View Full Version : Bryce Gibbs, what is all the hype about?
The Teflon Dean
10 Jun 2008, 14:03
This thread really belongs on the AFL board.
Would anyone explain to me what the all the fuss is about Gibbs?
So he hangs off a bloke in wet conditions and tackles him when he tries to pick the ball up. BIG DEAL!
How many possessions did Gibbs have, twelve? BIG DEAL!
If they had played in dry conditions Cornes would have dragged Gibbs to full forward and SLAUGHTERED him.
Did everybody happen to miss young Bryce duck his head TWICE whilst attempting two overhead marks in the last 5 minutes of the match when the game still hung in the balance?
It's almost though Carlton supporters are willing to highlight the slightest thing Bryce does correctly in order to hide their clubs embarrasssment of picking up the most overhyped draft pick in AFL history.
Cruiser23
10 Jun 2008, 14:11
Coaches votes:
10 Judd
6 Gibbs
Second best on the ground
You fail.
Spartan
10 Jun 2008, 14:20
Coaches votes:
10 Judd
6 Gibbs
Second best on the ground
You fail.
I think Gibbs played a good game but the points raised by the OP are all valid. If anyone believes that in dry conditions Cornes (injured or otherwise) wouldn't have given Gibbs an arse raping they are being a little naive. Rumour has it Cornes is set to miss 5 weeks with a knee injury.
I don't think Gibbs is the spud he is made out to be by some, however he is definately overhyped and the chubby being displayed by Blues supporters right now is sad.
I rate Murphy as a gun though, kid can really play.
The Teflon Dean
10 Jun 2008, 14:23
I think Gibbs played a good game but the points raised by the OP are all valid. If anyone believes that in dry conditions Cornes (injured or otherwise) wouldn't have given Gibbs an arse raping they are being a little naive. Rumour has it Cornes is set to miss 5 weeks with a knee injury.
I don't think Gibbs is the spud he is made out to be by some,
I wouldn't call him alltogether useless either, but what we saw on the weekend is about it for Bryce. He will be a handy swing flanker, that's it.
Murphy is a STAR!
super_phaser
10 Jun 2008, 14:50
Gibbs is a shocker, but everyone knows that now.
Even Carlton fans.
NMFC ALWAYS
10 Jun 2008, 14:56
People were bagging Cooney a couple of years back and now look at him
Braun_2_B_Wild
10 Jun 2008, 15:01
This thread really belongs on the AFL board.
Cmon mate... thats a bit harsh. Gibbs is a #1 pick in a draft apparantly an elite midfielder who on the weekend had a massive...... 13 possessions :eek: I see what you mean :D :D :D :D
Cruiser23
10 Jun 2008, 15:03
I don't think Gibbs is the spud he is made out to be by some, however he is definately overhyped and the chubby being displayed by Blues supporters right now is sad.
So Williams and Cornes has got to you already. For christ sake have you read the report that Cornes is injured. He's apparently had this injury for 3 years and all of a sudden it appears after being smashed by Gibbs and choking again. Why would this not have been looked at in the past 2-3 pre-season? It's a rubbish excuse and bloody cop out.
It can't have anything to do with his finger because if his finger was so bad and they thought it would break again, why did he get rid of the glove? That was supposed to protect it was it not?
Chad Cornes got smashed in contested situations, marking contests and all around the ground by Bryce Gibbs. Don't give a shit if it was wet, he killed him.
By the way, Gibbs will be a better player than Murphy mark my words. It will come apparent to all you outsiders very soon.
Uhumagoo
10 Jun 2008, 15:12
I agree, It was easily the 2nd worst performance by a player this season. :D
TheGeneral
10 Jun 2008, 15:22
If they had played in dry conditions Cornes would have dragged Gibbs to full forward and SLAUGHTERED him.
Gibbs kicked a goal on Cornes.
Cornes was fit enough to take that mark over Fev. ;)
Did everybody happen to miss young Bryce duck his head TWICE whilst attempting two overhead marks in the last 5 minutes of the match when the game still hung in the balance?
Ducked his head? :rolleyes:
Did you see Gibbs back back to knock it out to Russell and help set up the match winner?
It's almost though Carlton supporters are willing to highlight the slightest thing Bryce does correctly in order to hide their clubs embarrasssment of picking up the most overhyped draft pick in AFL history.
Bryce Gibbs isn't pronounced as Daniel Wells? :confused: ;)
Gibbs is averaging more touches, first possessions and contested possessions than Wells this year.
A player picked with selection 45 in the 2002 draft has done just as much as your number two pick.
Yet Wells has the intensity of a school girl.
Gibbs kicked a goal on Cornes.
Cornes was fit enough to take that mark over Fev. ;)
Ducked his head? :rolleyes:
Did you see Gibbs back back to knock it out to Russell and help set up the match winner?
Bryce Gibbs isn't pronounced as Daniel Wells? :confused: ;)
Gibbs is averaging more touches, first possessions and contested possessions than Wells this year.
A player picked with selection 45 in the 2002 draft has done just as much as your number two pick.
Yet Wells has the intensity of a school girl.
Come on General we all know Wells hates North he really wants to be at Carlton thats why in the 5 years hes been there he has done nothing. He pines for Carlton.
Jeremias
10 Jun 2008, 15:26
Posted this in response to the exact same post by TTD in another thread so thought it would be appropriate to post it here, too.
We've tried, but you're just not going to understand. Your hatred for the Blues sadly clouds your judgement in a big way.
So he hangs off a bloke in wet conditions and tackles him when he tries to pick the ball up. BIG DEAL!
He tagged Chad Cornes, arguably the best utility to 9 possessions. Don't tell me you don't rate taggers. Your dual B + F winner in Brady Rawlings is nothing more than that - a tagger.
How many possessions did Gibbs have, twelve? BIG DEAL!
He actually had 13, but that's irrelevant. What's more relevant is the fact that you seem to still be reminiscing about football in the 1980's when the amount of disposals a player got was used to determine how well he played.
These days, possessions are largely irrelevant. It's not how many you get, but what you do with them. Additionally, especially in the role that Gibbs played on Sunday, it's how you restrict your opponent from having an influence on the game.
Who gives a shit about "if's"? That's not what happened, and I guarrantee that Cornes and Mark Williams would not be feeling better about their performance by thinking that if it was dry, they would have dragged Gibbs to the goalsquare and slaughtered him.
Whilst we're playing this stupid game of hypotheticals that you introduced, let's pretend that Jordan Bannister wasn't injured. Then Gibbs wouldn't have played on him, and no matter what the weather was, Bannister would have destroyed Gibbs anyway.
There was only one incident like that when Gibbs bravely stood his ground with Port players coming at him from all angles. You don't suppose that the reason he dropped the mark was because of the conditions, do you? No, of course not
It's funny to see that you are still hinting that he's soft even after most people have acknowledged that he isn't, particularly after this performance.
Not everyone can be as hard at the footy as Daniel Wells.
Leuenberger would KILL Kruezer head to head in the ruck and Cotchin has shown more in 2 games than Gibbs has shown in 25 games.
Well, we would have been able to lay that to rest but Leuenberger was dropped for the Carlton game because he was performing excellently.
Whilst we're playing your stupid misinformed game, Gibbs has shown more in 25 games than Wells has in his career.
Next time, try and think before you post. Troll.
bomba4eva
10 Jun 2008, 15:39
I remember to thank God everyday that Essendon did not get the chance to pick up Bryce Gibbs. Would have been mighty embarrassing to waste our first high pick in years on that overrated dud that would struggle to get a game at many clubs:o
FieryNayta
10 Jun 2008, 15:41
Come on General we all know Wells hates North he really wants to be at Carlton thats why in the 5 years hes been there he has done nothing. He pines for Carlton.
I wouldn't take him even if he did. We have about 5 midfielders on our list better than him.
FieryNayta
10 Jun 2008, 15:43
I remember to thank God everyday that Essendon did not get the chance to pick up Bryce Gibbs. Would have been mighty embarrassing to waste our first high pick in years on that overrated dud that would struggle to get a game at many clubs:o
Maybe if you picked Gibbs, your team would be lucky enough to play finals in the next 5 years. Pity though...
bomba4eva
10 Jun 2008, 15:46
Maybe if you picked Gibbs, your team would be lucky enough to play finals in the next 5 years. Pity though...
He'd set the club back 5 years. Luckily we recruited a blue chip CHF. Recruiters at Carlton would be kicking themselves for simply believing the hype and picking up Squibbsy. You now have no choice but to get behind him until the time comes when it is acceptable to start calling for the delisting of a former no. 1 pick:o
FieryNayta
10 Jun 2008, 15:55
He'd set the club back 5 years. Luckily we recruited a blue chip CHF. Recruiters at Carlton would be kicking themselves for simply believing the hype and picking up Squibbsy. You now have no choice but to get behind him until the time comes when it is acceptable to start calling for the delisting of a former no. 1 pick:o
Yeah, i'm sure we are kicking ourselves not picking a player who has barely been able to string together a couple of games.
Whereas Gibbs' is making a significant contribution in a team that pushing for the 8. Yep...kicking ourselves.
bomba4eva
10 Jun 2008, 15:58
Yeah, i'm sure we are kicking ourselves not picking a player who has barely been able to string together a couple of games.
Whereas Gibbs' is making a significant contribution in a team that pushing for the 8. Yep...kicking ourselves.
You would be kicking yourselves over the recruitment of Gibbs at no. 1;)
In time you will kick yourselves again when Gumbleton gets going. Incidentally he returned in the reserves yesterday and should be back in the senior team within a month.
'Making a significant contribution'. LOL:thumbsu::D:thumbsu: Pure Gold.
Coughlan
10 Jun 2008, 16:20
Cotchins already showed more in his 4 games with no pre-season already then Gibbs has shown since last year.
That must hurt
Braun_2_B_Wild
10 Jun 2008, 16:40
Cotchins already showed more in his 4 games with no pre-season already then Gibbs has shown since last year.
That must hurt
Cotchin was always #1 in that draft in most people's minds... Gibbs was #1 almost using trial by media. Remember how all of the talk was about the Crows getting Gibbs under the father/son and how unfair it was because he was a potential #1 pick. Before you know it fiction becomes fact and people actually start overrating the bloke purely because the Crows wanting him so badly.
Carlton got rorted into thinking that Squibbs was worthy of the #1 pick purely because of all of the hype over Squibbs with the father/son rule.... I mean hey if Adelaide wanted him so much he must have been good so lets get him at 1 :rolleyes: Carlton got sucked in and we have seen why he is barely a 3rd round pick at best :D :D
Spartan
10 Jun 2008, 17:24
The responses in this thread are another reason why Gibbs is discussed like he is and either bagged or praised like he is.
Gibbs is a decent player and from memory he was a very good junior. His #1 pick while maybe not the certainty some make it out to be was reasonably justified. I don't think the Blues were absolutely stupid in selecting Gibbs.
However opposition supporters make comments like Gibbs is a spud, Gibbs is useless, Gibbs is a hack, etc etc. This in turn leads Carlton fans to make comments like Gibbs will be a superstar, Gibbs is better than Murphy, Gibbs is going to be a champion, etc etc.
In my opinion neither is true.
Gibbs will become a good honest player however from what we have seen to date he will not become the superstar or champion Blues claim he will be.
I also agree that Cotchin is already ahead of Gibbs. I think Masten will be a very good player but right now I'd probably take Cotchin over Masten and even Palmer. The kid just oozes class.
Jason_K
10 Jun 2008, 17:40
We told you about Kennedy - you didn't listen.
We told you about Kreuzer - you didn't listen.
We are telling you about Gibbs but you aren't listening.
Just wait and see then. I'll bookmark this thread to bump in a couple of seasons.
Jason_K
10 Jun 2008, 17:41
That must hurt
Deledio had a better first season than Cotchin....gone backwards since. Cotchin to follow the same path?
That must hurt :o
Coughlan
10 Jun 2008, 17:43
Deledio had a better first season than Cotchin....gone backwards since. Cotchin to follow the same path?
Cotchin's played 4 games moron:rolleyes:
Jason_K
10 Jun 2008, 17:47
Cotchin's played 4 games moron:rolleyes:
Precisely my point. Still didn't stop you from saying he has shown more than Gibbs. What a ridiculous comment :rolleyes:
Braun_2_B_Wild
10 Jun 2008, 17:48
Just wait and see then. I'll bookmark this thread to bump in a couple of seasons.
We told you 5 years ago you would be crap once you got caught salary cap cheating - you didn't listen.
We were right :D :D :D
Coughlan
10 Jun 2008, 17:50
Precisely my point. Still didn't stop you from saying he has shown more than Gibbs. What a ridiculous comment :rolleyes:
But he has, he has stood out, Gibbs has looked like nothing more then you're run of the mill first year player
Spartan
10 Jun 2008, 18:00
Kennedy is only playing well because he got a good pre-season into him and isn't being butchered. He showed nothing during his time at Carlton. To not be able to get a game considering how shithouse you guys have been isn't a massive achievement.
Kreuzer. Yeah he played a good quarter. Lets not sell the house just yet.
Calrton fans have been telling everyone about Gibbs since the day he was drafted. Right now all he will ever amount to is a good honest player.
Delidio (at his worst) > Gibbs (at his best). :o
stevedarui
10 Jun 2008, 18:03
We told you 5 years ago you would be crap once you got caught salary cap cheating - you didn't listen.
I told your mother we should have used a condom she wouldn't listen.
Jason_K
10 Jun 2008, 18:06
Kennedy is only playing well because he got a good pre-season into him and isn't being butchered. He showed nothing during his time at Carlton. To not be able to get a game considering how shithouse you guys have been isn't a massive achievement.
Kreuzer. Yeah he played a good quarter. Lets not sell the house just yet.
Calrton fans have been telling everyone about Gibbs since the day he was drafted. Right now all he will ever amount to is a good honest player.
Delidio (at his worst) > Gibbs (at his best). :o
Yeah, yeah, yeah........
Kennedy is now good because he is at a different club.
Kreuzer has only played one good quarter.
Gibbs has shown nothing.
None of it has anything to do with talent......
Can you honestly not see how stupid you are looking??
Jason_K
10 Jun 2008, 18:13
But he has, he has stood out, Gibbs has looked like nothing more then you're run of the mill first year player
I have posted this before but the reason Gibbs doesn't stand out is because everything he does is so casual and non-chalant that no one takes a lot of notice. A handball there, a grubber kick to the side, a knock-on here - its so casual looking but damn effective.
Just a couple of examples:
-That 'lookaway' handball of Steve Johnson against us that everyone is pulling themselves over, Gibbs did that in his first ever AFL game against Richmond from a ruck contest. I think you would remember? But it was so casual.
-Gibbs' goal against Collingwood from the centre, two bounces, a dummy, a handpass, got it back and kicked the goal. Every bit as good as Thomas' against West Coast (and when the game was up for grabs) but no major fuss.
-Gibbs came out with the ball against Freo surrounded by 3 Docker players, handpass to Stevens for the winning goal but no major fuss.
-Gibbs same thing against Geelong to Heath Scotland in open goal, no major fuss.
-Gibbs kicked two extremely nice goals very casually again Geelong but the game was over so no major fuss.
Cotchin, if he was to do any one of those things, would be getting a massive boner from Richmond supporters but because with Gibbs it seems like 'just another thing' there's not that much notice. Doesn't really matter because he does his bit for the team and is an absolute gun.
The rest of you will see it soon enough.
Braun_2_B_Wild
10 Jun 2008, 18:16
Edited for Accuracy
I have posted this before but the reason Gibbs doesn't stand out is because everything he does is so casual and non-chalant that no one takes a lot of notice. A handball there, a grubber kick to the side, a knock-on here - its so casual looking but damn effective.
Just a couple of examples:
-That 'lookaway' handball of Steve Johnson against us that everyone is pulling themselves over, Gibbs did that in his first ever AFL game against Richmond from a ruck contest. I think you would remember? But it was so casual.
-Gibbs' goal against Collingwood from the centre, two bounces, a dummy, a handpass, got it back and kicked the goal. Every bit as good as Thomas' against West Coast (and when the game was up for grabs) but no major fuss.
-Gibbs came out with the ball against Freo surrounded by 3 Docker players, handpass to Stevens for the winning goal but no major fuss.
-Gibbs same thing against Geelong to Heath Scotland in open goal, no major fuss.
-Gibbs kicked two extremely nice goals very casually again Geelong but the game was over so no major fuss.
-Gibbs shat himself when he saw Stephen Milne coming at him.
-Gibbs fell over in the goalsquare while running into an open goal
Cotchin, if he was to do any one of those things, would be getting a massive boner from Richmond supporters but because with Gibbs it seems like 'just another thing' there's not that much notice. Doesn't really matter because he does his bit for the team and is an absolute gun.
Coughlan
10 Jun 2008, 18:20
Um their is a youtube video of Gibbs hanballing the ball to a team mate in the goal square which you flogs use as evidence of Gibbs' class.
The reason it all goes unnoticed is because any half decent player can do that shit:rolleyes:
Vampire013
10 Jun 2008, 18:22
Gibbs is OK but not a superstar. Yet !!!:cool:
He might one day be, who knows:confused:
Just because a player is number 1 draft pick does not mean he will be great.
Can't really expect him to be a total dud though.
Give him time.
However, I believe that Cotchin and Palmer have been far more impressive.
Even some players from same draft as Gibbs have been more impressive.
Give me Selwood any day of the week.
The draft is a gamble people.
Some kids star in the juniors, but for some reason don't perform at senior level. Some are late developers.
However, I do not see a need to be malicious towards any player.
My belief that football is a team sport and it's all about your team winning.
It's not about individuals:eek:
Jason_K
10 Jun 2008, 18:38
Um their is a youtube video of Gibbs hanballing the ball to a team mate in the goal square which you flogs use as evidence of Gibbs' class.
The reason it all goes unnoticed is because any half decent player can do that shit:rolleyes:
Yeah and any half decent player can run around freely and mark and kick the ball. So why the fuss over Cotchin then? :rolleyes:
Spartan
10 Jun 2008, 18:41
Yeah, yeah, yeah........
Kennedy is now good because he is at a different club.
Kreuzer has only played one good quarter.
Gibbs has shown nothing.
None of it has anything to do with talent......
Can you honestly not see how stupid you are looking??
This is why Blues supporters are classified as complete and utter dumbshits.
Unless people sit here and blow their load over your 'superstars' they are immediately stupid.
Please explain to me what Kennedy did in his two seasons at the Blues. 22 games, 6 possessions, 4 marks and 1/2 a goal per game. F**k me I hope the Blues called the AFL HoF committee and told them to lock Kennedy in for a spot. He struggled to get a game in a side worse than Fiztroy before they were executed.
After that please explain besides a good debut and an excellent last quarter last weekend what Kreuzer has done to warrant Carlton fans spraying a load all over their computer screens. Kreuzer may very well become an elite player, however big men take time and he sure as hell isn't there yet. Lets remember a 16 year old Naituni gave him a bath in the championships last year.
Gibbs, again is having a better season than his rookie season but he is nowhere near the premium young players in the competition. He might get there, however he isn't there yet. I agree with the OP in that Blues fans are quick to point out his 'heroic' feats however fail to mention his f**k ups. Time will tell what he makes of his AFL career, however right now he will not amount to anything more than 'good'.
Coughlan
10 Jun 2008, 18:49
Yeah and any half decent player can run around freely and mark and kick the ball. So why the fuss over Cotchin then? :rolleyes:
Didn't watch his first half on th weekend I take it.
It was more getting the ball from the contest and running out with it and evading 2-3 players and creating plenty of space for himself to set up.
Running around freely and marking the ball sound like Gibbs
lenny&carl
10 Jun 2008, 19:11
I got the impression that pretty much every other team would've picked Gibbs if they'd had pick one, so I dunno if you can say Carlton made a mistake. BUT, it's plain to see that Gibbs isn't the superstar he was talked-up to be, and yeah, will only ever be good-to-very-good tops. You need more out of pick one's.
Looking at that draft, in the first round there was a bunch of KPP's who haven't done enough to be judged either way (Gumbleton, Hansen, Thorp, Reid, Frawley, Reiwoldt, Sellar, M.Brown,) plus a guy who went to sydney so we'll see him in 2011, plus (in the order I'd pick em today...)
Selwood,
Leuenberger,
N.Brown,
Gibbs,
Boak,
Everitt,
Armitage.
I could imagine Everitt overtaking Gibbs & Boak.
The Teflon Dean
10 Jun 2008, 19:47
We've tried, but you're just not going to understand. Your hatred for the Blues sadly clouds your judgement in a big way.
Yes, yes, I know. Carlton standard defence mechanism number one:
Anybody critical of a Carlton player must be a "Carlton hater".
If you care to use the search engine you will find that I have made glowing endorsements of Murphy and I praised Kruezer as a likely good CHF BEFORE yesterdays game.
Sorry, you're wrong.
He tagged Chad Cornes, arguably the best utility to 9 possessions.
He followed a bloke with a wonky knee around in a bog.
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23836377-19742,00.html
Yes, he got 4 touches more than a bloke on one leg. Hooray!
Don't tell me you don't rate taggers. Your dual B + F winner in Brady Rawlings is nothing more than that - a tagger.
Carlton standard defence mechanism number two:
Make a ridiculous comparison.
The rules had to be changed so Chris Judd could get a kick on Brady Rawlings.
Brady Rawlings turns Luke Hodge in to an automatic forward pocket.
Judd and Hodge would eat Bryce Gibbs for breakfast. Your comparison is simply ridiculous.
He actually had 13, but that's irrelevant. What's more relevant is the fact that you seem to still be reminiscing about football in the 1980's when the amount of disposals a player got was used to determine how well he played.
Carlton standard defence mechanism number three:
You criticise one of their footballers, you have no idea about modern football.
13 kicks following around a bloke on one leg on a bog heap. The kids a star. Meanwhile Gavin Urquart, pick 21 from the same draft as Gibbs, completely shut down Matthew Stokes and had 16 possessions himself. Do you see 5 million threads pronouncing Gavins greatness? NNNNOOOOOO!
These days, possessions are largely irrelevant. It's not how many you get, but what you do with them. Additionally, especially in the role that Gibbs played on Sunday, it's how you restrict your opponent from having an influence on the game.
Gibbs had nothing to do with it. A fit Chad Cornes would destroy him.
Who gives a shit about "if's"? That's not what happened, and I guarrantee that Cornes and Mark Williams would not be feeling better about their performance by thinking that if it was dry, they would have dragged Gibbs to the goalsquare and slaughtered him.
My friend, you are deluded.
Whilst we're playing this stupid game of hypotheticals that you introduced, let's pretend that Jordan Bannister wasn't injured. Then Gibbs wouldn't have played on him, and no matter what the weather was, Bannister would have destroyed Gibbs anyway.
Who on earth are you talking about?
There was only one incident like that when Gibbs bravely stood his ground with Port players coming at him from all angles. You don't suppose that the reason he dropped the mark was because of the conditions, do you? No, of course not :rolleyes:
Bravely? He put in short steps when he had to go back on TWO occasions. One of the marking attempts was UNCONTESTED!
It's funny to see that you are still hinting that he's soft even after most people have acknowledged that he isn't, particularly after this performance.
My idea of "tough" isn't following around a one legged footballer in the mud and tackling him when he attempts to pick the ball up. Carlton supporters must have different priorities.
Not everyone can be as hard at the footy as Daniel Wells :D :rolleyes:
Carlton standard defence mechanism number four:
Change the subject.
Bryce Gibbs isn't even in the same category as Wells when it comes to hardness.
Or ability for that matter.
Well, we would have been able to lay that to rest but Leuenberger was dropped for the Carlton game because he was performing excellently :D
Carlton standard defence mechanism number five:
Tell straight out lies.
Leuenberger was rested for the Carlton match.
Whilst we're playing your stupid misinformed game, Gibbs has shown more in 25 games than Wells has in his career.
This lie isn't even worthy of serious consideration.
Next time, try and think before you post.
Troll.
Mate, if calling me a troll brings peace in to your world and helps you sleep better at night, then by all means keep doing it.:thumbsu:
Chops_a_must
10 Jun 2008, 20:05
Please explain to me what Kennedy did in his two seasons at the Blues. 22 games, 6 possessions, 4 marks and 1/2 a goal per game. F**k me I hope the Blues called the AFL HoF committee and told them to lock Kennedy in for a spot. He struggled to get a game in a side worse than Fiztroy before they were executed.
I agree with you in these regards.
No way would Kennedy have ever been able to be developed as an AFL player at Carlton.
Carlton will never be able to develop KPP properly, because they don't even do leg weights ffs. On the other hand, the Eagle's tradition of turning average footballers into good KPP continues...
didak04
10 Jun 2008, 20:38
I told your mother we should have used a condom she wouldn't listen.
Oh and he's a dumb ____, must have got that from his father
Hodgepodge
10 Jun 2008, 21:42
What's he meant to be good at? What are his strengths?
lenny&carl
10 Jun 2008, 23:32
His '08 stats are practically the same as Bachar Houli's. I think they're both playing quite well for 3rd round picks.
Monkeyboy
11 Jun 2008, 00:10
Re the OP.
The hype is that this kid oozes poise and class. Am guessing he is 19? Very tough initiation in a weak team in 07. Some take till early 20's to start to shine. Gibbs has been doing it since game 1. Massively underrated season last year. Will be top 10 player in the comp for next 12 years.
I would take him over Murphy on what i have seen.
Spartan
11 Jun 2008, 00:34
Re the OP.
The hype is that this kid oozes poise and class. Am guessing he is 19? Very tough initiation in a weak team in 07. Some take till early 20's to start to shine. Gibbs has been doing it since game 1. Massively underrated season last year. Will be top 10 player in the comp for next 12 years.
I needed a laugh. :o
Edit:
Fremantle will win a premiership before Gibbs becomes a top 10 player.
Ablett, Franklin, etc etc etc etc
*daylight*
*nightlight*
*solar eclispe*
*more daylight*
Gibbs
The Teflon Dean
11 Jun 2008, 01:02
Re the OP.
This alias is shot mate.
Get another one.:thumbsu:
blues_clues
11 Jun 2008, 02:08
remember that gibbs only turned 19 three months ago, second youngest player on our list and already has 32 games under his belt.
i agree he hasnt set the world on fire but has shown enough to me he is going to be a very good player, not going to be the class of kreuzer or murphy but dam close
Braun_2_B_Wild
11 Jun 2008, 02:14
remember that gibbs only turned 19 three months ago, second youngest player on our list and already has 32 games under his belt.
i agree he hasnt set the world on fire but has shown enough to me he is going to be a very good player, not going to be the class of kreuzer or murphy but dam close
Has there ever been a group of supporters excited over a bloke having a few kicks in 1 quarter. Kreuzer was absolutely smashed by Natanui... a 16 year old last year... I have yet to see anything from Kreuzer that even remotely resembles him being worth of being a #1 pick and certainly nothing to show him being "classy".
