View Full Version : Are we are bordering on Tanking?
Flecther left out, Braun left out...Kerr suddenly developes a tight hammy
Cox was just going
played 8 kids with less than 10 games experience....
and just wooshas coaching tonight wasnt creative......we treated it like a pre season game
Gunnar Longshanks
14 Jun 2008, 03:09
Playing the kids is the smartest path from here.
We know what Fletcher is capable of.
He's not going to improve much from here.
http://blamebush.typepad.com/photos/uncategorized/2008/03/25/tiananmensquaretanks.jpg
Get outta the way Woosh. They will run you over!!!!!!!!!!
Black JuJu
14 Jun 2008, 03:12
"The future is now"...
bigburger
14 Jun 2008, 03:13
:mad: NO WE ARE NOT TANKING :mad:
We are just crap at the moment. These past two years injury wise have been un____ing believable. Is there any danger of being able to field our best side. Woosha has never been the best tactical coach so thats not it. We have been forced to blood youngsters with all these injuries and list changes.
If we were tanking Glass, Kerr and even Lynch (heard he was crook most of this week) wouldn't have played tonight (being the Daniel Rich cup).
I think with finals out of sight it is becoming overtly blatant now that game by game result means nothing.
Going to be frustrating to sit through, but damn it will be good when it all comes together in a few years.
Kerrby04
14 Jun 2008, 03:16
nah were just sh!t
move along :)
EaglesSupporter08
14 Jun 2008, 03:18
I think with finals out of sight it is becoming overtly blatant now that game by game result means nothing.
Going to be frustrating to sit through, but damn it will be good when it all comes together in a few years.
I agree, for this and possibley the next few years to come, it's gonna be hard to grin and bare through lose after lose, but i think the reward for when it all comes together (Provided it is as good as i think) will be well worth it, and we shall reclaim sweet sweet justice over the other 15 (16 Teams possibley).
Lets hope though the rookies will be as good as everyone expects.
Well if you believe that the players that are on the injury list are genuinely injured, then i'm not sure how you could say that we are. We're fielding as good a team as we can, the youngsters have looked great, Cox and Glass playing injured doesn't help either.
Art OF war
14 Jun 2008, 03:25
Flecther left out, Braun left out...Kerr suddenly developes a tight hammy
Cox was just going
played 8 kids with less than 10 games experience....
and just wooshas coaching tonight wasnt creative......we treated it like a pre season game
No way John would tank. Would be similar to tieing a noose around your neck. We will lose all the away games this season with varying margins. Might be a chance to snaffle a few home games.
Yes we are playing the kids but they deserved their chance.
Cox was injured (no disrespect to Hille) and i think you will find he will not be in the team next week.
Kerr shouldn't have played last week let alone this one...
I don't believe Woosh or the Match Committee are thinking about tanking in the sense of tanking to somehow get a preferred draft pick.
Tanking is now probably just as hard as winning, what with teams possibly trying to out-tank each other and still pretend they're trying, and with maybe even the kids 'tanking' their draft-camp tests so they won't be taken at pick 1 or 2 or .. because they don't want to go to wherever.
I think it was obvious against Essendon that all those guys were trying to win but it's also obvious that some of them simply don't have it, but they're being given a chance to prove their critics wrong.
Seems a sensible plan by Woosha, and he was honest about it all weeks ago. Suma on the other hand is either an out and out liar, or he's playing the straight man for the media circus, or he hasn't got a clue and Woosh is setting him up for the cut as well.
September_Glory
14 Jun 2008, 13:20
Seems a sensible plan by Woosha, and he was honest about it all weeks ago. Suma on the other hand is either an out and out liar, or he's playing the straight man for the media circus, or he hasn't got a clue and Woosh is setting him up for the cut as well.
What is this in reference to?
greennick
14 Jun 2008, 14:56
I hope not, but I did think that for a second yesterday! This is a game we were likely to have a good chance at winning, but somehow 3 of our most experienced mids get 1 week injuries. Then our 2 best players play injured, though nothing could be done about that as Cox's seemed to flare up in the game and Glass's was largely caused during the game.
Still don't think we are tanking though, probably just unlucky. Probably.
WaltzingMatera
14 Jun 2008, 16:03
If we play Priddis again next week then we are officially tanking.
