View Full Version : U16 Vic Metro

Judd*1
10 Jun 2008, 14:30
Does anyone the squad and when they play?

upncomer
17 Jun 2008, 22:14
Does anyone the squad and when they play?
Squad still hasn't been finalised but is down to 38. I believe they head up to the GC on around the 22nd of July

stephen22
7 Jul 2008, 23:29
What is the latest on the under 16s Vic Metro team?
I was able to get to a fair few of the games during the carnival and while there were some standouts, nothing too spectacular was shown in these games.

Anyone know any news of final selection or anything else on this subject?

footyman
8 Jul 2008, 00:02
Anyone know any news of final selection or anything else on this subject?
2008 U16 Vic. Metro - Final List

Region Name Surname
Calder Taylor Hine
Calder Thomas Liberatore
Calder Luke Mitchell
Calder Dion Prestia
Calder Josh Toy
Calder Matthew Watson
Eastern Kieran Harper
Eastern Brad Harvey
Eastern Ryan Wilson
Eastern Joshua Woollard
Eastern Aaron Young
Eastern Cam O,Shea
Northern Josh Caddy
Northern Alex Rintoul
Oakleigh Andrew Gaff
Oakleigh Tomas Gordon
Oakleigh Patrick Karnezis
Oakleigh Emergency Joshua Ralph
Sandringham Daniel Farmer
Sandringham Jack Hutchins
Sandringham Ben Jacobs
Sandringham Tom Nicholls
Western Dylan Conway
Western Josh Huxtable
Western Trent McKenzie
Western Dean Notman
Oakleigh Emergency Alex Johnson
Northern Emerency Jordan Treloar
Sandringham Emergency Tyrone Bean
Sandringham Emergency Jack Frost

stephen22
8 Jul 2008, 00:07
Cheers mate.
Could I ask where you found this?

footyman
8 Jul 2008, 00:37
Cheers mate.
Could I ask where you found this?it's on the calder cannons website.

http://www.sportingpulse.com/club_info.cgi?client=1-3020-27642-0-0&sID=54943&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5809224&sectionID=54943

scooter600x
8 Jul 2008, 01:06
No Mitchell Wallis?

stephen22
8 Jul 2008, 01:37
I have heard that Mitch Wallace broke his leg pretty badly not too long ago. Any other players that you are surprised that made it or didn't?

Vic Crow
8 Jul 2008, 01:55
Hahahahaha, oh man, there's a player named Jack Frost. That is SO AWESOME! :D

Sidebottom step aside, Jack Frost has the best name in junior footy.

Witts
8 Jul 2008, 03:42
I have heard that Mitch Wallace broke his leg pretty badly not too long ago. Any other players that you are surprised that made it or didn't?

From Western, a bit surprised that there's no Tom Liberatore, good player.

Mitch Wallis did break his leg. Not sure what's happening with him now.

*edit Liberatore's in there. My bad

stephen22
8 Jul 2008, 12:03
Surely I would have thought that the Knights would of had more than 2 players in the final squad. After watching them I would of thought a couple of their small men would of made it although their ruckem (rintoul) is also a very good player from what ive seen. What possible reasons are there for the small knights players getting cut?

Chris Griffin
8 Jul 2008, 13:10
From Western, a bit surprised that there's no Tom Liberatore, good player.

Mitch Wallis did break his leg. Not sure what's happening with him now.

*edit Liberatore's in there. My bad

-Wallis 3 weeks from returning to footy. Would be a monty to be in the team if fit.
-Liberatore...gun!!!
-Luke Mitchell...ditto x 3

All 3 from the same junior team at St Bernards...fair side.

dylan123
8 Jul 2008, 20:29
does any body no if batsanis,chiodo or lowther got close to making the side?

adamania11
8 Jul 2008, 20:39
I used to know Josh Caddy...went to Auskick with him, he was very good back then too. Related to Saul Caddy i think...

Witts
8 Jul 2008, 21:35
-Wallis 3 weeks from returning to footy. Would be a monty to be in the team if fit.
-Liberatore...gun!!!
-Luke Mitchell...ditto x 3

All 3 from the same junior team at St Bernards...fair side.

Trust me mate, I know
I play in the same league
Wallis broke his leg the day before St Bernards were scheduled to play our side.

Halffullonfence
8 Jul 2008, 21:50
Surely I would have thought that the Knights would of had more than 2 players in the final squad. After watching them I would of thought a couple of their small men would of made it although their ruckem (rintoul) is also a very good player from what ive seen. What possible reasons are there for the small knights players getting cut?

Answered your own question I believe. Smalls in this group would have to be exceptional not very good.

HFF_07
8 Jul 2008, 22:15
where are the rays boys, none. shattered.

ohanlon14
8 Jul 2008, 22:18
Hahahahaha, oh man, there's a player named Jack Frost. That is SO AWESOME! :D

Sidebottom step aside, Jack Frost has the best name in junior footy.

his hair suits the name as well:thumbsu:

TigerGlory
8 Jul 2008, 22:19
Dylan Shiel is a bit stiff. That kid is a gun.

I go to school with Tom Nicholls, hes a pretty handy player as well.

blues2010
8 Jul 2008, 22:25
where are the rays boys, none. shattered.
Stingray boys are now with Vic Country.

blues2010
8 Jul 2008, 22:26
Dylan Shiel is a bit stiff. That kid is a gun.

I go to school with Tom Nicholls, hes a pretty handy player as well.
I think you will find Dylan in the under 15 side. Too young for this one

TigerGlory
8 Jul 2008, 22:31
I think you will find Dylan in the under 15 side. Too young for this one

Ahh my apologies.

I wasnt sure of his age because he captains the Year 10 footy team and basically owns all of the 16's anyway. lol. :thumbsu:

Ablettttttt!
8 Jul 2008, 23:01
Watch out for Luke Mitchell. Abslolute superstar, great set shot (can kick it about 55 or more), great pair of hands and he's absolutely huge. He will be unstoppable.
Liberatore's pretty good as well.

footyman
8 Jul 2008, 23:04
Watch out for Luke Mitchell. Abslolute superstar, great set shot (can kick it about 55 or more), great pair of hands and he's absolutely huge. He will be unstoppable.

I think you might be on the money there...has been performing well and kicking bags of goals at MGS.

Ablettttttt!
8 Jul 2008, 23:17
I think you might be on the money there...has been performing well and kicking bags of goals at MGS.
Kicked 7 in their last game, was BOG the week before against St. Kevins, Kicked 3 against Haileybury and another 7 against Carey. He is in great form.

HFF_07
8 Jul 2008, 23:19
Stingray boys are now with Vic Country.

can someone help me and find a link or post the under 16s VC squad then, please. cheers.

upncomer
9 Jul 2008, 02:19
does any body no if batsanis,chiodo or lowther got close to making the side?
Batsanis is the only player out of the 3 even in Oakleigh, and he wasn't likely to have ever made it.

dylan123
9 Jul 2008, 14:12
Batsanis is the only player out of the 3 even in Oakleigh, and he wasn't likely to have ever made it.
thanks i used to play with them and just wanted to see where they were at. got 1 from the team in so not a bad effort. i wonder how many of these players in the metro side will make it to afl. should be instresting to see in a few years time

murphy3
9 Jul 2008, 19:37
What about Jacobs, didnt he get player of the tournament last year or something?

ohanlon14
9 Jul 2008, 23:42
What about Jacobs, didnt he get player of the tournament last year or something?
el capitano of all-australian team last year.

CORZA
12 Jul 2008, 02:22
josh caddy is a freak use to play footy wif him can do it all will dominate the carnival imagine. Also a kid that was injured wif a serious knee injury tay luckman lovely kick for goal great hands will feature in the under 18 carnival next year.

griffen16
14 Jul 2008, 21:43
can someone help me and find a link or post the under 16s VC squad then, please. cheers.

Ash Holland
Daniel semmens
Luke parker
Matt shaw
Mitch hallahan
Daniel Harrison
Piers Flanagan
Fraser russlle
Billie Smedts
Brent macleod
Jandre slabert
Jake ward
Michael o’callahgan
Richard bamblett
Mitch gent
Dyson hepple
Ryan pendlebury
Braydon saltron
Gus pomerin
Shaun atley
Alex keathe
Richard langham
Troy davis
Lucas cook

I think there is 2 more..

i think that is it..
sorry if i have left someone out or just made a mistake

efl_represent
14 Jul 2008, 21:47
Josh Woollard and Ryan Wilson are awesome

Plow_King21
15 Jul 2008, 17:33
ryan pendlebury is nuttin to special, played him in a Herald sun sheild game this year, can get the ball but has shocking disposal and is a cat whn it comes to going in and getting the ball, only in there im pressuming because of his name. see how he goes though all the best to him

upncomer
15 Jul 2008, 21:37
ryan pendlebury is nuttin to special, played him in a Herald sun sheild game this year, can get the ball but has shocking disposal and is a cat whn it comes to going in and getting the ball, only in there im pressuming because of his name. see how he goes though all the best to him
Slow as a wet week also. Awkward running style.

Plow_King21
19 Jul 2008, 21:11
Slow as a wet week also. Awkward running style.
yes definetly has that lanky tall running action to him but his brother is good as.

griffen16
20 Jul 2008, 21:03
ryan pendlebury out with stress fractures..
and luke mahony is in also will patone

blueblake
21 Jul 2008, 21:13
No Taylor Veal? Not sure if anyone has heard of him but an absolute freak. maybe a little bit small.
Also Josh Caddy is a very goo dplayer but is known to get very hungry.

patmoore
21 Jul 2008, 21:18
who for vm do you think could make all-australian
luke mitchell i reckon is a shoe in

back2back4dacat
21 Jul 2008, 21:20
who for vm do you think could make all-australian
luke mitchell i reckon is a shoe in
Keath and Jacobs 2 others that should easily make it

ravarma
22 Jul 2008, 19:05
i'm pretty sure that Alex Keath is Vic Country. Luke Mitchell should make it in all australian.

dp3[WLD]
22 Jul 2008, 20:51
rintoul is a half forward flanker, not sure about ruckman

efl_represent
23 Jul 2008, 14:53
The Vic Metro boys catch their plane to queensland about 9 tomorrow morning... good luck to them:thumbsu:

dylan123
23 Jul 2008, 17:36
does anyone no where we can go to check the scores of these games?

efl_represent
23 Jul 2008, 18:57
http://www.afl.com.au/Development/NABAFLRisingStarsProgram/NABUnder16s/tabid/277/default.aspx

hopefully they will update that with scores

_shifty_
24 Jul 2008, 10:44
T Lib is a superstar, definte AA right there

3KM_Time_Trial
24 Jul 2008, 13:38
T Lib is a superstar, definte AA right there

What are people's opinion on Conway and Mckenzie from the Western Jets, McKenzie has been in good form and Conway recently breaking into Jets TAC team?

Chandra
25 Jul 2008, 11:05
First game today washed out - was a practice match though. Great that we head to sunny Queensland for the Carnival.

footyman
25 Jul 2008, 12:29
First game today washed out - was a practice match though. Great that we head to sunny Queensland for the Carnival.
Washed out? Thats only a term I've ever heard associated with cricket!!!

You mean they've called off the footy cos its a bit wet? What is the game coming to?

ravarma
26 Jul 2008, 19:46
any results today

TigerGlory
26 Jul 2008, 19:54
Ash Holland
Daniel semmens
Luke parker
Matt shaw
Mitch hallahan
Daniel Harrison
Piers Flanagan
Fraser russlle
Billie Smedts
Brent macleod
Jandre slabert
Jake ward
Michael o’callahgan
Richard bamblett
Mitch gent
Dyson hepple
Ryan pendlebury
Braydon saltron
Gus pomerin
Shaun atley
Alex keathe
Richard langham
Troy davis
Lucas cook

I think there is 2 more..

i think that is it..
sorry if i have left someone out or just made a mistake

Dont know why hes playing Vic Country, since he also goes to my school and as far as i know, plays for Bonbeach in the Mornington Peninsula league.

Shouldnt he be in the Metro team? :confused:

Witts
26 Jul 2008, 19:56
What are people's opinion on Conway and Mckenzie from the Western Jets, McKenzie has been in good form and Conway recently breaking into Jets TAC team?

Played against Conway for a lot of junior football, he's strong in marking contests, knows how to get the ball and knows how to use it as well.

I remember playing against him in a junior final, he kicked something like 1.8 and they lost to us by about 30 points.

A very good player though, deserves his spot in the team and as you say, he's playing in the TAC Cup, so a fair footballer.

I can't remember playing much against McKenzie, but I've watched him play and he's a freak. Came down to Williamstown through Conway, they're good mates and he's also playing TAC Cup, I believe.

The other Western players, Mitchell, Huxtable & Liberatore;

Mitchell should make All-Australian as he is a manchild.
Liberatore is an extremely solid player in the midfield and Huxtable is just huge. Wallis is missing from that side because of his broken leg but he'd walk into that side if fully fit.

ravarma
27 Jul 2008, 20:00
anyone know about results and performing players.