Kruezer and Gibbs will be about as "classy" as that other #1 flop Brendan Goddard.
Haven't seen him do much, he's too busy spending time in the back pocket, or following the oppositions midfielders. We'll see what he does over the next few years, right now it looks like the Blues wasted pick 1 on a tagger to me though.
The Teflon Dean
11 Jun 2008, 12:29
32 games for Carlton in 2007/2008 mean NOTHING.
A donkey could have played 32 games for Carlton in these seasons.
Big Red is back
11 Jun 2008, 12:32
Gumbleton LOL
Big Red is back
11 Jun 2008, 12:34
Has there ever been a group of supporters excited over a bloke having a few kicks in 1 quarter. Kreuzer was absolutely smashed by Natanui... a 16 year old last year... I have yet to see anything from Kreuzer that even remotely resembles him being worth of being a #1 pick and certainly nothing to show him being "classy".
Kruezer and Gibbs will be about as "classy" as that other #1 flop Brendan Goddard.
fyi
- Special K 3 match winning goals in the wet in one term... shows something to me... was Cox even playing AFL at 18???
Braun_2_B_Wild
11 Jun 2008, 13:29
fyi
- Special K 3 match winning goals in the wet in one term... shows something to me... was Cox even playing AFL at 18???
Very good question actually... no he wasn't because Dean Cox was a ROOKIE LISTED player. We didn't have to waste pick 1 in the draft on a tall bloke that might not cut it... we got him for virtually nothing and he is 10 times the player Kruezer will ever be for the equivalent of pick 100 :D :D :D
Chops_a_must
11 Jun 2008, 14:01
fyi
What has Kerr got to do with this?
I hate that nickname being overused...
Jason_K
11 Jun 2008, 15:34
This is why Blues supporters are classified as complete and utter dumbshits.
As opposed to West Coast supporters who are widely acknowledged as well-balanced experts on football? :rolleyes: "West Coast dynasty" anyone??? :D:o
He did as much as you would expect a young player to do. No, scrap that, a big bodied, developing young player who was CONSTANTLY struck down by injuries. He did more than Jono Brown did in his first couple of years.
WTF were you expecting from him?? To kick bags of 5 in his first season? :rolleyes: He did exactly what he is doing for West Coast, the only difference being that what he does for West Coast now for a half or 3/4, he used to do that for Carlton for a quarter because he was still very young and coming off numerous injuries.
Couldn't get a game for us? Injuries anyone? And once again, a young KPP doesn't just walk into a team no matter how bad they are.
Once again, I ask you, what the f*ck were you expecting from Kennedy?? He showed signs as all young players do hence the potential expectations on him.
After that please explain besides a good debut and an excellent last quarter last weekend what Kreuzer has done to warrant Carlton fans spraying a load all over their computer screens. Kreuzer may very well become an elite player, however big men take time and he sure as hell isn't there yet. Lets remember a 16 year old Naituni gave him a bath in the championships last year.
Who said anything about him being elite already?? Stop twisting my words. He isn't anywhere near the best players in the competition but he sure as hell shown great signs he'll get there one day. A good debut and one quarter?? :o Watch more Carlton games. He's practically won a game in one quarter at 18 in his 9th AFL game. FFS Cox was running around in the WAFL recording sub-10 beep test at Kreuzer's age.
He has shown as much as, if not more, potential than any recent ruckman at his age and won a game in less that 10 games of AFL football; hence the 'blowing of load' over him. That's not good enough for you?
And what in god's name has Naitanui got to with this thread?? Nice cheap shot to the kid (not even getting into the argument of whether he did give him 'a bath' :rolleyes:)
Gibbs, again is having a better season than his rookie season but he is nowhere near the premium young players in the competition. He might get there, however he isn't there yet. I agree with the OP in that Blues fans are quick to point out his 'heroic' feats however fail to mention his f**k ups. Time will tell what he makes of his AFL career, however right now he will not amount to anything more than 'good'.
Not amount to anything more than good based on what?? Who are these 'premium young players' you speak of? Are Cotchin and Masten in there? :o Tell me who they are and why they are better than Gibbs.
Once again I'll repeat. Gibbs has shown signs. That's all you look for in young players, you don't expect them to come out and dominate from the start. You look for signs that tell you if a player is going to be good or not and Gibbs has shown tremendous signs. He has been given jobs to do and done them extremely well. What were you expecting from him??
Have a look at the rubbish you are typing. You are saying Kreuzer, Gibbs and Kennedy are/were no gun players in the competition. Well, no shit sherlock! They are youngsters. What do you look for in youngsters? SIGNS and potential and Gibbs and Kreuzer have shown as much as any in the competition. Just because expectations on Gibbs are ginormous doesn't mean he hasn't shown anything.
You call Gibbs a good ordinary player and then mention Cotchin and Masten as potential stars? Please tell me what they have done that Gibbs hasn't?? Do you see the hypocrisy and double standards here?
Have a look at the top 10 players in the competition at the minute. Would you have ever though Gary Ablett would be elite when he was Gibbs and Kreuzer's age? Cox? Kerr? Cooney? Bartel? These players are in their first and second season and are showing great potential and you say 'based on thus far they are good players but not elite' Of course they aren't elite, doesn't mean they won't be.
Jason_K
11 Jun 2008, 15:41
Didn't watch his first half on th weekend I take it.
It was more getting the ball from the contest and running out with it and evading 2-3 players and creating plenty of space for himself to set up.
Running around freely and marking the ball sound like Gibbs
I actually did watch the first half and really liked his game but I saw him more as a link man. He wasn't in the packs getting the ball nor taking it away from the stoppages from what I saw. Nothing wrong with the kid of course, at his age you wouldn't be expecting him to do that, that's the job for more senior players.
He played HFF and was the link from the centre and wing. He received the ball and passed it on with efficieny was his game as I saw it. Not bursting from packs and evading players, that was in his draft profile not on the field.
Once again, not having a go at the kid because he is being eased into it. Tell me what Cotchin has done in 4 games that Gibbs hasn't done thus far?
Clearances? Tick
Nice goals from roving the packs? Tick
Setting up teammates? Tick
Showing clean disposal? Tick
Evading players? Tick
Tackling? Big tick
The only thing Cotchin has thus far over Gibbs is pace, that's about it.
geelong16
11 Jun 2008, 15:53
He is a number 1 draft pick, he shut down cornes like a bitch, he will be a champ.
wall_ryan
11 Jun 2008, 16:11
Gibbs is a shocker, but everyone knows that now.
Even Carlton fans.
It should be a rule supporters barracking for a club yet to win 2 games are banned from slander.
Or it's just common sence.
He's playing soft until we get him back where he belongs. 250 game father son crap
sunnyTEE
11 Jun 2008, 16:24
Wellingham > Gibbs
Spartan
11 Jun 2008, 16:42
As opposed to West Coast supporters who are widely acknowledged as well-balanced experts on football? "West Coast dynasty" anyone???
