View Full Version : Bolters in the 2nd half of the year?

Bartram_Class
13 Jun 2008, 01:04
Pretty safe to say Bailey will give the kids a fair go in the 2nd half of the year, but will there be a bolter from the pack (ala Garland in the last few weeks)?

Put your money where your mouth is.

I'm going to say Lynden Dunn. Terrific job on Dane Swan on the weekend, though I still think he looked most dangerous in that HFF role that he played to such great effect when he first broke into the side.

How good was his goal incidentally? Showed disdain for the Pie mug he ran around.

melbournemartin
13 Jun 2008, 01:16
He has great goal awareness. We need a tagger but I feel like we are somewhat wasting his talent if he's anywhere but in the forward 50.

stabler
13 Jun 2008, 01:26
I'll jump on the Lynden Dunn bandwagon:thumbsu:

That goal he kicked was fantastic, would love to see more of them from him.

KickLongTackleHard
13 Jun 2008, 02:32
Maybe more out of hope but i'll take a punt on Sylvia. Low draft pick, showing signs on improvement.

CaptainDavey
13 Jun 2008, 02:55
Shotgun Buckley. That preseason hype wasn't for nothing I'm hoping

Deefolt
13 Jun 2008, 03:36
Shane Valenti, Cale Morton and hopefully John Meesen

goal sneak
13 Jun 2008, 09:44
Stef Martin

CowboyFromHell
13 Jun 2008, 11:11
If he can get into the side, I'll say Addam Maric.

I also think the added responsibility of no Neitz and no Robbo will see Colin Sylvia lift a notch or two as well.

McLean_4_Captain
13 Jun 2008, 11:12
Shane Valenti, Cale Morton and hopefully John Meesen

Why not just name the whole list;) Is anyone game enough to say Bode?

I'll put up Matthew Bate to step up to the next level and become a revelation off the HF line, and get a top 5 finish in our B&F. And maybe an honourable mention to Bartram to become a high quality tagger

davey_magik
13 Jun 2008, 11:49
Sylvia thanks.

Could have kicked 5 last week. With no matchup in the Richmond backline he could well kick a bag.

Pjkimber
13 Jun 2008, 12:19
Buckley, Sylvia, Garland and Warnock 4 me.

cougar000
13 Jun 2008, 12:37
I'll jump on the Lynden Dunn bandwagon:thumbsu:

That goal he kicked was fantastic, would love to see more of them from him.

Dunn to line up on Richo this week when he is on the wing!

2 Dogs
13 Jun 2008, 13:04
Putting my neck out here, but if Warnock can do it, why can't Chris Johnson prove that keeping him on the list for so long will finally pay off? Got his chance, must realise that he isn't going to get many, if any more after this. Grabs his spot and runs with it.

Play him in the guts, don't let him squander in the back half, and lets find out what he is made of.

davey_magik
13 Jun 2008, 14:29
Putting my neck out here, but if Warnock can do it, why can't Chris Johnson prove that keeping him on the list for so long will finally pay off? Got his chance, must realise that he isn't going to get many, if any more after this. Grabs his spot and runs with it.

Play him in the guts, don't let him squander in the back half, and lets find out what he is made of.

I doubt CJ is up to it, but I'd love to be proved wrong. He has very good foot skills, seem to have pace and isn't afraid to go in for the ball but at AFL level he just hasn't been able to find the ball enough.

I'd play him on the wing and give him a licence to play attacking footy, as Richo will probably line up on the other wing and I'd have Dunn on Richo.

saj_21
13 Jun 2008, 15:44
Buckley, Sylvia, Garland and Warnock 4 me.

For mine Garland and Warnock have already bolted this year! With Moloney gone hopefully valenti step up!

hullsy
13 Jun 2008, 16:47
PJ for sure, will join the elite ruckman by the end of the year.

Deefolt
13 Jun 2008, 16:49
Why not just name the whole list;) Is anyone game enough to say Bode?

I'll put up Matthew Bate to step up to the next level and become a revelation off the HF line, and get a top 5 finish in our B&F. And maybe an honourable mention to Bartram to become a high quality tagger
coz the rest of the list wont, hence our almighty powerful surge... to not much:p... :(

Sherman Tank
13 Jun 2008, 23:13
Warnock & Garland

master bate
13 Jun 2008, 23:39
Warnock, Garland and Wonaeamirri have been the real out of the blue guys this year so I hope they keep it up.

A lot of our other players have been progressing nicely from the stage they were at the beginning of the year to now - Frawley, Buckley, Jones, Moloney, Bate, Miller, Valenti, Morton, Bartram etc. Any of these blokes could take themselves from bit players to really good players (with Jones and Bate going from good players to stars).

Dunn and Sylvia have looked ok but haven't taken it from the level of ok performer to consistent and important player. I hope they do.

In terms of bolters, I would love to see Chris Johnson and/or Jace Bode go from maligned fringe players to blokes with genuine careers ahead of them. They get their opportunity this week and we will see how they go. The other bolter is Ricky Petterd - he has a lot of talent and if he is over his injury I think he could get back in the team in a few weeks and maybe give us a month of good footy.

Bartram_Class
14 Jun 2008, 01:21
In terms of bolters, I would love to see Chris Johnson and/or Jace Bode go from maligned fringe players to blokes with genuine careers ahead of them. They get their opportunity this week and we will see how they go. The other bolter is Ricky Petterd - he has a lot of talent and if he is over his injury I think he could get back in the team in a few weeks and maybe give us a month of good footy.
CJ is the one IMO.

I've lost count of the number of BOG's he had with the Zebras this season, and its only a matter of time before he can translate that into AFL form, he's finally been given the opportunity this week, I don't see him wasting it.

chopper41
14 Jun 2008, 04:52
I'm hoping it's Newton. A big key forward is the one position that hasn't come forward this year so far, so hopfully he comes back and makes a big impact.

goal sneak
17 Jun 2008, 19:22
Vote for Garland

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=455923

Dez!
18 Jun 2008, 17:56
CJ for mine.

Also think Dunny could be a wildcard.

eliasd82
18 Jun 2008, 18:16
I like CJ too, really liked the way he moved against Richmond.. Needs more of a go and I'm sure he'll come on.

Fingers crossed Sylvia puts it all together.
Dunn is my smokey! I still remember that sensational goal he kick against the dogs last year...

Packedlunch
24 Jun 2008, 20:29
G'day,

I would have thought Valenti was going to be one to watch. If i remember rightly i think he played some really good games in the pre-season where he showed a fait bit of promise. Is my memory failing? Has he had any games in the season proper yet?

melbournemartin
24 Jun 2008, 20:47
Valenti has played a couple and did quite well. Should be back in too.

Sylvia, Dunn and Bate are the must-performs for me. Dunn and Bate were great on the weekend. We need some more Sylvia talent.

And NEWTON!