View Full Version : Do I dare?.... Murphy vs. Pendlebury

Pages : [1] 2

gouldy_34
12 Jun 2008, 23:30
I've never seen these two compared before:rolleyes: so I thought id bring it up.

But seriously, as a Carlton supporter I've been watching quite closely our young talent moving forward, including Marc Murphy and being someone who is relatively unbiased, I am willing to admit that Pendlebury has been better than Murphy, those who can't see that are not worth listening to.

But, during the past few weeks, Murphy has increased his work rate ten fold, he's really doing the hard stuff, the one percenters and his kicking has developed well in the past few weeks. I believe he was the player who got us over the line against Port (him and Kruezer). Enough about Carlton.

I know Pendlebury has been injured and apart from the fact that he is very smart for his age as a footballer, that he gets a lot of the pill and that he is a class act, i dont know a lot about Pendlebury.

Just want to know how you people compare these two, in all facets.

Keep your opinions within reason and dont just say Murphy or Pendlebury bcus you barrack for either team.

Id like to keep this thread off bay 13 for at least 50 posts:D

frantelle
12 Jun 2008, 23:35
takes a lot of guts to say all that

i havent watched a lot of carlton this year but pendlebury just has this incredible awareness and seems to get through heavy traffic with ease. i dont know how he does it

both will be very good players for many years

TwisTz
12 Jun 2008, 23:35
Pendles has better skills and is ahead at the moment for 2008.

In saying that I think Murphy is a gun and will only get better.

didak04
12 Jun 2008, 23:37
I believe Pendlebury is marginally better thus far but Murphy has gone ahead in leaps and bounds this year and will overtake him soon enough.

alfiiee
12 Jun 2008, 23:40
if i could get one person from carlton it would be him (besides fev),, love him as a player and will one day be a champion of the game.

Pendles probably has a lot more of the ball and a better player atm skill wise etc but both are young and look foward to seeing them grow as time goes on.
:thumbsu:

Ron
12 Jun 2008, 23:41
If Murphy had Pendlebury's disposal skills he would be a gun.
No doubt his disposal is improving, but it can still be pretty woeful at times.

Lupton Warchild Pittman
12 Jun 2008, 23:41
A Dime a dozen 5 10' plodder V a 6 3 midfielder/come forward. Simple comparison.

Timmy from Thomastown
12 Jun 2008, 23:46
All I know is, thank God Murphy chose not to go to Fitzroy under the father-son rule. We got Pendlebury and Thomas out of that decision.:thumbsu:

hellfire
12 Jun 2008, 23:49
Good objective OP. :thumbsu:

Murphy is probably the better in-and-under, but Pendlebury definately has the better skills. Both can kick goals, but Pendlebury can play as a key forward given his size and overhead marking. The thing that sets them apart for me is the evasiveness and time in congestion, which is an invaluable asset, and is unbelievably creative - but goes unnoticed because of how easy players like Black, Dal Santo and Pendlebury make it look.

Pendlebury for me, not by a large margin, Murphy will be a star too.

walkers a legend
12 Jun 2008, 23:55
Murphy has been very impressive thus far and gets alot of kicks (2nd in the comp i think) so as he develops great skills over time (kicking mainly) he will be so much more damaging and one of the best mids in the game imo.

But at this point Pendles just.

Timmy from Thomastown
12 Jun 2008, 23:55
a woeful attempt to suck the the substance out of this thread...:thumbsd:

Simplistic and insulting, but probably true. A good skilled goalkicking 6 ft 3 midfielder is much harder to find than a midsized midpaced player with only reasonable skills.

walkers a legend
13 Jun 2008, 00:06
Simplistic and insulting, but probably true. A good skilled goalkicking 6 ft 3 midfielder is much harder to find than a midsized midpaced player with only reasonable skills.
But Murphy is a natural footballer and was made to play this game which makes up for not being a genetic freak.

Masten2McKinley
13 Jun 2008, 00:07
I think Murphy will be the better player at the end of 2019 but in 2008 pendles has it for me

hellfire
13 Jun 2008, 00:07

I agree with that (in terms of which is more rare), but it's obvious that Murphy is extremely talented, and is more than a "plodder". Going to be a star for sure.

Timmy from Thomastown
13 Jun 2008, 00:09
But Murphy is a natural footballer and was made to play this game which makes up for not being a genetic freak.

I'm sure thats what Freo said about Haselby when they took him at pick one, too.

Timmy from Thomastown
13 Jun 2008, 00:10
I agree with that (in terms of which is more rare), but it's obvious that Murphy is extremely talented, and is more than a "plodder". Going to be a star for sure.

Definitely not a plodder.

The Dr
13 Jun 2008, 00:12
If you had've asked this question at the start of the year, I would've laughed. Pendles is brilliant, silky smooth with great disposal while I thought Murph was a bit of a plodder with average skills.