He did as much as you would expect a young player to do. No, scrap that, a big bodied, developing young player who was CONSTANTLY struck down by injuries. He did more than Jono Brown did in his first couple of years.
WTF were you expecting from him?? To kick bags of 5 in his first season? He did exactly what he is doing for West Coast, the only difference being that what he does for West Coast now for a half or 3/4, he used to do that for Carlton for a quarter because he was still very young and coming off numerous injuries.
Couldn't get a game for us? Injuries anyone? And once again, a young KPP doesn't just walk into a team no matter how bad they are.
Once again, I ask you, what the f*ck were you expecting from Kennedy?? He showed signs as all young players do hence the potential expectations on him.
Who said anything about him being elite already?? Stop twisting my words. He isn't anywhere near the best players in the competition but he sure as hell shown great signs he'll get there one day. A good debut and one quarter?? :o Watch more Carlton games. He's practically won a game in one quarter at 18 in his 9th AFL game. FFS Cox was running around in the WAFL recording sub-10 beep test at Kreuzer's age.
He has shown as much as, if not more, potential than any recent ruckman at his age and won a game in less that 10 games of AFL football; hence the 'blowing of load' over him. That's not good enough for you?
And what in god's name has Naitanui got to with this thread?? Nice cheap shot to the kid (not even getting into the argument of whether he did give him 'a bath' :rolleyes:)
Not amount to anything more than good based on what?? Who are these 'premium young players' you speak of? Are Cotchin and Masten in there? :o Tell me who they are and why they are better than Gibbs.
Once again I'll repeat. Gibbs has shown signs. That's all you look for in young players, you don't expect them to come out and dominate from the start. You look for signs that tell you if a player is going to be good or not and Gibbs has shown tremendous signs. He has been given jobs to do and done them extremely well. What were you expecting from him??
Have a look at the rubbish you are typing. You are saying Kreuzer, Gibbs and Kennedy are/were no gun players in the competition. Well, no shit sherlock! They are youngsters. What do you look for in youngsters? SIGNS and potential and Gibbs and Kreuzer have shown as much as any in the competition. Just because expectations on Gibbs are ginormous doesn't mean he hasn't shown anything.
You call Gibbs a good ordinary player and then mention Cotchin and Masten as potential stars? Please tell me what they have done that Gibbs hasn't?? Do you see the hypocrisy and double standards here?
Have a look at the top 10 players in the competition at the minute. Would you have ever though Gary Ablett would be elite when he was Gibbs and Kreuzer's age? Cox? Kerr? Cooney? Bartel? These players are in their first and second season and are showing great potential and you say 'based on thus far they are good players but not elite' Of course they aren't elite, doesn't mean they won't be.
1. Would most people say Geelong are on the verge of a dynasty? What about the Hawks? WCE made a GF which they lost by under a goal, and then won the premiership the following year. They had a young list with the best ruckman in the competition and 3 of the top midfielders in the competition which included the game's best player. I don't think claiming that we were on the verge of a dynasty was as far a stretch as you would like to believe.
Jonathon Brown (2nd year): 25 games, 14 possessions, 6 marks and 1.5 goals per game.
Josh Kennedy (2nd year): 13 games, 7 possessions, 4 marks and 0.5 goals per game.
Josh Kennedy did more than Jonathon Brown? :rolleyes: :o
3. You rolled your eyes at the statement Kreuzer hasn't done much more than a good debut game and an excellent final quarter on the weekend. Yet you didn't offer anything to rebute statement?
4. Gibbs has had one full season more than Cotchin and Masten. Gibbs has squibbed on more than one occasion, the Milne incident being the most famous one. He tagged Cornes who has an injured finger and running around on one leg. Whats the big deal? Yes he is improving, however what exactly has he shown to warrant being a potential elite player, or as someone claimed, one of the top ten players for the next 12 years? :o
5. If I had to pick 10 players under 21 right now who will become elite players of the competition Gibbs wouldn't be one of them.
Who said anything about him being elite already??
Nobody. If you read the post carefully, hell, it's even posted in your reply - it says "Kreuzer may very well become an elite player". May very well become an elite player - that's not saying that right now he is an elite player.
That's all you look for in young players, you don't expect them to come out and dominate from the start.
Rhys Palmer. I know people question his kicking efficiency and his overall effectiveness, but the kid is in his first season and he is averaging over 22 possessions a game. He will come close to winning the Fremantle B&F.
You look for signs that tell you if a player is going to be good or not
So every number 1 draft pick ever has been recruited on hope? Drafting managers have recruited people hoping that the signs they show are going to turn them into great players?
What if, hypothetically, a draft manager for Club Y went to a Vic Metro game, and Player X, a 40-50 pick player at best, plays a blinder, outclasses several potential high draft picks & gets BOG? Then, a few weeks later, the manager goes to another game, to see if the kid is consistent, and X does it again - but in all the other games he's played, he's had less / next to no influence on the game?
Would the draft manager recruit Player X because he showed signs of brilliance?
If a player such as a Natanui or a Rich are dominating games at TAC or other competitions level, then they're deserved of their high draft pick status. But you're not going to draft a player that went as high as Gibbs based on signs. Later draft picks, yeah sure maybe, but picks as high as Gibbs - you're taking what you consider to be the best young player in the draft, who therefore must be better than all the other draftees, and must be a better player than them. You don't show signs to become a #1 draft pick, you dominate games.
Wellingham > Gibbs
Sharrod = the worst christian name of a VFL/AFL player in the history of football!! It sounds like his parents picked both a girls name & a boys name, couldnt decide between the two & combined them!! (Sharon & Jarrod). Admittedly though Sunny, he does look the goods as a player:thumbsu:
sneakydaycrawler
11 Jun 2008, 16:59
Sharrod = the worst christian name of a VFL/AFL player in the history of football!! It sounds like his parents picked both a girls name & a boys name, couldnt decide between the two & combined them!! (Sharon & Jarrod). Admittedly though Sunny, he does look the goods as a player:thumbsu:
Whats his name got to do with anything. Maybe he is not Christian.
eagledream
11 Jun 2008, 16:59
all i wanna know is, where the hell is Parrot, normally she's in here claiming that Gibbs is going to be the best player of all time. Unlike her to not be adding two bob's worth of sweet nothings.
Whats his name got to do with anything. Maybe he is not Christian.
If you didnt know, a christian name is a persons first name. This name precedes a persons surname! Good luck at finger painting this afternoon!
sneakydaycrawler
11 Jun 2008, 17:02
all i wanna know is, where the hell is Parrot, normally she's in here claiming that Gibbs is going to be the best player of all time. Unlike her to not be adding two bob's worth of sweet nothings.
Same here. Where is she?
If you didnt know, a christian name is a persons first name. This name precedes a persons surname! Good luck at finger painting this afternoon!
Pwnt.
sneakydaycrawler
11 Jun 2008, 17:07
Pwnt.
The term Christian name is sometimes used as a general synonym for given name. Strictly speaking, the term applies to a name formally given to a child at an infant baptism or "christening", practised by some Christian groups
Very good! You can use an on-line dictionary or google!! Good luck Sunday:)
sneakydaycrawler
11 Jun 2008, 17:11
Very good! You can use an on-line dictionary or google!! Good luck Sunday:)
Wikipedia mofo
after watching gibbs game on the weekend it is clear he will be a star he is only 19 i think and he has been playing some great footy
will be a star when he is older and matures
sneakydaycrawler
11 Jun 2008, 17:15
after watching gibbs game on the weekend it is clear he will be a star he is only 19 i think and he has been playing some great footy
True that
Jason_K
11 Jun 2008, 17:18
1. Would most people say Geelong are on the verge of a dynasty? What about the Hawks? WCE made a GF which they lost by under a goal, and then won the premiership the following year. They had a young list with the best ruckman in the competition and 3 of the top midfielders in the competition which included the game's best player. I don't think claiming that we were on the verge of a dynasty was as far a stretch as you would like to believe.
Of course you wouldn't. You speak of dynasties AFTER they have happened not call them after one premiership. Something West Coast learnt the hard way.
Jonathon Brown (2nd year): 25 games, 14 possessions, 6 marks and 1.5 goals per game.
Josh Kennedy (2nd year): 13 games, 7 possessions, 4 marks and 0.5 goals per game.
Josh Kennedy did more than Jonathon Brown? :rolleyes: :o
Compare Kennedy's first 15-20 games with Brown's first 20 odd and apart from one breakout performance against Geelong where Brown kicked 7 their records are pretty similar. In fact, I'd say Kennedy's first season was better than Brown's. Don't forget Brown in his second season played in a premiership winning side that went 20-5 and had no major injuries at that stages. Take all that into account and they were pretty similar in their starts.
3. You rolled your eyes at the statement Kreuzer hasn't done much more than a good debut game and an excellent final quarter on the weekend. Yet you didn't offer anything to rebute statement?
I said watch more Carlton games. Kreuzer has held his own against much bigger opposition and has shown great athleticism and skills. About as much as you could expect from a young ruckman with less than 10 games playing against men.
4. Gibbs has had one full season more than Cotchin and Masten. Gibbs has squibbed on more than one occasion, the Milne incident being the most famous one. He tagged Cornes who has an injured finger and running around on one leg. Whats the big deal? Yes he is improving, however what exactly has he shown to warrant being a potential elite player, or as someone claimed, one of the top ten players for the next 12 years? :o
There you go. Gibbs squibbed? Arguable but even so what about other things he's done? You don't see Gibbs getting clearances from stoppages whenever he is put in there? You don't see Gibbs setting up teammates with great disposal? You don't see Gibbs spoiling and holding his own in players bigger than him? Cornes on one leg? That's as big a trollish indication from you as you can get. Cornes has been on one leg for the past 3 years, why wasn't anything said about it then? As soon as he gets beaten by a kid the excuses come out. The finger injury didn't stop him in the past couple of games either.
With Gibbs, the thing with him is his vision and disposal and clearance work when he is in the midfield that warrants the elite tag. He has played on and broke ever or beaten players like Hird, Cornes, Thomas, Farmer, Aker etc. What's the big deal? :rolleyes:
I see you didn't answer my question, what has Cotchin and Masten done better than Gibbs?
5. If I had to pick 10 players under 21 right now who will become elite players of the competition Gibbs wouldn't be one of them.
Who would you pick and why?
Jason_K
11 Jun 2008, 17:22
So every number 1 draft pick ever has been recruited on hope? Drafting managers have recruited people hoping that the signs they show are going to turn them into great players?
What if, hypothetically, a draft manager for Club Y went to a Vic Metro game, and Player X, a 40-50 pick player at best, plays a blinder, outclasses several potential high draft picks & gets BOG? Then, a few weeks later, the manager goes to another game, to see if the kid is consistent, and X does it again - but in all the other games he's played, he's had less / next to no influence on the game?
Would the draft manager recruit Player X because he showed signs of brilliance?
If a player such as a Natanui or a Rich are dominating games at TAC or other competitions level, then they're deserved of their high draft pick status. But you're not going to draft a player that went as high as Gibbs based on signs. Later draft picks, yeah sure maybe, but picks as high as Gibbs - you're taking what you consider to be the best young player in the draft, who therefore must be better than all the other draftees, and must be a better player than them. You don't show signs to become a #1 draft pick, you dominate games.
Yeah and your point is? Gibbs obviously had the best U-18 record hence why he was picked at no.1
My post was about AFTER they get drafted. Not many players come out and dominate from the start and you wouldn't expect them to either. They get eased into AFL football and Gibbs is doing that. WTF is your point here?? :confused:
didak04
11 Jun 2008, 17:22
Oh...well this post has changed my mind on everything....you have given some fantastic reasons on why Gibbs will be a star:rolleyes:
did i go a little bit overboard with the "stars"?:)
he gets me exited!!!!
lenny&carl
11 Jun 2008, 17:35
Watching Cotchin I can see the star potential. With Gibbs I can't. Time will tell.
Jason_K
11 Jun 2008, 17:36
Watching Cotchin I can see the star potential. With Gibbs I can't. Time will tell.
Would it have anything to do with the fact that Cotchin is allowed to roam free around HFF to rack up touches and deliver the ball forward of the centre whilst Gibbs is told to mind his opponents and not let them have an impact?
Or do you just think Cotchin has better skills and abilities?
lenny&carl
11 Jun 2008, 17:51
nah, it's all je ne sais quoi. Haven't seen any from Gibbs yet.
magpies10
11 Jun 2008, 18:12
Funny how Selwood, Pendlebury, Thomas, Palmer and a list that could exceed 50 never had to tag players before they learnt how to get the footy themselves. I learnt in juniors, that the good players take you to the ball, Gibbsy is probably only doing his role to ensure he gets a kick. If he wasn't doing a tagging role we would all see he is not worthy of a #1 draft pick then again i wouldn't waste a #1 pick on a tagger
Yeah and your point is? Gibbs obviously had the best U-18 record hence why he was picked at no.1
My post was about AFTER they get drafted. Not many players come out and dominate from the start and you wouldn't expect them to either. They get eased into AFL football and Gibbs is doing that. WTF is your point here?? :confused:
Gibbs has had more than enough time to be "eased into" the AFL as you point out.
Would a player being "eased in"
**break even with or beat players like Hird, Cornes, Thomas, Farmer, Aker etc.
**edited so it makes sense.
did i go a little bit overboard with the "stars"?:)
he gets me exited!!!!
Hopefully you being exited can be a permanent thing. :thumbsu:
chewysnake
11 Jun 2008, 20:46
Doesnt a typical number 1 draft pick get tagged as opposed to being inferior and following someone else around for a couple hours on the field?
