View Full Version : Lewis Johnston
Demons 21
12 Jun 2008, 13:20
Just wondering if anyone is able to provide information about him, ive heard he is having a very good carnival.
Thanks
NQTIGER
12 Jun 2008, 16:50
Didnt he win the 100m at seoul?
one 4 the road
12 Jun 2008, 16:57
Didnt he win the 100m at seoul?
Close Tiger but no cigar, it was Ben.
Just went through all the team lists and I can't find his name, who does he play for?
Probably dumb and I will howled down but so be it I just can't see his name.
Demons 21
12 Jun 2008, 17:06
Dont know what Junior Club but has had two big performances for SA in the Under 18 Carnival. Hes also part of the AIS academy i think
Trucklover
12 Jun 2008, 21:10
hes from pt pirie in country sa and plays u/17s for north but really should push for games in higher grades at some stage in the season. one of the best kicks u will see on both feet and kicks atleast 60 meteres no joke. pretty tool and solid. would be a very good player if he sets his mind to it. give him a few years though. would be very surprised to see him play in his first season and expect only little amount in his 2nd season but hav no doubt wen he does get ther he will be worth the wait takes a good grab and has a thumping kick would be just wat the demons need in ther forward line now without neitz
ChaserJ
13 Jun 2008, 18:15
From the Prospectus:
Lewis Johnstone Key Forward 192cm
North Adelaide 3/03/1991 87kg
Johnstone is a power forward who averaged 13 disposals and three marks at the 2007 NAB AFL Under-16 Championships. While his numbers at that carnival were only modest, he spent the 2007 season in the SANFL U-17's where he produced some impressive performances. He kicked 31 goals in 20 games and was named in the best players on seven occasions, proving to be not only strong overhead but also at ground level.
Jason Macartney on SA v WA game:
SOUTH AUSTRALIA v WESTERN AUSTRALIA
South Australia
"Lewis Johnston – He was outstanding. In a losing side, which went down by 64 points, he was a standout. Playing at centre half-forward, he took 10 marks, including six contested. He also had five inside 50s and he was by far the best key position player on the ground.
He presented really well, but what was really great was his lateral movement. And that is such a key for a centre half-forward – you can't be just that one straight lead-up player. You've got to move laterally. He did it really well and his hands were superb all day.
That should be a benchmark performance for Lewis. If he can get his work-rate up."
Definitely worth a look with the Dee's second draft selection.
Richard Cranium
13 Jun 2008, 18:31
hes from pt pirie in country sa and plays u/17s for north but really should push for games in higher grades at some stage in the season. one of the best kicks u will see on both feet and kicks atleast 60 meteres no joke. pretty tool and solid. would be a very good player if he sets his mind to it. give him a few years though. would be very surprised to see him play in his first season and expect only little amount in his 2nd season but hav no doubt wen he does get ther he will be worth the wait takes a good grab and has a thumping kick would be just wat the demons need in ther forward line now without neitz
Jeez, that's a bit harsh! I'm sure he's a nice bloke. ;)
__aria__
13 Jun 2008, 18:50
Can give it a fair roost on both legs
Johnny Boy
13 Jun 2008, 22:42
undoubted talent but have heard reports (and seen) his poor attitude - drops the head etc. when things dont go his way
Mates with guy and this has improved significantly after his recent trip to South Africa, he is now very focused.
The kid is a gun. Nuff said
GreaT SourcE
5 Jul 2008, 13:17
Is Lewis eligible to be drafted this year..?
TFLUA-Tiger
5 Jul 2008, 17:59
Yep - I have him down as a second or third round pick GS.
Probably around 20-35 mark.
Of reasonable pace, and with really good athleticism - complete with a bounding leap - Lewis positions himself really well. Has very good hands, and is capable of taking some very good grabs. As has been mentioned, is a thumping kick, and just as good on either foot.
What lets Johnston down at times is his work ethic. Doesn't seem to be interested at times, and appears to be too harsh on himself, which leads to him going back into his shell.
If he can realise he'll make a few mistakes - we all do - and keep working all day long - he'll become a much better player - and a player every club will be having a good look at come draft time.
windsock
5 Jul 2008, 22:43
I didn't think he was eligible for this draft.
TFLUA-Tiger
5 Jul 2008, 22:50
I didn't think he was eligible for this draft.
Looking at his DOB he's only 17 - I don't know the eligibility rules off the top of my head - does anyone know the ruling?
Richard Cranium
5 Jul 2008, 22:57
Cut off is April 30. So he is eligible.
GreaT SourcE
5 Jul 2008, 23:54
Yep - I have him down as a second or third round pick GS.
Probably around 20-35 mark.
Of reasonable pace, and with really good athleticism - complete with a bounding leap - Lewis positions himself really well. Has very good hands, and is capable of taking some very good grabs. As has been mentioned, is a thumping kick, and just as good on either foot.
What lets Johnston down at times is his work ethic. Doesn't seem to be interested at times, and appears to be too harsh on himself, which leads to him going back into his shell.
If he can realise he'll make a few mistakes - we all do - and keep working all day long - he'll become a much better player - and a player every club will be having a good look at come draft time.
Thanks guys. :thumbsu:
I reckon he'll be the bolter Tiges, I've got a funny feeling that recruiters are very very excited with his upside and that he'll be picked up anywhere between 10-25 mark. But I'm not 'in the know', so it's only a guess/gut feeling.
GreaT SourcE
6 Jul 2008, 18:06
This is where I got the impression of him being ineligible this year.
Lewis Johnston – Bottom-aged tall forward, Johnston (192cm), is also from North Adelaide and he shows great promise. He leads the competition in contested marking. His 10 markes up forward against WA in a beaten side was impressive along with 4 goals in game 1 from limited opportunities.
It's from Shifter's Wrap which is on afl.com.au.
Realistic Tiger
6 Jul 2008, 18:39
Wouldn't mind of the Tigers took him. With Richo going around at least 1 more year maybe 2 it would give him time to develop his game further. Think he would slot in nicely along side Riewoldt on a flank and Hughes at FF.
TFLUA-Tiger
6 Jul 2008, 19:30
This is where I got the impression of him being ineligible this year.
It's from Shifter's Wrap which is on afl.com.au.
Bottom aged means he can go this year, but still play U18's and be eligible again next year. Same set of circumstances as Gaertner, Rockliff and Zaharakis.
Snoop Dog
6 Jul 2008, 19:50
Fwds that take contested marks get highly rated. Seen him play and i think he is a 10-20 chance. Exactly the sort the Pies would look at this year.
GreaT SourcE
6 Jul 2008, 21:36
Fwds that take contested marks get highly rated. Seen him play and i think he is a 10-20 chance. Exactly the sort the Pies would look at this year.
Yep, I also think he is a 10-20 chance, a bit of a bolter.
Im personally hoping the crows take him with our first pick. Saw some footage of him and he can take a grab, and since we stocked up on mid's last year, and with all the changes to the draft next year i would prefer if the crows took him with the 1st pick and considering where we'll finish he should be there from at pick 10 or so.
Just out of curiosity besides Watts who is the next best KPF??
192cm power forward?
Seems a bit small to really go the push and shove at AFL level.
That said, he's bottom aged, so hopefully he's a still got a few cms of growth in him.
GreaT SourcE
7 Jul 2008, 03:14
Im personally hoping the crows take him with our first pick. Saw some footage of him and he can take a grab, and since we stocked up on mid's last year, and with all the changes to the draft next year i would prefer if the crows took him with the 1st pick and considering where we'll finish he should be there from at pick 10 or so.
Just out of curiosity besides Watts who is the next best KPF??
Probably a whole bunch of them after Watts. Johnston & Cornelius would have to lead the pack though, with Lynch, Cahill & Butcher keeping them on their toes.
McManus2Waterhouse
9 Jul 2008, 12:59
BOG today looks great
Thunderstruck
9 Jul 2008, 15:18
Yer apart from the odd silly undisciplined act he played a solid game. HARD worker, around the packs, strong on the lead, clean first grabs - plenty of contested marking ability. That has always been his best asset, strong hands. But is a real goer, can play well up the ground and find the footy and at 189cm could become a very dangerous marking/floater across half forward at AFL. Ryan O'Keefe written all over him or perhaps a better version of Nick Gill. Love the hair - dead ringer for Geoff of Home and Away.
Should get AA.
TheVelourFog
9 Jul 2008, 15:24
Thunderstruck, if you had to choose between Johnston and Cornelius at this stage who would you go for and why? I think they both played well today but who would be better.
Sticks_Of_Fury
9 Jul 2008, 18:05
Thunderstruck, if you had to choose between Johnston and Cornelius at this stage who would you go for and why? I think they both played well today but who would be better.
I think Johnston went to the game and watched them play today, Johnston seems to have a few more strings to the bow then that of Cornelius. I really like how Johnston moves around the ground and as well as the sticky hands is good on ground level.
But is a real goer, can play well up the ground and find the footy and at 189cm could become a very dangerous marking/floater across half forward at AFL.
Looks taller than that. I thought he was listed as 192?
Thunderstruck
9 Jul 2008, 18:43
Looks taller than that. I thought he was listed as 192?
Just going by what Kev Sheehan said today. Didn't have the list at hand when I typed that.
In answer to the earlier question, I would rate him just about Cornelius yes. His hands are just so damn sticky and that leg of his is something that will be very valuable at AFL level plus his ability to play almost as a tall midfield at times. Big engine, really impressive carnival. Taking nothing away from Cornelius who is also pretty damn good but yer if I had both at my disposal to pick, I'd take Johnston atm.
windsock
9 Jul 2008, 18:50
I thought they moved the date back four months.
aaronm46
9 Jul 2008, 19:05
played good against nsw
TheBigUnit
9 Jul 2008, 19:32
Was impressive today albeit against low standard opposition - quick off the mark and took several good marks both on the lead and contested - definitely has some X-factor about him.
192cm power forward?
Should you or I tell Pavlich to hang up the boots?
Wow it really shits me people trying to say 192 is too short to play KPP at AFL:thumbsd:
Anyway, very briefly played with Lewis in juniors, was a monster ruckman back in the day.
Bourky23
9 Jul 2008, 22:22
absolute superstar this kid:thumbsu: a real presence up forward.. really, really impressed me today
only saw the second half of the the SA game today but was impressed by this kid. Had a bit of biffo with his opponent and gave away a few free kicks and almost started a brawl at three quarter time, i like him
Oggy's cousin
10 Jul 2008, 01:21
192cm power forward?
That said, he's bottom aged, so hopefully he's a still got a few cms of growth in him.
What is the fascination with height? 192cm is tall enough for a CHF. Most of the best key fwds are around the 192cm mark. I think the worst type of players are the one's around 197-200cm, they are too big/ not agile enough for forward line and too small for ruck.
Fevola - 191cm
Bradshaw - 191cm
Pavlich - 192cm
Lloyd - 192cm
Lucas - 192cm
Roughead - 193cm
Hall - 194cm
Mooney - 195cm
Brown - 195cm
Franklin - 196cm
Cloke - 196cm
Banga19
15 Aug 2008, 01:21
I really like the sound of him. But, unfortunetly he sounds like he isn't quite ratd highly enough for Carlton to pick him up with first round, and might well be gone by our second round! :mad:
You guys traded for cain ackland, good get:D:D
He is the guy you guys could use, a lead up CHF, with strong hands, nice long kick, but, your loss if you over look him.;)
Well firstly I've gotta defend my club and say we didn't actually trade for Ackland we got him in the PSD (still a crap decision).
Now onto the actual issue of Johnston. It's hard to say as I've really only seen a couple of games of most of the contenders for our first pick but I'd really like us to go for Johnston.
I don't like doing comparisons but he does seem to be the Ryan O'Keefe type of player that we are desperate for. His lateral movement is impressive and he really seems to have a great engine while his marking appears very good. As others have said the height issue is simply irrelevant even if he is slightly below the 192cm.
TheGeneral
15 Aug 2008, 13:45
You guys traded for cain ackland, good get:D:D
Carlton didn't trade for Ackland.
We picked Ackland in the PSD.
He is the guy you guys could use, a lead up CHF, with strong hands, nice long kick, but, your loss if you over look him.;)
It isn't a loss if we pick a better footballer and draft a gun player like Ziebell or Yarran.
The BigFooty judges had Jetta rated ahead of Grigg. ;) :cool:
TheBigUnit
15 Aug 2008, 14:30
QO4zrdK9jys
Modra93
16 Aug 2008, 18:03
thats very good bigunit. did you make that? top notch.. too bad they didnt get his biffo on camera ha
Bourky23
16 Aug 2008, 19:11
IMO has the best hands in the draft, and that video confirms my thoughts.. just doesn't drop any grabs
GreaT SourcE
16 Aug 2008, 21:46
IMO has the best hands in the draft, and that video confirms my thoughts.. just doesn't drop any grabs
Has very good hands, but I think Aaron Cornelius just gets Johnston's measure in the marking department. Infact, I think Cornelius has the best dukes out of all this years bunch of youngsters.
TheGeneral
16 Aug 2008, 23:24
Has very good hands, but I think Aaron Cornelius just gets Johnston's measure in the marking department. Infact, I think Cornelius has the best dukes out of all this years bunch of youngsters.
Watts must be pretty damn special at everything else if Cornelius is a better mark and Watts is drafted top three. :confused:
Bourky23
17 Aug 2008, 01:18
don't get me wrong, watts also has fantastic hands.. there are some great marks of the football this year.. johnston and cornelius are both more similar to riewoldt and o'keefe.. watts is much better at pack crunching than the other two (yet is still mobile on the lead etc) watts is a better package
GreaT SourcE
17 Aug 2008, 11:41
Watts must be pretty damn special at everything else if Cornelius is a better mark and Watts is drafted top three. :confused:
Watts is way more mobile footballer than Cornelius and has a more solid, footballer's build added onto that, so he has a better package, but I still think Cornelius still has the best hands out of this years bunch.
Future Star
17 Aug 2008, 12:14
Has anyone seen Lewis playing recently and if so how is he going??
Kicked 5 for North Adelaide yesterday.
Ebert80
18 Aug 2008, 01:25
You might want to mention which grade - i'm not being smart, just saying that it wasn't North's league side (i presume it was under 19's given that they played on Saturday?).
17s;)
buddie love
18 Aug 2008, 11:52
yeh its a bit weird that sum1 of johnstones talent could be playing 17's. you would think that north adelaide being a club that has struggled with form would have maybe considered johnstone in the league team. how bout this stat. johnstone got 38 touches from the middle a couple of week ago.. not bad for a big lad
TheGeneral
18 Aug 2008, 12:41
Watts is way more mobile footballer than Cornelius and has a more solid, footballer's build added onto that, so he has a better package, but I still think Cornelius still has the best hands out of this years bunch.
What position will Cornelius play at AFL level?
The majority of Carlton supporters are wanting us to poach McKinley.
I'd rather we keep our second rounder to use on a marking half forward who can create and kick as many goals as we could get out of McKinley.
The Grover
18 Aug 2008, 15:21
yeh its a bit weird that sum1 of johnstones talent could be playing 17's. you would think that north adelaide being a club that has struggled with form would have maybe considered johnstone in the league team. how bout this stat. johnstone got 38 touches from the middle a couple of week ago.. not bad for a big lad
Surprised he's not playing senior SANFL, anyone know why.
Is it because he's bottom aged?
GreaT SourcE
18 Aug 2008, 15:38
I'd rather we keep our second rounder to use on a marking half forward who can create and kick as many goals as we could get out of McKinley.
Probably FF/CHF. I'd suspect he'd be gone before your second round pick though.
buddie love
18 Aug 2008, 16:08
Probably FF/CHF. I'd suspect he'd be gone before your second round pick though.
nah honstly this guy is really not big enough to hold chf or ff. his jump isnt huge eiher which would make it hard for him to play even taller.
GreaT SourcE
18 Aug 2008, 16:17
nah honstly this guy is really not big enough to hold chf or ff. his jump isnt huge eiher which would make it hard for him to play even taller.
He is 192cm and still has a centimetre or two to grow still.
Some examples of good full forwards' heights are ;
Matthew Lloyd - 192cm & Brendon Fevola - 191cm just to name a few.
He has very sticky hands which also goes in his favour when the ball is in the air.
BryceGibbs#4
18 Aug 2008, 16:54
Kicked 6 the week before that, in the under 17's though. Would have liked to have seen him kick a few of these bags in the seniors against the men, that would of given us a fair idea of where he is at.
Surprised he's not playing senior SANFL, anyone know why.
Is it because he's bottom aged?
It's just a North Adelaide thing, they are notouriously slow in progressing their junior KPP prospects through the grades. Take current North Melbourne rookie Mike Wundke who booted 100 goals a year almost 4 years in juniors in a row before he was given a consistant game in merely reserves grade.
Kicked 6 the week before that, in the under 17's though. Would have liked to have seen him kick a few of these bags in the seniors against the men, that would of given us a fair idea of where he is at.
kicked 6 in one of the worst games of junior footy i have ever seen, North beat Centrals by 180 points. I have seen Lewis last 3 games, the 38 touch game, yeah got a lot of possesions but didnt use the ball overly well. 6 goal game ive mentioned and i only saw the first half sat where he kicked 5 and was quite in the first half probably only had 4-5 kicks and 1-2 goals.
Will be a good footballer i do not doubt that BUT i think North are holding up his development, they are a little obsessed with winning the 17s premiership and wont put him or Dale Armstrong up the grades.
Cruiser23
19 Aug 2008, 17:20
I'm with you TG, I don't think McKinley will solve our problems up forward and I would give a second round in our situation. He would be very good icing on the cake for us. I still think he is a very good young player and i would definitley want him at Carlton as long as we still have our second round pick. Pick 6, pick 24 and McKinley would be very good for us, not sure how this would work but it would be ideal.
Cornelius is Brad Fisher that has a better kick and plays much close to goal. I personally don't think he is who we need either. Also I agree with Great Source, I doubt he will be their for our second round pick anyway.
Banga19
28 Aug 2008, 18:52
Would it be an enormous upset if Carlton took him at pick 6? Does anyone see this as a possibility?
Bourky23
28 Aug 2008, 21:08
i reckon he's the forgotten man.. all the rage during the carnival then once it's back to TAC only the vic boys get mentioned.. scouts would no doubt still be following him.. i still think the most logical fit is around pick 11 or 12 or whatever sydney get.. i reckon he'll be a swan
Would it be an enormous upset if Carlton took him at pick 6? Does anyone see this as a possibility?
Wouldn't be that surprising to me ... he's very talented, got good athleticism, versatile and bottom aged - was just talking to a mate in Adelaide and he reckons he's the best KPP talent from SA since Pavlich (pretty big wraps). Personally I much prefer his characteristics to Hurley. As Bourky23 said hasn't got the BF hype because he's from SA and most watchers here seem to be from Vic and WA, so he doesn't get seen and reported on every week ... there doesn't seem to be many SA watchers on BF, is it always like this or are they just quiet this year?
Cruiser23
28 Aug 2008, 21:31
i reckon he's the forgotten man.. all the rage during the carnival then once it's back to TAC only the vic boys get mentioned.. scouts would no doubt still be following him.. i still think the most logical fit is around pick 11 or 12 or whatever sydney get.. i reckon he'll be a swan
I'm with you, i think he'll end up being a Swan although Yarran and maybe Robinson might be in the mix aswell.
Just because he is SA boy and Key forward doesnt mean he is worth first rounder.
Inside Info it will not happend.
Please people use your heads.
Dave The Man
30 Oct 2008, 15:42
Just because he is SA boy and Key forward doesnt mean he is worth first rounder.
Please people use your heads.
We are and that's why we have him at 10:)
there are so many brilliant players in this draft. Probably 15-20 of them are much better than Lewis, so why would we pick him up at 10?
How dare anyone argue with BigFooty concensus!
Johnstone is going to the Crows and Blease is going to Collingwood. So let it be written, so let it be done.
I assume by "inside info", you're talking inside your pants, because I'd be willing to be all money that you really have no clue as to what Adelaide are thinking.
numbat06
30 Oct 2008, 17:17
just like your inside info that you wont say,
that freo rate vickery and hill higher then rich?
Porps_is_HOT_loz
30 Oct 2008, 17:18
I love this thread, because I know that we wont pick him either.
Please pick Ryan...... Ryan Schoenmakers (L)
Dave The Man
30 Oct 2008, 17:19
I love this thread, because I know that we wont pick him either.
Where you getting the Infomation From?
Porps_is_HOT_loz
30 Oct 2008, 17:22
Where you getting the Infomation From?
That guy, who says he talked to a recruting manager.
I want this guy in Red and White next year. We desperately need some young blood in ther forward line.
Lewis had a West Coast recruiter at his house the other week,
@ Lewis going to Collingwood, he is a Collingwood supporter not that it means much.
Are they keen on him? Would've thought they'd be pretty happy with their CHF prospects.
COLLY4EVA
30 Oct 2008, 22:04
that would be great if he went to collingwood.Lewis had a West Coast recruiter at his house the other week,
@ Lewis going to Collingwood, he is a Collingwood supporter not that it means much.
COLLY4EVA
30 Oct 2008, 22:14
are you for real?I love this thread, because I know that we wont pick him either.
Dave The Man
30 Oct 2008, 22:56
Well he is a Smart Boy At Least,
What do you mean by this Comment:
@ Lewis going to Collingwood,
Don't get that
Dave The Man
30 Oct 2008, 22:56
that would be great if he went to collingwood.
1 Problem is that we have too many Young Exciting Forwards, Unless he want to become a KP Defender
Well he is a Smart Boy At Least,
What do you mean by this Comment:
Don't get that
Earlier in the thread there was talk of Lewis going to Collingwood.
Dave The Man
30 Oct 2008, 23:00
Why would we want another Tall Forward Snoop?
King Elvis
31 Oct 2008, 11:44
I'd be surprised if he hadn't had at least 10 sides interview him.
COLLY4EVA
31 Oct 2008, 14:11
Try all clubs and two to three interviews by more than a few clubs.so ive heard by locals.not sure about brisbane though.i'd be surprised if he hadn't had at least 10 sides interview him.
Bourky23
31 Oct 2008, 15:38
oooo good point.. collingwood is a real chance to now that i think about it
Dave The Man
31 Oct 2008, 16:02
oooo good point.. collingwood is a real chance to now that i think about it
Why would we draft him?
Bourky23
31 Oct 2008, 16:28
coz IMO all your KPF's are not star potential.. they are all players who punch above their weight, well at least IMO.. i reckon he'd add a great dimension to your forward line and he's the type of player Hine usually goes for..
having said that i still think you'll pick Swift
COLLY4EVA
31 Oct 2008, 16:31
Who knows they prob wont.but lewy being such a dedicated collingwood supporter it would be a bonus for the lad.has admired bucks all his life.why would we draft him?
Macca19
31 Oct 2008, 17:34
That guy, who says he talked to a recruting manager.
So in other words, you know nothing.
I think the whole David Gourdis drama from last year shows that most people here have not much idea of whats gonna happen.
Cruiser23
31 Oct 2008, 17:39
I think the whole David Gourdis drama from last year shows that most people here have not much idea of whats gonna happen.
Speaking of Gourdis, the fella just got delisted today from the Tigers.
Dave The Man
31 Oct 2008, 17:42
Speaking of Gourdis, the fella just got delisted today from the Tigers.
Well, They you go
Consumed
2 Nov 2008, 13:33
Should you or I tell Pavlich to hang up the boots?
Wow it really shits me people trying to say 192 is too short to play KPP at AFL:thumbsd:
Anyway, very briefly played with Lewis in juniors, was a monster ruckman back in the day.
I agree. Trent Croad does pretty well.
Its not so the much the height, but the body mass and what they can do with it.
Indeed, its fun to sepculate though. What else are we going to talk about, the Redbacks?:(