View Full Version : a bit of help please guys.
matt decat
10 Jun 2008, 16:36
hey guys, im planning to spoil the girlfriend one day these holidays and i need you help with something lol. I'm planning on taking her for a flying lesson because she been dying to fly a plane since she started her course last yr (areo eng, hence the fascination). after that we shall go somewhere for a picnic. Then dinner in the city and off to a concert to see her favorite band.
only thing is, im not sure where i should take her to for the picnic. i was thinking something like the grampians or maybe the dandenongs. somewhere that we can have a bit of a picnic then go for a walk or something and thats picturesque. was wondering if any of you guys could suggest a nice place to go for this picnic.
thanks a lot guys/gals :)
oh, and to make things better, im not gonna miss carlton play :D
Gilly1972
10 Jun 2008, 16:56
hey guys, im planning to spoil the girlfriend one day these holidays and i need you help with something lol. I'm planning on taking her for a flying lesson because she been dying to fly a plane since she started her course last yr (areo eng, hence the fascination). after that we shall go somewhere for a picnic. Then dinner in the city and off to a concert to see her favorite band.
only thing is, im not sure where i should take her to for the picnic. i was thinking something like the grampians or maybe the dandenongs. somewhere that we can have a bit of a picnic then go for a walk or something and thats picturesque. was wondering if any of you guys could suggest a nice place to go for this picnic.
Mt. Macedon/Hanging Rock is always good....some wineries nearby too if you like.
TheGeneral
10 Jun 2008, 18:04
Do what Gilly would do, take her to the footy and the under 18s championships. :cool:
matt decat
10 Jun 2008, 18:21
Mt. Macedon/Hanging Rock is always good....some wineries nearby too if you like.
yeh sounds good, only thing is she is ant-mt. macedon because i went there at midnight one night with some mates for a bit of an adventure, ended up losing my front tooth the day before her formal LMAO!
thylacine60
10 Jun 2008, 18:27
You don't sound married so she is no doubt still a virgin. Fly Virgin style and take a cut lunch in the plane. Frugal Friendly Flying. :thumbsu::)
The Cranium
10 Jun 2008, 18:49
Gee thanks Gilly, hope her name isn't Miranda.
bexta444
10 Jun 2008, 18:50
Ahh Parks, my favourite places.
I like Westerfolds in Templestowe and Warrandyte State Park. :thumbsu:
Both suitable for a picnic and an easy walk.
http://www.parkweb.vic.gov.au
Is a good resource!
Sounds like a great way to be spoilt!
The Cranium
10 Jun 2008, 18:51
Ahh Parks, my favourite places.
I like Westerfolds in Templestowe and Warrandyte State Park. :thumbsu:
Both suitable for a picnic and an easy walk.
http://www.parkweb.vic.gov.au
Is a good resource!
So you like a bit of parking Bexta ;)
bexta444
10 Jun 2008, 18:53
So you like a bit of parking Bexta ;)
LOL now, now TC! :p
I do study Park Management :thumbsu:
Yeah I will help you I will take some glam photos of you too lol
Gilly1972
10 Jun 2008, 19:00
Do what Gilly would do, take her to the footy and the under 18s championships. :cool:
:rolleyes:
Ar$3hol3
:D
But she enjoyed that Knights game I took her too :o
bexta444
10 Jun 2008, 19:02
Mmmhmm! :rolleyes:
I bet she did Gilly ..... And after the Knights game how long were you under the thumb for? Or are you still paying? :)
TheGeneral
10 Jun 2008, 20:13
:rolleyes:
Ar$3hol3
:D
Is Mrs Cotchin as talented as her son?
:o
bluegal1983
10 Jun 2008, 20:14
I would suggest the Grampians (Halls Gap in particular) if you wanted to stay overnight. It is a beautiful part of the world. There are some lovely houses you can rent as well.
My ex took me there for a romantic weekend and whilst we were eating breakfast on the front balcony, kookaburra's sat on the ledge waiting to be fed.
There are some lovely trails there to walk along as well :thumbsu:
celtic_pride
10 Jun 2008, 20:17
Take a drive on the Great Ocean Road ...
Nothing beats that, esp in summer, and the waves, and damn I reckon that road and the 12 Apostles are the nicest tourist spot in Melbourne ...
You can't go wrong with a nice beach anyway on a nice day, even Sorrento is pretty good.
bluegal1983
10 Jun 2008, 20:19
Take a drive on the Great Ocean Road ...
Nothing beats that, esp in summer, and the waves, and damn I reckon that road and the 12 Apostles are the nicest tourist spot in Melbourne ...
You can't go wrong with a nice beach anyway on a nice day, even Sorrento is pretty good.
Very true. And plenty of good spots to stop for a picnic :thumbsu:
walshy93
10 Jun 2008, 20:52
Grampians would need an entire day and a half to get there, enjoy it and get back, so you might wanna do it b4 the band.
bexta444
10 Jun 2008, 21:42
hey guys, im planning to spoil the girlfriend one day these holidays and i need you help with something lol. I'm planning on taking her for a
>flying lesson
>after that we shall go somewhere for a picnic.
>Then dinner in the city and off to a concert to see her favorite band.
Grampians/Great Ocean Rd bit far for a day trip..
bluegal1983
10 Jun 2008, 21:52
Grampians/Great Ocean Rd bit far for a day trip..
Hence why I said you would need to stay overnight for the Grampians.
Great Ocean Road to Apollo Bay you could do in a day, easily.
BlueDevil
10 Jun 2008, 21:52
well i'll give my two cents worth, i'm sorry to dissapoint you but there aren't any "perfect Spots" for a picnic in victoria, or any other state or territory for that matter............ other of course than down here in tasmania......... but its a tad cold down here and we're shut for winter (other than for me to fly over in 4 weeks time for the saints game), so i say come back in spring or summer. :thumbsu:
you will of course find this post totally useless but hey, it has a good point i say.
The Cranium
10 Jun 2008, 22:05
well i'll give my two cents worth, i'm sorry to dissapoint you but there aren't any "perfect Spots" for a picnic in victoria, or any other state or territory for that matter............ other of course than down here in tasmania......... but its a tad cold down here and we're shut for winter (other than for me to fly over in 4 weeks time for the saints game), so i say come back in spring or summer. :thumbsu:
you will of course find this post totally useless but hey, it has a good point i say. :rolleyes:
Seriously, who wants to have a BBQ / Picnic wearing thermals......
matt decat
10 Jun 2008, 22:07
thanks a lot for all your advice guys, i had a look at the parksweb site and there were a few nice places there too. once my exams are over, ill properly look into everything, and try come up with a good enough cover up so the oldies dont know that just the two of us went somewhere overnight (they are the old traditional woggy type "no sex before marriage" bla bla bla, n think im gonna force it upon her). not even allowed to sleep at her house even when her mum is there :(
BlueDevil
10 Jun 2008, 22:07
Seriously, who wants to have a BBQ / Picnic wearing thermals......
the spa cabins at cradle mountain are pretty special this time of year.
bexta444
10 Jun 2008, 22:09
Hence why I said you would need to stay overnight for the Grampians.
Great Ocean Road to Apollo Bay you could do in a day, easily.
I just think with the flying lesson, picnic, dinner and a concert it would be a pretty mammoth day to go all that way - to GOR or Apollo Bay.
That fact that its winter needs to be considered too...
Just trying to give the guy something achievable...and not make his gf completely wrecked after the day...
The Cranium
10 Jun 2008, 22:09
thanks a lot for all your advice guys, i had a look at the parksweb site and there were a few nice places there too. once my exams are over, ill properly look into everything, and try come up with a good enough cover up so the oldies dont know that just the two of us went somewhere overnight (they are the old traditional woggy type "no sex before marriage" bla bla bla, n think im gonna force it upon her). not even allowed to sleep at her house even when her mum is there :(
Oh dear, better take along Charlene the Love Sock.....
bexta444
10 Jun 2008, 22:10
they are the old traditional woggy type "no sex before marriage" bla bla bla, n think im gonna force it upon her). not even allowed to sleep at her house even when her mum is there :(
Been there mate!
