View Full Version : where is albert proud ?

jaykippa
9 Jun 2008, 22:10
gday all im puzzled somewhat to not see albert proud in the senior team at all in the last few weeks. he has been best on in the reserves the last couple of weeks and can't even make it on to the extended bench. it makes me wonder if there is any more to this story than we know i.e. discipline problems etc. i thought he would be the sort of player lethal would love because of his toughness and agression at the contest anybody know why he has been left out so often ?:confused:

POBT
9 Jun 2008, 22:12
oh geez.

Cousin Jed
9 Jun 2008, 22:14
oh geez.

Perfect timing :D

Anyway - still raw, things to work on, plenty of good players so he has been doing it in the reserves.

jaykippa
9 Jun 2008, 22:15
oh geez.
ha !

POBT
9 Jun 2008, 22:20
I'll give you my honest answer. He's got all the tools and, in my mind, the reason why he's not in the side is part fitness, part not knowing when to work hard and when to cruise (he is bull at a gate), and part coming to grips with the demands and pressure of senior footy. I also think that spots 21 and 22 in the squad are currently being occupied by guys who need to play senior footy to prove that they are worth persisting with beyond the end of this year (esp. Harding). Albie isn't in that position so the coaches may not feel obliged to give him a game.

Right now, I don't think his footy development is being harmed by playing reserves. But it will get to the stage when he isn't learning anything at AFLQ level and that's when the coaches must re-insert him into the top side.

jaykippa
9 Jun 2008, 22:20
Perfect timing :D

Anyway - still raw, things to work on, plenty of good players so he has been doing it in the reserves.
surely if he has been gettin best on in the reseves he deserves to atleast get on the extended bench doesn't he ?

Old Den
9 Jun 2008, 22:23
One of the players that Leigh said is banging down the door to get into the senior team - obviously

notting18
9 Jun 2008, 23:08
I think Razzle has more reason to be upset about than Proud, at least Proud has been given a run. When we have been performing so well and so many players performing so well in the 2s competition is fierce and quite a few players will be hard done by, but every player in the 22 would earn their spot.

acuguy
9 Jun 2008, 23:16
All you can do when you are not selected in the senior team is perform in the 2's. Proud is doing that and when Lethal thinks their is a spot for him then he will pick him. Great topic!:thumbsu:

campbell
10 Jun 2008, 09:18
This week maybe. Another corker of a game in the ressies.
He has that never say die, run at all costs, no fear type of play. We need that this week IMO. Some flair as well as speed.
Them doggies are good.

Tassie4ever
10 Jun 2008, 15:50
He'll get there- needs a higher fitness level, and the judgement on how/when to expend the energy levels. Nobody can go 100% all of the time- except for Kerr.

mish33
10 Jun 2008, 18:46
Funny you say that T4E, I think Kerr was a bit of a burst player early on too.

footyfan_25
10 Jun 2008, 19:20
Big difference between getting best on for ressies and performing at AFL level.

However Proud had done all he can and that is continue to be in the best players for the 2's.

Deserves another shot at senior level and needs to be given more than half a game (like he was in other 3 matches) to show what he can offer. :thumbsu: