View Full Version : The End of Year Chop

Bartram_Class
11 Jun 2008, 01:30
Whose career is on the line in the next 11 weeks?

David Neitz (retired)
Adem Yze (gone)
Ben Holland (gone, but bowing out gracefully)
Jace Bode (probably has a contract till '09 though)
Isaac Weetra
Chris Johnson (desperately needs a go, I think hes a decent player)
Nathan Carroll
Matthew Whelan (how long can we persist with him, he hasn't put together a run of games in years)
Mark Jamar
Simon Buckley

Going on recent years, at least 4/5 will go.

stEdy
11 Jun 2008, 01:48
Simon Buckley will stay

naitanui4dees
11 Jun 2008, 02:30
surely everyones favorite player big ben holland can't keep on going.

naitanui4dees
11 Jun 2008, 02:34
isn't it funny whenever holland takes a mark inside 50 the amount of demon supporters u hear say "anyone but holland", "hand it off ben", "forget about this one being a goal" etc. every game i hear someone behind me saying such things. poor Benny he's not really that bad is he?

Dez!
11 Jun 2008, 08:43
Yze is playing for his career this year however he's doing a damn good job to keep going in his limited chances this year.

Carn Ooze.

Ben Holland is also but unfortunate for him that he reinjured that shoulder after looking in some pretty good touch, the bloke has ticker that's for sure.

The Demon
11 Jun 2008, 09:49
We could have done with Holland up forward against the Pies!

master bate
11 Jun 2008, 11:30
In terms of delistings I think that would be the possible list, and I think Bailey will want to get rid of atleast 5 of them. Trades will be interesting as well.

goal sneak
11 Jun 2008, 11:35
We will need to get rid of 8 players.

1 - Wonaeamirri promotion
2 - Valenti promotion
3 - Pick 1
4 - Pick 17
5 - Pick 18
6 - Pick 34
7 - Pick 50
8 - PSD Pick 1

CaptainDavey
11 Jun 2008, 11:49
Any chance of trading a pick?

Also I think Whelan needs to go, I can't see him getting a run in our already crammed back six in the future if it lines up as following:

Bell Warnock Frawley
Garland Rivers Bartram

Although that backline looks to be a bit tall, but Garland and Frawley I think are capable of running with smaller types

brspdt201013
11 Jun 2008, 12:24
What about Sylvia for a low 2nd round draft pick? About 20!

CaptainDavey
11 Jun 2008, 12:26
What about Sylvia for a low 2nd round draft pick? About 20!

Is young Rusling on the table?

McLean_4_Captain
11 Jun 2008, 13:21

David Neitz (retired)
Adem Yze (gone)
Isaac Weetra
Nathan Carroll
Matthew Whelan (how long can we persist with him, he hasn't put together a run of games in years)
Mark Jamar
Simon Buckley

Weetra probably has another year left on his contract, so he'll stay. I hope Bode doesn't but we only elevated him this year. God only knows why

CJ needs to get a proper crack in the back half of this year, be put on notice that he's career at melbourne depends on how he plays in these games.

Whelan depends on contract, if he's not contracted past this year it depends on whether he can string together consistent games towards the year. ATM we only have Bell as a small defender, so unless Cheney or someone else really stands up as a small defender then he's still in our best 22.

Buckley needs more time. His pace is great, but he needs to be showing more then that to keep his spot next year, but i hope he does

From your list that leaves Neitz, Yze, Holland, Bode, Carroll and Jamar. That gives only gives us 6 spots on our list and with Wona and Valenti both looking likely to get elevated, there will be some tough decisions. So maybe we need to lose one of Buckley or CJ and someone like Dunn might be in trouble if he hasn't cemented a regular role, which would be a shame.

