View Full Version : Fevola- How we gonna stop him and who gonna play on him

boubba_25
13 Jun 2008, 16:54
Just wateched a replay of the last carlton game that we lost against them and this bloke destroyed us.... i admit his a freak but who do u reckon will get the job on him,

Thoughts?

magpies10
13 Jun 2008, 17:10
Double team him like Port did. If we keep the blues to a score of 75 like Port did last week than than we will win, Port should have been alot more than 35 points up but failed to convert all the play off the first three quarters.

RRRooocccaaa
13 Jun 2008, 17:12
Brownie should play on him and then get in his ear all day. Fev always seems to have a crap day when he gets in a mood. Brownie should jostle, heckle, provoke and generally wear an oversize navy blue glove all day.

didak04
13 Jun 2008, 17:14
Crowding the space in front of him would be a start, was given far too much space to lead into last time round, Harry had no chance

popathon
13 Jun 2008, 17:16
Crowding the space in front of him would be a start, was given far too much space to lead into last time round, Harry had no chance

Not to mention Harry is about 10 times better. He's seriosuly lifted his game since then.

The Royal Sampler
13 Jun 2008, 17:17
^ Agreed, Bryza to drop back in the hole.

boubba_25
13 Jun 2008, 17:18
put brownie on him, since he been able to stop the big fowards, he looks the mostly likely choice or how else,

Blueboy43
13 Jun 2008, 17:20
Brownie should play on him and then get in his ear all day. Fev always seems to have a crap day when he gets in a mood. Brownie should jostle, heckle, provoke and generally wear an oversize navy blue glove all day.

Fev will be to quick for him.

Having said that it's going to come down to the midfield. Last time we played we absolutely smashed you guys in the midfield which allowed fev to run riot.

You guys will not let that happen again. I think that Harry will play on fev with Maxwell to drop back in the hole. We really struggle when fev gets double teamed.

Should be a good game. I think you guys will win by 4 goals.

BEEG
13 Jun 2008, 17:31
Like my Carlton mate said to me last night we will win if we double team Fevola but that wont happen because MM is to arrogant and has to much pride to do that

bugfacened
13 Jun 2008, 17:33
^ Agreed, Bryza to drop back in the hole.

i would get bryan back now and then but have maxwell constantly in the hole

RRRooocccaaa
13 Jun 2008, 17:35
Fev will be to quick for him.

Have you seen Nathan Brown from a standing start? He's a big lad but he's got sensational closing speed. I wouldn't underestimate him.

hellfire
13 Jun 2008, 17:37
Put Brown or O'Brien on him. Probably Brown. But more importantly, don't give the man an absolute paddock to run into. If they want to open the space up for him, play Maxwell loose 15 metres in front of him. And in the midfield, we have to stop turning the ball over, because they rebound through the corridor, and we're caught out every single time. If we turn it over, apply PRESSURE, push them to the boundary line, protect the corridor, and then get numbers back into Fev's space. Basically, it's all about the midfield. If we tackle hard, and have clean disposal (please Pendlebury, just play), we will be fine. The clearances must be won.

But we can't forget about the likes of Fisher, or possibly Waite if he pushes forward (given Rocca is out). We can't be too Fevola-conscious.

Blueboy43
13 Jun 2008, 17:37
Have you seen Nathan Brown from a standing start? He's a big lad but he's got sensational closing speed. I wouldn't underestimate him.

I am seen him play and i reckon he is a beauty. But on a lead i don't think he will match him for leg speed.

Soul_Pie
13 Jun 2008, 17:38
We definitely need to crowd the space around him. He was basically given the whole 50 metre arc to work with last time. I'd give Harry O another shot at Fev, as his form has improved a lot. If all else fails, we should probably double team him.

bugfacened
13 Jun 2008, 17:40
Put Brown or O'Brien on him. Probably Brown. But more importantly, don't give the man an absolute paddock to run into. If they want to open the space up for him, play Maxwell loose 15 metres in front of him. And in the midfield, we have to stop turning the ball over, because they rebound through the corridor, and we're caught out every single time. If we turn it over, apply PRESSURE, push them to the boundary line, protect the corridor, and then get numbers back into Fev's space. Basically, it's all about the midfield. If we tackle hard, and have clean disposal (please Pendlebury, just play), we will be fine. The clearances must be won.

But we can't forget about the likes of Fisher, or possibly Waite if he pushes forward (given Rocca is out). We can't be too Fevola-conscious.

Waite will play on Cloke.. he has had the better of him rescently
Put Brown on Fev and Maxwell in Fev's way... O'Brien should be able to handle Fisher and if he can't Waiklen can

CENTERMAN
13 Jun 2008, 17:42
Crowding the space in front of him would be a start, was given far too much space to lead into last time round, Harry had no chanceExactly. He is not a threat one on one, he never took one contested mark last time , it was all lead and mark stuff. Heath is being tagged every week ATM so we might as well waist him in the space between the ball and Fev. Last time we didn't even try to and it was so obvious.

Blues_Man
13 Jun 2008, 17:43
crowd his space (which is harder on the MCG) and drop a player back in front of him.
But then you need somebody to watch Fisher and Kruezer.
Should be a good game.

Blueinblood
13 Jun 2008, 17:45
PLEASE put daisy in the space in front of him..... I can just imagine it now. BANG!

Blues_Man
13 Jun 2008, 17:46
Exactly. He is not a threat one on one, he never took one contested mark last time , it was all lead and mark stuff. Heath is being tagged every week ATM so we might as well waist him in the space between the ball and Fev. Last time we didn't even try to and it was so obvious.

One on one last time he ran around Brown like a witches hat and calmly slotted a goal . One on one he held off scarlett with one hand and marked the ball in the other .
So if you think he is not a threat one on one then you really have no idea.

smiddaz123
13 Jun 2008, 17:46
Nick Maxwell should deck him and K.O him.

Gets rid of Fev, and he'll get suspended for a while.

I like it.

Blueinblood
13 Jun 2008, 17:49
If Fevola wanted to hurt Maxwell, Maxwell would end up in hospital. His toughness at the ball is great but not his overall toughness.

Setant to knock daisy out!

smiddaz123
13 Jun 2008, 17:51
If Fevola wanted to hurt Maxwell, Maxwell would end up in hospital. His toughness at the ball is great but not his overall toughness.

No doubt, but if Maxwell gets the first king hit in, his chances would be decent :cool:

didak04
13 Jun 2008, 17:52
One on one last time he ran around Brown like a witches hat and calmly slotted a goal . One on one he held off scarlett with one hand and marked the ball in the other .
So if you think he is not a threat one on one then you really have no idea.

He's referring to last match so the fact that he took one mark against Scarlett has nothing to do with it. Crowd the space and have Brown one on one with another player floating over to spoil.

Optimax
13 Jun 2008, 17:55
PLEASE put daisy in the space in front of him..... I can just imagine it now. BANG!
he would get back up probably with the mark and smile at him mate, just liem every other time someone has tryed to knock him out on field. Worst injury he got was a broken collar bone and he did that to himself.

keep dreaming though ill rember his sheperd on murphy 06

Maxy would stand and fight and if soloman couldnt hurt maxwell why on earth do you think fevola could, fev would come from behind like the sniper he is hit maxy and then shit himself when things get heated. Just like 06 should be happy rocca missed;)

Setanta is going to do what? mate dreaming he would have to get near it first

Snag Breac
13 Jun 2008, 17:56

Setanta had better not. :mad: It's hard to play footy with a pair of plastic kneecaps.

hellfire
13 Jun 2008, 17:57

Rocca, Brown, Bryan and Cloke will all be after him if he touches Thomas. Not a foursome I'd want to trouble.

(Rocca from the stands).

pipeline
13 Jun 2008, 17:58

Danny Stanley knocked Setanta out last time! He's probably still shivering in his boots.

Lazyboy
13 Jun 2008, 18:04
whats the tip 2-3 carlton players are KOed by half time? i dont think fev will be but i think maxwell and maybe bear could be looking at a few weeks.

thats ok though as wood and the sack are almost ready.

i think Gibbs will be off by half time this round, its a different game to round 4, this is the serious end of the season, carlton dont belong here.

CENTERMAN
13 Jun 2008, 18:06
Originally Posted by CENTERMAN http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=11360075#post11360075)
Exactly. He is not a threat one on one, he never took one contested mark last time , it was all lead and mark stuff. Heath is being tagged every week ATM so we might as well waist him in the space between the ball and Fev. Last time we didn't even try to and it was so obvious.
So if you think he is not a threat one on one then you really have no idea.I was referring to the last time we met round 4 Carl vs Coll and don't recall Scarlett playing. Fev took 12 marks of which 2 were contested. I can't find the bit where he took a contested mark on Brown, only the bit when he ran around him. Concentrate now.:rolleyes:

Swooop
13 Jun 2008, 18:19
Moving this thread away from fights (though they are fun to watch and the Bear could take anyone) to Fev again;

He is a gifted player and their dominant path to goal, if he fires, so does the team. I think Harry's form and pace should warrant him another go with Maxwell in the space. If things get desperate Maxy should take one for the team and KO Fev :p

Lazyboy
13 Jun 2008, 18:26
Moving this thread away from fights (though they are fun to watch and the Bear could take anyone) to Fev again;

He is a gifted player and their dominant path to goal, if he fires, so does the team. I think Harry's form and pace should warrant him another go with Maxwell in the space. If things get desperate Maxy should take one for the team and KO Fev :p

LOL moving away from fights, now you want Mad Max to KO fev hehe i likes :thumbsu:

Magpies696
13 Jun 2008, 18:35
Put Browny on him because thats how we lost it last time because he didnt play in the backline untill the last half and the game was gone

mattys123
13 Jun 2008, 18:41
Pretty easy to keep Fev to 5 or less, dont leave him one out inside 50 again.
Even MM had a bad day last time we played em, just let maxwell or wakes drop back as the spare man to help our Browny.

If Fev kick 3/4 we win by at least 5-6 goals, no worries this week.

davis_756
13 Jun 2008, 18:41
I was referring to the last time we met round 4 Carl vs Coll and don't recall Scarlett playing. Fev took 12 marks of which 2 were contested. I can't find the bit where he took a contested mark on Brown, only the bit when he ran around him. Concentrate now.:rolleyes:

Brown played on Fevola for 5mins in which Fev sealed the victory for us and Harry was woeful on him for the rest of the game, playing either of them on Fevola 1v1 would be a mistake as sides have shown that to beat Fevola you need to drop a man back in front of him.

If you play 1 on 1 with Fevola that will be our only chance to win the game as I can't see Matty standing up again like last week when our forward structure falls to pieces. Collingwood should win in any case unless your also silly enough to not tag Judd as well and if thats the case I look forward to seeing him get 35 touches or more and kick 2-3 goals to go with it.

Whacker
13 Jun 2008, 18:54
shut down fev and you shut down carlton. Then again shut down the midfield and he wont get the supply

Optimax
13 Jun 2008, 18:56
shut down fev and you shut down carlton. Then again shut down the midfield and he wont get the supply
is really the only way of doing it, if we give up meekly in the middle like we did in rnd 4 he will kick 7 again, if our midfield breaks even we will win.

We come out with the geelong game style or teh third qtr against the eagles ball wotn go near fev.

This game is another won and lost with our own hands.

Blueinblood
13 Jun 2008, 19:08
Im just joking guys. I hope both sides have 22 fit players so there are no excuses

frantelle
13 Jun 2008, 19:38
we could tempt him with some beer
and a big window leading into a shop
that seems to haev been his biggest weakness the last few weeks

boubba_25
13 Jun 2008, 19:52
i think if we shut down the delievey from the midfield and make fev work for the ball then we might be able to get on top of him, we need to get on top of there midfield...

Jabso
13 Jun 2008, 20:03
We beat him by beating Carlton. Or we don't beat him. I'm never to fussed about one player.

one eyed bluey
13 Jun 2008, 21:07

Pretty hard to shut down a whole midfield dont you think?:rolleyes:
You have burns this time which should help you in the clearences some what, but still its pretty hard to "shut down" Judd, Murphy, Stevens, scotland, Benitck(gets under the guard, great clearence player and tackler), simpson the list goes on.

Think we'll outgun you guys in the midfield.

Upforward if you play 2 people on fev, we can just move fev up the ground and drag those players with him and leave the 50 open with kreuze, fisher and betts, and maybe even waite if he goes forward.
Leave fev 1 on 1 and he'll dominate again.

Down back we pretty much have you covered bar a few match ups which are even ala armfield on davis and didak is dangerous.

Cant see how collingwood will win this one to be honest, not being cocky but the game's in our hands to win or lose so to speak.

mdc
13 Jun 2008, 21:20
Cant see how collingwood will win this one to be honest, not being cocky but the game's in our hands to win or lose so to speak.

You fail at self-appraisal.

kouta6
14 Jun 2008, 15:58
This is exactly how you beat Carlton. I dont get why Mick didnt do that last time.

Blues_Man
14 Jun 2008, 17:11
Originally Posted by CENTERMAN http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=11360075#post11360075)
I was referring to the last time we met round 4 Carl vs Coll and don't recall Scarlett playing. Fev took 12 marks of which 2 were contested. I can't find the bit where he took a contested mark on Brown, only the bit when he ran around him. Concentrate now.:rolleyes:

You played one on one against Fev last time we played you ..just remind me again how many did he kick ??? now seeing as that worked such a treat you want it to happen again ?? concentrate now :rolleyes:

swiftdog
14 Jun 2008, 20:24
You have burns this time which should help you in the clearences some what, but still its pretty hard to "shut down" Judd, Murphy, Stevens, scotland, Benitck(gets under the guard, great clearence player and tackler), simpson the list goes on.

Upforward if you play 2 people on fev, we can just move fev up the ground and drag those players with him and leave the 50 open with kreuze, fisher and betts, and maybe even waite if he goes forward.

Down back we pretty much have you covered bar a few match ups which are even ala armfield on davis and didak is dangerous.

We seemed to shut down Geelong's midfield (bar Ablett, but no-one can stop Ablett) pretty well. Can Murphy, Gibbs & Bentick take the heat? Do you expect us to play like shit again? As for Fevola all we need to do is drop a player in front of him and he'll play poorly (3-4 goals). If you think that your backline can take the likes of Davis, Didak, Thomas, Medhurst and Cloke all who are in form (- Cloke but he is still dangerous) then your dreaming. In the ruck, Bryan is playing the best football I've seen him play, if he gets into kruezer not sure how the young man will react. Down back, Fisher can be taken by Wakelin or Harry/Brown no problem. Betts is playing well and TBH I think he has the ability to win you the match, but he won't the pressure will be too much.

Basically, your team will crumble under the pressure. Supposply the carlton youngsters seem to be standing up to pressure but FFS Port can't apply pressure, they're soft chokers. Put your head over the ball tommorow and it's going to be knocked off, simple as that. Pies by 43.

Josh_williams
14 Jun 2008, 21:41

Are you serious? Were have you been for the last 6 years? You pick up Juddy and all of a sudden your awesome.. Kreuzer wasnt that good last week, he rocked up half way into the last quarter.. :)

God I hate Carlton supporters.... Arrogent.

Go Pies :)

Pie eyed
14 Jun 2008, 21:58
We beat him by beating Carlton. Or we don't beat him. I'm never to fussed about one player.

I don't care if Fev kicks 10 as long as our total is more than Carlton's at the end of the game. Hell, he can get the Coleman twice for all I care.

Big Bucks
15 Jun 2008, 10:10
Put Maxwell on Fevola! no that would rob our forward line,"wait" he is not a forward,put him on the bench? NO, that would rob the Collingwood VFL side.
Where are you going to hide him this week Mick?

Snag Breac
15 Jun 2008, 10:19
Now come one, Big Bucks, what's your suggestion for restraining the curly-haired, anvil-faced one? Can Brown and O'Brien do it between them?

Big Bucks
15 Jun 2008, 10:34
Now come one, Big Bucks, what's your suggestion for restraining the curly-haired, anvil-faced one? Can Brown and O'Brien do it between them?

Snag, look no further than Giant slayer himself Brown, he has both the strength and the speed to match it with the curly-haired,anvil faced baboon.
On a side note i had the chance to meet up with Harry O`brien last Saturday night at a dance night, he is a true humanitarian with his outlook on social justice, during our convo i called him Heritier and his response was overwhelming, he gave me a big squeeze hug. I tried to get him on the Bourbons all night as he was drinking water.
An absolute delight is our Harry.
He said he`ll have a bourbon or three with me when it COUNTS.
Go Pies. smash the scum.

marsh_put
15 Jun 2008, 11:01
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_DS2uTDVdjc&feature=related

marsh_put
15 Jun 2008, 11:02
About 5:00 through

Visions
16 Jun 2008, 00:57
Like my Carlton mate said to me last night we will win if we double team Fevola but that wont happen because MM is to arrogant and has to much pride to do that

Exactly this point. You can tell from the outset that Carlton were Fevola conscience. He kicked basically their whole first quarter score and if he had kicked straight the game would have been over at half time. Malthouse should have seen the writing on the wall that he wasn't going to be beaten one on one and should have double teamed him (allow them a loose player in our forward line, its not like the Woods were going there fast and direct for anyone to cut it off, another of Mick's brainwaves). However Mick doesn't know how to react to a pending crisis. Fevola in the end should have kicked 12 or goals. The players need to accommodate a portion of the blame (13 goals in the last 40 minutes isn't great) but Mick should shoulder the majority of the loss for his coaching.

Blue Dawn
16 Jun 2008, 01:06
Are you serious? Were have you been for the last 6 years? You pick up Juddy and all of a sudden your awesome.. Kreuzer wasnt that good last week, he rocked up half way into the last quarter.. :)

God I hate Carlton supporters.... Arrogent.

Go Pies :)

Hows them apples ay!? ;):thumbsu: