View Full Version : Glenelg win !!!!!!

eastaugh36
2 Apr 2001, 09:35
To the sturt supporters who came on here with the sour grapes attitude -
Glenelg clearly were the superior team, so what if sturt had squire out. Are you claiming you rely on 1 player ? Glenelg (or any other sanfl club bar sturt) should be praised for having so many AFL listed players as it proves they can develop their juniors into making it to the big league and its a just reward to have them play when not in their AFL team. Sturt are just bitter that they have not produced as many footballers for the AFL.I recall sturt whinging many times that Port magpies had so many players from the AFL. Good on them ! They put the effort in to producing talent then they should be rewarded. The better team won on the day and I think that Laurence Angwin WILL be one of the stars of the AFL in the future. He is the perfect size and dominated at times (and he is only 17 !). Kane Cornes, well he has the world at his feet, what a future ! Also, it was great to see the reserves play so well and it proves we have alot more depth this season. Next week will be tough but on yesterdays performance we will only improve which will definitely make it the match of the round. Go Tiges !

Macca19
2 Apr 2001, 10:41
Originally posted by eastaugh36:
To the sturt supporters who came on here with the sour grapes attitude -
Glenelg clearly were the superior team, so what if sturt had squire out. Are you claiming you rely on 1 player ? Glenelg (or any other sanfl club bar sturt) should be praised for having so many AFL listed players as it proves they can develop their juniors into making it to the big league and its a just reward to have them play when not in their AFL team. Sturt are just bitter that they have not produced as many footballers for the AFL.I recall sturt whinging many times that Port magpies had so many players from the AFL. Good on them ! They put the effort in to producing talent then they should be rewarded. The better team won on the day and I think that Laurence Angwin WILL be one of the stars of the AFL in the future. He is the perfect size and dominated at times (and he is only 17 !). Kane Cornes, well he has the world at his feet, what a future ! Also, it was great to see the reserves play so well and it proves we have alot more depth this season. Next week will be tough but on yesterdays performance we will only improve which will definitely make it the match of the round. Go Tiges !

You have NO idea Easty. Michael Handby, Mark Harwood and Lawry Angwin didnt have anything to do with Glenelgs junior system. They were placed there by Port and the Crows.
You had one AFL listed player on the ground that went thru the juniors - Matthew Bode. Thats all. Sudjai Cook, and Brett Higgins were recruited from Norwood and Port respectivly. The only other 'AFL' players there were was Liptak, who is past it, and Golding who is useless at AFL level anyway.

Angwin is a sook...he spent most of the game on the ground whinging and crying.

Port had HOMEGROWN AFL players when sturt complained. Fiegert, Carter, Poole, Burgoyne, Chalmers, Brown - were all junior Port players, not players from victoria who were plonked at Port.
Glenelg did not dominate the game...they dominated the last half, but were SHITE in the first half...why else were they 5 goals behind at 1/2 time??

Good win, but dont brag just yet...and dont state things you know nothing about.

eastaugh36
2 Apr 2001, 10:46
Originally posted by Macca19:

You have NO idea Easty. Michael Handby, Mark Harwood and Lawry Angwin didnt have anything to do with Glenelgs junior system. They were placed there by Port and the Crows.
You had one AFL listed player on the ground that went thru the juniors - Matthew Bode. Thats all. Sudjai Cook, and Brett Higgins were recruited from Norwood and Port respectivly. The only other 'AFL' players there were was Liptak, who is past it, and Golding who is useless at AFL level anyway.

Angwin is a sook...he spent most of the game on the ground whinging and crying.

Port had HOMEGROWN AFL players when sturt complained. Fiegert, Carter, Poole, Burgoyne, Chalmers, Brown - were all junior Port players, not players from victoria who were plonked at Port.
Glenelg did not dominate the game...they dominated the last half, but were SHITE in the first half...why else were they 5 goals behind at 1/2 time??

Good win, but dont brag just yet...and dont state things you know nothing about.

You obviously know nothing, Angwin WILL be a top player for the crows, you just had to see the game yesterday to know that.

Grave Danger
2 Apr 2001, 11:27
You're overlooking Kane Cornes, Macca - definitely a Glenelg pedigree there!

Macca19
2 Apr 2001, 12:58
You obviously know nothing, Angwin WILL be a top player for the crows, you just had to see the game yesterday to know that.

Yup sure thing Easty...whatever you reckon. Funny how you didnt retract your statement that Glenelg have sooo many homegrown AFL stars.

kirkyno1
2 Apr 2001, 15:48
I don't know what you lot are going apeshit over. All you are doing is playing for 5th spot in the five because the top four will be, and not in any particular order, Centrals, Eagles, Port and Norwood.

Blues_Brat
2 Apr 2001, 16:21
I have been told that Kane Cornes was the difference between the 2 teams. Perhaps his new found match winning ability is the product of a pre-season with an AFL club.. not the fact that he is with the amateurish Glenelg.. one win does not a season make. Roll on "Septober"

[This message has been edited by Blues_Brat (edited 01 April 2001).]

Uncle Steve
2 Apr 2001, 16:51
What I reckon:

That was a superb game of football. You'd have to look pretty hard to find a better game. Sturt was not bad, not by a long shot. They gave the Tigers a fair challenge; certainly outplayed them in the second quarter, if not for the whole match: The ABC stats leaned ever-so-slightly in Sturt's favour, while the stats in the paper had Sturt somewhat more on top of the Bays. Take nothing away from Sturt; they were far from disgraced.

The Bays were excellent. Coming out after half time they dug in and had a red-hot-crack at it. By 3/4 time they were still a point down, and Sturt looked to be in the box seat, coming home with a stiff breeze. Last year the Bays would have folded like the meek flock of lambs they were... but on Saturday they dipped in deeper, did the hard yards and ground out an impressive, fighting win. It was a treat to watch; been a long time since I've seen the Bays play so well... perhaps the best since the win over Port towards the end of '99.

A lot has been said about Cornesey's final quarter, but for my money the Bays best player was Ryan Smythe. He played a scorcher, making plays from nothing, was in many contests, and laid a few bone-crunching tackles. Raidis up forward was more than seviceable, and Angwin does deserve a mention though I wasn't too impressed with his kicking - but he did settle into the game better after half time.

Next week coming up against a fresh Port out at the wharf, I don't see the Tigers getting up. In fact I doubt it will even be close, despite Saturday's poor showing. Nevertheless it looks like the Bays' season will be a lot better than last year's dismal effort.

A final piece of trivia: The Sunday Mail reported that Carman has not won a round 1 match in 7 seasons at Sturt.

It's great to have the footy back - best luck to all in the coming season.

eastaugh36
2 Apr 2001, 17:19
Originally posted by Blues_Brat:
I have been told that Kane Cornes was the difference between the 2 teams. Perhaps his new found match winning ability is the product of a pre-season with an AFL club.. not the fact that he is with the amateurish Glenelg.. one win does not a season make. Roll on "Septober"

[This message has been edited by Blues_Brat (edited 01 April 2001).]

isnt it a great time ! The bays finally with a list that has depth, great to see all grades get up, we most probably will go down but bring on round 2, we have nothing to lose.

Blues_Brat
2 Apr 2001, 18:06
Uncle Steve: Finally a Glenelg supporter who we can have a decent discussion about football with. I forward the motion the we eliminate eastaugh and make Steve the resident voice of the Bay.

eastaugh36
2 Apr 2001, 18:22
Uncle Steve: Finally a Glenelg supporter who we can have a decent discussion about football with. I forward the motion the we eliminate eastaugh and make Steve the resident voice of the Bay.

excuse me ! read the opening post on this topic. It was a sensible one with facts in it.

Nod
2 Apr 2001, 18:26
To those who were at the game could you please decribe how and where K Cornes won his posessions. I did not see the game but have read/heard sensational reviews about his performance.
As far as the Angwin debate goes what I have seen he does look to be a bit of a sook but is still adjusting to senior football, however looks the goods to me.

Go South
3 Apr 2001, 04:16
excuse me ! read the opening post on this topic. It was a sensible one with facts in it.

ARE YOU JOKING?!?!

Glenelg (or any other sanfl club bar sturt) should be praised for having so many AFL listed players as it proves they can develop their juniors into making it to the big league and its a just reward to have them play when not in their AFL team.

Even though you are a completely brainless imbecile, I thought you at LEAST knew the facts about your own team. But no, you have plummetted to an all new low.

Lawrence Angwin and Michael Handby aren't even from SA, let alone went through the grades at Glenelg! The only reason you ended up with them, is because they were drafted to the Crows from Dandenong!

As Macca said... most of the other AFL players you were going on about were from other clubs, and even other states altogether!

It was a sensible one with facts in it.

Sensible? What a joke - it's laughable!
Facts? Your facts WEREN'T TRUE, let alone make sense.

Yet another post of complete idiocy, freshly picked from the Easty anus.

