View Full Version : Congrats Stephen Williams

Jerome
23 Mar 2001, 15:02
Dual Port Magpies Coach Stephen Williams has been named State Coach for the next 2 years. His first gig is against the Victoria.

Congrats! Anyone know who else was in the running or who is on the current selection committee?

Jerome

Macca19
23 Mar 2001, 16:33
Originally posted by Jerome:
Dual Port Magpies Coach Stephen Williams has been named State Coach for the next 2 years. His first gig is against the Victoria.

Congrats! Anyone know who else was in the running or who is on the current selection committee?

Jerome

I dont mean to be ignorant but what does Dual Port Magpies coach mean??
If its to do with premierships then he has coached 3 premiership sides (96, 98, 99)

Jerome
25 Mar 2001, 12:57
Originally posted by Macca19:
I dont mean to be ignorant but what does Dual Port Magpies coach mean??
If its to do with premierships then he has coached 3 premiership sides (96, 98, 99)

Yep, sorry my proof reading skills were not switched on that night. "Premiership" is the missing word. I'd also forgotten about the 96 flag, sorry Port fans!

Jerome

blueboy1
25 Mar 2001, 15:13

Jerome
He does not deserve it. He is a sook and cant handle losing.

Uncle Steve
25 Mar 2001, 18:09
Originally posted by blueboy1:

[/B]

That may well be the case, but it's worth analysing why he got the gig:

Mike Nunan turned down the job, wanting to concentrate on horse-training.

The SANFL, in it's infinite wisdom, decided not to appoint a coach who wasn't already coaching one of the SANFL clubs. This is a pity, I for one think Russell Ebert would have been the logical replacement - anyone know what he is up to these days, not coaching the Teal Cup team still?

Regardless, the SANFL once again turned to the existing league coaches. In previous years the job has first been offered to the coach of the reigining premiers. Obviously this could not be the case with Jonas leaving for St. Kilda. Nor could the runners-up coach be considered, since Hammo was also poached - by North Melbourne, IIRC.

Logically Phil Carman would have been the next choice - maybe he was offered it and refused; maybe the SANFL in it's infinite wisdom had other reasons for not considering him.

Thus it makes some sense to offer the job to Williams. The previous occupant of the position did not want it; and those who were better qualified for the job could not (or in Carman's case - would not) be considered.

Perhaps Williams doesn't deserve it - his appointment is as much due to circumstance as anything else. But if you didn't give it to Williams, who would you give it to?

For all I care - anything that takes Williams' mind of coaching the Magpies is A Good Thing ;-)

U.S.

carb70
25 Mar 2001, 18:42

[/B]

Hey stupid Williams was annouced as state coach, not Carman.

Macca19
25 Mar 2001, 19:06

Jerome

Oh of course. He is only one of the best coaches going around in the SANFL at the moment, he MUST be bad mustn't he!!

Nod
25 Mar 2001, 19:23
Blueboy I think you are the sook and can't handle losing. You should be improving in this area as you get a lot of practice - SANFL record for consecutive wooden spoons.
You are the loser pal !

Jerome
26 Mar 2001, 03:53
Uncle Steve, you are spot on. Williams is the most qualified man for the gig.

I'm not sure exactly what happened, but there was a bit of a falling out between Ebert and the SANFL a couple of years ago. It was either something to do with an origin game or the structure of the Teal Cup team.

Jerome

blueboy1
26 Mar 2001, 06:48
Originally posted by carb70:
Hey stupid Williams was annouced as state coach, not Carman.

Yes I know 'stupid williams' was announced as state coach. You stupid idiot. He is still a sook and bad loser.

Macca19
26 Mar 2001, 08:29
Yes I know 'stupid williams' was announced as state coach. You stupid idiot. He is still a sook and bad loser.

This coming from someone who supports Phil Carman, the biggest sook and loser in the history of the game. The man wh oblamed Ports abundance of AFL talent for losing the 98 Grand Final, instead of wondering why players such as Jarrod Twitt kicked 5 behinds and 2 on the full from a 35m radius thruout the day. The man who accused Port of playing the man to win the grand final.

Jerome
26 Mar 2001, 12:30
The sooner Carman quits writing for the Advertiser the better!

DoggiesGimp
26 Mar 2001, 19:59
even as a Centrals fan I think Williams is without a doubt the pick of the available SANFL coaches for the State Team. Wouldn't someone like Cornesy or Cahill also be suitable?

carb70
26 Mar 2001, 20:35

It's obivious you know nothing about Phil Carman's track record before he came to Sturt. Do you remember that incident Carman had with the umpire when he was playing in the reserves at Essendon. If you ask me Carman has the runs on the board as far being a sook and bad loser not Williams.

Blues_Brat
28 Mar 2001, 00:00
Carman is the messiah. Don't forget it. At least we dont have to worry about any Sturt players being injured in the State game, theres no chance any will be be picked with Williams as the coach, no matter how well they are playing. Actually if Williams was smart he'd play all Sturt players so Port would have a chance of beating them. Lucky Williams has the IQ of a pot plant.

Jabsy
29 Mar 2001, 14:14

It's a well known fact that all Port Adelaide people are bad at losing.

Sturt on the other hand are good losers. They'd have to be, they've had enough practice...

Jabsy
29 Mar 2001, 14:16
It's obivious you know nothing about Phil Carman's track record before he came to Sturt. Do you remember that incident Carman had with the umpire when he was playing in the reserves at Essendon. If you ask me Carman has the runs on the board as far being a sook and bad loser not Williams.

Was that the same game he cracked the supporter on the other side of the fence as well?? Yeah what a great role model to have as a coach. But then again Sturt were desperate...

Jerome
29 Mar 2001, 16:44
Originally posted by Blues_Brat:
Carman is the messiah. Don't forget it.

How could I forget it? It's one of the funniest things I've read this week!

Carman the messiah? Is'nt this bloke on a one year contract? Didnt he have to fight and plead with the board to get his one year contract? Were'nt there very strong rumours all year last year that he was gonna get the flick and that the board had the shits with him? Didnt he also have a punch up with a Sturt supporter after a game last year?

blueboy0
29 Mar 2001, 18:41
Originally posted by Nod:
Blueboy I think you are the sook and can't handle losing. You should be improving in this area as you get a lot of practice - SANFL record for consecutive wooden spoons.
You are the loser pal !

Yes pal I am the loser. What does it mean if we knocked the maggots out of the finals last year and obviously finished above them. You are the wanker, oops winner. Pal.

blueboy0
29 Mar 2001, 18:46
The sooner Carman quits writing for the Advertiser the better!

It doesnt matter what the minority think or say.

blueboy0
29 Mar 2001, 18:59
Originally posted by Macca19:
This coming from someone who supports Phil Carman, the biggest sook and loser in the history of the game. The man wh oblamed Ports abundance of AFL talent for losing the 98 Grand Final, instead of wondering why players such as Jarrod Twitt kicked 5 behinds and 2 on the full from a 35m radius thruout the day. The man who accused Port of playing the man to win the grand final.

Yep and william's excuses for last seasons departure centered around browns departure on a stretcher. Instead of crying about brown getting carried off due to an excellent bump, why didn't he question his team's discipline, commitment and courage when 2 so-called senior players ie .. chalmbers and carter threw punches at 2 of our blokes behind the play, these cowardly acts did nothing as when they occured the match was a forgone conclusion.
Is that whay you would call intimidation?

blueboy0
29 Mar 2001, 19:03

As a maggot supporter you are one to talk about incidents. How can you compare Phil Carman's record with people like granger, mahney and carter.

blueboy0
29 Mar 2001, 19:07
Originally posted by Jabsy:
It's a well known fact that all Port Adelaide people are bad at losing.

Sturt on the other hand are good losers. They'd have to be, they've had enough practice...

Exactly, we are the losers that knocked the maggots out of finals last year. So, in other words the maggots are the winners.

blueboy0
29 Mar 2001, 19:09
Was that the same game he cracked the supporter on the other side of the fence as well?? Yeah what a great role model to have as a coach. But then again Sturt were desperate...

granger went to jail. Case closed.

blueboy0
29 Mar 2001, 19:13
How could I forget it? It's one of the funniest things I've read this week!

Carman the messiah? Is'nt this bloke on a one year contract? Didnt he have to fight and plead with the board to get his one year contract? Were'nt there very strong rumours all year last year that he was gonna get the flick and that the board had the shits with him? Didnt he also have a punch up with a Sturt supporter after a game last year?

Phil Carmans team still finished above sookies team and it was Phil team that was responsible. Sooky would want to do something this year, because just ask egbert contracts were meant to be broken.

Macca19
29 Mar 2001, 19:19
Originally posted by blueboy0:
As a maggot supporter you are one to talk about incidents. How can you compare Phil Carman's record with people like granger, mahney and carter.

HAHAHA. Your comparing Mahney to Carman!!! Mahney would of been reported maybe 2 or 3 times in his career!!! my god..you really have no clue!!! Thank god for Sturt fans like Blues_Girl who actually know what they are talking about....unlike complete uneducated ********s like you.
Yes, you knocked us out the finals last year, good for you, are you gonna rely on that for the next 5 years are you? Tell me Blueboy...how many premiership have you won in the last 20 years?? Hey?? Zero was it!!! What a surprise. **** off from this board...you give good Sturt supporters Like Blues_Girl a bad name

Macca19
29 Mar 2001, 19:21
Exactly, we are the losers that knocked the maggots out of finals last year. So, in other words the maggots are the winners.

Keep relying on that one game BlueBoy...if yo uthink your a winner...good for you http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif Pity noone else does.

Macca19
29 Mar 2001, 19:24
Phil Carmans team still finished above sookies team and it was Phil team that was responsible. Sooky would want to do something this year, because just ask egbert contracts were meant to be broken.

[/B]
What is an egbert?? Sooky? Why would he need to do anything?? He has won us 3 premierships from 4 grand finals, and a lowest spot of 4th in 5 years. What has Carman done compared to Williams?

carb70
30 Mar 2001, 09:33

What have those 3 got to do with topic?, shit for brains. I don't see any Port supporters suggesting any of those 3 should be state coach also those 3 might have a reputation for hitting other players, Manhey and Carter are nowhere near as bad as Granger though but pretty F A G boy Carman hit an umpire. If you ask me thats a soft target because no matter what the umpire was never going to hit him back. What a real man Carman is, but then again he did used to wear white boots.

[This message has been edited by carb70 (edited 29 March 2001).]

Uncle Steve
30 Mar 2001, 12:55
Manhey and Carter are nowhere near as bad as Granger though

Yeah, but that's not saying much, 'coz nobody is anywhere near as bad as Granger...

Nod
30 Mar 2001, 17:38
Yes pal I am the loser. What does it mean if we knocked the maggots out of the finals last year and obviously finished above them. You are the wanker, oops winner. Pal.

You are correct in that you knocked us out of the finals last year.You played well but lasted only one more week. One finals victory in 24 years hardly affords you bragging rights, however a SANFL record of 7 consecutive Wooden spoons certainly qualifies you to speak of losing with authority.
Notwithstanding the crap we speak on these lines good luck for season 2001 and long live the SANFL.

Blues_Brat
31 Mar 2001, 16:53
I still maintain that Carman is the messiah. He took the team that no one wanted.. a team that finished bottom for 6 years and got them into the grand final in 3 years. Granted they fell over at the last hurdle, but you cant blame Phil for poor kicking, any more than you can blame Russell Ebert for all the kicks that hit the post in his last game as coach of Port.

Jabsy
3 Apr 2001, 07:18
granger went to jail. Case closed.

For growing dope, not being a thug on the footy field.

Keep digging...

Sturt
3 Apr 2001, 17:20
Originally posted by Nod:
You are correct in that you knocked us out of the finals last year.You played well but lasted only one more week. One finals victory in 24 years hardly affords you bragging rights, however a SANFL record of 7 consecutive Wooden spoons certainly qualifies you to speak of losing with authority.
Notwithstanding the crap we speak on these lines good luck for season 2001 and long live the SANFL.

Here here and heres to Sturt kicking port's arse again thus former loser beating current loser.

Sturt
3 Apr 2001, 17:24

Keep digging...

Oh that is allright then. He must be a true role model for all the fans at alberton. Has he ever worked for money other than his football days, why don't you dig a bit and tell me?

Macca19
3 Apr 2001, 21:51
Originally posted by Sturt:

Keep digging...

Oh that is allright then. He must be a true role model for all the fans at alberton. Has he ever worked for money other than his football days, why don't you dig a bit and tell me?

Good onya Blueboy!!! Youve learned how to create different aliases!!

Grave Danger
4 Apr 2001, 12:07

Keep digging...

Which Sturt player got caught pinching money from his own team mates' change rooms?

Jabsy
4 Apr 2001, 13:38

Keep digging...

He must be a true role model for all the fans at alberton.

Rather have a dope-grower as a role model than an umpire head-butter.

Carman only "took the team that nobody else wanted" cos he was desperate for a gig. That's how hard up he was to get back into footy, had to take on the biggest pile of shit that's ever existed in any of the Aussie football leagues. Gotta start somewhere I guess, and he couldn't go any lower than Sturt.

I guess that makes him the rock-spider of coaches then?? Maybe even the parasite living underneath the rock-spiders toes...

eddie eagle
5 Apr 2001, 15:04
Originally posted by Uncle Steve:
Yeah, but that's not saying much, 'coz nobody is anywhere near as bad as Granger...

mahney is one of very few footballers to be reported - found guilty & suspended for KICKING. An extremely classy addition to anyone's playing resume. it is something that annoys him enormously!!