View Full Version : Collingwood v Northern Bullants
Casey Radio
12 Jun 2008, 01:27
Get Ready for Sunday's Clash with a preview of the rivalry when Collingwood do battle with Northern Bullants. Both teams will be desperate for a win and their developing players looking to impress
Join Casey Radio's Saturday Game of the Day - Live from 1.30pm
Special Guest with Expert Comments: Phil Cleary
Northern Bullants (9th) v Collingwood (13th) on 97.7FM
Live Webcast with no interruptions or 80's Music
www.3ser.org.au (http://www.3ser.org.au/)
Casey Radio 97.7FM Your True Home of the VFL!!
Dave The Man
12 Jun 2008, 01:43
Get Ready for Sunday's Clash with a preview of the rivalry when Collingwood do battle with Northern Bullants. Both teams will be desperate for a win and their developing players looking to impress
Join Casey Radio's Saturday Game of the Day - Live from 1.30pm
Special Guest with Expert Comments: Phil Cleary
Northern Bullants (9th) v Collingwood (13th) on 97.7FM
Live Webcast with no interruptions or 80's Music
www.3ser.org.au (http://www.3ser.org.au/)
Casey Radio 97.7FM Your True Home of the VFL!!
Well I would love to listen to it (Can Someone Please Record It) but I think most people will be at the G watching us Play the Arch-Enemy
RRRooocccaaa
12 Jun 2008, 08:46
^ Not unless they're a day early :p
Dave The Man
12 Jun 2008, 12:01
^ Not unless they're a day early :p
I thought it said Sunday, Gezz I was too tired last night then
Snag Breac
12 Jun 2008, 13:00
I tried listening on my Magpie mini-radio last week, Casey, but the sound quality was terrible. Other stations are ok. Any tips?
Snag Breac
12 Jun 2008, 13:09
Forgot to mention.....I LOVE Phil Cleary.:thumbsu:
Dave The Man
13 Jun 2008, 16:30
Side:
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=0-118-0-67835-0&sID=54560&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5594896§ionID=54560
King Woodie
14 Jun 2008, 10:35
What ever happened to Liam Jurrah? Hasn't seemed to play for quite a while... Are we hiding him away for the rookie draft this year or something?
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 14:55
Got it on Radio and Yes the footy is on :thumbsu:
Snag Breac
14 Jun 2008, 15:05
Got it on Radio and Yes the footy is on :thumbsu:
Are you calling the game for us, Dave?:)
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:05
1st Goal to Pies - Wood Kicked it:)
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:06
Are you calling the game for us, Dave?:)
I will put scores up but You can just got to the Web-Site and Listen it yourself too
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:08
Amuter Radio is Back - Lost the Commentary and back to 70's and 80's Music:mad:
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:09
Down 2.0 to 1.0
Snag Breac
14 Jun 2008, 15:09
I will put scores up but You can just got to the Web-Site and Listen it yourself too
But not while I'm going about my domestic business, Dave. So I'll leave this open and rush up the stairs every few minutes to follow the discussion. Keep your ears on Dyas and Goldy for me.
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:11
Bullants Sounds like there are all Over us at the moment.
Ackland Lining up from 50 and Kicks a Point 2.1 to 1.0
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:13
Pies are Turnover the Ball Way To Much.
3.1 to 1.0 - Does not look good
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:14
Phil Cleary said Goldsack has been Pathetic
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:18
Umps Helping the Bullants according to the commentary.
Losing 5.1 to 1.1 Getting Slaughted so far
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:21
We are getting Flogged
6.1 to 1.1
Blueinblood
I cant belive Ackland kicked a goal. WTF
MagpieGirl_13
Can I have permission to deck that bloke who gave Goldy a spray??? :cool:
Well, second week I'm going to listen to the VFL..... different.....
Well better than voss on the telly....:p
smiddaz123
14 Jun 2008, 15:22
Phil Cleary said Goldsack has been Pathetic
I think he was referring to when he argued with the ump instead of paying attention to his man. Not his game as a whole.
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:24
I cant belive Ackland kicked a goal. WTF
Sounds Like he is Playing Well.
Pies Defense sounds like they have No Idea what they are doing.
7.1 to 1.1 sounds like how Much we can keep them down
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:27
Egan and Toovey has had a Few Turnover - No Big Suprise
joefootylover
14 Jun 2008, 15:28
McCarthy playing well from the sounds of things.
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:29
MacAffer Kicked a Goal.
7.1 to 2.1
joefootylover
MAcaffer goals from McCarthy assist, 2 goals vs 7 late in the first?
Dave The Man
McCarthy playing well from the sounds of things.
Because he Can find a Man now and again.
Macarthy made a Mistake
smiddaz123
14 Jun 2008, 15:35
Macarthy made a Mistake
:eek:
Surely not?
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:38
Bullies hard at the ball and Pie are not
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:39
Ackland is smashing Anthony:(.
Helicopter Kick by Ackland 7.2 to 2.1
Blueinblood
14 Jun 2008, 15:40
no cook? late change?
Chase the Ace
14 Jun 2008, 15:41
no cook? late change?
Insurance
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:41
no cook? late change?
Hope Not but Could be just in case if Pendles not come up
smiddaz123
14 Jun 2008, 15:42
no cook? late change?
Pendelbury or Davis or someone might be a slight chance to miss, and Cook is there just in case.
I don't expect him to come in though.
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:44
Cleary Having a Shot at Pies VFL Team:mad:
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:45
Wood Sound like he is having a Good Game:)
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:46
Sounds Like the Bullants have Umps on side:mad:
Chase the Ace
14 Jun 2008, 15:47
I must be listening to a different game to DTM
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:48
Why is That?
The Royal Sampler
14 Jun 2008, 15:50
I got thrown by the Sunday thing as well, I'm going to listen in while mowing the lawn. :)
Hopefully the Pies make more of a contest.
please take over the update duties. please.
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:51
Why is that:mad:?
Chase the Ace
14 Jun 2008, 15:53
Nope, I gotta go soon.
But it appears Iles, Cox are playing OK.
Bullants seem to have a little too much class.
Chase the Ace
14 Jun 2008, 15:55
8.3 to 2.1
Bullants defence on top of our forwards
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 15:56
Sounds Like Dawes is doing nothing because I only heard about him once
Chase the Ace
14 Jun 2008, 15:58
Kris Pendlebury getting a few touches.
Rain falling
No change to score
joefootylover
14 Jun 2008, 15:58
No goals in the whole second quarter.
Chase the Ace
14 Jun 2008, 15:59
Because Dawes is being double teamed just like the commentators said
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 16:01
Because Dawes is being double teamed just like the commentators said
Those I did hear he gave a good hit on Yakka? I think
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 16:04
Cleary Blasting the VFL Squad saying it's a waist of time
Cleary Having a Shot at Pies VFL Team:mad:
He always does. He had a shot at the Williamstown alliance and now we have our own team he has a shot at that.
I don't mind Cleary when he's not whining over the politics of the VFL.
We need to recruit a few more good VFL players as our defense is horrible. I also feel that the team will improve a lot next season just from playing with each other for the first time.
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 16:22
We need to recruit a few more good VFL players as our defense is horrible. I also feel that the team will improve a lot next season just from playing with each other for the first time.
True - Presti Will Help and Look at the Hawks alliance with Box Hill. Has Box Hill won a game yet?
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 16:26
Goldsack gave away a free Inside there 50.
GOAL to Bullies 9.4 58 - 2.1 13.
Cox Looks Like an Idiot - Giving Defence Credit:eek:
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 16:29
Dawes took a good Contested Mark:thumbsu: Slots It Too.
3-1 to 10-4
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 16:42
Hackland Missed from 10 Meter Out
Dawes is not going to have a chance at selection due to the extremely poor seconds team. He might have a chance in the firsts, but not much chance of him getting selected at this stage... poor bloke.
Give him a shot in the ones.
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 17:24
Dawes is not going to have a chance at selection due to the extremely poor seconds team. He might have a chance in the firsts, but not much chance of him getting selected at this stage... poor bloke.
Give him a shot in the ones.
True - Sounds like he shown a bit today
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 17:28
Someone smoking pot at the game LOL
Da Bull
14 Jun 2008, 17:29
Whats the score Dave?
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 17:30
Pies get Flogged by 75 Points
Da Bull
14 Jun 2008, 17:32
Thanks mate. Sorry, i've been looking at the updates on the Pies site but somebody has just finally posted it on the Carlton one, so thanks mate.
MagpieGirl_13
14 Jun 2008, 17:37
Someone smoking pot at the game LOL
Lol, heard that.... Wacky Tabaccy :D:p
Collingwood 2.1 2.1 5.3 6.6 (42)
Northern Bullants 8.1 8.4 12.6 18.9 (117)
GOALS:
Collingwood: MacAffer 4 Dawes Wood
Northern Bullants: Ackland 3 Hartlett 3 Jacobs 2 Joseph 2 Edwards 2 Browne Colbert Pfeiffer Benjamin Ellard Iacobucci
BEST:
Collingwood: Frost Pendlebury Dawes MacAffer Licuria Stanley
Northern Bullants: Austin Blackwell Ackland Iacobucci Anderson Browne
The Royal Sampler
14 Jun 2008, 18:48
Good to see Dawes named in the best. MacAffer is less of a surprise with 4 goals, but again impressive.
Hard Yakka
14 Jun 2008, 19:06
I went to the game today. The one thing I learned is this - our VFL side is more painful to watch live than they are on TV. Not many positives to write about at all...
Decision making is woeful, ball movement is shocking, disposal is errant. Get the picture? Now I'm sure much of this is a confidence thing - something has to be done about it. No good our young kids being brought through this sort of environment - I'm sure the club never anticipated that things could get this bad when they decided to go it alone.
Comments on a few players.
Dawes - not too much of it in the 1st half but a fantastic 3Q. He took control of the F50. He seems to be a leading forward who covers a lot of ground, tackles, chases, second efforts etc. I can see this translating to AFL lever but I don't think he'll be a bang and crash type.
MacAffer - 4 goals without dominating by any stretch. I reckon he's got the best set of hands at the club - such a clean one grab mark. A very reliable shot for goal too. I think he's someone the club should be putting more time into. He could be a very difficult match up playing in a team with half decent delivery into the forward line.
Frost - unfortunately, our best and he's not really one of ours - and probably never will be.
John Anthony - a dirty day today. Played full back for 3Q. Much of the time he was playing on one of the two rucks who were playing full forward. Out sized all day. The side was really exposed for a lack of height and strength down back today.
Stanley - named in the best and got a few disposals but turned it over too much for mine.
Egan - too soft. Occasions when he should have committed himself for the ball but decided to run along side it instead waiting for somebody else to do the hard work for him.
Cox - like Egan, did not commit to the contest a few times when he should have. Very disappointing for a bloke that has just come back from the seniors. Certainly doesn't deserve a recall based on what he showed today.
Across the board it was fairly disappointing. I don't have anything positive to say about anybody else so that's it for this game from me!!!
Snag Breac
14 Jun 2008, 19:28
Thanks, Hard Yakka. Plenty of room for improvement, then?:thumbsu::o
Hard Yakka
14 Jun 2008, 19:32
Thanks, Hard Yakka. Plenty of room for improvement, then?:thumbsu::o
That's probably the biggest positive to be taken from the performance today - they can't get much worse!
Presti_is_god
14 Jun 2008, 19:35
how was wood today?
Hard Yakka
14 Jun 2008, 19:45
how was wood today?
Not sure whether he won or lost the ruck contests but didn't offer too much around the ground, other than an early goal.
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 20:00
Not sure whether he won or lost the ruck contests but didn't offer too much around the ground, other than an early goal.
What I heard that Crow played more than Wood?
Dundalis
14 Jun 2008, 20:03
I went to the game today. The one thing I learned is this - our VFL side is more painful to watch live than they are on TV. Not many positives to write about at all...
Decision making is woeful, ball movement is shocking, disposal is errant. Get the picture? Now I'm sure much of this is a confidence thing - something has to be done about it. No good our young kids being brought through this sort of environment - I'm sure the club never anticipated that things could get this bad when they decided to go it alone.
Comments on a few players.
Dawes - not too much of it in the 1st half but a fantastic 3Q. He took control of the F50. He seems to be a leading forward who covers a lot of ground, tackles, chases, second efforts etc. I can see this translating to AFL lever but I don't think he'll be a bang and crash type.
MacAffer - 4 goals without dominating by any stretch. I reckon he's got the best set of hands at the club - such a clean one grab mark. A very reliable shot for goal too. I think he's someone the club should be putting more time into. He could be a very difficult match up playing in a team with half decent delivery into the forward line.
Frost - unfortunately, our best and he's not really one of ours - and probably never will be.
John Anthony - a dirty day today. Played full back for 3Q. Much of the time he was playing on one of the two rucks who were playing full forward. Out sized all day. The side was really exposed for a lack of height and strength down back today.
Stanley - named in the best and got a few disposals but turned it over too much for mine.
Egan - too soft. Occasions when he should have committed himself for the ball but decided to run along side it instead waiting for somebody else to do the hard work for him.
Cox - like Egan, did not commit to the contest a few times when he should have. Very disappointing for a bloke that has just come back from the seniors. Certainly doesn't deserve a recall based on what he showed today.
Across the board it was fairly disappointing. I don't have anything positive to say about anybody else so that's it for this game from me!!!
McCarthy?
True - Sounds like he shown a bit today
Which is it?
Dave The Man
14 Jun 2008, 20:09
Which is it?
Well He Did nothing much in the 1st half then came back in it in the 2nd half
Johnson#26
15 Jun 2008, 10:41
I reckon Toovey might be close to another run soon. Didn't get a lot of it, but was disciplined, contested well, showed some maturity on occasions, and was one player to try to generate some run out of halfback. Was good.
Big Bucks
15 Jun 2008, 10:42
I reckon Toovey might be close to another run soon. Didn't get a lot of it, but was disciplined, contested well, showed some maturity on occasions, and was one player to try to generate some run out of halfback. Was good.
Next please.
lot of ppl are toohvey haters , he at least gives a contest when hes near it.
cant say much for cox and egan, both seem to think they dont need to get a contested ball
japaljarri
15 Jun 2008, 13:56
Saw Liam Jurrah play in Alice Springs yesterday for his home community Yuendumu (he is back home with a sick family member / temporary clearance). Was absolutely brilliant, b.o.g. by a mile and single-handledly knocked off the top team Wests. He was last week too against Federals.
MagpieGirl_13
15 Jun 2008, 14:48
There's nothing I'd like more than to see Toovey succeed. Hope he does.
checker
16 Jun 2008, 21:36
Game Summay.
Collingwood: 2.1, 2.1, 5.3, 6.6 (42)
Northern Bullants: 8.1, 8.4, 12.6, 18.9 (117)
Goals – Collingwood: Macaffer 4, Wood, Dawes
Northern Bullants: Hartlett 3, Ackland 3, Edwards 2, Joseph 2, Jacobs 2, Pfeiffer, Iacobucci, Colbert, Ellard, Benjamin
Best – Collingwood: Iles, Pendlebury, Frost, Macaffer, Dawes, Licuria
Northern Bullants: Iacobucci, Austin, Browne, Blackwell
Round 10 votes
1 – Iles, Pendlebury, Frost, Macaffer, Dawes
http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/tabid/5586/Default.aspx?newsid=61597
Dave The Man
16 Jun 2008, 22:34
Game Summay.
Collingwood: 2.1, 2.1, 5.3, 6.6 (42)
Northern Bullants: 8.1, 8.4, 12.6, 18.9 (117)
Goals – Collingwood: Macaffer 4, Wood, Dawes
Northern Bullants: Hartlett 3, Ackland 3, Edwards 2, Joseph 2, Jacobs 2, Pfeiffer, Iacobucci, Colbert, Ellard, Benjamin
Best – Collingwood: Iles, Pendlebury, Frost, Macaffer, Dawes, Licuria
Northern Bullants: Iacobucci, Austin, Browne, Blackwell
Round 10 votes
1 – Iles, Pendlebury, Frost, Macaffer, Dawes
http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/tabid/5586/Default.aspx?newsid=61597
Read That and Sounds like Dawes was Impressive and Did it at the right time too;)
bucksisbest
16 Jun 2008, 22:54
Saw Liam Jurrah play in Alice Springs yesterday for his home community Yuendumu (he is back home with a sick family member / temporary clearance). Was absolutely brilliant, b.o.g. by a mile and single-handledly knocked off the top team Wests. He was last week too against Federals.
I think you'll find the clearance isn't temporary , he has decided to stay in Yuendumu for good.
Dave The Man
16 Jun 2008, 23:04
I think you'll find the clearance isn't temporary , he has decided to stay in Yuendumu for good.
Where did you hear this?