm in Sydney. Several at 7:30pm.
elbusto
15 Jun 2008, 21:19
I dunno if you're looking at old figures, but it certainly hasn't recently. The last 2 weeks it hasn't even made the top 50 (the 50th show in both weeks averaged 70k), and the week before it averaged 88k at a Saturday 5:15pm timeslot. If there was a Sunday game as well then it didn't make the top 50 either.The figures i have seen have been excellent - continuously excellent
arakaan
15 Jun 2008, 21:20
100,000 viewers...... australia wide.
:rolleyes:
Can you show me where I can see junior AFL on FTA or Foxtel twice a week please. :D
After all they've paid more and surely AFL being such a fanastic game and RL so shit as you continually say, why would they not want to show more AFL to make all that money back instead of U20 League. ;)
NAH guess they just show the Toyota Cup out of Sympathy. :D
elbusto
15 Jun 2008, 21:23
elbusto, location hobart.
:D
No idea.whatever you say smart ass
So someone said on here that 10 would be wrapped on how things are going?
Well Ten had a massive profit warning of Friday with the stock smashed to pieces.
Lets see how long they are happy to ensure that they lose each and every Saturday night in Sydney (#1 mkt) and Brisbane (#3 mkt) when they show AFL live.
Doctor Jolly
15 Jun 2008, 22:47
The figures i have seen have been excellent - continuously excellent
Of course they have.
Doctor Jolly
15 Jun 2008, 22:48
So someone said on here that 10 would be wrapped on how things are going?
Well Ten had a massive profit warning of Friday with the stock smashed to pieces.
Lets see how long they are happy to ensure that they lose each and every Saturday night in Sydney (#1 mkt) and Brisbane (#3 mkt) when they show AFL live.
Do you understand how TV works. How many timeslots do you think 10 win during the week ?
Exactly why they don't need to give away Saturday nights every week.
The channels main goal is to serve their shareholders, not the AFL.
From what I hear, there are serious questions going to be asked about their schedule into next year, and that includes Saturday nights.
Make of that what you will, even bookmark it, so that you can give me stick if I am wrong.
The figures i have seen have been excellent - continuously excellent
Ah, you've seen made up figures.
That's cool, but could you at least put a disclaimer on your posts?
ringleader
16 Jun 2008, 01:04
You seem to be backing Beaussie. On those times there are at least 8 occations where IPL was shown starting at or before 9:30pm in Sydney. Several at 7:30pm.
Only on HD. The nrmal 10 never showed most of the early games. That is saying the opposite of what Beaussie stated.
I have posted all the times for HD and normal 10 anyway. It proves tis Beaussie character is telling fibs.
Doctor Jolly
16 Jun 2008, 10:53
Only on HD. The nrmal 10 never showed most of the early games. That is saying the opposite of what Beaussie stated.
I have posted all the times for HD and normal 10 anyway. It proves tis Beaussie character is telling fibs.
I think you had better re-read your post. I can honestly say, on a few saturday evenings I watched the IPL on TV in Sydney, and I didnt have a HD settop box at the time.
Doctor Jolly
16 Jun 2008, 10:57
Exactly why they don't need to give away Saturday nights every week.
The channels main goal is to serve their shareholders, not the AFL.
From what I hear, there are serious questions going to be asked about their schedule into next year, and that includes Saturday nights.
Make of that what you will, even bookmark it, so that you can give me stick if I am wrong.
If I bookmarked all of your stupid predictions, I'd be here all day.
What part of "zero production costs" dont you understand. The production costs are already covered by the southern state audiences. Sure I think ten wont be so keen on the IPL, because it cost them money, but AFL...no brainer to keep. Its Sydney showing would be one its most profitable time slots. 170,000 viewers. Zero cost. $$$$
If I bookmarked all of your stupid predictions, I'd be here all day.
What part of "zero production costs" dont you understand. The production costs are already covered by the southern state audiences. Sure I think ten wont be so keen on the IPL, because it cost them money, but AFL...no brainer to keep. Its Sydney showing would be one its most profitable time slots. 170,000 viewers. Zero cost. $$$$
The stock is off nearly 40% this year. Falloon and the crew need to show the market how they are going to turn it around.
They could put on anything in that timeslot to make more money. Any crappy movie or re-run would do better.
Zero cost? :p
THRILLHO
16 Jun 2008, 14:19
Im sure Ch. 10 thought that the coverage of Sydney paid for itself with exclusive access to the grand final for what was it, five, six years?