Spartan
11 Jun 2008, 21:29
Who would you pick and why?
There are more than 10 I would pick ahead of Gibbs from the 2005 and 2006 drafts, but here are the easiest 10.
Marc Murphy
Dale Thomas
Scot Pendlebury
Patrick Ryder
Nathan Jones
Garrick Ibbotson
Bernie Vince
Matthew Stokes
J.Selwood
N.Brown
Spartan
11 Jun 2008, 21:31
Doesnt a typical number 1 draft pick get tagged as opposed to being inferior and following someone else around for a couple hours on the field?
From memory Gibbs startd his career as a free running midfielder but didn't quite cut it so he was reinvented as a half back flanker and then now a tagger.
Hodgepodge
11 Jun 2008, 21:33
Would it have anything to do with the fact that Cotchin is allowed to roam free around HFF to rack up touches and deliver the ball forward of the centre whilst Gibbs is told to mind his opponents and not let them have an impact?
Or do you just think Cotchin has better skills and abilities?
Cotchin's shown why he was picked at No.2 . . . maybe should've been No.1 . . . Gibbs has shown nought so far. Who was No.2 in that draft?
Spartan
11 Jun 2008, 21:36
Cotchin's shown why he was picked at No.2 . . . maybe should've been No.1 . . . Gibbs has shown nought so far. Who was No.2 in that draft?
Gumby. :o
Atleast Gumby can blame injuries though..
Jason_K
11 Jun 2008, 23:36
There are more than 10 I would pick ahead of Gibbs from the 2005 and 2006 drafts, but here are the easiest 10.
Marc Murphy
Dale Thomas
Scot Pendlebury
Patrick Ryder
Nathan Jones
Garrick Ibbotson
Bernie Vince
Matthew Stokes
J.Selwood
N.Brown
But WHY would you pick those guys ahead of Gibbs? I maybe understand the KPP because they are pound-for-pound harder to find but what about the midfielders?
What does Pendlebury do better than Gibbs?
What does Nathan Jones have that Gibbs doesn't?
What has Ibbotson done to be rated higher?
Bernie Vince and Matthew Stokes?? What do they possess that Gibbs doesn't??
Jason_K
11 Jun 2008, 23:37
HOW?? What has he done to prove that he will be better than Gibbs?
Gibbs has shown nought?? Laughable.
That's the thing, all of you are saying "nah nah Gibbs-hack, Gibbs-this, dozen better youngsters, yadda yadda" but none of you are giving me any reasons?? WHY would you pick those players ahead of Gibbs??
Jason_K
11 Jun 2008, 23:38
From memory Gibbs startd his career as a free running midfielder but didn't quite cut it so he was reinvented as a half back flanker and then now a tagger.
Wrong. The max he has ever spent in the midfield in any given day is probably a quarter and a half.
I am really starting to think you haven't seen much of Gibbs at all
Braun_2_B_Wild
11 Jun 2008, 23:39
HOW?? What has he done to prove that he will be better than Gibbs?
Gibbs has shown nought?? Laughable.
That's the thing, all of you are saying "nah nah Gibbs-hack, Gibbs-this, dozen better youngsters, yadda yadda" but none of you are giving me any reasons?? WHY would you pick those players ahead of Gibbs??
Because none of them have shat their pants when the ball is bouncing awkwardly in front of them and Stephen Milne is coming the other way? :rolleyes:
pieman123
11 Jun 2008, 23:40
What do they possess that Gibbs doesn't??
heart and skill
Skeppersap
11 Jun 2008, 23:41
But WHY would you pick those guys ahead of Gibbs? I maybe understand the KPP because they are pound-for-pound harder to find but what about the midfielders?
lol
I notice you left Selwood off that list. Selwood does everything on the footy field better than Gibbs, except tag, because Selwood is too skilled to tag!
Spartan
11 Jun 2008, 23:44
Wrong. The max he has ever spent in the midfield in any given day is probably a quarter and a half.
I am really starting to think you haven't seen much of Gibbs at all
Thats why I said from memory. I couldn't remember. I'll admit I haven't watched many Carlton games over the last few years, mainly cause you guys have been so shithouse. I was busy watching my team make grand fnals and winning flags (and watching them now getting flogged :o).
Spartan
11 Jun 2008, 23:48
Pendlebury has shown more skill and class on a regular basis than Gibbs.
Nathan Jones has more heart in his left testicle than Gibbs.
Ibbotson is classier and harder at the ball than Gibbs.
Vince and Stokes have just plain played better than Gibbs.
There are few more like Houli and Birchall that I dare say would be selected by an unbiased 'coach' ahead of Gibbs.
blues4flag
11 Jun 2008, 23:48
Very good question actually... no he wasn't because Dean Cox was a ROOKIE LISTED player. We didn't have to waste pick 1 in the draft on a tall bloke that might not cut it... we got him for virtually nothing and he is 10 times the player Kruezer will ever be for the equivalent of pick 100 :D :D :D
So...at the same age, Kreuzer is superior to what Cox was...yet Cox is ten times better than Kreuzer will ever be? How do you figure? :confused:
Spartan
11 Jun 2008, 23:52
So...at the same age, Kreuzer is superior to what Cox was...yet Cox is ten times better than Kreuzer will ever be? How do you figure? :confused:
Leuenberger was/is also superior at the same age compared to Cox. :o :rolleyes:
Jason_K
11 Jun 2008, 23:55
Because none of them have shat their pants when the ball is bouncing awkwardly in front of them and Stephen Milne is coming the other way? :rolleyes:
That's all you got? Have you seen Gibbs' tackles? Hardness :rolleyes:
Jason_K
11 Jun 2008, 23:56
lol
I notice you left Selwood off that list. Selwood does everything on the footy field better than Gibbs, except tag, because Selwood is too skilled to tag!
No I left Selwood off the list because he has played better than Gibbs thus far based on his possessions and the way he's been getting the ball in the best midfield in the competition.
I would Gibbs' tackling and disposal is better than Selwood.
Jason_K
12 Jun 2008, 00:00
Pendlebury has shown more skill and class on a regular basis than Gibbs. Yeah because he plays in the middle every game every time.
Nathan Jones has more heart in his left testicle than Gibbs. All relative. Gibbs is no where near soft, has much better disposal than Jones.
Ibbotson is classier and harder at the ball than Gibbs. I don't think Ibbotson is a 'tough nut' inside midfielder. I see him very similar to Gibbs so don't know where you are coming from with your 'harder' comment.
Vince and Stokes have just plain played better than Gibbs. How? A goal sneak and a fringe player have just plain played better? :confused: They just run around freely finishing off their teammates' work. That's not better.
There are few more like Houli and Birchall that I dare say would be selected by an unbiased 'coach' ahead of Gibbs.
Birchall maybe but Houli?? :D