Maybe Junior will hang up the boots, he does turn 32 at season end, but i think the club will let him decide his fate.

the russian40
11 Jun 2008, 13:22

I wouldnt want him, the guy thinks about football and does a shoulder

unstable punt
11 Jun 2008, 13:27
Jamar,Carroll and Holland are probably the only certainties to go

Bartram_Class
11 Jun 2008, 14:15
Jamar,Carroll and Holland are probably the only certainties to go
Yze could kick 100 goals between now and Round 22 and he'll still be on his way out.

bringbackschwarter5
11 Jun 2008, 14:41

He'd just break our hearts like Rivers does

DemonJim
11 Jun 2008, 15:27

David Neitz (retired)
Adem Yze (gone)
Isaac Weetra
Nathan Carroll
Mark Jamar
Simon Buckley

I agree, Yze and Holland will go, Bode will get dropped, Weetra should get dropped but will be kept on for maybe 1 more year, CJ needs to go, Carroll to go as we don't need what he provides anymore.
Matty Whelan, will be sad to see him go as I really rated this bloke, but unforetunately it probably is time to go for him. Kick Jamar out.
Buckley will stick around for maybe a few more years depending on how much he develops into next year.

This leaves some space for some of the guys to come up for next year...

Maric, hopefully he puts in a tough PS and shows some goods.
Valenti and Aussie will of course be promoted.
So this leaves some space for maybe 2-3 draftees.

eliasd82
11 Jun 2008, 16:25

2 - Valenti promotion
3 - Pick 1
4 - Pick 17
5 - Pick 18
6 - Pick 34
7 - Pick 50
8 - PSD Pick 1

Thats assuming we have number 1 of course...
But if thats the case it would look something like this at the end of year...

To Go:

1 - Jamar - no footskils and struggles taking a chest mark. Ok in hit outs.

2 - Holland - sorry to see you go mate - been good since crossing over. Time is up.

3 - Yze - I really love Ooze but depending on his last 11 games he might be on his way.

4 - Weetra - was given a go now can't even get a game at Sandy.

5 - Neita - obviously a retired Champion.

6 - Carroll - touch and go with him, could be trade bait or given another year.

7 - Whelan - love the guy but similar to the Yze scenario. He needs to put some senior games together before round 22.

8 - Bode - Not that bad, but he will be one of those blokes that unfortunately gets the cut for draft pick chioces.

Bottom line is that some hard decsions need to be made but also we cant relinquish all our experienced players out of this group because we are a very young team.
J-Mac and White will go on another year or two. And I think only one of Yze or Whelan will go. Wheatley might be floated for a trade.

Thoughts?

dalethomas13
11 Jun 2008, 16:32

Probably wouldn't have thought so but you never know.

He is contracted until the end of 2009 and is rated highly down there so I very much doubt it.

They'll give him every opportunity to get himself right and back.

stickman11
11 Jun 2008, 16:39
Thats assuming we have number 1 of course...
But if thats the case it would look something like this at the end of year...

To Go:

1 - Jamar - no footskils and struggles taking a chest mark. Ok in hit outs.

2 - Holland - sorry to see you go mate - been good since crossing over. Time is up.

3 - Yze - I really love Ooze but depending on his last 11 games he might be on his way.

4 - Weetra - was given a go now can't even get a game at Sandy.

5 - Neita - obviously a retired Champion.

6 - Carroll - touch and go with him, could be trade bait or given another year.

7 - Whelan - love the guy but similar to the Yze scenario. He needs to put some senior games together before round 22.

8 - Bode - Not that bad, but he will be one of those blokes that unfortunately gets the cut for draft pick chioces.

Bottom line is that some hard decsions need to be made but also we cant relinquish all our experienced players out of this group because we are a very young team.
J-Mac and White will go on another year or two. And I think only one of Yze or Whelan will go. Wheatley might be floated for a trade.

Thoughts?

I reckon White, Yze and Mcdonald will call it a day at the end of 08

Wheatly and Newton could be traded. Would look at Davey while he has some value still.

Delist Weetra, Holland, Carrol, jamar

eliasd82
11 Jun 2008, 16:57
To get rid of davey would be stupid... he is a marketable player.. and a player the youth love which is something we currently lack...

thebizz3
11 Jun 2008, 20:59
I cant help to think young Buckleys is getting really stuffed around. A week here and a week there isnt a good way to develop a player, especially in a season like this. Hopefully he doesnt request a trade, is contracted for next season. Would others be willing to let him go quite cheaply?? I think he needs one more year and some quality game time.

Headless
11 Jun 2008, 21:27
What's the point in trading Davey?

Seriously!

dee-molishon
11 Jun 2008, 22:07
The obvious ones: jamar, holland, yze. Carroll could be in serious trouble now with warnock and garland playing so well.

Its a harsh call on whelan but im getting over these injuries seems to get more niggles each and every year, i suggest we delist him and then see how his body is going before the draft and redraft if we have to. Could do the same with beamer.

i think c.j and newton need a go soon even if only for trade value.

sylvia is frustrating but like has been said i dont want him turning into another scott thompson if he leaves us.

I hope Messen is like a hamish mcintosh, a late developing ruckman because i have no idea where he is at.

buckley in my opinion should be gawn

TripleDee
11 Jun 2008, 23:15
isn't it funny whenever holland takes a mark inside 50 the amount of demon supporters u hear say "anyone but holland", "hand it off ben", "forget about this one being a goal" etc. every game i hear someone behind me saying such things. poor Benny he's not really that bad is he?
I believe Holland tries his heart out and his effort is outstanding on the field. He is a bloody good footballer in my opinion and quite good in winning the footy on the forward line and can perform very well in defence.
The negative for Ben I believe is his goal kicking leaves much to be desired. Also, every year the game speeds up but alas Ben does not.
At more than 30 years of age his time is most likely up.
He has been a good servant and hopefully will play a few more games this year and perform well to end a very good career in fine fashion.

Pjkimber
11 Jun 2008, 23:31
I will probably get crucified for saying this but how bout we put Rivers out there come trade time?

I love the guy but he is way 2 injury prone and hasnt really had that great a season since winning the rising star award imo.

Supermercado
11 Jun 2008, 23:33
You'd have to pull the sell of a lifetime to get anything good for a player who has played about 5 games in two seasons.

Deefolt
12 Jun 2008, 00:02
poor ooze, if he only played like that when he was getting the consistent games via daniher then he wouldnt be even on the table at the moment... ahhhh well

in my opinion, no carrol he needs to stay, he puts his heart into it, delist some one who doesnt give a crap, i know delist colin sylvia, that will send a message and a half to the rest of the squad, "we aint trading him, but he isnt playing for us next year, yet highly touted. perform or suffer the same fate"

puckled
12 Jun 2008, 00:28
The obvious ones: jamar, holland, yze. Carroll could be in serious trouble now with warnock and garland playing so well.

i think c.j and newton need a go soon even if only for trade value.

sylvia is frustrating but like has been said i dont want him turning into another scott thompson if he leaves us.

buckley in my opinion should be gawn

i agree with the 'obvious ones' and especially the bit on carroll... if they were to keep him then he should only be getting probably the third best forward which wouldnt really be worth it

trade sylvia... cant be hesitant thinking about what may happen in the future... just try and ensure we get someone half decent andgo from there

and whats so bad about buckley? i havent seen him play all that much but from his stats he seems to be getting a bit of it... does he just screw up after that?

and heaven forbid they get rid of the juice!

saj_21
12 Jun 2008, 12:10
Melbourne will make 7-8 changes to their list.
1. Nieta (retired)
2. Holland (retired)
3. Yze (delisted)
4. C. Johnson
5. Jamar

There is 5 i can think of.

the russian40
12 Jun 2008, 14:04
Some people on here are blindsighted, you know, we aren't the only people who see that Rivers has played 5 or so games in 2 years, or that Wheatley can't kick and Sylvia isnt living up to potential and so on....expecting high draft picks for these guys is a bit unrealistic.

And trading Davey while we can still get something for him?? come on, by saying that your pretty much saying lets put Jones up, Brock up, Wona up...cos we can probably get something for them...Im sorry, but that Davey comment is probably the most ridiculous thing I've read here

And in reality either Holland or Carrol will need to stay on the list, with Garland and Warnock currently holding down the fort, and Rivers injured, we are screwed if another guy gets injured. Unless the likes of Zomer or Martin really step up and develop as KPP this year, we really can't take the risk of leaving ourselves exposed again down back through an injury

ExTasDeeMan
12 Jun 2008, 15:42
Yze will retire before he is delisted.

Hate to say it, despite how angry he has made me in the last 2 seasons, the previous 10 were belters. We owe him as much as we owed Neitz.

Deestroy
12 Jun 2008, 17:20
I would keep C.Johnson over Bode. Does anyone know if Bode got a 2 year contract?

Bartram_Class
12 Jun 2008, 18:03
I would keep C.Johnson over Bode. Does anyone know if Bode got a 2 year contract?
I think that if you officially promote a rookie, you have to give them a two year deal.

Same rules as recruiting a player in the draft.

goal sneak
13 Jun 2008, 14:11
Some people on here are blindsighted, you know, we aren't the only people who see that Rivers has played 5 or so games in 2 years, or that Wheatley can't kick and Sylvia isnt living up to potential and so on....expecting high draft picks for these guys is a bit unrealistic.

Wheatley can't kick? Thats all he can do.

the russian40
13 Jun 2008, 14:17
Wheatley can't kick? Thats all he can do.

bad example, should have said cant kick to anything less than 40meters away or shephard

CaptainDavey
13 Jun 2008, 14:26
Yeah I agree with The Russian. The problem is the gap between our good players and our shit ones is too great. If we had a strong second tier/depth players then yeah we could get some value out of them but when you've got players like...Bode *shudders* coming in, we've got a bit of a problem trying to sell them. And of course we can't get rid of those with value as it would be too detrimental to where we want to go.

Holland, Yze, Johnson, Weetra, Jamar, Carroll will be gone by seasons end, with the addition of Neitz of course. Although I'd rather keep Johnson ahead of Bode *shudders*

Lazza1981
13 Jun 2008, 23:36
some people are far to crictical its easy to be a champion sitting in the 5th row drinking booze. I would love to know how many poters on all of these boards played AFL Footy

CowboyFromHell
14 Jun 2008, 00:00
some people are far to crictical its easy to be a champion sitting in the 5th row drinking booze. I would love to know how many poters on all of these boards played AFL Footy

I'm actually Sean Wight so I can have a crack at whoever the f*ck I want.

master bate
14 Jun 2008, 00:11
Alot can be achieved in half a season, I'm not ready to concede anyones career at the dees is finished besides Neitz, Hollands and Yze's. However if I have to put the next 5 to go in order it goes Carroll and Jamar, Weetra, Bode, CJ. Then probably Whelan.

I think we should look to trade 1 of White, Wheatley, Bruce and Green with my order of preference being as above. Obviously if we trade White and delist Jamar then we would have to have secured another ruckman or two (Warnock, Natinui) but I think Jeff represents the best person to trade. We may have missed the boat with White but I think after this year he will become a hinderance to our young ruckman rather than a help to the team. We will have a rather rejuvinated backline, midifield and forward line, what good is it playing an old bloke as number 1 ruck. If we could find someone looking for a short term fix to get 2-3 years out of him, we might con them into a second or third round pick.

master bate
14 Jun 2008, 00:18
some people are far to crictical its easy to be a champion sitting in the 5th row drinking booze. I would love to know how many poters on all of these boards played AFL FootyWelcome to bigfooty, I see you are a newbie so I'll give you the run down - at bigfooty we pot who ever we want whenever we want, its often unfortunate but thats the way it is. If you are not happy about the treatment a player has copped in this thread stick up for him, you may have the last laugh when he becomes a superstar, or when we he gets delisted you will be wrong. At the end of the day no will remember, and no one really cares, but its bigfooty!

Deefolt
14 Jun 2008, 09:11
hmmm that bit ya back in the arse didnt it lazza :p

ExTasDeeMan
14 Jun 2008, 12:11

hahahahaha.

You Stooge. I suppose you only read articles 'written' by AFL footballers.

demonfan9
14 Jun 2008, 20:38

Haha fantastic!

Deestroy
15 Jun 2008, 11:48
I love this attitude. Let me ask you a couple of things.

Have you ever had an opinion on a band or singer you didn’t like? You shouldn’t, I’m sure you’ve never been in their situation or have the talent they have.

Have you ever had an opinion that a prime minister/the government has done something wrong? You shouldn’t, you don’t understand the pressures they are under as you’ve never had that job, and they are trying their best.

Footballers get their large incomes thanks to the supporters who watch the game, they are fully entitled to have opinions on the quality (or lack thereof) of players.

Flashhh
16 Jun 2008, 00:50
2008 list minus:
Ben Holland
Adem Yze
Chris Johnson
Isaac Weetra
Mark Jamar
Nathan Carroll
Matthew Whelan
Jace Bode
David Neitz

Flashhh
16 Jun 2008, 00:53
Does anyone know if Bode got a 2 year contract?
...I'll pay him out if i have to

ExTasDeeMan
16 Jun 2008, 00:55
Footballers get their large incomes thanks to the supporters who watch the game, they are fully entitled to have opinions on the quality (or lack thereof) of players.

Not to mention that they really only put in a couple of hours 'work' per day. As well as when they have a bad day, they are very much forgiven.

If I pull a "2nd Quarter" effort at my workplace, I would be fired.

BTW - Bode = Shit. Gone.
Chris Johnson = Gone. Proof that father/son picks sometimes aren't work the draft pick.

saj_21
16 Jun 2008, 10:03
Not to mention that they really only put in a couple of hours 'work' per day. As well as when they have a bad day, they are very much forgiven.

If I pull a "2nd Quarter" effort at my workplace, I would be fired.

BTW - Bode = Shit. Gone.
Chris Johnson = Gone. Proof that father/son picks sometimes aren't work the draft pick.

You should read Jason Akermanis' article in the herlad sun last friday, they do more than just a couple of hours a day. I do not know if you play footy but training is normally pretty intense and is physically demanding.

ExTasDeeMan
16 Jun 2008, 10:08
You should read Jason Akermanis' article in the herlad sun last friday, they do more than just a couple of hours a day. I do not know if you play footy but training is normally pretty intense and is physically demanding.

I once thought that, and when talking to my physio (ex Bombers Physio), he laughed his ass off and told me.

kv_baby
16 Jun 2008, 10:17
is Carroll that bad? i thought he was a decent player...

KTLK
16 Jun 2008, 10:24
2008 list minus:
Ben Holland
Adem Yze
Chris Johnson
Isaac Weetra
Mark Jamar
Nathan Carroll
Matthew Whelan
Jace Bode
David Neitz

In's: Draft Pick 1, 17, 18, 34, 50, 66, 82 + Pick 1 (PSD) = Quality uncontracted player
Out's: Carroll (Delisted) Holland (Retire) Netiz (Retire) Yze (Retire) McDonald (Retire) White (Retire)

Trade: Bode and Buckley for low draft picks (in the pick 50's) to recieve more live draft picks.
Trade: Trade for an exchange between Jamar and Warnock (Fremantle)

KTLK
16 Jun 2008, 10:26
is Carroll that bad? i thought he was a decent player...

You can witness this at the Sandy's game on the weekend. Carroll was awful, giving away too many free kicks, goals and let the defence down.

puckled
16 Jun 2008, 22:51
In's: Draft Pick 1, 17, 18, 34, 50, 66, 82 + Pick 1 (PSD) = Quality uncontracted player
Out's: Carroll (Delisted) Holland (Retire) Netiz (Retire) Yze (Retire) McDonald (Retire) White (Retire)

Trade: Bode and Buckley for low draft picks (in the pick 50's) to recieve more live draft picks.
Trade: Trade for an exchange between Jamar and Warnock (Fremantle)

surely mcdonald and white shouldnt retire, they have more left in them than the others listed... and fremantle would have to have to be stupid to trade warnock for jamar... although they do tend to have fade outs from time to time

StingaArmstrong
17 Jun 2008, 00:03
Out: Neitz, Holland, Yze to retirement. Possibly McDonald, White to join them, although they still have some left in the tank.

Delist: Weetra, Bode, Carroll possilby as well

Potential trades: Bruce, Bell

Be nice to get Mitch Thorp, but i think it would cost a hell of a lot. Warnock would be handy as well.

ExTasDeeMan
17 Jun 2008, 14:04
Out: Neitz, Holland, Yze to retirement. Possibly McDonald, White to join them, although they still have some left in the tank.

Delist: Weetra, Bode, Carroll possilby as well

Potential trades: Bruce, Bell

Be nice to get Mitch Thorp, but i think it would cost a hell of a lot. Warnock would be handy as well.

I'd be happy to part with Sylvia + late pick for that. Can't see him getting a game in that loaded hawk forwardline.

crimson
17 Jun 2008, 21:28
Melbourne will make 7-8 changes to their list.
1. Nieta (retired)
2. Holland (retired)
3. Yze (delisted)
4. C. Johnson
5. Jamar

There is 5 i can think of.

Maybe the swans will take Jamar to replace Spider. That would be ironic - Jolly and Jamar back together again.

rancidpants13
17 Jun 2008, 22:22
Maybe the swans will take Jamar to replace Spider. That would be ironic - Jolly and Jamar back together again.

you lot should try selling jamar a bit better if you wanna trade him out
but seriously, i know rivers' health is a constant worry, and you'd generally want to keep him, but would you consider a trade to sydney for, say, amon buchanan or jarrad mcveigh???
i also don't mind buckley or garland as developing types

Deestroy
18 Jun 2008, 08:26
but would you consider a trade to sydney for, say, amon buchanan or jarrad mcveigh???
No.

I'd trade you Buckley for Buchanan, but neither Garland or Rivers.

w00dy
18 Jun 2008, 19:20

2 - Valenti promotion
3 - Pick 1
4 - Pick 17
5 - Pick 18
6 - Pick 34
7 - Pick 50
8 - PSD Pick 1

This is about right...

Out: Neitz, Holland, Yze, Bode, Weetra, Jamar, McDonald.

There is seven names. Perhaps we'd pass on selection 50? Or maybe trade pick 50 and 34 to upgrade somewhere in the 20's?

Jamar may be traded given we looked well placed to get at least one of Natanui and Warnock.

McDonald is the oldest player on the list apart from David Neitz. He's playing back pocket, a position Whelan is much better suited to play. I think the hard call will be made on him at years end and he'll retire, with a gentle shove.

Chris Johnson will come good in the second half of the year, and if given a run Wheels will hold down the back pocket as he always does.

KTLK
18 Jun 2008, 21:28
surely mcdonald and white shouldnt retire, they have more left in them than the others listed... and fremantle would have to have to be stupid to trade warnock for jamar... although they do tend to have fade outs from time to time

1) If Warnock want to go and nominate MFC as the club preference, then MFC could use Jamar as a trade. MFC will have the bargaining power and thus Fremantle should consider taking this option. If not, MFC will draft Warnock in the PSD for free.

2) By the year 2009, White will be 32 and McDonald 33. I'm sure retirement is approaching.

KTLK
18 Jun 2008, 21:30

Jamar at the price of 4th or maybe 3rd rounder?

Clean Heels
18 Jun 2008, 22:09
you lot should try selling jamar a bit better if you wanna trade him out
but seriously, i know rivers' health is a constant worry, and you'd generally want to keep him, but would you consider a trade to sydney for, say, amon buchanan or jarrad mcveigh???
i also don't mind buckley or garland as developing types

Rivers for McVeigh, Definately a goer, but no chance of Sydney letting him go - as he is probably their best player this year..

Garland aint going anyway, he is a gun, but Buckleys free to good home..

crimson
19 Jun 2008, 00:01

The swans might do that deal on JAmar for 10 minutes a quarter. Jolly had the second string role to Ball when he came accoss from the Demons.

Their rucks are only required to make a contest and hit the ball down to their inside mids who then scramble it out to someone like Goodes. He would be a good fit for their gameplan.

saj_21
19 Jun 2008, 10:56
The swans might do that deal on JAmar for 10 minutes a quarter. Jolly had the second string role to Ball when he came accoss from the Demons.

Their rucks are only required to make a contest and hit the ball down to their inside mids who then scramble it out to someone like Goodes. He would be a good fit for their gameplan.

Roos has had great success in turning fringe players to regualr 22 players, ted richards is a great exmaple. There are some other players but they escape me at the moment.

McLean_4_Captain
19 Jun 2008, 11:19
Rivers for McVeigh, Definately a goer, but no chance of Sydney letting him go - as he is probably their best player this year..

Spot on. I see there being less chance of Sydney letting go of McVeigh then us letting go of Rivers.

melbournemartin
21 Jun 2008, 18:32
We can't give up on Rivers yet.

fishmonger
22 Jun 2008, 02:41
Trade Brad Miller and cut the losses with Cale Morton.
I would also seriously consider trading McLean and possibly even Bruce.
Yze should retire.

I can't believe anyone would put Whelan or Rivers name up. What we lack is genuine toughness and skill. Get rid of those guys and you'll kiss both goodbye.

melbournemartin
22 Jun 2008, 02:47
We lack genuine toughness and skill yet want to trade Brock McLean?

You really should go to bed. Your brain isn't functioning properly.

As for trading Cale Morton, our #4 draft pick, after only half a year of football? I won't even bother starting with that.

fishmonger
23 Jun 2008, 00:20
We lack genuine toughness and skill yet want to trade Brock McLean?

You really should go to bed. Your brain isn't functioning properly.

As for trading Cale Morton, our #4 draft pick, after only half a year of football? I won't even bother starting with that.

tough skillful players can tackle
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=457826

And they traded Johnstone who was a #1 draft pick ... go figure.
The guy is a dud - it is called cutting your losses.

RandB
23 Jun 2008, 01:05
tough skillful players can tackle
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=457826

And they traded Johnstone who was a #1 draft pick ... go figure.
The guy is a dud - it is called cutting your losses.
Monger, I actually agree with some of your points about our lack of toughness etc but your conclusions are quite misguided. Firstly, are you honestly saying Brisbane have recruited a dud player in TJ? I think Leigh Matthews values TJ extremely highly at Brisbane and he is playing pretty decent footy for them.

Can you please give your definition of the term "cut your losses". You have used this term with respect to both Cale Morton and now TJ who are two players in competely different phases of their careers. I think your rationale with Morton is defetist. Instead of "cut your losses", I think "cut off your nose to spite your face" would be more applicable to getting rid of Morton. It is absolutely insane to even contemplate getting rid of a 1st rounder in his first season - who has played very positive football in a struggling side. Morton has faults (who'd have thought for a first year youngster :rolleyes:) but I also see Morton's strengths which you don't seem to get.

JuveRule
23 Jun 2008, 01:17
Since when has referencing another BigFooty thread added weight to an argument??

It's like quoting Wikipedia for a thesis.

Dez!
23 Jun 2008, 08:41
Since when has referencing another BigFooty thread added weight to an argument??

It's like quoting Wikipedia for a thesis.

Pwned!1!111!1

fleaman
23 Jun 2008, 23:10
its time 4 real clean out now..

Bailey has hinted @ mass changes..

Neitz
Yze - no chance
Carroll
Bode
Weetra
Holland
Chris Johnson -the only doubt so far, may stay..JUST!
Buckley - missed his chance!!
Whelan
Jamar (if cant be traded)

TRADE BAIT: Sylvia, Miller, Jamar, Bell, Dunn, Newton

But we would trade anyone BAR Morton, Grimes, Maric, Aussie, Garland If the price is right, I expect green, Bruce to be offered around perhaps..

There is no point going half ass'd, this is our last chance to do a total clean out!

fleaman
23 Jun 2008, 23:13
Yze should retire.

I can't believe anyone would put Whelan or Rivers name up. What we lack is genuine toughness and skill. Get rid of those guys and you'll kiss both goodbye.

Your clearly an under educated buffoon..

Trade Morton.. cut losses with him?? what drugs are u on?? and where can we get them??

He's showed great signs, and is AHEAD of schedule and...oh forget it, why am I bothering with a complete and utter MORON!!

eliasd82
23 Jun 2008, 23:16
Yze should retire.

You are a moron!
Trade McLean, loose Morton we just picked him up....

unstable punt
23 Jun 2008, 23:29
Yze should retire.

you do not have a frickin' clue!!!!!!!!!! do you watch the games???????????? come back in 12 months after you've watched the team 22 times:confused:

unstable punt
23 Jun 2008, 23:30
Jamar is worth nothing, it will be free trade, we will not get anything for him