Doctor Jolly
16 Jun 2008, 14:19
The stock is off nearly 40% this year. Falloon and the crew need to show the market how they are going to turn it around.
They could put on anything in that timeslot to make more money. Any crappy movie or re-run would do better.
A couple of years ago 10 was the most profitable network in Australia, despite coming 3rd in the ratings. Ratings does not equate to profitability.
Profitability relates to low cost, high return.
Obviously, Big Brother has run its course and that was one of its main strengths. IPL was an expensive failure, and a few other reality shows havent come off.
Zero cost? :p
What costs then ?
Im sure Ch. 10 thought that the coverage of Sydney paid for itself with exclusive access to the grand final for what was it, five, six years?
The GF was the day that they traded in the black for what they outlayed that year for the rights. They also don't have the GF every year.
A couple of years ago 10 was the most profitable network in Australia, despite coming 3rd in the ratings. Ratings does not equate to profitability.
Profitability relates to low cost, high return.
Obviously, Big Brother has run its course and that was one of its main strengths. IPL was an expensive failure, and a few other reality shows havent come off.
What costs then ?
You are correct in saying that the highest ratings don't necessarily mean the highest profitablity.
Nine has fallen behing Seven on overall ratings, but they responded by taking the knife to their costs (see 'boning' examples).
No doubt that Saturday nights are down the rung in terms of importance (versus Friday, Sunday and Monday). When your stock is down 40%, you need to squeeze every lemon you can to turn things around.
IIRC, 7/10 have to show the Swans and Lions live into their respective markets under the current contract.
All I am saying is that they will be under pressure to somehow improve their Saturday nights. That probably doesn't happen due to the current agreement, but I have no doubt that they will be having a look at everything very closely.
Doctor Jolly
17 Jun 2008, 10:33
You are correct in saying that the highest ratings don't necessarily mean the highest profitablity.
Nine has fallen behing Seven on overall ratings, but they responded by taking the knife to their costs (see 'boning' examples).
No doubt that Saturday nights are down the rung in terms of importance (versus Friday, Sunday and Monday). When your stock is down 40%, you need to squeeze every lemon you can to turn things around.
IIRC, 7/10 have to show the Swans and Lions live into their respective markets under the current contract.
All I am saying is that they will be under pressure to somehow improve their Saturday nights. That probably doesn't happen due to the current agreement, but I have no doubt that they will be having a look at everything very closely.
Wishful thinking. Saturday night is highly profitable for 10. It would be the last thing they cut.
RussellEbertHandball
20 Jun 2008, 06:06
Hello ,
hello ,
hello ,anyone home ?
This is third time you've ignored even acknowledging
a possible answer .
Yes you are wrong! Bounce down is 7.40
There is only 10 minutes of bullshit introduction like the rest of Australia. The only time that changes is the finals. Where did you pull 1/2 hour of intro's from?
Yes you are wrong! Bounce down is 7.40
There is only 10 minutes of bullshit introduction like the rest of Australia. The only time that changes is the finals. Where did you pull 1/2 hour of intro's from?
Intro , talk , boundary talk , talk , team lists , talk , run through banner,
talk ,lineup , talk & bouncedown .
Look no problem , I'll check tonight for deffinative answer .
Oh , insert ads frequently somewhere in there .
Ricardo
20 Jun 2008, 12:04
For as long as i can remember it has been a 10 minute intro and then the bouncedown, Saturday night either 7:10pm bouncdown or 7:40pm bouncedown, unless they do something completely different in the northern states.
The WC v Syd should've started at 7:40pm, coverage starting at 7:30pm, a 10 minute intro.
I think the NRL may have the 1/2 hour or 20 minute intro, that could be where you're getting confused cos.
Intro , talk , boundary talk , talk , team lists , talk , run through banner,
talk ,lineup , talk & bouncedown .
Look no problem , I'll check tonight for deffinative answer .
Oh , insert ads frequently somewhere in there .
I'll check ok !
ringleader
20 Jun 2008, 15:41
Consider the television audience in Sydney at eight o'clock last Saturday night. At the top was Seven with its international rugby union coverage (307,000 viewers); second was the ABC (Bed of Roses: 298,000); third was Nine with the repeat movie Richie Rich (250,000) and fourth was the SBS program Top Gear, which drew an audience of 181,000.
The AFL clash between Sydney and St Kilda? It ranked fifth, with an average of 107,000 watching. Suffice to say, the Ten Network came last in the Sydney market and was fourth nationally.
And this at a time when the Swans are flying, challenging for a top-four position. It is not unusual on any given Saturday night this season for AFL football to claim only 14% of the Sydney audience and 9% of the Brisbane audience.
Link (http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/twilight-twinkles-in-afl-grand-plan/2008/06/19/1213770827308.html)
legend166
20 Jun 2008, 16:00
That game was on delay on channel 10, whilst being live on Fox Sports, I think. Most people who have Foxtel, and I imagine that's a large portion of Swans support base, would have watched on Fox Sports.
ringleader
20 Jun 2008, 16:25
That game was on delay on channel 10, whilst being live on Fox Sports, I think. Most people who have Foxtel, and I imagine that's a large portion of Swans support base, would have watched on Fox Sports.
It only rated 103k on 5 city Metro
7 LIVE: AFL SYDNEY V ST KILDA FOX SPORTS 1 103,000
Any more excuses?
Or are you now going to tell me all those 103,000 were residents of Sydney :rolleyes:
legend166
20 Jun 2008, 16:45
No, I'm going to say this:
Damn, that's dissapointing considering the Saturday night ratings had been steadily increasing since the beginning of the year. I wonder what caused the drop.
I wasn't saying what I said as an excuse. I genuinely thought it could be a reason, since that makes sense. I have no illusions in regards to the state of AFL in Sydney. It's definately not where I'd like it to be. All sports seems to be suffering, and I don't know why.
Doctor Jolly
20 Jun 2008, 17:01
It only rated 103k on 5 city Metro
7 LIVE: AFL SYDNEY V ST KILDA FOX SPORTS 1 103,000
Any more excuses?
Or are you now going to tell me all those 103,000 were residents of Sydney :rolleyes:
It was on 10 you knob end.
Caro's pushing a barrow. The average all night was 115,000. She obviously picked the worst possible time point which was below average, and well below peak.
Lets not forget that the Wallabies were up against it with their much-hyped super-coach.
115,000 again RU in its heartland is good when RL can only muster 130,000 against nothing.
gostk86
20 Jun 2008, 17:01
No, I'm going to say this:
Damn, that's dissapointing considering the Saturday night ratings had been steadily increasing since the beginning of the year. I wonder what caused the drop.
I wasn't saying what I said as an excuse. I genuinely thought it could be a reason, since that makes sense. I have no illusions in regards to the state of AFL in Sydney. It's definately not where I'd like it to be. All sports seems to be suffering, and I don't know why.
Do you mean attending games? Or tv ratings?
No doubt current finaincial times in Sydney is hurting everyone..
Doctor Jolly
20 Jun 2008, 17:02
How come we never see the fox sports ratings for these games ?
gostk86
20 Jun 2008, 17:02
Caro's pushing a barrow. The average all night was 115,000. She obviously picked the worst possible time point which was below average, and well below peak.
Lets not forget that the Wallabies were up against it with their much-hyped super-coach.
115,000 again RU in its heartland is good when RL can only muster 130,000 against nothing.
only 40 000 tickets sold for next australia game at anz too... they are really down the s*** now RU :D
finders
20 Jun 2008, 17:09
Consider the television audience in Sydney at eight o'clock last Saturday night. At the top was Seven with its international rugby union coverage (307,000 viewers); second was the ABC (Bed of Roses: 298,000); third was Nine with the repeat movie Richie Rich (250,000) and fourth was the SBS program Top Gear, which drew an audience of 181,000.
The AFL clash between Sydney and St Kilda? It ranked fifth, with an average of 107,000 watching. Suffice to say, the Ten Network came last in the Sydney market and was fourth nationally.
And this at a time when the Swans are flying, challenging for a top-four position. It is not unusual on any given Saturday night this season for AFL football to claim only 14% of the Sydney audience and 9% of the Brisbane audience.
Link (http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/twilight-twinkles-in-afl-grand-plan/2008/06/19/1213770827308.html)
The real shocker to me is the 300,000 for a Rubgy Union test in Sydney in fact the total viewing audience in Sydney on a Sat night is nothing special.The live games in Sydney on 10 are part of the deal!
ringleader
20 Jun 2008, 17:41
Want a tissue Doctor Wally?