But,

This year Murph has narrowed the gap. He has really impressed me and looks to be rising fast, while Pendles has probably plateaud a bit (a few injuries haven't helped)

But all up, I'd still take Pendles and reckon he will be a genuine star in a couple of years (if he isn't already)!

Thommo 42
13 Jun 2008, 00:55
I'm sure thats what Freo said about Haselby when they took him at pick one, too.you mean when they took him at Pick 2 after we took Fraser at Pick 1?

As for the question.

I'm calling it even, but they are completely different players.

Murphy is an absolute hard nut with above average disposal, who wins alot of footy and also works strongly off the ball to provide opportunity for teammates.

Pendles is a freak in regards to awareness, some might call him soft but he simply avoids collision unless its neccessary to win the footy. He has elite disposal and vision and takes strong marks overhead. He needs to do more off the ball, but I understand the issue here is probably that the gameplan is for teammates to do the blocking so Pendlebury can get it, so its catch 22.

Murphy bursts through traffic, Pendles stops traffic.

pansies
13 Jun 2008, 01:25
For mine Pendlebury needs to look further up the field. He too often has little dinky kicks over the top. Yes I understand that he hits the target more often than not but sometimes he needs to take a bit more of a risk and he could be even more damaging. Having said that Robert Harvey is king of the 20m short kick and he seems to have done alright. I guess with collingwood missing someone like rusling there really isn't someone on the quick lead to aim for.

gouldy_34
13 Jun 2008, 01:28
For mine Pendlebury needs to look further up the field. He too often has little dinky kicks over the top. Yes I understand that he hits the target more often than not but sometimes he needs to take a bit more of a risk and he could be even more damaging. Having said that Robert Harvey is king of the 20m short kick and he seems to have done alright. I guess with collingwood missing someone like rusling there really isn't someone on the quick lead to aim for.
didak, thomas, medhurst, davis?

TheGeneral
13 Jun 2008, 01:33
All I know is, thank God Murphy chose not to go to Fitzroy under the father-son rule. We got Pendlebury and Thomas out of that decision.:thumbsu:
You may have ended up with both anyway.

I'm not sure Carlton we were interested in Thomas or Pendlebury at pick one, but the best available tall forward.
A good skilled goalkicking 6 ft 3 midfielder is much harder to find than a midsized midpaced player with only reasonable skills.
You'd rather have a Dal Santo than a Bartel?

Murphy has kicked just as many goals as Pendlebury this year.

Murphy's hardness at the ball, hard running and ability to win the ball will take him to the elite level quicker.

Pendlebury might win an AA guernsey like Dal Santo, but he gets a lot of his kicks wider than Murphy and doesn't bring the ball straight up the guts like Murphy with hard running.

I don't consider it a case of Murphy having to catch Pendlebury when one has played good football over three seasons. :confused:

Pendlebury is evasive in traffic, but he still needs to learn a thing or two about the defensive side of the game and stop ball watching.

Murphy is a born footballer with his genetics.

btdg
13 Jun 2008, 01:52
Since this thread is repeated on just about a weekly basis, I think its only fair to rate them entirely on their performances last week.

Murphy was best on ground last week in a win against last-year's grand finalist. Pendlebury didn't get a touch, despite playing against Melbourne, who are rubbish. Therefore, Murphy is a vastly superior player.

We can do this again next week, too. See you then!

jako27
13 Jun 2008, 02:04
when playing west coast im more worried when pendles has the ball in hand than murphy

dalethomas13
13 Jun 2008, 02:11
Since this thread is repeated on just about a weekly basis, I think its only fair to rate them entirely on their performances last week.

Murphy was best on ground last week in a win against last-year's grand finalist. Pendlebury didn't get a touch, despite playing against Melbourne, who are rubbish. Therefore, Murphy is a vastly superior player.

Can't argue with that.;)

gouldy_34
13 Jun 2008, 02:25

ur attempt to make a fool out of me as the OP has only been over shadowed by your amazing ability to make a fool out of yourself. my god... what a tool u will feel like when u re-read ur post...:rolleyes:

That's deliberate
13 Jun 2008, 02:35
ur attempt to make a fool out of me as the OP has only been over shadowed by your amazing ability to make a fool out of yourself. my god... what a tool u will feel like when u re-read ur post.

lol

Gold:thumbsu:

he was been sarcastic..

....what a tool u will feel like when you re-read YOUR post..

bwahahaha

gouldy_34
13 Jun 2008, 02:38
lol

Gold:thumbsu:

he was been sarcastic..

....what a tool u will feel like when you re-read YOUR post..

bwahahaha
and i wasnt?....:)* . u following me around stats boy?

*ill make it clear

That's deliberate
13 Jun 2008, 02:42
and i wasnt?....:)* . u following me around stats boy?

*ill make it clear

i'd like to stick to the Facts rather then stats....:thumbsu:

There is a difference

each to there own i guess...no biggie ......whatever eases the pain.:thumbsu:

gouldy_34
13 Jun 2008, 03:55
i'd like to stick to the Facts rather then stats....:thumbsu:

There is a difference

each to there own i guess...no biggie ......whatever eases the pain.:thumbsu:
http://www.simplephrase.com/motivation/graphics/self-denial.jpg

trev106
13 Jun 2008, 04:50
I'am a Pendlebury fan. His a smart footballer, good user of the ball and has beautiful balance.

Magpie Since 1986
13 Jun 2008, 06:29
Pendlebury is evasive in traffic, but he still needs to learn a thing or two about the defensive side of the game and stop ball watching.

You need to learn a thing or two about not talking out your arse.

Pendlebury's defensive game is top notch. Way ahead of Murphy's

Pendlebury averages 5.4 tackles per game, Murphy averages 3.0 per game

(Pendlebury is ranked 3rd at Collingwood for tackles per game. Only behind notoriously hard tacklers in Burns and O'Bree. Murphy is ranked 12th at Carlton for tackles)

Pendlebury averages 4.9 1%ers per game, Murphy average 2.6 1%ers per game.

(Pendlebury is ranked 5th at Collingwood for 1%ers this year - the 4 players ahead of him are all key defenders who get extra 1%ers for spoils. Murphy is ranked 21st at Carlton for 1%ers)

So maybe it is Murphy that is the one that need to stop ball watching and provide a shepard, provide a spoil or a lay tackle? Because Pendlebury has that covered.

markr
13 Jun 2008, 08:28
A Dime a dozen 5 10' plodder V a 6 3 midfielder/come forward. Simple comparison.
By that logic he might be a brownlow chance, Ablett's only 6'1" or so and he'd have blokes like Aker, Harvey and Mitchell easily covered. Cooney might give him trouble though I think he's 6'3" odd.

Dynamics
13 Jun 2008, 08:53
Said it before... Murphy's a gun. And for me to say that about a Carlton player takes some doing, believe me!

Pendlebury is all class. He's just so clean with his disposal and is one of those rare players like Robert Harvey who seem to have an eternity in traffic... As though they're untouchable. I can understand the Dal Santo comparison but I think Pendles has moved beyond him and, as mentioned, is doing enough of the hard stuff to shake the "soft" label. 5.4 tackles per game is pretty decent!

On a side note, I don't think Pendlebury has plateaued yet as he hasn't achieved the body shape Malthouse wants for him. Apparently his training was geared too much towards endurance, robbing him of a little strength and explosive pace. Look for a bigger Pendles unit in 2009.

Both going to be stars for years. :thumbsu:

kelvin_sheedy
13 Jun 2008, 09:21
Murphy is easily the better player. I'd take him in a heart beat over Pendlebury.

Pendlebury is a little like Dal Santo a few years back. A lot of hype for a good average player.

Exhale You
13 Jun 2008, 09:23
They're both excellent prospects, but i'd take Murphy.

I believe his strengths are harder to find than Pendlebury's strengths.

Abba Lonie
13 Jun 2008, 10:10

That would suggest Bartel is less skilful than Dal Santo.

Ole Gill
13 Jun 2008, 10:19

See thats the shite the OP was talking about avoiding. Murphy is not a midsized, midpaced footballer. He's a genuine in and under player who has the inate ability to find the leather in close, which is just as desirable as the ability move through traffic that Pendles has.

In a couple of years time when Burns and O'bree are gone, I think Collingwood fans will understand how important someone like Murphy is.

As Murphy improves his disposal he'll edge ahead of Pendles for mine. But it's a moot point at the end of the day because both will be absolute guns.

The Big League
13 Jun 2008, 10:22
I think it's face to say neither club would swap players and supporters agree that Murphy is great in close and Pendles is a great user of the footy.

In essence they are both fantastic prospects, neither clearly better than the other. If there was a standout between the 2 this thread wouldn't exist.

SIMPLE!

Ole Gill
13 Jun 2008, 10:26
I'm interested to see what the next couple of years holds. Alot is said about Pendles still having learning to do cause he's a bit later to the game.

But for mine, the things that will make Pendles an absolute star are things that are just innate in him - his awareness, movement etc. They're not really going to improve that much.

Murphy has a glaring deficency in one area that players can improve on - his kicking. So arguably, Murphy actually may have more upside because there is alot more room for improvement in his game.

mdc
13 Jun 2008, 10:44
I'm interested to see what the next couple of years holds. Alot is said about Pendles still having learning to do cause he's a bit later to the game.

But for mine, the things that will make Pendles an absolute star are things that are just innate in him - his awareness, movement etc. They're not really going to improve that much.

Murphy has a glaring deficency in one area that players can improve on - his kicking. So arguably, Murphy actually may have more upside because there is alot more room for improvement in his game.

Pendlebury's biggest improvement will come from upping his fitness. Atm he doesn't have the capacity to run loose ahead of the play like R.Shaw or Swan and get easy kicks. Once he learns to do that, he'll be a 25+ possession a game player who doesn't waste it, plus he's already our best mid defensively.

I know people have been rubbishing the height issue, but it's relevant. Pendlebury started at FF for us against WC for example, and was basically our best player at qtr time playing out of the goal-square. That versatility is handy to have.

I like Murphy, and he looks to be the second-best player from that draft, but even if he drastically improves his kicking his ceiling is still lower than Pendlebury's IMO, who could potentially reach Black/Hodge level - i.e. an elite midfielder who only lacks top-end speed.

sneakydaycrawler
13 Jun 2008, 10:50
By that logic he might be a brownlow chance, Ablett's only 6'1" or so and he'd have blokes like Aker, Harvey and Mitchell easily covered. Cooney might give him trouble though I think he's 6'3" odd.

lol. You need to learn a thing or 2 about players height.
Garry Ablett just under 6'0'', Adam Cooney 6'1''.

rose jam
13 Jun 2008, 10:51
you don't need stats to argue this one - Pendelbury creates, Murphy stops everytime he gets it and holds up play. Like a shorter Richo when he plays on the wing

dave_27
13 Jun 2008, 10:58
Pendlebury.

Footskills.

andypie
13 Jun 2008, 11:02
I've never seen these two compared before:rolleyes: so I thought id bring it up.

But seriously, as a Carlton supporter I've been watching quite closely our young talent moving forward, including Marc Murphy and being someone who is relatively unbiased, I am willing to admit that Pendlebury has been better than Murphy, those who can't see that are not worth listening to.

But, during the past few weeks, Murphy has increased his work rate ten fold, he's really doing the hard stuff, the one percenters and his kicking has developed well in the past few weeks. I believe he was the player who got us over the line against Port (him and Kruezer). Enough about Carlton.

I know Pendlebury has been injured and apart from the fact that he is very smart for his age as a footballer, that he gets a lot of the pill and that he is a class act, i dont know a lot about Pendlebury.

Just want to know how you people compare these two, in all facets.

Keep your opinions within reason and dont just say Murphy or Pendlebury bcus you barrack for either team.

Id like to keep this thread off bay 13 for at least 50 posts:D
not sure why you would bother with this again but seeing as you must., i am very happy with pendlebury but have always thought murphy is clearly the best from that draft and would snap him up in a heartbeat. Having said that i wouldnt swap pendlebury for him if that makes sense.

popathon
13 Jun 2008, 11:18
Murphy is exactly what the pies need right now. A good strong in and under midto help out Burns & Obie. In saying that i would never trade pendles for him.
He has such good footwork because of his basketball years which i think gives him a big edge over other players.

Jeremias
13 Jun 2008, 11:23

He must be a terrible midfielder/come forward if he has only kicked 6 goals in half a season.

Murphy has kicked 8 goals this year.

You fail.

sneakydaycrawler
13 Jun 2008, 11:30
He must be a terrible midfielder/come forward if he has only kicked 6 goals in half a season.

You fail.

LOL at you. Go look at career goals.

Zachy45
13 Jun 2008, 11:32
You need to learn a thing or two about not talking out your arse.

Pendlebury's defensive game is top notch. Way ahead of Murphy's

Pendlebury averages 5.4 tackles per game, Murphy averages 3.0 per game

(Pendlebury is ranked 3rd at Collingwood for tackles per game. Only behind notoriously hard tacklers in Burns and O'Bree. Murphy is ranked 12th at Carlton for tackles)

Pendlebury averages 4.9 1%ers per game, Murphy average 2.6 1%ers per game.

(Pendlebury is ranked 5th at Collingwood for 1%ers this year - the 4 players ahead of him are all key defenders who get extra 1%ers for spoils. Murphy is ranked 21st at Carlton for 1%ers)

So maybe it is Murphy that is the one that need to stop ball watching and provide a shepard, provide a spoil or a lay tackle? Because Pendlebury has that covered.

I'll give you a tip. Don't use Pro-stats. It's a very inaccurate website.

sneakydaycrawler
13 Jun 2008, 11:34
lollllll

Jeremias
13 Jun 2008, 11:36
LOL at you. Go look at career goals.

Have a look at shots on goal that have registered a score. Murphy is still in front.

Pendelbury isn't a forward.

Zachy45
13 Jun 2008, 11:37
Other websites still show in Pendlebury's favor

Re-read my post, i didn't put up an argument either way. i just said don't use pro-stats, it's very inaccurate.

vinnie_vegas69
13 Jun 2008, 11:37
They're pretty close - Pendlebury more class, Murphy harder around the contests, roughly by about the same difference in each category.

Neither are blessed with spectacular pace, and both are improving their games - Murphy's kicking seems to be improving all the time, and Pendlebury's attack at the ball and at the man (when appropriate) is improving as his body and fitness get stronger.

I suppose the thing is, looking back at the draft, whereas with the #1 pick and Murphy, Carlton were assured of getting a player that was everything that Murphy is now, whereas with Pendlebury, the risk was much higher - There was every possibility that he wouldn't have developed as well as he has. Pendlebury was a "potential" player, where as Murphy was a solid one - We've just been lucky that Pendlebury's potential is on it's way to being reached.

daics cousin
13 Jun 2008, 11:47
Pendlebury easily.
When playing at full capacity,pendles has got extrordinary peripheral vision,and always seems like he has got heaps of time to get rid of the ball.
He is also an extremely hard player to tackle.His skills are much more silky than Murphy.Probably becuse of his basketball prowess.
Pendles for me.i am glad we got him.Will become an elite player very soon and will win a brownlow one day.Murphy won't.

sneakydaycrawler
13 Jun 2008, 11:50
Pendlebury easily.
When playing at full capacity,pendles has got extrordinary peripheral vision,and always seems like he has got heaps of time to get rid of the ball.
He is also an extremely hard player to tackle.His skills are much more silky than Murphy.Probably becuse of his basketball prowess.
Pendles for me.i am glad we got him.Will become an elite player very soon and will win a brownlow one day.Murphy won't.

I doubt that.

Madblue
13 Jun 2008, 11:57
Pendlebury has great skills but is an "outside" player who rarely goes for the hardball which makes him a bit soft.

Murphy is much tougher but maybe not the same skill level but that is rapidly improving.

Both will be great players but if i had to pick one then its Murphy

andypie
13 Jun 2008, 12:02
Pendlebury has great skills but is an "outside" player who rarely goes for the hardball which makes him a bit soft.

Murphy is much tougher but maybe not the same skill level but that is rapidly improving.

i dont think it makes him soft, its just the style of player and build of the guy, along with the way he is told to play. some are inside players ala murphy, scott burns, others outside finishers pendlebury and nick stevens.
hard comparison cos they are different players, but the pies definatley need more of the classy finishers at the moment than the inside players.
thats what makes judd and ablett and the like so great, they can do both.

sneakydaycrawler
13 Jun 2008, 12:07
i dont think it makes him soft, its just the style of player and build of the guy, along with the way he is told to play. some are inside players ala murphy, scott burns, others outside finishers pendlebury and nick stevens.
hard comparison cos they are different players, but the pies definatley need more of the classy finishers at the moment than the inside players.
thats what makes judd and ablett and the like so great, they can do both.

Which team have you been watching. We definitely need inside mids.

Palmer Stoat
13 Jun 2008, 12:08
They're both bloody good prospects. You can mount a sensible argument for either of them being in front at this point. I wish people could just leave it at that sometimes, because these arguments inevitably end in repetitive, pointless slanging matches.

Are we really gonna hammer this subject to death for the next 12 fricking years?

Phew. Of course we are.

andypie
13 Jun 2008, 12:09
Which team have you been watching. We definitely need inside mids.
always had plenty of the slower inside player. its the class that has killed us.

Palmer Stoat
13 Jun 2008, 12:10

Pendlebury is top three in hardball gets at Collingwood (for the record Dale Thomas is fourth). But you're right insofar as Pendles isn't as hard at it as Murphy.

sneakydaycrawler
13 Jun 2008, 12:12
Pendlebury is top three in hardball gets at Collingwood (for the record Dale Thomas is fourth). But you're right insofar as Pendles isn't as hard at it as Murphy.

Can you please post link.

Palmer Stoat
13 Jun 2008, 12:17
Can you please post link.

The stats are from the Rd11 AFL record. They're official AFL stats, so you should be able to find them on afl.com.au.

Lazyboy
13 Jun 2008, 12:24
Am i very serious when i say this, i would not trade Pendlebury for murphy and gibbs.

Pendles is still on the improve, this year was his tackling, next year somthing new again. Murphy has been playing all his life, Scott about 5 years.

So i think murphy is about as good as he will ever be, pendles will keep getting better and better.

I think a more fair comparison is Swan VS Murphy.

Helfarch
13 Jun 2008, 12:28
I can't believe how many people have implied Pendlebury is soft especially compared to Murphy or (lol)Gibbs :confused:

FordGTHO
13 Jun 2008, 12:32
Both very good young players, but i would take Murphy ahead of Pendlebury, Murphy is the natural footballer, you can't teach this.
He will be a superstar.

Bloben
13 Jun 2008, 12:53
Murphy is exactly what Collingwood needs and finding a player even close to his ability will be vital if Collingwood are to be successful post Burns and O'Bree.

If there was an offer of a straight swap for the two it may make sense to accept for team balance however saying that there is no chance in hell I would want them to do that. Pendlebury is a superstar and IMO will be our next captain.

Kirby
13 Jun 2008, 12:59
Both are dead set guns. Let's just leave it at that. Both sides would love the other but would never be prepared to give up the one they have. Both are future captains of their clubs.

Amers
13 Jun 2008, 13:08
I have only read post's from non Carlton and Collingwood supporters and so far Murphy gets the nod !!

Mental Magpie
13 Jun 2008, 13:08
Pendlebury. Oozes Class on every level.

Murphy. Very good footballer.

Gibbs is gonna be the star for Carlton.

He's the one. Not Murphy.

swiftdog
13 Jun 2008, 13:11
I am hoping that this is coincidence but the last two games we have played without pendles we have really struggled (Brisbane at the G last year and melbourne last week). Already seems to have such as a major impact on the team.

I don't see many Blues games so Carlton supporters does Murphy seem to have a similair effect?

pinkus maximus
13 Jun 2008, 13:17
too hard to split i reckon

probably if i had to make a decision i would take pendelbury, only just

KnaveyBlue
13 Jun 2008, 13:25
Am i very serious when i say this, i would not trade Pendlebury for murphy and gibbs.

I don't know, ARE you serious? But more to the point, why haven't Collingwood employed you yet? You've proven you'd be dynamite at the trade table.

It's refreshing to see Murphy v Pendles, rather than Murphy v Thomas for a change.
For the record I think Murph and Pendles are streets ahead of Thomas. The guy can pull out a mean highlight, I'll give him that, but he just doesn't rate with these two.

As others have posted, very different types of players, and equally valuable to their clubs. Rather than waste time on needless comparisons, supporters from both clubs can relax in the knowledge that they have two absolute top-notch prospects.

Mental Magpie is also on the money re: Gibbs. Will almost certainly be our brightest young star in the future.

captain amazo
13 Jun 2008, 13:40
I would take Murphy. Pendlebury is like an even softer Dal Santo.

mdc
13 Jun 2008, 13:44
Mental Magpie is also on the money re: Gibbs. Will almost certainly be our brightest young star in the future.

I agree with this as well. Actually, I think we'll see Gibbs vs. Pendlebury matched up on the field quite a bit for the next 10 years once Gibbs develops.

sneakydaycrawler
13 Jun 2008, 13:50
I would take Murphy. Pendlebury is like an even softer Dal Santo.

Pendlebury more hardball gets, tackles, contested possessions, disposals, contested marks etc.

PumpyChowdown
13 Jun 2008, 14:02
Pendles has certainly been better so far, however he seems to have plateaued a little bit this year whereas Murphy has gone up several notches, and with improved physique and disposal skills could well over take Pendles, if Pendles keeps stagnating.

With all that being said, Pendles certainly the better so far, but the gap is rapidly closing.

bLuEbOy1984
13 Jun 2008, 14:10
only thing id say the separates them both is Disposal, Murphy has to improve himself in this field in order to be recognised as a future elite player.

Lockyer24
13 Jun 2008, 14:11
Pendles has certainly been better so far, however he seems to have plateaued a little bit this year whereas Murphy has gone up several notches, and with improved physique and disposal skills could well over take Pendles, if Pendles keeps stagnating.

With all that being said, Pendles certainly the better so far, but the gap is rapidly closing.

Disagree, Pendleburys best games this year have been far better than his best games last year. I have a query on Murphys skills under pressure but consider both to be gun young players however considering we got SP with Pick 5, am more than happy with our pick.

hellfire
13 Jun 2008, 14:17

I don't see how people get this perception? He is consistently getting 25+ touches, with a few odd exceptions, which is a significant improvement on last year. He hasn't stagnated at all.

hellfire
13 Jun 2008, 14:19
Pendlebury more hardball gets, tackles, contested possessions, disposals, contested marks etc.

But hey, don't let facts get in the way.

enosis7
13 Jun 2008, 14:21
Pendlebury's "inside" game is underrated and something he has improved on greatly this year - it will only continue to improve because I believe it's something he has identified as a weakness. His ability to create space was a trade mark up in his first few years and that has created the impression he is a receiver. But his ability to win first possession and get effective handballs out while being tackled is something I've noticed a massive improvement in.

Pendlebury averages more 1st possessions and contested possessions than Murphy in 2008 - and not just in Pro-Stats!:p. According to official AFL stats, Pendlebury is third at Collingwood for contested possessions averaging 7.3 a game (out of avg 22.6 disposals a game) - 32.3%. Official stats put Murphy at 6.4 contested poss's a game (out of 23.1 disposals a game) - 27.7%. In terms of winning their own ball, they're not far apart and if anything in 2008, Pendles is in front.

Comparisons are often made between Pendles and Nick Dal Santo, but I'm hoping Pendlebury will eventually become more like a Simon Black.

Murphy hasn't taken a single contested mark in 2008. Pendlebury only has 4, but that's not "poor" by midfielder standards.

I agree Pendlebury does need to look up a bit more and many Collingwood supporters have noted he needs to be a bit more attacking sometimes.

The thing that's great about both players is that they're extremely professional and you can tell they are both working very hard to get the best out of themselves. This is why they'll both become elite midfielders.

favourites
13 Jun 2008, 15:19
You cant use the corridor when you team plan is to mostly use the wings...

So many people will call pendles soft, you may have been right last year... But give the bloke some credit this season. He has turned it around and become one of the "hardest" players at Collingwood.

Both will be superstars, let's hope they can reach full potential.

DaVe86
13 Jun 2008, 16:05
I think each team got what they were after.

Carlton have enough outsiders like Simpson, Stevens, Houlihan, Scotland and now they have the flashy player in Judd.

So Murphy complements them because he goes in and gets his own ball. I really rate him, think he is going to be a little champion.

Collingwood didnt need another Murphy, not with O'Bree, Swan, Burns and at the time Buckley still going around. Plus we took what we thought would be insiders with our 2nd round picks who were Stanley and Cook. They havent really come on as we hoped.

What Collingwood needed was a bit of class and flare. He's a perfect height, perfect skills and is evasive. Exactly what we needed to round out our side.

I would not trade Pendles for Murphy.,...and no Carlton supporter would trade Murphy for Pendles.

Pendlebury will probably stand out more because he is so flashy...but Murphy's work goes unnoticed at the bottom of the packs.

I would not say either has been the better. Murphy was attracting a number 1tag in his 1st and 2nd years and got a bit beat up by it. He had a shoulder injury and was far too young to be taking on such a workload. But i think he has become a leader out of it.

Pendlebury is now attracting closer attention, but has had it much looser and freer with guys like Swan, Didak and co taking the better defenders. He has also emerged a leader and is now on the leadership group.

Along with Thomas, they are clearly the picks of that draft. If Ellis comes on, that draft could have one of the better top 5 picks in recent history since the Judd draft. Obviously waiting on Kennedy as well.

The Pies Are In Front
13 Jun 2008, 16:09
LOL, one of the funniest threads ive ever read on BF!!!

Dude Lebowski
13 Jun 2008, 16:12

Carlton have enough outsiders like Simpson, Stevens, Houlihan, Scotland and now they have the flashy player in Judd.

So Murphy complements them because he goes in and gets his own ball. I really rate him, think he is going to be a little champion.

Collingwood didnt need another Murphy, not with O'Bree, Swan, Burns and at the time Buckley still going around. Plus we took what we thought would be insiders with our 2nd round picks who were Stanley and Cook. They havent really come on as we hoped.

What Collingwood needed was a bit of class and flare. He's a perfect height, perfect skills and is evasive. Exactly what we needed to round out our side.

I would not trade Pendles for Murphy.,...and no Carlton supporter would trade Murphy for Pendles.

Pendlebury will probably stand out more because he is so flashy...but Murphy's work goes unnoticed at the bottom of the packs.

I would not say either has been the better. Murphy was attracting a number 1tag in his 1st and 2nd years and got a bit beat up by it. He had a shoulder injury and was far too young to be taking on such a workload. But i think he has become a leader out of it.

Pendlebury is no attracting closer attention, but has had it much looser and freer with guys like Swan, Didak and co taking the better defenders. He has also emerged a leader and is now on the leadership group.

Along with Thomas, they are clearly the picks of that draft. If Ellis comes on, that draft could have one of the better top 5 picks in recent history since the Judd draft. Obviously waiting on Kennedy as well.

What he said!

magpies10
13 Jun 2008, 16:16
You may have ended up with both anyway.

I'm not sure Carlton we were interested in Thomas or Pendlebury at pick one, but the best available tall forward.

Murphy has kicked just as many goals as Pendlebury this year.

Murphy's hardness at the ball, hard running and ability to win the ball will take him to the elite level quicker.

Pendlebury might win an AA guernsey like Dal Santo, but he gets a lot of his kicks wider than Murphy and doesn't bring the ball straight up the guts like Murphy with hard running.

I don't consider it a case of Murphy having to catch Pendlebury when one has played good football over three seasons. :confused:

Murphy is a born footballer with his genetics.

Pendlebury has had one my goal assit with half the amount of inside 50's meaning when he has it in his hands he hits targets, Murphy doesn't

sneakydaycrawler
13 Jun 2008, 16:20
Pwnd

HBF
13 Jun 2008, 16:49
Happy with Murphy, and Pendlebury is important to Collingwood.

Therefore...

Both clubs are happy.

Monkey King
13 Jun 2008, 18:03

And Magpie fans must be so very thankful the Pies recruitment team aren't as foolish as this.

So many people will call pendles soft, you may have been right last year... But give the bloke some credit this season. He has turned it around and become one of the "hardest" players at Collingwood.

Perceptions are easier to generate than they are to change. Gibbs still being labeled soft is another classic example. I wouldn't worry about it too much, especially as around here a lot of posters seem to rely on general consensus as a platform to build their opinions.

I'm happy as hell with Murphy. Quality attitude and great inside the packs, although the idea he is only an inside-mid seems askew to me. In his game against Port, which was lauded as one of his best so far for the Blues, he ran really hard and received a lot more of the ball than he won inside the packs.

Collingwood must be stoked with Pendles and Daisy. Both were surprise choices for their draft selection and many pondered whether the Maggies had mucked it up. It's pretty clear by now you guys plucked two great young players who should influence the outcome of games for years to come. Great picks from left field.

Both clubs would be satisfied with their choices and comparisons, especially at this early stage in their careers, seem meaningless.

Magpies696
13 Jun 2008, 18:13
Marc Murphy plays one good game for the against port and they think he is god
Pendlebury plays good every week

checker
13 Jun 2008, 18:15
murphy by far.

Staaar_Blue
13 Jun 2008, 18:29
Marc Murphy plays one good game for the against port and they think he is god
Pendlebury plays good every week
:confused:You've obviously only watched us play port. Murphy easy. This year has been his breakout as he is not getting a tag throughout each game. Does Pendles get tagged? Or put his head over the ball?

andypie
13 Jun 2008, 18:40

Pendlebury is now attracting closer attention, but has had it much looser and freer with guys like Swan, Didak and co taking the better defenders. He has also emerged a leader and is now on the leadership group.

nice work dave, you complement my laziness for typing nicely.:thumbsu:

Timmy from Thomastown
13 Jun 2008, 18:46
You'd rather have a Dal Santo than a Bartel?.

Of course not. For one, Dal Santo doesnt kick goals or break lines.

Lupton Warchild Pittman
13 Jun 2008, 19:09

Think he's played 1 more game, but I'm yet to see Murphy kick 20 goals in a season like Pendlebury did in 07. I'm also yet to see Murphy tear apart 6 . 2' AA defenders in Bolton & McPhee like Pendlebury did when he played in the forward line.

Sadly through a lack of footskills & height, Murphy is a 1 dimensional player.

Monkey King
13 Jun 2008, 19:23
Sadly through a lack of footskills & height, Murphy is a 1 dimensional player.

And Ben Cousins was a plodder :rolleyes:

Guess you don't get to many games being in the States and all. It's kinda obvious from your lack insight.

Lupton Warchild Pittman
13 Jun 2008, 19:56
And Ben Cousins was a plodder :rolleyes:

Difference is Benny was an elite kick, had a stack more pace & was a totally different player. Think he kicked 30 plus goals in his 1st season as a goalsneak, Murphy doesn't have this attribute.

Murphy's skills are questionable, Cous was a highly skilled player.

Never before have I seen such a group of unsecure fans defending Murphy. It stems from the fact that Murphy was hyped as the standout player of the 05' Draft, Pendlebury conversely was a "speculative" pick by Hine, which even drew laughter from Miller when his name was read out.

It's now highly debatable whether Murphy is even the best player out of the draft. A Top 2 finish in the B&F of a Top 4 side, A Top 2 Finish in the Rising Star in 07 & Victorian selection (and voted 3rd best) generally concludes Pendlebury has more runs on the board. Ask any recruiter to pick between a 6 3' athlete, who is still new to Australian Rules & a 5. 10' plodder, and 10/10 recruiters would go for the athlete. Even more damning when the athlete has better skills than the plodder.

Monkey King
13 Jun 2008, 20:48
Difference is Benny was an elite kick, had a stack more pace & was a totally different player. Think he kicked 30 plus goals in his 1st season as a goalsneak, Murphy doesn't have this attribute.

Murphy's skills are questionable, Cous was a highly skilled player.

Never before have I seen such a group of unsecure fans defending Murphy. It stems from the fact that Murphy was hyped as the standout player of the 05' Draft, Pendlebury conversely was a "speculative" pick by Hine, which even drew laughter from Miller when his name was read out.

It's now highly debatable whether Murphy is even the best player out of the draft. A Top 2 finish in the B&F of a Top 4 side, A Top 2 Finish in the Rising Star in 07 & Victorian selection (and voted 3rd best) generally concludes Pendlebury has more runs on the board. Ask any recruiter to pick between a 6 3' athlete, who is still new to Australian Rules & a 5. 10' plodder, and 10/10 recruiters would go for the athlete. Even more damning when the athlete has better skills than the plodder.

I'm not unsecure (sic) about Murph, love the guy and I think you'll find throughout this thread that most neutral observers have gone with Murphy. He's not slow, like you insinuate; he's an above average kick, despite what some on BF claim and averages one goal less per 5 games than Thomas while playing predominately midfield.

Like I said, the fact you call Murphy a plodder seems to indicate you don't actually get to the footy much these days and probably glean most of your knowledge from BF.

Lupton Warchild Pittman
13 Jun 2008, 20:56
he's an above average kick

And Licuria had Bucks covered foot skills wise...

He is just an an average disposer of the ball, nothing more, nothing less.

Monkey King
13 Jun 2008, 21:31
And Licuria had Bucks covered foot skills wise...

He is just an an average disposer of the ball, nothing more, nothing less.

Selective response.

While not a sublime kick of the ball, he is above average IMHO and makes good decisions.