------------------
'...and we won't give up, till the premiership cup is safely in our hands...'

Blues_Brat
3 Apr 2001, 05:29
My thoughts exactly Go South.. I bet this guy gets punched out at the footy .... by his own supporters for embarrasing them and perpetuauting the stereotype of the Glenelg supporter (loud mouthed know nothing).

Macca19
3 Apr 2001, 07:30

No Easty
Fact: Thing that is known to exist or be TRUE

Your post was full of lies. Glenelg were not hte superior team all day...if they were so superior they wouldnt of been goals down at half time.
Glenelg had One current AFL homegrown player in their side...not all of them l ike you stated.
Hence they are lies...therefore they are not facts

Justin
3 Apr 2001, 07:42
I love the way that Sturt and South supporters band together against other clubs, particularly Glenelg. Maybe the fact that your clubs havent won a premiership(senior)in so long gives you something in common. And funnily enough although it is only monday you seem to forget that both of your teams lost this weekend.

Go South
3 Apr 2001, 08:36
Originally posted by Justin:
I love the way that Sturt and South supporters band together against other clubs, particularly Glenelg. Maybe the fact that your clubs havent won a premiership(senior)in so long gives you something in common. And funnily enough although it is only monday you seem to forget that both of your teams lost this weekend.

Macca19 doesn't follow Sturt or South - He is a Port supporter.

We weren't banding together against Glenelg... more banding together against the prize wanker himself - 'eastaugh36'. It isn't just Sturt and South supporters that band together against him - it is basically the whole of Big Footy.

Take a look at any of his past topics and postings, and you will see why.

------------------

eastaugh36
3 Apr 2001, 10:33
Originally posted by Go South:
Macca19 doesn't follow Sturt or South - He is a Port supporter.

We weren't banding together against Glenelg... more banding together against the prize wanker himself - 'eastaugh36'. It isn't just Sturt and South supporters that band together against him - it is basically the whole of Big Footy.

Take a look at any of his past topics and postings, and you will see why.

and you dont have to worry about south winning a flag for a long while yet !

Go South
3 Apr 2001, 10:48
*blah blah... the usual crap*

Isn't it funny, how whenever you're proven wrong, you completely ignore the fact, and go on about something completely different.

Take a look at the bottom of Page 1.

------------------

eastaugh36
3 Apr 2001, 13:05
I wasnt proven wrong at all.
Glenelg were clearly the better side, up until half time it was Sturt and even at 3/4 time Sturt had the edge but in the last quarter kicking to the non scoring end against the breeze Glenelg kicked away to be the worthy winners. Glenelg had 2 home grown AFL players where were Sturts ? They complain about AFL listed players but they have just as much of a chance to get them in the mini draft as any other club so where are they all ? Apart from Squire sturt were at full strength and Glenelg had many players out such as Mcentee,Ottens and Moore etc. who would clearly be in Glenelgs best team when fit.

Go South
3 Apr 2001, 13:36
Glenelg (or any other sanfl club bar sturt) should be praised for having so many AFL listed players as it proves they can develop their juniors into making it to the big league and its a just reward to have them play when not in their AFL team.

There were 2 AFL listed players that went through the juniors. You then went on to rave about Lawrence Angwin - he had nothing to do with Glenelg, or it's junior program!

Do you need a lobotomy or what? Surely you're joking - noone could honestly be that thick

------------------

Go South
3 Apr 2001, 13:39
Glenelg were clearly the better side, up until half time it was Sturt and even at 3/4 time Sturt had the edge

?!

So you're saying 'it was all Sturt' for three quarters - but somehow, Glenelg were 'clearly the better side'

Seek help - I don't think even YOU know what you're talking about.

------------------

Humphrey B Flaubert
3 Apr 2001, 18:14
Glenelg were clearly the better side, up until half time it was Sturt and even at 3/4 time Sturt had the edge but in the last quarter kicking to the non scoring end against the breeze Glenelg kicked away to be the worthy winners. Glenelg had 2 home grown AFL players where were Sturts ? They complain about AFL listed players but they have just as much of a chance to get them in the mini draft as any other club so where are they all ? Apart from Squire sturt were at full strength and Glenelg had many players out such as Mcentee,Ottens and Moore etc. who would clearly be in Glenelgs best team when fit.

Sturt have a chance of getting players in the mini draft??? Now I've *****ing heard it all, we actually do well in the seasons so we don't often get picks. Glenleg, like normal, were bollocks last year so they got a donation of Laurence Angwin and Michael Handby. Two guys who'd probably never heard of Glenelg before and you being the tosser that you are try to claim it was Glenelg's junior development??? If only you knew how stupid you sound.

Blues_Brat
3 Apr 2001, 19:03
and you dont have to worry about south winning a flag for a long while yet !

Nor Glenelg.. we may not have won a premiership in some time but 1986 is hardly last week. Eastaugh, youre starting to make Peter Carey look like a nuclear physicist.

kirkyno1
3 Apr 2001, 19:23
I'll just add my two cents worth. Keep it going in regards to the mindraft, there is one side that hasn't had a pick in the last two mini-drafts - the Eagles. And yes, they do have a junior development program.

Macca19
3 Apr 2001, 21:46

No Easty you are wrong. Glenelg were gifted AFL draftees this year because they came LAST...works the same as AFL draft Easty. If you knew anything youd know that. PLUS the ****ed up crows got the rules changed (even tho they whinged when port suggested this) so that the 2 main draft picks from the crows could both go to glenelg. So sturt did NOT have a chance at that...becaseu they finished 3rd, not LAST.

Go South
4 Apr 2001, 05:30
OK - now that he's been proven wrong YET AGAIN, he will try and deflect attention by changing the subject to something completely irrelevant.

Will he:

a) Quote this post, and call me an "idiot !" (with the obligatory misplaced exclamation mark, and possible spelling mistakes)
b) Rave on about how Glenelg are going to win this week
c) Rave on about how South are going to lose this week
d) Try and relive Glenelg's supposed 'glory days' of the 1980's
e) Come up with another completely mindless statement, which confirms his obvious mental retardation

Place your bets... I'm personally betting it will be option 'e'.

------------------

Blues_Girl
4 Apr 2001, 06:56
OK - now that he's been proven wrong YET AGAIN, he will try and deflect attention by changing the subject to something completely irrelevant.

Will he:

a) Quote this post, and call me an "idiot !" (with the obligatory misplaced exclamation mark, and possible spelling mistakes)
e) Come up with another completely mindless statement, which confirms his obvious mental retardation

ALL OF THE ABOVE!

Macca19
4 Apr 2001, 07:48

Will he:

no no no Go South, you did it ALL wrong.
You forget 'F'

F) Easty will accuse you of very badly needing a girlfriend!!!

I choose F!!!! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

Blues_Girl
4 Apr 2001, 09:22

no no no Go South, you did it ALL wrong.
You forget 'F'

F) Easty will accuse you of very badly needing a girlfriend!!!

I choose F!!!! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

I'm choosing all the above....again

eddie eagle
4 Apr 2001, 09:28
Originally posted by kirkyno1:
I'll just add my two cents worth. Keep it going in regards to the mindraft, there is one side that hasn't had a pick in the last two mini-drafts - the Eagles. And yes, they do have a junior development program.

kirkyno1 - That must mean that 7 current crows listed players (including one rookie) on the eagles list have come through their junior development program.

eastaugh36
4 Apr 2001, 12:07
?!

So you're saying 'it was all Sturt' for three quarters - but somehow, Glenelg were 'clearly the better side'

Seek help - I don't think even YOU know what you're talking about.

your are so slow ! So this is for you..... Sturt were ahead in the first half but thanks to Glenelgs domination of the second half we were the winners. Basic really.

Go South
4 Apr 2001, 12:36
your are so slow ! So this is for you..... Sturt were ahead in the first half but thanks to Glenelgs domination of the second half we were the winners. Basic really.

That's not what you said, you ****ing moron!

You said it was all Sturt for 3 quarters, but Glenelg were clearly the better team.

Oh I give up with you - hurry up and ban him, for christs sake

------------------

eastaugh36
4 Apr 2001, 13:58

You said it was all Sturt for 3 quarters, but Glenelg were clearly the better team.

I havent done anything to be banned. God ! Obviously Glenelg were the better team on the day if they won the match !

eastaugh36
4 Apr 2001, 13:59

I havent done anything to be banned. God ! Obviously Glenelg were the better team on the day if they won the match !

Go South
4 Apr 2001, 15:59
Once was enough, thanks - Unlike you, we don't need to be told things multiple times, in order for them to sink in.

------------------

eastaugh36
4 Apr 2001, 16:13
Once was enough, thanks - Unlike you, we don't need to be told things multiple times, in order for them to sink in.

well its taking long enough for the fact that glenelg were the better team and won the game to sink in to you !