Feel your pain! :thumbsu:
bluegal1983
10 Jun 2008, 22:13
I just think with the flying lesson, picnic, dinner and a concert it would be a pretty mammoth day to go all that way - to GOR or Apollo Bay.
That fact that its winter needs to be considered too...
Just trying to give the guy something achievable...and not make his gf completely wrecked after the day...
Oh for sure. I just assumed that if he did do Grampians or Great Ocean Road then the concert would obviously be missed (as well as dinner, unless of course they spent the night)
matt decat
10 Jun 2008, 22:18
Oh for sure. I just assumed that if he did do Grampians or Great Ocean Road then the concert would obviously be missed (as well as dinner, unless of course they spent the night)
yehh...would get rid of the concert, or spread it over 2 days. GOR/Grampians overnight then to the concert the next day
Truthatlast
10 Jun 2008, 22:37
Or you could ditch the picnic and head for a romantic weekend in the old world luxury of the Windsor or the nouveau glam of the Park Hyatt. A nice sushi lunch in Chinatown followed by dinner along Lygon St. Then you could head back to your room to empty the Mini Bar in your room and hire a chick flick to get her totally in the mood. ;):thumbsu::)
Then you could back this effort up for the all-you-can-eat gourmet continental breakfast in the dining room the following morning. Then it's back to your luxury suite for another sleep (and whatever else takes your fancy) because you had the foresight to pre-arrange a late check-out of 2pm.
Guaranteed to put a spark in your relationship.
thylacine60
10 Jun 2008, 23:03
Kinglake National Park. Now Carlton-Crew-Dumped-Body Free. :thumbsu:
I just about fell of my chair...! :D
ROFL :D
Having grown up in the Dandenongs, I would highly recommed it. The National Park on the corner of Burwood Hwy and the Mt. Dandenong Tourist Road is always good, and you don't have to go to the top of the mountain to get there.
Pack something warm, can get cold there. It also won't take you forever to get there - from the city, will only take you about 40 mins to get there.
MyBloodIsBlue
11 Jun 2008, 11:02
Having grown up in the Dandenongs, I would highly recommed it. The National Park on the corner of Burwood Hwy and the Mt. Dandenong Tourist Road is always good, and you don't have to go to the top of the mountain to get there.
Pack something warm, can get cold there. It also won't take you forever to get there - from the city, will only take you about 40 mins to get there.
ur a Nonga eh?
It doesn't have flying involved but I'm a sucker for Puffing Billy it's beautiful, go early in the morning when there's a bit of fog around, plus less kids :thumbsu:
Gilly1972
11 Jun 2008, 11:40
I bet she did Gilly ..... And after the Knights game how long were you under the thumb for? Or are you still paying? :)
Still paying ;)
Gilly1972
11 Jun 2008, 11:43
Or you could ditch the picnic and head for a romantic weekend in the old world luxury of the Windsor or the nouveau glam of the Park Hyatt. A nice sushi lunch in Chinatown followed by dinner along Lygon St. Then you could head back to your room to empty the Mini Bar in your room and hire a chick flick to get her totally in the mood. ;):thumbsu::)
Then you could back this effort up for the all-you-can-eat gourmet continental breakfast in the dining room the following morning. Then it's back to your luxury suite for another sleep (and whatever else takes your fancy) because you had the foresight to pre-arrange a late check-out of 2pm.
Suave......truth you are one suave **** ;)
Truthatlast
12 Jun 2008, 11:39
Suave......truth you are one suave **** ;)
Thanks, Gilly! It comes with being an older dude. After clocking a few anniversaries up you realise that your lady doesn't want to freeze her t*ts off in some forest with gum leaves up her clacker. She wants to be treated like a lady. If that means giving the credit card a bit of a bashing once a year so be it.
Gilly1972
12 Jun 2008, 12:26
...you realise that your lady doesn't want to freeze her t*ts off in some forest with gum leaves up her clacker..
I duly and hastily retract the suave comment ;):p.
THEBLOODS85
12 Jun 2008, 12:40
....and more than likely the maxi as well!:thumbsu: