View Full Version : Laidley is an awesome coach:

Pages : [1] 2

Leather Poisoning
10 Jun 2008, 20:36
Rawlings: Ablett the best
10/06/2008 11:51:02 AM
Angus Morgan

North Melbourne stopper Brady Rawlings says he now rates Gary Ablett probably ahead of Chris Judd as the best midfielder in the game based on Ablett's stellar performance at Telstra Dome last Friday night.

Ablett was unstoppable against North in racking-up a career-high 39 disposals and two goals to be best-afield despite being hard tagged.

"It's a pretty tough gig going onto him after he'd already had a great start and he continued on from there," Rawlings said on Tuesday.

"No matter where he was whether it was in the midfield or if he went forward he just dominated."

"I've probably rated Judd as the best I've played on, and Gary Ablett probably nearly took over from him on the weekend just for his ability to shake tackles and to keep running all night and his explosiveness and kicking goals."

"It probably rates him up there as one of the best midfielders that I've played on, for sure."
Rawlings said he didn't know what to think when the instruction came not to bother tackling Ablett because the 24-year-old was breaking tackles so easily.
"I've never heard that one before because probably we’ve never had anyone who could do that before," Rawlings said.

"A couple of times he shrugged three of us at one time - he's got amazing strength and it's probably the strength through the hips that makes him so good - we just couldn’t get near him.'

"It's probably one of the best games you'll ever see."

Rawlings said disappointment of the 13-point loss to Geelong was still gnawing away at the Kangaroos who had their chances to win.

"Honourable losses don’t sit well with us - we want to win every week," he said.

"We've had a pretty tough run and you've got to win those games when they're tight."

Heat maps
Not calling for a headcount when he notices a 19th man
Umpires making noises at my players
No they didn't, I'm sorry
Don't tackle the other team's best player

He's had a great year ol Deano.

I'm starting to think that North might actually be a good side, and it's just their coach that is shit.

This article is further evidence that North love to lose. No, it's not tanking, tankers go for draft picks. It's the 'battler' tag that north cream themselves over. Half a game inside the eight is perfect for these guys, Laidley would most likely give himself 10/10 for a mid-season evaluation.

Onya North! :thumbsu:

The Chad
10 Jun 2008, 20:37
when laidley speaks it's usually do or die for whomever may be listening

Unique
10 Jun 2008, 20:40
Muppet.

robaba
10 Jun 2008, 20:40
This thread is further evidence that the Dawk babies haven't got over their loss in last years finals.

Leather Poisoning
10 Jun 2008, 20:41
This thread is further evidence that the Dawk babies haven't got over their loss in last years finals.

So you're happy with this kind of coaching?

Typical north struggler.

Unique
10 Jun 2008, 20:42

A new year mate.

Where do you sit?

Chops_a_must
10 Jun 2008, 20:45
Where do you sit?

On a chair.

Bigeasy
10 Jun 2008, 20:46
I have to admit, I'm puzzled by those instructions. Junior must be looking up the fixture for when we next play them.

gangsta deluxe
10 Jun 2008, 20:47
Look at the list. It isn't the best, yet they consistently perform.

Their coaching staff appear to be quite good. Laidley isn't a bad coach.

Tony Shaw was a bad coach.

Peter Rohde was a bad coach.

Tim Watson was a bad coach.

Unique
10 Jun 2008, 20:48
On a chair.

You are the one to talk, Mr. 15th.

Chops_a_must
10 Jun 2008, 20:54
You are the one to talk, Mr. 15th.
I'm sorry, I didn't realise my team's position had anything to do with the ability to take the piss out of something not footy related. :rolleyes:

GeordieRoo
10 Jun 2008, 20:56
Sigh. Dawk wankers at it again.

You're 10-1. Let it go.

robaba
10 Jun 2008, 21:18
So you're happy with this kind of coaching?

Typical north struggler.

Typical Dawk a..ehole.

Last flag 1993? or was it 1991?

Leather Poisoning
10 Jun 2008, 21:21
When Laidley slammed the shit out of the phone do you reckon it could have been because someone was stupid enough to tackle Ablett?

He gets very angry at little things that Laidley bloke.

Leather Poisoning
10 Jun 2008, 21:22
Typical Dawk a..ehole.

Last flag 1993? or was it 1991?

Oh that's classic.

Hawks last flag was 1991 and Laidley is still a coach that tells players not to tackle the bloke they're tagging.

:thumbsu:

robaba
10 Jun 2008, 21:24
Oh that's classic.

Hawks last flag was 1991 and Laidley is still a coach that tells players not to tackle the bloke they're tagging.

:thumbsu:

Mus ave learned it from Clarko telling Duddy not to try in that final last year.

gangsta deluxe
10 Jun 2008, 21:26
When Laidley slammed the shit out of the phone do you reckon it could have been because someone was stupid enough to tackle Ablett?

You must be taking the piss mate.

After Clarkson's most recent escapades you are fishing with this one. :)

Leather Poisoning
10 Jun 2008, 21:28
You must be taking the piss mate.

After Clarkson's most recent escapades you are fishing with this one. :)

Clarkson swore at a journo, Laidley swears at his co-workers!

Remember that poor bloke with the magnetic board in round 3?

Laidley's a very mean man who doesn't know how to communicate. Anyone notice how much effort it takes this bloke to dribble out a sentence at a press conference? It's like he's drunk 24/7!

Leather Poisoning
10 Jun 2008, 21:30
Mus ave learned it from Clarko telling Duddy not to try in that final last year.

Okay, you want to compare:

Let's say you're stupid enough to believe Buddy was told not to try, he still ended up with 6 shots at goal. That's good for the team.

Let's go with fact and see how Brady Rawlings went with the no-tackle tactic on the weekend:
Ablett gets 39 touches and is the difference between the two sides. Is that good for the team?

Absolute spud.

gangsta deluxe
10 Jun 2008, 21:34
Clarkson swore at a journo, Laidley swears at his co-workers!

Remember that poor bloke with the magnetic board in round 3?

Laidley's a prick who doesn't know how to communicate. Anyone notice how much effort it takes this bloke to dribble out a sentence at a press conference? It's like he's drunk 24/7!

IRONY:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Calm down mate. You've got real angry and have started swearing.:(

The Zebra
10 Jun 2008, 21:36
. No, it's not tanking, tankers go for draft picks.

Which as a Hawthorn supporter you know a lot about.
You success is completely dependent on one man, one man you only received because you were so pathetic that you couldn't win more than 5 games in a season.

It is nothing to be proud of. Nothing you achieve with Buddy and/or Dowler in the team deserves any respect.

Luckily, teams that take the squibs way out to list management tend to end up falling in a heap.

It is like the hits their culture took when they made the decision to sacrifice a wanting to win for a an easy fix mean they can no longer stand up when the real heat comes. These squib teams no longer have a premiership edge.

You will go the way of St. Kilda. Nothing surer.

Leather Poisoning
10 Jun 2008, 21:36
IRONY:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Calm down mate. You've got real angry and have started swearing.:(

Fixed.

Although I got no idea where you're coming from.

Bigeasy
10 Jun 2008, 21:37

Let's say you're stupid enough to believe Buddy was told not to try, he still ended up with 6 shots at goal. That's good for the team.

Let's go with fact and see how Brady Rawlings went with the no-tackle tactic on the weekend:
Ablett gets 39 touches and is the difference between the two sides. Is that good for the team?

Absolute spud.

Well if you compare it to the the last time we played the Cats, it ain't a bad result.

WA ROO
10 Jun 2008, 21:38
The obsession with North continues

Bigeasy
10 Jun 2008, 21:40
The obsession with North continues

My obsession with your Avater continues....

Leather Poisoning
10 Jun 2008, 21:41
Which as a Hawthorn supporter you know a lot about.
You success is completely dependent on one man, one man you only received because you were so pathetic that you couldn't win more than 5 games in a season.

It is nothing to be proud of. Nothing you achieve with Buddy and/or Dowler in the team deserves any respect.

Luckily, teams that take the squibs way out to list management tend to end up falling in a heap.

It is like the hits their culture took when they made the decision to sacrifice a wanting to win for a an easy fix mean they can no longer stand up when the real heat comes. These squib teams no longer have a premiership edge.

You will go the way of St. Kilda. Nothing surer.

We didn't tank, we were just shit for a few years.

Different to how North just have a year in the bottom 4 one year (after finishing 5th the year before) then top 4 the next. Now THAT'S how to tank properly!!!

But let's face it, when you talk about trade week north get VERY cranky that Hawthorn exposed them for not doing homework.

So how do you rate Laidley's idea of not stopping the opposition's best player?

gangsta deluxe
10 Jun 2008, 21:41
Fixed.

Although I got no idea where you're coming from.

Sometimes people let their emotions get the better of them and they lose it momentarily. Some excellent coaches have had anger problems. Sure Laidley has outbursts, but we all do occasionally.

Get it?

Leather Poisoning
10 Jun 2008, 21:44
Sometimes people let their emotions get the better of them and they lose it momentarily. Some excellent coaches have had anger problems. Sure Laidley has outbursts, but we all do occasionally.

Get it?

Some very ordinary coaches have also had anger problems.

Laidley is one of these.

The Zebra
10 Jun 2008, 21:46
So how do you rate Laidley's idea of not stopping the opposition's best player?

How do I rate a tactic that helped put our depleted and inexperienced team in a position to beat the (clearly) best team in the comp?

Yeah, ok.

Leather Poisoning
10 Jun 2008, 21:50
How do I rate a tactic that helped put our depleted and inexperienced team in a position to beat the (clearly) best team in the comp?

Yeah, ok.

So you consider 39 disposals, 2 goals, TWELVE inside 50s, 3 goal assists as evidence of an effective stopping tactic????

Are you really dumb enough to believe that it was the tactics against Ablett that kept North in the game?????

1. More proof that North enjoy a loss
2. Proof of how Laidley stays in a job.

You've revealed a lot about the North Melbourne Psyche Mr Zebra.

Mcchawk
10 Jun 2008, 21:51
Out roll the Norf fans with the typical we beat you last year :o Hello its now 2008 and we've beaten you already. Norf are struggling to keep in touch. The finger needs to be pointed at Laidley. The president must act :p

The Zebra
10 Jun 2008, 22:06
So you consider 39 disposals, 2 goals, TWELVE inside 50s, 3 goal assists as evidence of an effective stopping tactic????

Are you really dumb enough to believe that it was the tactics against Ablett that kept North in the game?????

1. More proof that North enjoy a loss
2. Proof of how Laidley stays in a job.

You've revealed a lot about the North Melbourne Psyche Mr Zebra.

Sigh.

Obviously Laidley thinks on a level you don't understand, so I will attempt to explain.

Ablett was simply on fire on Friday night. He has been brilliant all year, but he came out absolutely firing, was side stepping opponents, breaking tackles and most importantly setting up the run for all his team mates. He tore Ed Lower a new one in the first and had 14 possessions and the cats shot out to a 4 goal lead.

Then Brady Rawlings was sent to him. Now something you have to grasp here is that Ablett is not you middle tier try hard star like Luke Hodge. Ablett is the real deal and about 5 levels about Hodgey. If he was a Hodge level player, Rawlings would have simply shut him down. But he is not.

No one was going to be able to stop Gary on Friday night and the young kids playing for North, in all their enthusiasm, were throwing themselves at him trying to bring him down and Gary was stepping around them and then giving off passes to the now free men (see they were free because the North players had tried to help out, throw themselves at Gary and left their men in the process).

Laidley saw that, so sent the message out to coral him on the boundary line rather than go for the tackle and let Gary step around you and allow the Cats supporters to then run in free numbers.

Get it?

I should charge for this. Why don't more people on bigfooty understand the basics of footy. I can understand that the majority of Hawthorn supporters like LP only jumped on board when the priority picks started rolling in - but FFS, think a bit - it will stop you from looking like a knob and will save me a bit of time.

jacko57
10 Jun 2008, 22:11
Heat maps
Not calling for a headcount when he notices a 19th man
Umpires making noises at my players
No they didn't, I'm sorry
Don't tackle the other team's best player

He's had a great year ol Deano.

I'm starting to think that North might actually be a good side, and it's just their coach that is shit.

This article is further evidence that North love to lose. No, it's not tanking, tankers go for draft picks. It's the 'battler' tag that north cream themselves over. Half a game inside the eight is perfect for these guys, Laidley would most likely give himself 10/10 for a mid-season evaluation.

Onya North! :thumbsu:
No, it's further evidence of your bizarre obsession.

One day, the police will break into your room (I'm sure it's in a basement), and find it adorned with hundreds of articles on North Melbourne sticky taped to the walls.

'Funny', one puzzled plod will say to his mate, 'I thought this guy was supposed to follow Hawthorn.............'

jacko57
10 Jun 2008, 22:12
Look at the list. It isn't the best, yet they consistently perform.

Their coaching staff appear to be quite good. Laidley isn't a bad coach.

Tony Shaw was a bad coach.

Peter Rohde was a bad coach.

Tim Watson was a bad coach.
So was Peter Knights. And Ken Judge. And Peter Schwab.

jacko57
10 Jun 2008, 22:13

Why do you say that? Did he go bonkers at you?

jacko57
10 Jun 2008, 22:14

Absolute spud.
You want to take that up with your little mate Crawf legend, he's the one who made that claim, right here on BF. :p

Macquarie Eagle
10 Jun 2008, 22:29
When Buddy kicks ten goals next time we play North, do you think Laidley will come out and say it was all part of the plan...wouldn't put it past him after hearing the Ablett call.

robaba
10 Jun 2008, 22:33
One finals loss and you're still obsessed after 9 months.
Dawks board getting a bit boring?

robaba
10 Jun 2008, 22:35
Out roll the Norf fans with the typical we beat you last year :o Hello its now 2008 and we've beaten you already. Norf are struggling to keep in touch. The finger needs to be pointed at Laidley. The president must act :p

Your Dawk mate started this nonsense thread.

Leather Poisoning
10 Jun 2008, 22:43
Sigh.

Obviously Laidley thinks on a level you don't understand, so I will attempt to explain.
His players don't understand it either. Rawlings said he'd never heard of this tactic. Nice of Laidley to throw in some shit to keep his own players guessing during a game.

Then Brady Rawlings was sent to him. Ablett is the real deal and about 5 levels about Hodgey.
So the better the player the less you try? If you can't win don't try?
And Brady was sent to try and show the youngn's how to play? i.e. without tackling? He's a real leader that Brady. Let his man get 3 votes and showed the younger guys how not to tag.

So this BRILLIANT tactic, in all it's glory, saw north obliterate a four goal quarter time lead into a full time 12 point lead.

WHAT A COACH!!!!!!! :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: WHAT A TEAM!!!

If only North valued winning as much as they do 'competing'.

Leather Poisoning
10 Jun 2008, 22:47
It's amazing how many North supporters have come into this thread and posted without actually adding anything.

Full credit to Zebra, he can actually follow a theme without pressing repeat.

This is a forum where we talk about current footy issues, like North Melbourne's coach's new tactics.

"dawk this, semi final that" it all just shows how embarrassed north are of Dean Laidley.

robaba
10 Jun 2008, 22:52
It's amazing how many North supporters have come into this thread and posted without actually adding anything.

This is a forum where we talk about current footy issues, like North Melbourne's coach's new tactics.

"dawk this, semi final that" it all just shows how embarrassed north are of Dean Laidley.

It shows how obsessed you are with Norf and I find it rather bemusing.

Leather Poisoning
10 Jun 2008, 22:54

It shows how obsessed you are with Norf and I find it rather bemusing.

Case in point. :rolleyes:

Mcchawk
10 Jun 2008, 23:02
Your Dawk mate started this nonsense thread.

And knob jockey you posted on it :o Learn to realise the OP states some good facts on Laidley learn to live with them

c0ze
10 Jun 2008, 23:06
And knob jockey you posted on it :o Learn to realise the OP states some good facts on Laidley learn to live with them

And you should learn from the OP and start creating some intelligent and/or witty threads. Or just get yourself banned.

Mcchawk
10 Jun 2008, 23:13
And you should learn from the OP and start creating some intelligent and/or witty threads. Or just get yourself banned.

coze you like Geelong nobody cares for

Corpuscles
10 Jun 2008, 23:14

Nah... but I reckon you are close!!!!

It went like this. Gablett junior broke a Rawlings tackle.

The bench is headphone mic'd up to the phone!!!!!:eek:

Deano being an angry SARCASTIC bitch probably made comment whilst banging the phone.

The bench would have heard this:

FFSake!!! BANG! Rawlings BANG! dont bother BANG!..tackling BANG! the little BANG! plick! or I'll BANG! rip your BANG! balls out.

Runner: Deano did I hear you right?

BANG!, BANG!, BANG!

......In a dazed half deaf dash the runner went and delivered the instructions!!:D:p

budge11
10 Jun 2008, 23:15

Mate, I don't know what you want me to say. Laidley gave out an instruction that puzzled alot of us, but then again there was some logic to it. Our blokes were throwing themselves at the little champion but couldn't bring him down. We had a young Ed Lower on him who got given a five day, 9-5 schooling. From what I understand they were instructed not to tackle in order to corral him and stop some of his run. To be honest, it didn't work that well.

However, calling Laidley a shit coach is a bit silly. He turned a 100+ point loss last season into a close 13 point thriller this year using half the list he had last year. Anyways, troll on son

c0ze
10 Jun 2008, 23:21
coze you like Geelong nobody cares for

For what?

Sense making please thanks.

The Zebra
10 Jun 2008, 23:32
His players don't understand it either. Rawlings said he'd never heard of this tactic. Nice of Laidley to throw in some shit to keep his own players guessing during a game.

They understood it, they had just never heard it before.
Just because it is new doesn't mean it is wrong (if hawks suporters could grasp that the goverment could scrap the baby bonus, and there would be 40,000 less effeminate virgins in the world.)

So the better the player the less you try? If you can't win don't try?
And Brady was sent to try and show the youngn's how to play? i.e. without tackling? He's a real leader that Brady. Let his man get 3 votes and showed the younger guys how not to tag.

So this BRILLIANT tactic, in all it's glory, saw north obliterate a four goal quarter time lead into a full time 12 point lead.

WHAT A COACH!!!!!!! :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: WHAT A TEAM!!!

You really are struggling with this aren't you?
It was a tactic that kept things under control. Ablett was having one of those nights, sometimes you have to cut your loses.

Like in the semi final last year, Sewell was beating Harvey so Laidley threw Boomer forward - against Harvey's wishes.

What happned? Harvey gets a few goals and North win.
Someone as simple as you might see it as a concession that Boomer was getting beaten, but someone a bit smarter sees more than that.

On the opposite end of the spectrum, remember Clarko's "sticking fat' with Dawson a couple of years ago because it would make him a good player in the long run. Thommo and Rocca destroyed the poor hack and in the process ruined the poor gys reputation. He is now infamous for the wrong reasons and Clarko's assurances that it will make him a good player have proven to be bullshit.

Getting the picture. Have a sleep on it. Come back when your head stops hurting and we will see if we can work through this. It can be a difficult game this footy when you are just starting out, but we will get there.

Chin up.

Bigeasy
10 Jun 2008, 23:47
So you think the "No tackle" edict from Laidley was radical last week, wait what for instructions the players get this week against Freo. He is instructing them to give Freo the ball at all cost for the first 3 quarters and then watch them implode in the last. Saving ouselves for the Hawks game tthe following. Clever man that Laidley.

Chops_a_must
10 Jun 2008, 23:52
So you think the "No tackle" edict from Laidley was radical last week, wait what for instructions the players get this week against Freo. He is instructing them to give Freo the ball at all cost for the first 3 quarters and then watch them implode in the last. Saving ouselves for the Hawks game tthe following. Clever man that Laidley.
I think a lot of Dockers players would love to adopt the no tackle tactic.

It'd be one of the few strategies they could carry out to a tee.

Macquarie Eagle
10 Jun 2008, 23:55

Hey, I found it!!!!

You really are trolling your own team! My mistake.

Accept my apology!:)

Bigeasy
10 Jun 2008, 23:55

Very much like your effort in the Vics vs DT SOO game Chops!:D

Chops_a_must
10 Jun 2008, 23:59
Very much like your effort in the Vics vs DT SOO game Chops!:D
Hey, I got the ball from tackling someone without it! Brilliant!

Other than that, it was a Mundy esque performance. Nah.... I took a contested mark. Far too good.

Having said that, given North's no tackle policy... I think it's official, Mundy is going to North. :thumbsu:

Bigeasy
11 Jun 2008, 00:01
Hey, I got the ball from tackling someone without it! Brilliant!

Other than that, it was a Mundy esque performance. Nah.... I took a contested mark. Far too good.

Having said that, given North's no tackle policy... I think it's official, Mundy is going to North. :thumbsu:

We will give you a player with no heart in Watt and we'll execute the trade:thumbsu:

Leather Poisoning
11 Jun 2008, 00:03
It was a tactic that kept things under control.
UNDER CONTROL???????

Why do people that are associated with north melbourne feel so comforted by shit performances????

You say Ablett got 14 touches in the first quarter before this 'tactic' was implemented.

That means Ablett got TWENTY FIVE TOUCHES IN THE NEXT THREE QUARTERS OF FOOTY!

North only had 1 player that did better than that across FOUR quarters!!!

If that's under control I'd hate to see out of control!!!

How can someone with as many stupid arguments as you actually walk around feeling superior?

The Zebra
11 Jun 2008, 00:19
UNDER CONTROL???????

Why do people that are associated with north melbourne feel so comforted by shit performances????

You say Ablett got 14 touches in the first quarter before this 'tactic' was implemented.

How can someone with as many stupid arguments as you actually walk around feeling superior?

You are giving me a headache now.
Is it part of your trolling tactic to act this stupid?

As much as hawthorn might be completely reliant on your priority pick forward, Gelong are not reliant on one player.

North players throwing themselves at Gary was bringing more Geelong players into the game by opening up space for them.

Really, it is not that hard to understand.

Leather Poisoning
11 Jun 2008, 00:35
You are giving me a headache now.
Is it part of your trolling tactic to act this stupid?

As much as hawthorn might be completely reliant on your priority pick forward, Gelong are not reliant on one player.

North players throwing themselves at Gary was bringing more Geelong players into the game by opening up space for them.

Really, it is not that hard to understand.

So was Cam Mooney the other bloke that Laidley told the boys not to worry about? He kicked 7. Geelong don't rely on him but Laidley should have done SOMETHING.

The Ablett tactic didn't really stop supply to Geelong's key forward now, did it?

You're actually getting dumber with each post.

Do feel free to try again.

Chops_a_must
11 Jun 2008, 00:37
So was Cam Mooney the other bloke that Laidley told the boys not to worry about?
What are you talking about?

NO-ONE ever worries about Mooney.

c0ze
11 Jun 2008, 01:00
What are you talking about?

NO-ONE ever worries about Mooney.

Hilarious.

wells is god
11 Jun 2008, 01:01
So was Cam Mooney the other bloke that Laidley told the boys not to worry about? He kicked 7. Geelong don't rely on him but Laidley should have done SOMETHING.

The Ablett tactic didn't really stop supply to Geelong's key forward now, did it?

You're actually getting dumber with each post.

Do feel free to try again.

Ok mate, this is ridiculous. Bottom line; Laidley realised that Ablett was having a cracker of a night, so he attempted to minimize the affect the young man would have in terms of bringing other players into the game. It worked to an extent because although Ablett had one of the best individual performances you will hear of, we only lost by 13 points with a very depleted side. Not that difficult a concept to get your head around.

SweetLeftFoot
11 Jun 2008, 01:15

Unlike that Zen master Clarkson who goes mental when journalists write harmless stories about possible selections.

SweetLeftFoot
11 Jun 2008, 01:18
We didn't tank, we were just shit for a few years.

And Zac Dawson was actually meant to be playing centre half forward but just kept wandering down to full back of his own accord.

At least have the gumption to admit you tanked, and that it was Richmond ahead of you in the draft so you get snaffle Buddy.

SweetLeftFoot
11 Jun 2008, 01:21
When Buddy kicks ten goals next time we play North, do you think Laidley will come out and say it was all part of the plan...wouldn't put it past him after hearing the Ablett call.

And when Buddy does bugger all again, will you come out and say it was because he wasn't trying again?

keefriffhard
11 Jun 2008, 01:41
Sigh.

Ablett was simply on fire on Friday night. He has been brilliant all year, but he came out absolutely firing, was side stepping opponents, breaking tackles and most importantly setting up the run for all his team mates. He tore Ed Lower a new one in the first and had 14 possessions and the cats shot out to a 4 goal lead.

Then Brady Rawlings was sent to him. Now something you have to grasp here is that Ablett is not you middle tier try hard star like Luke Hodge. Ablett is the real deal and about 5 levels about Hodgey. If he was a Hodge level player, Rawlings would have simply shut him down. But he is not.

No one was going to be able to stop Gary on Friday night and the young kids playing for North, in all their enthusiasm, were throwing themselves at him trying to bring him down and Gary was stepping around them and then giving off passes to the now free men (see they were free because the North players had tried to help out, throw themselves at Gary and left their men in the process).

Laidley saw that, so sent the message out to coral him on the boundary line rather than go for the tackle and let Gary step around you and allow the Cats supporters to then run in free numbers.

Get it?

I should charge for this. Why don't more people on bigfooty understand the basics of footy. I can understand that the majority of Hawthorn supporters like LP only jumped on board when the priority picks started rolling in - but FFS, think a bit - it will stop you from looking like a knob and will save me a bit of time.

Great Post. If only you'd addressed the issue we could all be a bit wiser by now.

So how about now explaining why Laidley told Ablett's DIRECT opponent not to tackle him. I'm not talking about all the other lightweights that couldn't stick a tackle, just Rawlings. Surely he should still have been instructed to do the job he does week in, week out. OK for Deano to get the other's to stop leaving their men, this is understandable. But FFS instructing a player who's primary job is to nullify, not to tackle his opponent is ridiculous.

But then again Laids and the Kangas are struggling...

keefriffhard
11 Jun 2008, 01:43
Unlike that Zen master Clarkson who goes mental when journalists write harmless stories about possible selections.

So in effect, Laidley is trying hard to be just like Clarko.

Good role model. :thumbsu:

SweetLeftFoot
11 Jun 2008, 01:53
So in effect, Laidley is trying hard to be just like Clarko.

Good role model. :thumbsu:

Other way round mate.

Clarko learnt his trade at North so that's why you took him - give your fairy tanking club some genuine backbone.

jacko57
11 Jun 2008, 09:20
UNDER CONTROL???????

Try reading all of your North-obsessive trolls back to back.

jacko57
11 Jun 2008, 09:23
Great Post. If only you'd addressed the issue we could all be a bit wiser by now.

So how about now explaining why Laidley told Ablett's DIRECT opponent not to tackle him. I'm not talking about all the other lightweights that couldn't stick a tackle, just Rawlings. Surely he should still have been instructed to do the job he does week in, week out. OK for Deano to get the other's to stop leaving their men, this is understandable. But FFS instructing a player who's primary job is to nullify, not to tackle his opponent is ridiculous.

But then again Laids and the Kangas are struggling...
It's a bit like the way LP just cops all of my jabs at him.......doesn't have an answer, so pretends he didn't see them. ;)

tazhawk
11 Jun 2008, 11:52
You have to admire North IMO.

A middle of the road team with a middle of the road coach and yet they are pretty competitive.

Macquarie Eagle
11 Jun 2008, 11:54
You have to admire North IMO.

A middle of the road team with a middle of the road coach and yet they are pretty competitive.

And soon to be in the middle of Queensland!

keefriffhard
11 Jun 2008, 13:16
Other way round mate.

Clarko learnt his trade at North so that's why you took him - give your fairy tanking club some genuine backbone.

It's a bit like the way LP just cops all of my jabs at him.......doesn't have an answer, so pretends he didn't see them. ;)

Good to see that these two stooges aren't even going to try to explain Laidley's ridiculous instructions. Just waiting on the last of the triumvirate , The Teflon Drone, to come up with an explanation when even the North players can't.

The Zebra
11 Jun 2008, 14:34
Good to see that these two stooges aren't even going to try to explain Laidley's ridiculous instructions. Just waiting on the last of the triumvirate , The Teflon Drone, to come up with an explanation when even the North players can't.

It is no point trying to explain it any further.
You guys don't get it.

I am sure the reason why you don't understand it is you only really had a passing interest in footy until the priority picks set in last year.

That's ok, but it will take a few years of immersing yourself in footy before you start to understand anything more than the most basic tactic.

Stick with it!:thumbsu:

You will get there eventually.

jacko57
11 Jun 2008, 18:04
And soon to be in the middle of Queensland!
Der, welcome to 2006, professor. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

jacko57
11 Jun 2008, 18:05
Stooges?

That's a bit rich, coming from keeftryhard. I think Laidley's instructions have been explained by previous posters, you just aren't interested in the answer.

SweetLeftFoot
11 Jun 2008, 19:37
Good to see that these two stooges aren't even going to try to explain Laidley's ridiculous instructions. .

Its already been explained, but you mentioned Laidley copying Clarkson.

The facts are:

the last time Hawthorn had a former Hawthorn player as coach, he cried and pretended to have a heart attack to disguise his typically lily livered Hawthorn bumburp inveterbrate nature.

So Hawthorn realised they need a coach with heart and sould and passion and ability, so they thought, what kind of team has that - North Melbourne.

We are glad to help you guys out.

We've never had to tank for years so this is our way of helping the little guy out.

DarwinRoo
11 Jun 2008, 21:08
I believe John Daly, the former head coach of the Detroit Pistons, had a similar tactic when playing against the Chicago Bulls.

They knew that they were not going to be able to stop Jordan from scoring so they basically just decided to defend harder against the other 4 blokes on the court because they knew that no matter how many Jordan scored the Bulls were not going to win on the performance of one man alone.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
12 Jun 2008, 09:17
OK, I can actually sort of see where your arguement with Ablett has some merit in that going to lay the tackle is not always the best option. I wouldn't totally exclude the option though, ever!

But if you think I am going to say the cross dresser is anything but a prize dickwad for this piece of wisdom you are very wrong. Hell, even Buddy and Rough have been dropped by the Hawks.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23849916-19768,00.html

NORTH Melbourne coach Dean Laidley has given veteran Shannon Grant his unconditional support, granting him a spot in the team regardless of his form.

Grant has been in indifferent form over past six weeks and has not had anywhere near his usual impact in games.

The former All-Australian could manage only six touches against Sydney in Round 6, was kept to 13 possessions against the Brisbane Lions and Geelong in the past two weeks and has kicked just 14 goals in 11 matches.

Laidley conceded the 31-year-old Grant, just nine games short of joining the 300 club, was underperforming.

But in a resounding vote of confidence, Laidley said the 1999 Norm Smith medallist's spot in the team was safe while he was coaching the Kangaroos.

"Shannon Grant will never play in the VFL while I'm coach, regardless of form," Laidley said.

"Shannon's form has been reasonable but our expectation is probably a little bit higher than he's been giving us.

"His work with (Lindsay Thomas and Matthew Campbell) with their development is fantastic, but you've still got to make sure you're performing."

But forward Corey Jones will not be cut as much slack with his impending return from an ankle injury.

Laidley flagged the possibility of Jones returning through the VFL this week should he prove his fitness at training.

Jones, the club's leading goalkicker last year with 46, struggled in the month prior to his breather last week, booting one goal in each of his four matches.

What is the go there? KPP forwards are much more important to structure than erratic half forward flankers.

Did Jones forget to return a frock he borrowed off Laidley or something?

Bigeasy
12 Jun 2008, 09:22
I believe John Daly, the former head coach of the Detroit Pistons, had a similar tactic when playing against the Chicago Bulls.

They knew that they were not going to be able to stop Jordan from scoring so they basically just decided to defend harder against the other 4 blokes on the court because they knew that no matter how many Jordan scored the Bulls were not going to win on the performance of one man alone.

Must have worked well considering Chicago won 6 championships in 8 years and the two they missed was due to Jordan giving it away and playing baseball.

keefriffhard
12 Jun 2008, 10:12
Did Jones forget to return a frock he borrowed off Laidley or something?

Forgot to send it to the drycleaners to get rid of the stains...

Bigeasy
12 Jun 2008, 10:16
Forgot to send it to the drycleaners to get rid of the stains...

maybe that explains Jones' form in that he is getting to much action before the game.

Ruddeger07
12 Jun 2008, 12:38
"Shannon Grant will never play in the VFL while I'm coach, regardless of form," Laidley said.

So North are going to play one man short each week until Grant retires.Does he have a milestone coming up [250 or 300th].It must be the only reason Laidley is carrying him.

Anti Gold Coast
12 Jun 2008, 12:42
:rolleyes:

Read between the lines, if Grant is not performing, he'll be given a rest, not put in the VFL. If Shane Crawford was down on form, would you rest him, or put him back in the VFL. It's clear, that Grant is so important to the team, that if Laidley doesn't see that he should be in the team, he'll be given a 'rest.'

The Zebra
12 Jun 2008, 12:46
So North are going to play one man short each week until Grant retires.Does he have a milestone coming up [250 or 300th].It must be the only reason Laidley is carrying him.

He is averaging 17 possessions and has kicked 14 goals in 11 games. hardly carrying him.

His form has been down on Shannon Grant standards, but those standards are very high. he still contributes because he is a half forward who can go into the mid-field and continually attracts a good defender.

He is a champ of the club, and Laidley is saying he will never be sent to the VFL. He might be rested (perhaps even this week), but he will not play VFL.

How anyone could see anything wrong with that is beyond me.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
12 Jun 2008, 13:12
He is averaging 17 possessions and has kicked 14 goals in 11 games. hardly carrying him.

His form has been down on Shannon Grant standards, but those standards are very high. he still contributes because he is a half forward who can go into the mid-field and continually attracts a good defender.

He is a champ of the club, and Laidley is saying he will never be sent to the VFL. He might be rested (perhaps even this week), but he will not play VFL.

How anyone could see anything wrong with that is beyond me.

Do all you North supporters work for public relations firms?

I mean, nice bit of spin, but the bullshit meter has broken a spring.

You don't regain form or maintain match fitness by not playing.

And the rest thing is just drawing a very long bow - he had a week off 4 weeks ago for the Vic game. Harvey doesn't need a rest and he's nearly the same age, played for the Vics and does a hell of a lot more work than Grant.

No, he's either injured and the club is hiding it or Laidley has given him the message that he is not accountable.

Perhaps you PR type best get hold of the crossdresser and gag him before he says anything else. Life would never be dull as a North supporter.

Leather Poisoning
12 Jun 2008, 13:18
Geeeezus,

Laidley really is an awesome coach.

"Hey Shannon! Don't tackle, but feel free to play like shit because you're in the team, no matter what. I need blokes like you to show the youngns how to play. Pass the message onto Brady as well. I'm trying this reverse coaching thing and one day I might get a win from it."

"And you! The bloke with the ankle issues - I don't care how many goals you've kicked - you're gonna WORK for your spot."

hahahaha

Laidley is a soap opera.

Les Norton
12 Jun 2008, 13:28
and a hell of a lovely bloke to boot.
I suggest you dont cross him though. I made the mistake leaving a lunch time dinner for a legendary old supporter at Arden St where Dean was a guest speaker. Cost $100 a seat, the meal was just what you'd expect being Arden St, chips & ____ing egg...so I cashed in and had $100 worth of booze.

On staggering down the steps, completely hammered.. I noted Deano chatting to big Sammy Keka (MC for the day).. and realising Sammy was too heavy to carry, proceeded to grab Deano around the waist and attempt to carry him across the street. ____ me did he go berko.. It was nearly on for young and old until big Sammy, who could see the state I'm in grabbed me by the collar and dragged me away. Had a Chris Mew in the gutter with both watching which was a highlight.

jacko57
12 Jun 2008, 14:45
I suggest you dont cross him though. I made the mistake leaving a lunch time dinner for a legendary old supporter at Arden St where Dean was a guest speaker. Cost $100 a seat, the meal was just what you'd expect being Arden St, chips & ____ing egg...so I cashed in and had $100 worth of booze.
On staggering down the steps, completely hammered.. I noted Deano chatting to big Sammy Keka (MC for the day).. and realising Sammy was too heavy to carry, proceeded to grab Deano around the waist and attempt to carry him across the street. ____ me did he go berko.. It was nearly on for young and old until big Sammy, who could see the state I'm in grabbed me by the collar and dragged me away. Had a Chris Mew in the gutter with both watching which was a highlight.
Here I was thinking 'Les Norton' was just a BF tag........sounds like maybe you are the man himself.

jacko57
12 Jun 2008, 14:46
Do all you North supporters work for public relations firms?

I mean, nice bit of spin, but the bullshit meter has broken a spring.

You don't regain form or maintain match fitness by not playing.

And the rest thing is just drawing a very long bow - he had a week off 4 weeks ago for the Vic game. Harvey doesn't need a rest and he's nearly the same age, played for the Vics and does a hell of a lot more work than Grant.

No, he's either injured and the club is hiding it or Laidley has given him the message that he is not accountable.

Perhaps you PR type best get hold of the crossdresser and gag him before he says anything else. Life would never be dull as a North supporter.
It's hard to nod off when BF is riddled with desperate troll attempts from you obsessive Dawks.

Les Norton
12 Jun 2008, 14:57
Here I was thinking 'Les Norton' was just a BF tag........sounds like maybe you are the man himself.

I like you Jacko...you're an alright guy.. If you're up for a challenge..come to the Kelly Club and throw me a few hay makers...I'll be doing some crazy Balmain folk dancing around your rib cage in about the time it takes me to say - Mele Kalikimaka Mr Walker

jacko57
12 Jun 2008, 15:10
[quote=jacko57;11346159]

I like you Jacko...you're an alright guy.. If you're up for a challenge..come to the Kelly Club and throw me a few hay makers...I'll be doing some crazy Balmain folk dancing around your rib cage in about the time it takes me to say - Mele Kalikimaka Mr Walker
ok....if you're not too busy doing the vinegar stroke on a pair of models, or finding a million bucks hidden in your back yard.

Les Norton
12 Jun 2008, 15:20
[quote=Les Norton;11346272]
ok....if you're not too busy doing the vinegar stroke on a pair of models, or finding a million bucks hidden in your back yard.

I bit them each on the ted, threw them in the air, and then kicked them out the george moore

GeordieRoo
12 Jun 2008, 15:44
How's the coach insecurity of these Dawk wankers?

mustard
12 Jun 2008, 15:47
Laidley is worse than Wallace. at least Wallet gets picks

Leather Poisoning
12 Jun 2008, 16:56
Wallace at leans spins some bullshit and the fans swallow it.

Laidley doesn't even have the mental capacity or articulation to do that. He's a dribbling mess.

YET SOMEHOW the north fans pump up his tyres and do their own form of wallace-esque spinning to the point where they actually think its a good idea to not tackle the other side's best player and to play old pricks who can't get a kick.

And he's a sook.

jacko57
12 Jun 2008, 18:51
Wallace at leans spins some bullshit and the fans swallow it.

Laidley doesn't even have the mental capacity or articulation to do that. He's a dribbling mess.

YET SOMEHOW the north fans pump up his tyres and do their own form of wallace-esque spinning to the point where they actually think its a good idea to not tackle the other side's best player and to play old pricks who can't get a kick.

And he's a sook.
And the obsession continues from Onanism Poisoning. :rolleyes:

DarwinRoo
12 Jun 2008, 21:59
Must have worked well considering Chicago won 6 championships in 8 years and the two they missed was due to Jordan giving it away and playing baseball.

Its not often that I would need to correct a North supporter but the tactic was used when the Pistons were winning championships and the Bulls werent.

The Pistons were Chicago's roadblock and it wasnt until the Bulls found a way to defeat the Pistons did they become World Champions.

DarwinRoo
12 Jun 2008, 22:00

And then wastes them on JON and Tambling.

I dont see Wallace getting the Tigers to a Preliminary Final, do you?

DJ Dupree
12 Jun 2008, 22:31

Yeah, and at least Sheedy is better than... who is your coach again?

I hope the Aussie Track and Field Team is watching; whoever is coaching Essendon at the moment seems to have one clear instruction to all players: "Run!"

And if in doubt- "RUN!"