Go South
4 Apr 2001, 16:31
well its taking long enough for the fact that glenelg were the better team and won the game to sink in to you !

When you say that Sturt dominated for 3 quarters, and then say that Glenelg were 'clearly' the better team - no, of course it's not going to sink in you ********, because it's a contradiction.

Just go away - we all hate you.

------------------

Blues_Girl
4 Apr 2001, 16:36
When you say that Sturt dominated for 3 quarters, and then say that Glenelg were 'clearly' the better team - no, of course it's not going to sink in you ********, because it's a contradiction.

I think you summed it up pretty well go south, however i'd like to add easty you are a stupid ****.

eastaugh36
4 Apr 2001, 16:53

it is not ! Sturt were marginally better for the first halp definitely and even maybe until the third term but glenelgs last quarter was totally dominating which wiped out sturts marginal superiority earlier ! idiot !

Humphrey B Flaubert
4 Apr 2001, 17:03
it is not ! Sturt were marginally better for the first halp definitely and even maybe until the third term but glenelgs last quarter was totally dominating which wiped out sturts marginal superiority earlier ! idiot !

Yes. We were better in the first 'halp' weren't we. Don't Glenelg get a capital 'G' now eastaugh?

eastaugh36
4 Apr 2001, 17:14
Originally posted by Humphrey B Flaubert:
Yes. We were better in the first 'halp' weren't we. Don't Glenelg get a capital 'G' now eastaugh?

haha you lost !

Go South
4 Apr 2001, 17:19

Yes, and that post just made perfect sense.

And you call me an idiot.

------------------

Go South
4 Apr 2001, 17:23
haha you lost !

You want loser, take a look in the mirror.

At least he can spell.

------------------

Humphrey B Flaubert
4 Apr 2001, 18:13
haha you lost !

Well childish, unimaginative and just plain abysmal retaliations have been brought to a new low by wanker36. So you've won 1 match...Just watch your pathetic Brighton Rd nancy boys capitulate when the Crows and Power pinch their AFL players. Did anybody hear what Graham Cornes said tonight? Well I'll fill you all in. Some moron Glenelg fan sent a fax whingeing that a Sturt player hit Goldilocks (Kane Cornes) in the head during the game. According to Cornesy he was right in front of the (alledged) incident and he yelled out "YOU'RE DEAD". What a friggin Daddy's boy Kane Cornes is. Maybe other team's should follow Glenelg's lead and get their daddys in to see off those nasty old opposition players. GLENELG ARE AS SOFT AS SHITE!

mardi
4 Apr 2001, 18:36
Shit Humphrey it must hurt like hell then when your side gets beaten by a team that's as soft as shite!!

Let me add one more thing. I'd be willing to bet Kane Cornes would get a game for Sturt. Oh no sorry then you'd have nothing to whinge about because you'd have an AFL listed player in your side.

Blues_Brat
4 Apr 2001, 21:04
"Halp" me if you can I'm feeling down.

And gives me such a laugh cos easty's around.

Oh wont you please, please, please, "halp" me

http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Macca19
5 Apr 2001, 08:01

Easty you wanker...when you contradict yourself three times in one thread, of course its gonna be hard to take in what the hell your shitting on about.

First you say " Glenelg clearly were the superior team "...they won by three goals, and were behind for three quarters...thats hardly superior.

Then you say " Glenelg were clearly the better side, up until half time it was Sturt and even at 3/4 time Sturt had the edge "

which is a contradiction again. How can Glenelg be clearly the better side, yet be behind for three quarters?? Sturt mustnt of had the edge, not if glenelg were superior and the better side on the day.

Make up your bloody mind what it was. Glenelg was lucky to win...you beat a depleted sturt side by a few goals, after being down by 5 at half time. Thats a lucky win...expect to be thumped this wekk Easty.

Macca19
5 Apr 2001, 08:04

Thats one big contradiction again Easty. Sturt were marginally better for the first half definatly????
What does that mean??
marginally better?? they were 5 goals up at half time!! Id say they were dominant in the first half.
You use the word superior too much. Superior means better than anyone else...hence if you win by 80 points you are superior. If you win by 2 goals, thats not a superior victory is it.

Macca19
5 Apr 2001, 08:05
haha you lost !

Im sure you dont go to University Easty...anyone OLD enough to go there would not say "haha you lost"

Macca19
5 Apr 2001, 08:09

Well childish, unimaginative and just plain abysmal retaliations have been brought to a new low by wanker36. So you've won 1 match...Just watch your pathetic Brighton Rd nancy boys capitulate when the Crows and Power pinch their AFL players. Did anybody hear what Graham Cornes said tonight? Well I'll fill you all in. Some moron Glenelg fan sent a fax whingeing that a Sturt player hit Goldilocks (Kane Cornes) in the head during the game. According to Cornesy he was right in front of the (alledged) incident and he yelled out "YOU'RE DEAD". What a friggin Daddy's boy Kane Cornes is. Maybe other team's should follow Glenelg's lead and get their daddys in to see off those nasty old opposition players. GLENELG ARE AS SOFT AS SHITE!

Glenelg have always been soft as shite. Especially after Cornes said to us after the 90 GF win "Your glory days are over"...we just happened to win 6 flags from 7 grand finals since then. Mean while glenelg have played in 1 grand final and we thumped them in 92 by around 10 goals.
They are the epitome of soft...ever since they choked in the last quarter of their final in 99 and lost.

Uncle Steve
5 Apr 2001, 10:21

Glenelg was lucky to win...you beat a depleted sturt side by a few goals, after being down by 5 at half time. Thats a lucky win...expect to be thumped this wekk Easty.

Up against the wall at half time, Glenelg fought its way back into the match to be roughly level at 3/4 time. Sturt had the scoring end in the last quarter but the Bays dug deep, put in a solid team effort and outperformed the Blues to win the match. Sturt was far from a weak side - they played well all day.

Taunt Easty all you like, but please avoid hyperbole like describing a hard-fought win as "lucky".

------------------
If you're not a Tiger you're no good to me.

Uncle Steve
5 Apr 2001, 10:33
Especially after Cornes said to us after the 90 GF win "Your glory days are over"...we just happened to win 6 flags from 7 grand finals since then.

That is not what Cornes meant by his statement. Port could win the next 20 SANFL flags and its glory days would still be over.

I suspect that you know what Cornes meant, and are deliberately quoting him out of context.

Regardless - there are plenty of good reasons to call Glenelg soft. "Because Cornes said Port's glory days were over" is not one of them.

------------------
If you're not a Tiger you're no good to me.

eastaugh36
5 Apr 2001, 12:31

Well what are sturt if glenelg are soft ????? idiot.
Macca, good on cornesy for saying what he did in 1990, I think he meant that the glory days of the sanfl are over now that the cowards have gone behind the sanfls back and tried to get in the afl.

Macca19
5 Apr 2001, 15:11
Originally posted by Uncle Steve:
That is not what Cornes meant by his statement. Port could win the next 20 SANFL flags and its glory days would still be over.

I suspect that you know what Cornes meant, and are deliberately quoting him out of context.

Regardless - there are plenty of good reasons to call Glenelg soft. "Because Cornes said Port's glory days were over" is not one of them.

No i dont know what Cornes meant by that statement. PLUS, he also said "Port will never beat Glenelg in a grand final again" after 1990...funny how we beat you in 1992 isnt it. Maybe he should learn to shut his mouth. But then again most glenelg people put their foot in it

Macca19
5 Apr 2001, 15:19
Well what are sturt if glenelg are soft ????? idiot.
Macca, good on cornesy for saying what he did in 1990, I think he meant that the glory days of the sanfl are over now that the cowards have gone behind the sanfls back and tried to get in the afl.

Sturt have a lot more bloody history than Glenelg does.
Between 1921 and 1949 glenelg finished:
1st - once
5th - once
6th - four times
7th - 9 times
and last - 11 times

i would say that premiership was a fluke, or a typo..so you were basically in the bottom 3 for 25 years. Sturt have a lot more bloody premierships than you do as well. And even after there era at the bottom rung of the ladder, they only have a few more wooden spoons that your club does. So i wouldnt call sturt soft...they have a lot more guts than y our mob does. Glenelg - the perennial finals choker

eastaugh36
5 Apr 2001, 15:55

Sturt have a lot more bloody history than Glenelg does.
Between 1921 and 1949 glenelg finished:
1st - once
5th - once
6th - four times
7th - 9 times
and last - 11 times

i would say that premiership was a fluke, or a typo..so you were basically in the bottom 3 for 25 years. Sturt have a lot more bloody premierships than you do as well. And even after there era at the bottom rung of the ladder, they only have a few more wooden spoons that your club does. So i wouldnt call sturt soft...they have a lot more guts than y our mob does. Glenelg - the perennial finals choker

what does decades ago have to do with who has guts this season ?????
Also, cornesy was right. Port ruined the sanfl and rightfully got taken to court and beaten in court.

Humphrey B Flaubert
5 Apr 2001, 18:51
what does decades ago have to do with who has guts this season ?????
Also, cornesy was right. Port ruined the sanfl and rightfully got taken to court and beaten in court.

Got taken to court and beaten in court??? What the ***** is this twat on about? Port ruined the SANFL? It may pain me to say it but without all of the Port Magpie fans going to the SANFL matches the amount of revenue lost would be terrible. So how did they ruin the SANFL? Good luck at Alberton this week..... HAHAHAHAHAHA! you're gonna get your soft arses kicked and then we'll see who's laughing.

Uncle Steve
6 Apr 2001, 06:51
Got taken to court and beaten in court??? What the ***** is this twat on about? Port ruined the SANFL? It may pain me to say it but without all of the Port Magpie fans going to the SANFL matches the amount of revenue lost would be terrible. So how did they ruin the SANFL

I suspect he is referring to the legal action taken by Glenelg, West and South - and independent action taken by Norwood - to block the Port Magpies' entry into the AFL in 1990.

Furthermore, observe the drop in the Port Magpies' crowds since the entry of the Port Power in the AFL. The Magpies crowds have fallen to a level comparable with the other SANFL clubs. In fact some clubs have been drawing larger crowds than Port. Despite this the SANFL does not appear to be in financial dire straits.

If you want to view the world in terms of financial matters then Easty is right (ouch - that hurt), Port did bugger up the SANFL. In 1990 the SANFL was the major interest to us South Aussies. Crowds were (relatively) high, and the media interest and hence advertising/sponsorship potential was great. After Port Adelaide sold out, the SANFL had to give in to the AFL and create the Crows. Because of this the state's football interest switched to AFL overnight. Media coverage instantly switched to coverage of AFL. Channel 9 dropped the SANFL coverage like a hot potato. Crowd levels plummeted in the 1991 season. All of a sudden the SANFL clubs weren't earning as much money through sponsorship or through the turnstiles. This can be directly attributed to Port's defection. So if you want to talk money - then YES, Port DID bugger up the SANFL.

Macca19
6 Apr 2001, 08:43
Originally posted by Uncle Steve:

If you want to view the world in terms of financial matters then Easty is right (ouch - that hurt), Port did bugger up the SANFL. In 1990 the SANFL was the major interest to us South Aussies. Crowds were (relatively) high, and the media interest and hence advertising/sponsorship potential was great. After Port Adelaide sold out, the SANFL had to give in to the AFL and create the Crows. Because of this the state's football interest switched to AFL overnight. Media coverage instantly switched to coverage of AFL. Channel 9 dropped the SANFL coverage like a hot potato. Crowd levels plummeted in the 1991 season. All of a sudden the SANFL clubs weren't earning as much money through sponsorship or through the turnstiles. This can be directly attributed to Port's defection. So if you want to talk money - then YES, Port DID bugger up the SANFL.

haha, blame the major drop in attendances by all the other clubs supporters dropping the teams they supported for years before the crows, to support something bigger. They dropped the SANFL clubs like a hot potato, only games they ended up going to were the finals if there subsequent teams made it, then suddenly they were these massive Norwood or Glenelg fans again.

Crowds arent that much different nowadays than they were back in 1989. Crowds are failry similar. Crwods have only dropped by around 1000. South West and Woodville couldnt pull a crowd back then with most of their games haveing less than 3000 supporters there. Port were getting very high crowds, around about 7000-9000, and even had 26,000 in the Grand Final replay in round 2 1989. Now they have an average of around 6000.
Crowds have come back, mainly due to the novelty of the crows and power wearing off a bit. But dont blame Port for the crowd drop. Blame the other 8/9 SANFL clubs supporters that decided to drop their SANFL clubs at the snap of the fingers

eastaugh36
6 Apr 2001, 10:19
Got taken to court and beaten in court??? What the ***** is this twat on about? Port ruined the SANFL? It may pain me to say it but without all of the Port Magpie fans going to the SANFL matches the amount of revenue lost would be terrible. So how did they ruin the SANFL? Good luck at Alberton this week..... HAHAHAHAHAHA! you're gonna get your soft arses kicked and then we'll see who's laughing.

thanks uncle steve, humphrey sure doesnt know much about the sanfl. Humphrey, we have nothing to lose on saturday, unlike sturt who are in a mtach that they should win if they are as good as some people think,yes come saturday night the only one that has a chance to be laughing is me