Luke Mitchell fan. In my house.

Vic Crow
27 Jul 2008, 20:06
Dont know why hes playing Vic Country, since he also goes to my school and as far as i know, plays for Bonbeach in the Mornington Peninsula league.

Shouldnt he be in the Metro team? :confused:
Dandenong is Country now.

stephen22
28 Jul 2008, 17:14
does anyone know rhe results and best players for today?
if yes please chuck iy up here for a look.(Y)

the unknown
3 Aug 2008, 20:55
Conway and Mitchell both certainties for AA, Toy and Gaff also a chance.

scottyD
3 Aug 2008, 23:55
Anyone know how Jake Ward and Michael O'Callaghan went? Both close mates. Can't get too much info sadly.

dylan123
4 Aug 2008, 00:38
Anyone know how Jake Ward and Michael O'Callaghan went? Both close mates. Can't get too much info sadly.
yeah neither can i all i can get is scores, goal kickers and best on the day for each team. i would like to no some more about the players and that. anyone got anything on this?

scottyD
4 Aug 2008, 00:55
Probably was the wrong thread as they both are VC boys. Michael got 3rd best one game and Jake kicked a goal in another.

Witts
4 Aug 2008, 16:59
VIC METRO 15.21.111
VIC COUNTRY 5.6.36

GOALS VIC METRO Conway 4, Toy 2, Famer 2, Prestia, Wilson, Watson, Gordon, Caddy, O'Shea, Nichols
GOALS VIC COUNTRY Pomorin 2, Cook, Russell, Keath

BEST VIC METRO Conway, Farmer, Liberatore, McKenzie, Jacobs, Toy
BEST VIC COUNTRY Hallahan, McLeod, O'Callaghan, Parker

dylan123
8 Aug 2008, 17:52
if anyone went to any of these games could they tell us the players which they thought were the best and could see been a afl player in a few years time?

yummy6
8 Aug 2008, 22:44
Ben Jacobs from Vic Metro is a stand out at the moment.
Twice U/15 All-Australian, Top age player of the carnival in the U/15 national comp last year. Future captain of Sandringham Dragons i'd say. Solid midfielder with clean skills to match his size.

blockman155
9 Aug 2008, 20:58
McKenzie is a gun, played against him since U9's and he was a freak back then, lol we didnt know his name so we just called him blondie

played on him a couple years ago and didnt seem the standout he is now, but i think the move from altona to williamstown has helped him alot

Metin_91
9 Aug 2008, 23:07
watch out for 14 year old endeavour hills forward semir zijai.
he has kicked 84 goals in 12 games this year looks a class above
definite afl footballer:thumbsu:

curry23
9 Aug 2008, 23:41
I didnt know where to post this or if anyone has posted it anywhere but Vic Metro won the Under 15s state carnival.

Houli2Gumbleton
10 Aug 2008, 23:49
McKenzie is a gun, played against him since U9's and he was a freak back then, lol we didnt know his name so we just called him blondie

played on him a couple years ago and didnt seem the standout he is now, but i think the move from altona to williamstown has helped him alot

He goes to my school and is a star

Foleys Footy
26 Aug 2008, 21:37
Farmers a star, freakish abilities

ravarma
26 Aug 2008, 21:44
Luke Mitchell is a man mountain. stands at 193cm and is 91kg. He stars for MGS firsts as a 16 year old. He is a forward but in the last game played CHB.

footyman
26 Aug 2008, 21:52
What's their training schedule like at the moment? Still about 6 weeks away from the Grand Final and guys have TAC Cup or local finals commitments, how many sessions a week have Metro 16s been having?

The Bloke
26 Aug 2008, 21:58
Dion Prestia, freak
If he could grow a little more, Defs a AFL prospect

Stock92
26 Aug 2008, 22:28
Daniel Farmer is a superstar

AFL material for sure

The Bloke
26 Aug 2008, 22:30
Dan Farmer, any relation to Mitch Farmer

wixism
14 Oct 2008, 15:34
Luke parker is a gun
will be in top 30 when drafted
will play for stingrays next year

ackfooty#24
16 Oct 2008, 20:52
DION prestia won b and f for vic metro. good on him he is an absolute freak. go to school with him and hes a good mate of mine.