View Full Version : Deledio, Foley & Cotchin vs Murphy, Gibbs & Kruezer
Which group would you like starting in your midfield?
Tigers would get killed in the ruck! lol
cormick
10 Jun 2008, 10:13
Tigers would get killed in the ruck! lol
We always do :p
lol. Are you serious? Richmond supporters, you should be asking Terry why he is still playing so many oldies in your starting 22, rather than trying to talk up your B-graders by comparing then to the A-grade Carlton talent. Terry has gone into "job saving mode" and is selling out your future right under your eyes. That is the real issue right now at Tigerland, and a BIG issue. :)
I love DELEDIO
10 Jun 2008, 14:53
Yeahh good work parrot you fool look at the results ya tosser
Jeremias
10 Jun 2008, 15:03
Yeahh good work parrot you fool look at the results ya tosser
Well done. More Richmond supporters have voted than Carlton supporters. In that case it would come as no surprise that Richmond are in front.
Look at the neutral votes. 3-2 to Richmond. Pretty close.
darcytiger
10 Jun 2008, 15:09
I would of taken out Kreuzer as he is a ruckman, either that or include a young Richmond ruckman like Putt :D, Pattison :D, Graham :D
Gee we really need a good young ruckman
Tarquin
10 Jun 2008, 15:09
Considering the fact there is NO RUCK in the richmond selection.
I would love to see this...
Deledio v Kreuzer in the ruck...
While
Foley v Gibbs
Murphy v Cotchin..
Seriously, Richmond would have NO chance.
How about we change the poll to equal out the midfielders..
Murphy + Judd + Gibbs v Cotchin + Foley + Deledio..
Whoopse, I still can not see Richmond winning....
Marc Shmurf 3
10 Jun 2008, 15:11
Carlton's but that far it's not funny. What's even worse, who's the next best richmond midfielder??? TAMBLING... HAHAHA
Next
darcytiger
10 Jun 2008, 15:14
Tambling = Gibbs atm
Tambling is a pretty smart player, just soft
Marc Shmurf 3
10 Jun 2008, 15:16
Tambling = Gibbs atm
HAHAHAHA, please help me off the ground, i just cant stop laughing.....
Murphy, Gibbs & Kruezer >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Deledio, Foley, Cotchin
budge11
10 Jun 2008, 15:24
Poll says otherwise mate.
RichosGuns
10 Jun 2008, 15:25
Foley is sooooooooo much better then any of the other options on this list. Like it's even a contest. Cotchin looks better then Gibbs and I would take Deledio over Murphy anyday of the week.
Lynch takes a mark
10 Jun 2008, 15:27
definitely go with the tigers players
much more pace & goal kicking ability
Top_4_Tiger
10 Jun 2008, 15:29
Tambling = Gibbs atm
If everyone else on our list played with the hardness Tambling has we'd be a much better side :thumbsd:
Soft players don't throw their skinny bodies under packs consistently all year or end up one of the top few tacklers going around. Bling has a very high hardball and contested possies ratio considering his average possession count and I can't count how many times I've seen him put his body on the line.
Needs to find more of the ball - yes, but soft he aint.
As for the poll, Cotchin is the best player of the lot here. Better than Kreuzer, but not as important to the side (like how Cox was more important than Judd, even though Judd is better).
Deledio is better than Murphy, better footskills being the main thing seperating them. But I do really rate Murphy and until a month ago would have had him in front. Deledio's last month has propelled him into a serious elite category (30+ possies in the last 3 weeks with goals all the time) therefore making him to hard to ignore. Similar stats to Murph, but Deledio hurts you more.
Gibbs vs Foley? One was near BOG in the best vs the best All-Stars game, the other is a solid, smart player who is a little timid ;)
Gibbs really lets down the Carlton trio in this poll, if it were Kreuzer, Murphy, Gibbs vs Cotchin, Deledio, Tambling then it would be extremely even.
But Gibbs vs Foley makes it an easy choice :)
Jeremias
10 Jun 2008, 15:31
definitely go with the tigers players
much more pace & goal kicking ability
That final comment is perplexing, especially in light of what happened on the weekend.
This year:
Richmond trio: 22 goals
Carlton trio: 21 goals
Hardly "much more" goalkicking ability. Barely anything in it.
Tiger Fury #3
10 Jun 2008, 15:38
Yeah, but Cotchin has only played 4 games
Top_4_Tiger
10 Jun 2008, 15:40
Yeah, but Cotchin has only played 4 games
And averaging a goal a game that'd put the Richmond tally on 30+ goals compared to Carlton's 21.
On a pure talent basis
1. Gibbs
2. Murph and Kruezer
3. 2 light years
4. Cotchin
5. 1 light year
6. Foley and Deledio.
Cotchin will go backwards like Deledio has if Terry doesn't get booted soon. :)
Tiger Fury #3
10 Jun 2008, 15:52
So take it that averaging 25 disposals and a goal a game this year is going backwards, parrot?
murph#3
10 Jun 2008, 15:56
by the ends of their careers:
1)kreuzer
2)gibbs
3)cotchin
4)murphy
5)deledio
6)foley
So take it that averaging 25 disposals and a goal a game this year is going backwards, parrot?
Disposals and other stats of course mean nothing, and are more of a reflection of a gameplan. I only watch their efforts on the footy field. Deledio is a major disappointment after a good start. Terry's development has been a complete disaster. :)
richcogs
10 Jun 2008, 16:06
On a pure talent basis
1. Gibbs
2. Murph and Kruezer
3. 2 light years
4. Cotchin
5. 1 light year
6. Foley and Deledio.
I don't understand why Carlton supporters rate Gibbs better than Murphy...none of the football community do. Murphy's a smart smart player, more so than Gibbs , he's tougher to.
The problem with Carltons midfield is your speed IMO. Gibbs and Murphy while not slow aren't fast. I guess adding Judd of course helps. This poll would be better Judd, Gibbs and Murphy against Deledio, Foley and Cotchin.
Tiger Fury #3
10 Jun 2008, 16:25
At the end of their careers
1. Cotchin
2. Lids
3. Murphy
4. Gibbs
5. Kreuzer
6. Foley
(sorry Nath, but the others will be better)
Benchwarmer77
10 Jun 2008, 16:30
On a pure talent basis
1. Gibbs
2. Murph and Kruezer
3. 2 light years
4. Cotchin
5. 1 light year
6. Foley and Deledio.
Parrot you are definatly the biggest one eye supporter i have ever seen on here....
and how you can put gibbs above murph is shocking....
:confused:
and how you can put gibbs above murph is shocking....
:confused:
Murph is currently moving into the AFL elite midfielder group, and while performing better than Gibbs at the moment, Gibbs is an extraordinarily gifted footballer. A once in a generation talent. Kruezer is a hard one to gauge. The guy is an off the scale talent, with a set of capabilities we haven't seen at this level. He's a ruck, who can play as a true small midfielder plus a KP forward or winger. Just an amazing talent. :)
tigers_of_old_08
10 Jun 2008, 17:04
lol. Are You Serious? Richmond Supporters, You Should Be Asking Terry Why He Is Still Playing So Many Oldies In Your Starting 22, Rather Than Trying To Talk Up Your B-graders By Comparing Then To The A-grade Carlton Talent. Terry Has Gone Into "job Saving Mode" And Is Selling Out Your Future Right Under Your Eyes. That Is The Real Issue Right Now At Tigerland, And A Big Issue.
wtf?
Coughlan
10 Jun 2008, 17:05
lol. Are you serious? Richmond supporters, you should be asking Terry why he is still playing so many oldies in your starting 22, rather than trying to talk up your B-graders by comparing then to the A-grade Carlton talent. Terry has gone into "job saving mode" and is selling out your future right under your eyes. That is the real issue right now at Tigerland, and a BIG issue. :)
Must really hurt that Cotchin has shown more in his 4 matches coming off no pre-season then Gibbs has shown in his 1.5 seasons and he has had no interuptions what so ever.
A clear gap in class between the two
efl_represent
10 Jun 2008, 17:10
ok so who out of those 6 people played in the tribute game???? foley
and i would deffinately take the tiger trio ahead of carltanks players
W. Smithers
10 Jun 2008, 17:14
J. Fraser
C. Bryan
M. Kreuzer.
Also, Gibbs is a back pocket with bad skills, not a midfielder.
Jeremias
10 Jun 2008, 17:17
J. Fraser
C. Bryan
M. Kreuzer.
Did Gibbs play bocket this week?
In fact, has Gibbs played back pocket this year at all?
W. Smithers
10 Jun 2008, 17:19
Did Gibbs play bocket this week?
In fact, has Gibbs played back pocket this year at all?
I saw him drop a mark and then give away a free kick in the back pocket, that was just before or after Murphy put the ball out on the full.
Coughlan
10 Jun 2008, 17:20
I saw him drop a mark and then give away a free kick in the back pocket, that was just before or after Murphy put the ball out on the full.
well played sir:thumbsu:
....C. Bryan...
Careful, Miller could have another little surprise for you at the end of 2008. And you thought trading away a low second round draft pick for McMahon, and paying him 1 mill over 3 years was pretty bad. lol. Stay tuned. :)
Marc Shmurf 3
10 Jun 2008, 17:29
Must really hurt that Cotchin has shown more in his 4 matches coming off no pre-season then Gibbs has shown in his 1.5 seasons and he has had no interuptions what so ever.
A clear gap in class between the two
Does Cotchin have a defensive side, 1 tackle per game is hardly inspiring. Getting the ball running forward is all good but running back to help out your mates in more important for me...
By the way
Must really hurt that a player who has played footy for 4 years and 2 AFL games in Armfield has show more than Tambling has in his entire career.
Jeremias
10 Jun 2008, 17:33
OK, so you saw him in the back pocket once.
I saw Cotchin in the back pocket once on the weekend, too.
That must mean he plays there also...
I saw him drop a mark and then give away a free kick in the back pocket....
lol. Sounds like you didn't watch the game because it was actually in the forward line, then 2 minutes latter he attacked the ball at CHF which resulted in a crucial goal. BTW Gibbs well and truly thrashed Chad Cornes. Murph tried a left foot kick under pressure in the rain and it slid out of bounds. Then followed it up with a brilliant blind turn and disposal that setup the game winning goal. Our young players stand up when it counts and win games. Kruezer's 3-goal last quarter effort was another nice example. It's just pure talent. :)
Does Cotchin have a defensive side, 1 tackle per game is hardly inspiring. Getting the ball running forward is all good but running back to help out your mates in more important for me...
Ummm. Anyone else want to take this one? Ahh ____ it I'll do it. He's played FOUR GAMES! FOUR! And you're telling us he doesn't have a defensive side because he's only made 4 tackles in his 4 weeks as an AFL footballer?
W. Smithers
10 Jun 2008, 17:41
lol. Sounds like you didn't watch the game because it was actually in the forward line, then 2 minutes latter he attacked the ball at CHF which resulted in a crucial goal. BTW Gibbs well and truly thrashed Chad Cornes. Murph tried a left foot kick under pressure in the rain and it slid out of bounds. Then followed it up with a brilliant blind turn and disposal that setup the game winning goal. Our young players stand up when it counts and win games. Kruezer's 3-goal last quarter effort was another nice example. It's just pure talent. :)
lol i sucked Jeremias in anyway.
Credit where credit is due, when it started raining, ALL the Blues players looked as though they were playing dry weather footy while Port slipped and slid all over the place.
I'd still take Cotchin above all these players though.
hellfire
10 Jun 2008, 18:11
lol i sucked Jeremias in anyway.
Credit where credit is due, when it started raining, ALL the Blues players looked as though they were playing dry weather footy while Port slipped and slid all over the place.
I'd still take Cotchin above all these players though.
I'd probably take Foley above all of them. Love that kid.
walkers a legend
10 Jun 2008, 19:46
The Carlton crew for me.
Ummm. Anyone else want to take this one? Ahh ____ it I'll do it. He's played FOUR GAMES! FOUR! And you're telling us he doesn't have a defensive side because he's only made 4 tackles in his 4 weeks as an AFL footballer?
4 tackles in 4 weeks? lol. Surely that can't be true. :)
one_twelve112
10 Jun 2008, 21:12
4 tackles in 4 week??? Anything else, or have you dug yourself in far enough already?
fevolation87
10 Jun 2008, 21:34
J. Fraser
C. Bryan
M. Kreuzer.
fair enough if you think that about Gibbs why dont we swap him with another of our midfielders.....I got one C. Judd. Ok how about this than make it all midfields no ruckmen. Deledio, Foley & Cotchin vs Murphy, Gibbs & Judd. who would you choose than ?
bLuEbOy1984
10 Jun 2008, 21:49
J. Fraser
C. Bryan
M. Kreuzer.
his got the best skills out of all 6 of them.. his an elite user of the ball...
out of the bunch CURRENTLY(cause of foley) the Richmond trio is a little ahead, but when their careers finish i think the blues will be on top...
richcogs
10 Jun 2008, 21:55
his got the best skills out of all 6 of them.. his an elite user of the ball...
out of the bunch CURRENTLY(cause of foley) the Richmond trio is a little ahead, but when their careers finish i think the blues will be on top...
LOL Deledio by far has the best skills from them, most penitration and superb on both sides! Don't kid yourself. Can someone find some stats on effectiveness by foot?
TheGeneral
10 Jun 2008, 22:10
LOL Deledio by far has the best skills from them, most penitration and superb on both sides! Don't kid yourself. Can someone find some stats on effectiveness by foot?
Erm, Cotchin would be the best kick out of this group on both sides of the body.
Gibbs is a more accurate kick than Deledio, but Deledio probably has more power on the run when he's quicker off the mark.
According to the Herald-Sun, Gibbs' disposal efficiency is 81% and Deledio's is 75%.
It doesn't mention effectiveness by foot.
Checkers
10 Jun 2008, 22:23
I guess im biased but would take Lids, Foley and Cotch.
Now now no need for fighting here. Foley and Cotchin will be in my opinion in 3 years both in the top 5 midfielders in the league with Lids one of the better midfielders as well. Kruz is still too young to tell and Gibbs is the only of the other 2 who looks like could be anything.
No contest Richmond wins.
adamania11
10 Jun 2008, 22:32
From a completely unbiased point of view I say that Deledio, Foley and Cotchin are the better 3-man combination
I think we should ban the :) smiley just for Parrot...
beaver fever
10 Jun 2008, 23:18
Shit poll. At least try to compare apples with apples.
dylan_mike
11 Jun 2008, 00:02
From a completely unbiased point of view I say that Deledio, Foley and Cotchin are the better 3-man combination
I think we should ban the :) smiley just for Parrot...
Thats a ridiculous Statement, Carlton have the better combination as we have a Ruck/KPP with a pure midfielder Murph and a utility player in Gibbs.
At the Moment Richmond just have the Nod as they have more experience in the group meantioned and it will take Kreuzer a bit longer to make an impact than the smaller men.
Deledio :4th year 73 Games and 21 years old
Foley :4th year 60 Games and 22 years old
Cotchin :1st year 4 Games and 18 years old
where's
Gibbs :2nd Year 32 Games - 19 years old
Murphy :3rd Year 46 Games - 20 Years old
Kreuzer :1st year 9 Games 19 years old
In 4 years time Carlton and Richmond will have 3 great players. We are looking at pontential future brownlow medalists. Its still very early days but Cotchin looks like he will be a similar player to Ablett. Gibbs will be future leader of Carlton and will be similar to a Voss. Kruezer can be anything with the endurance of a midfielder with the height of a Ruck. better than Cox at the same age. Murphy will be a Gun, similar to Ben Cousins.
Deledio has finally stepped up in class this year and is finally showing his class. Foley will also be a great player.
All up Richmond have more pace but Carltons Treo have more flexiblitity. However Carlton have more Depth in our midfield than Richmond, with Players like Judd, Stevens, Simpson, Scotland, Carrazzo, Walker,Bentick, Russell, Griggs, Cloke and Hampson.
And Best of all our Coach Rocks, Your Coach Sucks. Ratts really gives our young Blokes a go and keeps playing them even though they may make mistakes and may not deserve a spot in the side, he still sticks with them, gives them confidence and developes them for the future. So as a Carlton supporter , I am glad we got rid of Dennis Pagan and Got Ratts who has the board, the players and its members 100% behind him.:)
kendrick
11 Jun 2008, 00:02
What happened in Round 1 Parrot? :)
Monkeyboy
11 Jun 2008, 00:33
Its pretty even, however barring Richo and Brown, these are Tigers only good players.
I guess i would like to have Jameson, Waite, Walker, Bower, Hampson, Scotland, Fisher, Fevola, Simpson, Thornton, Stevens and a man called Chris Judd.
Carlton have Richmond covered everywhere and by some serious margin.
Fortress Hawk
11 Jun 2008, 00:47
Just feel like saying that this whole thread is so wrong and you can tell that its from a richmond supporter!! you richmond supporters are so biased that it really has reflected in this original post!
Delideo, Cotchin, Murphy, gibbs and kruzer are all first round draft picks right!! its so funny that if this was a real thread that the biased richmond supporter who posted it should of made it deledio cotchin tambling v carltons 3! But of course he didnt want to do that because we all no which players is s h i t out of that group!!!!:)
Get the thread right next time champ, and try not to make you team look so much better, cause it will always be terrible!
And Best of all our Coach Rocks, Your Coach Sucks. Ratts really gives our young Blokes a go and keeps playing them even though they may make mistakes and may not deserve a spot in the side, he still sticks with them, gives them confidence and developes them for the future. So as a Carlton supporter , I am glad we got rid of Dennis Pagan and Got Ratts who has the board, the players and its members 100% behind him.:)
Ok now firstly, I fully agree that that is the direction in which Carlton should be taking. However don’t get on you high horse yet about playing young players and Ratts is a genious because of it blah, blah, blah. All Carlton is doing is following the Hawthorn model which seams to be the thing to do these days.
So this genius coach you’re talking about is only copying what others have done. He isn't doing anything new at all. At least Wallis is attempting to do his own thing and create a list which is his and not a second Hawthorn list. Ratts has not been tested yet and is yet to prove that he is any good at coaching at AFL level at all because if his record so far is anything to go by he is sh!t house at what he does.
PaintItRedAndBlack
11 Jun 2008, 02:12
Deledio, Foley and Cotchin for me.
____en tough poll.
Kruezer makes the difference from a "Win to Richmond" to "Hmmm".
Kruezer will probably be the MVP out of this group, but Cotchin will be the best player IMO.
dylan_mike
11 Jun 2008, 12:48
Ok now firstly, I fully agree that that is the direction in which Carlton should be taking. However don’t get on you high horse yet about playing young players and Ratts is a genious because of it blah, blah, blah. All Carlton is doing is following the Hawthorn model which seams to be the thing to do these days.
So this genius coach you’re talking about is only copying what others have done. He isn't doing anything new at all. At least Wallis is attempting to do his own thing and create a list which is his and not a second Hawthorn list. Ratts has not been tested yet and is yet to prove that he is any good at coaching at AFL level at all because if his record so far is anything to go by he is sh!t house at what he does.
You for Real? You Dolt! No one is saying he is a Genious. Seems like you have a short memory, isn't Hawthorn is copying Geelongs Model . So don't take credit for bringing in the youth policy. Yes it is early days for him but So far i like what i see and he has enough brains to create a list that will see us with a future and not one that he thinks will save his future. There is nothing wrong with Copying a model then putting your own twist to it, Just as Clarkson did. The thing is Richmond have a good youth list and like someone meantioned earlier, you learn tenfold as a young player playing in the firsts than playing in the seconds. A good coach/leader does not have to recreate history, they just have to make good decisions based on what they have at their disposal( Experience, History, Science, other Coaches ... Etc) . I am just giving him credit for holding his nerve and not reacting to losses by dropping the Youngsters and slowly but surely seeing a future.. All this is also possible by having some stability throughout the club pulling in one direction which we lacked for a few years and i for one am happy about it.:D
dylan_mike
11 Jun 2008, 14:19
____en tough poll.
Kruezer makes the difference from a "Win to Richmond" to "Hmmm".
Kruezer will probably be the MVP out of this group, but Cotchin will be the best player IMO.
Yep good call! :thumbsu:
Claude Balls
11 Jun 2008, 14:49
If I were asked to take either trio, with a view to giving my team a crack at the flag in 3 - 4 years, I'd take Richmond's, as they seem to be a group far more likely to win games off their collective boots.
Cotchin is clearly extremely talented, being endowed with both pace and great skills - a rare combination. Foley is the most damaging type of midfielder, who I can see being far more explosive and dynamic in the years to come than Murphy and Gibbs.
Kruezer swings it back Carlton's way somewhat. However, his edge over Deledio (in terms of value, not individual talent) would not be sufficient to counter the advantage that Richmond has in the other two matchups.
dylan_mike
11 Jun 2008, 17:45
If I were asked to take either trio, with a view to giving my team a crack at the flag in 3 - 4 years, I'd take Richmond's, as they seem to be a group far more likely to win games off their collective boots.
Cotchin is clearly extremely talented, being endowed with both pace and great skills - a rare combination. Foley is the most damaging type of midfielder, who I can see being far more explosive and dynamic in the years to come than Murphy and Gibbs.
Kruezer swings it back Carlton's way somewhat. However, his edge over Deledio (in terms of value, not individual talent) would not be sufficient to counter the advantage that Richmond has in the other two matchups.
At the end of the day Depth wins you Flags( ie Brisbane Lions , Geelong) and your best 4 players at richmond are 30 years or over( Richo, Brown, K johnson, bowden), who of those will be left after 4 years? You need to have closer to ten guns or more to be in the picture not 3. And at the moment Carlton are closer to that mark than Richmond.
Schmick
11 Jun 2008, 17:54
Tough one, id have to go with the Tigers though.
TigerGlory
11 Jun 2008, 17:57
Foley is easily and will still be the best out of the 6. Cotchin will be next, absolute freak. Deledio and Murphy are about par, and Gibbs and Kreuzer will bring up the rear. :thumbsu:
TigerGlory
11 Jun 2008, 18:00
Just feel like saying that this whole thread is so wrong and you can tell that its from a richmond supporter!! you richmond supporters are so biased that it really has reflected in this original post!
Delideo, Cotchin, Murphy, gibbs and kruzer are all first round draft picks right!! its so funny that if this was a real thread that the biased richmond supporter who posted it should of made it deledio cotchin tambling v carltons 3! But of course he didnt want to do that because we all no which players is s h i t out of that group!!!!:)
Get the thread right next time champ, and try not to make you team look so much better, cause it will always be terrible!
I'd still take Tambling, Deledio and Cotchin ahead of the Carlton group.
Hes been slowly getting better bit by bit, ive been impressed by his form this season, especially. :thumbsu:
I'd still take Tambling....
lol. :)
Richmond's best 3 youngsters are Foley, Deledio and Cotchin and Carlton's are Gibbs, Murphy and Kruezer. I could have swapped Cotchin with Tambling and then Kruezer with Walker it was based on the best youngsters of each team. Id advice you to think before you write and with doing that try to improve your english skills.
richcogs
12 Jun 2008, 12:55
Deledio, Cotchin, Tambling >>>>>>>>>>>>Murphy, Gibbs, Walker
Benchwarmer77
12 Jun 2008, 12:58
I think the result of the poll says it all...... :)
Fortress Hawk
12 Jun 2008, 13:08
Richmond's best 3 youngsters are Foley, Deledio and Cotchin and Carlton's are Gibbs, Murphy and Kruezer. I could have swapped Cotchin with Tambling and then Kruezer with Walker it was based on the best youngsters of each team. Id advice you to think before you write and with doing that try to improve your english skills.
Hahaha english skills you say!!
"Id advice you to think"
UM i think it might be "advise"
So before you open your mouth you might think to use that spell check!
I'm not here for my english skills champ, but if you are then you are doing a ripper job at it!!:thumbsu: Id "advice" you to keep it up:thumbsu:
stinky wingman
12 Jun 2008, 13:19
one of the more intelligent posts in this thread.
The fact that Richmond don't have a Ruckman named in this poll makes it a little harder to compare, but at this point in time i would have to say Richmond takes it out.
Foley had a great game in the Dreamteam game and is top of the pack.
Cotchin has shown a lot in 4 games so far, as to has Gibbs, both will need a little time to get to the level of elite, but no doubt will make it.
Murphy i rate highly although his disposal at times can let him down, whereas Deledio is quite a good finisher.
Without trying to be too bias, i would say Richmond just. I think though that Kruezer is going to be the next Cox of the afl.
stinky wingman
12 Jun 2008, 13:20
At the end of the day Depth wins you Flags( ie Brisbane Lions , Geelong) and your best 4 players at richmond are 30 years or over( Richo, Brown, K johnson, bowden), who of those will be left after 4 years? You need to have closer to ten guns or more to be in the picture not 3. And at the moment Carlton are closer to that mark than Richmond.
what has this got to do with the thread topic? You flog
RangaInTeal
12 Jun 2008, 13:26
Gibbs will be the best of the lot, Kruzer is the only ruckman, but Delidio and Cotchin are going to be the best combination, i have gone for what i think will be the most succesful, The Richmond Trio!
King Patty
12 Jun 2008, 13:27
Id have murphy and cotchin...wouldnt worry about the rest.
Not very fair to put kreuzer in against another midfielder as well.
Be fairer if it was Tambling, Foley & Cotchin vs Walker, Murphy, Gibbs
and if you want to add deledio
would be Deledio v Judd
Claude Balls
12 Jun 2008, 13:55
That's all true, however it's irrelevant in the context of this thread. No mention is made of the respective positions of Richmond and Carlton to win a flag in the next few years, and how the above groups of players will have an impact in conjunction with each club's list.
The OP simply asks: "...Vs...". In other words, which three are better.
SO, to further clarify what I said originally, let's say we had two team of 19 players that were identical in terms of talent and output, and we had to fill positions 20, 21 and 22... I'd take the Richmond trio fairly comfortably.
RangaInTeal
12 Jun 2008, 14:30
That's all true, however it's irrelevant in the context of this thread. No mention is made of the respective positions of Richmond and Carlton to win a flag in the next few years, and how the above groups of players will have an impact in conjunction with each club's list.
The OP simply asks: "...Vs...". In other words, which three are better.
SO, to further clarify what I said originally, let's say we had two team of 19 players that were identical in terms of talent and output, and we had to fill positions 20, 21 and 22... I'd take the Richmond trio fairly comfortably.
In that 19 have you got one ruckman or two? If Two it's Richmond's if you got one, well then you are gonna need Kruzer yeah?
richcogs
12 Jun 2008, 14:37
Id have murphy and cotchin...wouldnt worry about the rest.
Not very fair to put kreuzer in against another midfielder as well.
Be fairer if it was Tambling, Foley & Cotchin vs Walker, Murphy, Gibbs
and if you want to add deledio
would be Deledio v Judd
hahaha from an Essendon supporter! You'd take them all. Deledio will be a top 10 player in the competition eventually and you couldn't say no to Foley or Kreuzer or Gibbs!
Claude Balls
12 Jun 2008, 15:21
In that 19 have you got one ruckman or two? If Two it's Richmond's if you got one, well then you are gonna need Kruzer yeah?
Yeah. The original question is kind of complex I suppose, in that there is a definate structural implication in terms of which group you chose. I.e. if by starting midfield, Rota means the three onballers, logic says you 'need' Carlton's group because it includes a ruckman. Though if my 19 other players included even just the one ruckman, I'd still want Richmond's. And Richmond's 3 are a more talented group.
Seawoolf
12 Jun 2008, 15:34
Clearly the tiges have the better players at this point - but Murphy is showing his class and with another year under their belts Kroooz and Gibbs will be formidable. good comparison for Gibbs is Hodge who was taken at 1 (2?)ahead of Judd. took him a while but now he is dominating the backline at Hawthorne, Gibbs beat Cornes in only his second full year - not bad...and Krooz - 3 goals but looked clumsy below his knees early in the 4th. redeamed himself though...
Top_4_Tiger
12 Jun 2008, 16:34
Clearly the tiges have the better players at this point...
It's hard to say something like that in a thread like this, so I'm sure a lot of people respect your opinion for it.
blues4flag
12 Jun 2008, 16:46
Foley: 22
Deledio: 21
Cotchin: 18
Murphy: 20
Gibbs: 19
Kreuzer: 19
The Richmond trio are a year older on average than Carlton's - Foley shouldn't be in this poll as he's hardly a kid (same age difference between Foley and Judd that there is between Murphy and Foley).
blaisee
12 Jun 2008, 17:09
Foley: 22
Deledio: 21
Cotchin: 18
Murphy: 20
Gibbs: 19
Kreuzer: 19
The Richmond trio are a year older on average than Carlton's - Foley shouldn't be in this poll as he's hardly a kid (same age difference between Foley and Judd that there is between Murphy and Foley).
classic case of stats telling you what you want to hear
Murphy is 3 months younger than lids
dylan_mike
12 Jun 2008, 17:39
The Carlton trio are currently 50 games down on the Richmond trio, that is quite a few games. And there are 2 Fourth year players in Richmonds trio.As a general Rule players take approx 4-5 Years to mature and give you a more accurate description of his full potential. you have 2 in that category. We have none, Murphy is a year away and Gibbs is 2 years away. Richmond for now but may have to ask this question again in a few years.
dylan_mike
12 Jun 2008, 17:48
what has this got to do with the thread topic? You flog
Listen you Troll, the reason i wrote what i did. was to answer Claude Balls comment about which treo he would pick to win a flag in 3 years. I wasn't answering the Threads Topic i was meantioning to Claude that no matter which of the 3 you pick it means nothing without Depth.
So grow a brain and use it.Don't keep it pickled in a jar. And if you took your finger out of your arse, it wouldn't be so Stinky, Wingman:p
Tarquin
12 Jun 2008, 18:05
I see a slight problem in this statement. Two teams of identical talent with three added players, the Carlton lineup offers a lot more flexibility.
Richmond you have basically 3 midfielders with Deledio maybe running around as a small forward.
Kreuzer, has the potential to cover a ruck or KPP.
Murphy, personally I think can handle the midfield and also drift forward.
Gibbs, can play in the back pocket or run in the midfield and even play a tagging role if needed.
I think you get a heap more flexibility from the carlton group with arguable differences in talent.
Then again, I have a slight bias.
Hahaha english skills you say!!
"Id advice you to think"
UM i think it might be "advise"
So before you open your mouth you might think to use that spell check!
I'm not here for my english skills champ, but if you are then you are doing a ripper job at it!!:thumbsu: Id "advice" you to keep it up:thumbsu:
Wow congratulations you found my one typo of mine against your post full of dribble, go back to school or were you kicked out of all of them by age 6?
Monkeyboy
12 Jun 2008, 18:52
The Carlton trio are currently 50 games down on the Richmond trio, that is quite a few games. And there are 2 Fourth year players in Richmonds trio.As a general Rule players take approx 4-5 Years to mature and give you a more accurate description of his full potential. you have 2 in that category. We have none, Murphy is a year away and Gibbs is 2 years away. Richmond for now but may have to ask this question again in a few years.
Quality post. But even despite this i still rate the Blues better. Frightening for us all
You for Real? You Dolt! No one is saying he is a Genious. Seems like you have a short memory, isn't Hawthorn is copying Geelongs Model . So don't take credit for bringing in the youth policy. Yes it is early days for him but So far i like what i see and he has enough brains to create a list that will see us with a future and not one that he thinks will save his future. There is nothing wrong with Copying a model then putting your own twist to it, Just as Clarkson did. The thing is Richmond have a good youth list and like someone meantioned earlier, you learn tenfold as a young player playing in the firsts than playing in the seconds. A good coach/leader does not have to recreate history, they just have to make good decisions based on what they have at their disposal( Experience, History, Science, other Coaches ... Etc) . I am just giving him credit for holding his nerve and not reacting to losses by dropping the Youngsters and slowly but surely seeing a future.. All this is also possible by having some stability throughout the club pulling in one direction which we lacked for a few years and i for one am happy about it.:D
Oh really so what your saying is Hawthorn who are making a conscious effort to have a good supply of KPP in its side is taking the same route as Geelong who has more of a spread of goal kickers, which is why they are such are hard side to play against some times. So Hawthorn is not copying the Geelong model as the Geelong model is completely different. If anything Hawthorn is using the St Kilda model as a reference. Although you knowing nothing about football apparently wouldn't have realized that.
Now look who is the dolt. As Happy Gilmore said "You jack@ss"
Mr Illektro
13 Jun 2008, 15:59
Didn't see Gibbs or Murphy selected to play in the Victoria vs Dream Game. Only Judd who carried the Eagles for years.
But I did Foley picked before them, hmm.
And I do believe the motto was.. "The best of the best".
Richo83
13 Jun 2008, 18:02
Didn't see Gibbs or Murphy selected to play in the Victoria vs Dream Game. Only Judd who carried the Eagles for years.
But I did Foley picked before them, hmm.
And I do believe the motto was.. "The best of the best".
Means nothing, one game. This thread is apples and oranges.
Better comparison: Pattison, Foley and Deledio V Kreuzer, Murphy and Gibbs. I'd say Carlton wins that, but Pattison is under-rated here.
dylan_mike
13 Jun 2008, 18:12
Oh really so what your saying is Hawthorn who are making a conscious effort to have a good supply of KPP in its side is taking the same route as Geelong who has more of a spread of goal kickers, which is why they are such are hard side to play against some times. So Hawthorn is not copying the Geelong model as the Geelong model is completely different. If anything Hawthorn is using the St Kilda model as a reference. Although you knowing nothing about football apparently wouldn't have realized that.
I was talking about the youth policy you incoherent knob head.
Richo is God
13 Jun 2008, 21:22
[quote=Tarquin;11324249]Considering the fact there is NO RUCK in the richmond selection.
I would love to see this...
Deledio v Kreuzer in the ruck...
While
Foley v Gibbs
Murphy v Cotchin..
Seriously, Richmond would have NO chance.
[quote]
deledio will kill kruezer around the ground
cotchin>>>>>>>my grandma>>>>>gibbs
and foley is ahead of murphy.
I was talking about the youth policy you incoherent knob head.
In that case you really are stupid because Geelong have had a premiership winning side for quite a few years now. It just only seamed to only click at the start of last season. Really do you actually follow football or just go on what you read on BF?
dylan_mike
14 Jun 2008, 16:50
In that case you really are stupid because Geelong have had a premiership winning side for quite a few years now. It just only seamed to only click at the start of last season. Really do you actually follow football or just go on what you read on BF?
Who cares when they clicked you simpleton, The fact is they went for the youth policy followed by the Bulldogs, then Hawthorn( who copied that policy), followed by Carlton. Get that through your thick skull you troglodyte.
sens_bombers
14 Jun 2008, 16:59
As a non-bias opinion I say Richmonds lot by a fair bit.
murph#3
14 Jun 2008, 17:04
non-biased pffft.
how can an essendon supporter possibly be non-biased in a poll which includes carlton??:rolleyes:
WorthTheWaite
14 Jun 2008, 17:36
WHOA!!! Slow down mate. No need to qualify your opinion with actual statements/observations to such an extent! Too substantiated for these parts buddy :eek:
mattdwyer
15 Jun 2008, 00:09
Murph is currently moving into the AFL elite midfielder group, and while performing better than Gibbs at the moment, Gibbs is an extraordinarily gifted footballer. A once in a generation talent. Kruezer is a hard one to gauge. The guy is an off the scale talent, with a set of capabilities we haven't seen at this level. He's a ruck, who can play as a true small midfielder plus a KP forward or winger. Just an amazing talent. :)
he (gibbs) is the one in that generation WAY OUT OF HIS DEPTH and very highly OVERRATED .... he is that bad at finding the footy that ratten has resorted to using him as a tagger ... hhahahahahahaha ... the worst number 1 ever, followed by fraser and the fraser clone kruezer
cotchin is a one in a lifetime player !! :p:)
Coach_Required
15 Jun 2008, 00:16
I dont know why this poll is still going, looking at the results its pretty obvious which trio is rated higher ;)