Macca19
6 Apr 2001, 14:49
thanks uncle steve, humphrey sure doesnt know much about the sanfl. Humphrey, we have nothing to lose on saturday, unlike sturt who are in a mtach that they should win if they are as good as some people think,yes come saturday night the only one that has a chance to be laughing is me

Im loving your double standards again Easty. how can Glenelg have nothing to lose but Sturt are in a match they should win if they are good enough. I woulda thought seeing as glenelg have all these new "boom recruits" and have been played up this summer, that they have everything to lose. There is no bigger test in SA footy than beating port at alberton

eddie eagle
6 Apr 2001, 15:03

Port were getting very high crowds,........ Now they have an average of around 6000.

excuse me but are you the accountant that has been valuing stock on hand at harris scarfe's in the last few years? Your math appears more than a little screwed. The average at ethelton is not even 6000. - more like 4000 - 5000 not to mention when port play at other away grounds.

eastaugh36
6 Apr 2001, 15:56

Im loving your double standards again Easty. how can Glenelg have nothing to lose but Sturt are in a match they should win if they are good enough. I woulda thought seeing as glenelg have all these new "boom recruits" and have been played up this summer, that they have everything to lose. There is no bigger test in SA footy than beating port at alberton

theres no bigger test, exactly. Thats why we have nothing to lose, sturt play west who are either on or off. Sturt have more to lose, to be 0-2 down is worse than glenelg being 1-1 with the trip to alberton over and done with for the year.

Humphrey B Flaubert
8 Apr 2001, 20:49

I've forgotten more about the SANFL than you'll ever know you *****ed up dingleberry.

eastaugh36
9 Apr 2001, 07:49
I've forgotten more about the SANFL than you'll ever know you *****ed up dingleberry.

I know , you dont seem to know much.

Macca19
9 Apr 2001, 10:01
theres no bigger test, exactly. Thats why we have nothing to lose, sturt play west who are either on or off. Sturt have more to lose, to be 0-2 down is worse than glenelg being 1-1 with the trip to alberton over and done with for the year.

Bullshit you had nothing to lose. Sturt lost a bunch of experience, and didnt recruit anybody. Glenelg recruited a whole bunch of supposedly great players. Who has nothign to lose Easty? Id say if Glenelg dont make the top 3 with your list, then your team is just plain sh!t.

eastaugh36
9 Apr 2001, 10:03
Bullshit you had nothing to lose. Sturt lost a bunch of experience, and didnt recruit anybody. Glenelg recruited a whole bunch of supposedly great players. Who has nothign to lose Easty? Id say if Glenelg dont make the top 3 with your list, then your team is just plain sh!t.

so now are you admitting we are good ? who did sturt lose ?

Blues_Girl
9 Apr 2001, 17:00

Where do I start Easty: Jarrad Twitt, Todd Ferguson, Mark Soderstrom, Toby Kennett, Alex Katsaros, Corey Jones, Alistair McEwin, Darren Latta, Nathon Irivin, Peter Caven, Scott Robinson, Stephen Prescott, Tim Champion plus more.....

eastaugh36
9 Apr 2001, 17:27
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Blues_Girl:
Where do I start Easty: Jarrad Twitt, Todd Ferguson, Mark Soderstrom, Toby Kennett, Alex Katsaros, Corey Jones, Alistair McEwin, Darren Latta, Nathon Irivin, Peter Caven, Scott Robinson, Stephen Prescott, Tim Champion plus more.....[/QUOTE

I recall carman saying that he didnt recruit because the quality was already there !

Macca19
9 Apr 2001, 18:38

Never said you were good. The way your carrying on youve made it sounds fantastic...so if you dont make top 3, from all the carry on youve said, id say you are full of shit

Blues_Brat
10 Apr 2001, 06:04
The Bays will be pushing crap up a hill to make the final 5 let alone get a double chance.

Shame McGuinness isnt still there, we could go buy cheap wooden spoons for Glenelg during Harris Scrafes closing down sale.

eastaugh36
10 Apr 2001, 10:07
The Bays will be pushing crap up a hill to make the final 5 let alone get a double chance.

Shame McGuinness isnt still there, we could go buy cheap wooden spoons for Glenelg during Harris Scrafes closing down sale.

well if we will be pushing crap up a hill to make the finals you will be pushing double the crap up the hill !

Blues_Girl
10 Apr 2001, 15:59
I recall carman saying that he didnt recruit because the quality was already there ![/B]

Yes we do have quality unfortunately some of that quality seems to be missing or is injuried.....just like your brain.