Surely even i could have played better than him last night. And don't anybody say it was because he was tagged, because falling over inexplicably, handpassing to players outnumbered and kicking to the opposition under little pressure has got zero relation.
WaltzingMatera
14 Jun 2008, 16:05
Well if you believe that the players that are on the injury list are genuinely injured, then i'm not sure how you could say that we are. We're fielding as good a team as we can, the youngsters have looked great, Cox and Glass playing injured doesn't help either.
Oh and what injury does Kennedy have at the moment? Apparently he didn't look very injured at The Saint last night with Brauny.
hmmm...look to me everything just seemed a bit sus
Fletcher has been ok , braun us still in our best 22 (just) and Kerr wanted to play
Cox spent large chunks of the game not rucking...
To me it seemed the result of the game wasnt that important....like Im saying Im not sure if we are tanking but Im sus.......
Sorry I dont believe in coincendences
Strider83
14 Jun 2008, 16:45
If we play Priddis again next week then we are officially tanking.
Surely even i could have played better than him last night. And don't anybody say it was because he was tagged, because falling over inexplicably, handpassing to players outnumbered and kicking to the opposition under little pressure has got zero relation.
Lets stick a number 1 tagger on you all night, and see how comfortable YOU are when you get the ball. That's what makes players like Kerr, Judd, Ablett so damn good cos they still have the ability to play with composure and use the footy well under pressure. Priddis isn't in the same league as them. Not to mention the conditions were slippery which is why everyone was falling over.
greatwhiteshark
14 Jun 2008, 19:10
I am not sure I believe in tanking, but it did suprise me Hansen did not play. he is playing for Swans today so he is fit. They just signed him for 3 years which means they rate him. We have lost Kennedy and Mckinley from our forward line and he still can't get a game. Why did they sign him?
And don't even mention Worsfold, you all know my view on him as a coach.
I am not sure I believe in tanking, but it did suprise me Hansen did not play. he is playing for Swans today so he is fit. They just signed him for 3 years which means they rate him. We have lost Kennedy and Mckinley from our forward line and he still can't get a game. Why did they sign him?
And don't even mention Worsfold, you all know my view on him as a coach.
Are you really that surprised. Any money someone has had a quiet word in Hansens ear and said "Spend some time in the WAFL and get your body sorted". Not a bad move given we won`t be going anywhere this season.
I wouldn`t say Tanking - but I reckon the staff know we`re ____ed for the season and are testing some "theories" at the moment.
I dont understand..Mckinley was playing wafl also.....as was hansen....flecther and braun "RESTED"...Kerr suddenly has a tight calf...yet he said he wanted to play
c'mon guys put the blinkers aside.....if thats not tanking what is??
Would you have preferred Kerr to play and do his hammy?
Braun will be better for the week off, he is getting on.
Hansen probably needed the match fitness in the Wafl.
McKinley needed to test the shoulder.
I don't think we should jump to that conclusion that we are tanking yet. It just isn't a part of west coast culture.
Im not saying dont play the kids...I also believe you do need some experienced players around them for them to be shown the way....
just playing a whole nuch of kids and getting belted doesnt team them much...getting the balance right does
Masten2McKinley
14 Jun 2008, 23:23
nah i think they are trying to win they just are to shit
Eagles 4 Mine
15 Jun 2008, 00:26
We should have beaten Essendon end of story......:mad:
Yes, no, perhaps?
Pick 2 looks good.
lacklustre performances away.
Fighting efforts at home.
garlic munchers
16 Jun 2008, 00:15
I am a supporter who believes that playing the kids doesn't mean your tanking, just positioning for the future (that the future includes the next draft is just a coincidence). Did I want to win in the last moments against Sydney - absolutely yes. Did I want to beat Essendon, no!
My passionate wish for this season is for the Dockers to finish ninth and ensure the absence of early draft picks for them.
The Judd draft set us up for 2005 and 2006. Hopefully last years draft and early picks again this year will set us up again.
Whilst you have an artificial draft scenario that ensures that you cannot have sustained success then it is illogical to snatch a few wins in an otherwise unsuccessful year.
Deliberate tanking - no. Not playing the Fletchers and Brauns - perhaps forced by injury but wise non-the-less.
I wanted us to beat Essendon because they piss me off :p
Sometimes its more than draft picks. :cool:
Did I want to beat Essendon, no!
My passionate wish for this season is for the Dockers to finish ninth and ensure the absence of early draft picks for them.
<sigh> The game's not the same :(
Sometimes its more than draft picks. :cool:
Not here on this board. That seems to be all it's about.
Is this all just totally _____ed or what ?
It is totally beeped!
But thats the way its going.
In the end who knows if getting the number 2 pick or the number 5 pick is worth it.
Imagine what a win against the odds this year could do for the development for some of the younger guys in the team now. Not to mention the supporters who have had to deal with this poo year.
Just go out and try and win every game, if we lose so be it.
Mate settle. None of us want to be in this situation but we are. I assure you I would much rather be top 4 at the moment but that is beyond us. We have to grin and bare it (and get some choice picks this year).
flyinghi64
16 Jun 2008, 14:04
Carlton did it for a couple of years with 2007 being the biggest, most blatant tanking display ever. The AFL ignored it and Carlton denied it.
If the Eagles continue on the path they are on and only win 2-4 games this year, finish in the bottom 2 or 3 and get a good draft pick, I can just see the headlines by the Herald "West Coast Tank for Draft". If the media jump on board, being the Eagles, the AFL will also jump on board and change the rules or investigate the Eagles.:rolleyes:
No we are not tanking, neither are we taking this year serious.;)
ChopStiXXX
16 Jun 2008, 14:09
I agree, for this and possibley the next few years to come, it's gonna be hard to grin and bare through lose after lose, but i think the reward for when it all comes together (Provided it is as good as i think) will be well worth it, and we shall reclaim sweet sweet justice over the other 15 (16 Teams possibley).
Lets hope though the rookies will be as good as everyone expects.
Agreed. It looks like we will be going through the dark Ken Judge days.
I copped a lot of flak from my brother (Bombers supporter) during those times. You have to take the bad to get to the good bits. Tuff times are ahead of us but will eventually pay off. I'm NOT standing down as a hardcore Eagles supporter.
Watch what happens this weekend;
Hansen in, Kennedy in, Fletcher in, Kerr in, Braun in, Mckinnley in,
Plus
Masten left in the middle when firing
Cox has a decent crack in the ruck
**Please feel free to suggest any other possible game winning changes
West Coast knows that our best 22 would beat Essendon but wont beat Geelong. We cant learn anything by flogging a team like Essendon so we experiment and run the kids.
Woosha will be trying all the new tricks this weekend with our best players to get a feel for where we really stand.
daddy_4_eyes
16 Jun 2008, 14:56
West Coast knows that our best 22 would beat Essendon but wont beat Geelong. We cant learn anything by flogging a team like Essendon so we experiment and run the kids.
I thought the exact same thing after the Essendon game.
Just too many convenient injuries coming into the game against Essendon to not make one suspicious.
Strider83
16 Jun 2008, 15:27
And really, if we had of kicked straighter we would have beaten the Bombers...so yeah, despite all our "outs" I think Woosha is doing the smart thing. It's better to rest players with injuries instead of making it worse by playing them. I'd rather have everyone fit to go in 2009 then waste them this year when we're not gonna get anywhere anyway. And that number 2 draft sure looks good :p
eaglechick79
16 Jun 2008, 16:19
Ive had a geelong supporter friend of my saying we are tanking and its more obvious then when Carlton did it, me, well the jury is out! After being at the game on friday, a few things did get me asking wt!
End of the third, woosha was late coming down but didnt really rush even though he was running late, and they didnt really gather all that long, which could be nothing then the start of the third he has seabs FF, Cox on the bench and Lynch in the ruck :eek:... i have no idea what he was doing there!!!
I guess for me i think if we arent tanking then maybe the bad period might be a bit longer then we hope for, cause what l witness on friday was a very lost team who didn't really know footy 1 o 1, we made essendon look good :eek:
greennick
16 Jun 2008, 16:48
Ive had a geelong supporter friend of my saying we are tanking and its more obvious then when Carlton did it, me, well the jury is out! After being at the game on friday, a few things did get me asking wt!
End of the third, woosha was late coming down but didnt really rush even though he was running late, and they didnt really gather all that long, which could be nothing then the start of the third he has seabs FF, Cox on the bench and Lynch in the ruck :eek:... i have no idea what he was doing there!!!
I guess for me i think if we arent tanking then maybe the bad period might be a bit longer then we hope for, cause what l witness on friday was a very lost team who didn't really know footy 1 o 1, we made essendon look good :eek:
I think Woosh decided that Lynch was rucking better than Seaby, therefore when Cox was resting, he put Lynch in the ruck and Seaby up forward.
Audacious
16 Jun 2008, 17:07
Whether you think this is tanking or not, i think we should let Cox, Kerr and Glass all get back to 100% fit. Its a detriment to our club if we keep playing them when they are obviously carrying an injury, especially when we are no chance for the finals.
Get 15-20 games into the kids and let them show us what they are made of. The team will still try to win games, but we wont have the cattle to do it. Resting our good players who are injured is no different to other clubs who in 2007 sent their players off for early surgery so they could have a full pre-season.
Tarquin
16 Jun 2008, 17:23
I find this topic funny at times, some people will call it "tanking" others will call it "list management".
Considering I read somewhere that the Eagles would do anything to get "Rich", I think your list management/tanking is working a treat.
Carlton managed their list for around 10 or so weeks last year, surely the Eagles can keep managing their list for another 10 weeks. As long as the Bombers and Dockers win more games than you, Rich should be yours.
greennick
16 Jun 2008, 17:38
I find this topic funny at times, some people will call it "tanking" others will call it "list management".
Considering I read somewhere that the Eagles would do anything to get "Rich", I think your list management/tanking is working a treat.
Carlton managed their list for around 10 or so weeks last year, surely the Eagles can keep managing their list for another 10 weeks. As long as the Bombers and Dockers win more games than you, Rich should be yours.
The difficulty is that the difference between tanking and list management (or preparing for next year, playing the kids, etc) is intent and we are not privy to that!
estibador
16 Jun 2008, 17:42
I copped a lot of flak from my brother (Bombers supporter) during those times. You have to take the bad to get to the good bits. Tuff times are ahead of us but will eventually pay off. I'm NOT standing down as a hardcore Eagles supporter.
Only an eagles fan would feel the need to say this like it's something to brag about.
For the rest of the league, standing by your club is the least that's expected. :cool:
Mastablingbling
16 Jun 2008, 18:19
Only an eagles fan would feel the need to say this like it's something to brag about.
For the rest of the league, standing by your club is the least that's expected. :cool:
What's the most?
Standing ovations all round and a cuddle from the coach after another inspiring loss?
You guys are the ones that are soft...blindly accepting the crap that your team dishes up to you, year in and out. Very forgiving bunch.
Oh please - you guys are constantly reminding us of how good a bunch of supporters you are supporting a team that has failed at every turn.
It`s quite the badge of honour.
What's the most?
Standing ovations all round and a cuddle from the coach after another inspiring loss?
You guys are the ones that are soft...blindly accepting the crap that your team dishes up to you, year in and out. Very forgiving bunch.
Apparently the Freo Doctor cooked up a valium-based brew specially for them. They give out a year's supply with the membership.
Mastablingbling
16 Jun 2008, 20:48
Just watching Suma on channel 10...someone needs to tell him to brush up on his acting skills...he's giving the game away :o
Beau waters has 2 weeks off through suspension and all of a sudden they want him to find fitness through a likely return in the WAFL.
Tsk tsk.
Just watching Suma on channel 10...someone needs to tell him to brush up on his acting skills
The same 'party-line' that Woosh followed up with on Ch7 - "It's not in our culture".
At least Woosh was a lot more convincing, looked genuinely mean & angry (a la Woosh of the 90's) at the suggestion. Smacked Barra around as though he was still his captain, and Barra correspondingly responded meekly.
Woosh has got to pull out a couple more of the Sydney type games before the season end I reckon. :)
TurboHead
17 Jun 2008, 00:04
Just watching Suma on channel 10...someone needs to tell him to brush up on his acting skills...he's giving the game away :o
Beau waters has 2 weeks off through suspension and all of a sudden they want him to find fitness through a likely return in the WAFL.
Tsk tsk.
Based on the form he showed in the game against collingwood - he should come back through the WAFL....
Tarquin
17 Jun 2008, 14:15
Based on the form he showed in the game against collingwood - he should come back through the WAFL....
Yes, it is a form based decision, just like Kerr not playing last week, his form was terrible the week before.
Face the facts, call it what you want, the Eagles did not go into the Bombers game PLAYING to lose(Tanking). What they did do was select a team that had a higher chance of losing (List management).
Just thank your lucky stars that the Bombers and Freo both won, that gives you the chance to "accidentally" win a game and still get Rich.
Mastablingbling
17 Jun 2008, 14:18
LOL...no.
Did anyone else notice when watching the Essendon match that everytime the cameras panned to our Coaching box that Sumich always had a huge grin on his face?
eagledream
17 Jun 2008, 16:57
Grant Thomas has come out and accused the eagles of tanking.. I don't have a link to any reports though. Personally i'm happy to see the way we're going. I don't subscribe to the theory that we need to win games for the kids confidence. There's no point in finishing 9-12.. We're not playing finals so get some games into the kids and prepare for 2009 where hopefully we can push for a top 8 berth. Hopefully a Daniel Rich can help with our problems (i'm not suggesting he's the messiah to solve everything) but he can provide what we need. Are we tanking? no. Are we putting our best team on the park? Probably not. Do i care? no. Although we're getting beaten i rest easy knowing we've got/are getting some of the best young talent available to sustain the eagles as a club for the future.
We're a team of useless overrated hacks who were carried by Judd and Cousins to a flag Biggie. But we're tanking as well.
Lion El'Johnson
17 Jun 2008, 19:10
Now I wouldn't surprised if this year Demetriou decide to shape up on tanking and accuses us of bringing the game into disrepute. Oh it will happen, just you wait.
Gunnar Longshanks
18 Jun 2008, 00:00
Have we "damaged the brand" again?
LOL:thumbsu:
"wont somebody think of the children" works well too
Mastablingbling
18 Jun 2008, 22:35
LOL:thumbsu:
"wont somebody think of the children" works well too
I've heard that on this board before too.
I don't FKN CARE ABOUT THE KIDS I JUST WANT TO SEE GOOD FOOTBALL1!@#!#
I started this thread before it became an issue in the media...I could see it was going to happen
when you dont pick your best 22 the question will be asked and rightly so...
did we tank...I define tanking as not dropping marks on purpose or whatever....its simply picking a side you know wont win the game
Mastablingbling
19 Jun 2008, 11:30
I started this thread before it became an issue in the media...I could see it was going to happen
when you dont pick your best 22 the question will be asked and rightly so...
did we tank...I define tanking as not dropping marks on purpose or whatever....its simply picking a side you know wont win the game
Thanks for the heads up, but it was pretty obvious :thumbsu:
sydney eagle
19 Jun 2008, 11:40
If we are tanking why is Cox(who is obviously carrying an injury) still playing ? Why is Glass, who is also injured, still playing ? If we are out to lose then these players should be rested lest they aggravate their existing injuries !
I dont think we are particularly fussed about winning, if that can be construed as tanking then I guess we are tanking. Who gives a shit anyway the reward for finishing 15th or 16th is fairly attractive.
Swooper Eagle
19 Jun 2008, 18:21
Oh and what injury does Kennedy have at the moment? Apparently he didn't look very injured at The Saint last night with Brauny.
If we were tanking then we wouldn't have rushed Hunter back. Cox would have had a 4 week lay-off to heal his foot, and young blokes like Kennedy would be getting plenty of game time to develop along with the likes of Scott Selwood.
As Sheedy used to say, we're rebuilding on the run.
swingdog
19 Jun 2008, 18:53
Anyway, what's wrong with tanking?
It would be a tad hypocritical of the AFL having set up a system to encourage tanking / list management to criticise clubs for following the system.
If the AFL wants a solution perhaps they could move to free agency - I'm pretty confident the Eagles could then afford whoever they want.
estibador
19 Jun 2008, 20:31
If the AFL wants a solution perhaps they could move to free agency - I'm pretty confident the Eagles could then afford whoever they want.
There'd still be the small matter of the salary cap.
Though I'm sure the eagles wouldn't let that get in the way.
Evil Inc. does not care about the salary cap.
swingdog
19 Jun 2008, 20:52
Dump the salary cap and watch Collingwood and the Eagles play grand finals for the next 30 years.